Drummers

Started by seafoid, October 25, 2016, 10:06:34 AM

ardchieftain

John Bonham and Bill Ward were the masters in the late 60's/ 70's.

Igor cavelera and dave lombardo from the Thrash era. Gene Hoglan in the more extreme end of things.

Serious question because I dont know a lot of the boyos yiz are talking about..Where would Larry Mullen feature in this company.... if at all??

I wouldn't dismiss Ringo at all. Very steady, no fuss.

I always liked Charlie Watts.

But Bonzo was on a different planet.

"He not only plays one hell of a flip flop, but apparently he can tune the f**k out of a pvc pipe too".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0gED3rn2Tc

ardchieftain

Quote from: 5 Sams on October 25, 2016, 07:43:01 PM
Serious question because I dont know a lot of the boyos yiz are talking about..Where would Larry Mullen feature in this company.... if at all??

Anyone who makes a career from drumming is decent but if we're talking about unique or super talented, larry mullen wouldn't be in the conversation.

BarryBreensBandage

Quote from: ardchieftain on October 25, 2016, 08:25:55 PM

Anyone who makes a career from drumming is decent but if we're talking about unique or super talented, larry mullen wouldn't be in the conversation.

Agree with this...

Neil Peart from Rush or Ginger Baker - the latter is/was as mad as a hatter but a genius

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2015/aug/19/ginger-baker-cream-blind-faith-interview-rocks-backpages
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

I saw Airto Moreira a few times in Ronnie Scotts and he is very good

Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on October 25, 2016, 09:13:59 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on October 25, 2016, 08:25:55 PM

Good enough lads..Larry's done alright for himself to be fair..

Agree with this...

Neil Peart from Rush or Ginger Baker - the latter is/was as mad as a hatter but a genius

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2015/aug/19/ginger-baker-cream-blind-faith-interview-rocks-backpages