Joe's show hit a new low today.

Quote from: RedHand88 on October 06, 2021, 06:14:41 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 06, 2021, 05:14:45 PM
Joe's show hit a new low today.

Go on....
looking at twitter, Joe not happy with sport players choosing not to get vaccinated and he lost the run of himself by saying non vaccinated people shouldn't go outside there own house. Anti vaxxers as expected are all over those comments like a bad rash.

If he's winding up anti vaxxer sh1te then he's gone up in my estimation ;D

People seem incapable of understanding that the vaccine neither prevents you from contracting the virus nor prevents you from transmitting the virus.

Quote from: DuffleKing on October 07, 2021, 03:13:01 PM

People seem incapable of understanding that the vaccine neither prevents you from contracting the virus nor prevents you from transmitting the virus.

People seem to pretend that this somehow makes the vaccine less useful when it's contribution is to reduce the transmission of the virus.

Seatbelts do not prevent you getting killed in a road accident, but they are still compulsory.

Mikhail Prokhorov

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yptXkLglKkA

Quote from: armaghniac on October 08, 2021, 02:04:13 AM

People seem to pretend that this somehow makes the vaccine less useful when it's contribution is to reduce the transmission of the virus.

Seatbelts do not prevent you getting killed in a road accident, but they are still compulsory.

Last time I checked in with the experts on this (through work) this was actually a matter of debate and still considered a bit of an unknown. I have seen a white paper on Johnson vaccine i think that showed it did prevent transmission.

Regardless of transmission. Without the vaccine you are much more likely to be a drain on an already banjaxed health service if you get COVID. So instead of clapping at the door try and do something that will actually help the NHS, plus you get the added bonus of less chance of dying. Win win.

Snapchap

Quote from: Thastheball on October 08, 2021, 09:30:57 AM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on October 08, 2021, 02:12:06 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yptXkLglKkA

What bit of that did you not understand Mik? He stated a fact, yet you try to belittle him?

Has anyone, anywhere, ever claimed that the vaccine stops you from getting or transmitting the virus? The point is that you are much more likely to catch/transmit the virus if you have not been vaccinated.

A new study from Oxford was discussed on BBC yesterday which found that people who got the AZ vaccine are about 36% less likely to transmit covid than unvaccinated people are, while those who got the Phfizer vaccine are around  65% less likely to transmit the virus than the unvaccinated.

So the reality is that if you choose not to be vaccinated, then you are consciously putting those around you at increased risk - and scarily, are doing so because you are that arrogant that you genuinely believe you know more about the effectiveness and the safety of the vaccine than the global scientific and biomedical community.

If only to stop our health service from collapsing and folk with acute conditions being turned away in their droves, everyone who can take the vaccine should be doing their bit. With people mixing alot more this autumn / winter, increased levels of flu will be added into the mix. 75% (BMJ) of covid hospital admissions are unvaccinated. It's a no brainer. Social media really is a balls sometimes

Tres Bien

Castigating people who don't have a position on vaccines as anti-vax is a common position for vaccine fascists.

The fact Duffy still has a job is telling about RTE.

Quote from: Thastheball on October 08, 2021, 11:52:30 AM
This is my worry lads, regardless of you looking down your nose at people like me who are not anti vac

https://nomoresilence.world/pfizer-biontech/arooj-imtiaz-lughmani-pfizer-severe-adverse-reaction/

Nobody is denying a story like this. It is that it is so, SO rare that it should not be in the discussion at all. There is a background risk with every single drug, vaccine, medical device etc. It is not a reason to ban it completely.

Anti vaxxers are incapable of balancing the probability of getting a reaction from a vaccine (extremely rare) vs the chance of suffering bad with covid (not as rare).

Look at it this way. How many people do you know who have been hospitalised with covid? Now how many people do you know who have been hospitalised because of the vaccine?