Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

This is a bit pathetic, since the flag no more belongs to SF than any other candidate

Quote from: armaghniac on February 10, 2020, 06:01:23 PM
This is a bit pathetic, since the flag no more belongs to SF than any other candidate

Exactly.

Snapchap

Name a shinner who is saying otherwise.

Quote from: Snapchap on February 10, 2020, 06:46:14 PM

The question would be is this jingoism with the flag an example of what they call Performative Patriotism in US with Trump supporters. Nothing needs to be stated but the overzealous use of it by that political party and its supporters is to convey we are True Americans, you are not.

Angelo

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2020, 09:30:25 AM
Somebody tell SF that they don't own the tricolour please.

As the only All Ireland party, they have a greater claim to it than any other.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Snapchap

Quote from: weareros on February 10, 2020, 06:52:39 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on February 10, 2020, 06:46:14 PM

The question would be is this jingoism with the flag an example of what they call Performative Patriotism in US with Trump supporters. Nothing needs to be stated but the overzealous use of it by that political party and its supporters is to convey we are True Americans, you are not.
FFS take off the tin hat. Somehow I doubt if they decided to bring flags to the count centres to deliver some sort of message. Perhaps they are just not ashamed of being proud of it and are, understandably enough, in a celebratory mood.

Shocker as man waves Irish flag at election celebration in Ireland.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2020, 09:30:25 AM
Somebody tell SF that they don't own the tricolour please.

I don't think they ever said or implied they did? Am i wrong?

FF/FG are free to wave as many tricolours as they want.

Maybe they could start showing some maturity and treat the National flag with respect instead of acting like lads  at a match waving the  County flag.

Angelo

Quote from: Rossfan on February 10, 2020, 07:48:26 PM
Maybe they could start showing some maturity and treat the National flag with respect instead of acting like lads  at a match waving the  County flag.

Take it down from the mast Irish traitors
It's the flag we republicans claim
It will never belong to free staters
For you've brought on it nothing but shame
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Snapchap

Don't mind Rossfan. He's just having a little strop because the party he reckons wouldn't get 5% in the west/midlands went on to win the election.

Except they didnt actually win it.
81 seats needed to win it. ;)

Quote from: Rossfan on February 10, 2020, 08:03:16 PM
Except they didnt actually win it.
81 seats needed to win it. ;)

Now now Rossfan, they only fell 44 short.

What? ... show as much respect to our flag and national identity as FF did when they lost Ireland's sovereignty to Troika.  If a bit of flag waving is all you have to complain about, then you're not doing too badly in the grand scheme of things.

Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2020, 07:54:46 PM

Take it down from the mast Irish traitors
It's the flag we republicans claim
It will never belong to free staters
For you've brought on it nothing but shame

That's the spirit. Sing a Fianna Fail song. It will be good practice for when ye go into government with them.