Professional and amateur status within the GAA

Started by vincentstereo, February 18, 2009, 12:12:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vincentstereo

Hello all,

I am a student carrying out some research on the GAA for my final year project at university.  My project is surrounding the issue of professional and amateur status within the GAA.  It would be of great help if you could comment on my questions as it will give opinions and views from a grassroot level, Thanks:

1.  Would the GAA and players not be tempted to turn professional with the possibility of receiving large amounts of money (pay-for-play) or is it in the GAA's culture for members to volunteer their time and expertise?

Hound

Quote from: vincentstereo on February 18, 2009, 12:12:00 PM
Hello all,

I am a student carrying out some research on the GAA for my final year project at university.  My project is surrounding the issue of professional and amateur status within the GAA.  It would be of great help if you could comment on my questions as it will give opinions and views from a grassroot level, Thanks:

1.  Would the GAA and players not be tempted to turn professional with the possibility of receiving large amounts of money (pay-for-play) or is it in the GAA's culture for members to volunteer their time and expertise?

Well the answer to your second question is Yes of course. Although its the same in professional sports at grassroots level.

I notice you say "GAA and players". How do you think the GAA would receive large amounts of money from turning professional?
If the players are to receive large amounts of money, where would it come from? Or who/what would it be diverted away from?

I'm sure if you did a search on this forum on pay for play or GPA you'd get bundles of opinions to read through.

thebandit

Please refer all questions to Mr Dessie Farrell

kevmy