Up for the match

Started by Farrandeelin, September 03, 2016, 10:51:13 PM

Quote from: sid waddell on September 05, 2016, 05:23:02 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on September 05, 2016, 02:58:12 PM
I've no issue with the show apart from a change of presenter is required but I can't understand how there isn't a programme on before both AI finals to discuss tactics etc. There was a programme on 3 or 4 years ago similar to this throughout the summer but obviously ratings weren't great.
I like tactical analysis.

But seriously, who the fook is interested in watching a programme about tactics the night before an All-Ireland final.

I like drinking the night before an All-Ireland final, and if I'm at home watching Up For The Match, I like to drink during that too.

Although I do turn something else on when the yawn-inducing, po-faced "Uachtaran Cummann Luthchleas Gael A-gawn O'Fareeeel" is interviewed. But I'll switch back for more cringe-inducing craic once he's toddled off.

My advice to the makers of Up For The Match is: cut Mr. O'Fareeeel and have more interviews with drunken 'oul lads and more features about painted sheep.
They should do interviews with the women following the players in the interests of the survival of the fittest.  Kilkenny have presumably run out of locals.

My favourite 'Up for the match' moment!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dONChKbYKs

Them were the days when Liam Ó Murchú as Trom agus Éadrom presented the show!

So that's where that awful caterwauling yoke started. :-[

Yes, it takes talent to come up with a concoction like that. 😊

No wonder the rest of the country was up for us in '96.

;D Thanks for that FTB. Incredible.

Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2016, 10:36:12 PM
No wonder the rest of the country was up for us in '96.

In the football and the fighting.

Quote from: Minder on September 05, 2016, 11:18:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2016, 09:08:31 PM
Mother of God.

Indeed, gruesome

Midwest Radio had that song rattling every minute of the day leading up to the match. Torture.

You have to love the enthusiasm of the backing singers.

Quote from: Minder on September 05, 2016, 11:18:48 PM
Mother of God.

Indeed, gruesome

Cringeworthy is not even half strong enough of a description
Good lyrics though
WTF

The only thing missing from that show was a meeting of the Ballymagash town council

Mother of God.

I'm depressed already, again, after watching the first 20 seconds of that.

Is it normal to be depressed 2 weeks before ye lose an AI final?

Quote from: moysider on September 06, 2016, 01:24:11 AM
Mother of God.

I laughed for first 20 seconds and this was quickly replaced by depression after 10 more seconds.
I wonder have their been many requests into Midwest radio for it.
Might call myself just for a laugh

Quote from: joemamas on September 06, 2016, 02:00:52 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 06, 2016, 01:24:11 AM
Mother of God.

I laughed for first 20 seconds and this was quickly replaced by depression after 10 more seconds.
I wonder have their been many requests into Midwest radio for it.
Might call myself just for a laugh

Please don't. :-[