The 70s

Started by Shamrock Shore, November 24, 2007, 12:03:27 AM

A rival topic:

For us lads born in the mid to late 60s I give you: The 70s

1. a single tv channel - open from 4.30 to 12.
2. Amrhan na bhFiann with the running waters at 12 pre-shutdown
3. Black and white tv with the white dot when she was turned off
4. 7 days and the Tiede Herema kidnap
5. The North gone mental/The Miami/too many to list
6. Peggy's Leg
7. Crisps were 2p a packet
8. Horslips
9. Corporal punishment in schools (I got slogged with a tinwhistle once)
10. The Cigaire
11. The Missions coming ("You'll burn in hell")
12. Petrol shortages/Sheik Yamani
13. Long greasy hair
14. Kerry Dublin
15. The Spike
16. The Pope in Dublin - I was bollixed after my trip to the Phoenix Park
17. People said the rosary
18. Got 5p on mineral bottles
19. Awful teeth
20. Corpus Christie processions

I could add more - feel free to elaborate. I reckon only O'Neill, Fearon, Billys Boots, Hardy and Laureleye could possibly feel the same.

Hand me down clothes (Trousers had to be 6 inches up your leg before you moved them on)
Fashion didn't exist until you were 13
Teachers sending kids to the shop for staff room bickies
Space invaders

Quote from: theskull1 on November 24, 2007, 12:24:45 AM
Hand me down clothes (Trousers had to be 6 inches up your leg before you moved them on)
Fashion didn't exist until you were 13
Teachers sending kids to the shop for staff room bickies
Space invaders

That sounds familiar. Sure you aren't getting mixed up with the 80s? ;)

Maybe in the South/East Sperrins Ziggy...god luv yus

By then we'd moved on to our own duds, chocolate digestives and Asteroids where I was at anyway :)

Mac hinery

Bay city roller trousers
Hillman avengers
Talbot sunbeams
Vauxhall Magnums
9 foot fibreglass aerials
Kerryman jokes
Platform shoes
wedges
Boot boys in Doc Martins
leather brogues with steel heel tips
Flares and parallels
The Deerhunter
The Godfather
The Exorcist
Jaws

FL/MAYO

C.B radio's
The Towering inferno
R.S 2000's
Ford Anglia's
Removable cogs on the Gola football boots
Adidas Rom's
The Ham Fair in Claremorris..Andy Creighton would stick a ham in his window and there would be bar extensions for the week.
Mayo not winning a Connaught title 
The Boomtown Rats, Sex Pistols, The Clash, U2, The Undertones
Bank robberies everyday, it was like the wild west in some areas.
Using your neighbours phone as most people could not afford one.
Jack Lynch, Liam Cosgrave and the country starting to go to shit...
Quicksilver with Bunny Carr and the 2 penny questions
Super Leeds United
Man United going down to division 2

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 24, 2007, 12:03:27 AM
A rival topic:

For us lads born in the mid to late 60s I give you: The 70s

1. a single tv channel - open from 4.30 to 12.
2. Amrhan na bhFiann with the running waters at 12 pre-shutdown
3. Black and white tv with the white dot when she was turned off
4. 7 days and the Tiede Herema kidnap
5. The North gone mental/The Miami/too many to list
6. Peggy's Leg
7. Crisps were 2p a packet
8. Horslips
9. Corporal punishment in schools (I got slogged with a tinwhistle once)
10. The Cigaire
11. The Missions coming ("You'll burn in hell")
12. Petrol shortages/Sheik Yamani
13. Long greasy hair
14. Kerry Dublin
15. The Spike
16. The Pope in Dublin - I was bollixed after my trip to the Phoenix Park
17. People said the rosary
18. Got 5p on mineral bottles
19. Awful teeth
20. Corpus Christie processions

I could add more - feel free to elaborate. I reckon only O'Neill, Fearon, Billys Boots, Hardy and Laureleye could possibly feel the same.

Some great stuff there SS, jaysus we're getting old :'(
The 4 of us having to take turns at answering the phone when we first got her in :D

DrinkingHarp

Grease - the movie
Star Wars
Pong
Yard Darts -  Now Illegal
8 track tapes disappearing for cassettes
beta vision video player
first remote control tv- now the parents didnt have to tell me to turn the channel for them
looking at a Playboy magazine ;D
hot wheels race track
microwave - "dont stand to close it could do something to ya"
Happy Days
Archie Bunker- All in the Family
Tuna Casarole(sp)  still cant stand it

Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

Martin O'Neill hitting the big time at Forest and then winning the European Cup Final
Watching from the bedroom window as bombs went off
The brothers and sisters heading off to the dances in the Marian Hall
The AIF on BBC 2, providing the preliminary round of some non-descript cricket cup in England finished on time.
Curly Wurlys
Texan bars
The Beano and Dandy
Shoot
Scoop (shite compared to Shoot as it was full of all kinds of crap)
Ipswich beat WBA 7-0
Ipswich beat a Brady/Irish-inspired Arsenal 1-0 to win the FA cup
Ipswich nearly won the league...again
Arsenal beating United in the '79 FA Cup final (what a game)
Santa existed
Halloween parties
Austin Allegros (one of the worst ever cars...a total heap of shite if ever there was one)
Hillman Avengers (pre-Iranian production days)
The demise of the Morris Oxford
The excitement of the Holy Father coming to Ireland...and the sadness that he couldn't visit the whole of the country because of threats
Playing on Glen Maghera's auld pitch with the cowshite everywhere...ditto, Swatragh's pitch (sheep shite)
Following Kilrea Rovers FC in the Coleraine and District League.
Kilrea GFC opening its new pitch.

Oops...

that should have been Hillman Hunters, not Avengers

Vauxhall Chevette hatchbacks

VW Polos and Derbys

Getting introduced to hurling.

The parcels coming from America and the asteroids video game

Charles Mitchell reading the news
ESB strikes
CIE strikes
Bank strikes
P&T strikes
5 years waiting for a phone - then it's a operator only one
Using sterling as legal currency Dine Site
Pubs closing when the Dubs went on tour in the league
Radio Luxembourg
£30 to join a 10 tape video library
Betamax videos
H&E magazine  :o
Sweet Afton and Players No 6 cigarettes
Double Diamond beer
4F pub grub (i.e. oxtail soup)
Oxtail soup

Fluffy Che

The decade that taste forgot but they were great crack to live through all the same..

Deputy Dawg.
Paralells halfway up yer leg.
Mk. 3 Cortinas.
Brits searching your schoolbag.
Slade.
Laker Airways.
Pubs closing in the afternoons.
Baader Mienhoff.
Respect for priests.
The Sweeney.
Monkey Boots.
Gilbert jumpers.
Spanish Gold.
Veitnam.
3 T.V. channels.
Nightly gun battles and my wee Granny hiding in 'cubby hole'.
Vauxhall Victors and Vivas.
Ulster Workers (ie. UDA ) Strike. No lecky or gas, cooking on open fires in the street.
Brit curfews.
The birth of Punk, a personal highlight..
Midnight to Six..

Rufus T Firefly

ELO
Slade
T Rex
Magpie (TV Show)
Why Don't You
Swap Shop
Top of the Pops - 7.20 - Thursday Evening
New Top 40 announced on Tuesday lunch time
U.F.O. - Ed Bishop
The Big Match
Malcom Allison
Burnley in 1st Division
British Championship
Wonderful wonderful World Cups
Great South American footballers who you didn't know
West Indies in cricket
Kerry Packer
Tony Greig
Texan Bars
Nutty Bars
Pirri Crisps
Quenchers
Frosties
Space Dust (allegedly killed dozens of people in Japan - don't try it)
Troubles
Army saracens with desert camouflage
Army helicopter pilots that flew like maniacs over built up areas
Electricity Board
Civil Rights
flares
Bay City Roller trousers
Bay City Rollers
Snow in the winter
Doc Martens
Striker footballs
Captain footballs