Official Gooners Thread - A New Hope

Started by Dinny Breen, November 10, 2006, 09:10:06 AM

Quote from: Bronco on October 05, 2020, 09:13:58 PM
Tierney seems massively overrated based on what I've seen of him so far.

Wow, now there is something you don't hear every day and certainly not from most Arsenal fans.

He can defend, tackle, cross and link up play - and at £25mill, even if he were just 'competent', still represents a bargain compared to some of the other defenders getting bought for £30, 40, 50million + in the EPL (cough Maguire, cough Cancelo, cough Mendy, cough Shaw)

Bear in mind the previous specialist LB was SK........ I would say Tierney is a clear upgrade.

And he's being asked to play at CH a fair chunk of the time......

The only downside I can see is his injury record.

Bronco

I haven't watched him as much as Celtic fans would have, but just based on what I've seen at Arsenal so far he's been quite underwhelming compared with how he was being talked up.

In fairness to him he's in a side which has been a shambles defensively and he hasn't been their worst defender.

I see Ozil has offered to pay the wages of the guy who was Gunnarsaurus...........

Bronco

Good for him. Arsenal seem intent on portraying him as the villain, when the reality is he's willing and able to play.

Quote from: tyroneman on October 06, 2020, 04:33:30 PM
I see Ozil has offered to pay the wages of the guy who was Gunnarsaurus...........

Quote from: tyroneman on October 06, 2020, 04:33:30 PM
Whats the going rate for a Dinosaur these days?

mrdeeds

Quote from: Bronco on October 06, 2020, 02:25:59 PM
I haven't watched him as much as Celtic fans would have, but just based on what I've seen at Arsenal so far he's been quite underwhelming compared with how he was being talked up.

In fairness to him he's in a side which has been a shambles defensively and he hasn't been their worst defender.

Arsenal not been shambolic in a while defensively since Arteta came in and Tierney large part of that.

Bronco

They're still a shambles. Look at how few clean sheets they've kept in the League lately.

mrdeeds

Quote from: Bronco on October 06, 2020, 10:01:51 PM
They're still a shambles. Look at how few clean sheets they've kept in the League lately.

They've conceded 31 goals in 34 games under Arteta. Major improvement. 14 clean sheets too.

Bronco

They have failed to keep a clean sheet in 8 of their last 9 League games. Even when they do keep a clean sheet they invariably look suspect at the back. Luiz and Holding are not viable options at centre back, and Xhaka should have been sold at least a year ago.

Quote from: mrdeeds on October 06, 2020, 10:12:11 PM

They've conceded 31 goals in 34 games under Arteta. Major improvement. 14 clean sheets too.

Quote from: Bronco on October 06, 2020, 10:25:01 PM
They have failed to keep a clean sheet in 8 of their last 9 League games. Even when they do keep a clean sheet they invariably look suspect at the back. Luiz and Holding are not viable options at centre back, and Xhaka should have been sold at least a year ago.

Quote from: mrdeeds on October 06, 2020, 10:12:11 PM

They would be a sh*t ton worse at the back without KT

Jesus the media overkill by Arsenal on Partey has been hard to stomach.

Had to wipe them from all social media.

Their social media must be run by an 18-year-old.

What's yiz think of the Gunners so far?

Feels a little bit stale already - the way it did under Emery after a while. Not sure if he knows his best side, or if he does it's not very different.

Still Xhaka in the middle. Still handbrakey.

Pepe was badly overpriced.

mrdeeds

Quote from: ONeill on October 30, 2020, 08:07:33 PM
What's yiz think of the Gunners so far?

Feels a little bit stale already - the way it did under Emery after a while. Not sure if he knows his best side, or if he does it's not very different.

Still Xhaka in the middle. Still handbrakey.

Pepe was badly overpriced.

Defensively better but no creativity.

Pepe shows flashes of genius but needs to be more consistent. Need to stop playing three central midfielders that aren't creators.

mrdeeds

Elneny had some game versus Utd. Much more mobile than Xhaka.

I've had some laugh at that Arsenal fan TV this morning.  They'd a complete meltdown last night.  I assume these lads are an embarrassment to most Arsenal fans?  Or do most fans take it as a bit of craic?