Running

Started by ONeill, June 09, 2009, 09:11:04 PM

CD

Quote from: magpie seanie on April 22, 2014, 10:24:49 PM
Quote from: CD on April 22, 2014, 08:49:35 PM
Ran the  Carney Co Sligo 10k on Monday. Finished in 46mins and really struggled! About a third of it seemed to be uphill! Enjoyed it all the same and will put my capitulation from 6-9k down to experience. Anyone recommend a 10k  each month until Oct? Would love to go under 44mins. Just need a bit of know how.

That course is tough. Some nasty hills alright. I had it pencilled in to do but with being sick for a few weeks I knew it was pointless.Was chatting a girl at work who did it and it took her 2+ mins more than the Cara 10k.
I found it really hard going. Was over 20 seconds slower than my last 10k and had to work way harder. It was very warm and windy which took it out of me. Would recommend it though - nice run. Did your work colleague comment on the chip times? It started on a narrow road and it took me 20 seconds + to cross start but this wasn't taken off. Only finishing times appear to have been recorded.
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Quote from: CD on April 23, 2014, 08:41:56 PM
Ran the  Carney Co Sligo 10k on Monday. Finished in 46mins and really struggled! About a third of it seemed to be uphill! Enjoyed it all the same and will put my capitulation from 6-9k down to experience. Anyone recommend a 10k  each month until Oct? Would love to go under 44mins. Just need a bit of know how.

That course is tough. Some nasty hills alright. I had it pencilled in to do but with being sick for a few weeks I knew it was pointless.Was chatting a girl at work who did it and it took her 2+ mins more than the Cara 10k.
I found it really hard going. Was over 20 seconds slower than my last 10k and had to work way harder. It was very warm and windy which took it out of me. Would recommend it though - nice run. Did your work colleague comment on the chip times? It started on a narrow road and it took me 20 seconds + to cross start but this wasn't taken off. Only finishing times appear to have been recorded.

That has happened me in any chip timed race I have been in. It's only a matter of seconds but still - it should be done correctly when it's obviously being paid for. I'll ask my colleague how it worked out for her.

Beautiful scenery around there alright, must try and do it next year.

Fair play, a target of 44 mins for 10k is astonishing to me. I have great admiration for anyone who can perform to a level like that.

Quote from: muppet on April 24, 2014, 12:00:20 AM

Fair play, a target of 44 mins for 10k is astonishing to me. I have great admiration for anyone who can perform to a level like that.

I know how you feel muppet. Would be of a similar standard to yourself. Averaging just under the hour for 10k, but struggling to kick on due to niggling injuries. I have flat feet and am now using orthotics, seeing physio etc.

44min 10k is the stuff of dreams!

CD

Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 24, 2014, 02:50:42 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 24, 2014, 12:00:20 AM

I know how you feel muppet. Would be of a similar standard to yourself. Averaging just under the hour for 10k, but struggling to kick on due to niggling injuries. I have flat feet and am now using orthotics, seeing physio etc.

44min 10k is the stuff of dreams!

My first one was over 55 minutes lads. That was 5 years ago when I was much fitter and not turning 40! I've only started taking running relatively seriously since Oct. Up until then I was going out for runs once or twice a week without any serious intent at getting better. The big change for me came when I started Parkrun in November. The wee bit of competition seems to get the best out of me. I started at around 25 mins and have got it to under 21 recently. Every one I do I learn a wee bit about how to approach it, how quick to start, when to consolidate, when to kick. I'm just pushing myself a bit harder and not having a huge Chinese and glass of wine the night before! I also bought myself a watch with a lap timer which helps me to focus on how I'm performing - my first watch!!
I have flat feet as well and found the orthotics helpful. I'm also recovering from ACL and need another cartilage clean although I've put that off as the knee feels ok at the moment. I reckon I have another 2-3 years of running before I have to buy myself a bike!!
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

It is seriously just about doing the right training. Everyone will have their own limitations granted but if you do the right training you can see massive gains in the running. The heart rate stuff is a good start. Once you've used that to get you fit then tempos / long runs / strnegth on hills etc etc can give you massive gains.

I've seen 50-55 minute 10k guys go down to sub 40. It is possible though I would recommend taking it steady rather than big bang and stretching and even "core" work are very beneficial for fighting the injuries.

Just getting round to a bit of a report on how Monday went. I'd probably put it down in the top 2 races Ive ever ran in terms of performance all things considering. In severe trouble from about 8 miles into the race, had 4 touch and go moments where I had to go almost to a walking pace with the leg, if hadn't subsided i would have definitely have had to stop.
The buses to Hopkinton were incredible, 600 yellow school buses on the freeway as far as the eye could see, police escort the whole way..people hanging out of their apartments waving...unbelievable.
The organisation in the athletes village was class, 36,000 runners and didn't seem it.
Started down the back in wave 4...wave 1 went at 10am and 4 at 11.30, an extra hour and half of heat to deal with too. There were people walking a mile into the race, it was seriously conjested, had to go up on footpaths a few times. The crowds were sensational, it was like something out of the Tour De France.
I basically had to run on my right heel and then roll onto the side of my foot to try and bypass the calf. The left leg had to do all the driving, couldn't generate any power off the right. The left hamstring was in bits from about halfway.
I was running with a guy hoping to do 3.30 but he started to suffer with the heat around 16 miles and told me to go ahead. I was chewing the neurophen at this stage, think i took about 6 during the race.
Once i got to 18 i knew the leg was gonna hold so thought fcuk it, lets try and go as fast as you can. Started moving through the field big time by the time i got to heartbreak hill. Mentally i was wrecked at this stage, concentrating on how to run on the right foot, my running style looked shocking i say.
At 19 miles I came up on Team Hoyte, Dick pushing his disabled son Rick for the last time in a marathon. He's a inspirational guy and I said it was an honour to share the road with them, he thanked me and I pushed on. Came up on a Blaney rockets vest in Brookline with about 2 to go, i mentioned Bingo and he knew him surely. Crowds were getting deep at this stage. Had enough of it then, the left hamstring was screaming was came up by Fenway park. Turned onto the home straight and blessed myself as went by the bomb site and got over the line, job done.
Unreal day and I would rate it higher than going sub 3 personally. Leg fairly fooked now though, 4 weeks minimum I'll be out i reckon by was worth the risk.

Quote from: ballinaman on April 25, 2014, 01:25:35 PM
Just getting round to a bit of a report on how Monday went. I'd probably put it down in the top 2 races Ive ever ran in terms of performance all things considering. In severe trouble from about 8 miles into the race, had 4 touch and go moments where I had to go almost to a walking pace with the leg, if hadn't subsided i would have definitely have had to stop.
The buses to Hopkinton were incredible, 600 yellow school buses on the freeway as far as the eye could see, police escort the whole way..people hanging out of their apartments waving...unbelievable.
The organisation in the athletes village was class, 36,000 runners and didn't seem it.
Started down the back in wave 4...wave 1 went at 10am and 4 at 11.30, an extra hour and half of heat to deal with too. There were people walking a mile into the race, it was seriously conjested, had to go up on footpaths a few times. The crowds were sensational, it was like something out of the Tour De France.
I basically had to run on my right heel and then roll onto the side of my foot to try and bypass the calf. The left leg had to do all the driving, couldn't generate any power off the right. The left hamstring was in bits from about halfway.
I was running with a guy hoping to do 3.30 but he started to suffer with the heat around 16 miles and told me to go ahead. I was chewing the neurophen at this stage, think i took about 6 during the race.
Once i got to 18 i knew the leg was gonna hold so thought fcuk it, lets try and go as fast as you can. Started moving through the field big time by the time i got to heartbreak hill. Mentally i was wrecked at this stage, concentrating on how to run on the right foot, my running style looked shocking i say.
At 19 miles I came up on Team Hoyte, Dick pushing his disabled son Rick for the last time in a marathon. He's a inspirational guy and I said it was an honour to share the road with them, he thanked me and I pushed on. Came up on a Blaney rockets vest in Brookline with about 2 to go, i mentioned Bingo and he knew him surely. Crowds were getting deep at this stage. Had enough of it then, the left hamstring was screaming was came up by Fenway park. Turned onto the home straight and blessed myself as went by the bomb site and got over the line, job done.
Unreal day and I would rate it higher than going sub 3 personally. Leg fairly fooked now though, 4 weeks minimum I'll be out i reckon by was worth the risk.

Great performance BM.

How many others are looking at a marathon in the short to medium term? Laoislad? Seanie?

Sounds class BM. Some going with an injury. What's your next one? I would love Berlin at some stage with a local flat one before it.

BM part of me wants to say fair fucks and the other half wants to call u a f**king eijit for risking the leg like that.

You should know better but fair fucks
Sounds like a class occasion, from reading other reports very emotional

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 25, 2014, 02:43:31 PM
BM part of me wants to say fair f**ks and the other half wants to call u a f**king eijit for risking the leg like that.

You should know better but fair f**ks
Sounds like a class occasion, from reading other reports very emotional

Well done. That took serious balls and determination.

Quote from: muppet on April 25, 2014, 01:31:05 PM

Great performance BM.

How many others are looking at a marathon in the short to medium term? Laoislad? Seanie?

I really don't think so. Getting the Warriors Run done in August is my only real goal now. I just think a marathon is too much. Maybe that will change some day but no ambition as yet. I'm pretty sure Laoislad is going for Dublin in October.

Quote from: magpie seanie on April 25, 2014, 04:34:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 25, 2014, 01:31:05 PM

Great performance BM.

I really don't think so. Getting the Warriors Run done in August is my only real goal now. I just think a marathon is too much. Maybe that will change some day but no ambition as yet. I'm pretty sure Laoislad is going for Dublin in October.
That's certainly the plan. I didn't realise how much time having 2 kids would take up though!
It's only the first week of having 2 of them so hopefully it will settle down in a few weeks.
I'm not going for any time goal just to finish the bloody thing.
I was looking at the Dublin Marathon website and I saw one of the main charities involved this year is one that we are involved in with our eldest young fella so I kind of feel it would be good to do it this year.

Oh and fair play ballinaman delighted for you.

QuoteIt's only the first week of having 2 of them so hopefully it will settle down in a few weeks.

It won't.  ;)