GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GrandMasterFlash on May 29, 2018, 02:35:31 PM

Title: USFC SF: Monaghan v Fermanagh - Sunday 3rd June at 2pm - Healy Park Omagh
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on May 29, 2018, 02:35:31 PM
Jaysus, it's horrid quiet..  :)

Back to Omagh for the Monaghan lads..

I'd expect this to be closer than some might expect. Will Fermanagh push up on Beggan's kickouts potentially leaving them one-on-one or exposed at the back? This tactic will be important I feel given the influence of Beggan on how Monaghan operate.

It'll be interesting, I'd hope and expect Monaghan to pull away in the end but Fermanagh certainly do not fear Monaghan. The recent encounter in the Athletic Grounds should be fresh in the minds of the Monaghan players and management..

Title: Re: USFC SF: Monaghan v Fermanagh - Sunday 3rd June at 2pm - Healy Park Omagh
Post by: FermGael on May 30, 2018, 09:44:50 PM
Have to say it's very quiet.
I watched back the Armagh game and looking back if Armagh would have taken their chances Fermanagh would have been beat.  They hit a serious amount of wides from very kickable frees. Monaghan will be alot more clinical that Armagh .
Fermanagh will have to be very disciplined in the tackle. Anything inside the 60 is kickable for Began.
We have to keep it tight. We will play the system we have played all year but against Armagh we kept the two Quigley's up the field which was good because it meant we had a goal threat up there and they had to be watched.
Corrigan seems to have been fit for the Armagh game but wasn't risked because he wasn't needed.
Would be very interesting if Fermanagh started both Quigley's and Tomas. 
We have a good midfield but Began will not kick anywhere near them.
Can see Monaghan targeting our half forward line for kickouts as they will have a significant height advantage there.

Ultimately I think the strength of the Monaghan squad will carry the game . 
Malachy has had Femanaghs number since he took over Monaghan.
He knows the Fermanagh lads very well.
Monaghan by a few after a tight first half
Title: Re: USFC SF: Monaghan v Fermanagh - Sunday 3rd June at 2pm - Healy Park Omagh
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 30, 2018, 10:07:54 PM
Why is this down for Omagh? Surely Cavan would be more suitable would it not?
Post by: FermGael on May 30, 2018, 10:33:41 PM
Cavan out of action for a while I believe.
Pitch is getting redone
Post by: trileacman on May 30, 2018, 11:03:54 PM
I'd concede the kick outs and squeeze the middle third of the pitch if I were Fermanagh. Play your blanket between the two 45's which seems to be the more modern way of playing it. If you drop too deep you'll be fouling within range of Beggans frees. Monaghan's depth of talent may well tell in the closing stages but I reckon Fermanagh won't be far away in this one.

What was the injury that banjaxed Corrigan again? Shoulder? Or was that the brother?
Post by: Unlaoised on May 31, 2018, 01:48:50 AM
Monaghan by 6
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2018, 08:36:40 AM
3 days out and there's not much chat. I'm going, so if you hear anyone with a western accent it could be me.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on May 31, 2018, 09:04:22 AM
Quote from: FermGael on May 30, 2018, 09:44:50 PM
Have to say it's very quiet.
I watched back the Armagh game and looking back if Armagh would have taken their chances Fermanagh would have been beat.  They hit a serious amount of wides from very kickable frees. Monaghan will be alot more clinical that Armagh .
Fermanagh will have to be very disciplined in the tackle. Anything inside the 60 is kickable for Began.
We have to keep it tight. We will play the system we have played all year but against Armagh we kept the two Quigley's up the field which was good because it meant we had a goal threat up there and they had to be watched.
Corrigan seems to have been fit for the Armagh game but wasn't risked because he wasn't needed.
Would be very interesting if Fermanagh started both Quigley's and Tomas. 
We have a good midfield but Began will not kick anywhere near them.
Can see Monaghan targeting our half forward line for kickouts as they will have a significant height advantage there.

Ultimately I think the strength of the Monaghan squad will carry the game . 
Malachy has had Femanaghs number since he took over Monaghan.
He knows the Fermanagh lads very well.
Monaghan by a few after a tight first half

I would expect Kieran Duffy to mark Seamie and Drew Wylie to mark Sean. There has been evidence recently that Drew has lost some of his pace but he has marked Sean to good effect before and I'd expect him to do the same this time. Darren Hughes will be the man likely to sweep in front of them.

I think conceding the kickouts (completely) is a high wire strategy, as proved by Antrim on Sat evening. If you have strong runners and good support play (thus breaking the line) it leaves you open at the back.

What Monaghan did to good effect in the Tyrone game was to push up on their kickouts and as soon as the ball was kicked long drop back to crowd the middle third before the ball was fielded.. Now, this takes a huge amount of energy and would not be sustainable for 75mins but is an effective strategy as you have men joining the attack and providing off the shoulder support as the ball is broke, or a mark is executed, providing you win possession of course..  ;) I'm not a fan of zonal marking either as players get caught out of position too often for my liking, this causing confusion/frustration.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on May 31, 2018, 09:11:20 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2018, 08:36:40 AM
3 days out and there's not much chat. I'm going, so if you hear anyone with a western accent it could be me.

If you stand out from the Monaghan and Fermanagh accents you'll be doing well.. Enjoy!  ;)
Post by: Schkite on May 31, 2018, 09:25:10 AM
Being honest, unless we get too complacent, you would think we will come through this fine. And I would hope the defeat against Down last year is still fresh enough to make sure that doesn't happen.

Just seen in the paper this morning that we've had 21 scores against Fermanagh in our last 3 championship meetings which was interesting. Gallagher seems to have tightened them up a bit of the back at the same time, but still I think we have a good spread of scorers and good options off the bench if the game is close late on - and it was in the last 10-15 minutes where we've really pulled clear of Fermanagh in recent meetings. So I think it could be tight for a while, but ultimately we should pull away from them.

Is Conor Boyle back for this I wonder? If he's fit then I'd start him on one of the Quigleys.
Post by: Boycey on May 31, 2018, 12:37:42 PM
Any Tyronies with local knowledge of 'secret' back routes out of Omagh for people heading towards Monaghan. We were ok the last day but loads of ones were caught in the gridlock and didn't reach home til approaching 10PM
Post by: redzone on May 31, 2018, 01:30:07 PM
Your prob coming from ballygawley roundabout so 1st roundabout take the second turnoff then at next roundabout take the first turnoff left. That will take you into Campise. Park there and you should get straight out. Turn your car to and loads of food outlets there too. It's a bit of a walk but if you don't know the area around Healy then I wouldn't be going near the pitch
Post by: Erne Man on May 31, 2018, 05:25:42 PM
Not particularly excited about this one to be honest. I think the step up here is huge, and I suspect Monaghan will do what they have done to us in the past few meetings and run out 7 or 8 point winners.
Having watched the Armagh game over again - I thought we were quite poor. Our comfortable win was more down to how utterly useless Armagh were on the night. Defence looked ok, but Armagh got a lot of shots off, and you'd imagine Monaghan will be a lot more efficient in front of goal. I think we still lack abit of pace in the full back line outside of Mickey Jones which would be a concern.
Midfield were excellent, and it will be interesting to see what Beggan does with his kickouts. Armagh keeper was spooked in the q/f and didnt go long once. Yet we didnt push up at all and force him to kick it long, and offered him a corner back for at least all his 1st half kick outs. Donnelly and Jones were excellent, but the Hughes brothers bring a different aggression, so we cant rely on Eoin and Ryan to carry as much as they did the last day. I suspect Ryan's late runs will be tagged better by the Monaghan defence, which could reduce our scoring threat from that area.
We really lack speed inside, and if Tomas is fit he has to start. Seamus and Sean aren't natural ball winners, so the long ball option on top of them isnt going to work often enough in a game to get a scoring return from it. The McCusker's are great workers, but need to be careful of carrying into contact against a better organised team - they can be prone to turning over possession cheaply. Aidan Breen was quite quiet against Armagh, and he definitely has more in him for Sunday.
For me the performance is more important than the result this weekend, and we will need a decent showing to bring some momentum into the qualifiers. Hate to be negative, but I suspect both teams will probably score about the same as their respective quarter finals - with a fairly comfortable Monaghan win.
Post by: Schkite on June 01, 2018, 09:07:46 PM
Monaghan name an unchanged team - which as we all know means nothing, as Malachy will make his customary couple of changes before throw in.

Good chance a couple of Boyle, Walshe and McCarthy could start, but I wouldn't be surprised to see another curveball like Garland starting or something like that.
Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2018, 01:39:32 PM
Seamus Quigley replaced by Ciaran Corrigan.

Amazingly, Monaghan play as selected! Can't recall many times in recent years we've done that in the championship
Post by: general_lee on June 03, 2018, 01:48:34 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2018, 01:39:32 PM

Amazingly, Monaghan play as selected! Can't recall many times in recent years we've done that in the championship
Think seamy enjoyed the victory over Armagh a bit too much
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2018, 02:02:19 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 03, 2018, 01:39:32 PM

There a photo doing the rounds of him that might explain why.
Post by: Beffs on June 03, 2018, 02:02:52 PM
Jesus Christ....my ears !
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2018, 02:07:32 PM
I wonder what the odds are on a scoreless draw...
Post by: armaghniac on June 03, 2018, 02:14:45 PM
So far, Monaghan aren't doing any better than Armagh did.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 02:17:16 PM
Monaghan, in particular, so far, are some undiluted dirge :D
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2018, 02:21:11 PM
17 minutes Monaghans first score! Fermanagh tactics has Monaghan spooked...
Post by: Rossfan on June 03, 2018, 02:21:36 PM
Now ye know why RTÉ and Sky are mainly doing Hurling.
And still ye tell me the game is grand as it is.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2018, 02:22:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 03, 2018, 02:21:36 PM

This game was always going to be shite.
Post by: randomusername on June 03, 2018, 02:23:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 03, 2018, 02:21:36 PM

It's a great match so far.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 02:23:54 PM
Though the ref is blowing against Monaghan where Coldrick didn't against ourselves -- they look distinctly discomfited.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2018, 02:24:20 PM
So far so good for Fermanagh if they pull it off they won't care how ugly the win will be.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 02:25:20 PM
Fermanagh play to their strengths. Monaghan are well beatable. This may not be a classic
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 02:26:22 PM
Fermanagh doing what they've always done and dragging the game down to their level. 04 and 08 were septic stuff too.

It's monaghans fault for not having the brains or game to usurp them, despite Brolly and co. telling me they were world beaters this past fortnight and destined for the semi-finals.
Post by: Ed Hardy on June 03, 2018, 02:27:31 PM
Is big Seamy on the bench? Why was he dropped from starting 15?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 02:28:42 PM
Remember Monaghan were beaten by Longford, in Clones, 2 years ago. They are far from world beaters
Post by: Beffs on June 03, 2018, 02:31:02 PM
I'll be over here in the corner, rapidly losing the will to live, if anyone is looking for me.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 02:31:20 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 02:28:42 PM
Remember Monaghan were beaten by Longford, in Clones, 2 years ago. They are far from world beaters
Longford are not too shabby these days at all at all.

Monaghan seem to be better this year. Maybe Tyrone are wojous altogether. 
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2018, 02:35:12 PM
(https://fsmedia.imgix.net/43/e9/9e/ac/0c64/4d0e/a2bc/dda1d61a31db/on-fire.jpeg?rect=0%2C56%2C1280%2C640&auto=format%2Ccompress&w=650)
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2018, 02:35:36 PM
Quote from: Ed Hardy on June 03, 2018, 02:27:31 PM
Is big Seamy on the bench? Why was he dropped from starting 15?

He enjoyed the apple juice too much with the good weather.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 03, 2018, 02:38:52 PM
A Fermanagh sub manages to get himself sent into the stand. Good going.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2018, 02:40:25 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 02:28:42 PM
Beaten by Down last year and they are about the same level as Fermanagh. Tyrone looking at this today will know they need to improve a lot in defence to make any progress this summer.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 02:45:48 PM
35 minutes and Monaghan have one score from play.
Jaysus.
Hurling is a much better product at the moment.
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 02:45:58 PM
I know ye are all hating it but I would literally be delighted to see Fermanagh win this match 6 points to 4 points. f**k it I'd have taken a 1-0 win before the whistle was blew.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 03, 2018, 02:50:30 PM
Monaghan could have emptied the tank against Tyrone.  Hopefully Fermanagh can dog it out. First ten minutes of second half will be interesting.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2018, 02:54:08 PM
Quote from: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 02:26:22 PM
Fermanagh doing what they've always done and dragging the game down to their level. 04 and 08 were septic stuff too.

It's monaghans fault for not having the brains or game to usurp them, despite Brolly and co. telling me they were world beaters this past fortnight and destined for the semi-finals.

It's only half time
Post by: sid waddell on June 03, 2018, 02:55:47 PM
This is everything you hope for from the Ulster championship - right from the traditional dreadful rendition of the anthem, to the off the ball niggle and the blanket defence and the constant sideways handpassing and the waterboy being sent off and the wides and the poor basic skills and the slow pace and...everything.

If this game could speak, it would speak with a whistle like Ian Paisley.

It has all the elements. It's magnificent.

The only thing we're missing is a few red cards on the pitch. They'll come, though, they'll come.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 02:58:10 PM
If Fermanagh won Ulster for the first time it would be very romantic. Even if the football was dire. Nobody would care.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2018, 03:00:36 PM
I certainly wouldn't...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 03:05:15 PM
Such bollox acting.

I want both to lose now  >:(
Post by: Throw ball on June 03, 2018, 03:08:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 02:58:10 PM
If Fermanagh won Ulster for the first time it would be very romantic. Even if the football was dire. Nobody would care.

No harm to you but that is a load of tripe. Fermanagh are complete anti football. Monaghan could well fall into the trap of retaliating in kind but a Fermanagh win would be terrible for Ulster football.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2018, 03:08:57 PM
Have a feeling that Monaghan might nick a victory here
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2018, 03:17:40 PM
Disappointing to see Fermanagh resort to some of their antics. That would lose any romanticism.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 03, 2018, 03:20:24 PM
Monaghan not looking like the AI title contenders they were hyped up to be.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2018, 03:24:47 PM
Monaghan 0-3 Fermanagh 0-0 in this 2nd half with 10 mins to play.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2018, 03:32:12 PM
Two point Monaghan lead now hard to see them letting that lead slip now with 3 mins to play. Fermanagh down to 14 men also.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 03, 2018, 03:36:23 PM
Good goal but that is playacting now :(
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2018, 03:36:28 PM
Wow A fermanagh goal out of nothing against run of play!
Post by: Seany on June 03, 2018, 03:40:01 PM
A sad day for football
Post by: armaghniac on June 03, 2018, 03:40:35 PM
Not a sad day for Fermanagh.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2018, 03:41:11 PM
Win at a canter lol,
back door looking very messy now
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2018, 03:42:00 PM
Congrats to Fermanagh first Ulster final for 10 years. Great on field match celebrations now the way it should be. Take note Croke park.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 03:42:11 PM
14 men and Ulster and they win. Unbelievable Jeff
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 03:42:20 PM
I'd prefer that any day, to a Leinster, Munster, or Connacht cakewalk -- excitement Inc. Well done the Fermanagh men.
Post by: Throw ball on June 03, 2018, 03:42:42 PM
Quote from: Seany on June 03, 2018, 03:40:01 PM
A sad day for football

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 03, 2018, 03:42:59 PM
Not a major shock.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2018, 03:43:06 PM
ugly as hell but when u got few playing numbers playing against a team with better players with the exception of 2-3 fermanagh players, what other style of football to you play.
Post by: Main Street on June 03, 2018, 03:43:28 PM
Turgid game, Monaghan didn't do enough to deserve any better outcome.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 03, 2018, 03:43:38 PM
Spillane thinks Fermanagh are in the Super 8's!
Post by: Throw ball on June 03, 2018, 03:44:07 PM
Does that ease Geezers position with Armagh
Post by: longballin on June 03, 2018, 03:45:00 PM
Ulster football is in some hole
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 03, 2018, 03:45:18 PM
Good luck to Fermanagh in the Ulster final.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2018, 03:45:41 PM
Hmm so Armagh aren't that bad after all? Well done Fermanagh, underdog wins like that is what makes cup football great.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 03, 2018, 03:45:48 PM
Holy Moley!! Monaghan deserve a kick up the hole for that performance. They looked like they were coasting and expecting to win it eventually. They're clearly psychologically delicate and should not be losing games like that.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 03, 2018, 03:47:09 PM
Would be delighted to see Fermanagh winning ulster even if they don't play great football
Post by: tintin25 on June 03, 2018, 03:48:37 PM
Unbelievable finish!  Not too often Fermanagh get an Ulster final to enjoy so whether the football was puke or not I don't care!  I know one thing for sure, ya wouldn't be getting those celebrations at the end in a 'B' championship!
Post by: dublin7 on June 03, 2018, 03:51:27 PM
I'm looking forward to Jimmy McGuinness's article this week. In the past he hasn't even tried to hide his hatred for Rory Gallagher in his pieces. It should be interesting to see what he writes about the game.

Awful game, but the qualifiers just got an awful lot more interesting. I assume Tyrone can't get Monaghan again and that's not good news for Mayo

Real lack of leadership in that Monaghan side when the pressure came on. Over reliance on Conor McManus obvious again
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 03, 2018, 03:52:49 PM
I seem to remember some Monaghan supporters trying to convince themselves that they were a top 3 team after the Tyrone game I wonder where the thinking is now......if you set up to play with a blanket against a team you should be beating out the gate then you deserve to be beaten...Negative football brings the quality of football down and you get div 3 teams beating div 1.
Post by: Main Street on June 03, 2018, 03:55:30 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 03, 2018, 03:52:49 PM
I seem to remember some Monaghan supporters trying to convince themselves that they were a top 3 team after the Tyrone game I wonder where the thinking is now......if you set up to play with a blanket against a team you should be beating out the gate then you deserve to be beaten...Negative football brings the quality of football down and you get div 3 teams beating div 1.
Name one.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2018, 04:00:20 PM
to beat the blanket do you not have to set up to match it??
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 03, 2018, 04:01:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 03, 2018, 03:55:30 PM
Name one.

Straightred
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 03, 2018, 04:01:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2018, 04:00:20 PM

Do Dublin ?
Post by: sid waddell on June 03, 2018, 04:02:32 PM
That was wonderful. It was like if you had distilled all of the worst aspects of Ulster society over the last 50 years and turned them into a Gaelic football match.

The very essence of the Ulster Championship. The ultimate Ulster Championship match.

It was so grim, so dour, so hateful, so Ulster, that it was completely and utterly compelling.

Post by: J70 on June 03, 2018, 04:02:55 PM
Going to be a tough final for Down or Donegal.
Post by: Rudi on June 03, 2018, 04:07:32 PM
Amazed that players cant take on a shot under no pressure from outside the 45. Monaghan the better team. Donegal will be happy  tonight looks like the 3rd favs to win Ulster will do so without breaking out in sweat.
Post by: tintin25 on June 03, 2018, 04:24:00 PM
Quote from: Rudi on June 03, 2018, 04:07:32 PM
Amazed that players cant take on a shot under no pressure from outside the 45. Monaghan the better team. Donegal will be happy  tonight looks like the 3rd favs to win Ulster will do so without breaking out in sweat.

Donegal or Down won't be getting anything easy from Fermanagh in the final
Post by: straightred on June 03, 2018, 04:25:49 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 03, 2018, 04:01:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 03, 2018, 03:55:30 PM
Name one.

Straightred

If you're going to quote me try to get it right. My point was that they had as much right to be named among the top teams as galway had given the games they had just won.

Was at the hurling so didnt see it today but it doesnt sound like i missed much. Results like this are the beauty of the ulster championship - it matters! If donegal win next week the final will be hard to watch
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2018, 04:29:11 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 03, 2018, 04:01:39 PM

Do Dublin ?

Yeah they do. They just break quicker than most teams.
Post by: redzone on June 03, 2018, 04:33:53 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 03, 2018, 04:29:11 PM

Do Dublin ?

Correct they use the foot pass to break out
Post by: FermGael on June 03, 2018, 04:40:24 PM
Ugly, niggly, but what a beautiful game of football.
Pity though we can't win an intermediate Ulster.
Post by: inthrough on June 03, 2018, 04:41:10 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 03, 2018, 04:02:55 PM
No it won't, Donegal are no world beaters but they will win Ulster at a canter.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 04:42:15 PM
There's a reason RTÉ is not showing one of the two Provincial football games live right now, and it has nothing to do with competitive nature of either of those non-Ulster offerings! :P
Post by: From the Bunker on June 03, 2018, 04:42:51 PM
Quote from: redzone on June 03, 2018, 04:33:53 PM

Do Dublin ?

That takes skillful Footballers to do that! Not every county has this in abundance!
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2018, 04:56:48 PM
Serious performance by Fermanagh, but this Ulsterball stuff is a slog to watch.
Post by: befair on June 03, 2018, 04:59:34 PM
Everything that's wrong with GAA football. Massed defences, endless hand-passing around the 45. It's even worse at club level. Rule change needed to de-incentivise the blanket defence.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 03, 2018, 05:01:52 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 03:42:20 PM
I'd prefer that any day, to a Leinster, Munster, or Connacht cakewalk -- excitement Inc. Well done the Fermanagh men.

+1 That's a great battling performance. A county not accepting the status quo and putting tactics in place to maximise their chances of winning a game who people thought they had no chance in. How did Sligo and Clare do today? Also proved why monaghan will never emerge as a top team can't put performances together. Where they celebrating an Ulster title win the past few weeks??
Post by: BennyHarp on June 03, 2018, 05:02:47 PM
Quote from: befair on June 03, 2018, 04:59:34 PM
Everything that's wrong with GAA football. Massed defences, endless hand-passing around the 45. It's even worse at club level. Rule change needed to de-incentivise the blanket defence.

Yeah it's much better if the underdog rolls over and let's the top teams beat them by 20 points. Wise up!
Post by: weareros on June 03, 2018, 05:04:31 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 03, 2018, 04:54:53 PM
Seriously, is there any other field sport in the world where its players, coaches, officials and supporters engage in as much self-flagellation of its game as Gaelic football does?

Congratulations to Fermanagh on their win today.

Fair point. In soccer they give it a philosophical name - the catenaccio! - in American gridiron they chant DEFENSE from the crowed stands. In GAA we call for the puke bucket.

Well done Fermanagh. The championship needs shocks. Ulster's 3 div 1 teams in qualifiers already, along with Mayo. Tough route now.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2018, 05:06:35 PM
Quote from: weareros on June 03, 2018, 05:04:31 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 03, 2018, 04:54:53 PM
Seriously, is there any other field sport in the world where its players, coaches, officials and supporters engage in as much self-flagellation of its game as Gaelic football does?

Congratulations to Fermanagh on their win today.

Fair point. In soccer they give it a philosophical name - the catenaccio! - in American gridiron they chant DEFENSE from the crowed stands. In GAA we call for the puke bucket.

Well done Fermanagh. The championship needs shocks. Ulster's 3 div 1 teams in qualifiers already, along with Mayo. Tough route now.

Very few people enjoy defensive basketball or american football games. Hence why the rules have repeatedly changed to promote attacking play in those sports. You kind of shot yourself in the foot with your own examples.
Post by: inthrough on June 03, 2018, 05:12:03 PM
There is no such thing as a "defensive" basketball game or American football game. One team has the ball & is trying to score, the other team hasn't got the ball & is trying to stop them just like evey other field sport in the world Gaelic football included.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2018, 05:15:58 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 03, 2018, 05:12:03 PM
There is no such thing as a "defensive" basketball game or American football game.One team has the ball & is trying to score, the other team hasn't got the ball & is trying to stop them just like evey other field sport in the world Gaelic football included.

Did you type this with a straight face? Ever seen a Baltimore Ravens-Pittsburgh Steelers game?
Post by: armaghniac on June 03, 2018, 05:16:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 03, 2018, 04:42:51 PM

Do Dublin ?

That takes skillful Footballers to do that! Not every county has this in abundance!

Well Dublin's abundance  is 20 times Fermanagh, so no wonder they have more "footballers".
Post by: Itchy on June 03, 2018, 05:20:01 PM
Well done Fermanagh, what a result. This needs to be looked at in context. Fermanagh div3 and with zero tradition of winning Ulster and smallest pick in Ireland up against a seasoned div1 team with a couple of Ulster in recent years. They set up within the rules to give themselves the best chance to win and they fought like dogs. Monaghan were pathetic on the day. It wasn't pretty but what about it. May e Sligo played nice football today during the hammering from Galway? Love to see Fermanagh win it out.
Post by: redzone on June 03, 2018, 05:23:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 03, 2018, 05:16:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 03, 2018, 04:42:51 PM

Do Dublin ?

Well Dublin's abundance  is 20 times Fermanagh, so no wonder they have more "footballers".
Correct,, so is antrims
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 05:24:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2018, 04:56:48 PM

Yeah it was nearly as shite as the tripe Connaught's two Division 1 teams served up.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2018, 05:29:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 03, 2018, 05:20:01 PM
Well done Fermanagh, what a result. This needs to be looked at in context. Fermanagh div3 and with zero tradition of winning Ulster and smallest pick in Ireland up against a seasoned div1 team with a couple of Ulster in recent years. They set up within the rules to give themselves the best chance to win and they fought like dogs. Monaghan were pathetic on the day. It wasn't pretty but what about it. May e Sligo played nice football today during the hammering from Galway? Love to see Fermanagh win it out.

This. All day long. I thought it was gone from Fermanagh as the clock ticked on into injury time. Then, the high ball in, Kerry of the 70s would be proud of it - came the goal. That's why the idea of tiering football championships is mad.
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 05:31:59 PM
The game itself was a mirror image of their '08 semi final win in Omagh which Malachy engineered for his native Fermanagh.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 05:34:56 PM
Connacht SFC (Semi-Final): Galway 4-24 Sligo 1-12 (FT)Munster SFC (Semi-Final): Kerry 0-32 Clare 0-10 (FT)

Case rested, your honour, what a Munster & Connacht shambles!
Post by: macdanger2 on June 03, 2018, 05:41:08 PM
At least nobody has any chip on their shoulders anyway  ;D
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 03, 2018, 05:44:56 PM
G thought Clare was supposed to be decent this year
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 05:49:37 PM
I really don't want this to descend into a "our province is less shite that yours". We all know it was a shite game as regards quality but could you deny the tension and emotion inherent in the last 20 minutes? I find it hard to believe people really want to begrudge Fermanagh the victory today because they won it ugly. If they'd have given free licence to mc manus, Mc Carron and Mc Carthy they have got their arse on a plate the same way Clare and Sligo.

I see so many willing to stick the boot in Fermanagh's tactics but not one of the tens of posters or radio analysts I've seen/heard are singing Clare or Sligo's praises for playing with 6 defenders and kicking the ball long and into the oppositions welcoming arms.

Post by: MayoBuck on June 03, 2018, 05:50:33 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 05:34:56 PM
Connacht SFC (Semi-Final): Galway 4-24 Sligo 1-12 (FT)Munster SFC (Semi-Final): Kerry 0-32 Clare 0-10 (FT)

There have been plenty of one sided Ulster games in recent years in case you've forgotten. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 05:55:17 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 03, 2018, 05:50:33 PM
Connacht SFC (Semi-Final): Galway 4-24 Sligo 1-12 (FT)Munster SFC (Semi-Final): Kerry 0-32 Clare 0-10 (FT)

There have been plenty of one sided Ulster games in recent years in case you've forgotten.

Let's keep it to the present eh? Some of the sanctimonious shite on this very thread about TODAY's Ulster fare needs a little contemporary perspective, truly. ;)
Post by: Throw ball on June 03, 2018, 05:56:26 PM
To some degree I understand why teams play blanket defence and is up to better footballers to find ways to beat it. It is so prevalent now that rule changes may well be needed to promote a more expensive game. In the case of Fermanagh it is not the blanket defence I hate as much as the niggle, verbals, diving, gamesmanship and activities of their runners, water boys etc. that grinds me. All teams have their narky players it just seems Fermanagh have found more than their fair share at minute. Still their supporters won't worry if they win Ulster.
Post by: FermGael on June 03, 2018, 06:14:25 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 03, 2018, 05:56:26 PM
To some degree I understand why teams play blanket defence and is up to better footballers to find ways to beat it. It is so prevalent now that rule changes may well be needed to promote a more expensive game. In the case of Fermanagh it is not the blanket defence I hate as much as the niggle, verbals, diving, gamesmanship and activities of their runners, water boys etc. that grinds me. All teams have their narky players it just seems Fermanagh have found more than their fair share at minute. Still their supporters won't worry if they win Ulster.

Seems to me that those same things happened when we were getting beat but for some reason that didn't seem to annoy as much then.
Amazing what happens when you win a game or two.
Fermanagh always had too many nice footballers.
Good to see lads doing what ever other winning team does. Whatever it takes

Post by: Throw ball on June 03, 2018, 06:31:10 PM
Quote from: FermGael on June 03, 2018, 06:14:25 PM

Seems to me that those same things happened when we were getting beat but for some reason that didn't seem to annoy as much then.

Personally I always thought GAA was sport. 'Whatever it takes destroys the game in my opinion. I know I am very much in the minority. Get Respect Give Respect is non existent
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 06:32:18 PM

Won't get a better year to win Ulster
And Arlene needs a bit of good news.
https://youtu.be/gOsM-DYAEhY

Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 06:40:25 PM
As I suggested, Fermanagh were right to concede the kick outs as Beggan is able to pick a man with ease. It made more sense to conserve stamina and block their attack's in the scoring zone. They actually played much deeper in defence than I expected them to as I thought they'd press high.

Hopefully the win gives them confidence to play more confidently on attack. They've a top quality midfield platform but a poor running game. Monaghan's running game was actually much more proficient today than Fermanaghs despite the score.

Monaghan's weaknesses were obvious against us and told again today. D Hughes is a shadow of himself. Ward's sole purpose seems to be to run into Cul de sacs. K Hughes isn't scoring. Corey's legs are gone and despite an Indian summer today I think Drew Wylies are gone too. McManus is far too easy to subdue, the plautitudes for 5 minutes football the last day were laughable and peddled heavily by RTE spoof brigade. Much easier to tell the punter "McManus won it for them" than actually analyse the game.

I enjoyed seeing Monaghan's weakness exposed again except for Fermanaghs dominance at the breaking ball. They wiped Monaghan out on the breaking ball after Monaghan wiped us out in that regard. We've a huge workload to do to develop a breaking ball strategy and I think it's to late in the season to develop one and it will hamper Tyrone going forward
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 07:03:28 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 05:55:17 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on June 03, 2018, 05:50:33 PM

Let's keep it to the present eh? Some of the sanctimonious shite on this very thread about TODAY's Ulster fare needs a little contemporary perspective, truly. ;)
It would be interesting to compare the ratio of effective forwards to multidirectional handpassers /gym bunnies by county.
Post by: inthrough on June 03, 2018, 07:20:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2018, 05:15:58 PM
There is no such thing as a "defensive" basketball game or American football game.One team has the ball & is trying to score, the other team hasn't got the ball & is trying to stop them just like evey other field sport in the world Gaelic football included.

Did you type this with a straight face? Ever seen a Baltimore Ravens-Pittsburgh Steelers game?
How the hell can a team who is in possesion & trying to score be"defensive"? Cautious maybe, methodical fair enough, but not defensive. That is a contradiction in terms.
Post by: Orior on June 03, 2018, 07:22:40 PM
Well done Fermanagh.

Monaghan, watch out for.....

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ31C6UHQVyzpzXgGXdFSKw-U0Qb46NpuAO6luRKp5jKTboq_Pk)

Whoops - too late.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 07:45:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 07:03:28 PM
It would be interesting to compare the ratio of effective forwards to multidirectional handpassers /gym bunnies by county.

Less of the oul pseudo-scientific crap, who were the happier neutrals, or indeed partisans today -- those on tenterhooks to the last second of added time, or those where the games were a foregone conclusion after 10 minutes!
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 07:52:35 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 07:45:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 07:03:28 PM

Less of the oul pseudo-scientific crap, who were the happier neutrals, or indeed partisans today -- those on tenterhooks to the last second of added time, or those where the games were a foregone conclusion after 10 minutes!
Not pseudo
Ulster fuball isn't designed for forwards.it''s hard to name many top class forwards in the province.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 08:00:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 07:52:35 PM
Ulster fuball isn't designed for forwards.it''s hard to name many top class forwards in the province.

Yeah, and Connacht's fecking blessed!
Post by: Orchard park on June 03, 2018, 08:11:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2018, 05:15:58 PM

think  you shoukd stick to the American gridiron....... I've no doubt you know more about it than hurling or football
Post by: FermGael on June 03, 2018, 08:29:44 PM
Absolutely fantastic performance from Fermanagh.
The full back line were immense.  McManus didn't score from play, McCarron was subbed as was K Hughes. McCarthy was very easily contained when he came on as well.
Our half back line played very well.  James McMahon looked very comfortable in the sweeper role and made good use of the ball. 
Midfield was immense.  Won the majority of ball around the middle and we also won alot of breaking ball.
Upfront Sean did well as did Aidan Breen.  Corrigan did well from frees when he came on.
Seamie have only himself to blame for not starting. Would have been a very easy decision to throw Seamie on with 10 minutes to go but it was good to see Rory and co taking a strong stand.
Colm Walsh made a noticeable difference when he came on for Monaghan.  Glad he didn't start.
Fermanagh also left Monaghan with no choice but to go short with their kickouts. They stopped Began kicking it long and this snuffed out the direct goal threat.
We are horrible to play against but extremely well organised.
After today I have no fear of Donegal or Down.
We can beat either because we will make it a dogfight.

Post by: Emmett on June 03, 2018, 08:46:32 PM
Well that was pleasantly surprising! The match panned out how everyone expected, apart from the result of course. I was convinced Fermanagh would be in the game with 15 minutes to go but Monaghan would empty the bench and run out 3-4 point winners. Fair play to the team in refusing to let that happen when it so easily could have done so when 2 points down.

There seems to be a lot of negativity about this Fermanagh team from "neutrals" but what do they actually expect from us? Lie down and take a spanking like we used to? Play man on man and get battered? Rory is developing a system which is without doubt not pretty but at the moment it is effective and keeps us competitive in most games which is all we can ask for. Perhaps the quality of football will improve if he sticks around a bit and the young team grow more confident. If we win our first Ulster this year there will not be one man, woman or child that will give a damn about how it was done. Feck the begrudgers!

There are a few obvious deficiencies with the Fermanagh team/squad but heart, effort and commitment are not any of them!

Back to the match I felt the midfield was superb but could make better decisions when on the ball at times (nit picking). Aidan Breen was excellent until he ran out of steam. Barry Mulrone was disciplined and defended excellently. Che and Lee Cullen had their best performances in the green jersey in my opinion. However, MOTM for me was James McMahon who defended brilliantly, read the game well, won breaking ball and also kept possession when on the ball.

Not one player can be faulted, bar Seamie for his behaviour who I hope has received a serious wake up call. The only negative from an otherwise good performance and brilliant result.
Post by: Targetman on June 03, 2018, 08:49:40 PM
Fair play to Fermanagh, they did what they had to, was big Seamie on the beer during the week?
Post by: tonto1888 on June 03, 2018, 08:51:52 PM
What's the story with seamus Quigley? I'm assuming he wasn't injured as bbc said
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 09:00:44 PM
Quote from: Emmett on June 03, 2018, 08:46:32 PM
.... If we win our first Ulster this year there will not be one man, woman or child that will give a damn about how it was done. Feck the begrudgers!

Amen brother, keep 'er lit! :)
Post by: macdanger2 on June 03, 2018, 09:01:34 PM

Fair play Fermgael, delighted for yourself and the other Fermanagh lads on here, f*ck the begrudgers
Post by: redzone on June 03, 2018, 09:18:12 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 03, 2018, 08:51:52 PM
What's the story with seamus Quigley? I'm assuming he wasn't injured as bbc said
Drank for several days after Armagh game with ricey taking him out of the pub a few times only for the big man to keep coming back.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 09:18:31 PM
Quote from: FermGael on June 03, 2018, 08:29:44 PM
Absolutely fantastic performance from Fermanagh.
The full back line were immense.  McManus didn't score from play, McCarron was subbed as was K Hughes. McCarthy was very easily contained when he came on as well.
Our half back line played very well.  James McMahon looked very comfortable in the sweeper role and made good use of the ball. 
Midfield was immense.  Won the majority of ball around the middle and we also won alot of breaking ball.
Upfront Sean did well as did Aidan Breen.  Corrigan did well from frees when he came on.
Seamie have only himself to blame for not starting. Would have been a very easy decision to throw Seamie on with 10 minutes to go but it was good to see Rory and co taking a strong stand.
Colm Walsh made a noticeable difference when he came on for Monaghan.  Glad he didn't start.
Fermanagh also left Monaghan with no choice but to go short with their kickouts. They stopped Began kicking it long and this snuffed out the direct goal threat.
We are horrible to play against but extremely well organised.
After today I have no fear of Donegal or Down.
We can beat either because we will make it a dogfight.
Both Donegal and Down were relegated in the League this year. Neither would be classed as great teams. Both are in transition.
It really is a super chance for Fermanagh
Today they did a great job neutralising the 2 factors that did for Tyrone- Beggan's influence and McManus scoring from play.   
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2018, 09:19:11 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 03, 2018, 08:51:52 PM

Bad pizza.
Post by: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 09:23:04 PM
Just so there's no untoward rumours flying around about an amateur player, Quigley went on the rip during a couple of them good days last week. Harmless enough really, was the done thing for ~60 years of the associations history. It's a real f**king shame though because if he and Sean lost a few pounds and the 2 corrigans stayed injury free they'd have a serious squad of players and a wonderful balanced team with quality across the pitch. Well organised and fit, they'd be a challenge to any team bar Dublin and Kerry.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 03, 2018, 09:24:36 PM
I didn't see that result coming today, TBH i thought Monaghan would go on to win Ulster after their very impressive win against Tyrone. Well done to Fermanagh though a system of play that isn't pretty to watch but the two great wins against the odds proves its a pretty effective system and a system that gives them a real fighting chance to win their first ever provincial title which would be the story of the summer if they can pull it off.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 09:29:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid
Both Donegal and Down were relegated in the League this year. Neither would be classed as great teams. Both are in transition.
It really is a super chance for Fermanagh
Today they did a great job neutralising the 2 factors that did for Tyrone- Beggan's influence and McManus scoring from play.

Quit the shite-talk -   Beggan failed wih dead balls, Mc Manus missed more than he did against ourselves. All credit to Fermanagh, but stop smoking that shit.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2018, 09:30:59 PM
Quote from: trileacman on June 03, 2018, 09:23:04 PM
Just so there's no untoward rumours flying around about an amateur player, Quigley went on the rip during a couple of them good days last week. Harmless enough really, was the done thing for ~60 years of the associations history. It's a real f**king shame though because if he and Sean lost a few pounds and the 2 corrigans stayed injury free they'd have a serious squad of players and a wonderful balanced team with quality across the pitch. Well organised and fit, they'd be a challenge to any team bar Dublin and Kerry.

It is surely. Unfortunately this is how it is these days and he should have known better.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 09:38:28 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 08:00:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 07:52:35 PM

Yeah, and Connacht's fecking blessed!
That''s Mayo
Ros and Galway do more counterattacking. Ulster is more trench warfare .
Post by: redzone on June 03, 2018, 09:38:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2018, 09:30:59 PM

It is surely. Unfortunately this is how it is these days and he should have known better.
Ud have thought he'd go somewhere were he wouldn't be seen, naw he's heads to dromore were one of the managers are from. How dumb can he be
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 09:55:42 PM
Would a gaelic footballer be recognised in a protestant town ?
Post by: armaghniac on June 03, 2018, 09:58:31 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2018, 09:55:42 PM

Perhaps not, but do you really want to go on the rip in Larne?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 10:05:52 PM

Stupid remark, seriously :(
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2018, 10:29:06 PM

Mayo- Galway was the single most unwatchable game this year.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 03, 2018, 10:35:19 PM
Let's be honest every province has these games. Trying to pretend it's exclusive to Ulster is nonsense. Unfortunately it's the nature of the game at the minute. But fair play to Fermanagh, great scenes and something we see too little of in our game at present.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2018, 10:37:43 PM

They might pretend they wouldn't know them but yes, yes they would.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 03, 2018, 10:57:24 PM
Dromore Co Tyrone is mostly Catholic, Dromore Co Down mostly Protestant.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 11:01:38 PM
Why does Ger Canning still think there can be a square ball from open play?
Post by: Hound on June 03, 2018, 11:06:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 03, 2018, 10:29:06 PM

Mayo - Galway was the most disappointing game as you're hoping for an absolute corker, but I still found it very watchable. I enjoyed today's as well, even though some elements were poor. I thought the second half raced by, which was very unusual given the lack of scores! Conor Walshe and Drew Wylie were immense for Monaghan in the last quarter, but fair play to Fermanagh for hanging in there and getting the goal.

Yesterday I watched Limerick v Cork and that was very enjoyable, but both defences were awful, and there was hardly a word about that aspect. There were 10 scores and I think 4 wides in the first 10 minutes. Forwards all had the freedom of the park even at that early stage. It was like basketball with the end-to-end stuff and no tackles. There was no hard hitting at all, bar the couple of sly off the ball slaps. Although the block by the Limerick no.2 right at the end which saved the point for Limerick was one of the highlights of the game for me.
Post by: Hound on June 03, 2018, 11:08:19 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 03, 2018, 11:01:38 PM
Why does Ger Canning still think there can be a square ball from open play?
If the man is in the square before the ball has been kicked/passed, then it's still square ball.
The rule has been eased (used to be you couldnt be in the square before the ball - which still applies from deadball situations), but it's still there.
Post by: Main Street on June 04, 2018, 01:03:47 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2018, 10:05:52 PM

Seafold stalking again!  I suppose it does easily beat the tedium of what passes for life in Strabane, but hey, has self respect dropped to such low levels to be almost absent??
Post by: trileacman on June 04, 2018, 01:55:55 AM
Had 3 Fermanagh prods today come up to me today and remark on the victory that Fermanagh had. It was decent enough of them to acknowledge it and I know of a couple who'd have been watching earnestly on the tele if they weren't at the match. Always thought years ago prods wouldn't watch a GAA match for fear they'd turn to a pillar of salt but I'd say up to maybe 30-40% of them have a benign view of it, especially in rural GAA heartlands.

It's kinda made me feel we should make at least a token effort to tone down the republican aspects of it to offer at least some sort of appeasement to mild mannered prods. Something like playing the anthem at finals only or something. They'll hardly start playing in their droves but may make it a bit more palatable for them to support their counties.
Post by: trileacman on June 04, 2018, 02:05:16 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 03, 2018, 09:38:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2018, 09:30:59 PM

Ud have thought he'd go somewhere were he wouldn't be seen, naw he's heads to dromore were one of the managers are from. How dumb can he be

I disagree with your sentiments there actually even if it read as if I shared them. It's a shame for football and Fermanagh  but it's no shame at all on Quigleys shoulders. If that what he wants to do with his life then f**k it that's his choice and he shouldn't be chastised by the hurlers on the ditch. A good few lads remarked to me today about it in a dissaprovimg tone and i thought it was a bit f**king rich, sure what the f**k's it to them if he decides he'd rather have a normal lifestyle than be just another mid-ranking county footballer.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 04, 2018, 10:09:55 AM
Several teams have had been labelled as taking the league too seriously in recent year with good league form but nobody ever mentions it when it comes to Monaghan. I just don't know what to think of them, I thought they'd cruise Ulster after the Tyrone game and had a great chance of making the semi's but after that yesterday its going to be very difficult.  They've suffered defeats to Longford, Down & Fermanagh in the last 3 years, its become all too familiar a pattern.

Is O'Rourke is under a bit of pressure if Monaghan go out early?

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 04, 2018, 10:22:42 AM
Ryan McCluskey is available for selection the next day or what's the story.
Post by: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 11:34:26 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 04, 2018, 10:09:55 AM
Several teams have had been labelled as taking the league too seriously in recent year with good league form but nobody ever mentions it when it comes to Monaghan. I just don't know what to think of them, I thought they'd cruise Ulster after the Tyrone game and had a great chance of making the semi's but after that yesterday its going to be very difficult.  They've suffered defeats to Longford, Down & Fermanagh in the last 3 years, its become all too familiar a pattern.

Not being an expert in football but watched the game yesterday and Monaghan flatter to deceive and certainly weren't up for the battle like Fermanagh.
When McManus was getting dragged about like a raggy doll by the two Fermanagh lads it took quite a while for a Monaghan man to step up and even then he went down like a sack of shít when the fullback threw him about also.
You wouldn't dare do that on a Kilkenny hurler in their prime if you liked living.

That shows there's issues there and even at that they nearly pulled it out of the fire only for the soft underbelly to be exposed by a looping high ball into their box.
Great teams do what it takes to win and worry about perception afterwards.
McManus will need to console himself with All star awards in November as they won't be picking up any medals before that.
Post by: yellowcard on June 04, 2018, 11:43:18 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 04, 2018, 11:34:26 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 04, 2018, 10:09:55 AM

Not being an expert in football but watched the game yesterday and Monaghan flatter to deceive and certainly weren't up for the battle like Fermanagh.
When McManus was getting dragged about like a raggy doll by the two Fermanagh lads it took quite a while for a Monaghan man to step up and even then he went down like a sack of shít when the fullback threw him about also.
You wouldn't dare do that on a Kilkenny hurler in their prime if you liked living.

That shows there's issues there and even at that they nearly pulled it out of the fire only for the soft underbelly to be exposed by a looping high ball into their box.
Great teams do what it takes to win and worry about perception afterwards.
McManus will need to console himself with All star awards in November as they won't be picking up any medals before that.

Doubt if McManus will getting anywhere near an all star award this year if it's based on championship performances. Anonymous yesterday.

Fermanagh stole it but Monaghan have no plan B when they come up against a defensive side. They played laterally too often and rarely penetrated the blanket. If they had played Hughes and McManus inside and kicked the bloody ball to n they could have caused damage but instead played the sort of crab football that is hard to watch. Fermanagh were like Donegal light from 6 years ago, it was a truly awful game of football.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 04, 2018, 11:52:21 AM
As a Dublin fan with Monaghan roots and supporting Monaghan as my 2nd team since the Centenary final against Meath I was f*cking delighted that they lost yesterday.
That was an abomination of a performance from a team which has thoughts of winning Ulster and competing for the All-Ireland.
The sooner O'Rourke learns that with forwards like McCarron/McManus etc that running back to your 45 whenever the opposition have the ball doesn't work without fast athletic players and an ability to kick the ball accurately to your forwards.
Post by: J70 on June 04, 2018, 12:14:52 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 03, 2018, 04:41:10 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 03, 2018, 04:02:55 PM
No it won't, Donegal are no world beaters but they will win Ulster at a canter.

Can't see any rationale for that at all. True, ourselves and Down will have been well forewarned about what will be waiting, and there should not any complacency, but Fermanagh put up a ferocious defense in that game (as, to be fair, did Monaghan, for the most part). Whoever wins ithe final will grind it out with 12 or 13 points winning it.

My one hope would be that, if we get there, we will do a bit better with fast runners with support attacking Fermanagh. On the other hand, McBrearty will be triple marked and won't getting any space either inside or on that outside loop he does around the 45.

Free takers will want to be on their game, especially from long range.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 04, 2018, 12:35:52 PM
Is it me or does anyone else not think that Fermanagh were lucky to win with what was just a jammy oul goal to steel the game?
I mean Monaghan stuggled surely but they always looked like they would overtake the wee green men in last quarter and win out and only for a shot that dropped short and ended up in the net they were a beaten docket.
Fermanagh dont have the firepower to win games but rather have the set up not to lose games (if that makes sense).

Monaghan will be sick (Again) and O'Rourke will have to have them bounce back from this to get them back on track.
Again, does anyone else not think that Beggan is as dodgy as hell under high balls. If i recall right he has had a few ropey cameos over the years under high balls.
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2018, 12:54:59 PM
Of course you can say they were lucky at the end. But they worked hard and got themselves into a position where it was in the melting pot with 5 minutes to go -and so were able to capitalise on that.

I'm not sure you can really comment on the firepower Fermanagh have or otherwise - they play very defensively so there aren't as many scoring opportunities, but I don't think you'd say the same about monaghan and the fermanagh front 6 scored 3 times as much from play as their monaghan counterparts  ;)
Post by: inthrough on June 04, 2018, 01:25:03 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 04, 2018, 12:35:52 PM
Is it me or does anyone else not think that Fermanagh were lucky to win with what was just a jammy oul goal to steel the game?
I mean Monaghan stuggled surely but they always looked like they would overtake the wee green men in last quarter and win out and only for a shot that dropped short and ended up in the net they were a beaten docket.
Fermanagh dont have the firepower to win games but rather have the set up not to lose games (if that makes sense).

Monaghan will be sick (Again) and O'Rourke will have to have them bounce back from this to get them back on track.
Again, does anyone else not think that Beggan is as dodgy as hell under high balls. If i recall right he has had a few ropey cameos over the years under high balls.
Spot on. Yes its a great result for Fermanagh but they were as jammy as hell and no way is 1-8 going to win an Ulster final or anything else for that matter.
Post by: Targetman on June 04, 2018, 01:30:39 PM
A couple of weeks ago O'Rourke was a tactical genius for getting the better of Harte, its wonderful how things change so quickly, I suppose Gallagher has that title for now, until Eamon Burns takes it off him on Sunday!!!
Post by: trailer on June 04, 2018, 01:54:20 PM
Fermanagh very lucky indeed. It was a Hail Mary ball. But Monaghan must be sick. Jesus if ever there was a handy Ulster this year was it. Down & Donegal very much in transition and a relatively poor (if well organised) Fermanagh standing in their way. They'll probably exit in the qualifiers now as that is the norm for them. Expect O'Rouke to walk away if he's not pushed. The blame lies at his door, they weren't focused and got caught. He should have had them better prepared.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 04, 2018, 02:01:34 PM
Come off it, they weren't that lucky. Beggan not great under the high ball and Monaghan hardly have the tallest of full backs.

Fermanagh got two of their tallest players around the edge of the square and when the Fermanagh man kicked it in he was less than 40 meters out.

Post by: the goal was on on June 04, 2018, 02:09:43 PM
fairly lucky goal at end and got what I thought was a few non existant frees. When one teams sets up with 15 behind the ball and is very hungry most teams need to mirror them or you'll get caught out. Fermanagh were pretty clueless with the ball but extremely orgainsed with it. Though Monaghan had it and it would have left them in good position going into the final.
Post by: yellowcard on June 04, 2018, 02:13:00 PM
Slightly lucky but having said that Monaghan simply didn't do enough to win the match either. They tried to out grind Fermanagh in an arm wrestle instead of kicking over the mass defence. It made for an ugly spectacle and such a tactic always leaves you open to a sucker punch since Fermanagh were always in the match. Monaghan played the last 10 minutes with a spare man yet still lost the match. O'Rourke has been a brilliant manager for them but they don't appear to have a plan B when teams set up as defensively against them. The Fermanagh players can feel vindicated for ousting Pete McGrath in favour of Gallagher after yesterday's win.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 04, 2018, 02:19:16 PM
Quote from: the goal was on on June 04, 2018, 02:09:43 PM
fairly lucky goal at end and got what I thought was a few non existant frees. When one teams sets up with 15 behind the ball and is very hungry most teams need to mirror them or you'll get caught out. Fermanagh were pretty clueless with the ball but extremely orgainsed with it. Though Monaghan had it and it would have left them in good position going into the final.

Both teams were on the receiving end of dubious decisions from the ref, looked like Kieran Hughes threw the ball when he was on the floor for Monaghans first score from play.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 04, 2018, 02:20:34 PM
Rory Gallagher mentioned in his post match interview that they felt Monaghan were vulnerable to the high ball so exploited that. You could say it was good planning or it could equally be confirmation and hindsight bias at it's finest.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 04, 2018, 02:42:48 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2018, 01:03:47 AM

Seafold stalking again!  I suppose it does easily beat the tedium of what passes for life in Strabane, but hey, has self respect dropped to such low levels to be almost absent??

Undergone an irony bypass in your post-Healy Park trauma?

A stupid remark is a stupid remark, and welcome to the club (yet again)  :P
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 04, 2018, 02:52:50 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 04, 2018, 02:20:34 PM
Rory Gallagher mentioned in his post match interview that they felt Monaghan were vulnerable to the high ball so exploited that. You could say it was good planning or it could equally be confirmation and hindsight bias at it's finest.

I doubt Gallagher is spoofing on that one. If it was an identified weakness why didnt they pepper Beggan's goalmouth a few more times or launch a few rockets in on top of the big men in square, instead of waiting until the 73rd minute to try it.
It was a flukey goal and they got away with it so fair play. They never looked like winning that game the more the 2nd half wore on.
I wouldnt be blaming O'Rourke at all actually. Id lay that one at the feet of the players. They are around long enough now to know how to kill a game or take the sting out of it for the last few mins. Some of their more celebrated players arent producing it and havent done so for last year.

Fermanagh wont go too far.
They might win an Ulster god love them but if they do it will because a more talented team arent as well set up or disciplined.
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2018, 02:59:10 PM
They didn't need to try it til 70 mins. If you saw the game surely you couldn't fail to notice they led until then.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 04, 2018, 03:19:36 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 04, 2018, 02:59:10 PM
They didn't need to try it til 70 mins. If you saw the game surely you couldn't fail to notice they led until then.

Really?
So dont bother with trying to exploit (what you claim to have identified beforehand as) your opponent's percieved weakness because you dont need to?? Horseshit with feathers! They were sweating the whole 2nd half and could have done with their goal ealier to provide a bigger cushion.
They might have led late on but there was only one way that game was going in 2nd half up until the jammy goal.
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2018, 03:23:45 PM
And yet they're in the final now  ;D
Post by: Rossfan on June 04, 2018, 03:28:08 PM
Indeed.
So the Ulster Championship joins Leinster as being of very low standard.
Post by: yellowcard on June 04, 2018, 04:07:56 PM
Some very condescending comments about (p)lucky little Fermanagh.

Definitely didn't see the game the way some others have stated. Monaghan have better players than Fermanagh, that is clear, but in way did they look vastly superior to Fermanagh yesterday. Similar to Down against Monaghan last year it appeared as though Monaghan weren't as mentally tuned in for the game as they should have been and got pick pocketed. They played into Fermanaghs hands by playing slow hand pass & solo possession football yesterday epitomized by Monaghan no.11 who kicked the ball a full 30-40 backwards towards his own goal on several occasions. Just highly frustrating low risk football. If Monaghan has won nobody could have complained because Fermanagh had set out purely to contain but neither did Monaghan do enough in an attacking sense to say that they were dominant.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2018, 04:54:30 PM
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/gaa-football/2529483/2018-gaa-ulster-senior-football-championship-fixtures-results-betting-odds-and-tv-information/

NORTHERN SOUL 2018 GAA Ulster Senior Football Championship fixtures, results, betting odds and TV information
Micky Harte's Tyrone are favourites to lift the provincial Championship but will face a tough test from fellow Division One contenders Donegal and Monaghan
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2018, 04:57:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 04, 2018, 03:28:08 PM
Indeed.
So the Ulster Championship joins Leinster as being of very low standard.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/galway-cut-loose-to-annihilate-sligo-by-21-points-in-connacht-semifinal-36973229.html

;D ;D ;D
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2018, 05:05:52 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 04, 2018, 02:42:48 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2018, 01:03:47 AM

Undergone an irony bypass in your post-Healy Park trauma?

A stupid remark is a stupid remark, and welcome to the club (yet again)  :P
Ni thuigim.

I was reading some Ulster poetry. Cathal Bui Mac Gionna Gunna wrote a prophetic poem about Tyrone back in the 1700s

A bhonnán bhuí, is é mo léan do luí,
Is do chnámha sínte tar éis do ghrinn,
Is chan easba bidh ach díobháil Marquee (forwards)
a d'fhág i do luí thú ar chúl do chinn
Post by: redzone on June 04, 2018, 06:02:08 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 04, 2018, 02:52:50 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 04, 2018, 02:20:34 PM

I doubt Gallagher is spoofing on that one. If it was an identified weakness why didnt they pepper Beggan's goalmouth a few more times or launch a few rockets in on top of the big men in square, instead of waiting until the 73rd minute to try it.
It was a flukey goal and they got away with it so fair play. They never looked like winning that game the more the 2nd half wore on.
I wouldnt be blaming O'Rourke at all actually. Id lay that one at the feet of the players. They are around long enough now to know how to kill a game or take the sting out of it for the last few mins. Some of their more celebrated players arent producing it and havent done so for last year.

Fermanagh wont go too far.
They might win an Ulster god love them but if they do it will because a more talented team arent as well set up or disciplined.
Mchugh mentioned early in the first half how one of the Fermanagh midfielders was dropping in under beggan on their attacks so defenlty it was worked on in training
Post by: tonto1888 on June 04, 2018, 06:44:59 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 03, 2018, 10:29:06 PM

Did you watch us against fermanagh a few weeks ago?
Post by: giveballaghback on June 04, 2018, 07:22:37 PM
Only for Seamie went on the beer it would have happened a lot more, he is very strong on the high ball and would have caused trouble in there, Gallagher a very shrewd manager and will have a plan for the ulster final that could well bring glory to Fermanagh. Great to see considering Fermanagh would have been in tier 2 if Colm O Rourke agus a cairde had their 2 tier championship up and running.
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2018, 01:15:05 PM
Arlene Foster considers attending Ulster GAA final following Fermanagh win

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/06/05/news/arlene-foster-considers-attending-ulster-gaa-final-following-fermanagh-win-1347458/ (http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/06/05/news/arlene-foster-considers-attending-ulster-gaa-final-following-fermanagh-win-1347458/)

Typical.
I bet she didn't go to a single league game.
Post by: joemamas on June 05, 2018, 01:46:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2018, 01:15:05 PM

http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/06/05/news/arlene-foster-considers-attending-ulster-gaa-final-following-fermanagh-win-1347458/ (http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/06/05/news/arlene-foster-considers-attending-ulster-gaa-final-following-fermanagh-win-1347458/)

Typical.

Would you blame her, I can only imagine what that game last Sunday would have been like on a wet day and on a soft field.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2018, 02:05:02 PM

Typical.
I bet she doesn't make sandwiches or appletarts down at the clubhouse either
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2018, 02:21:50 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2018, 02:05:02 PM

Typical.
I bet she doesn't make sandwiches or appletarts down at the clubhouse either

I doubt it. Anyway, who's going to invite her? Ffs woman, get to Brookborough GAA and order your ticket like everyone else.
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2018, 02:51:57 PM

Typical.

She should definitely be invited. It's a win either way for the GAA whatever the response.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 02:54:49 PM
She doesn't hold any position. She is a private citizen, I'm unsure what sort of 'official invite' she expects. A mark of her arrogance.

Having said that, I do think the ulster council should offer her tickets, but without any fanfare or publicity whatsoever. 
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2018, 03:28:05 PM
I respectfully disagree.
Invite her very publicly.
Call her bluff.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 03:39:01 PM
I think its very likely she'll go, for a few different reasons, one being she got a fair bit of deserved flak for accepting an invite to lead an orange march in Scotland recently (shortly after making a 'no room for sectarianism now' speech, two they seem to believe catholics may vote for them given abortion referendum etc, and three, she'd like to put a dampener on our day any way she could.

So I'd rather her opportunity to get good publicity from it was limited as far as possible.
Post by: sensethetone on June 05, 2018, 04:08:50 PM
She could just watch the match up the street in clones, have a pint with that Quigley lad.
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 05, 2018, 04:12:22 PM
There should be a RHI themed River Dance performance put on at half time for her if she is coming.

Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2018, 04:14:16 PM
Would it not depend on how Fermanagh protestants feel about the big day out and prospect of winning ulster?  She is one of them. There is a French quote "there go my people. I must follow them. I am their leader".
Post by: tiempo on June 05, 2018, 04:17:10 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 03:39:01 PM
I think its very likely she'll go, for a few different reasons, one being she got a fair bit of deserved flak for accepting an invite to lead an orange march in Scotland recently (shortly after making a 'no room for sectarianism now' speech, two they seem to believe catholics may vote for them given abortion referendum etc, and three, she'd like to put a dampener on our day any way she could.

So I'd rather her opportunity to get good publicity from it was limited as far as possible.

The DUP don't do outreach well or often, but if she was prepared to go it would be seen as such and if nothing a chink of light in amongst the omnishambles. Even when attempting to gain a bit of political capital there is the possibility they will make shite of it e.g. stand outside the ground during the anthem, taking her seat just after, which would have to receive negative press and further show her true arrogance and bigorty.

Look it can only be more entertaining if she says she'll go so let her get on with it.
Let the woman go an experience some Irish cluture and enlighten herself.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 04:21:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2018, 04:14:16 PM
Would it not depend on how Fermanagh protestants feel about the big day out and prospect of winning ulster?  She is one of them. There is a French quote "there go my people. I must follow them. I am their leader".

Quite a few will go. I think there are much better relations 'across the divide' in Fermanagh than other northern counties. Hard core DUP supporters will not however. So I guess it depends on who amongst those she sees as her people.
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2018, 04:22:56 PM
Quote from: tiempo on June 05, 2018, 04:17:10 PM

The DUP don't do outreach well or often, but if she was prepared to go it would be seen as such and if nothing a chink of light in amongst the omnishambles. Even when attempting to gain a bit of political capital there is the possibility they will make shite of it e.g. stand outside the ground during the anthem, taking her seat just after, which would have to receive negative press and further show her true arrogance and bigorty.

Look it can only be more entertaining if she says she'll go so let her get on with it.

It'll probably put her off football for life anyway.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 04:23:35 PM
On another note, I saw Mike Nesbitt when he was leader of the UUP (and an elected representative) paying in at the gate to at least one GAA match - he didn't request the fanfare and he earned my respect because of it.
Post by: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 04:25:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2018, 04:22:56 PM
Quote from: tiempo on June 05, 2018, 04:17:10 PM

It'll probably put her off football for life anyway.

If we win we'll probably never get a team gathered up again, so may not matter.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2018, 04:32:29 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 04:23:35 PM
On another note, I saw Mike Nesbitt when he was leader of the UUP (and an elected representative) paying in at the gate to at least one GAA match - he didn't request the fanfare and he earned my respect because of it.
He was way ahead of the voters . A real pity because NI needs people who can see the big picture.
Post by: Therealdonald on June 05, 2018, 05:36:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2018, 04:32:29 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 05, 2018, 04:23:35 PM
He was way ahead of the voters . A real pity because NI needs people who can see the big picture.

He was a toss-pot.
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2018, 06:18:14 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0605/968327-philip-jordan-fermanagh/
Post by: Taylor on June 06, 2018, 09:19:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2018, 06:18:14 AM

One of the better columns on the game.

Aidan ORourke (or Jimmy McGuinness lite)  trying to dissect the tactics like many other commentators and talking about phases and line running etc

Very few good columnists/analysts. They are both extremes. Either the game is shite ala Brolly and Spillane or they are like McGuinness and ORourke
Post by: greatpoint on June 06, 2018, 02:55:37 PM
Quote from: Taylor on June 06, 2018, 09:19:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2018, 06:18:14 AM

One of the better columns on the game.

Aidan ORourke (or Jimmy McGuinness lite)  trying to dissect the tactics like many other commentators and talking about phases and line running etc

Very few good columnists/analysts. They are both extremes. Either the game is shite ala Brolly and Spillane or they are like McGuinness and ORourke

I found that to be a fairly poor article to be honest.

Jim McGuinness goes for more of a tactical analysis in his pieces no doubt, but I find them generally to be head and shoulders above the vast majority of GAA writing.