Running

Started by ONeill, June 09, 2009, 09:11:04 PM

Quote from: Hotshot Hamish on May 30, 2014, 12:58:15 PM
I see a few pages back people talking about heart rate monitors.
Lidl have a heart rate watch and chest strap on sale for €20 next week.  I wonder would it be any good.

What day is that?

Hotshot Hamish

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 30, 2014, 01:00:02 PM
Lidl have a heart rate watch and chest strap on sale for €20 next week.  I wonder would it be any good.

What day is that?
Thursday 5th June.

I got one last year and found it great for training . It's very basic but it does what it says on the tin. 

Quote from: Hotshot Hamish on May 30, 2014, 01:01:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 30, 2014, 01:00:02 PM

What day is that?
Thursday 5th June.

Thanks HH.

Muppet I see you've changed your goal for the year. Some going to what you originally posted.
Now you are hoping to finish a half marathon. Fair play.

Quote from: muppet on January 29, 2014, 05:58:58 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on January 29, 2014, 11:03:03 AM
Don't forget Muppet.

Put me into division 4.

Goal - 5K sub 25 mins  ::)

Quote from: laoislad on June 01, 2014, 10:50:06 AM
Muppet I see you've changed your goal for the year. Some going to what you originally posted.

Don't forget Muppet.

Put me into division 4.

I am thinking of running in this: http://www.runclontarf.com

It advertises itself as Ireland's flattest half marathon. I will probably do the 5 miles again but I might try the longer one if I have a good June.

Quote from: muppet on June 01, 2014, 02:20:53 PM

Don't forget Muppet.

Put me into division 4.

It advertises itself as Ireland's flattest half marathon. I will probably do the 5 miles again but I might try the longer one if I have a good June.

That looks tempting alright. Might target that myself.

I have Ballycastle  10 k  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ballycastle-10k-coastal-challenge/217670425055572 the weekend before and it s a real holeopener. A week should be good enough to recover though :-\

Managed 3 miles in 20 minutes there, came up a bit short on the 5K goal but was happy enough. Will target Victoria park soon for my sub 20

Quote from: moysider on June 01, 2014, 03:55:47 PM

Don't forget Muppet.

Put me into division 4.

I have Ballycastle  10 k  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ballycastle-10k-coastal-challenge/217670425055572 the weekend before and it s a real holeopener. A week should be good enough to recover though :-\

That looks like a tough hill to finish with.

Quote from: muppet on June 01, 2014, 04:51:16 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 01, 2014, 03:55:47 PM

Don't forget Muppet.

Put me into division 4.

That looks like a tough hill to finish with.

Yeah. And a 3K+ climb to half way! They don t call it a challenge for nothing. Great buzz though. Ran the route in training on Thursday and really enjoyed it but it s not for a pb though. Lovely coastal scenery, Downpatrick Head and Dún Briste.

Just entered Clontarf half. That ll get me off my hole now. Achill is on the same day but I don t fancy more hills and I d be hoping for a pb on a flat half.

Hammered my 10k pb tonight. Knocked over two minutes off it, 56:25. Feckin delighted with that.

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 01, 2014, 11:55:34 PM
Hammered my 10k pb tonight. Knocked over two minutes off it, 56:25. Feckin delighted with that.

2 mins is some going, minutes are dropping off all over the show.

I was at the Runher charity race on Sunday at Stormont, there was 2 races, wife and two kids did the first 5k and there must have been well over 1500 people doing it, some runners joggers and walkers and it was a great event which can only spur on people to take it up full time, my eldest daughter (13) finished in 24 minutes which I was chuffed considering she avoids running, so potential there.

The fastest runner finished in 17 minutes and as anyone who knows Stormont estate there is a nasty hill so that was a decent time......

Well done Seanie. It is a great feeling when you do something like that. You will be chomping at the bit to get out again.

CD

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 02, 2014, 10:47:38 AM

2 mins is some going, minutes are dropping off all over the show.

I was at the Runher charity race on Sunday at Stormont, there was 2 races, wife and two kids did the first 5k and there must have been well over 1500 people doing it, some runners joggers and walkers and it was a great event which can only spur on people to take it up full time, my eldest daughter (13) finished in 24 minutes which I was chuffed considering she avoids running, so potential there.

The fastest runner finished in 17 minutes and as anyone who knows Stormont estate there is a nasty hill so that was a decent time......

Mrs CD did the Race for Life there on Sunday morning - not bad going for a girl who had a baby 4 months ago! It was the biggest crowd I can recall doing it and I think it was going in the afternoon as well.

The fastest girls were in on 19 minutes  - good going as there were two bottlenecks where they had to walk and the second part of that hill (just when you think you'ver reached the top there's the bit up around the side to do!) is a real killer!

Still struggling with injury myself. Going to jog an 8km this evening just to see how the glute is. The back pain has resided but the muscle is raw - had 9 days rest on it. Looks like I'll just have to settle for the Lisburn 10km and jog it - don't have a run in me.

Going to do the Bridges run MR - you do that one?
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

CD

Fantastic running - no better feeling!
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!