Running

Started by ONeill, June 09, 2009, 09:11:04 PM

An Gaeilgoir

Well done all, i knocked 41 minutes off my previous PB...felt really strong for the entire thing. Ran a reverse race, I was 10 minutes quicker over the second half...roll on 2017.

Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on October 31, 2016, 11:36:51 AM
Well done all, i knocked 41 minutes off my previous PB...felt really strong for the entire thing. Ran a reverse race, I was 10 minutes quicker over the second half...roll on 2017.
Great going. Fair play

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 31, 2016, 10:57:08 AM
Was it mainly dehydration??

Well done all.

I'm putting it down to that anyway. My runs up to this point have been building up well.

Any of the rest of ye see this guy yesterday? I passed him around 12 miles and he looked fecked at that stage. He got to the finish though.
https://www.balls.ie/fitness-lifestyle/the-story-of-eiffel-tower-dublin-marathon/350293

All this marathon talk has me looking/thinking about doing the Amsterdam marathon next October...

Anybody do it before??

registration on the 7th of next month

Fair play to all the runners yesterday.

el_cuervo_fc especially. That sounds scary though.

How did Heffo get on?

Quote from: laoislad on October 31, 2016, 02:43:06 PM
Any of the rest of ye see this guy yesterday? I passed him around 12 miles and he looked fecked at that stage. He got to the finish though.
https://www.balls.ie/fitness-lifestyle/the-story-of-eiffel-tower-dublin-marathon/350293

Passed him in the park and he was struggling even then. Bloody tough enough without doin something like that.

What happens if you trained for a marathon and took a chest infection the weekend of it? Just run the bollocks out of it?

Well done everyone on finishing.

Didn't happen for me yesterday at all - got a bad shoulder strain from mile 10 on, it was mildly sore all week and turned into agony for the rest of the race. Got it massaged a few times and sprayed etc.

Came in around 4:15ish, was hoping for 3:50 - can't explain it and didn't enjoy it at all, was strongly thinking of turning right at the Walkinstown roundabout only I had to get a flight and my phone, keys and wallet were in the bag drop.

Quote from: heffo on October 31, 2016, 08:50:35 PM
Well done everyone on finishing.

Didn't happen for me yesterday at all - got a bad shoulder strain from mile 10 on, it was mildly sore all week and turned into agony for the rest of the race. Got it massaged a few times and sprayed etc.

Came in around 4:15ish, was hoping for 3:50 - can't explain it and didn't enjoy it at all, was strongly thinking of turning right at the Walkinstown roundabout only I had to get a flight and my phone, keys and wallet were in the bag drop.

Disappointing after all that training, but still 4:15 while injured!

5th metatarsal clean break today. Anyone had this and how long was the recovery?

Quote from: ONeill on November 11, 2016, 10:56:01 PM
5th metatarsal clean break today. Anyone had this and how long was the recovery?

Running from the inspectors??

Haha! No need to take time off....moonboot on.

Quote from: ONeill on November 11, 2016, 11:01:35 PM
Haha! No need to take time off....moonboot on.

Dedicated!

Anyone on here able to recommend a good book about running? In terms of technique / motivation