GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: umgolaarmagh on December 06, 2006, 09:02:53 AM

Title: Eric Millar
Post by: umgolaarmagh on December 06, 2006, 09:02:53 AM
Have just heard on the radio that Eric Millar former Ireland and Lions Rugby star lined out for the Dubs in a challenge against Louth at full forward.

Id say a few fullbacks would have worried faces if he came running into the full forward position at the start of a game
Title: Re: Eric Millar
Post by: trueblue on December 06, 2006, 09:34:17 AM
saw a clip of him training with his club during the summer on that park live show.he looked very awkward of himself,though i suppose thats understandable since hes played rugby for years.be interesting to see how he would fare with some top class inter county training
Post by: tayto on December 06, 2006, 09:37:12 AM
aparently he kicked three points from play, albeit against a very experimental lotuh side. You'd have to wonder about his mobility.
Post by: liihb on December 06, 2006, 09:55:28 AM
Apparently he was blocked down quite a few times too, well according to Dubs Forum!
I heard that Dublin played against the wind for both halves, must have been a pretty dire Louth team...you'd wonder what the point of these games are at this time of year.
Post by: cavan4ever on December 06, 2006, 10:11:25 AM
The play these games to give lads a rest from training. With some counties at it 5 nights a week they'd need a game now and again to keep them interested.
Post by: tayto on December 06, 2006, 10:12:57 AM
yea, saw that as well, i wouldnt go reading too much into it but a challenge match can be a tool for coaching-motivating players instead of a nights training.
Post by: liihb on December 06, 2006, 11:07:42 AM
Makes some sense to give lads a break alright, but did you see the list of lads out? All those fellas couldn't be training with Dublin at the moment? replace couldn't with shouldn't as you see fit.
Post by: Declan on December 06, 2006, 11:30:23 AM
http://members.boardhost.com/dubsforum/msg/1165395873.html

try this one Mid Louth
Post by: Gnevin on December 06, 2006, 12:58:22 PM
http://www.reservoirdubs.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2593
Post by: easytiger on December 06, 2006, 05:56:44 PM
The brother was at the game - reckons Conal Keaney shouldn't be worried yet - well able to catch, but very immobile and was blocked repeatedly.
Post by: Gnevin on December 06, 2006, 06:05:39 PM
Graham Cullen - Skerries Harps  he's Bryan Cullen's brother right?
Post by: Declan on December 06, 2006, 06:09:48 PM
Graham is Bryans brother alright - didn't he play FF on the minor team that won Leinster a few years ago??
Post by: screenexile on December 06, 2006, 06:39:52 PM
Played with Eric a few times last year for the Boden. It was unfortunate that he came in so late last year because he really didn't have the skills mastered when it came to championship and it cost us in the end when he missed an open goal. I wouldn't blame him for that though.

He is a big lad... not the most mobile and the last time I saw himi his skill level had dropped and he takes a long time to wind up a kick (He gives it some wellie though). All in all I can't see him playing for Dublin as it would require a lot of one on one training and even then would he really be better than what they have already? My own feeling is that Dublin struggle in defence and their attack is one of the most dangerous in Ireland when they get the ball. Give Eric a full season though and he could cause a stir in the CLub Championship.
Post by: Gnevin on December 06, 2006, 07:42:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 06, 2006, 06:39:52 PM
Played with Eric a few times last year for the Boden. It was unfortunate that he came in so late last year because he really didn't have the skills mastered when it came to championship and it cost us in the end when he missed an open goal. I wouldn't blame him for that though.

He is a big lad... not the most mobile and the last time I saw himi his skill level had dropped and he takes a long time to wind up a kick (He gives it some wellie though). All in all I can't see him playing for Dublin as it would require a lot of one on one training and even then would he really be better than what they have already? My own feeling is that Dublin struggle in defence and their attack is one of the most dangerous in Ireland when they get the ball. Give Eric a full season though and he could cause a stir in the CLub Championship.

Dublin  didnt concede a goal up to the mayo game and had or have the best defensive record in the last championship , i dont know where this myth comes from
Post by: turk on December 07, 2006, 09:44:17 AM
What's the crack with Paddy Christie - is he still injured or will he be back at all?
Post by: dubnut on December 07, 2006, 09:53:40 AM
Quote from: turk on December 07, 2006, 09:44:17 AM
What's the crack with Paddy Christie - is he still injured or will he be back at all?

Wasnt injured for most of the championship last year, just kicking his heels on the bench
Post by: GallBoss on December 07, 2006, 02:21:24 PM
Quote from: turk on December 07, 2006, 09:44:17 AM

I heard Christie had his Gilmores Groin repaired and from what I know about it thats not an easy one to get back from it takes a while to get back up to "full speed"
Post by: dodo on December 07, 2006, 02:39:30 PM
What age is Christie ? Would guess 32

Did himself and Ciaran 'can't be sent off anymore' Whelan come into the Dublin set up after the 1995 AI win in 1996 ?
Post by: dubnut on December 07, 2006, 02:50:34 PM
"Ciaran 'can't be sent off anymore' Whelan"

Anymore?

Whelan started in 1996, cant remember when Christie started
Post by: liihb on December 07, 2006, 03:56:49 PM
Were Christie and Robertson the same year?
Post by: Dual Star on December 07, 2006, 04:42:58 PM
Paddy Christie started in 1995. He might well have been on the team that won the All-Ireland that year but he got injured and Keith Galvin got in and kept the position.
Post by: dubsnsubs on December 07, 2006, 08:21:02 PM
Sure you're not thinking of Dermot Deasy who got injured in '95?
Post by: davyfitz on December 08, 2006, 01:33:31 PM
Saw Millar tipping about at the football in Boston one summer and if his appearance didn't scare u (big frigger) u would be grand, he wouldn't be that skillful.  Is he playing any rugby at all?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 08, 2006, 02:00:24 PM
Saw an interview with him in the paper and he was saying that he hadn't been training for about 6 weeks so was out with the missus kicking a ball in the hurricane for practice leading up to the match...give him a few months of pre-season and training etc and we can judge better...

Sure who knows when a big strong full forward on the edge of the square will be useful as long as you have accurate kickers....
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 08, 2006, 02:12:59 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 08, 2006, 02:00:24 PM
Saw an interview with him in the paper and he was saying that he hadn't been training for about 6 weeks so was out with the missus kicking a ball in the hurricane for practice leading up to the match...give him a few months of pre-season and training etc and we can judge better...

Sure who knows when a big strong full forward on the edge of the square will be useful as long as you have accurate kickers....

you left out the word 'agile' between 'strong' and 'Full forward' ;)
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on December 08, 2006, 03:35:03 PM
yep met him out in boston one summer, some size of a man.