26 County General Election 2020

Started by Snapchap, January 09, 2020, 06:52:51 PM

What will be makeup of the next government?

FF/SD/Lab/Green
FG/SD/Lab/Green
FG/FF
FF/Green
FG/Independents
FG/Green
FF/SF
FF/Green/Independents
FF Minority
FG Minority
FG/SF
FF/Lab/Green
FF/Lab
FF/Lab/Green/Independents

Angelo

Quote from: sid waddell on August 23, 2020, 03:53:11 PM
So we now know Sinn Fein supporters don't actually care about breaking the rules, given they believe it's fine for the Sinn Fein leadership to do so

Given that, why aren't they calling for Dara Calleary and Jerry Buttimer to be reinstated?

Double standards

The only double standards on display here are from you.

You have ignored concrete proof that contradicts your assertion that guidelines were adhered to at the Garda funeral in Mayo.

You have cited speculation as confirmation that guidelines were ignored at Bobby Storey's funeral.

All you have done is show that the facts are irrelevant when it comes to you exercising your biased agenda.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

sid waddell

Quote from: Angelo on August 23, 2020, 04:16:07 PM
So we now know Sinn Fein supporters don't actually care about breaking the rules, given they believe it's fine for the Sinn Fein leadership to do so

Given that, why aren't they calling for Dara Calleary and Jerry Buttimer to be reinstated?

Double standards

You have ignored concrete proof that contradicts your assertion that guidelines were adhered to at the Garda funeral in Mayo.

You have cited speculation as confirmation that guidelines were ignored at Bobby Storey's funeral.

All you have done is show that the facts are irrelevant when it comes to you exercising your biased agenda.

Eh, yeah, whatever

120 people attended Storey's funeral when there were supposed to be 10

Sinn Fein broke the rules

If you're calling for Calleary, Buttimer, Hogan, Woulfe and the rest to resign, you can't tenably defend Mary Lou McDonald and Michelle O'Neill not resigning - they broke the rules

If you aren't calling for McDonald and O'Neill to resign - and you're not - you should be calling for Calleary and Buttimer to be reinstated, and defending Hogan and Woulfe

SF's position is laughable, at least FF and FG's is consistent

Angelo

Quote from: sid waddell on August 23, 2020, 04:40:24 PM

Double standards

Eh, yeah, whatever

If you're calling for Calleary, Buttimer, Hogan, Woulfe and the rest to resign, you can't tenably defend Mary Lou McDonald and Michelle O'Neill not resigning - they broke the rules

If you aren't calling for McDonald and O'Neill to resign - and you're not - you should be calling for Calleary and Buttimer to be reinstated, and defending Hogan and Woulfe

"Whatever"

Good point, well argued.

You're still dealing in supposition as regards Bobby Storey's funeral and you were trying to tell us the Garda funeral was compliant with guidelines when there is concrete proof, it wasn't.

The Garda funeral and Bobby Storey's funeral are comparable. There was outcry about the Minister for Justice and sizable Garda presence at the Garda funeral, there was huge outcry in the Free State about a funeral in the O6 on the basis of supposition.

And here you are, decrying Bobby Storey's funeral, ignoring the Garda's funeral in the wake of the Free State establishment blatantly ignoring their own guidelines at a golfing piss up.

Maybe you should step back and look at how absurd, whatever point it is that you are making, is.

sid waddell

Quote from: Angelo on August 23, 2020, 04:52:01 PM

Double standards

Eh, yeah, whatever

"Whatever"

Good point, well argued.

You're still dealing in supposition as regards Bobby Storey's funeral and you were trying to tell us the Garda funeral was compliant with guidelines when there is concrete proof, it wasn't.

The Garda funeral and Bobby Storey's funeral are comparable. There was outcry about the Minister for Justice and sizable Garda presence at the Garda funeral, there was huge outcry in the Free State about a funeral in the O6 on the basis of supposition.

And here you are, decrying Bobby Storey's funeral, ignoring the Garda's funeral in the wake of the Free State establishment blatantly ignoring their own guidelines at a golfing piss up.

Maybe you should step back and look at how absurd, whatever point it is that you are making, is.
You're the person that says Garda Horkan's funeral is a problem

Yet you say the Storey funeral is fine

So, let me get this straight, the Horkan funeral and the golf jolly in Clifden are both offside - but the Storey funeral is grand

One contained Sinn Fein people, the others didn't

Like, the double standards are totally hilarious, you're not even remotely hiding it

One rule for Sinn Fein, another entirely for everybody else

Lolz

How the fook can SF be taken seriously with this sort of nonsense

Angelo

Quote from: sid waddell on August 23, 2020, 05:05:44 PM
Quote from: Angelo on August 23, 2020, 04:52:01 PM

Double standards

Eh, yeah, whatever

"Whatever"

Good point, well argued.

You're the person that says Garda Horkan's funeral is a problem

Yet you say the Storey funeral is fine

So, let me get this straight, the Horkan funeral and the golf jolly in Clifden are both offside - but the Storey funeral is grand

One contained Sinn Fein people, the others didn't

Like, the double standards are totally hilarious, you're not even remotely hiding it

One rule for Sinn Fein, another entirely for everybody else

Lolz

How the fook can SF be taken seriously with this sort of nonsense

Completely incorrect.

I offered up the Garda's funeral as comparable to that of Bobby Storey's. There is more concrete proof of breaches at the funeral of the Garda than there is at Bobby Storey's funeral.

Both incidents happened on a similar timeline, the Bobby Storey funeral got serious traction with the free state media and the SF top brass were hounded to resign by that particular cohort, yet there was no outcry at all with regard to the Garda's funeral - where there was no concrete proof. Bobby Storey was a stalwart of SF and republicanism and would have been a close personal friend of Gerry Adams and Gerry Kelly and would have been well known and associated with Doherty, MON and MLMcD.

Would the likes of Drew Harris or Charlie Flanagan have ever even met the Garda in question? Probably not.

In any case I'm not decrying one and defending the other, viewpoints with regard these funerals and potential breaches should be viewed in a like for like manner. The Bobby Storey funeral was pilloried by the free state media, the Garda's one did not receive one word of condemnation for any potential breaches. I think the only double standard is those who decried SF for the Storey funeral but did not criticise the Gardai or Charlie Flanagan for any breaches at that funeral.

I don't think either are in any comparable to top ranking politicians breaching the newly laid down guidelines they helped introduce to socialise at a golfing piss up half way across the country, some of the coming from places which were under a lockdown. ]

You've got to ask yourself why you are trying to compare something not comparable from months ago with an event that has happened this past week, while trying to defend the Garda's funeral at the same time. It reeks of a biased agenda and all the evidence points toward that.

Snapchap

Angelo, since the establishment's big golfing feast, poor Sid has been working himself to the point of exhaustion trying to get people talking about a funeral in Belfast back in June instead.

Don't let him.

It'll drive him up the walls :)

There is no comparison. In the Garda funeral the leaders made an obvious point of staying in Dublin. In the Belfast funeral SF as a party deliberately chose to send its leaders, again to make a point that SF is more important than preventing disease.

Angelo

Quote from: armaghniac on August 23, 2020, 06:58:12 PM
There is no comparison. In the Garda funeral the leaders made an obvious point of staying in Dublin. In the Belfast funeral SF as a party deliberately chose to send its leaders, again to make a point that SF is more important than preventing disease.

That's absolutely absurd.

The Minister for Justice was there, the head of the Garda Siochana was there, they did not make a point of staying in Dublin. Neither of them knew the deceased on a personal level. There was a gigantic Garda presence there who took over the funeral.

It's a preposterous point you're making.

sid waddell

Quote from: Snapchap on August 23, 2020, 06:41:08 PM
Angelo, since the establishment's big golfing feast, poor Sid has been working himself to the point of exhaustion trying to get people talking about a funeral in Belfast back in June instead.

Don't let him.

So once again, no argument except Trump-style gaslighting as has been the case from you throughout this thread

It's no wonder SF are compared to Trump with behaviour like that

Populists are completely unable to debate, and completely unable to admit when they're wrong

The cult ethic is strong

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: sid waddell on August 23, 2020, 08:27:31 PM

Don't let him.

So once again, no argument except Trump-style gaslighting as has been the case from you throughout this thread

Populists are completely unable to debate, and completely unable to admit when they're wrong

The cult ethic is strong

Lad don't waste your time. I figured out recently here in Derry that Twitter and Gaa board is no refection of what folk think. Most are starting to catch on to SF

Snapchap

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 23, 2020, 10:00:11 PM

Don't let him.

The cult ethic is strong

Lad don't waste your time. I figured out recently here in Derry that Twitter and Gaa board is no refection of what folk think. Most are starting to catch on to SF

lol Another who thinks this weeks story is about SF instead of FFG!

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Snapchap on August 23, 2020, 10:23:17 PM

Don't let him.

The cult ethic is strong

I didn't say that and I couldn't give 2 monkies fecks about them. But the hypocrisy of and arrogance SF is astounding, and oh very visible to most.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 23, 2020, 10:34:23 PM

Don't let him.

The cult ethic is strong

I didn't say that and I couldn't give 2 monkies fecks about them. But the hypocrisy of and arrogance SF is astounding, and oh very visible to most.

Says the former SF supporter who doesn't think women should make decisions about their own bodies.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Itchy on August 23, 2020, 10:47:49 PM

Don't let him.

The cult ethic is strong

Says the former SF supporter who doesn't think women should make decisions about their own bodies.

Your sense of relevancy is a wee bit off. Oh and yes once a party changes it's policies most mature people review and make a decision to stick or twist. Your last message really and truly clears up the absolute inability of many SF supporters to click out of the trance. And my view on SF is not solely linked to their refusal to deny a conscience vote to members like every other party. Tá an liosta fada

sid waddell

Quote from: Itchy on August 23, 2020, 10:47:49 PM

Don't let him.

The cult ethic is strong

I wonder what current SF supporter Angelo thinks about this