GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 06:58:59 AM

Title: Tyrone players say the Rosary before every game
Post by: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 06:58:59 AM
Encouraging.
Title: Re: Tyrone players say the Rosary before every game
Post by: punt kick on July 20, 2017, 07:56:33 AM
Maybe you misheard it - I heard they think they are a thorn in every other counties side and are wondering if they had to choose - which rose are we?
Post by: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 08:36:07 AM
Think you need to say a few decades,your comedy skills are sorrowful
Post by: tonto1888 on July 20, 2017, 08:56:37 AM
That was an awful attempt at humour
Post by: The Subbie on July 20, 2017, 08:58:18 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 08:36:07 AM
Think you need to say a few decades,your comedy skills are sorrowful
It's decades since I laughed at you Tony .....  :D
Post by: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 09:07:16 AM
The Sorrowful Mysteries
(Said on Tuesdays, Fridays, and daily from now until the Sunday Game on the evening Tyrone are dumped out of the championship.

First Sorrowful Mystery - Agony of Tyrone in the Garden of Croke Park
I Desire True Repentance for My Sins
Think of...
Sean Cavanagh getting sent off last year,  suffering a bitter agony
A few hail Mary passes.
Matthew 26:36

Second Sorrowful Mystery - Tyrone are scourged by the Pillar
I Desire a Spirit of Mortification
Think of...
The cruel scourging by the pillar that Tyrone suffered; the heavy blows that tore their Sam ambitions.  But not just Pillar. Other Dubs managers including Jim Gavin
Matthew 27:26

Third Sorrowful Mystery - Tyrone is Crowned With Thorns
I Desire Moral Courage.
Think of...
The crown of sharp thorns that was forced upon Tyrone''s Head by RTÉ in interviews and the patience with which Tyrone endured the pain for our sins.
Matthew 27:27

Fourth Sorrowful Mystery - Tyrone Carries His Cross
I Desire the Virtue of Patience
Think of...
The heavy Cross, so willingly carried by Tyrone, and ask Him to help you to carry your crosses without complaint. This has something to do with the All Ireland club championship and Crossmaglen.
Matthew 27:32

Fifth Sorrowful Mystery - The Crucifixion of Tyrone
I Desire the Grace of Final Perseverance
Think of...
The love which filled Tyrone''s  Sacred Heart during its agony in Croke Park and ask Tyrone to be with you at the hour of Dubs, without a marquee foward
Matthew 27:33

Do not consider what Tyrone truly deserves but consider the faith of the church.
Jesus Mary and Joseph assist Tyrone now and in its last agony. 

Who is the official holy water supplier to Tyrone?
Post by: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 09:26:18 AM
I played soccer for a college in the American Bible Belt.

Before every game we would huddle at one end and pray and give thanks. At the other end the opposition would do likewise.

God didn't get involved much. The better team won.
Post by: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 09:31:56 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 09:26:18 AM

Before every game we would huddle at one end and pray and give thanks. At the other end the opposition would do likewise.

God spends most of her time sorting out sports results
Post by: lurganblue on July 20, 2017, 09:52:43 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 09:31:56 AM

Gets plenty of thanks for it though. especially in America
Post by: haveaharp on July 20, 2017, 09:54:04 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 09:07:16 AM
The Sorrowful Mysteries
(Said on Tuesdays, Fridays, and daily from now until the Sunday Game on the evening Tyrone are dumped out of the championship.

First Sorrowful Mystery - Agony of Tyrone in the Garden of Croke Park
I Desire True Repentance for My Sins
Think of...
Sean Cavanagh getting sent off last year,  suffering a bitter agony
A few hail Mary passes.
Matthew 26:36

Second Sorrowful Mystery - Tyrone are scourged by the Pillar
I Desire a Spirit of Mortification
Think of...
The cruel scourging by the pillar that Tyrone suffered; the heavy blows that tore their Sam ambitions.  But not just Pillar. Other Dubs managers including Jim Gavin
Matthew 27:26

Third Sorrowful Mystery - Tyrone is Crowned With Thorns
I Desire Moral Courage.
Think of...
The crown of sharp thorns that was forced upon Tyrone''s Head by RTÉ in interviews and the patience with which Tyrone endured the pain for our sins.
Matthew 27:27

Fourth Sorrowful Mystery - Tyrone Carries His Cross
I Desire the Virtue of Patience
Think of...
The heavy Cross, so willingly carried by Tyrone, and ask Him to help you to carry your crosses without complaint. This has something to do with the All Ireland club championship and Crossmaglen.
Matthew 27:32

Fifth Sorrowful Mystery - The Crucifixion of Tyrone
I Desire the Grace of Final Perseverance
Think of...
The love which filled Tyrone''s  Sacred Heart during its agony in Croke Park and ask Tyrone to be with you at the hour of Dubs, without a marquee foward
Matthew 27:33

Do not consider what Tyrone truly deserves but consider the faith of the church.
Jesus Mary and Joseph assist Tyrone now and in its last agony. 

Who is the official holy water supplier to Tyrone?

Sean Cavanagh falls for the 3rd time. It's time this was a yellow card offence
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 20, 2017, 10:08:30 AM
this thread started poorly and has went downhill from there hi
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 20, 2017, 10:19:23 AM
Mickey Harte definitely on the way to beatification!!!  I wonder if it's a proper rosary or one of those crackled mumbled versions you get at the Blessings of the Graves when it's raining and everyone is going ' would ye c'mon to f**k and pick the pace up father!'
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 12:19:16 PM
I could never understand the mental gymnastics Mickey Harte has to go through to have a clear conscience being a devout catholic and the manager of the team that have been the worst sledgers the sport has ever seen.

Makes taking his piousness seriously in any sense impossible for me, and probably a lot of other people.
Post by: shark on July 20, 2017, 12:20:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 09:31:56 AM

And the weather, obviously.
Post by: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 12:22:07 PM
He should really be called Mickey Sacred Harte
Post by: Fuzzman on July 20, 2017, 12:30:36 PM
Seafoid, did you go fishing much when you were a young lad?
Have you now become a fisher of men?

A lot of your posts seem to be aimed at poor innocent Tyrone posters hoping to get a bite.
If it's not Cathal McCarron you're digging up then it's our dear Sacred Harte.
Presume you're waiting anxiously for Michaela McCollum to hit the headlines again with a big story.
Post by: Main Street on July 20, 2017, 12:44:20 PM
Mickey Harte requests all the players to partake in saying the rosary before a game, the Tyrone Catholic Team?
Ronan McNamee
It (the rosary) can't do you any harm. I can't imagine it's going to cause anybody any upset. Whether we do it with Tyrone or not, I go to Mass every Sunday anyway. There is no reason why everybody can't go to Mass the odd time."
How about a reason being that a person is not a catholic?
What if a player is not of the catholic church and does not partake in the catholic rituals?
That's a bizarre backwoods religious culture in Tyrone.

Post by: sid waddell on July 20, 2017, 12:49:40 PM
Our father, who? Art McRory
Hallowed be thy name
The Kingdom come, they will be done
Like in '03, in one-seven
Do not give us this day our daily red
And forgive us our trespasses
As we do not forgive those who trespass against us
And lead us not into temptation (to dive)
But deliver us this season
A win.

Hail Kerry
Full of pace
Still sore about '03
Blessed Harte thou amongst winners
And blessed is the boot of thy wounded Peter
Holy Pascal, brother of God
Pray for Sean Quinners
Now and in the hour of his debt
Amen.
Post by: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 12:52:07 PM
Dont soccer clubs have chaplains? Why not GAA teams.The Armagh team of 02 was devout and its good to see faith in this day and age even if it perplexes our Southern brethern.
Post by: punt kick on July 20, 2017, 12:55:00 PM
Heard of a some partaking in a few strange rituals alright.
Post by: WT4E on July 20, 2017, 12:55:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 20, 2017, 12:44:20 PM
Mickey Harte requests all the players to partake in saying the rosary before a game, the Tyrone Catholic Team?
Ronan McNamee
It (the rosary) can't do you any harm. I can't imagine it's going to cause anybody any upset. Whether we do it with Tyrone or not, I go to Mass every Sunday anyway. There is no reason why everybody can't go to Mass the odd time."
What if a player is not of the catholic church and does not partake in the catholic rituals?

Be almost like a protestant going to a catholic wedding - unheard of.... what would they do?  ::)
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 01:10:17 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 20, 2017, 12:55:39 PM
Ronan McNamee

Be almost like a protestant going to a catholic wedding - unheard of.... what would they do?  ::)

They don't get the protestant to stand up and recite a few decades, unless they do some weird shít at weddings in Tyrone.

Even in McNamee's quote alone it was obvious he and probably plenty of the others are only doing it because they're asked and to humour Mickey, the buck who decides if they play or not on Sundays..
Post by: smelmoth on July 20, 2017, 01:21:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 12:19:16 PM
I could never understand the mental gymnastics Mickey Harte has to go through to have a clear conscience being a devout catholic and the manager of the team that have been the worst sledgers the sport has ever seen.

Makes taking his piousness seriously in any sense impossible for me, and probably a lot of other people.

The reverence for Mickey as a football manager is understandable based upon his longevity and results.

The sympathy for him as an individual given what he has been through is also understandable

But the reverence given to some of his views is mystifying. Time that the journalists that he does talk to started to ask him some direct questions about how his faith and preachings sit with what are obviously his teachings
Post by: smelmoth on July 20, 2017, 01:25:49 PM
Ronan McNamee

Yes it is weird. Would an atheist or a Protestant be ousted, made to chant the meaningless mantra or be allowed to decline the invite to participate but not have their playing chances diminished?
Post by: smelmoth on July 20, 2017, 01:27:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 12:52:07 PM
Dont soccer clubs have chaplains? Why not GAA teams.The Armagh team of 02 was devout and its good to see faith in this day and age even if it perplexes our Southern brethern.

I don't know why teams have chaplains. But I do know the difference between having discretionary access to a chaplain and there being some enforced communal religiosity

The 02 "team" were devout? Really?
Post by: Jayop on July 20, 2017, 01:28:14 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 20, 2017, 01:25:49 PM
Ronan McNamee

Yes it is weird. Would an atheist or a Protestant be ousted, made to chant the meaningless mantra or be allowed to decline the invite to participate but not have their playing chances diminished?

I'd imagine they could sit it out if they liked Yeah.
Post by: tiempo on July 20, 2017, 01:33:27 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 20, 2017, 12:49:40 PM
Our father, who? Art McRory
Hallowed be thy name
The Kingdom come, they will be done
Like in '03, in one-seven
Do not give us this day our daily red
And forgive us our trespasses
As we do not forgive those who trespass against us
And lead us not into temptation (to dive)
But deliver us this season
A win.

Hail Kerry
Full of pace
Still sore about '03
Blessed Harte thou amongst winners
And blessed is the boot of thy wounded Peter
Holy Pascal, brother of God
Pray for Sean Quinners
Now and in the hour of his debt
Amen.

Brilliant  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: smelmoth on July 20, 2017, 01:39:42 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 20, 2017, 01:28:14 PM
Ronan McNamee

As long as someone can imagine it that's good enough for me
Post by: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 01:44:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 20, 2017, 12:52:07 PM
It seems at least half of the northern posters here live in the 26 counties so that would mean they are part of the brotherhood...
Post by: sensethetone on July 20, 2017, 01:45:54 PM
Ronan McNamee

They spoil the queuing for communion as the people row behind are wondering why they haven't got up yet.. then the second row behind start going up the chapel, then the first row behind smarten up and they go.. then you have to watch harder for your seat on the way back down.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 20, 2017, 01:58:01 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 20, 2017, 01:39:42 PM
Ronan McNamee

I have to say, I had to read McNamee's quote a few times (rubbing my eyes between each attempted read..) It's like a excerpt from Father Ted! When you consider what the church did and these lads being forced (or requested at least) to pray, it's shocking in my opinion..

And what about the fundamental premise of sport and religion being independent? I fully understand that is a bit of an ideology rather than a reality, but surely every effort should be made to decouple both.

Mickey Harte should keep his religion personal, it's not a cult.

I'll stand back now and queue the backlash..
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 20, 2017, 01:59:20 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on July 20, 2017, 01:45:54 PM
Ronan McNamee

They spoil the queuing for communion as the people row behind are wondering why they haven't got up yet.. then the second row behind start going up the chapel, then the first row behind smarten up and they go.. then you have to watch harder for your seat on the way back down.

Brilliant..  ;D
Post by: tonto1888 on July 20, 2017, 02:02:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 01:10:17 PM
Ronan McNamee

They don't get the protestant to stand up and recite a few decades, unless they do some weird shít at weddings in Tyrone.

Even in McNamee's quote alone it was obvious he and probably plenty of the others are only doing it because they're asked and to humour Mickey, the buck who decides if they play or not on Sundays..

It's also clear he was talking about people of the catholic faith but it didn't stop someone having a go at him
Post by: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 02:02:59 PM
 Eamon Mc Gee  ‎@EamonMcGee 
Can't imagine this is mandatory for everyone but if I was in the panel I wouldn't be comfortable with this at all

McGee has always had a mind of his own
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 20, 2017, 03:15:58 PM
Jeez in years gone by Tyrone were being demonised for their dark arts. Now they're being slammed for their angelic efforts.
Post by: WT4E on July 20, 2017, 03:21:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 01:10:17 PM
Ronan McNamee

You must have seen how Tyrone team say the Rosary - maybe you can explain to all of us how it works for them. Is it like the stretching - all around in a circle and Horse shouts right Bradley you take the rosary today.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 20, 2017, 06:14:00 PM

Worst seldgers the game has seen?

I think we're very good at the sledging, it's the slow witted counties like your own which would struggle with the sharp wit required.
Post by: BennyCake on July 20, 2017, 06:15:45 PM

But as Homer Simpson said to the Flanders: no point praying, we've already done that. And God can't help both of us.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 20, 2017, 07:35:46 PM
Fair play to Mickey Harte for still having his catholic faith after what happened to him. Not sure does he need to push his beliefs on a full panel of players but if they have the same strong faith as him then fair enough.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2017, 07:48:36 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 20, 2017, 01:58:01 PM
Ronan McNamee

I have to say, I had to read McNamee's quote a few times (rubbing my eyes between each attempted read..) It's like a excerpt from Father Ted! When you consider what the church did and these lads being forced (or requested at least) to pray, it's shocking in my opinion..

And what about the fundamental premise of sport and religion being independent? I fully understand that is a bit of an ideology rather than a reality, but surely every effort should be made to decouple both.

I agree with you. I'm never comfortable with what goes on with my own club, annual mass, blessing of pitches etc.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 20, 2017, 08:29:49 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2017, 07:48:36 PM
Ronan McNamee

I agree with you. I'm never comfortable with what goes on with my own club, annual mass, blessing of pitches etc.

A serious chunk of the population of Ireland have suffered at the hands of the Catholic Church in Ireland - totally wrong for Harte to bringing religion into sport.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 20, 2017, 08:52:35 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 20, 2017, 08:29:49 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2017, 07:48:36 PM
Ronan McNamee

A serious chunk of the population of Ireland have suffered at the hands of the Catholic Church in Ireland - totally wrong for Harte to bringing religion into sport.

I'm sure many people have been abused by mentors/trainers when playing underage sports?

Is it wrong to bring sports into schools?

Or is intolerance of a person's religous beliefs what drives you?
Post by: BennyCake on July 20, 2017, 08:55:14 PM
Ronan McNamee

It's a weird one alright. Didn't they ban prayers in the Dail a whole ago? Pray if you want to pray, but enforcing a team/group of differing beliefs (I'd imagine) to do so, is baffling.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 20, 2017, 09:04:59 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 20, 2017, 08:55:14 PM
Ronan McNamee

It's a weird one alright. Didn't they ban prayers in the Dail a whole ago? Pray if you want to pray, but enforcing a team/group of differing beliefs (I'd imagine) to do so, is baffling.

Guys like you seem to be the ones who are pushing the line that players are forced to do it against their will.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 20, 2017, 09:23:10 PM
What he praying to God for, could he not get a quick word from him in the sky studio, to the team before the game, sort of a penance for all the forthcoming misgivings and sins we are about to commit !!! Save all this rosary craic, whats peter think (word of god and all) lol
Post by: seanmc123 on July 20, 2017, 09:29:44 PM
Old news,Was in McCarrons book last year. Papers must be stuck for stories. Come on the red hands, f**k the haters
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 20, 2017, 09:41:51 PM
In Mickey the nation trusts.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 20, 2017, 09:47:31 PM
would Mickey kiss a Bishop's ring???

just wondering
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 20, 2017, 09:56:30 PM

Doesn't take any mental gymnastics for Mickey. I don't think he pays much attention to the deranged thoughts of some people on a gaa board.
Post by: shawshank on July 20, 2017, 09:57:06 PM
Mickey promoting sectarianism. Wonder what Peter Whitnall or Monaghans Full Back Drew Wylie think about that
Post by: smort on July 20, 2017, 10:00:57 PM
Quote from: shawshank on July 20, 2017, 09:57:06 PM
Mickey promoting sectarianism. Wonder what Peter Whitnall or Monaghans Full Back Drew Wylie think about that
Is Ryan Wylie ok with a few prayers being said?
Post by: grounded on July 20, 2017, 10:03:19 PM
Quote from: shawshank on July 20, 2017, 09:57:06 PM

Honestly i'd say they couldnt give 2 flyin f#@ks
Post by: grounded on July 20, 2017, 10:04:41 PM
Apolgies for the cursing... thats a decade of the Rosary for penance
Post by: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 10:23:41 PM
It's like this. Tyrone are winning so it's okay.

Should Tyrone lose, there'll be more than a few players wondering what the f**k they were doing saying prayers before matches.

Could end up being the straw that breaks mickey's back. Stranger things have happened.
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 10:41:34 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 10:23:41 PM

Should Tyrone lose, there'll be more than a few players wondering what the f**k they were doing saying prayers before matches.

Could end up being the straw that breaks mickey's back. Stranger things have happened.

This has probably been going on for the last decade and a half - what the hell are you on about?
Post by: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 10:55:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 10:41:34 PM

This has probably been going on for the last decade and a half - what the hell are you on about?

Emmmmm, that you used the word "probably" would suggest it hasn't. That no player in 15 years has discussed it until now makes it clear it hasn't.

Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 10:57:32 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 10:55:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 10:41:34 PM

Emmmmm, that you used the word "probably" would suggest it hasn't. That no player in 15 years has discussed it until now makes it clear it hasn't.

Please never become a lawyer.
Post by: thewobbler on July 20, 2017, 11:02:37 PM
Cracking response syferus.

You have whimsically decided that it has been going on for at least a decade. Produce your evidence or find a new angle.
Post by: southtyronegael on July 20, 2017, 11:44:53 PM
the whole rosary shite has only been goin on for the past couple of seasons. cant believe this has been made public knowledge by harte and mc namee. embarressing stuff.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 20, 2017, 11:59:49 PM
I mind watchin a film wan time it was based on a true story i think and there was a pile o priests on a plane and it was in trouble then wan said is there anythin could be said against havin a wee prayer and then sure didnt the plane be ok. I think the priests even landed the fcukin thing themselves hi

So sure yis never know

Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2017, 12:32:48 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 20, 2017, 09:04:59 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 20, 2017, 08:55:14 PM
Ronan McNamee

Guys like you seem to be the ones who are pushing the line that players are forced to do it against their will.

No that's not what I'm getting at. I just think it's a bad call from someone in Harte's position to put people in a potentially awkward and embarrassing situation.
Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2017, 12:36:44 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 20, 2017, 11:59:49 PM
I mind watchin a film wan time it was based on a true story i think and there was a pile o priests on a plane and it was in trouble then wan said is there anythin could be said against havin a wee prayer and then sure didnt the plane be ok. I think the priests even landed the fcukin thing themselves hi

So sure yis never know

I think I seen that film hi. Apparently though two of those priests are still not talking to one another.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 12:48:35 AM
Quote from: southtyronegael on July 20, 2017, 11:44:53 PM
the whole rosary shite has only been goin on for the past couple of seasons. cant believe this has been made public knowledge by harte and mc namee. embarressing stuff.
It was in McCarron's book as well.
I wonder how many players would put on a religious medal for luck during a match. More than a few probably.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 21, 2017, 01:13:24 AM
This praying thing doesn't bother me at all. Prayers are used as a form of bringing the team together to focus before a game in many American sports and Harte seems to read about and be influenced by a range of great coaches from America. The players could be shouting Buddhist chants for all I care if it helps them win a few matches. Mickey has always tried to promote something to bring togetherness before games, like the ritual of putting jerseys on together or learning the National Anthem and belting it out on the pitch. After 14 years trying to keep things fresh, he probably came up with this, consulted with a few lads who indicated that they'd give it a go, discussed it with the team and so far it's working. No big deal. If Tyrone win the All Ireland this year, sure yous will all be at it.
Post by: 6th sam on July 21, 2017, 01:15:49 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 12:48:35 AM
It was in McCarron's book as well.
I wonder how many players would put on a religious medal for luck during a match. More than a few probably.
I would imagine many Players have their individual religious /spiritual beliefs. E.g. Dedicating their performance or victory to God or to loved ones.
However I think linking a communal religious purpose with a football team's ethos is questionable. Within GAA teams I have been involved with , there have been players with varying beliefs and degrees of religious fervour. A combined spiritualism as in AA's higher power can be unifying and uplifting , but as a practicing catholic, Though understanding the biblical encouragement to profess religious beliefs, the alleged imposition of the traditions/practice of one particular religion does not sit easy with me.
Whereas individuAlly , many will dedicate their Employment , hobbies, Sporting pArticipAtion to a higher power, personally I would have difficulty with collectively linking sporting performance with religious practice- not only from a sporting but also from a religious perspective.
Some of the behaviour of players on many teams , including Tyrone, is in direct contrast to Christian beliefs and  I think that those who tie in sporting competition with religious practices run the risk of being accused of hypocrisy and self righteousness
Post by: Fuzzman on July 21, 2017, 10:14:40 AM
Would it be fair to assume that in the North, especially in rural areas most catholics would still go to mass every sunday, even young people just to keep the peace for their families so I would imagine there would be a high percentage of that young Tyrone team would go to mass anyway. I think when they move away from home that tends to change a bit.

Secondly, I would imagine Mickey, being quite a religious man anyway, would have decided one day when on the bus to a game or trip away "Sure we'll say the rosary for a safe trip" or something like that.
We all probably know someone of an older generation that got you to say the rosary, even if you weren't too keen.
I can't see Harte discussing it with any of the players and asking them do they think it's alright. It probably just happened on one bus trip and then he started doing it on all trips. I'd be surprised if it's done all the time like at training or for home games. It tends to be something holy people do when they are travelling and with the amount of deaths that have affected Mickey's Tyrone squads over the years you can see why he believes in it.
I agree though that it should have been kept private and I thought it was naive of McCarron to put it in his book but McCarron was trying to come clean with his whole life and lay everything on the table. His book impacted on a lot of people that were probably not to happy with it afterwards.

I would imagine most players don't see it as a big deal and completely trust in Mickey 100% so are happy to play along. From what I hear though Mickey has virtually no interaction or chat with most of the players and all that is left to Horse and Peter Donnelly. Mickey keeps his distance from the players and deals with them at a tactical level only by all accounts.
Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2017, 10:34:13 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 21, 2017, 10:14:40 AM
Would it be fair to assume that in the North, especially in rural areas most catholics would still go to mass every sunday, even young people just to keep the peace for their families so I would imagine there would be a high percentage of that young Tyrone team would go to mass anyway. I think when they move away from home that tends to change a bit.

Secondly, I would imagine Mickey, being quite a religious man anyway, would have decided one day when on the bus to a game or trip away "Sure we'll say the rosary for a safe trip" or something like that.
We all probably know someone of an older generation that got you to say the rosary, even if you weren't too keen.
I can't see Harte discussing it with any of the players and asking them do they think it's alright. It probably just happened on one bus trip and then he started doing it on all trips. I'd be surprised if it's done all the time like at training or for home games. It tends to be something holy people do when they are travelling and with the amount of deaths that have affected Mickey's Tyrone squads over the years you can see why he believes in it.
I agree though that it should have been kept private and I thought it was naive of McCarron to put it in his book but McCarron was trying to come clean with his whole life and lay everything on the table. His book impacted on a lot of people that were probably not to happy with it afterwards.

I would imagine most players don't see it as a big deal and completely trust in Mickey 100% so are happy to play along. From what I hear though Mickey has virtually no interaction or chat with most of the players and all that is left to Horse and Peter Donnelly. Mickey keeps his distance from the players and deals with them at a tactical level only by all accounts.

Aye going to mass to keep the peace when younger. I'd say this tends to drive many any from mass more. And when leaving home, probably never go back. So this is similar to that. Why not just have everyone stay quiet on the bus or changing room for 5 minutes, to focus or concentrate, breathe deeply etc. If some want to say the rosary during that time, that's their choice.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 21, 2017, 12:43:50 PM

What exactly is embarrassing? The fact they go to mass or that it has been made public?
Post by: southtyronegael on July 21, 2017, 01:03:59 PM
I never mentioned mass. The whole religious fundamentalist thing being brought into a changing room is bad enough, but for Harte and mc namee to be spoutin it all over the media is embarressing.
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2017, 01:07:32 PM
Tyrone management and players can do whatever suits them without having to get it approved by GAA Board agnostics.
Do any of ye cringe or get embarrassed when half the world's soccer players bless themselves coming on the pitch.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2017, 01:16:16 PM
What if they were divil worshipping?
Post by: weareros on July 21, 2017, 01:33:07 PM
Personally, I think they are just feeding the media some nonsense and the amadáns are falling for it hook, line and sinker. Does anyone remember when Tyrone were winning All-Irelands and Mickey said the secret was to do hardly any training. I didn't believe that then either.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 21, 2017, 01:41:23 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on July 21, 2017, 01:03:59 PM
I never mentioned mass. The whole religious fundamentalist thing being brought into a changing room is bad enough, but for Harte and mc namee to be spoutin it all over the media is embarressing.

McNamee mentioned mass.
Fair enough. I don't see why they needed to be public with it but I would t call it embarrassing
Post by: sensethetone on July 21, 2017, 01:49:19 PM
If club Tyrone start a novena to raise funds, I will support it faithfully and financially.

Post by: Syferus on July 21, 2017, 02:09:40 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 21, 2017, 01:33:07 PM
Personally, I think they are just feeding the media some nonsense and the amadáns are falling for it hook, line and sinker. Does anyone remember when Tyrone were winning All-Irelands and Mickey said the secret was to do hardly any training. I didn't believe that then either.

This is not the first time it's been reported.
Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2017, 04:01:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 21, 2017, 01:07:32 PM
Tyrone management and players can do whatever suits them without having to get it approved by GAA Board agnostics.
Do any of ye cringe or get embarrassed when half the world's soccer players bless themselves coming on the pitch.

No because that's their own personalchoice. They're not forced to bless themselves. It's something they've taken on themselves to do.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 21, 2017, 04:17:15 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 21, 2017, 04:01:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 21, 2017, 01:07:32 PM

No because that's their own personalchoice. They're not forced to bless themselves. It's something they've taken on themselves to do.

It's not their own personal choice to put their jerseys on at the same time or wear Cuba Classics clothes to matches  or follow a little black book like the Dubs a few years ago or any range of team bonding sessions. Players will input to unusual things if they feel it's sold to them in a way that helps the team. It seems to work so far, if they don't believe in the prayers then they just go along with the idea of creating a shared togetherness or whatever it is meant to achieve as they prepare for a battle. I wouldn't imagine too many lads are considering the religious impact on their lives, misbehaving priests or whatever other faux outrage has been expressed on social media. If Tyrone win the AI it will be a master stroke - every two bit paid club manager will be demanding reserved seats at church on match day mornings.
Post by: redhandefender on July 21, 2017, 04:40:03 PM
Jesus most of you regular lads must have sweet fa to do. You are literally on here arguing about a team praying!
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2017, 04:45:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 21, 2017, 01:16:16 PM
What if they were divil worshipping?
A lot of people suspect they are :D
Post by: Taylor on July 21, 2017, 04:46:18 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on July 21, 2017, 04:40:03 PM
Jesus most of you regular lads must have sweet fa to do. You are literally on here arguing about a team praying!

Look at the people arguing redhand  ::)
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 21, 2017, 11:17:46 PM
Sure we're practically ready for sainthood.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/tyrone-minor-club-player-opponent-truly-heartwarming-130932

(The media really do have little to report on at the min!)
Post by: Rois on July 21, 2017, 11:44:06 PM
Beards in 2008

Rosary in 2017

Post by: BennyCake on July 22, 2017, 12:42:39 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 21, 2017, 11:44:06 PM
Beards in 2008
Rugby in 2013
Rosary in 2017
Post by: longballin on July 22, 2017, 01:58:39 AM
 :)
https://tyronetribulations.com/2017/07/21/pope-spotted-wearing-tyrone-jersey-in-rome/
Post by: Itchy on July 23, 2017, 07:49:21 PM
What would happen is a Muslim or the like was a decent footballer in Tyrone, would they have to convert?
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2017, 08:26:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 23, 2017, 07:49:21 PM
What would happen is a Muslim or the like was a decent footballer in Tyrone, would they have to convert?

They would have to say some thing Muslimy in a Tyrone style

There is no manager other than Mickey
Mickey is the football prophet
Post by: vallankumous on July 24, 2017, 12:56:11 PM
it's some reflection when Mickey Harte can get them to do something they wouldn't do for their own Mothers.
Post by: seafoid on July 24, 2017, 01:29:17 PM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 24, 2017, 12:56:11 PM
it's some reflection when Mickey Harte can get them to do something they wouldn't do for their own Mothers.

Some player years ago was asked what it meant to win the all Ireland
"i'll have to get a new mickey"
If the rosary is the way to get there ...
Post by: snoopdog on July 24, 2017, 04:56:57 PM
Sacred Harte. Ha ha I love it.
Post by: LeoMc on July 25, 2017, 07:27:40 AM
Maybe they would do something different to aid team bonding!
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 11:27:21 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 25, 2017, 07:27:40 AM
I doubt if a devout Muslim/Prod would have any issue with pre match prayer as long as its on of Thanks and offering  a not a plea to change the result of the game . which is more of a VooDoo thing
as for atheist sure they are so liberal they couldn't have any issue either . .
I'm sure Mickey doesn't insist they actually say anything just sit/kneel in concentration  to the chosen bonding ritual
Post by: johnneycool on July 25, 2017, 11:44:04 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 11:27:21 AM
I doubt if a devout Muslim/Prod would have any issue with pre match prayer as long as its on of Thanks and offering  a not a plea to change the result of the game . which is more of a VooDoo thing
I'm sure Mickey doesn't insist they actually say anything just sit/kneel in concentration  to the chosen bonding ritual

Other teams will be onto this and say two decades of the Rosary meaning God will give them the rub of the green instead of those heathen hoors from Tyrone only saying one...
Post by: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 02:10:48 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 25, 2017, 11:44:04 AM

Other teams will be onto this and say two decades of the Rosary meaning God will give them the rub of the green instead of those heathen hoors from Tyrone only saying one...

Ah sure wy bother training at all. Teams could meet 4/5 times a week and say the rosary for an hour and a half. Then we'll know who the holiest county in Ireland is, as that team will be taking Sam home.

Just imagine the interviews at the banquet. Jaysus, the dedication of these lads. Each one of them went through a dozen rosary beads since before christmas. Except if Tyrone win Sam, youll hear no insider info.
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 03:19:10 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 02:10:48 PM

Ah sure wy bother training at all. Teams could meet 4/5 times a week and say the rosary for an hour and a half. Then we'll know who the holiest county in Ireland is, as that team will be taking Sam home.

Just imagine the interviews at the banquet. Jaysus, the dedication of these lads. Each one of them went through a dozen rosary beads since before christmas. Except if Tyrone win Sam, youll hear no insider info.

lads
the idea of the prayer is not to gain advantage but to give thanks
no wonder the Church is failing seeing how poor the message is distributed

just did a little highlighting for the hard of reading among us
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 03:25:40 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 03:19:10 PM

lads

Prayers are also for things people feel they need
eg petitions boxes during Novenas and never known to fail , publish within 3 days prayers
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 25, 2017, 03:40:45 PM
Surprised that REDCOL hasn't been into this thread as the Garrymore team in Mayo have never taken the field without the captain leading the prayer in the dressing room.
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 04:04:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 03:25:40 PM

lads

Prayers are also for things people feel they need
eg petitions boxes during Novenas and never known to fail , publish within 3 days prayers
well what do ya know you can even do it online now
http://www.sacredheartlombard.org/_modules/form.php?id=21
Captcha and all 
Post by: lenny on July 25, 2017, 05:03:29 PM

lads

They're not praying for thanks, they're praying for forgiveness for the cynical fouls and sledging they are about to commit. That's why a lot of people don't like that about Harte, it's the hypocrisy.
Post by: Taylor on July 25, 2017, 05:05:37 PM
Quote from: lenny on July 25, 2017, 05:03:29 PM

lads

They're not praying for thanks, they're praying for forgiveness for the cynical fouls and sledging they are about to commit. That's why a lot of people don't like that about Harte, it's the hypocrisy.

Bar Morgan any 2017 examples Lenny?

Stop living on the past - embrace the future
Post by: lenny on July 25, 2017, 05:19:13 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 25, 2017, 05:05:37 PM

lads

Bar Morgan any 2017 examples Lenny?

Stop living on the past - embrace the future

Fair enough Taylor. They have been disciplined this year.
Post by: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 06:51:27 PM

lads

Bar Morgan, they have been fairly disciplined this year. Maybe they're praying for forgiveness for past sins. Gormley, Ricey, Jordan, Mugsy, Canavan to name a few. They'll be praying for years given the shite those boys got up to.
Post by: Taylor on July 25, 2017, 07:20:54 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 06:51:27 PM

lads

Bar Morgan, they have been fairly disciplined this year. Maybe they're praying for forgiveness for past sins. Gormley, Ricey, Jordan, Mugsy, Canavan to name a few. They'll be praying for years given the shite those boys got up to.

Mugsy?  :o
Post by: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 09:01:27 PM
Aye, Francie will tell you all about it.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 25, 2017, 10:57:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 09:01:27 PM

Francie got all his comeuppances in one serving in the 2005 AISF when Big Sean shouldered him into the next millennium.  They held a Novena for him afterwards in Cross but it was no good, the boul' Francie was just a shell of a man following it.   ;)
Post by: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 11:04:40 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 25, 2017, 10:57:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 25, 2017, 09:01:27 PM

Francie got all his comeuppances in one serving in the 2005 AISF when Big Sean shouldered him into the next millennium.  They held a Novena for him afterwards in Cross but it was no good, the boul' Francie was just a shell of a man following it.   ;)

And what would these "comeuppances" have been for?
Post by: armaghniac on July 26, 2017, 01:22:48 AM

I think they tried the Muslim craic in 2008 with the beards.
Next year they'll be in saffron robes.
Post by: vallankumous on July 26, 2017, 08:15:08 AM
http://traleetoday.ie/final-countdown-kieran-donaghy-rebirth-star/

Tomas O'Se once remarked of the Tyrone team of the mid 00's that "if Tyrone were out set dancing five nights a week every other team would be out doing it as well."

I think he referred to "northern teams" at the time rather than 'Tyrone' but this is the first quote I found.
Post by: Beantown on July 26, 2017, 10:15:41 AM
Who gives a F**k.  I couldn't care less.  Maybe Dublin read the Koran and Kerry are all Krishna's.  Maybe Longford are all mormons.  Who cares?

Players will toe the line in certain counties just to stay on the panel, whether they are religious or not.  If Brian Cody asked his players to hop on one leg and bark like a dog before a match they would...  Its all about the sense of collective and sense of team that is the main driving force behind this.

Supporters wear lucky jerseys, unwashed usually, have routines and superstitions they go through.  Going to mass in Drumcondra before a big match in Croker is a big one.

Nothing to see here, move on.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 26, 2017, 10:19:00 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 24, 2017, 01:29:17 PM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 24, 2017, 12:56:11 PM

Some player years ago was asked what it meant to win the all Ireland
"i'll have to get a new mickey"
If the rosary is the way to get there ...

Larry O'Gorman was the man. Pure honest!
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2017, 10:35:56 AM
Quote from: Beantown on July 26, 2017, 10:15:41 AM
Who gives a F**k.  I couldn't care less.  Maybe Dublin read the Koran and Kerry are all Krishna's.  Maybe Longford are all mormons.  Who cares?

Players will toe the line in certain counties just to stay on the panel, whether they are religious or not.  If Brian Cody asked his players to hop on one leg and bark like a dog before a match they would...  Its all about the sense of collective and sense of team that is the main driving force behind this.

Supporters wear lucky jerseys, unwashed usually, have routines and superstitions they go through.  Going to mass in Drumcondra before a big match in Croker is a big one.

Nothing to see here, move on.

I think I saw Brolly doing that one time.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 26, 2017, 06:32:33 PM

lads

Do you ever judge your own players?
Post by: BennyCake on July 26, 2017, 06:39:16 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 26, 2017, 06:32:33 PM

lads

Such as...?
Post by: reddgnhand on July 26, 2017, 06:50:44 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 26, 2017, 06:39:16 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 26, 2017, 06:32:33 PM

lads

Such as...?

I would suggest you read Star Donaghy's book.