The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - Arne to Slot right in?

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

QuoteThey hardly take the hand out of him, whatever that means   If Thommo was sitting in the room on his own and the way liverpool are playing at the minute his reactions and emotions would be the same. Its not smart or clever to rib someone when they are down over the result of a match. Thommo has got them back over the years, all he has to do is replay his action in the studio in Istanbul. 

Still going on about Istanbul.  I see Benitez as usual has come out with a positive spin about losing last night, in how the team can not concentrate on the league and improve their form.  This surely must be one of the worst runs of results in the clubs history, be interesting seeing the stats for the last 15 odd games.

Quote from: EC Unique on December 10, 2009, 11:07:13 AM
Are you lot seriously telling me you don't cringe sometimes when you hear what he comes out with?

Not half as much as what the other gobshites come out with. You know what you're getting with him, he'd actually be very complementary to United but will be honest that he enjoys to see them beat. The others don't seem to get this and just want to put boot in where-ever they can for the sake of it.

Quote from: bingobus on December 10, 2009, 11:15:21 AM
Are you lot seriously telling me you don't cringe sometimes when you hear what he comes out with?

Not half as much as what the other gobshites come out with. You know what you're getting with him, he'd actually be very complementary to United but will be honest that he enjoys to see them beat. The others don't seem to get this and just want to put boot in where-ever they can for the sake of it.

So he does make you cringe then.

Quote from: nrico2006 on December 10, 2009, 11:12:47 AM
QuoteThey hardly take the hand out of him, whatever that means   If Thommo was sitting in the room on his own and the way liverpool are playing at the minute his reactions and emotions would be the same. Its not smart or clever to rib someone when they are down over the result of a match. Thommo has got them back over the years, all he has to do is replay his action in the studio in Istanbul. 

Still going on about Istanbul.  I see Benitez as usual has come out with a positive spin about losing last night, in how the team can not concentrate on the league and improve their form.  This surely must be one of the worst runs of results in the clubs history, be interesting seeing the stats for the last 15 odd games.

FFS, the instanbul was a reference to his reaction in the studio and how the other clowns would have felt. I never mentioned the fact that with Liverpool 0-3 down at ht to AC Milan, they managed to come back to win the fecking thing on peno's and sicken 905 of United fans would at ht where busy texting, posting on forums and opening champagne the fact that Liverpool where getting stuffed in a CL final.  ;)

Anyway, Rafa. WTF do you expect him to do. Start crying on tv and quote the facts? At least he spoke to the cameras and didn't try to blame the ref, 4th official, waterboy, tealady, busdriver, the BBC, Fred Flintstone, Minnie driver etc etc etc. Its a shit run and have to get out of it. I'm sure in the age of the Internet the stats are freely available, why don't you go look them up. Thats the lad.  ::)

Quote from: EC Unique on December 10, 2009, 11:17:22 AM
Quote from: bingobus on December 10, 2009, 11:15:21 AM

So he does make you cringe then.

Rarely. As does everyone else on this planet at times. I prob don't know all the perfect people like you.  ::)

TheGreatRambo

Leave Thommo alone, he's great entertainment. A proper football fan who wears his heart on his sleeve, more likable than any of that wretched shows other pundits.

Its sad to see some Utd fans have a pop at his 'intelligence' on that show given the company he keeps on the panel.  Its only a laugh and if they want some serious discourse they are watching the wrong show, its a good laugh to watch, lighten up ffs.

Jesus, if Thommo is the only worry, I am a happy man. 

I think never before have a set of fixtures meant so much to a club as this weekends.  Villa play United in Old Trafford, Spurs play Wolves at home and City play Bolton away.  You would have to fancy United will take 3 points against Villa, though it will be tough given their defensive issues at the minute.  Spurs will beat Wolves.  City could come unstuck against Bolton as thhey are a horrid team to play against and the nice Spurs players may not like it. the good thing is that these games are on Saturday so Liverpool will know what a win will give them and may provide a bit more urgency in their game.  The reality is that Liverpool could be 4th on Sunday evening and back in the CL places battle.  City have an extra game but they will falter.  If Liverpool can hold their nerve then the can get something out of the season yet.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 10, 2009, 12:32:47 PM

I think never before have a set of fixtures meant so much to a club as this weekends.  Villa play United in Old Trafford, Spurs play Wolves at home and City play Bolton away.  You would have to fancy United will take 3 points against Villa, though it will be tough given their defensive issues at the minute.  Spurs will beat Wolves.  City could come unstuck against Bolton as thhey are a horrid team to play against and the nice Spurs players may not like it. the good thing is that these games are on Saturday so Liverpool will know what a win will give them and may provide a bit more urgency in their game.  The reality is that Liverpool could be 4th on Sunday evening and back in the CL places battle.  City have an extra game but they will falter. If Liverpool can hold their nerve then the can get something out of the season yet.

Like what?

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 10, 2009, 01:10:47 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 10, 2009, 12:32:47 PM

I think never before have a set of fixtures meant so much to a club as this weekends.  Villa play United in Old Trafford, Spurs play Wolves at home and City play Bolton away.  You would have to fancy United will take 3 points against Villa, though it will be tough given their defensive issues at the minute.  Spurs will beat Wolves.  City could come unstuck against Bolton as thhey are a horrid team to play against and the nice Spurs players may not like it. the good thing is that these games are on Saturday so Liverpool will know what a win will give them and may provide a bit more urgency in their game.  The reality is that Liverpool could be 4th on Sunday evening and back in the CL places battle.  City have an extra game but they will falter. If Liverpool can hold their nerve then the can get something out of the season yet.

Like what?

A decent run will push them up and realistically 3rd is the only target they shooudl have now.  Given what has happened this year so far that is a result.  Also it will give confidence to maybe get silverware in the FA Cup or Europa.  That would be a major accomplishment now. 

They won't win the PL, I am not that deluded :D

Chrisowc

Quote from: bingobus on December 10, 2009, 09:57:50 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 10, 2009, 09:53:14 AM
Phil Thompson really is the flogging boy on Skysports. The rest of the panel always wind him up about Liverpool and take the piss out of him, sniggering at each other. He just does not have the is too intelligence to be there.

Fixed that for you! Merson, Nicholas, Le Tisser etc etc etc are all clowns. Nothing to say and have gone from playing the game to rehab to sitting in a studio trying to make themselves sound important and knowledgeable. At least Thommo has done something in the game as a player and in mgt, he is bias (as you'd expect) but he always calls it fair and calls a spade a spade.

Your post says it all "sniggering at each other", are they at primary school and discussing football on live tv FFS

The Wordsmith that is Paul Merson.  He'd give Shakespear a run for his money!  England penalty coach wannabee ( :D :D) Le Tissier and Champagne Charlie Nicholas.  The football oracle right there.

I suppose the Hairy Handed Halfwit was asking Herr Klinnsman how his Scouse is coming on after the game lastnight?
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

I enjoy watching/listening Thommo most of the time if I am being honest.

Sometimes he annoys your tits with the pro-scouse sh1te but at least he is honest and doesnt hide unlike that w4nker Redknapp who is everyone's (especially English players) mate.

The panel on these shows are all on it for a bit of craic & if Thommo gets the sh1t on certain occasions it is because the team he follows are having a tough time of it.

Anyone who watches it & takes it to heart has a problem

Quote from: full back on December 10, 2009, 02:19:40 PM
Sometimes he annoys your tits with the pro-scouse sh1te but at least he is honest and doesnt hide unlike that w4nker Redknapp who is everyone's (especially English players) mate.
The thing that sickens me about that twat is that he is on every f**king big match you get no variety, his analysis is shit and he is always looking to his colleagues for back up.

Chrisowc

His weekly hatchet job on Rafa is particularly hard to listen to especially when 99% of his cliched analysis could easily be applied to the managerial genius that is Arry.
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

Quote from: Doogie Browser on December 10, 2009, 02:37:12 PM
Quote from: full back on December 10, 2009, 02:19:40 PM
The thing that sickens me about that t**t is that he is on every f**king big match you get no variety, his analysis is shit and he is always looking to his colleagues for back up.

He sits on the fence so much he must have it impailed at this stage. Very boring and is typical of what is wrong with many punnits. Seems more intent on name dropping, mentioning spurs, wearing tight fitting suits, etc that actually discussing the match and saying anything remotely different from the last time he was on the screen.

Think it was this week where he mentioned Ronaldo reinventing the freekick and now all the freekick specialists have changed their techniques to copy this. These specialists he listed he listed included Juninho formerly of Lyon who has been at it for years.