GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on December 29, 2006, 08:01:11 PM

Title: Artificial Sun in Croke Park!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 29, 2006, 08:01:11 PM
Went on the tour of Croke Park today. 20 lids for the four of us. Guided tour of the a dressing room, premium level, corporate suite etc from a chirpy Dub 'on message'.

Some points to share:

1. Dressing room table has some serious damage to it from a few hurls. Big lump ate out of it as well. Tour guide said it was probably Brian Cody
2. Very funny seeing 5 bucket seats on their ownio installed on The Hill
3. Floodlights are the most powerful in the world. I am definitely going to Dublin v Tyrone game.
4. Restaurant in museum had only tay and coffee as grumpy auld chef went on the batter last night and pulled a sickie. Nobody had spare keys to release the crisps etc from the safe

The most amazing thing is shown on the picture below. Yep - for that all-over tan the sod had its own sunlamp to keep the grass growing all year round.

(http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n4/shamrockshore/sunbeds.jpg)

So - all in all, with the browsing in the Museum not really for the little uns but I could spend a week in there, well worth the time and effort.

Well done boys and girls in Croker and will someone get a new table made of marble or something.
Title: Re: Artificial Sun in Croke Park!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 30, 2006, 01:24:07 AM
Croker has to now be one of the best stadiums in the world?
Post by: neilthemac on December 30, 2006, 11:43:26 AM
not nearly

the facilities for normal spectators such as food outlets etc needs to be upgraded badly. Less bars, more food

Also the concourse for spectators running underneath the stands could do with a lick of paint...
Post by: Gnevin on December 30, 2006, 01:20:13 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 30, 2006, 01:10:24 PM
The ground only looks to be thre quarters complete. Surely they should think about doing away with the Hill and Nally Terrace.

Why in the name of god would they want to do that . The hill is one of the  greatest terrace in the world and adds to the atmosphere in croke park 
Post by: Star Spangler on December 30, 2006, 01:27:48 PM
They'd have to buy a street of houses behind the hill if they were going to complete the stadium right the way round.  The cost of doing this wouldn't stack up as the stadium can already hold over 82,000 people so we'll just have to get used to the Hill as it won't be going anywhere soon.
Post by: ziggysego on December 30, 2006, 02:40:43 PM
I thought it was more to do with the railway line running behind the Hill, rather than somewhere for the Dubs to stand and the housing behind.
Post by: tayto on December 30, 2006, 03:27:50 PM
I thought the original plans were for the hillto run at it's highest point right across, i agree that the nally bit looks a bit of a mess, surely some architect can come up with a plan to get around the railway line problem.

Moidern terracing is safe so long as you only allow the right number of people into each section. they use it a lot in german football, there are premiership fans who pint for terracing.

Still takes my breath away every time i step into the stadium.
Post by: laoislad on December 30, 2006, 03:49:19 PM
The Hill In my opinion should stay but some one really fucked up with the design,surely they could have joined it to the Hogan and Cusack stands and kept it the one height
Plus does anyone else think it looks really dull with blue and grey coloured seats I was in The Millennium Stadium in Cardiff at last seasons FA Cup Final and all the seats are red and green and various other colours and really looked well,The Ajax Stadium in Amsterdam is the same loads of colour
Maybe Croke Park could have done the seats in the colours of each county a section for each? or at least have the name Croke Park in a design in the seating
I know im being picky and when the stadium is full you don't even see the seating just think it would look well when empty
Post by: ziggysego on December 30, 2006, 03:56:25 PM
Personally I like the seats better that way, compared to what someother stadias have. Just look tacky if you ask me.
Post by: dublinfella on December 30, 2006, 03:58:12 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 30, 2006, 03:49:19 PM
The Hill In my opinion should stay but some one really fucked up with the design,surely they could have joined it to the Hogan and Cusack stands and kept it the one height
Plus does anyone else think it looks really dull with blue and grey coloured seats I was in The Millennium Stadium in Cardiff at last seasons FA Cup Final and all the seats are red and green and various other colours and really looked well,The Ajax Stadium in Amsterdam is the same loads of colour
Maybe Croke Park could have done the seats in the colours of each county a section for each? or at least have the name Croke Park in a design in the seating
I know im being picky and when the stadium is full you don't even see the seating just think it would look well when empty

Cardiff Arms and the Amsterdam ArenA are fully enclosed so the seats can be as jazzy as you like becaise they cant bee seen from outside, unlike CP!

was a planning issue
Post by: laoislad on December 30, 2006, 04:09:37 PM
Fair enough just thought it'd look nice
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 30, 2006, 04:16:48 PM
The place looks unfinished and that is a fact.  They should buy out the houses and complete the stadium because if you showed the pic above to anyone that diodn't know they would say it is unfinished.  There is no problem whatsoever building out over the railway line.
They should put solar panels along the roofs and power the whole place, floodlights and all from it.

Post by: ziggysego on December 30, 2006, 04:21:29 PM
Where will U2 stand, if you build over the Hill and Nally Stand
Post by: tayto on December 30, 2006, 04:25:08 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 30, 2006, 03:58:12 PM

Cardiff Arms and the Amsterdam ArenA are fully enclosed so the seats can be as jazzy as you like becaise they cant bee seen from outside, unlike CP!

was a planning issue

Have you seen the state of the pitches at both those venues? despite being conatantly replaced they are both a mess.
Post by: dublinfella on December 30, 2006, 04:32:07 PM
Quote from: tayto on December 30, 2006, 04:25:08 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 30, 2006, 03:58:12 PM

was a planning issue

Have you seen the state of the pitches at both those venues? despite being conatantly replaced they are both a mess.

here, I just answered a question about seats  ;)

we are fighting on enough threads.....

Post by: laoislad on December 30, 2006, 04:36:26 PM
and i only said coloured seats would look nice :'(
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 30, 2006, 05:22:44 PM
The stadium might look unfinished from the air but when you're in it, it looks fantastic.
Post by: Cloc Mor on December 30, 2006, 06:04:47 PM
Another disappointing thing about Croke Park is that you can still be soaked on a wet day, even though you are sitting in supposedly 'covered' stand.  Could the roof not have been extended a little further when they were building it to ensure everyone remains dry?
Post by: ONeill on December 30, 2006, 10:17:19 PM
Feckin bunch a moaners. Coloured seats, getting wet, how she looks from the sky, not enough food. Away to the states with ye.
Post by: Gnevin on December 31, 2006, 12:45:27 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 30, 2006, 04:16:48 PM
The place looks unfinished and that is a fact.  They should buy out the houses and complete the stadium because if you showed the pic above to anyone that diodn't know they would say it is unfinished.  There is no problem whatsoever building out over the railway line.
They should put solar panels along the roofs and power the whole place, floodlights and all from it.

All this talk of looks in bull who give a crap what i looks like , the hill at least on Dublin days is the engine room of Croke Park where all the chants begin. People who say croke park has a great atmosphere should think what the place would be like without the hill.  At Leinster games the east terrace is where the chants begin . Terracing is not unsafe once its controlled correctly .When Croke was being redevelop the only stand i ever notice the ground being quieter with out was the hill end
Post by: dublinfella on December 31, 2006, 01:20:09 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 31, 2006, 12:45:27 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 30, 2006, 04:16:48 PM

All this talk of looks in bull who give a crap what i looks like , the hill at least on Dublin days is the engine room of Croke Park where all the chants begin. People who say croke park has a great atmosphere should think what the place would be like without the hill.  At Leinster games the east terrace is where the chants begin . Terracing is not unsafe once its controlled correctly .When Croke was being redevelop the only stand i ever notice the ground being quieter with out was the hill end

exactly, the hill was designed with safety in mind unlike the terraces of the 70's
Post by: neilthemac on December 31, 2006, 01:03:39 PM
sure even when the hill is in full voice (rarely have a reason to), you can barely hear it from the Canal end...

all the sound in the stadium drifts out of the Hill end due to lack of a high stand and roof
Post by: ziggysego on December 31, 2006, 04:47:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 30, 2006, 10:17:19 PM
Feckin bunch a moaners. Coloured seats, getting wet, how she looks from the sky, not enough food. Away to the states with ye.

Well said
Post by: ardal on December 31, 2006, 05:05:49 PM
I coudn't give a rats arse about the seats, but how could the colour of seats be a planning issue? Christ I'd love to appeal on those grounds.
Post by: dublinfella on December 31, 2006, 05:48:22 PM
Quote from: ardal on December 31, 2006, 05:05:49 PM
I coudn't give a rats arse about the seats, but how could the colour of seats be a planning issue? Christ I'd love to appeal on those grounds.

because they can be seen from the street they have to be a 'neutral' colour, blue in CP case or Green for LR. much the same reason buildings in general arent luminious orange.

If the stadium is enclosed or cant be seen from the street, you can go wild.
Post by: ardal on December 31, 2006, 05:59:37 PM
If it's not in a conservation area then I believe the only restrictions on building colour is a restriction on blatent advertisements; are there special restrictions for the inside of stadiums?
Post by: dublinfella on December 31, 2006, 06:01:10 PM
Quote from: ardal on December 31, 2006, 05:59:37 PM
If it's not in a conservation area then I believe the only restrictions on building colour is a restriction on blatent advertisements; are there special restrictions for the inside of stadiums?

its not inside if the stadium isnt enclosed
Post by: Cloc Mor on December 31, 2006, 06:55:50 PM
QuoteFeckin bunch a moaners. Coloured seats, getting wet, how she looks from the sky, not enough food. Away to the states with ye.

I have made one and only post on this thread regarding an issue which I feel is important, unlike seat colour.  I remember well getting soaked in 1994 though copious amounts of alcohol did help to dry me out.  Tyrone and Armagh have had fine AI final days - you wanna be there when the heavens open (cue the jokes about not getting wet for a long time to come).  I suppose getting wet on one day out of five isn't too bad.  Both Armagh and Tyrone would gladly get soaked - us aristocrats like to stay dry on All Ireland Final day when we win our titles - maybe some of the real 'moaners' on this board could tell us Down men what its like to lose one.
Post by: laoislad on December 31, 2006, 08:27:48 PM
Jaysis i just said it would look nice i don't really give that much of a f**k about it,Once Laois win something next year the seats could be pink for all i care
Post by: laoislad on December 31, 2006, 09:08:52 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 31, 2006, 08:31:45 PM
You`ve more chance of finding pink seats in Croke Park than you have of seeing Laois winning anything meaningful next year ;)
Depends on your definition of meaningful..That is a Down crest beside your name is it??? Mmmmm people with stones in glass houses and all that ::)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 01, 2007, 04:30:22 AM
Christ, I only said that it was one of the best stadiums in the world, the colour of the seats (which are the same plastic seats that they use in every stadium-no matter what the colour!) doesn't matter a fu*k, could youse eejits please argue the point, is it it in the top ten or not, I think so...!
Post by: neilthemac on January 01, 2007, 11:51:06 AM
lets complie a top ten?

What are the conditions?
Good Design
Great Atmosphere
Impact

1 - San Siro

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/italy/lombardia/milano_meazza2.jpg)

2 - Olympic Stadium, Rome

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/italy/lazio/roma_olimpico1.jpg)

3 - Westfalenstadion, Dortmund

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/germany/nordrhein_westfalen/dortmund_westfalenstadion2.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2007, 11:58:21 AM
just my opinion and just a little biased i know but for pure atmosphere and history it has to be Anfield for me

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/gfg.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2007, 12:01:58 PM
even though i remember a hurling munster final in 99 where cork played tipp in thurles and that atmosphere was one of the best i have ever experienced so i put Semple Stadium Thulers in there too just for atmposhere as the place is a kipp or was then anyways

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/fdf.jpg)
Post by: neilthemac on January 01, 2007, 02:05:08 PM
neither of those two would get near a top 50 of stadiums in Europe...

4 - Nou Camp

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/spain/catalonia/barcelona_camp_nou2.jpg)

5 - Stade de France

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/france/ile_de_france/saint_denis2.jpg)

6 - Bernabeu

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/spain/madrid/madrid_santiago_bernabeu2.jpg)

7 - Old Trafford

(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/united_kingdom/england/north_west/manchester_old_trafford1.jpg)

Post by: tayto on January 01, 2007, 02:39:54 PM
I was in anfield once, we were over on a stag, the place is small enough, looks much much bigger on TV, not a patch on Croke Park. Crowd booed liverpool off the pitch after the most boring 90 minutes sport i've ever witnessed live. yerman houllier was still in charge at the time.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 01, 2007, 03:27:45 PM
I've been at the San Siro, and while it is very well laid out in terms of views from every seat, the stadium itself is nothing to write home about.

The Millenium Stadium is a dinger.
Post by: aontroim on January 01, 2007, 03:35:29 PM
Despite being a nice stadium, the nou camp falls way short on atmosphere and shouldnt make it near the top 20.
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2007, 07:53:43 PM
Nou Camp not bad atmosphere but a very old stadium that needs a complete overhaul definatly not in top 20
Old Trafford I've been there a few times and honestly you would get more atmposhere at a Kilkenny versus London Gaelic Football match
Stade De France nice stadium but really what does it have that any other doesn't? It just is what it is nothing new or exciting..Your just picking the obvious ones neilthemac and you did say atmosphere was a condition so i still think Semple Stadium on Munster Hurling Final day would be heard to beat anywhere in the world,so what if it hasn't the size of the Nou Camp it has things Old Trafford and The Nou Camp don't have and vice versa..I like the design of this one by the way at least it's orginal unlike The Stade De France

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/k.jpg)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 02, 2007, 11:55:01 AM
Quotejust my opinion and just a little biased i know but for pure atmosphere and history it has to be Anfield for me

Aye, so good they can't wait to leave it themselves. Stop making a fool of yourself.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 02, 2007, 12:11:35 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 02, 2007, 11:55:01 AM
Quotejust my opinion and just a little biased i know but for pure atmosphere and history it has to be Anfield for me

Aye, so good they can't wait to leave it themselves. Stop making a fool of yourself.

I thought it was financial considerations that were forcing the move out of Anfield - nothing to do with lack of atmosphere or history? Am I wrong?
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 12:24:06 PM

Making Fool of myself?? What planet are you on i was just giving my opinion hardly at the level of making a fool of myself jesus you are a cranky little child today aren't ya little seanie
And by the way, Rufus is spot on it's financial and the size of the stadium thats making them move..And believe me if you had been at the Champions League semi final when they beat Chelsea, seanie you would have experienced quite an atmosphere and are you disagreeing with me that it has no history??
Post by: McGuyver on January 02, 2007, 12:39:41 PM

In what way is he making a fool of himself magpie seanie?I have read all the posts and its a valid suggestion.I have been to Anfield and im not a supporter of them,And i thought the atmosphere and the stadium even though its quite small but this adds to the overall atmposhere of the place,to be a great stadium.And you can feel the history of the place when in the musem and even walking around the place..

For me the best stadium is the MCG in Melbourne.I was at a Aussie Rules game there and it was amazing,but as this is the best European stadium i would go for Cardiff Arms Park,Celtic Park and Croke Park but thats only my opinion and i hope im not called a FOOL for expressing such opinions
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 02, 2007, 12:57:16 PM
Have to agree with McGuyver on this one, Croker pips Celtic park slightly, but only because Celtic Park has lost some of the atmosphere since it's been done up.
Nou camp is falling to pieces and Old Trafford looks like it was thrown together by a 3 year old who got a lego set for Christmas!!!  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 02, 2007, 12:58:41 PM
I'm sorry folks and people are entitled to their opinions but to me suggesting that Anfield is the best stadium in the world is total horseshit.
Post by: McGuyver on January 02, 2007, 01:03:46 PM
Don't think he was suggesting it was the best in the world it was just his opinion of throwing a name into the hat..Your not a Liverpool fan thats for sure,but no need to call a persons opinion horseshite then not give your own views on which is the best and from what i can see laoislad has givin 4 or 5 stadiums for consideration and Anfield was only one of those and it obvious it means a lot to him as a Liverpool fan
You need to calm down and relax this poll is not going to save the world it's only a bit of craic
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2007, 01:30:29 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 12:24:06 PM

jesus you are a cranky little child today aren't ya little seanie

Probably back at work today
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 01:31:46 PM
Im just back today to ziggy.
Post by: thewobbler on January 02, 2007, 01:41:35 PM
For the first time in over three years, I'm going to come down on Seanie's side here. Laoislad's sole contribution since joining the GAABoard is to post endless 'we' comments on the Liverpool supporters thread, each of them with that gaudy monstrosity of a banner appended to the end. This is one of his few soirees into the GAA discussion area, yet he still managed to talk up his beloved Liverpool on a Croke Park thread.

I've no problem with soccer now, not even close. But I do wonder why this fella subscribes to a GAA message board.
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 01:48:00 PM
In fairness you have a point the wobbler...But as this a quite time for gaa i don't have much too say at this time come feb i will..Plus i have done more than just post on liverpool supporters thread and as for talking up Liverpool on this thread well the question asked was about stadiums with which you think are good and i gave my opinion which included Anfield but also others..Now you relax too thewobbler and don't be taking life so seriously
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 02, 2007, 02:01:24 PM
Quotewith that gaudy monstrosity of a banner appended to the end

In fairness Laoisfan it does you no favours, stick in a banner of Tom Kelly or something, even Wolly would be preferable....
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 02:03:40 PM
Fair enough lads i'll take it off didn't realise it cause such distress and heartache among a few sensitive few..
But i don't think Wolly would be a good option ;D
Post by: McGuyver on January 02, 2007, 02:17:16 PM
Right i admit im glad the banner is gone,But i think thewobbler is way out of order he used magpies seanies comments to get at laoislad without actually saying anything regarding the thread
He said he agreed with seanie but didn't give a reason why,he just procedeed to slag laoislad,and it had nothing to do with his choice of stadia so tell me why did you agree with seanie thewobbler on what point?
Also i read a lot more posts than i actually post myself and from reading the liverpool thread laoisald is not the only one to call Liverpool "we" and with 500 odd posts i don't think it's he's sole contribution to this board
Don't read the liverpool thread if you have such a problem with it thewobbler
Post by: McGuyver on January 02, 2007, 02:18:45 PM
oh yeah and please don't put wolly on it please :D :D
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2007, 02:29:27 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 01:31:46 PM
Im just back today to ziggy.

Meant seanie ;)

I'm back too. The January blues are kicking in :(
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 02:51:08 PM
Right lets clear this up once and for all..Never once did i say Anfield was the best stadium in the world if everyone goes back to page 3 of this thread you'll see exactly what i said in my orginal post on Anfield and it is the same as what 5times has just said it pure atmosphere, and for me Anfield is the best in the world for it...right!
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2007, 03:01:07 PM
I understood you Laoislad and I'm sure the rest did too. Don't rise to them, they are just stirring it up.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 02, 2007, 03:31:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 02:51:08 PM
Right lets clear this up once and for all..Never once did i say Anfield was the best stadium in the world if everyone goes back to page 3 of this thread you'll see exactly what i said in my orginal post on Anfield and it is the same as what 5times has just said it pure atmosphere, and for me Anfield is the best in the world for it...right!

let me get this straight,
you are saying that old trafford is better then ?  :o

Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 03:37:29 PM
ha ha.............................................NO :P
Post by: neilthemac on January 02, 2007, 06:53:09 PM
if you are talking about Atmosphere alone, then anfield might be near the top - but we are not

Design (facilities, sight lines etc)
Atmosphere (does it generate it)
Impact (wow factor)

Croker is up there on all three counts

We were talking about stadiums in Europe. If we're talking about stadiums in the world then ONE stadium stands out above any other

Rungnado May Day Stadium -    Pyöngyang, North Korea
(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/asia/north_korea/pyongyang_may_day1.jpg)
(http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/asia/north_korea/pyongyang_may_day2.jpg)

a capacity of 150,000. Need I say anymore?
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 07:00:12 PM
Now that is some stadium nice design too
Post by: Gnevin on January 02, 2007, 07:19:45 PM
Nothing like a total lack of democracy to build some of the most impressive buildings in the world.  China 08 and that Dam both come to mind
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2007, 08:42:18 PM
The Beijing Olympic Stadium  :o :o

(http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/5899/beijingnationalstadiumss0.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2007, 09:08:21 PM
SHIT :o :o :o
Is that even built yet?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2007, 10:03:11 PM
it's a big construction site at the minute

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=beijing&ie=UTF8&om=1&z=17&ll=39.991227,116.390362&spn=0.006025,0.013561&t=k&iwloc=addr
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2007, 10:05:04 PM
Google Maps is a bit old

(http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/rids/20061217/i/r3158092677.jpg)

(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/afp/20061212/capt.sge.urg93.121206154302.photo01.photo.default-512x337.jpg)
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 03, 2007, 12:04:49 PM
Lads, any Liverpool fan will tell you that 99% of the time Anfield is like a morgue. Constantly outsung by the away support, silent fans who only raise a cheer if the team score or are ahead. Obvious exceptions are big European nights and games against Man Yoo, the Blueshite from across the way and lately, Chelsea.

For any other run of the mill game at Anfield though, you'd nod off.

The Liverpool away fans are the ones that generate real noise and atmosphere at a game.

The best atmosphere I ever heard at a GAA game in Croker was at Dublin v Armagh semi-final in 2002. The massive, explosive boom of noise when Whelan scored his goal was like nothing - and I mean nothing - I've ever heard before or since. It near took my head off.
Post by: BenDover on January 03, 2007, 12:19:08 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on January 03, 2007, 12:04:49 PM
The best atmosphere I ever heard at a GAA game in Croker was at Dublin v Armagh semi-final in 2002. The massive, explosive boom of noise when Whelan scored his goal was like nothing - and I mean nothing - I've ever heard before or since. It near took my head off.

I'd the pleasure of being amongst a small pocket of Armagh supporters on the Hill that day, omg that was just pure class. The Hill without the Dubs on it is not the same imho
Post by: Gnevin on January 03, 2007, 01:28:56 PM
Quote from: BenDover on January 03, 2007, 12:19:08 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on January 03, 2007, 12:04:49 PM

I'd the pleasure of being amongst a small pocket of Armagh supporters on the Hill that day, omg that was just pure class. The Hill without the Dubs on it is not the same imho
2002 was good
2005 dublin v tyrone replay was better!
Post by: Onlooker on January 03, 2007, 11:39:47 PM
I agree with 5ive Times.  The atmosphere at the Tyrone/Armagh semi-final in 2005 was the best I ever experienced.  Like him, I was there as a neutral, being there as a Tipperary supporter in the curtain-raiser against Wexford (Tommy Murphy Cup Final).  The atmosphere present for the semi-final added hugely to the enjoyment of the day for all Tipperary people present. 
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2007, 11:49:00 PM
I always find it intriguing when neutrals tell me of their experiences during that 2005 semi - many can't put their finger on it - some kind of aura lingering/suffocating the ground.

I had the pleasure of watching that game in the Press Area so it was as detached as you could be. I remember looking around and seeing that kind of heat you get rising from a road in the distance on a hot day, circulating the ground. The Hill was resplendid with colour, although I've always felt when the two met Armagh numbered more on the Hill.