GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Catch and Kick on May 18, 2017, 11:30:16 PM

Title: Leinster SFC
Post by: Catch and Kick on May 18, 2017, 11:30:16 PM
You wouldn't think the Leinster SFC begins this w/e judging by the topics on this Board!
Wexford travel to Carlow for the right to meet Dublin in the QF.
Laois entertain Longford in O Moore Park.
Louth take on Wicklow in Parnell Park - why not Drogheda, surely they aren't expecting that many that it cannot handle this fixture?

Title: Re: Leinster SFC
Post by: panc56 on May 19, 2017, 06:52:33 AM
I'm thinking that the lack of exposure on these three contests is that who ever wins will be beaten next time out.  Dublin , Kildare and Meath waiting the winners.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2017, 09:21:56 AM
Obviously overshadowed by Dublin waiting in the wings, but the Leinster Championship often throws up fairly entertaining and competitive games not featuring the Dubs. Laois and Longford will be tight, especially in Portlaoise, but the rumblings coming out of Laois wouldn't be that positive. Michael McGeechin got relieved of his coaching duties due to a cost cutting measure, and I don't think Peter Creedon and his backroom team remaining were too happy about it. Laois are a funny crowd so despite getting relegated they may well beat Longford at home, and in fact I fancy them to do so.

Wexford and Carlow another potentially close game. Wexford going well with Banty, but Westmeath showed they still have a long way to go. More positive sounds coming out of Carlow recently, so don't be surprised if Home Advantage causes an upset here.
Louth should have too much for Wicklow, but again the venue may be a factor. Wicklow will be fired up as always, and will sow it into Louth early on, but Louth are now a Division 2 team in waiting, so they should be too good for Wicklow.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2017, 09:45:34 AM
I think Longford will beat Laois.  The Laois Volk are not happy with Creedon. 
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2017, 10:15:27 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 19, 2017, 09:45:34 AM

They're not, but that doesn't mean they'll lie down in O'Moore Park. Longford are better, but Laois might well pull this one off. Creedon will be gone, I think, before next year.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2017, 10:43:59 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2017, 10:15:27 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 19, 2017, 09:45:34 AM

They're not, but that doesn't mean they'll lie down in O'Moore Park. Longford are better, but Laois might well pull this one off. Creedon will be gone, I think, before next year.
It should be tight but I think Longford have better morale. If they score a few goals they'll frighten the bejaysus out of fragile Laois supporters
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 19, 2017, 10:48:11 AM
Laois are defensively poor Longford offensively. I suspect it will be a tight game but I think if Kingston fires Laois will win. Laois by 2 for me.
Louth will win pulling up and if there is to be s shock it will be Carlow.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2017, 10:57:22 AM
Longford are 15/8 with PP

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 19, 2017, 11:47:39 AM
I usually start Longford v threads but just couldn't get the motivation to do it this year.

Won't get to the game due to a prior commitment but Laois surely won't lie down here. I expect them to win handy.

Routine wins for Wexford and Louth as well.
Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2017, 11:55:27 AM
Apart from the activists and the NFL type supporters of the 6 teams does anyone anywhere care about these 3 games?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2017, 11:58:24 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2017, 11:55:27 AM
Apart from the activists and the NFL type supporters of the 6 teams does anyone anywhere care about these 3 games?

I know I care very much about Offaly v Westmeath shortly.
Post by: shark on May 19, 2017, 01:15:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2017, 11:58:24 AM

I know I care very much about Offaly v Westmeath shortly.

There will be bite in that one. Especially after such a tight game last year.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 19, 2017, 08:55:45 PM

Gosh Rossfan - what's wrong with "NFL type supporters" ?

To answer your question - yes, genuine GAA supporters will have a real interest in the provincial championships as they progress.
Will Colin Kelly (a fine forward in his playing days) build on Louth's promotion to Division 2 ?
Could Johnny Magee's Wicklow pull off a shock ?  They were not too far off against Meath & Laois in Round 1 in recent years.
How will Wexford fare under Banty ?
Some signs of improvement in Carlow's fortunes at underage in recent years - will it follow through to senior ?
Longford too had had good underage teams in recent years so will be very confident on Sunday.
Laois had a disastrous League so won't lack motivation.

To hell with the Joe Brolly types who look down their noses at the "lesser" counties.

Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2017, 09:02:08 PM
I'm a NFL type supporter ;)
There will be little or no public interest and certainly no bandwagon rolling for these 3 games.
They're a bit like the early counts in an Election when the no hopes are being eliminated.

Sadly.........
Post by: laoislad on May 19, 2017, 09:54:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 19, 2017, 11:47:39 AM
I usually start Longford v threads but just couldn't get the motivation to do it this year.

Won't get to the game due to a prior commitment but Laois surely won't lie down here. I expect them to win handy.

Your prior commitment was a road trip to Portlaoise with laoislad...until you dumped me for your posh mates... >:(
Post by: Gmac on May 20, 2017, 08:43:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2017, 09:02:08 PM
I'm a NFL type supporter ;)
There will be little or no public interest and certainly no bandwagon rolling for these 3 games.
They're a bit like the early counts in an Election when the no hopes are being eliminated.

Sadly.........
the sad reality is none of these 6 teams have any chance of winning the all Ireland  the same as Roscommon
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 20, 2017, 08:58:15 PM
Driving around Leinster and Connacht for the last two weeks - not one advertising for the championship on a billboard

Post by: Cunny Funt on May 20, 2017, 09:02:01 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 20, 2017, 08:58:15 PM
Driving around Leinster and Connacht for the last two weeks - not one advertising for the championship on a billboard

The super 8 will be well advertised next summer throughout the country. A big money spinner for the men in grey suits at GAA HQ.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 20, 2017, 10:34:46 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 19, 2017, 09:54:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 19, 2017, 11:47:39 AM

Your prior commitment was a road trip to Portlaoise with laoislad...until you dumped me for your posh mates... >:(

Yes - you are right. It's unforgivable that I've stood you up for Vivaldi. But we'll meet again.......

Enjoy the match - I will be tuning in on Twitter during final rehearsals.
Post by: DandyMan on May 21, 2017, 09:16:14 AM
Unfortunately and I mean it, the structure of the championship is outdated and irrelevant, given the focus that teams with greater resources place on fitness levels and a professional approach to training and development of their teams. As a longstanding Dublin supporter even I am getting tired of the endless rounds of matches that lead up to the quarter finals, when the real action begins.

I cannot for the life of me see any motivation for players from the counties playing in the Leinster Championship games today to get up to the level of fitness required to simply keep teams like Dublin to a respectable score.

The solution has to be built around two sixteen-team leagues or four eight-team divisional structures based on performance. The league worked well this year with the four divisions. This means that teams get consistent games with teams of their own standard and can progress and develop to a higher division. In the championship we have outdated provincial systems that throw up meaningless and uncompetitive games and where there is little prospect of teams or players being able to progress.

We have four teams (maybe five) who are so far ahead of the rest that the present structure is unattractive and uncompetitive. It needs to change.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 01:46:52 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 20, 2017, 08:58:15 PM

It's the 21st Century, J. Jonah Jameson.
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2017, 03:49:37 PM
HT
Laois 2-10
Longford 0-07
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 03:52:24 PM
Who has the breeze for the 2nd half?
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 04:00:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 03:52:24 PM
Who has the breeze for the 2nd half?
Longford
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 04:12:13 PM
Laois 4-11 Longford 0-9

Wicklow are only 2 points behind Louth
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2017, 04:12:40 PM
Laois 4-11
Longford 0-09
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 04:14:45 PM
42 mins Carlow 1-11 Wexford 0-11

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OD3F7J2PeYU
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2017, 04:39:54 PM
FT
Laois 4-15
Longford 0-16
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2017, 04:40:54 PM
Murphy scores a screamer. Carlow win!!

Their reward Dublin live on Sky!
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 04:51:51 PM
Will that be played in Dr Netwatch Cullen Park?
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 04:56:27 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 21, 2017, 04:39:54 PM
FT
Laois 4-15
Longford 0-16
Great result for Laois
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2017, 05:00:56 PM
Leinster Championship already providing shocks and excitement.
There is no better province...
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 05:06:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2017, 04:40:54 PM

Great stuff for Carlow as for Wexford some Banty blues
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2017, 05:44:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 04:51:51 PM
Wasn't it fixed for Portlaoise?
Well done Carlow and what the fk were Laois at in the League?
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 05:55:43 PM
Laois play Kildare the next day
Post by: SCFC on May 21, 2017, 06:20:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 21, 2017, 05:44:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 04:51:51 PM
Wasn't it fixed for Portlaoise?
Well done Carlow and what the fk were Laois at in the League?
Yes - Carlow v Dublin fixed for Portlaoise. The same Portlaoise that mysteriously couldn't accommodate all the Dublin fans last year. Leinster Council are c***s.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 21, 2017, 06:39:46 PM
Banty was smart losing to avoid the Dublin humiliation that would have killed morale.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2017, 12:16:56 AM
Banty is a tactical genius. Even Hardy would have tip his hat to him.

As for Longford......what can I say - I had a feeling in me waters. Even I wasn't sucked in by the lazy analysis done beforehand - esp by the likes of Dessie Dolan who picked Longford cos we had Brian Kavanagh. The same Brian Kavanagh who hasn't seen a Longford jersey all year.

Far play to Laois - they dusted themselves down after the relegation and will love a crack at the Flourbags.

I wonder how that chickenburger would have gone down if I had met up with Laoislad after? With his association football side and Laois winning I may have had difficulty.

Great stuff by Carlow. Is Steve CW still here? Always flew the flag and had some well written insights.

Game v Dubs should be in Carlow. This nonsense of having it in Portlaoise, that couldn't host the Dubs last year. I hope they don't get hockeyed.

Wicklow gave Louth a good game.

Post by: Hound on May 22, 2017, 06:27:27 AM
Someone told me Portlaoise has more seats available this year than last year. Is that true?
Post by: Buttofthehill on May 22, 2017, 09:01:17 AM
The last time in Dr. Cullen was in 2002 against Wexford...after Ireland had played Cameroon at the crack of dawn. I remember being at the match thinking the whole crowd seemed jarred. Dubs just squeaked through too.

Definitely should be in Carlow, us season ticket holders can slum it on the terrace.
Post by: SCFC on May 22, 2017, 09:15:51 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 22, 2017, 06:27:27 AM
Someone told me Portlaoise has more seats available this year than last year. Is that true?
No.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2017, 03:50:04 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on May 21, 2017, 06:39:46 PM
Banty was smart losing to avoid the Dublin humiliation that would have killed morale.

Always one step ahead.
The best Taoiseach we never had.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 22, 2017, 05:15:58 PM
Fair play to Carlow first off, but Banty's stock must be well down at this stage.
Presume he is getting a decent chunk of change for going there.
Anyway, once again, well done to Carlow and they really should have got a home game.

Looking ahead Laois v Kildare should be a good one in Tullamore. Fancy Kildare by a few in the end, but I am always wary of Donie on the edge of the square due to the size of the man, but in fairness he can shoot too.
Post by: Catch and Kick on May 22, 2017, 08:40:25 PM
Wexford were fortunate they Westmeath and Carlow in the last two games when they had promotion wrapped up. All the talk was that Wexford fielded a weak team v Carlow. 15 of them played in the game yesterday! Carlow on an upward curve but unfortunately meet Dublin now. Could do well in the Qualifiers.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 23, 2017, 11:27:50 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 05:06:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2017, 04:40:54 PM

Great stuff for Carlow as for Wexford some Banty blues
Wexford dont have to worry about having enough tickets for the Dublin game now
Post by: stevecw on May 24, 2017, 01:14:43 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2017, 12:16:56 AM

Great stuff by Carlow. Is Steve CW still here? Always flew the flag and had some well written insights.

Game v Dubs should be in Carlow. This nonsense of having it in Portlaoise, that couldn't host the Dubs last year. I hope they don't get hockeyed.

You have a great memory to remember me, fair play! Think I posted once after we drew away to Westmeath in the 1st league game to tell people we were up to something this year! Then we went out a week later and lost at home to London, so I crawled back into my shell.

To be honest for once we had a bit of confidence going into a championship game. It's by far the strongest panel we've had in my lifetime...got about 90% of the best players involved compared to the usual 50/60% at best.
After the London disaster we won 4 of the next 5 games, including wins away to Wicklow & at home to Limerick & Wexford.

A few of the lads here might know of Steven Poacher from Down, he has been a vital part of the team this year. Every player i have spoken to raves about him & the difference he has made to training. His gameplan along with Turlough O'Brien and the other selectors has really worked. It's a defensive set up, based on breaking fast and hitting a big target man Foley, and off him plays Broderick who kicks points from anywhere.

Once Carlow got Broderick back fit & switched to that gameplan, we have beaten Waterford, Limerick, Wexford twice. Broderick ended up 2nd overall highest scorer in the league after missing almost 2 games.
Sunday was amazing, still hard to believe we actually went out and won a Leinster championship game against a good Wexford side. Last win for us in Leinster was v Louth in 2011, and before that was v Wicklow in 2006 I think!

It was so well deserved, missed 4 other easy goal chances and should have won by a lot more really. Murphy owned midfield, and was unplayable.
Midfield with Brendan & the lightning fast Sean beside him, will be 1 area of the pitch where Carlow might have an advantage over Dublin. Apart from that well hopefully we can compete as best we can. I'm sure Poacher will have some plan set up to limit the damage.

It's a showcase live on Sky too for the likes of Brendan Murphy who is among the top 5 midfielders in the country to be finally seen on a big stage. Same for Paul Broderick, and incredible corner forward with the most amazing left foot. 2nd top scorer on this years league despite missing 2 games, scored 10 points v Wexford. Hopefully they play at their best and make it competitive for as long as possible.

I can't wait anyway....just hope after this we can regroup and have a go at the qualifiers no matter what.
Post by: PW Nally on May 24, 2017, 08:56:11 AM
Fair play Steve, your posts have always been honest and reliable over the years. Hope you get another win or 2 before the year is out.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 29, 2017, 11:19:53 AM
Neil Flynn (Hammer) and Ben McCormack (surgery on his foot) both probably gone for the summer. Two of the best corner forwards in Division 2.  Add in the Division 2 teams form lines in the Championship (Derry, Fernanagh, Cork and Clare) and the wise bet this weekend will be Laois to turnover Kildare. Flynn and McCormack worth on average 10-15 pts between them.
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2017, 12:51:02 PM
Sickening reverse-arrogance from Kildare as usual.
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2017, 03:01:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2017, 12:51:02 PM
Sickening reverse-arrogance from Kildare as usual.
No natural plamas
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 29, 2017, 07:26:06 PM
To be fair there isn't a great deal of confidence in the county, our league form dipped a fair bit when the 2 lads were missing and Laois have their tails up after hammering Longford. If Dan Flynn gets his usual pre championship injury then there definitely will be no hope.
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2017, 07:51:05 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 29, 2017, 07:26:06 PM
To be fair there isn't a great deal of confidence in the county, our league form dipped a fair bit when the 2 lads were missing and Laois have their tails up after hammering Longford. If Dan Flynn gets his usual pre championship injury then there definitely will be no hope.
Galway only beat the flourbags by a point as far as I remember
And they have a good defence
Plus Laois are D4 next year

I was watching the D2 final. Only 2 points in it. Kelly and Slattery aren't bad
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LJLqUW8KFM
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2017, 06:33:59 PM
The Dubs taking no chances against Carlow.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DBaGA3XXUAARA91.jpg)
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 03, 2017, 06:41:43 PM
Put John Small or Philly McMahon back in instead of Scully and that could be their September team.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 07:15:56 PM
That's two frees in front of the posts for good physical defending.
Post by: Gold on June 03, 2017, 07:24:56 PM
Carlow no 9 is a baller
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 07:27:12 PM
Ah here ref! The guy slipped and wasn't touched and gets a free? Carlow seem to be happy to hold the ball in their own half whereas going at the Dubs could see greater reward.
Post by: Gold on June 03, 2017, 07:32:52 PM
Sean Murphy is my new favourite player

Post by: Gold on June 03, 2017, 07:33:54 PM
Carlow are damned if they go all out attack. It's hard but fascinating to watch
Post by: bennydorano on June 03, 2017, 07:35:01 PM
Is the fix in? Only game this weekend with no betting available on Skybet
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 07:38:53 PM
Fair dues to Carlow. Awful to watch from a neutral perspective but they've given themselves something to play for in the second half.
Post by: Gold on June 03, 2017, 07:43:06 PM

SteveCW I'm sure you'll be enjoying this.

Just hope Carlow don't drop the heads if the Dubs get a goal as we did when Donegal got a goal before half time the other week.

Great to see good players from other counties on TV. And great that Marty Morrisey isn't commentating and saying "he kicked a point!!!!" In a patronising voice as if a Carlow/Antrim/Wick low man isn't able to swing a f**king leg.

Sean Murphy is lightening and a warrior. Needs to keep it up

See you in Carlow or Belfast next year
Post by: SHEEDY on June 03, 2017, 07:44:01 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 03, 2017, 07:35:01 PM
Is the fix in? Only game this weekend with no betting available on Skybet
it was available, wasnt with rest of weekend games for some reason. it was under leinster championship page. dubs were evs -19pts on it at the start.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2017, 07:44:43 PM
Excellent half of football from Carlow. Goes to show that even a division 4 team can defend well if they have a good management team that can organized them right.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2017, 07:55:58 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 07:38:53 PM
Fair dues to Carlow. Awful to watch from a neutral perspective but they've given themselves something to play for in the second half.
It was intriguing first half. Many neutrals also enjoy the art of defending and competitive half of football.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:00:56 PM
Yeah I'm enjoying it. When Carlow attack Dublin have plenty back. Murphy is a Rolls Royce of a player.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2017, 08:05:16 PM
A goal for Carlow would be great now
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:10:01 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 03, 2017, 07:55:58 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 07:38:53 PM
It was intriguing first half. Many neutrals also enjoy the art of defending and competitive half of football.

Getting 15 players back isn't the art of defending, it's the opposite in fact. If you're enjoying the spectacle then fair enough but I think it's brutal. I don't blame Carlow or anything, they are doing what they have to do to stay in touch but it isn't a good spectacle. I can understand why a Carlow man would be ecstatic but you can't even say it's competitive as it's floating along to an inevitable Dublin win. In saying all that Sean Murphy has delivered an heroic performance and I hope Carlow keep going to the end.

First yellow on Brendan Murphy was a joke.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2017, 08:11:00 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:00:56 PM
Yeah I'm enjoying it. When Carlow attack Dublin have plenty back. Murphy is a Rolls Royce of a player.
And a stupid sending off for Murphy now has probably ruin this contest FFS.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:12:48 PM
Connolly should be gone too. Hands on official. Ref giving handy frees to Dublin.
Post by: Gold on June 03, 2017, 08:13:49 PM
If  Connelly was from Antrim he'd be banned for a year

Ref is an absolute joke. Underdogs getting no decisions here
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 08:14:09 PM
Connolly might get a ban for that. Evan Comerford got 12 weeks.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 03, 2017, 08:20:05 PM
He's a feckin clown.  Understand he is having a poor game and is very frustrated but you would expect a player of his experience to show much more restraint in that situation.  He's a very skilful and talented footballer but just doesn't have the temperament to be lauded as much as he is at times.   
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:20:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 08:14:09 PM

12 weeks for verbal so use of hands should be that and more. Soft linesman not to call referee.
Post by: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 08:21:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 08:14:09 PM

Was just going to post the same.....guarenteed there won't even be a case to answer for.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:22:47 PM
I don't think there's anything there, he didn't push him so a ban would be very harsh IMO.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 08:23:24 PM
I was just about to ask where Zulu/Indiana were. Cop on lad. A player with his chequered history of discipline shouldn't put his pinkie finger near an official, if he had any sense.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:27:01 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:22:47 PM
I don't think there's anything there, he didn't push him so a ban would be very harsh IMO.

Doesn't have to push. Hands on him is enough. 12 weeks is minimum suspension.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:28:20 PM
Of course he shouldn't have done it but it doesn't make it a banning offence because of his disciplinary past. He put a hand on a ref but didn't push or grab him so it's not a ban IMO.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:30:05 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:28:20 PM
Of course he shouldn't have done it but it doesn't make it a banning offence because of his disciplinary past. He put a hand on a ref but didn't push or grab him so it's not a ban IMO.

According to the rules it is. Hands on an official is the wording.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:30:48 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 08:27:01 PM

No it's not. If you patted a ref on the back for a good decision then under your interpretation that's a 12 week ban. Clearly the manner of the physical interaction matters and IMO what happened isn't enough for a 3 month suspension. The fact it's Connolly may mean some here want it to be but it isn't IMO.
Post by: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 08:31:54 PM

Rules are rules....or so we are told....our keeper is after getting 12 weeks anyway
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 08:33:29 PM
It's a bit sad but he's in danger of turning into a liability for Dublin. He's not really influencing games,  lads are getting under his skin too easily and he is losing discipline. I wonder would a stint as a sub free him up a bit. He's even making terrible decisions on the ball now.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 08:33:50 PM
Quote from: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 08:31:54 PM

Rules are rules....or so we are told....our keeper is after getting 12 weeks anyway

The GAA can't let this one go so soon afterwards that, however much they might like to. Anything less will just make it more obvious to everyone how rigged a system gaelic football is in favour of a single side.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:36:01 PM
Take the tinfoil hat off and go get some fresh air.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 03, 2017, 08:36:43 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:30:48 PM

No it's not. If you patted a ref on the back for a good decision then under your interpretation that's a 12 week ban. Clearly the manner of the physical interaction matters and IMO what happened isn't enough for a 3 month suspension. The fact it's Connolly may mean some here want it to be but it isn't IMO.

He was very aggressive and the rule is quite black and white. It's a 12 week suspension I have no doubt Dublin's legal team have already commenced working on their defence.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:37:33 PM

I don't know what your lad did but Connolly shouldn't get banned IMO. If we were to apply the rules strictly as per rule book then there'd be little or no physical contact in either football or hurling.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:38:25 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 03, 2017, 08:36:43 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:30:48 PM

He was very aggressive and the rule is quite black and white. It's a 12 week suspension I have no doubt Dublin's legal team have already commenced working on their defence.

Not in the contact Dinny. Yes, he was slabbering but the contact with the ref wasn't aggressive.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2017, 08:39:42 PM
11-2 to Dublin in that second half more along the expected lines and as expected the Carlow sending off ended the competitiveness of that contest.
Post by: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 08:41:05 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:37:33 PM

I don't know what your lad did but Connolly shouldn't get banned IMO. If we were to apply the rules strictly as per rule book then there'd be little or no physical contact in either football or hurling.

Ah here....he was aggressive, put hands on his chest and pointed giving out straight after it. I would agree suspension would be harsh but I am abit bitter and does look one rule for one one rule for others. Who knows maybe this incident will help our appeal but I wouldn't count on it. Btw I've nothing at all against Connolly or the dubs
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 03, 2017, 08:43:51 PM
If it was Joe McQuillan instead of Branagan, Connolly would be gone and awaiting a 12 week ban based on the ref's report.  SKY are making sure the video evidence is played over and over again to ensure the CCCC do Hurson's job for him.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:44:17 PM
The contact wasn't aggressive so a ban wouldn't be appropriate IMO. I don't know what Evan did so maybe his ban isn't appropriate either but Connolly get a 3 month ban for what he did would be ridiculous. Did Tommy Walsh get a ban for splitting a ref?
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 08:45:02 PM
Honestly, I hope to God Brolly roasts them tomorrow night. They won't be able to ignore it then.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:48:12 PM
Seeing the replay there it was a bit more aggressive than I thought, there was a push to be fair. Still don't think that warrants a 12 week suspension but Connolly was silly to do what he did.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 08:49:11 PM
It's a bit sad but he's in danger of turning into a liability for Dublin. He's not really influencing games,  lads are getting under his skin too easily and he is losing discipline. I wonder would a stint as a sub free him up a bit. He's even making terrible decisions on the ball now.
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 03, 2017, 08:54:11 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:48:12 PM
Seeing the replay there it was a bit more aggressive than I thought, there was a push to be fair. Still don't think that warrants a 12 week suspension but Connolly was silly to do what he did.

It wasn't a huge push but he 100 per cent acted aggressively towards an official and put a hand on him in bad temper. There also appeared to be verbal abuse. Under the rules it's a 12 week ban, I can't see any defence for him but no doubt they'll find something.

Cooper gets away with a lot of messing of the ball.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 09:05:47 PM
Lads the rule is crystal. It's 12 weeks.
Post by: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 09:06:46 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on June 03, 2017, 08:54:11 PM

It wasn't a huge push but he 100 per cent acted aggressively towards an official and put a hand on him in bad temper. There also appeared to be verbal abuse. Under the rules it's a 12 week ban, I can't see any defence for him but no doubt they'll find something.

I doubt he'll have a case to answer for...will probably just let go
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 09:07:58 PM
tegory V
(i) Minor physical interference (e.g. laying a
hand on, pushing, pulling or jostling) with
a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline
Official.

(ii) Threatening language to a Referee, Umpire,
Linesman or Sideline Official.
(iii) Threatening or abusive conduct towards
a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline
Official.
Penalties:
(1) Minimum: 12 weeks Suspension in all Codes
and at all Levels;
(2) Minimum on Repeat Infraction: 24 weeks
Suspension in all Codes and at all Levels.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 09:09:11 PM
Quote from: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 09:06:46 PM

If they try to push this one under the rug after doing Comerford a week ago it will be truly incredible.
Post by: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 09:13:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 09:09:11 PM
Quote from: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 09:06:46 PM

If they try to push this one under the rug after doing Comerford a week ago it will be truly incredible.

Only thing I'm hoping now is comerfords, appeal gets overturned now in light of this. Will be seen as hypocrisy if one gets a ban one doesn't. Both still might
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 09:15:40 PM
Connolly will get banned.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 03, 2017, 09:17:53 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 08:44:17 PM
The contact wasn't aggressive so a ban wouldn't be appropriate IMO. I don't know what Evan did so maybe his ban isn't appropriate either but Connolly get a 3 month ban for what he did would be ridiculous. Did Tommy Walsh get a ban for splitting a ref?

Don't think there is anything in the rules about it having to be particularity aggressive. I think it says any "minor inteference" is a minimum 12 week ban.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2017, 09:19:15 PM
GAA discipline should be outsourced to protestants.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2017, 09:19:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 09:15:40 PM
Connolly will get banned.
I have my doubts afterall it's the same Connolly that avoided suspensions before.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 09:20:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2017, 09:04:31 PM
Aggressively pushing an official would warrant at least a 12 week ban in probably every sport in the world.

Probably, but 12 weeks isn't a full season in most sports. If Connolly gets 12 weeks now the only IC game he could play in for the rest of 2017 would be the All Ireland final. I think that's overly harsh for what he did.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 09:22:35 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 03, 2017, 09:17:53 PM

Don't think there is anything in the rules about it having to be particularity aggressive. I think it says any "minor inteference" is a minimum 12 week ban.

That's correct but as I said already you could use that to ban a guy even if he was just tapping a ref on the shoulder to make him aware of something. The rules in GAA are worded so vaguely that you can get away with most things if you are willing to challenge it.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 09:23:41 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 09:22:35 PM

That's correct but as I said already you could use that to ban a guy even if he was just tapping a ref on the shoulder to make him aware of something. The rules in GAA are worded so vaguely that you can get away with most things if you are willing to challenge it.

That's a completely different context.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 09:24:26 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 09:20:11 PM
Aggressively pushing an official would warrant at least a 12 week ban in probably every sport in the world.

Probably, but 12 weeks isn't a full season in most sports. If Connolly gets 12 weeks now the only IC game he could play in for the rest of 2017 would be the All Ireland final. I think that's overly harsh for what he did.

Rules are rules.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2017, 09:29:42 PM
He could have killed him.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 03, 2017, 09:29:50 PM
Connolly getting a suspension would be beneficial for Dublin, he was terrible tonight. The only other player dragging Dublin's perfromace levels down so much is Kilkenny who remains the most negative player in the GAA at the moment. If Dublin returned to playing with balls and a more direct game they'd be unbeatable, currently they are giving teams a chance.
McCaffrey and the referee were the difference between the teams tonight.
Post by: thejuice on June 03, 2017, 09:31:06 PM
It would be a shame if that resulted in a 12 week ban. There was little to it and sure if we stick to the rules as they're written he'll get 12 weeks but for me that's taking it too far. He was being pushed around by three Carlow lads right before he got in the linesmans face about it.

Fair play to Carlow, pity that Murphy got the line.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 09:32:17 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 03, 2017, 09:31:06 PM
It would be a shame if that resulted in a 12 week ban. There was little to it and sure if we stick to the rules as they're written he'll get 12 weeks but for me that's taking it too far. He was being pushed around by three Carlow lads right before he got in the linesmans face about it.

Fair play to Carlow, pity that Murphy got the line.

Bit like those Louth louts holding onto Joe as he dived for glory.
Post by: thejuice on June 03, 2017, 09:34:47 PM
No That didn't happen. That goal simply shouldn't have been allowed.
Post by: tippabu on June 03, 2017, 09:37:13 PM
On the match and year so far....dublin seem to be struggling big time to create goal chances, not reading anything into tonight's game really bit it's been an issue for a while now
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 03, 2017, 10:10:49 PM
Teams will no longer fear them as much thanks to their chosen style of play.
Post by: Carbery on June 03, 2017, 10:15:34 PM
I'm sure the CCCC will be consistent and propose the minimum suspension of 12 weeks to The Dublin player for laying a hand on the linesman.  Remember the Armagh manager is currently serving a 12 week suspension for an alleged comment to a linesman proposed by CCCC and upheld bt the Central Hearings Committee or will Dublin get treated differently?
Interesting few days ahead for so call GAA impartial Committees!
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 10:16:36 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 03, 2017, 10:10:49 PM

They can decide to fear them or not but they will sleepwalk through every team in the country to a third title in a row.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 03, 2017, 10:19:03 PM
Quote from: Carbery on June 03, 2017, 10:15:34 PM
I'm sure the CCCC will be consistent and propose the minimum suspension of 12 weeks to The Dublin player for laying a hand on the linesman.  Remember the Armagh manager is currently serving a 12 week suspension for an alleged comment to a linesman proposed by CCCC and upheld bt the Central Hearings Committee or will Dublin get treated differently?
Interesting few days ahead for so call GAA impartial Committees!

They won't be, everybody knows that.
Post by: Rossfan on June 03, 2017, 10:36:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 10:16:36 PM

They can decide to fear them or not but they will sleepwalk through every team in the country to a third title in a row.
I presume you have deleted your NFL Final prediction from your little mindeen ;D ;D
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 10:39:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 03, 2017, 10:36:54 PM

I presume you have deleted your NFL Final prediction from your little mindeen ;D ;D

Winning league titles really set us up for long summers.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 03, 2017, 10:46:03 PM
The fear thing was a lot to do with media hype of labeling Dublin as some all out attacking force of nature. It's a Jim Gavin style of play that has delivered many All Irelands. The 2009/10 Dublin U21s played the same way under Gavin e.g their main strength and focus is on defence.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:50:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 10:39:55 PM

What league titles? You also predicted Kerry's demise shortly before the won the All Ireland.
Post by: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 10:51:11 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:50:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 10:39:55 PM

What league titles? You also predicted Kerry's demise shortly before the won the All Ireland.

Connolly's going to be banned.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 09:23:41 PM

I know, but lads are saying by the letter of the law and if we did that then my example would also be a 12 week ban.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:53:09 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2017, 09:29:36 PM

I wouldn't be sure about the "full season" thing. Had he done it in a league match in March, he'd be back. Referees being pushed is something that we definitely don't want in our games and hefty sanctions must be applied to deter people from doing it. I have no sympathy for anyone who acts like that towards a ref. Its a scummy act.

It was hardly a 'scummy act' in fairness. It is a full season when we only view the championship as important.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 11:00:51 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:51:51 PM

I know, but lads are saying by the letter of the law and if we did that then my example would also be a 12 week ban.

Letter of the law uses word interference. Your example would not be within this context.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 11:22:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2017, 11:00:04 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:53:09 PM

I wouldn't be sure about the "full season" thing. Had he done it in a league match in March, he'd be back. Referees being pushed is something that we definitely don't want in our games and hefty sanctions must be applied to deter people from doing it. I have no sympathy for anyone who acts like that towards a ref. Its a scummy act.

It was hardly a 'scummy act' in fairness. It is a full season when we only view the championship as important.
By that logic, it is really 2 thirds of a season for Dublin. The only important games he'll miss are the quarters & semis.
Aggressively pushing an official is a scummy act for me.

The championship surely includes the provincial championship so it's far more than two thirds. I wouldn't view it as aggressively interferring but I'd accept it's borderline. However, the only reason the punishment for touching a referee is as harsh as it is, is to discourage assaulting them. I don't think the linesman was in fear for his safety or anything. Now I know I'm being a bit pedantic here but I just don't think you could view that and say a guy deserves to miss 4 or 5 of the only important games he plays in a year. If he wasn't a Dublin player you could say he won't play IC football again until January 2018. I don't think his minor physical contact merits that type of punishment.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 11:25:50 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 03, 2017, 11:00:51 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 10:51:51 PM

Letter of the law uses word interference. Your example would not be within this context.

Why not? Did Tommy Walsh's actions come under interference? What if a ref was running away from you and you lightly pulled him back to say something or aggressively pulled him back to show a seriously injured player? What is interference?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 11:34:00 PM
You are making some strange points here Zulu. Did Paul Galvin have that ref fearing for his safety when he slapped the notebook? You can't allow people to go pushing and shoving linesmen and refs around the place. Connolly was clearly irate and pushed the linesman. It's a no brainer.
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 11:46:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2017, 11:29:07 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 11:22:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 03, 2017, 11:00:04 PM

By that logic, it is really 2 thirds of a season for Dublin. The only important games he'll miss are the quarters & semis.
Aggressively pushing an official is a scummy act for me.

The championship surely includes the provincial championship so it's far more than two thirds. I wouldn't view it as aggressively interferring but I'd accept it's borderline. However, the only reason the punishment for touching a referee is as harsh as it is, is to discourage assaulting them. I don't think the linesman was in fear for his safety or anything. Now I know I'm being a bit pedantic here but I just don't think you could view that and say a guy deserves to miss 4 or 5 of the only important games he plays in a year. If he wasn't a Dublin player you could say he won't play IC football again until January 2018. I don't think his minor physical contact merits that type of punishment.

A season surely includes the league so it's far less than two thirds really.
You can't have it both ways.

I think 12 weeks is a fair enough punishment for anyone who lays a finger on an official, aggressively, through anger and/or frustration. It has to be heavily punished.

Again, I accept that. However, the reality is the league isn't viewed as a serious part of our season so a guy who did something that warranted a 6 month suspension in January could serve that and nobody would really care while a guy who does something that warrants a 12 week suspension in July could miss every important game he could play doesn't make sense. A hand on the shoulder of a linesman which results in a player missing every important game he might play in the year when another player could break a guys jaw in the league miss none seems very harsh to me.
Post by: dublin7 on June 03, 2017, 11:51:35 PM
It's clear some people on this MB have a serious chip on their shoulder when it comes to the dubs.  If Connolly gets a suspension for that nothing incident then the PC brigade have taken over and common sense is irrelevant. Clearly some people have no life and their existence is only to complain about anything and everything. Some people seriously  need to get rid of the chip on their shoulder in terms of connolly/dublin and get a life.  If the linesman had a problem he would have told the ref. Said nothing, end of story
Post by: Zulu on June 03, 2017, 11:52:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2017, 11:34:00 PM
You are making some strange points here Zulu. Did Paul Galvin have that ref fearing for his safety when he slapped the notebook? You can't allow people to go pushing and shoving linesmen and refs around the place. Connolly was clearly irate and pushed the linesman. It's a no brainer.

I agree with what you're saying and I accept Connolly pushed him but I'd argue it was on the lower end of the scale. Speeding is speeding but there's surely a difference between going 42 mph in a 40 zone and going 142 mph in a 40 zone. I'd argue that Connolly was closer to 42 than 142. If we had a league and a guy who did what Connolly did in February got the same punishment as a guy in July I could probably accept it but when a guy is suspended from nearly every game that matters for a light push on a shoulder then I think that's a punishment not fit for the crime.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 03, 2017, 11:57:25 PM
Imagine if Connolly was from Tyrone...
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 12:01:54 AM
To you maybe. The point I'm making is that in most sports there is a season where games at the start and games at the end are broadly similar in value. Whereas in the GAA games before June don't really matter so suspending someone in June is far more serious than in January. If that's the case then I think something like a (very) light push on a referee is no merited by a 12 week suspension. I didn't watch that and think that guy deserves never to play IC football in 2017 again. That's what you are arguing and I can't agree.
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 12:13:29 AM
Is the season uniform? We changed our suspensions from covering everything to just the code and level you are playing in. So is it 'mental' to have game suspensions rather than time suspensions for championship?
Post by: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 12:15:12 AM
I've never seen one person become so instantly animated on a new topic because of the potential of a single player being impacted by his own actions.
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 12:24:14 AM
Don't know what Di Canio did but at least he was punished in a structured season. What percentage of a season is 11 games in soccer, about a fifth? And at that possibly missing no vital games? As I've said, I don't condone what Connolly did but I don't agree that what he did means he can't play football for Dublin again until 2018 unless they make the All Ireland final. I reckon a few more around here would agree if it wasn't Connolly.
Post by: mayoaremagic on June 04, 2017, 12:30:04 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 03, 2017, 08:33:50 PM

The GAA can't let this one go so soon afterwards that, however much they might like to. Anything less will just make it more obvious to everyone how rigged a system gaelic football is in favour of a single side.

How long suspension did Frankie dolan serve when got sent off against Castlebar years ago for assaulting referee?
Post by: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 12:40:26 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 04, 2017, 12:31:27 AM
I don't think that's true at all. We aren't out to get him. Indeed, it's possible your attitude would be different had it been a Carlow player.

I guarantee mine wouldn't.. .I think Connolly gets a very rough ride,  he's targeted by media and opposition, if it was a carlow player I'd be highlighting it too because of the situation we find ourselves in too. As stupid as it sounds said a lot about Connolly that a nothing match like this means so much to him. It's a shame but he has to deal with what comes of it now. Big surprise from tonight is how happy brannigan has been in some of our matches to get involved from the line and how he did with carlow rec but didn't react to this
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 12:43:12 AM
I don't think that's true at all. We aren't out to get him. Indeed, it's possible your attitude would be different had it been a Carlow player.

Not at all. I'm not a Dub for a start and I wouldn't want anyone suspended for 12 weeks for what Connolly did. I understand why touching a referee is punished so severely and I agree with that but I can't accept what Connolly did deserves a 12 week suspension and I wouldn't if it had been Brendan Murphy.
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:05:47 AM
Do you believe he shouldn't kick a ball in 2017 unless Dublin reach the All Ireland final?
Post by: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 01:10:30 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:05:47 AM
Do you believe he shouldn't kick a ball in 2017 unless Dublin reach the All Ireland final?

If you don't like the time don't do the fúcking crime, lad.
Post by: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:11:12 AM

No.....but should another player from a lesser county be suspended for the whole county season for the same thing?
Post by: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:12:29 AM

Actually, sorry, yes I do think both should be, if it was soccer, rugby or any other major sport and same happened I'm sure they'd be dealt with the same.
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:13:09 AM
Quote from: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:11:12 AM

No.....but should another player from a lesser county be suspended for the whole county season for the same thing?

No.
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:14:50 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 01:10:30 AM

Is logic your kryptonite?
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:15:39 AM
Quote from: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:12:29 AM

Actually, sorry, yes I do think both should be, if it was soccer, rugby or any other major sport and same happened I'm sure they'd be dealt with the same.

Very different seasons.
Post by: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 01:19:55 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:14:50 AM

It appears to be yours. I'm starting to think you may be a troll account in the vein of fox commander or stallion or mayoaremagic such is your insistence of absolving Dublin of issues it creates on and off the field.
Post by: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:26:13 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:15:39 AM

Very different seasons.

Still wouldn't be accepted...look at di canio for sheff weds years ago....ref went down easy!!! But still how long did he get?  I do agree can't stress that enough but as minor as it is can't do what he done. Will be interesting to see how it pans out but if they want to lay down a "respect" campaign he has to be sanctioned
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:29:53 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 01:19:55 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:14:50 AM

It appears to be yours. I'm starting to think you may be a troll account in the vein of fox commander or stallion or mayoaremagic such is your insistence of absolving Dublin of issues it creates on and off the field.

Ok, I'm going to try and start again with you, how am I absolving Dublin of issues it creates?
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:33:13 AM
Quote from: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:26:13 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:15:39 AM

Very different seasons.

Still wouldn't be accepted...look at di canio for sheff weds years ago....ref went down easy!!! But still how long did he get?  I do agree can't stress that enough but as minor as it is can't do what he done. Will be interesting to see how it pans out but if they want to lay down a "respect" campaign he has to be sanctioned

I've no idea what DiCanio did as I don't watch soccer but if he got 11 games it was in a 50 game season when most games are relevant (I presume?). If Connolly got 3 months for this he would be getting a suspension for all important games he plays in a year.
Post by: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 01:48:48 AM

Just looked...he got 11 matches...wasnt a scummy act, connolly. Maybe rules need adjusting but that's the flaw in gaa, leitrim have to play 3 games to reach a connaight final roscommon and 1, so banning for number of games in that case would be flawed
Post by: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:51:39 AM
Sorry, don't follow. Our season is inherently flawed but surely match bans are better than time bans?
Post by: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 02:02:54 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:51:39 AM
Sorry, don't follow. Our season is inherently flawed but surely match bans are better than time bans?

Just say lenghty bans for similar offenses isn't uncommon....lets just see how it pans out.... hate campaigns against Connolly and Keegan and the likes but some times have to just hold hands up.
Post by: J70 on June 04, 2017, 02:54:34 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 12:43:12 AM

Not at all. I'm not a Dub for a start and I wouldn't want anyone suspended for 12 weeks for what Connolly did. I understand why touching a referee is punished so severely and I agree with that but I can't accept what Connolly did deserves a 12 week suspension and I wouldn't if it had been Brendan Murphy.

Really??

I've been under the impression for years that you're a Dub! :)

What county are you?
Post by: lenny on June 04, 2017, 08:56:30 AM
Quote from: tippabu on June 04, 2017, 02:02:54 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 04, 2017, 01:51:39 AM

Just say lenghty bans for similar offenses isn't uncommon....lets just see how it pans out.... hate campaigns against Connolly and Keegan and the likes but some times have to just hold hands up.

Mattie Donnelly got away with a clear punch on camera last sunday so it'll be interesting to see if video evidence is used here.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 04, 2017, 09:33:55 AM
Give Repect Get Respect.

Terrible slogan. DC is guilty imho the problem as with everything in GAA is the rule book and the Sanction. Minimum 12 weeks. In rugby terms what DC done is sanctionable but if got more than 6 weeks it would be outrageous and most clubs would appeal.

The GAA are second to none when it comes to creating a administrative mess.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 09:53:32 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 04, 2017, 09:33:55 AM
Give Repect Get Respect.

Terrible slogan. DC is guilty imho the problem as with everything in GAA is the rule book and the Sanction. Minimum 12 weeks. In rugby terms what DC done is sanctionable but if got more than 6 weeks it would be outrageous and most clubs would appeal.

The GAA are second to none when it comes to creating a administrative mess.
I think it's a reflection of Irish culture.

There is this weird thing in the courts where judges distinguish between people from *decent hard working families* and untouchables. As if one group is different Under the law. Accountability is very weak in the business world.
Just look at the religious orders and the redress. There is a general sense of not buying in to society and that is reflected in GAA sanctions and application of rules. It's never going to be like Singapore.   

#sherlookit
Post by: dclane on June 04, 2017, 12:14:52 PM
Why didn't the linesman tell the Ref about it when it happened.?
Post by: trileacman on June 04, 2017, 12:43:43 PM
Di Canio to be fair only pushes the ref away, he didn't direct all that much vitrol at him. I would rate Connollys offence to be as bad as he clearly fucks the linesman off in that incident.
Post by: J70 on June 04, 2017, 12:46:12 PM
Brendan Devenney got six months for giving Joe McQuillan a couple of gentle pushes in 2004.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 04, 2017, 01:09:00 PM
Connolly will get the minimum 12 weeks and more if the deciders look at his record overall.

No ifs, buts or maybes from the hardened Dubs on here. I would expect the same if a Longford lad did it.
Post by: lenny on June 04, 2017, 01:18:21 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 04, 2017, 01:09:00 PM
Connolly will get the minimum 12 weeks and more if the deciders look at his record overall.

No ifs, buts or maybes from the hardened Dubs on here. I would expect the same if a Longford lad did it.

No way does that deserve a ban, he barely touches the linesman. Plenty of players give refs far more in terms of verbals and get away with it all the time.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 04, 2017, 01:27:43 PM
Quote from: lenny on June 04, 2017, 01:18:21 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 04, 2017, 01:09:00 PM

No way does that deserve a ban, he barely touches the linesman. Plenty of players give refs far more in terms of verbals and get away with it all the time.

I can understand what you're saying but the marker should be laid down that you cannot touch an official like that to complain about an action. It's not like he put his arm round the linesman to have a chat while a card was being given.
Post by: bucko on June 04, 2017, 01:49:36 PM
Category V Infractions
5.32 To interfere with a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Of cial – minor physical interference e.g. laying a hand on, pushing, pulling or jostling.
5.33 To use threatening language to a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Of cial.
5.34 To use threatening or abusive conduct towards a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Of cial. PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS –
(i) Order offender off.
(ii) Free kick from where foul occurred except
as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2.
Category V
(i) Minimum: 12 weeks Suspension in all Codes and at all Levels.
(ii) Minimum on Repeat Infraction: 24 weeks Suspension in all Codes and at all Levels.

What Connolly did definitely fits the above, no question. The referee's report will be a factor also. If I remember rightly Paul Galvin got the twelve weeks for slapping Paddy Russell's notebook out of his hand.
Post by: Gold on June 04, 2017, 02:01:27 PM
Connolly actually pushes Brannigan the linesman back. Brannigan is ballsy so didnt make a meal of it.

But its not on. There has to be a sanction to stop kids/management/players/supporterz/hooligans throughout the country thinking they can get away with it

If weve no refs weve no games

We had a ref attacked after an u 21 game a few years back. He was penned in and battered. The club were banned from playing home games the next year. The worst of it was a good ref in his prime walked away and never reffed again. I appreciate these incidents are different but i honestly think refs need protection, especially in this case where it was televised...a message has to be sent out, Dublin player or not

Connolly was holding the ball when it was a Carlow lineball....the carlow players rightlynwent to get the ball off him...Connolly overreacted as is his want. If i was him at this stage id just play football, not wind anyone up and not react if someone was trying to wind me up
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 03:25:52 PM
Meath 0-08
Louth 0-04

23 minutes gone
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 03:33:03 PM
0-08
1-05

Louth penalty

Black card for each team
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 03:38:07 PM
Meath 0-10
Louth 1-05

Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 03:43:43 PM
Half-time: Laois 1-02 Kildare 0-12

#arrogance
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 03:47:58 PM
0-10
1-06

Half time in Parnell park. Both teams with a few goal chances. Meath more dangerous but not taking chances.
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:02:13 PM
Louth 2-06
Meath 0-12

Paddy O'Rourke blunders kick out leading to 2nd goal.
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:08:45 PM
Meath 0-13
Louth 2-08
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:11:43 PM
Meath 0-14
Louth 2-09

Score for score at the moment
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 04:12:10 PM
Kildare are cruising
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:14:18 PM
Meath 0-15
Louth 2-09

Level

20 minutes to go
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:16:11 PM
Meath 0-17
Louth 2-09

Pushing ahead
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:17:38 PM
Meath 0-18
Louth 2-09

Meath scored 5 unanswered
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:19:11 PM
Meath 0-20
Louth 2-09
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:20:47 PM
Meath 0-20
Louth 3-09

Goal for Louth. 2 point game again
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:22:52 PM
Meath 0-22
Louth 3-09
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:27:17 PM
Meath 0-23
Louth 3-09
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:28:28 PM
Louth just missed a goal chance.
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:30:25 PM
Meath 0-24
Louth 3-09

Sub Thomas Reilly with his 2nd kick and 2nd score
Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 04:36:14 PM
Full Time

Meath 0-27
Louth 3-09

Post by: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 05:35:39 PM
Meath vs Kildare up next in 2 weeks.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 04, 2017, 06:30:30 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 05:35:39 PM

In Tullamore too which is great news, just under 8k there today so should get 12k+ the next day which should lead to a cracking atmosphere. Meath will be strong favourites.

Our middle 8 were simply too good for Laois today and our full back line with Eoin Doyle assisting suffocated the Kingston threats.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 04, 2017, 06:38:18 PM
No real contest in Tullamore - despite an early Laois goal Kildare playing with the breeze got on top and were 7 points up at half-time.
Good crowd, perfect conditions but a very disappointing game. Kildare-Meath could be a cracker.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 07:42:34 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 04, 2017, 06:30:30 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 04, 2017, 05:35:39 PM

In Tullamore too which is great news, just under 8k there today so should get 12k+ the next day which should lead to a cracking atmosphere. Meath will be strong favourites.

Our middle 8 were simply too good for Laois today and our full back line with Eoin Doyle assisting suffocated the Kingston threats.
"Kildare have no forwards" cough , cough

They should easily dispose of Meath
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 04, 2017, 07:55:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaD0uwv7sJo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaD0uwv7sJo)

20 years on and I'm still spooked by Jody Devine.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 08:08:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 04, 2017, 07:55:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaD0uwv7sJo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaD0uwv7sJo)

I think the current Meath lads are also tormented by those players and the standards they achieved
Post by: Hardy on June 04, 2017, 09:59:13 PM

What a fantastic match it was - lifted the spirits watching it again. Probably the best match I ever saw and the quality of football was amazing. Watching that you realise you'd almost forgotten a time when lads often used to catch the ball over their heads and lots of the time even jump to catch it. And people kicked the ball and there were contests for possession and lads bumped into each other and actually tried to avoid falling and the whistle didn't blow every time someone got their hair tossed and it was all thrilling to watch.
Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2017, 10:05:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 04, 2017, 09:59:13 PM

What a fantastic match it was - lifted the spirits watching it again. Probably the best match I ever saw and the quality of football was amazing. Watching that you realise you'd almost forgotten a time when lads often used to catch the ball over their heads and lots of the time even jump to catch it. And people kicked the ball and there were contests for possession and lads bumped into each other and actually tried to avoid falling and the whistle didn't blow every time someone got their hair tossed and it was all thrilling to watch.

Definitely the best match I ever saw.
Had everything.
No quarter asked or given, and yet there wasn't a dirty stroke in the game.
Jody's exhibition off the bench in extra-time was the icing on the cake.
Always a fan favourite, to see him kicking points from everywhere was a joy.
I remember people around me laughing like eejits when he kicked his 4th point.
One of those perfect football days and I was quite happy it ended in a draw.
Neither team deserved to lose.
Post by: Hardy on June 04, 2017, 10:09:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 04, 2017, 10:05:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 04, 2017, 09:59:13 PM

Definitely the best match I ever saw.
Had everything.
No quarter asked or given, and yet there wasn't a dirty stroke in the game.
Jody's exhibition off the bench in extra-time was the icing on the cake.
Always a fan favourite, to see him kicking points from everywhere was a joy.
I remember people around me laughing like eejits when he kicked his 4th point.
One of those perfect football days and I was quite happy it ended in a draw.
Neither team deserved to lose.

I think I remember being glad it was a draw too, so that we could see more of this.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 10:17:40 PM
It was lovely to watch as well compared to the shite on offer today
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 04, 2017, 11:18:00 PM
Is it 20 years. Sweet God. That was some game alright.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 04, 2017, 11:23:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 10:17:40 PM

I was quite pleased with the shite Kildare produced today.
The semi final against Meath should be a very good game, potential for a classic. They have an extremely potent attack but a poor back line, a clown of a goalkeeper, and an unproven midfield. Judging by the way they pulled clear today fitness shouldn't be an issue for them anymore, it was under the previous regime.
In the league game Kildare could have scored 6 goals but we had Ben McCormack on fire that day while Meath themselves created openings and have improved a lot since.

It should be a high scoring game anyway and the winner will be rightly considered to be in the top 8 teams in the country.
Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2017, 11:33:02 PM
Cillian O'Sullivan was poor by his standards today.
Will need a big game from him the next day.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 04, 2017, 11:38:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 04, 2017, 11:33:02 PM

He was your best player in the league game. His direct running can cause real problems.
Niall Kelly could have got more involved today from our point of view, he is capable of a lot more and when he plays well it brings up the standard of those around him.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 04, 2017, 11:49:26 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 04, 2017, 11:18:00 PM
Is it 20 years. Sweet God. That was some game alright.
just watched it
gaelic football used to be good!
Post by: Jinxy on June 04, 2017, 11:54:16 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 04, 2017, 11:38:22 PM

He was your best player in the league game. His direct running can cause real problems.
Niall Kelly could have got more involved today from our point of view, he is capable of a lot more and when he plays well it brings up the standard of those around him.

We have plenty of direct runners now, the problem is they often take the wrong option when they have to shoot/pass at the end of the run.
Butchered a few goal chances today.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2017, 10:38:41 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 04, 2017, 11:23:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 10:17:40 PM

I was quite pleased with the shite Kildare produced today.
The semi final against Meath should be a very good game, potential for a classic. They have an extremely potent attack but a poor back line, a clown of a goalkeeper, and an unproven midfield. Judging by the way they pulled clear today fitness shouldn't be an issue for them anymore, it was under the previous regime.
In the league game Kildare could have scored 6 goals but we had Ben McCormack on fire that day while Meath themselves created openings and have improved a lot since.

It should be a high scoring game anyway and the winner will be rightly considered to be in the top 8 teams in the country.
Kildare have come on a lot. It's good to see
Post by: thejuice on June 05, 2017, 10:41:04 AM
It was heartening to see young Jones running at them as well. We need more than just Reilly doing that if we are to win things. The last few years it was just him and he was spent by half time.

I don't think it's too much of a problem if Cillian had a quiet game if we still scored 27 points.

Fitness and mental resolve have markedly improved compared to the Mick O'Dowd years.
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 10:42:10 AM
The subs did well when they came on too.
Did Menton just have cramp?
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 11:10:45 AM
Any reason why Offaly Westmeath wasn't played this weekend??
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 05, 2017, 11:17:42 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 11:10:45 AM
gives the Dubs a chance to study them in more depth next weekend, and then those counties have one less weekend to prepare
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2017, 12:14:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 11:10:45 AM

It was so all the GAA people who would have gone to the Carlow/Dublin game could go to both. All seven people were delighted with this!
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 12:35:42 PM
Jim Gavin and his 6 staff?
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 01:53:47 PM
Is the Meath v Kildare game exclusively on SKY?
I'll be at it, so makes no odds to me but if it's not on RTE that's a disgrace.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271172 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271172)
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 05, 2017, 02:00:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 01:53:47 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271172 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271172)

Why a disgrace?
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 02:06:58 PM
Because it has the makings of a cracking game and the vast majority of people won't be able to watch it.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 05, 2017, 02:11:00 PM
They wouldn't bother watching it anyway, we are two nothing counties with no hopes of achieving anything.
RTE will show the big one the following week between Dublin and Westmeath/Offaly.
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2017, 03:35:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 02:06:58 PM
Because it has the makings of a cracking game and the vast majority of people won't be able to watch it.

Joe Public only care if Dublin are playing. And then maybe if it's a provincial final so they can get their jollies rooting for the underdogs.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2017, 04:10:06 PM
Only the worthy should be allowed watch Kildare v Meath.

I see O'Moore Park wasn't sold out Saturday really should have been played in DC Park.

Eugene in the Indo having a pop at Carlow for not having a cut at Dublin. Seriously!!!!
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 05, 2017, 04:13:00 PM
Sky better coverage,better commentary,better match analysis. If one happens to have Sky they should be delighted it's covered by them instead of RTE.

Post by: Catch and Kick on June 05, 2017, 04:16:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 05, 2017, 04:10:06 PM

I see O'Moore Park wasn't sold out Saturday really should have been played in DC Park.

Eugene in the Indo having a pop at Carlow for not having a cut at Dublin. Seriously!!!!

Carlow performance was impressive. No shot on the Carlow goal. Dublin got some very soft scoreable frees at the D, Connolly not even carded by linesman who fingered Murphy for sending off! Played All Ireland Champs with 14 men for long stretch of second half. Not bad for a Div 4 side
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2017, 04:20:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 04, 2017, 11:54:16 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 04, 2017, 11:38:22 PM

We have plenty of direct runners now, the problem is they often take the wrong option when they have to shoot/pass at the end of the run.
Butchered a few goal chances today.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zxPEGfb7mM
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 04:49:42 PM

lol
Crazy old Eugene.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 05, 2017, 04:50:19 PM
Quote from: Catch and Kick on June 05, 2017, 04:16:37 PM

Carlow performance was impressive. No shot on the Carlow goal. Dublin got some very soft scoreable frees at the D, Connolly not even carded by linesman who fingered Murphy for sending off! Played All Ireland Champs with 14 men for long stretch of second half. Not bad for a Div 4 side

They were indeed impressive especially in the 1st half with their timing and execution of the tackle.
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 06:09:20 PM
If enough people were interested the game would be in Croke Park.
Post by: Avondhu star on June 05, 2017, 07:31:09 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 06:09:20 PM
If enough people were interested the game would be in Croke Park.
Ah but worra bow the Champions league foynel
The Gaa should have played the match earlier
Post by: mayoaremagic on June 05, 2017, 08:21:36 PM

I think were looking at the Leinster final here. Looks like them jackeens had their day.
Post by: mayoaremagic on June 05, 2017, 09:05:50 PM

If your Comerford was a Tipp hurler would he have got 12 weeks?? Surely your hurling keeper done worse and got away scot free  :P
Post by: Hound on June 06, 2017, 09:48:18 AM
Great to see Kildare and Meath no longer being rubbish.
And the Kildare panel even got a weekend away in Portugal to prepare.
Good men in charge of both team it seems.

With the Dubs looking a little less daunting, there may be some good games in Leinster this year.
Post by: Hardy on June 06, 2017, 10:55:35 AM
What's the Dublin for yerra?
Post by: Syferus on June 06, 2017, 11:06:42 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 06, 2017, 09:48:18 AM

With the Dubs looking a little less daunting, there may be some good games in Leinster this year.

Kildare and Meath are still shite.

Just like every county that isn't Dublin.
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2017, 11:54:12 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 06, 2017, 10:55:35 AM
yaknowworrameyan
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2017, 11:55:57 AM

I think Kildare are further ahead but it is looking good for the future of Leinster football .
The Dubs wil fade back into mediocrity at some stage
Post by: Hound on June 06, 2017, 12:43:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 06, 2017, 10:55:35 AM
I never said you'd beat us! Just that you or Kildare might make it a bit more entertaining this year  ;)
Post by: Syferus on June 06, 2017, 12:54:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2017, 11:55:57 AM

I think Kildare are further ahead but it is looking good for the future of Leinster football .
The Dubs wil fade back into mediocrity at some stage

Long after we have all died, yeah.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 06, 2017, 02:10:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 06, 2017, 11:06:42 AM

Kildare and Meath are still shite.

Just like every county that isn't Dublin.

ah, don't go telling them there is no Santa Claus!
Post by: Rossfan on June 06, 2017, 03:25:49 PM
So Syfīn must have jumped off the Rhubarb bandwagon. :o
He's dissing Galway in a big way on Stolen-sheep and making the usual ass of himself in the process :-[
Post by: stevecw on June 06, 2017, 11:23:44 PM
Quote from: Gold on June 03, 2017, 07:43:06 PM

SteveCW I'm sure you'll be enjoying this.

Just hope Carlow don't drop the heads if the Dubs get a goal as we did when Donegal got a goal before half time the other week.

Great to see good players from other counties on TV. And great that Marty Morrisey isn't commentating and saying "he kicked a point!!!!" In a patronising voice as if a Carlow/Antrim/Wick low man isn't able to swing a f**king leg.

Sean Murphy is lightening and a warrior. Needs to keep it up

See you in Carlow or Belfast next year

I'm only reading back on this thread now. Thanks for the mention!
At half time I was enjoying it, the plan we had was working and only for a few unusually bad frees by Broderick we could have been even closer. Could see Dublin were frustrated, nobody more than Connolly who was lost & resorted to pushing his marker a lot for no good reason.
Even for the 1st 10/15 mins of the 2nd half we were still there only 3 points down when Connolly should have got a red. Dublin 14 v Carlow 15 might have made it a very different game. But when Brendan Murphy stupidly got a 2nd yellow when we were only 4 behind, that was game over. After that Fenton was freed up and it was all Dublin, to make it a 12 point game which it never was really.

Ha, yeah Sean Murphy was amazing...a great hurler too but focused on football only this year. He's lightening fast, has unreal strength and behind it all is the quietest guy you'll ever meet. After getting man of the match i think he said he was too disappointed to talk...but no, he is so quiet/low profile he'd hate anything like that.

We got a nice draw now away to London, need to go over there do a job and get revenge for the game in Feb where they beat us. Ended up costing us promotion.
Post by: thejuice on June 07, 2017, 11:21:21 PM
Might have to go against my own beliefs and pay sky to watch the Meath Kildare game. I never thought I would but the online free streams are so unreliable I don't want to miss it.

What's the best deal for a once off payment to sky. I have no interest in anything else they show so not going for a package.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 08, 2017, 02:08:18 AM
They launched TV Now in ireland so that would give you a full day of sky sports i think.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 08, 2017, 03:10:49 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 07, 2017, 11:21:21 PM
Might have to go against my own beliefs and pay sky to watch the Meath Kildare game. I never thought I would but the online free streams are so unreliable I don't want to miss it.

What's the best deal for a once off payment to sky. I have no interest in anything else they show so not going for a package.

Maybe seek out a quiet hostelry with Sky ?

I was talking to someone who was anti-Murdoch and co and they used go to a hotel lounge to watch Sky - they reckoned a hotel was a better/quieter place than a pub to watch sport in peace.
Post by: thejuice on June 08, 2017, 10:54:29 PM
I'll be at home minding the young lad so I won't be able to get out to a pub. Now TV will have to do. Whatever I give th will only be a drop in the ocean anyway.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2017, 08:52:26 PM
Are Kildare any good this year lads?
Post by: Hardy on June 09, 2017, 10:51:14 PM
I hear they're showing good form on the gallops.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2017, 10:54:17 PM
I believe they cleared the first hurdle easily enough.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2017, 11:35:35 PM
I heard Meath have hatched a plan to nobble the Kildare team:

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/83/c8/40/83c8408db879189ac34f315d1398985e.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on June 10, 2017, 03:01:54 PM
Word on the street is Kildare are going with a big, physical full forward line and the midfielders have been told to hoof it in nice & early.
Post by: Hardy on June 10, 2017, 04:07:33 PM
Rumour has it the whole Kildare panel have the trots.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 12, 2017, 12:48:40 PM
Unconfirmed reports that football officially died in O'Connor Park yesterday, turgid stuff from both sides. People were leaving the ground with time not up and it neck and neck it was that bad. Enough was clearly enough. Only Ger Egan for Westmeath and Guilfoyle for Offaly can take any credit from the game, the rest were stuck to the ground. Gates in Cusack Park should be left open next Saturday on the off chance anyone wants to wander in, maybe try and entice people in with a free ticket for the half time draw, Christ on a bike. And the next time that ref is handed a whistle it should be attached to the end of a boot and driven at his hole.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2017, 12:53:29 PM
And 9,000 at it as well. I still remember that game where Dessie Dolan got Sullivan sent off as the worst example of two teams constrained by fear and basically playing 13 or 14 behind the ball, without having any clue how to effectively break when they got the inevitable turnover.

Yesterdays was apparently worse.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2017, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 12, 2017, 12:48:40 PM
Unconfirmed reports that football officially died in O'Connor Park yesterday, turgid stuff from both sides. People were leaving the ground with time not up and it neck and neck it was that bad. Enough was clearly enough. Only Ger Egan for Westmeath and Guilfoyle for Offaly can take any credit from the game, the rest were stuck to the ground. Gates in Cusack Park should be left open next Saturday on the off chance anyone wants to wander in, maybe try and entice people in with a free ticket for the half time draw, Christ on a bike. And the next time that ref is handed a whistle it should be attached to the end of a boot and driven at his hole.

LOL - even the fellow on the official Westmeath twitter account had enough at one stage during the game.
Post by: Rossfan on June 12, 2017, 02:11:08 PM
Time to amalgamate LaoisOffalyWestmeath!!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2017, 02:12:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 12, 2017, 02:11:08 PM

That's low.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 12, 2017, 02:39:04 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 12, 2017, 12:53:29 PM
And 9,000 at it as well. I still remember that game where Dessie Dolan got Sullivan sent off as the worst example of two teams constrained by fear and basically playing 13 or 14 behind the ball, without having any clue how to effectively break when they got the inevitable turnover.

Yesterdays was apparently worse.

Light years between the 2 games, that was 2008 when Offaly attempted to duplicate a system Westmeath had been working on all league. That wasn't a bad game at all, well from a Westmeath perspective anyway as we got some tasty points, especially towards the end. Offaly did indeed have no clue how to transition but when Westmeath got the ball back, Natchie and Healy were gone down the wings looking for the quick outlet ball. Offaly keeping the extra bodies negated how often we could feed them with ball though, which slowed the game down.

Yesterdays was turgid, both teams had a fear of winning. Both played a sweeper right in front of a deep lying 2 man full forward line with a swirling gale force wind at their backs.

SS, the Westmeath twitter account offered a restrained view of the game. The gate should have been stormed at full time and everyone given a refund.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2017, 02:40:08 PM
Ah that was a horrendous game. I was with a few of my Westmeath friends, and we all couldn't get over it. It was horrible shite. If yesterday's was worse!!!
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on June 12, 2017, 11:10:06 PM
Died?  It was strangled, murdered, whatever you want.  Offaly did so well playing into the breze in the first half they decided to play the ball into the wind in the second half too with a series of back passes.

I gave up watching soccer because i got tired of teams stroking the ball around in their own half, with no interest in crossing the half way line. There were over 8k present for the agony in the garden that was Bord na Móna Park yesterday. The only ones looking forward to the replay are those who couldn't go.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 12, 2017, 12:48:40 PM
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 20, 2017, 09:35:04 AM
Bit of life breathed back in football in Cusack Park Saturday, the fine day a deciding factor. Full time sweepers and bad weather should be mutually exclusive. Westmeath were by far the better team but were only up 4 points at half time due to some wayward shooting. There was only 3 in it with 15 minutes to go and while we always looked like we had enough to steer home, Offaly going down to 14 sealed the deal. We really stretched them in a way we didn't in Tullamore and as a result we ran in 3 handy goals. Maybe drawing in Tullamore wasn't the worst thing as we got another competitive game under our belts before we get to stand in front of the juggernaut. The injuries to Halloway in particular, McCormack and Glennon are a serious blow although Frankie was one of our better players when he came on. Hopefully we give a good account of ourselves Sunday.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 20, 2017, 10:14:08 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 12, 2017, 02:12:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 12, 2017, 02:11:08 PM

That's low.
V good!
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:34:39 PM
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271916

Horse blinders.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2017, 09:59:54 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:34:39 PM
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271916

Horse blinders.

Around for years. Common enough in basketball, they featured in the GAA coaching conference, the Dublin hurlers use them.