GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 02:23:03 PM

Title: Armagh v Monaghan D2-R5 15th March 7pm
Post by: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 02:23:03 PM
The winners have a chance at promotion and the losers can just look to securing their 2nd Div status, so there are no losers from this game.
I'd say promotion is most probably between the 4 Ulster teams, Donegal and one other.
Will Armagh's 2 day extra rest be enough of an advantage here?
Will it stop raining in Armagh?
Probably will be a tight game, I don't think there's much between the Axis of (insert your own word here), Armagh, Down and Monaghan.

Title: Re: Armagh v Monaghan D2-R5 15th March 7pm
Post by: babarino on March 10, 2014, 03:05:42 PM
Last time, we played in the Athletic grounds in Division 2, the defeat cost us demotion to the Cavan zone, on top of losing a home fixture later.

What made that day the more telling was that we were on top for most of the game, but lost to a late Armagh rally. They have their own McManus, so it's a big day for the new lads in the Monaghan attack. We have to take our chances, which we didn't do in Newry.
Post by: Orior on March 10, 2014, 03:09:36 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 02:23:03 PM
The winners have a chance at promotion and the losers can just look to securing their 2nd Div status, so there are no losers from this game.
I'd say promotion is most probably between the 4 Ulster teams, Donegal and one other .
Will Armagh's 2 day extra rest be enough of an advantage here?
Will it stop raining in Armagh?
Probably will be a tight game, I don't think there's much between the Axis of (insert your own word here), Armagh, Down and Monaghan.

Why are Donegal getting two chances?
Post by: T Fearon on March 10, 2014, 03:59:17 PM
Is the match on Setanta? It will have been a full week since they last covered an Armagh game.
Post by: Bingo on March 10, 2014, 04:59:44 PM
The pitch in Armagh has taken some pounding the last while, they'll be glad to see the back of the league I'd say.

This will be an interesting one. Monaghan far from firing on full cylinders but getting the job done and putting on big scores. Still very open at the back though and conceding too easily. Good to see Lennon back and getting game time under his belt yesterday, still has alot to offer.

Armagh are quietly building a team despite the injuries and the forward line is working well.

This could go either way. Interesting too that Armagh are finishing games well but Monaghan are the opposite.
Post by: Throw ball on March 10, 2014, 06:35:36 PM
Tough game for Armagh this week. With Dyas added to the injury list another reshape is necessary. Monaghan will rightly be favourites. At least all these injuries are letting us know the depth of the squad. The team will not lack for effort. Hopefully Monaghan have an off day.
Post by: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 09:24:52 PM
When Clarke gets injured then we know Armagh have an injury crisis.
Is McKeever injured?  he wasn't playing against Laois.
I see we are favourites, but it's still a 50/50 game and it's being played in Armagh, it's a long and trepidatious 30km away from God's county.

How have the 'Friday night lights' games been so far as regards attendance?
Post by: Throw ball on March 10, 2014, 09:43:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 09:24:52 PM
I see we are favourites, but it's still a 50/50 game and it's being played in Armagh, it's a long and trepidatious 30km away from God's county.

Have we not got enough injuries without wishing that on us. McKeever is said to be out for the rest of the league.

Should be a good crowd on Saturday. Only 3500 last week but I think my car would have had enough room in it for the Laois supporters that were there.

Surprised to see such an inexperienced referee for a game like this. Do not know what he is like so hope he has a good game.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 10, 2014, 10:10:30 PM
Game will be live on premier sports. Monaghan average away from Clones and Armagh on a high with two good wins should win this game.
Post by: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 10:12:30 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 10, 2014, 09:43:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 09:24:52 PM

Have we not got enough injuries without wishing that on us. McKeever is said to be out for the rest of the league.

Should be a good crowd on Saturday. Only 3500 last week but I think my car would have had enough room in it for the Laois supporters that were there.

Surprised to see such an inexperienced referee for a game like this. Do not know what he is like so hope he has a good game.
If the ref has a good game then surely the points are in our bag?
Post by: T Fearon on March 10, 2014, 10:44:49 PM
Surely the results last weekend prove that a game like this is impossible to call.Monaghan highly motivated as Armagh relegated them in 2011, and Malachy O'Rourke still smarting from 2008 Ulster Final defeat.
Post by: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 11:32:29 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 10, 2014, 10:44:49 PM
Surely the results last weekend prove that a game like this is impossible to call.Monaghan highly motivated as Armagh relegated them in 2011, and Malachy O'Rourke still smarting from 2008 Ulster Final defeat.
Us Monaghan folk are more evolved than that, we don't bear such grudges  or live in the past.
Our motivation is a positive expression, yes we want to trample you into the ground but it's nothing personal, you just happen to be there.
Post by: thebandit on March 11, 2014, 12:03:46 AM
I'd imagine that Monaghan will edge this, based on having a better defence.

Rugby is at 5, game is at 7, I'd say this will impact on the crowd.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 11, 2014, 12:11:06 AM
Yeah, I'd say there'll be a few empty seats in stade de France alright, sure you'd never make it back in time for throw in!!   ;D
Post by: our_fella on March 11, 2014, 12:55:52 AM
Seen someone copy this post on facebook from twitter

Armagh's starting 15 if using their injured players

1) AN other
2) Paul McGeown
3) Brendan Donaghy
4) James Morgan
5) Aaron Kernan
6) Ciaran McKeever
7 ) Finnian Moriarty
8) James Lavery
9) Kieran Toner
10) Gary McCooey,
11) Kevin Dyas
12) Aidan, Forker;
13/14/15) An Other, An Other, An other.

Not the worse injury list ever...
Post by: Armaghgeddon on March 11, 2014, 01:30:16 AM
is Vernon injured?
Post by: gander on March 11, 2014, 08:57:08 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on March 11, 2014, 01:30:16 AM
is Vernon injured?
I dont think he was even togged out on saturday, he didnt do any warm ups anyway
Post by: bogball88 on March 11, 2014, 09:17:26 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 10, 2014, 03:59:17 PM
Is the match on Setanta? It will have been a full week since they last covered an Armagh game.

;D ;D

Think it is, had a quick nosey through the listings last night and it is on alongside I think it is Dublin and Kilkenny
Post by: straightred on March 11, 2014, 09:43:08 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 10, 2014, 03:59:17 PM

Its on setanta 1 (Dublin KK Hurling is on Setanta Ireland). Full game will be on later that night on Setanta Ireland as well if you can't get Setanta 1
Post by: bogball88 on March 11, 2014, 10:58:18 AM
On subject of matches on TV, heading down to Dublin on Sunday, where would be best bet to catch the Derry-Dublin game whilst getting a feed at same time-Canal Court or Carrickdale?
Post by: T Fearon on March 11, 2014, 11:46:32 AM
Canal Court always has live sport on the big screen in Granary Bar. You can self serve your own pints there as well!
Post by: our_fella on March 11, 2014, 02:36:50 PM
Quote from: gander on March 11, 2014, 08:57:08 AM
is Vernon injured?
I dont think he was even togged out on saturday, he didnt do any warm ups anyway

Think someone said he was out with a stomach bug or something
Post by: BennyCake on March 11, 2014, 03:35:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 11, 2014, 11:46:32 AM
Canal Court always has live sport on the big screen in Granary Bar. You can self serve your own pints there as well!

Something like this, T...?

(http://resguru.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/hrft.jpg)
Post by: T Fearon on March 11, 2014, 04:23:41 PM
Self service at your table, then pay at the counter when you're finished. Bit like filling the car at a petrol station! ;D
Post by: bennydorano on March 11, 2014, 09:21:05 PM
Quote from: our_fella on March 11, 2014, 02:36:50 PM
Quote from: gander on March 11, 2014, 08:57:08 AM
is Vernon injured?

Think someone said he was out with a stomach bug or something
Near sure I read that he came off against Meath with a calf strain & just hasn't recovered yet.
Post by: Main Street on March 11, 2014, 10:50:44 PM
So far, the message I get about the Armagh footballers is, pass the sick note.
Post by: armaghniac on March 12, 2014, 03:41:07 AM
Armagh have several injuries, all the more embarrassing if Monaghan can't win well.
Post by: Main Street on March 12, 2014, 10:08:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 12, 2014, 03:41:07 AM
Armagh have several injuries, all the more embarrassing if Monaghan can't win well.
I can't remember anytime Monaghan were embarrassed to win a game.
Though we'll say a prayer for the afflicted and hope they get well soon.
Post by: T Fearon on March 13, 2014, 06:51:58 AM
Yes if Monaghan win they should humbly apologise and immediately hand both points to Armagh as a gesture of goodwill.
Post by: Main Street on March 13, 2014, 10:53:21 AM
Unlike you Tony, we have a difficulty with being humble. ;D
Post by: Throw ball on March 13, 2014, 09:20:49 PM
Armagh team announced

McAvoy
Hughes Findon Murray
Shields Mallon O'Neill
Rafferty Harold
Grugan Kernan Rafferty
Clarke Campbell Forker
Post by: timmyot501 on March 13, 2014, 09:56:56 PM
Monaghan team v armagh

R Began
K. Duffy. D. Wylie. F. Kelly
C walshe. V. Corey. D. Mone
      G. Doogan. O. Lennon
P. Finlay. K. Hughes. P. Donaghy
D. Malone. J. Mccarron. C. McManus
Post by: Main Street on March 13, 2014, 10:14:51 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on March 13, 2014, 09:56:56 PM
Monaghan team v armagh

R Began
K. Duffy. D. Wylie. F. Kelly
C walshe. V. Corey. D. None
      G. Doogan. O. Lennon
P. Finlay. K. Hughes. P. Donaghy
D. Malone. J. Mccarron. C. McManus
Dessie won't be happy with that :)

There's a 4 point victory in that team.
Post by: BennyCake on March 13, 2014, 10:51:46 PM
I hope Jamie Clarke is picked up by Keith Duffy. Another 11 points for sure!  ;D
Title: Coimhlint
Post by: drici on March 13, 2014, 11:06:27 PM
(https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSb2zGn7xZe7k_uSjqPR5MFT_I5dGdkBg6jHiqgBFy8UJH2M1ZP)     v      (http://f3.thejournal.ie/media/2013/03/jamie-clarke-1672011-310x415.jpg)
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2014, 11:19:50 PM
Monaghan will take the beating here. They've a very strong side out.

Championship dress rehearsal. It could be tasty.
Post by: Sleater on March 14, 2014, 01:20:22 AM
Kieran Duffy has essentially lost his place in the team, but back for the Armagh game as Monaghan have left out all their U-21's for this game. Ryan Wylie, Pauric Keenan, Thomas Kerr, Conor Boyle sit it out.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 14, 2014, 10:35:07 AM
Quote from: Sleater on March 14, 2014, 01:20:22 AM
Kieran Duffy has essentially lost his place in the team, but back for the Armagh game as Monaghan have left out all their U-21's for this game. Ryan Wylie, Pauric Keenan, Thomas Kerr, Conor Boyle sit it out.

I'm not so sure. I reckon Duffy would still be pushing Ryan Wylie for a corner back spot. As stated above, it could a championship dress rehearsal. I take your point re the U21's but I think Duffy is there or there about.

How's the bench gonna look on Sat with the U21's absent from it, that's a concern surely?
Post by: Bingo on March 14, 2014, 10:43:29 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on March 14, 2014, 10:35:07 AM

I'm not so sure. I reckon Duffy would still be pushing Ryan Wylie for a corner back spot. As stated above, it could a championship dress rehearsal. I take your point re the U21's but I think Duffy is there or there about.

How's the bench gonna look on Sat with the U21's absent from it, that's a concern surely?

No problem on the bench for Saturday, it was released last night as well. Bit light on defenders with Conor Calligan and Karl O'Connell on it and Marty McElory can cover wing back. Then you've Dick Clerkin, Peter O'Hanlon, Chrissy McGuinness, Gollogy in reserve with Peter O'Hanlon and Owen Duffy back.

Plenty of experience there.
Post by: Orior on March 14, 2014, 10:56:01 AM
Anyone know if Chrissy McGuinness's dad is originally from Armagh?
Post by: Sleater on March 14, 2014, 03:06:33 PM

Kieran Duffy will be very lucky if he keeps his place come championship time. Ryan Wylie looks a dead cert for corner back this year. Fintan Kelly has improved from last year and is arguably higher up the pecking order than Kieran Duffy. Remember O'Rourke also huge time for Truagh's Paudie McKenna (though he's been unavailable due to Truagh's involvment in club competitions). I expect the likes of McKenna and Cremartin's Johnny McGuigan will get some NFL game time after the end of Monaghan's involvement in U-21 championship. Monaghan have plenty of options in attack and defence. It's in midfield we are short of viable alternatives. Also great to see Eoin Duffy back on the match day squad. He was such a key player last year during the NFL and unlucky to miss the entire championship run with that ankle injury.
Post by: Main Street on March 14, 2014, 03:45:00 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 14, 2014, 10:56:01 AM
Anyone know if Chrissy McGuinness's dad is originally from Armagh?
Christopher is a 3rd generation Ballybay Pearse Brother.
His granddad was the first.
Post by: Throw ball on March 14, 2014, 05:38:32 PM
Quote from: Bingo on March 14, 2014, 10:43:29 AM

No problem on the bench for Saturday, it was released last night as well. Bit light on defenders with Conor Calligan and Karl O'Connell on it and Marty McElory can cover wing back. Then you've Dick Clerkin, Peter O'Hanlon, Chrissy McGuinness, Gollogy in reserve with Peter O'Hanlon and Owen Duffy back.

If only we had some fit defenders.
Post by: JP on March 14, 2014, 08:38:45 PM

We're down to five fit defenders (3 of which have made their debut this year). If any more get injured we may have to borrow some.
Post by: babarino on March 14, 2014, 09:59:27 PM
Quote from: JP on March 14, 2014, 08:38:45 PM

We're down to five fit defenders (3 of which have made their debut this year). If any more get injured we may have to borrow some.

Bring your boots JP, just in case.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 15, 2014, 03:41:56 AM
Any links?

Post by: Maguire01 on March 15, 2014, 08:32:30 AM
(http://theecologist.net-genie.co.uk/siteimage/scale/0/0/181586.gif)
Post by: bogball88 on March 15, 2014, 10:34:16 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 11, 2014, 11:46:32 AM

I see man utd and Liverpool playing a at half one, would I still get the match on in the canal court T?
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 15, 2014, 11:08:15 AM
Would doubt very much that you would. I'd say they'll have the soccer on. Been in an few Saturday evenings and they only put the Gaelic on when the 5.30 soccer game is over.
Post by: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 12:06:21 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on March 15, 2014, 03:41:56 AM
Any links?
Hard to tell this early in the day, there are usually only a couple of options.
If Armagh decide not to save themselves and just give us the points, maybe this one
http://www.gofirstrow.eu/watch/247087/1/watch-gaa-football:-armagh-vs-monaghan-.html
or this one
http://www.wiziwig.tv/competition.php?competitionid=315&part=sports&discipline=other

Post by: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 07:26:13 PM
This is the only working stream I can find 
http://cricfree.tv/livepool-live-stream-ch12.php (http://cricfree.tv/livepool-live-stream-ch12.php)

Armagh have just scored a point after 24 minutes, there's hope yet.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 15, 2014, 07:32:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 07:26:13 PM
This is the only working stream I can find 
http://cricfree.tv/livepool-live-stream-ch12.php (http://cricfree.tv/livepool-live-stream-ch12.php)

Armagh have just scored a point after 24 minutes, there's hope yet.

THANKS!!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 15, 2014, 07:49:05 PM
Bad start by Armagh 9-0 down however good recovery have outscored Monaghan 6-1 since then.
Post by: Oraisteach on March 15, 2014, 07:55:21 PM
Funny how it goes that on a night set aside to honour the'77 team, we miss a penalty again.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on March 15, 2014, 08:17:56 PM
Monaghan 14 Armagh 10.  Andy Mallon sent off, second yellow
Post by: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 08:19:10 PM
It looked a bit harsh for Mallon to get a yellow card for that.
Post by: under the bar on March 15, 2014, 08:34:08 PM
Describing that Armagh team as dung would be an insult to fertilizer...
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 15, 2014, 08:35:56 PM
Sending off ended Armagh hopes. Can't expect to win any game if you go down 9-0 at the start.
Post by: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 08:40:21 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 15, 2014, 08:17:02 PM
Regardless of the final score you know your county team set up is a comedy show when you fall 9-0 down to Monaghan when playing at home....
Ye did well to keep the score so close in the end.
When we can only beat Armagh by 10 points,  we know it's time to  go back to the drawing board.
Post by: naka on March 15, 2014, 09:38:52 PM
Monaghans greater experience told in the end and were good value for the win, but jeez that ref was
Post by: Schkite on March 15, 2014, 09:45:14 PM
Strange sorta game. After doing so well to build up a commanding lead I thought we were going to throw it away again, especially when it was brought back to a point. Decent response to that and Mallon going off killed Armaghs comeback hopes.

McManus and McCarron continue to work well together scoring 0-13 between them, Beggan made a couple of good saves at important times, but the biggest positive of the night for me was the return of Darren Hughes and marking it with a goal.
Post by: JP on March 15, 2014, 09:46:53 PM
The ref was a gobshite. I hate niggly referees that are whistle happy, ruins the game as a spectacle.

Not that he made a difference Monaghan were far superior.

Armagh are right back in the relegation mix now. Has to be said we have been very unlucky with injures. Does getting two yellows carry a suspension for Andy Mallon? Is Shields going to be out for the Galway game as I assume he went off injured.

At the end of the game we had defenders on the pitch, Murray and Hughes, both of which made their debut this year. Will be tough going to Galway now in a game we will have to win.
Post by: Throw ball on March 15, 2014, 09:53:31 PM
Quote from: JP on March 15, 2014, 09:46:53 PM
The ref was a gobshite. I hate niggly referees that are whistle happy, ruins the game as a spectacle.

Not that he made a difference Monaghan were far superior.

Armagh are right back in the relegation mix now. Has to be said we have been very unlucky with injures. Does getting two yellows carry a suspension for Andy Mallon? Is Shields going to be out for the Galway game as I assume he went off injured.

At the end of the game we had defenders on the pitch, Murray and Hughes, both of which made their debut this year. Will be tough going to Galway now in a game we will have to win.

Seemingly radio Ulster said the referee looked 'inexperienced'.

Injuries are really crippling Armagh. Only 2 fit and available defenders at the end of the game it is hardly a surprise Monaghan pulled away. They are a hard nosed experienced team. Hope they go up now. Big game in Galway. Hopefully we have 15 players left fit!
Post by: Maguire01 on March 15, 2014, 10:02:59 PM
Good result, but poor of Monaghan to let Armagh back into the game like that. With the momentum and the crowd getting behind them I thought we were about to throw it away. 2 great saves from Beggan worth noting - I didn't see the reason for the penalty, was it clear cut? McManus and McCarron working well up front and a lovely point from the latter at the end, but there were a fair few sides there too, so far from perfect. Nice to see Darren Hughes back too - a great boost going into two important games.
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2014, 10:29:12 PM
It was a penalty alright.
Post by: Throw ball on March 15, 2014, 10:44:02 PM
For anyone watching on TV were Mallons two yellow cards justified?
Post by: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 11:17:41 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 15, 2014, 10:44:02 PM
I didn't see the first yellow, he got the the 2nd yellow for an outstretched arm making contact with the neck area of McManus who had turned him and was getting away. The contact looked innocuous but McManus was on the ground as if he was dragged back and in pain. Usually a player like him would go with the ball, once in the clear.

Post by: eriugaMS on March 15, 2014, 11:19:20 PM
Although betaen by double scores it does not tell the story of the Match.

The first 20 mins Armagh were not at the races. Defenders second to every ball and Monaghan finding space and much sharper.

In saying that during that time Armagh missed a peno and 2 great goal opportunities where a different bounce would have left the forward clear.... Soupy actually got the bounce but couldn't hold onto it.. In saying that the Monagahan goalie was excellent....

Am not greatly concerned as this was a big match for a lot of inexperinced players... A few of the backs are getting a run out whereas up until now they haven't and the experience will do no harm...... Shields looked great the last day and tonight seems to do a hamstring.... To think that by the end Caolan Raffterty was having to play full back and Brian Mallon centre half shows how depleted the squad is.

After 20 mins we cam alive and started to play - B Mallon made a big difference and we got back to within a point after the break and controlled the game for 20 mins. During this time we missed a number of clear pointing chances and Ethan a good goal chance ....

Tonight midfield was hot and cold but see a good partnership developing.... Great experience for both Ethan and stephen and they are putting in a bucketful of work and getting stuck in.

In forwards tonight showed that some of them are not there yet. Jamie has to get his sparkle back after his break. Caolan put in a good shift before moving back and made some great runs while employed at centre half. Soupie didn't fire like last week but lets not give up yet.

Brian Mallon seems to work much better as an impact sub

In all - by the scoreboard we were trounced -  but for a bit of luck, better finishing and a less cat ref we didn't perform as badly  as the score suggests... For the last 15 of the 1st half  and first 20  of the 2nd half we dominated IMVHO....... The first 20 minutes were terrible though.

Post by: Throw ball on March 15, 2014, 11:20:19 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 15, 2014, 11:17:41 PM
I didn't see the first yellow, he got the the 2nd yellow for an outstretched arm making contact with the neck area of McManus who had turned him and was getting away. The contact looked innocuous but McManus was on the ground as if he was dragged back and in pain. Usually a player like him would go with the ball, once in the clear.

Yes. In real time I thought second was a yellow. The first I thought he was fouled!
Post by: AFS on March 16, 2014, 01:32:46 AM
Disappointing result for Armagh alright, but not really a huge set back given the circumstances. Margin of victory flattered Monaghan, about half that would've been a more accurate reflection of things. Monaghan should get promoted, best team Armagh have played in the league to date. Good balance of experience and youth. Could do with cutting out some of the narky shit, though.

Thought we battled well to get it back to a point, but then a few things went against us over the next five or ten minutes. We lost Shields to injury and Mallon to a harsh red card, both of which forced further defensive patch up work. Monaghan also got a string of fairly handy frees from the dodgy ref during this period. Some of the subs introduced during the second half were pretty anonymous too, but given the injury list we couldn't do much better. Monaghan had a notably stronger bench to work with.

Murray, E Rafferty, C Rafferty and McVerry were decent for us. Clarke did well to win as much ball as he did with half of Monaghan hanging out of him. He could definitely do with being a bit cuter and looking at the way some of the Monaghan forwards were playing that sort of ref. Dyas' link play was missed, as was Rafferty's ball carrying when he was moved back.

Disappointed with McEvoy. Kick outs have always been a bit of a weakness there, but I had thought he was improving. Unfortunately, they were very poor tonight and he also could've done a bit better on the goal. If Geoghegan doesn't get a run out the next day then he may give up any hope.

Things are tightening up down at the bottom so we'll probably need to get something down in Galway. If we can take the field there with more than two fit defenders I'd be confident enough that we'll get the job done.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 16, 2014, 08:04:19 AM
I was directly opposite in the stand and to me it was a definite yellow - high and potentially dangerous tackle. I hadn't realised he was already booked.
Post by: Main Street on March 16, 2014, 12:11:33 PM
The unexpected margin of victory could well be handy for the points difference, should we be in serious contention for a top 2 finish.
But I wouldn't read too much into it.
Some concern in letting a big lead slip to just a single point. To let a game drift away totally after racking up such a lead, would have likely battered confidence and woken up that nagging susceptibility in future games.  But by the time Mallon was sent off, I think we had the game back firmly in our control, after some great defending where Dessie Mone was sprightly and impressive.

Also nice to keep adding to the team out on the pitch, with Doogan who missed out on most of 2013, Lennon impressing and Darren Hughes late on. Also McCarron, establishing himself in the team, someone of quality to take the pressure off  and focus away from McManus.

Post by: naka on March 16, 2014, 12:51:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 16, 2014, 08:04:19 AM
I was directly opposite in the stand and to me it was a definite yellow - high and potentially dangerous tackle. I hadn't realised he was already booked.

The second yellow was justified
The first was iffy but to be fair he had fouled a couple of Monaghan players at tgT stage and the ref could probably feel justified in giving it.
All in all ref was poor though
He booked Jamie who was getting hit cynically a few times yet seemed to give Monaghan a few handy frees .
Would say though that no 11 for Monaghan is a tasty player
Hits hard and can carry the ball well
A real asset to any team
Post by: Main Street on March 16, 2014, 02:06:57 PM
Nr11 is Jack McCarron, son of the great forward Ray McCarron.
One of those thoroughbred GAA  families. His sister is also a county footballer.
Post by: timmyot501 on March 16, 2014, 02:15:12 PM
Jack wore 14 last night main Street. Kieran hughes wore 11 and played quite well alright
Post by: Main Street on March 16, 2014, 03:28:25 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on March 16, 2014, 02:15:12 PM
Jack wore 14 last night main Street. Kieran hughes wore 11 and played quite well alright
My mistake.
Post by: borderfox on March 17, 2014, 11:01:21 AM
McManus is a fine footballer too. Monaghan are by far the best team Armagh have played in this league, You could see the confidence of winning Ulster last year has brought to the team.