Leinster Senior, u20 & Minor Football Championship 2019

Started by Dinny Breen, April 10, 2018, 11:01:34 AM

Quote from: Hound on April 11, 2018, 10:32:41 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 11, 2018, 10:19:21 AM
Are dublin due an away game or is it just a neutral venue ?
Hopefully Tullamore.

As with all Leinster venue choices, Dublin are only 1/12th to be blamed, if it goes somewhere else. We don't get a bigger say. For example, Nowlan Park would be a perfect neutral venue for a Leinster semi involving Dublin, but all the non-competing counties will always pick Croker because it generates extra money for their coffers.

I agree and disagree, it would help if your fans traveled. The reality is realtively speaking they don't so the State Council stick you in Croke Park and the rest of us suffer.

Unlaoised

So if Offaly beat Wicklow its in O'Moore park v Dublin????

I heard Tullamore!
LAOIS ABÚ

Longford beating Meath won't be a shock and the venue won't make a huge difference. We don't have the talent to do anything to begin with and there's more talk of lads leaving the squad since the league ended. Longford are looking more and more like a worthwhile bet at 5/2.

Less than 4 weeks now, salivating at the prospect of who's going to finish runners up..

Quote from: thejuice on April 13, 2018, 11:17:59 PM
Longford beating Meath won't be a shock and the venue won't make a huge difference. We don't have the talent to do anything to begin with and there's more talk of lads leaving the squad since the league ended. Longford are looking more and more like a worthwhile bet at 5/2.

I remember Carlow were expected to beat us in '96 and we went on to win the All-Ireland.
Could history repeat itself, I wonder?

Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 17, 2018, 12:03:47 PM
Less than 4 weeks now, salivating at the prospect of who's going to finish runners up..
Time to let the other 10 play for the Leinster Intermediate Championship and a big shiny cup. Winners play Dublin in the Senior Final..
Sadly.....

Quote from: Rossfan on April 17, 2018, 01:24:28 PM
Time to let the other 10 play for the Leinster Intermediate Championship and a big shiny cup. Winners play Dublin in the Senior Final..
Sadly.....

You probably should expand that to an All-Ireland Intermediate. Winners play Dublin in the Senior Final. Because you are all just as shit as the rest of Leinster, we don't pretend any different.

No we're not.
At least we all got points in the NFL. :P

Sorry to introduce hurley stuff but does anyone know if the Leinster or Minster Councils are doing any kind of ticket packages for the Round Robin games?

Unlaoised

I think the race to get to the final on on side is interesting this year....

Laois v Wexford is an open game with the winners v westmeath also being even ish.....

Westmeath will probably come through that and might even rattle the lilly whites who will dispose of Carlow or Louth (an interesting tie in itself)

Wicklow v Offaly is massive for the winners and a big pay day v the dubs!

Longford v Meath seems to be a tighter match match the closer it gets!

LAOIS ABÚ

Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 17, 2018, 01:41:11 PM
Sadly.....

You probably should expand that to an All-Ireland Intermediate. Winners play Dublin in the Senior Final. Because you are all just as shit as the rest of Leinster, we don't pretend any different.

The facts don't back that up though:

2017 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 3
Ulster x 3
Leinster x 1
Munster x 1

2016 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 2
Ulster x 2
Leinster x 1
Munster x 3

2015 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 1
Ulster x 4
Leinster x 2
Munster x 1

So over the past 3 years, you're looking at:

2017 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 6
Ulster x 9
Leinster x 4
Munster x 5

Even looking at the league standings for next year:
Connacht: 3 x D1, 1 x D3 & 2 x D4
Ulster: 3 x D1, 3 x D2, 1 x D3 & 1 x D4
Leinster: 1 x D1, 2 x D2, 6 x D3 & 2 x D4
Munster: 1 x D1, 3 x D2 & 2 x D4

Quote from: macdanger2 on April 19, 2018, 03:50:15 PM
Sadly.....

2017 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 3
Ulster x 3
Leinster x 1
Munster x 1

2016 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 2
Ulster x 2
Leinster x 1
Munster x 3

2015 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 1
Ulster x 4
Leinster x 2
Munster x 1

2017 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 6
Ulster x 9
Leinster x 4
Munster x 5

Yes the good old Leinster football championship with the strongest team in Ireland in the weakest province.

Quote from: macdanger2 on April 19, 2018, 03:50:15 PM
Sadly.....

2017 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 3
Ulster x 3
Leinster x 1
Munster x 1

2016 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 2
Ulster x 2
Leinster x 1
Munster x 3

2015 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 1
Ulster x 4
Leinster x 2
Munster x 1

2017 Quarter Finalists:
Connacht x 6
Ulster x 9
Leinster x 4
Munster x 5

Meh! How many All-Ireland's have the other provinces won in the last 6 years? The problem isn't Leinster football, it's Dublin. Put Dublin and all their home games and all their financial resources in any other province and you would all be just as shite. Freakonomics could probably a do a podcast on it.

Never mind Dublin.
There are still 4 Qtr Final places through the Qualifiers.