Who will stop this Dublin team from 4, 5, 6 or more in a row?

Started by Muck Savage, September 19, 2017, 09:06:33 PM

Quote from: thejuice on September 24, 2017, 11:18:56 PM
We've seen it before where teams look invincible but suddenly with a few retirements they just aren't the same after. What happens to this Dublin team when Cluxton retires. I know they'll still be talented but take away a few of the key players, in those really tight games will they be able to stay composed. They'll probably still be competitive for the foreseeable future but I think someone is going to surprise them when they're coming off their peak.
That is far too logical, Juice.

The first unbeatable team I was aware of was Kerry. The second was Liverpool. The third was Shamrock Rovers. And the greatest of these was Shamrock Rovers. Because they were the biggest fish in the smallest pond and they kept on winning. They had an engine that consisted of Byrnes. You would get a pain in your hole listening to Philip Green reporting on them. Eventually the regime collapsed.

Liverpool were a machine. They could win European Cups. You could get Liverpool pyjamas in Galway. That is how good they were. If someone had gone into the playground and said Liverpool would not win the league for 25 years all the lads would have laughed. Ha ha. Very funny.

Kerry won 4 in a row but suffered 2 ambushes in 82 and 83. You were watching the 82 final with your father. The goal was unbelievable. It was like the 96 hurling final. If Offaly are in the mood they can do that sort of thing. Bring a team down to earth.

The 83 mess allowed the Dubs to win a rare Sam.
Kerry came back for another 3 but they could go no further. They were useless in the early 90's.  That is why the Ulster teams could make hay.

Anyone who thinks Dublin will reign for ever and ever hallelujah hallelujah should read up on Prussia. Hegemony is never permanent. Only stupidity is permanent.

Real Talk

Quote from: seafoid on September 25, 2017, 11:14:58 AM
The first unbeatable team I was aware of was Kerry. The second was Liverpool. The third was Shamrock Rovers. And the greatest of these was Shamrock Rovers. Because they were the biggest fish in the smallest pond and they kept on winning. They had an engine that consisted of Byrnes. You would get a pain in your hole listening to Philip Green reporting on them. Eventually the regime collapsed.

Liverpool were a machine. They could win European Cups. You could get Liverpool pyjamas in Galway. That is how good they were. If someone had gone into the playground and said Liverpool would not win the league for 25 years all the lads would have laughed. Ha ha. Very funny.

Kerry won 4 in a row but suffered 2 ambushes in 82 and 83. You were watching the 82 final with your father. The goal was unbelievable. It was like the 96 hurling final. If Offaly are in the mood they can do that sort of thing. Bring a team down to earth.

Kerry came back for another 3 but they could go no further. They were useless in the early 90's.  That is why the Ulster teams could make hay.

Anyone who thinks Dublin will reign for ever and ever hallelujah hallelujah should read up on Prussia. Hegemony is never permanent. Only stupidity is permanent.

Absolutely correct

Quote from: Real Talk on September 26, 2017, 10:18:49 PM

Absolutely correct
You got it in one!
God love poor Seafóid, he is living up to his name. HIs analogies are colourful but very wide of the mark.
Unless the political and economic faces of Ireland change very dramatically, Dublin will keep getting stronger in every sense while gap between it and the rest of the country will continue to widen.
It was a case of primus inter pares, first among equals, for the examples he quoted but when it comes to Dublin vs The Rest, there is one very important difference: Greater Dublin has 40% of the Republic's population right now but official estimates expect that percentage to rise to 50% by 2040.
Along with its 40% of the people, Dublin has 50% of the nation's resources, according to Simon Coveney, and the imbalance will continue to increase as time goes by.
One team to represent half the country's population is unlikely to be toppled from its preeminent position any time soon.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 27, 2017, 01:51:47 AM

Absolutely correct
You got it in one!
God love poor Seafóid, he is living up to his name. HIs analogies are colourful but very wide of the mark.
Unless the political and economic faces of Ireland change very dramatically, Dublin will keep getting stronger in every sense while gap between it and the rest of the country will continue to widen.
It was a case of primus inter pares, first among equals, for the examples he quoted but when it comes to Dublin vs The Rest, there is one very important difference: Greater Dublin has 40% of the Republic's population right now but official estimates expect that percentage to rise to 50% by 2040.
Along with its 40% of the people, Dublin has 50% of the nation's resources, according to Simon Coveney, and the imbalance will continue to increase as time goes by.
One team to represent half the country's population is unlikely to be toppled from its preeminent position any time soon.

Do all these people play senior club football in Dublin.

Quote from: TheGreatest on September 28, 2017, 08:49:14 AM

Absolutely correct
You got it in one!

WTFG , here we go again!
This is the third time you've come up with this stupid  question and that's only the ones I've had the misfortune to come across.
Last year, posing as The Aristocrat, you wrote something line, "1.9 million people all playing Gaelic football. Wow!"
A change of name and you were back again this year with the same smart ass quip and now you think it's still funny enough to shove it up again.
You also referred to Ewan McKenna as "Spewan" as if that was supposed to be funny. FFS, try and grow up a bit. You never made a single attempt to refute/ disagree with or even mention any of the points he made.
Come back when you get past puberty and maybe you'll have a bit of cop on by then.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 28, 2017, 11:05:59 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 28, 2017, 08:49:14 AM

Absolutely correct
You got it in one!

WTFG , here we go again!
This is the third time you've come up with this stupid  question and that's only the ones I've had the misfortune to come across.
Last year, posing as The Aristocrat, you wrote something line, "1.9 million people all playing Gaelic football. Wow!"
A change of name and you were back again this year with the same smart ass quip and now you think it's still funny enough to shove it up again.
You also referred to Ewan McKenna as "Spewan" as if that was supposed to be funny. FFS, try and grow up a bit. You never made a single attempt to refute/ disagree with or even mention any of the points he made.
Come back when you get past puberty and maybe you'll have a bit of cop on by then.

You didn't answer the question.

It is the population argument that is stupid as you say above.. When you people say there is 1.5 million people in Dublin, its redicolous.

Dublin  senior footballers player pool is about 20 senior teams excluding the odd one or two from Inter.

Never heard the guy you mentioned, must be an intelligent fellow.

Pretty sure there's 32 senior teams in the championship in Dublin.

TheGreatest

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 28, 2017, 12:11:43 PM
Pretty sure there's 32 senior teams in the championship in Dublin.

Some of them should be there. Will change. A more realistic pool is Division 1 league.

The Hill is Blue

Absolutely correct
You got it in one!

The arguement that Dublin's population "advantage" will inevitably result in them monopolising the football championship is not supported by the evidence. Just look at the relative strengths of the county teams around the country and compare these to their populations.

If we accept that Mayo is the strongest/second strongest team in the country, look at the counties south of the border with bigger populations (apart from Dublin) who are rated below them:

Cork
Galway
Kildare
Limerick
Meath
Tipperary
Donegal
Wexford
Kerry
Wicklow

Bigger populations don't in themselves lead to better teams.

I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on September 28, 2017, 06:41:42 PM

Absolutely correct
You got it in one!

The arguement that Dublin's population "advantage" will inevitably result in them monopolising the football championship is not supported by the evidence. Just look at the relative strengths of the county teams around the country and compare these to their populations.

If we accept that Mayo is the strongest/second strongest team in the country, look at the counties south of the border with bigger populations (apart from Dublin) who are rated below them:

Cork
Galway
Kildare
Limerick
Meath
Tipperary
Donegal
Wexford
Kerry
Wicklow

Bigger populations don't in themselves lead to better teams.
You said it all in your last line: "Bigger populations don't in themselves lead to better teams."
If they did, Dublin's tally would be in three figures long ago with Cork, Galway and maybe Kildare and Limerick sneaking in once every decade or so.
Obviously, it doesn't operate like that.

As Tomás Ó'Sé said, it isn't the amount of funding a county gets that's important, it's the use to which that money is put that counts. Mayo sez he, has about 10% of Dublin's financial clout but they don't let that put them off.
Basically, Tomás is saying that it ain' the size of the dog in the fight that matters, it's the fight in the dog.
But Mayo cannot hope to remain competitive indefinitely; they don't have the resources.
Population size may not be all that matters but it is a sizeable factor all  the same.
Sponsorship comes to mind straightaway but there are other advantages to being 'in a heavily built up region.
The odds are very high that players will live and work/study without have to travel long distances to get to training. People in built up areas end to be financially better off than those in the second least heavily populated county in the Republic, aka Mayo.That's a no-brainer because people wouldn't choose to live so close together unless there is a financial motive to do so.It also stands to reason that Dublin can use far more and better S&C facilities and all that goes with that than Mayo or any other rural county could hope to have.
A good big 'un will generally pack too much for a good little un any day. Financially, the GAA will be bankrupted if Dublin keeps on winning. If Mayo had been knocked out of the qualifiers, Dublin would have ambled their way to another AI, without a bother. Good for the Dubs but bad for the GAA.
Is the Leinster championship losing money heavily? It has to be.
The qualifiers last year would have been in the red but for the presence of Mayo. Things couldn't have been any better this year.
Was there a single memorable game .played before a packed stadium until Mayo and Kerry and later Mayo and Dublin came along.
Kerry's great run in the early 80s damn near bankrupted the GAA. Only a little more than 17,000 turned up for the '82 semi against Armagh. People then, like now, are reluctant to pay serious amounts of money to watch teams that are going nowhere.
Now, there is one big difference between Kerry's five in a row achievement and the dominance of the present Dubs- one hell of a difference.
The gap between Dublin and the chasing pack is widening year on year in just about every conceivable way imaginable.  There is little or no possibility that the hunger for more will ever subside in Dublin either. You have a steady stream of talented youngsters trying to break through and a large number of established players fighting hard to keep their places. No other copunty in the land has that "problem."
The same could never be said of Kerry. And Kilkenny hurlers? They had no material advantages over their main competitors- it was all down to talent . The players had to stand outside church gates one Sunday with plastic buckets, fundraising for the money to pay for their foreign holiday.
Talk about having to sing for your supper! Don't see that ever happening in Dublin.

Orchard park

You obviously aren't aware of his poorly Dublin players were treated in the not so distant past. Glass milk and biscuits  literally after training in Parnell park.

Much changed now in the ultra commercialised age

Quote from: Orchard park on September 28, 2017, 08:42:09 PM
You obviously aren't aware of his poorly Dublin players were treated in the not so distant past. Glass milk and biscuits  literally after training in Parnell park.

Santa Claus spring to mind and Bertie Ahern was like Santa to Dublin  ;)

Quote from: Orchard park on September 28, 2017, 08:42:09 PM

;D ;D Believe it or not, I am obviously aware of how badly the Dub players were treated up to recent times but wtf has that to do with what's going on now? That's very much aimsir caite, my friend.
And if you want to moan about hard times, try this: Mayo players travelling from Dublin and back were expected to get by on a "cardboard sandwich" after Horan stepped down. From a buffet lunch to a sambo out of a box,. Some insult if they put up with it. No bespoke creations delivered by taxi for them poor souls. You don't know how lucky yiz are. ;D