Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eire90 on December 30, 2023, 04:25:24 PM

Title: 2024
Post by: Eire90 on December 30, 2023, 04:25:24 PM
A massive year politically with elections in some key areas

US Elections which could turn chaotic

Possible uk elections

Eu parliament elections

on the home front we got local elctions in ireland

on the sporting front we got the euros and olympics and will there be a new name on the sam magure cup or will it be dublin or kerry again.
Title: Re: 2024
Post by: seafoid on December 30, 2023, 06:44:14 PM
The Financial Times expects Trump to lose a very bad tempered election campaign with people voting to stop trump rather than support Biden
Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2023, 06:50:03 PM
Read a good opinion piece recently, jist of it was don't be surprised if Biden doesn't run. As awful as Trump is the Democrats have lost their way, I don't like Biden and think he's too old to run again. I've no idea who would step up, presumably not Harris whom I've heard nothing about in 3 years as VP
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 30, 2023, 06:51:21 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2023, 06:50:03 PMRead a good opinion piece recently, jist of it was don't be surprised if Biden doesn't run. As awful as Trump is the Democrats have lost their way, I don't like Biden and think he's too old to run again. I've no idea who would step up, presumably not Harris whom I've heard nothing about in 3 years as VP

VP's are generally anonymous
Post by: Eire90 on December 30, 2023, 07:06:22 PM
Is there a possibility of an irish general election in the autumn or early winter.
Post by: Blowitupref on December 31, 2023, 12:05:27 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on December 30, 2023, 07:06:22 PMIs there a possibility of an irish general election in the autumn or early winter.

Spring of 2025 at the earliest.
Post by: Brendan on December 31, 2023, 06:54:40 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on December 30, 2023, 04:25:24 PMA massive year politically with elections in some key areas

Possible uk elections

Eu parliament elections

on the sporting front we got the euros and olympics and will there be a new name on the sam magure cup or will it be dublin or kerry again.

Guaranteed uk election by December 2024, 5 years is up
Post by: Eire90 on December 31, 2023, 08:29:07 AM
The uk election can still take place in January 2025
Post by: Itchy on January 01, 2024, 09:07:54 AM
I'm hoping for a giant meteor to crash into Earth to bring this shitshow to an end. Happy new year.
Post by: Hound on January 01, 2024, 10:17:28 AM
I wish everyone who is working through health issues (for them or family) all the very best. And I wish solace for all those who have lost loved ones.

Otherwise life is for living. Economy / job is still going gangbusters, so have to make the most of it. Two holidays booked already, got to enjoy life while you can as things can turn very quickly and without warning. I had a big Covid related health scare, but pretty much clear now,  but wakes you up to this is our one chance. Kids are in Uni, working their asses off, but have so much opportunity out there for them. Mental health challenges to work through though.

Resolution is to eat healthier. Said to myself I am giving up crisps from today, so we'll see how long I can last.

Happy 2024 everyone

Post by: marty34 on January 01, 2024, 10:58:46 AM
Quote from: Hound on January 01, 2024, 10:17:28 AMI wish everyone who is working through health issues (for them or family) all the very best. And I wish solace for all those who have lost loved ones.

Otherwise life is for living. Economy / job is still going gangbusters, so have to make the most of it. Two holidays booked already, got to enjoy life while you can as things can turn very quickly and without warning. I had a big Covid related health scare, but pretty much clear now,  but wakes you up to this is our one chance. Kids are in Uni, working their asses off, but have so much opportunity out there for them. Mental health challenges to work through though.

Resolution is to eat healthier. Said to myself I am giving up crisps from today, so we'll see how long I can last.

Happy 2024 everyone

Good post Hound.
Post by: seafoid on January 01, 2024, 02:31:13 PM
Áthbhlian faoi mhaise to everyone especially people with depression. The intercounty season is revving up so may the best teams win. For everyone in the North I hope that Stormont reopens. Partition won't last forever. Good luck to whoever wins the Antrim hurling championship.  I hope the All Ireland is on.
Post by: Substandard on January 01, 2024, 02:53:18 PM
Still 2023 weather anyway.
Happy New Year to all.  Thanks for keeping a relative ignoramus informed (sometimes confused/ confounded!!) about goings on at home and abroad.
Thanks again, and all the best.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 01, 2024, 05:38:06 PM
Not great for those married to a red haired woman..

QuoteIf a red-haired girl is the first person to walk into your home after the clock has struck twelve, an old superstition says she will bring hardship for the New year. However, if it's a dark-haired man, you're in luck. A happy and prosperous year ahead is guaranteed.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 05:07:00 AM
Quote from: Hound on January 01, 2024, 10:17:28 AMI wish everyone who is working through health issues (for them or family) all the very best. And I wish solace for all those who have lost loved ones.

Happy 2024 everyone

Good man, Hound. I plan to lose a bit of weight myself, try to eat healthier. The days are gone when I could eat any old sh1te I liked and burn it all off. Our little ones are 2 and 4, so we're going to be in the thick of it for the next few years and it's hard at my age, but we're just about managing.

For my own mental health I've had to tune out the news. No point in worrying about a Trump re-election, there's not a big pile I can do about it. And the news coming out of that Gaza strip is too upsetting to watch, especially to those of us with children of our own.

On the plus side I'm concentrating on my career this year, and as side project I've got big plans for our hurling club and a good board working with me. We'll be hosting the USGAA finals too and I'm involved in the marketing side of that. I'm also trying to get another book published, so it'd be nice to see some progress on that this year. Some lads on here have been helping me out with my research for that, which is much appreciated. More on that later.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 02, 2024, 07:37:40 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 05:07:00 AM

Happy 2024 everyone

Good man, Hound. I plan to lose a bit of weight myself, try to eat healthier. The days are gone when I could eat any old sh1te I liked and burn it all off. Our little ones are 2 and 4, so we're going to be in the thick of it for the next few years and it's hard at my age, but we're just about managing.

For my own mental health I've had to tune out the news. No point in worrying about a Trump re-election, there's not a big pile I can do about it. And the news coming out of that Gaza strip is too upsetting to watch, especially to those of us with children of our own.

On the plus side I'm concentrating on my career this year, and as side project I've got big plans for our hurling club and a good board working with me. We'll be hosting the USGAA finals too and I'm involved in the marketing side of that. I'm also trying to get another book published, so it'd be nice to see some progress on that this year. Some lads on here have been helping me out with my research for that, which is much appreciated. More on that later.

losing weight and eating healthier is my resolution too. I drink too much coke/lucozade. Ive been sober for 8.5 years and have always given myself the out of "at least its not booze". That stops this year tho. I go to te gym a lot but the old saying "you cant out train a bad diet" is definitely true. Best of luck wit it hound and eamonn
Post by: seafoid on January 02, 2024, 08:45:57 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on December 30, 2023, 04:25:24 PMA massive year politically with elections in some key areas

Possible uk elections

Eu parliament elections

Ireland has local, European, 2 referendums, a mayoral election in Limerick and a possible GE in 2024.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 02, 2024, 10:31:22 AM
@52 (today) it's very difficult to get physically motivated at times, did a run yesterday, might do one today and get back at it for the year, covid closed my gym and I never really bothered after that.

I've half a stone to lose, that I put on over Xmas that's easy enough once back to work and normal dinners.

Tonto you'll never out train a bad diet as you said, small portions and stay away from the sugar filled drinks, that's your Achilles.

Head down again for work, trying to clear up any loans, pay off the credit card, not much on it in fairness, but needs sorting.

Son got engaged recently so that's going to hurt, will need to generate some money for that. One daughter still in college so that's ongoing lol, other needs a grown up job, she'll hopefully do that after she does Camp America in the summer!

Plenty of wee trips this year, no 'big' holidays planned so head down at work to generate the money for that!

I've been 'writing' a novel, absolutely no intentions on publishing it, but sort of hit a blank mid way, have decent ending but need to generate an interesting or fast paced part to build for the end.

Too young to look at the retire escape plan just yet and too many outgoings but have recently did a course that will be my retirement 'job' nothing taxing but will generate a decent top up

Drink... I don't drink during the week, and not near as much at the weekend as I used to, but looking to reduce that again.
Post by: toby47 on January 02, 2024, 11:41:25 AM
Wrote down a few targets for January myself.

No Drink (Had more in December than I had in the previous 6 months combined)
No takeaway food
Signed up to a 6 week fitness class (Stick at it)
Walk every day & 10k steps a day.
Read 3 books
Watch 3 films I haven't watched before
Drink 3lts of water a day
Leave phone in Kitchen at night (bad habit of laying on phone til i fall asleep)
And have set myself a weight target for 31st Jan - Lose 3KG.

Will see how well I've done by 31st Jan/1st Feb and take it from there.

Post by: marty34 on January 02, 2024, 11:49:32 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 02, 2024, 10:31:22 AM@52 (today) it's very difficult to get physically motivated at times, did a run yesterday, might do one today and get back at it for the year, covid closed my gym and I never really bothered after that.

I've half a stone to lose, that I put on over Xmas that's easy enough once back to work and normal dinners.

Tonto you'll never out train a bad diet as you said, small portions and stay away from the sugar filled drinks, that's your Achilles.

Head down again for work, trying to clear up any loans, pay off the credit card, not much on it in fairness, but needs sorting.

Son got engaged recently so that's going to hurt, will need to generate some money for that. One daughter still in college so that's ongoing lol, other needs a grown up job, she'll hopefully do that after she does Camp America in the summer!

Plenty of wee trips this year, no 'big' holidays planned so head down at work to generate the money for that!

I've been 'writing' a novel, absolutely no intentions on publishing it, but sort of hit a blank mid way, have decent ending but need to generate an interesting or fast paced part to build for the end.

Too young to look at the retire escape plan just yet and too many outgoings but have recently did a course that will be my retirement 'job' nothing taxing but will generate a decent top up

Drink... I don't drink during the week, and not near as much at the weekend as I used to, but looking to reduce that again.

Get it self-published MR2.

Not sure what the cost is though.
Post by: J70 on January 02, 2024, 12:33:10 PM
Need to lose about ten pounds I put back on myself. As others have said, diet is the key. I've a sweet tooth, but once I focus and get through the first week, I can usually shift the weight handily enough as I'm fairly active.

Dreading this year though. Living in the states, Trump is going to completely dominate everyday life, with a real possibility at the back end that he gets back in and unleashes who knows what for the country and the world.

Wake me up when it's over.
Post by: seafoid on January 02, 2024, 12:38:42 PM
Cutting out all sweet stuff, limiting portions, no carbs for breakfast, no takeaways, limiting alcohol and regular exercise and the weight falls off
Protein for breakfast keeps you going until lunchtime so no need for snacks in between.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2024, 12:42:53 PM
Some good targets there. I'm planning to make small incremental changes rather than the usual big statements (to myself!) that I'll lose 2 stone by <insert date>. As most lads have alluded too I plan to make the adjustments and hopefully that leads to the desired result. I've tried these intermittent fasting and 1600 calorie a day diets but I just don't have the willpower to stick at them. I can however cut out crap in the evenings especially and be more active and that should get some weight off, albeit at a slower pace than I'd like.

One thing I do need to do is help the wife more around the house. And get the kids to do it too. She comes from an "old school" farmhouse where the men did all the outside work and the women took care of the house. She has us totally spoilt and is wrecked so I need to do more. She spoils the kids too - if they come into the living room at 11pm saying "I'm starving", she'll get up at make them something to eat even if all they've been doing is sitting on the PS5. Or she'll ask me to make them something! I refuse to do it as they're teenage boys and not useless!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2024, 12:44:03 PM
Oh and Happy Birthday MR!
Post by: seafoid on January 02, 2024, 12:51:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2024, 12:42:53 PMSome good targets there. I'm planning to make small incremental changes rather than the usual big statements (to myself!) that I'll lose 2 stone by <insert date>. As most lads have alluded too I plan to make the adjustments and hopefully that leads to the desired result. I've tried these intermittent fasting and 1600 calorie a day diets but I just don't have the willpower to stick at them. I can however cut out crap in the evenings especially and be more active and that should get some weight off, albeit at a slower pace than I'd like.

One thing I do need to do is help the wife more around the house. And get the kids to do it too. She comes from an "old school" farmhouse where the men did all the outside work and the women took care of the house. She has us totally spoilt and is wrecked so I need to do more. She spoils the kids too - if they come into the living room at 11pm saying "I'm starving", she'll get up at make them something to eat even if all they've been doing is sitting on the PS5. Or she'll ask me to make them something! I refuse to do it as they're teenage boys and not useless!
It is better to have smaller targets over say a week and aim for those rather than a huge target that you just give up on. Its really about changing your routine and making sure you get enough of the right food. I always find going to fast food places leaves me hungry afterwards, for example.
Post by: Deerstalker on January 02, 2024, 01:24:24 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 02, 2024, 07:37:40 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 05:07:00 AM

Happy 2024 everyone

losing weight and eating healthier is my resolution too. I drink too much coke/lucozade. Ive been sober for 8.5 years and have always given myself the out of "at least its not booze". That stops this year tho. I go to te gym a lot but the old saying "you cant out train a bad diet" is definitely true. Best of luck wit it hound and eamonn

Yeah I drink too much of that shite too, never drank it for years but nearly at the stage I would crave it in the last 4/5 years, that and crisps my big downfall.
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2024, 02:20:02 PM
I was surprised at how much the weight can fall off. I visited the doctor at the end of August over an issue and he asked about lifestyle. He then took the measurements - weight, height, BP etc and showed me a chart....and ended up saying...there's your motivation. Since then, I'd porridge or yoghurt at 730am, soup at 1230pm and then a smallish enough dinner at 530pm. Nothing else passed lips beyond loads of water. No snacks whatsoever. After about 2/3 weeks of not reaching out for the crisps or the biscuit, you get used to it and the willpower isn't needed as much.

I combined this with running 4-5 times a week. Nothing big, 5k each time. Usually at 8pm. With all that, I fell from 14st 4 in late August to 12st 7 just before Christmas there. And it was as simple as that. No snacking. Have a few drinks at the weekend surely, you'll burn that off as long as you're not throwing nuts/crisps down your neck at the same time. I cut out the drink initially in Sept to give the early weight loss a chance. Haven't weighed myself now since Christmas so I'd imagine I've half a stone to lose as I relaxed everything. But that doesn't seem daunting anymore. The initial target was 12st 4 but 12/7 seems to be my level unless I tried something else but don't feel the need to.

In other news, I think fossil fuels will make a comeback in 2024.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 11:20:31 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 02, 2024, 11:49:32 AMGet it self-published MR2.

Didn't cost me anything when I did it. For print, they print on demand so you don't need to buy a big consignment and hope you can flog it. For Kindle, if you know HTML you can do it yourself, and if not then it shouldn't be hard to find someone who can do the formatting for you. I did it through Kindle Direct Publishing.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2024, 12:16:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 11:20:31 PM

Didn't cost me anything when I did it. For print, they print on demand so you don't need to buy a big consignment and hope you can flog it. For Kindle, if you know HTML you can do it yourself, and if not then it shouldn't be hard to find someone who can do the formatting for you. I did it through Kindle Direct Publishing.

It's purely for my eyes only lol!!

They say everyone has a book in them, this was born out of covid...

Plenty time on my hands and something to keep me busy

I wrote down some stuff from memory as a kid growing up. Funny (to me and those that were there) memories of the shit we got up to during turbulent times.

Having me read it is enough, I've about 55,000 words down, probably over half way, should get it finished by end of year, might let someone cast an eye over it for some critique, and 'adjust' it
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2024, 11:48:03 AM
Just to have it in writing somewhere but almost certain I have done this on this forum before.

Aims for 2024 -

1. Give more to Charity (time and financially)
2. Better diet - i tend to binge and in the evening im letal. dpn't eat too many takeaways or drink much.
3. More excerise - get back out to the soccer and dads and lads gaa - changed jobs in August and not been out since. Run a 5km.
4. Drop 20-25 kgs. 121kgs now. I tend to spend the year between 111-121kgs like a yo-yo. achieved through 2/3. Alot more than others are hoping for.
5. Will hopefully have a healthy new addition to the family this year so need to do more with the 3 year old and help out more around the house.
6. Continue to boycott and encourage others to boycott Israeli goods/services etc.
7. Get a weekend away with he wife and a family holiday before new arrival.

I think that's all very achievable, weight lost the most difficult, it's been 8 years since I was sub 100kg but spend most of my 20/30s around the 100 mark. I'm 6'3.

In terms of elections, hopefully more socialist/left leaning governments around the world.
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2024, 12:20:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2024, 12:16:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 11:20:31 PM

It's purely for my eyes only lol!!

They say everyone has a book in them, this was born out of covid...

Plenty time on my hands and something to keep me busy

I wrote down some stuff from memory as a kid growing up. Funny (to me and those that were there) memories of the shit we got up to during turbulent times.

Having me read it is enough, I've about 55,000 words down, probably over half way, should get it finished by end of year, might let someone cast an eye over it for some critique, and 'adjust' it

To have done that much is admirable. Fair play.
Post by: Eire90 on January 04, 2024, 07:07:12 PM
Rishi sunak says eleciton wont happen to 2nd half of 2024
Post by: armaghniac on January 04, 2024, 07:14:51 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 04, 2024, 07:07:12 PMRishi sunak says eleciton wont happen to 2nd half of 2024

Grand, he'll be in California for Christmas.
Post by: toby47 on January 08, 2024, 10:14:25 AM
How's all the new year stuff going 1 week in?

Dry January proving easy, or was it broke over the weekend?
Post by: tonto1888 on January 08, 2024, 11:24:00 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 08, 2024, 10:14:25 AMHow's all the new year stuff going 1 week in?

my dry "jan" going good so far. No coke or lucozade
Post by: God14 on January 08, 2024, 11:29:34 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 08, 2024, 10:14:25 AMHow's all the new year stuff going 1 week in?

Dry January still going good for me. I drink every weekend, so first hurdle passed. A few pangs for it, mild enough. Next weekend will be the tester.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2024, 11:45:30 AM
Quote from: God14 on January 08, 2024, 11:29:34 AM

Dry January still going good for me. I drink every weekend, so first hurdle passed. A few pangs for it, mild enough. Next weekend will be the tester.

Not a dry January,  just a drier one!  Pint of Guinness yesterday when out for Sunday dinner and that's been that. Heading away this weekend so will have pints but that will be it till the end of the month. 3 runs done in 7 days so that's more important to me!
Post by: Olly on January 09, 2024, 10:05:32 PM
You'd need to be careful with dry January too. I had a brother who went dry in January and then never went back on the drink ever again. He become crabbit and was no crack at all, especially at functions. He took up guitar and yoga and then reading books. The last I heard from him he was doing the camino on his own and wasn't getting many likes on Facebook.
Post by: armaghniac on January 09, 2024, 10:54:47 PM
Quote from: Olly on January 09, 2024, 10:05:32 PMYou'd need to be careful with dry January too. I had a brother who went dry in January and then never went back on the drink ever again. He become crabbit and was no crack at all, especially at functions. He took up guitar and yoga and then reading books. The last I heard from him he was doing the camino on his own and wasn't getting many likes on Facebook.

I'm glad to hear that you are well Olly, your lack of diarrhea was not obvious from your posts. 
Post by: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 09:30:41 AM
Blue Monday.

2nd weekend of dry January complete (1st weekend was easy, this weekend wasn't easy..temptations were there Saturday) Feel far better for it this morning, up this morning for a 5k walk before work. Haven't been weighing myself but feel like a few pounds off.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 11:31:59 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 09:30:41 AMBlue Monday.

2nd weekend of dry January complete (1st weekend was easy, this weekend wasn't easy..temptations were there Saturday) Feel far better for it this morning, up this morning for a 5k walk before work. Haven't been weighing myself but feel like a few pounds off.

Should feel it in the waist of your trousers, I never weigh, it should be how you fit into your clothes, or how you feel when you wake and your skin complexion. There are so many ways to gauge a better diet and no drink!

I'm on wet January and loving it lol!

Too many things in Jan for me to go off it, but happy with not drinking during the week, trying to change my diet to more veg and possibly plant based meals

Wife watched this thing on Netflix, You are what you eat the twin experiment. All the stuff you know but changing those habits is the difficulty   
Post by: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 11:36:15 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 11:31:59 AM

Should feel it in the waist of your trousers, I never weigh, it should be how you fit into your clothes, or how you feel when you wake and your skin complexion. There are so many ways to gauge a better diet and no drink!

Too many things in Jan for me to go off it, but happy with not drinking during the week, trying to change my diet to more veg and possibly plant based meals

Wife watched this thing on Netflix, You are what you eat the twin experiment. All the stuff you know but changing those habits is the difficulty   

Yeah I notice it in the waist first, and the work shirts don't cling to the gut as much.

That's why I attempted dry Jan, because I haven't one event in January..so thought it was possible. Loads coming up Feb & March..so a break would be good.
Post by: God14 on January 22, 2024, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 11:36:15 AM

Yeah I notice it in the waist first, and the work shirts don't cling to the gut as much.

That's why I attempted dry Jan, because I haven't one event in January..so thought it was possible. Loads coming up Feb & March..so a break would be good.

Dry January still going strong for me. The pangs for beer were not half as strong as the previous two weekends. Not sure if ive lost weight, ive replaced lager & stout with other snacks and stuff
But more than happy, as i would class myself as a problem drinker
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2024, 01:37:19 PM
Quote from: God14 on January 22, 2024, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: toby47 on January 15, 2024, 11:36:15 AM

Dry January still going strong for me. The pangs for beer were not half as strong as the previous two weekends. Not sure if ive lost weight, ive replaced lager & stout with other snacks and stuff
But more than happy, as i would class myself as a problem drinker
If you do start to struggle try a non-alcoholic alternative. You'll hit part of that pang by having a beer in hand.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 31, 2024, 09:29:59 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2024, 11:48:03 AMJust to have it in writing somewhere but almost certain I have done this on this forum before.

Aims for 2024 -

2. Better diet - i tend to binge and in the evening im letal. dpn't eat too many takeaways or drink much.
3. More excerise - get back out to the soccer and dads and lads gaa - changed jobs in August and not been out since. Run a 5km.
4. Drop 20-25 kgs. 121kgs now. I tend to spend the year between 111-121kgs like a yo-yo. achieved through 2/3. Alot more than others are hoping for.
5. Will hopefully have a healthy new addition to the family this year so need to do more with the 3 year old and help out more around the house.
6. Continue to boycott and encourage others to boycott Israeli goods/services etc.

I think that's all very achievable, weight lost the most difficult, it's been 8 years since I was sub 100kg but spend most of my 20/30s around the 100 mark. I'm 6'3.

In terms of elections, hopefully more socialist/left leaning governments around the world.

Hope everyone is doing well. I think I'm not doing too bad. End of the first month update.

1. Regular donation to MSF setup and setting one up for UNRWA. Havent done anything on the time piece yet.
2. Don't think I could have been more disciplined. No eating after 19.30, and happy with the healthier foods and don't miss the crisps etc.
3. failed miserably here, pretty much no exercise done bar maybe 4/5 walks.
4. down 7.5kgs, if I do half that in Feb I'll be happy.
5. Feel I'm doing more, must check with the wife, probably could do more.
6. continue to do this.
7. Away this weekend with the wife and family holiday booked for May.

Overall, mostly positive, ticked a few items completely off, i need to fit in excerise by the next update!, will help with 4 also.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 31, 2024, 09:41:40 AM
I think the helping around the house more when there are young kids will cement a better relationship with the missus, this is speaking from experience as I generally did the kitchen and iron my own clothes and did the washes, plus all the general man stuff, garden, fixing things and putting the bins out.

All that said, it is nowhere near enough looking back and its the easiest thing to fix but just lazy.

The other thing looking back if I could do it again, would be more activities with the kids, I had the Tuesday night at the pool, did that for about 10 years every week, without fail, that was about it, I took them the odd time to the other stuff or picked them up, I'd one school pick up on a Friday and took to park after school.

Wife just did a hell of a lot more (albeit when they were primary she was on a 3 day week, I let her know that the odd time  ;)  )

I think I'm lazier now around the house with the kids gone! I just cook and clean the kitchen, along with the 'man' jobs

No hovering or the 'deep' cleans, I'm a tidy up person lol!

So get stuck in and life will be a lot easier for both!
Post by: tonto1888 on January 31, 2024, 10:13:20 AM
so far so good. No coke or lucozade and down a couple kilos. Heading into Feb I want to look at the rest of my snacking and concentrate on the crisps and chocolate. Hopefully drop another couple of kilos. Gym goals are on the way to being achieved though it is a marathon, not a sprint there
Post by: Deerstalker on January 31, 2024, 10:16:25 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 31, 2024, 10:13:20 AMso far so good. No coke or lucozade and down a couple kilos. Heading into Feb I want to look at the rest of my snacking and concentrate on the crisps and chocolate. Hopefully drop another couple of kilos. Gym goals are on the way to being achieved though it is a marathon, not a sprint there

Obviously Lucozade does you no favours with the sugar content but Coke Zero or Diet Coke every now and again no harm surely ?
Post by: tonto1888 on January 31, 2024, 10:18:28 AM
Quote from: Deerstalker on January 31, 2024, 10:16:25 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 31, 2024, 10:13:20 AMso far so good. No coke or lucozade and down a couple kilos. Heading into Feb I want to look at the rest of my snacking and concentrate on the crisps and chocolate. Hopefully drop another couple of kilos. Gym goals are on the way to being achieved though it is a marathon, not a sprint there

Obviously Lucozade does you no favours with the sugar content but Coke Zero or Diet Coke every now and again no harm surely ?

Tried that in the past and it starts ok but leads me back to full fat coke so for me, its best to avoid fully
Post by: johnnycool on January 31, 2024, 10:29:59 AM

I'll try to find the article but these Zero products whilst having no sugar are full off artificial sweeteners which your body struggles to digest and aren't much better if at all than the full sugar ones.

Post by: trueblue1234 on January 31, 2024, 11:01:21 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 31, 2024, 10:29:59 AM

I'll try to find the article but these Zero products whilst having no sugar are full off artificial sweeteners which your body struggles to digest and aren't much better if at all than the full sugar ones.

I'd be interested in reading that. I've read a few articles both for and against the zero sugar drinks. It's gotten to the stage were you don't know what to believe!
Post by: NAG1 on January 31, 2024, 04:06:31 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 31, 2024, 11:01:21 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 31, 2024, 10:29:59 AM

I'd be interested in reading that. I've read a few articles both for and against the zero sugar drinks. It's gotten to the stage were you don't know what to believe!

It's like everything in this life, everything in moderation.

If you enjoy it then why deny yourself it, as long as you are balancing it out.

Increase the level of exercise it will benefit physical and sometimes more importantly our mental state.

Post by: Armagh18 on January 31, 2024, 04:26:18 PM
Anything I've ever read would hugely back taking 0 cal fizzy drinks- obviously 10 tins a day wouldn't be great but one or two would do no harm.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 29, 2024, 10:03:03 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on January 31, 2024, 09:29:59 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on January 03, 2024, 11:48:03 AMJust to have it in writing somewhere but almost certain I have done this on this forum before.

Aims for 2024 -

Hope everyone is doing well. I think I'm not doing too bad. End of the first month update.

1. Regular donation to MSF setup and setting one up for UNRWA. Havent done anything on the time piece yet.
2. Don't think I could have been more disciplined. No eating after 19.30, and happy with the healthier foods and don't miss the crisps etc.
6. continue to do this.

Overall, mostly positive, ticked a few items completely off, i need to fit in excerise by the next update!, will help with 4 also.

End of the 2nd month update.

So far down 12.5kgs, down another 5kgs. Mostly diet, but wasnt as restrictive as Jan but have got out for more walks, a round of golf and a few games of astro but going to really step up exercise this month.

This is the point where I usually regress or give up and fall back into bad eating and no exercise... hopefully stay the course this time. ST aim is more excerise and another 3.5kgs lost this month.
Post by: JoG2 on February 29, 2024, 10:24:37 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 29, 2024, 10:03:03 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on January 31, 2024, 09:29:59 AM

Aims for 2024 -

6. continue to do this.

End of the 2nd month update.

So far down 12.5kgs, down another 5kgs. Mostly diet, but wasnt as restrictive as Jan but have got out for more walks, a round of golf and a few games of astro but going to really step up exercise this month.

This is the point where I usually regress or give up and fall back into bad eating and no exercise... hopefully stay the course this time. ST aim is more excerise and another 3.5kgs lost this month.

Very good PHP. I'm down 6kgs from 92 to 86kgs. 6 foot
15k steps a day with the dogs (I try and squeeze in 100 lunges when out dog walking, when there's no one else about, it prob looks a bit like a Monty Python sketch :)) and 3 x weight sessions at the gym.
Nned to try and squeeze in a 5k or 2 a week. Will get out on the bike more in the weeks ahead.

The big difference is the food shopping. I've been getting a lean meat pack from the local butchers for the week ahead every Monday morning, covers us all for less the £20 (supermarket you wouldn't get it for £30). I've the meals planned for the week, no messing around each day. (takeaway Sat). No snacking at all during the week. A crisp hasn't touched my lips this year... Those fcukers aren't good for you, each crisp deep fried!

Feeling sharp
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 29, 2024, 11:59:23 AM
I've cut out crisps, cheese and white bread, diet is better now but need to get the excerise going, don't feel sharp and realise how unhealthy I was now given I've lost 12kgs and still feel feel overweight and unhealthy. Its a marathon...
Post by: tonto1888 on February 29, 2024, 03:49:18 PM
Good man PHP. I am still working on my diet though I am still off fizzy and energy drinks. Added chocolate for lent but grazing is a big issue
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 29, 2024, 07:37:57 PM
That great weight loss to be honest.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on April 02, 2024, 10:02:46 AM
Well not a great month, up 2kgs, once I let the genie out of the bottle and started to eat some bread, crisps, etc. and then it snowballed.

Exercise wise, I am doing more but not enough.

April is a new month. Need to get the January disciple back (and weight lose).
Post by: theskull1 on April 02, 2024, 10:29:50 AM
Rule 1 for anyone carrying too much timber

You cannot out train a bad diet

Post by: tonto1888 on April 02, 2024, 05:02:23 PM
Lent was good for me. Dropped 4kg. Who knew Mars bars for breakfast weren't good eh haha
Post by: toby47 on April 02, 2024, 05:09:32 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on April 02, 2024, 10:02:46 AMWell not a great month, up 2kgs, once I let the genie out of the bottle and started to eat some bread, crisps, etc. and then it snowballed.

Exercise wise, I am doing more but not enough.

April is a new month. Need to get the January disciple back (and weight lose).

Still down 10kg overall this year?

Goodman, reset & go again!