Brexit.

Started by T Fearon, November 01, 2015, 06:04:06 PM

Quote from: Franko on July 24, 2019, 02:38:12 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 24, 2019, 09:02:43 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2019, 09:00:19 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 23, 2019, 11:05:04 PM
I reckon he won't make it to Christmas as PM ... won't deliver BREXIT by Oct 31st, General Election will follow and he'll be gone, with hopefully the Tory party with him.

Be careful what you wish for. Yes the Tories are an odious shower at the worst of times. However given the huge vacuum in British politics it may be a case of the devil you know is better than the devil you don't. Especially with Farage's Brexit Party waiting in the wings.

There is nothing to fear but fear itself.

The fiscal conservatives would never back the Brexit Party. The f**kwit conservatives will. Split vote. In first past the post that means more Labour/Lib Dem/Green/ANOther seats.

Could be way off here but this is how I see it playing out;

BoJo and Farage do a bit of dealing behind the scenes
October 31st exit is delayed to allow BoJo to call a GE which is billed as a de facto 2nd referendum
This allows Boris to say that he has listened to the views of the country
The Brexit Party and the Tories agree a pact and together collect 55-60% of the seats
The commons becomes pro-Brexit, with a 'mandate' to deliver Brexit by whatever means necessary
A hard line Brexit 'deal' (which is a couple of steps away from no deal) is pushed through the commons by the pro-Brexit majority
The country is fucked
Jacob Rees Mogg walks into the Sunseeker HQ in Dorset and slaps on a down payment on the biggest yoke they have

They would literally riot on the streets.

There should be riots about bojo becoming pm. It is ludicrous.

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 24, 2019, 03:55:50 PM

Agreed.

GJL

Quote from: trailer on July 24, 2019, 03:56:57 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 24, 2019, 03:55:50 PM

Agreed.

It will come yet...

Quote from: trailer on July 24, 2019, 03:49:40 PM
Quote from: Franko on July 24, 2019, 02:38:12 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 24, 2019, 09:02:43 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2019, 09:00:19 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 23, 2019, 11:05:04 PM
I reckon he won't make it to Christmas as PM ... won't deliver BREXIT by Oct 31st, General Election will follow and he'll be gone, with hopefully the Tory party with him.

Be careful what you wish for. Yes the Tories are an odious shower at the worst of times. However given the huge vacuum in British politics it may be a case of the devil you know is better than the devil you don't. Especially with Farage's Brexit Party waiting in the wings.

There is nothing to fear but fear itself.

The fiscal conservatives would never back the Brexit Party. The f**kwit conservatives will. Split vote. In first past the post that means more Labour/Lib Dem/Green/ANOther seats.

Could be way off here but this is how I see it playing out;

BoJo and Farage do a bit of dealing behind the scenes
October 31st exit is delayed to allow BoJo to call a GE which is billed as a de facto 2nd referendum
This allows Boris to say that he has listened to the views of the country
The Brexit Party and the Tories agree a pact and together collect 55-60% of the seats
The commons becomes pro-Brexit, with a 'mandate' to deliver Brexit by whatever means necessary
A hard line Brexit 'deal' (which is a couple of steps away from no deal) is pushed through the commons by the pro-Brexit majority
The country is fucked
Jacob Rees Mogg walks into the Sunseeker HQ in Dorset and slaps on a down payment on the biggest yoke they have

They would literally riot on the streets.

Should have added that below.  Barring a VERY well worked deal being done, riots in the streets are a foregone conclusion AFAICS.

Watching BJ deliver his Downing St entrance speech, it again magnified to me how different we, the occupants of the 6 counties, are from BJ and his likes.  How any resident of the north can believe that BJ represents them is beyond me.  Once again an unelected, unrepresentative PM is foisted upon us, and we just have to accept it.  The gulf between NI and Britain is widening further, the sooner we have a border poll the better. 

The BJ era ain't going to end good for anyone, especially not for the residents of the 6 counties.

On a lighter note, at least the former NI Secretary got the road, another total waste of space.

f**king Priti Patel as Home Secretary. Embarrassing shite. As bad as Rudd being brought back by May after being sent to sit on the naughty step for five mins.

Quote from: balladmaker on July 24, 2019, 07:07:28 PM
Watching BJ deliver his Downing St entrance speech, it again magnified to me how different we, the occupants of the 6 counties, are from BJ and his likes.  How any resident of the north can believe that BJ represents them is beyond me.  Once again an unelected, unrepresentative PM is foisted upon us, and we just have to accept it.  The gulf between NI and Britain is widening further, the sooner we have a border poll the better. 

The BJ era ain't going to end good for anyone, especially not for the residents of the 6 counties.

On a lighter note, at least the former NI Secretary got the road, another total waste of space.

The thing is most of the UK different is different from the etonians. How anyone votes for them is beyond me.

We are very different though as you say.

Quote from: gallsman on July 24, 2019, 07:38:36 PM
f**king Priti Patel as Home Secretary. Embarrassing shite. As bad as Rudd being brought back by May after being sent to sit on the naughty step for five mins.
And Raab
2 ideologues
2 gobshites

Quote from: seafoid on July 24, 2019, 09:59:56 PM
And Raab
2 ideologues
2 gobshites
Rees Mogg in #10 at the minute so he'll be leaving with a new job.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 24, 2019, 10:15:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 24, 2019, 09:59:56 PM
And Raab
2 ideologues
2 gobshites
Rees Mogg in #10 at the minute so he'll be leaving with a new job.
Leader of the House they were thinking ;D ;D ;D :D :D

who the f*** is Julian Smith, new overlord of Norn Iron?

Quote from: armaghniac on July 24, 2019, 10:36:40 PM

Chief Whip

Big demotion but in fairness although it was an impossible ask he did a pretty shit job

Quote from: armaghniac on July 24, 2019, 10:36:40 PM

Coming to a McKenna Cup game near you. Mind you, bojo may not last to January.

Quote from: balladmaker on July 24, 2019, 07:07:28 PM

BJ could probably shite out a better NI Secretary than that useless cnut Bradley.