Cathal Dervan Lover's Unite and shed a tear for the FAI

Started by Barney, December 19, 2006, 03:30:04 PM

Ireland's Shitest Daily The Star.
all they want are papers to sell so they will write what the soccer heads want to hear and thats the culchies in the gaa hate soccer and dont want them playing in croker.
nicky brennan to be fair is playing this well and he is not getting in the papers near as much as the fai. meanwhile the irfu are good as gold and will reap benefits if any delays occur with lansdowne.
as i posted before the fai i heard wanted to play in glasgow as it would make them more money re corporate packages. they are stirrin it up so they can go off and say the 'bigots' in the gaa were impossible to deal with.

Quotethey are stirrin it up so they can go off and say the 'bigots' in the gaa were impossible to deal with.

As I predicted a long time back. Brennan is handling it skillfully though, more power to him.

QuoteBTW - how much is the rent for a day's training?

Same rent per day seems fair to me.

tayto

all this fuss about nothing. The stadium has to be changed over after the dublin  v tyrone match to be ready for the rugby match, presumably the rugby team have been given access for training puropses in the run up to their match. GET OVER IT! ... "nobody like us whinge whinge" JESUS WEPT constantly acting like victims. Can youimagine if the rugby team turned up to train the week before a soccer match, the FAI would go running to the media no doubt.

Dervan is a wingnut and if he told me 1+1 was 2 I'd get me calculator out.

tayto

It always amazes me that we never get GAA journalists letting loose a barrage of poorly thought out points about soccer like we have above, yet there is a constant stream of abuse aimed at the GAA from so called soccer fans. Why is that exactly?

TORGAEL

Dervan's an arsehole.thats pathetic.the fai have created this shambles for themselves through years of mismanagement.

Articles like that bug me. Ill-informed attempts at populism.
Feeding on silly prejudices.
Any soccer fans I know have no time for Dervan by the way, so lets not get too worried.
He was the offical FAI mouthpiece when they took a hammering over Saipan and is obviously being fed this story as well.
Dunphy was right about one thing..."scurvy little pup".

I'm not sure if he ever directly asked Irish fans to boo Roy Keane, but that was probably down to him never having the imagination to think of it.

Here is another sample of his work.
Quality, intelligent, erudite journalism for the discerning punter.  ;D

==
Keane - An 'Immaculate' Loser

I am sitting here, on Tuesday night, inside Mick McCarthy's
tent, wondering exactly what I should tell you, the good
Irish people about Roy Keane.

Keano, as he likes to be known, is currently outside peeing
in with the force of a typhoon. He is attempting to drown the
tent and all inside it as he pees venom and vitriol in all
our directions. Those inside are faced with a dilemma. Mick,
wise man that he is, is keeping his counsel as the pee hits
the fan. The rest of us have to make up our own minds, me included.

Should I now stay faithful to my old friend, the lord of the
tent, and tell you that Keano is the biggest spoiled brat to
come out of Ireland since your man out of Boyzone? Should I
tell you how half the country is laughing at Roy, and the
other half feels sorry for the poor wee fellow from Cork who
is more sinned against than sinning? Should I quote my other
mate Jack Charlton about how the easiest thing in the world
right now is to sit back and laugh as we watch Roy Keane dig
a hole, a very big hole, outside the tent?

Well, folks, I have decided to take a surprising stand. I
have a favor to ask of all of you, a little request to make
from me to you, good people. I want you to go out next month
and spend some hard earned money. I want you all to buy a
soccer book. No, I don't want you to buy my forthcoming book
on Mick McCarthy. Not unless you absolutely want to. No, if
you only buy one book from home in time for this Christmas, I
want you all to make sure it's the Roy Keane biography.

In fact, if you only buy one soccer book in your lifetime,
please ensure it is Eamon Dunphy's wonderful new account of
life as Roy Keane. Heck, if you can't even read, buy it and
get someone else to engage you with the wonderful prose, the
hard hitting truths and the lurid self-depreciation of one of
the world's greatest players.

And then, when you're finished digesting the greatest sports
book of all time about the greatest footballer of all time
and written by the greatest journalist of all time, give me a
call. And I'll let you in on a few secrets that aren't
contained inside the pages of Eamon and Roy's vendetta
catalogue, otherwise known as The Autobiography - Keane.

When you make that call, I'll tell you what it's really like
to know the two sides of Roy Keane, national icon and
international treasure, according to the radio muppet Dunphy.
I'll let you know exactly how hysterical it is to listen to
Eamo on his own radio show describe Roy Keane as an
"immaculate" human being, the same Roy who has brawled his
way across England and Ireland and ended up in a Cork court
after calling a neighbor's child a whore.

I'll tell you what it feels like to be Alf Inge Haaland, the
Manchester City midfielder whose career now hangs on a thread
because Keane deliberately, as he reveals in his book,
butchered him in a derby game two seasons ago. I'll let you
know how several young Irish players were so intimidated by
Keane's presence in the international squad that they dreaded
his arrival at the Dublin Airport hotel, how they hated his
very presence on the team bus.

I'll tell you how he refused a request from Sunderland
football club - not from me, by the way - to cooperate with
Niall Quinn's testimonial program because he severely
dislikes loveable Niall. I'll tell you how jealous he is of
Steve Staunton that he deliberately set out to castigate
Ireland's real World Cup captain before the tournament began.

Maybe I'll explain, to you and Eamon, that it was Richard
Dunne who sat beside Niall Quinn on a flight to Barcelona
from Cyprus, and not Derek Dunne as stated in Tuesday's
serialization in London's Times. As an aside, the only Derek
Dunne I know who played football was also a drug dealer and
was killed in Amsterdam a couple of years back.

And, if you're really lucky, I'll even tell you what it's
like to pick Roy Keane out of his own puke in a Manchester
Airport hotel bar, as I did some years back only days before
his first European Cup appearance for United. Now, to be
honest, I regret I didn't leave him to drown in his own
vomit, though he is making rather a good stab at that himself
as we speak.

I have to come clean here. Of course, folks, I am "bitter and
twisted," according to some. when it comes to Roy Keane. I am
even cast as "Mick's mate" in Keane's book, literally, and
that is akin to dancing with the devil in the eyes of the man
who can now do absolutely no wrong in any regard. So don't
believe anything I tell you about Roy Keane unless you want to.

And if you want to, let me explain a few facts about our Roy,
the man who is so perfect now at everything he does. In his
time, as he admits in his book, Roy was king of the thugs.
That's why the aforementioned Alf Inge Haaland has barely
kicked a ball in the 18 months since Roy exacted revenge for
a previous encounter at Elland Road. As Haaland lay on the
ground, Keane reveals, he looked at him and he said, "Take
that you c***." Rôle model stuff, indeed.

He likes his language, does our Roy. Saved some of the best
of it for Saipan when he branded Mick McCarthy everything
from an "effing c***" to an "effing w****r" in the course of
an eight minute tirade of abuse. Why? Was it because Mick
accused Keane of feigning injury ahead of Ireland's game
against Iran, as Keano and his muppeteer Dunphy would have
you believe?

Was it heck. There were 32 other people in that room that
night, and not one of them heard Mick accuse Keane of
feigning injury. That is definitely a Roy Keane/Eamon Dunphy
exclusive. So is their use of vulgar language. The only foul
and abusive language in Mick McCarthy's book comes when he
quotes Keane in that Saipan meeting. Yes, Mick has been known
to curse from time to time. He lives in a rough man's world
where such language is common. But he is also a man of great dignity.

He knows his book will be read by children, the very people
that Dunphy claims Keane is a rôle model for. And he knows,
in his heart and soul, that only one man has let his country
down when it mattered in recent years. Roy Keane did not want
to play for Jack Charlton or Mick McCarthy, that is clearly
evident as he assassinates both men in his Dunphyite words.
He didn't even want to play in the game that decided
Ireland's World Cup fate in Iran last November, walking out
of the team hotel without as much as a word to his teammates
as they went off to training and he left for the airport. His
apologists forget that.

They also forget that in Saipan, two nights before he was
thrown out of the World Cup, Keane quit international
football not once but three times. He told McCarthy he was
retiring after the 2002 finals, no matter what happened in
Japan or Korea. Now he is claiming that he will play for
Ireland again, but only if Mick gets the sack. What about
that retirement announcement in the Irish Times, Roy?

Keane even goes so far as to call Mick a comedian in his
brilliant book. Well, I have a question for the Roy wonder.
Who dressed up in a stupid looking Leprechaun suit to make a
television advert for Walkers crisps? Was it Mick McCarthy or
Roy Keane? Yes, you guessed right - Roy Keane, the biggest
joke of all. Happy reading!

By Cathal Dervan - Irish Voice, 14th Aug 2002.

tayto

he's one bitter little bollox that's for sure.  ???  ::)  ::)

Quote from: dubnut on December 19, 2006, 04:24:58 PM
Interestly he mentioned the "32 county" rugby team as if this was in some way a bad thing.
Can anyone give a logical reason why he would even mention this or is the guy just pure mental?

dubnut, the guy is just pure mental.

dublinfella

doesnt tom humphries 50 reasons gaa is better than soccer get posted every few months to great amusement? Same shite, different foot.

Dervin is a stain, but he has his finger on the pulse. Relations are low between CP and the FAI at the moment (as witnessed by a flare up between respective blazers at a function last week) and the soccer boys may well decide on Cardiff after all. The Tallaght thing is seen as one insult too far and Delaney is under pressure to be seen to defend his own.

Interesting times.

I thought Delany was saying only last week there were no problems between him and the GAA?
As for the training requests - surely in any sane organisation the Team manager(Staunton) would ask the Chief Official(Delaney) to approach his counterpart in the GAA(Liam or Nicky) and request particular dates.
But not with our wonderful FAI !! No it has to be Staunton asking via the media and letting the media know the answer.
Tossers the most of them >:(

dublinfella

Quote from: Rossfan on December 19, 2006, 07:53:12 PM
I thought Delany was saying only last week there were no problems between him and the GAA?
As for the training requests - surely in any sane organisation the Team manager(Staunton) would ask the Chief Official(Delaney) to approach his counterpart in the GAA(Liam or Nicky) and request particular dates.
But not with our wonderful FAI !! No it has to be Staunton asking via the media and letting the media know the answer.
Tossers the most of them >:(

its called picking a fight.....

neilthemac

QuoteAnd just in case you haven't noticed, soccer long ago passed gaelic football and hurling as the biggest participation sport for the youth of this country.

when did this happen? not in my lifetime anyway