Running

Started by ONeill, June 09, 2009, 09:11:04 PM

Quote from: charlieTully on March 07, 2015, 10:09:18 PM
carlingford half marathon done this morning in 1.58, delighted to get under 2 hours, thanks for all the advice.

Good man, you stick with pacers?

charlieTully

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 08, 2015, 09:58:22 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on March 07, 2015, 10:09:18 PM
carlingford half marathon done this morning in 1.58, delighted to get under 2 hours, thanks for all the advice.

Good man, you stick with pacers?

Thanks everyone. There was no pacers. Well not that i saw anyway. I just took it easy enough at the start as you all advised. Few hills in the first five miles but grand after that. There was a nice downhill to the sea then along the coast with the wind at your back so pushed it on as best I could. Knowing the 2 hours was realistic gave me great encouragement. The last couple of miles were hard but great buzz finishing. Hard to beat.

CD

Lads and ladies, anyone doing Cara Bundoran run next weekend? Did the distance this morning so going to give it a rattle.
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Mark English just won silver at the European Indoors in the 800m.

Fair play to him!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/athletics/2015/0308/685458-live-european-indoor-championships/

Video, looks like he left himself too much to do to my untrained eye. Did well to get silver in the end.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsrcmmA7XDA

Savage performance...never in contention for a gold with the form of the polish lad...

Quote from: ballinaman on March 08, 2015, 03:05:34 PM
Savage performance...never in contention for a gold with the form of the polish lad...

Still very young too so hopefully we'll see a few golds from him at this level at least. Disappointed ciara mageean wasn't at the games. She has the potential to do big things so hopefully injuries don't curb this. It's  every so often you get an irish athlete who's genuine world class and in these two i think we have that.

Our best male runner is English and our best female runner is Britton.

Mageean has the potential to make a bigger impact than britton. She's had some big runs in america beating world class athletes. Britton could make an impact on the marathon - hopefully - but unfortunately seems a bit short in the pace stakes to be threatening for medals. (Track that is. Obviously she has done great in xc)

Anyone know anything about Mary Cullen's form? She ran a brilliant road race in Raheny the back end of last year and seemed to be talking of Europen Cross Country which is end of this month.I think. 

New world record at 200m for the M95 (95 years and older) category:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qB9aTP4bFf0

To put that into perspective, that is at a little over 23 min pace for the 5k, which is better than me at the moment. Some going for a 95 year old.

That's just class.

This is crazy
http://www.the42.ie/visually-impaired-runner-womens-mini-marathon-1986440-Mar2015/

QuoteQuote:
SINEAD KANE, WHO has just 5% vision in both eyes, has been told she cannot take part in this year's Women's Mini Marathon because her guide is a man..

Quote from: laoislad on March 12, 2015, 10:38:29 AM
This is crazy
http://www.the42.ie/visually-impaired-runner-womens-mini-marathon-1986440-Mar2015/

QuoteQuote:
SINEAD KANE, WHO has just 5% vision in both eyes, has been told she cannot take part in this year's Women's Mini Marathon because her guide is a man..

They have since changed their mind and she can run with her male guide. Common sense.

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 08, 2015, 08:49:58 PM
Mageean has the potential to make a bigger impact than britton. She's had some big runs in america beating world class athletes. Britton could make an impact on the marathon - hopefully - but unfortunately seems a bit short in the pace stakes to be threatening for medals. (Track that is. Obviously she has done great in xc)

Ciara has bolloxed her Achilles again it seems, she's had no luck with injuries over the last two years or so!