26 County General Election 2020

Started by Snapchap, January 09, 2020, 06:52:51 PM

What will be makeup of the next government?

FF/SD/Lab/Green
FG/SD/Lab/Green
FG/FF
FF/Green
FG/Independents
FG/Green
FF/SF
FF/Green/Independents
FF Minority
FG Minority
FG/SF
FF/Lab/Green
FF/Lab
FF/Lab/Green/Independents

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 15, 2020, 12:20:44 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2020, 09:52:29 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 14, 2020, 09:47:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2020, 09:47:06 PM
Quote from: five points on July 14, 2020, 05:00:02 PM
Some of the lads here would pick a fight with their own shadow. Is there anyone who doesn't think the Irish media are sh1t?

Even they couldn't bury this latest shitfest  ;)

Cowen sacked, Thomas byrne did some job on him.

If he was a Shinner u would have blamed the media  ;)

Cowan made a mistake, I'm more disgusted with the slimeball Byrne. Try to keep up.

Which mistake?

Drink driving?
Speeding?
Driving on a provisional with no plates or accompanying driver?
Keeping it out of the press?
Lying to Martin about it?
Refusing to answer questions in the house?
Calling the Garda liars?
Claiming full driving expenses plus a train pass while off the road?

When I wrote my comment I only new about Drink Driving, that he'd had a ban for 3 months. The rest I am only hearing now. So if that is all true (IF) then he did get what he deserved. What did An Taoiseach know about this I wonder before this week

Quote from: fearbrags on July 15, 2020, 04:03:25 AM
https://gript.ie/ff-activist-thomas-byrne-shafted-cowen/

Apparently that wasn't newsworthy until Thomas Byrne denied it and Ken McFadden is a "some randomer on twitter"

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Itchy on July 15, 2020, 11:44:53 AM
Quote from: fearbrags on July 15, 2020, 04:03:25 AM
https://gript.ie/ff-activist-thomas-byrne-shafted-cowen/

Apparently that wasn't newsworthy until Thomas Byrne denied it and Ken McFadden is a "some randomer on twitter"

Look at your source. An extremiat blog.

five points

Callery back in the hot tub tonight with Martin. Callery is spineless, should have told Martin to feck off, if he wasnt deemed good enough first time.

Quote from: Itchy on July 15, 2020, 11:39:55 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 15, 2020, 12:20:44 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2020, 09:52:29 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 14, 2020, 09:47:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2020, 09:47:06 PM
Quote from: five points on July 14, 2020, 05:00:02 PM
Some of the lads here would pick a fight with their own shadow. Is there anyone who doesn't think the Irish media are sh1t?

Even they couldn't bury this latest shitfest  ;)

Cowen sacked, Thomas byrne did some job on him.

If he was a Shinner u would have blamed the media  ;)

Cowan made a mistake, I'm more disgusted with the slimeball Byrne. Try to keep up.

Which mistake?

Drink driving?
Speeding?
Driving on a provisional with no plates or accompanying driver?
Keeping it out of the press?
Lying to Martin about it?
Refusing to answer questions in the house?
Calling the Garda liars?
Claiming full driving expenses plus a train pass while off the road?

When I wrote my comment I only new about Drink Driving, that he'd had a ban for 3 months. The rest I am only hearing now. So if that is all true (IF) then he did get what he deserved. What did An Taoiseach know about this I wonder before this week

True. SDLP's 'sister' party in a mess after 2 weeks. Firstly Dara C looking for a big gig but no joy, then no ministers in the west and north-west etc.

Then the Cowan situation with added spice with Byrne and correct Itchy, what did MM know about it at the time and more recently? He looked very sheepish when grilled by MLMD yesterday, as if he knew there's a storm brewing.

Very bad start for SDLP/Fianna Gael.  The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Everyone happy, Mayo get their Minister and a Junior for the mIdlands.
----------------------------------

Dara Calleary has been appointed Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine after Barry Cowen was sacked last night by the Taoiseach Micheál Martin.
Mr Calleary had been Chief Whip and Junior Minister for the Gaeltacht until his appointment this afternoon.
Junior Minister at the Department of Finance Jack Chambers has been promoted to take over Mr Calleary's role as Government Chief Whip.
Laois/Offaly TD Sean Fleming has been appointed Minister of State at the Department of Finance to fill Mr Chambers' role.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: johnnycool on July 15, 2020, 02:06:14 PM
Is Cowan gone?
Yes. And has engaged lawyers to ensure he gets a ministerial pension.

five points

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 15, 2020, 02:45:03 PM
Quote from: five points on July 15, 2020, 12:39:42 PM
Extremist my nelly.
Youth Defence aren't extremist?

Do they even exist anymore? McGuirk isn't a member anyway and never was.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 15, 2020, 02:45:03 PM
Quote from: five points on July 15, 2020, 12:39:42 PM
Extremist my nelly.
Youth Defence aren't extremist?

Lad, he may or may not have extreme views on some things but that article is basically laying out a few simple facts. Just because you don't like the truth doesn't make the author an extremist

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 15, 2020, 02:46:50 PM
Is Cowan gone?

Goes without saying in a public body.

five points

Is Cowan gone?

If he has, they've duped him and he should ask for his money back.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/just-how-are-ministers-pensions-worked-out-1.559289

QuoteA number of positions attract a pension entitlement over and above that earned by a TD or senator. These positions are taoiseach, tánaiste, minister, attorney general and ceann comhairle (called "ministerial" offices for pension purposes) and minister of state, leas cheann comhairle, cathaoirleach, leas-chathaoirleach and leader of the Seanad (called "secretarial" posts for pension purposes).

To receive this pension entitlement you have to have served for at least two years in one of these offices.

Quote from: johnnycool on July 15, 2020, 03:24:43 PM
Is Cowan gone?

Goes without saying in a public body.

Maybe it is unfair dismissal he is after? He made a big tweet crying about his treatment as soon as it was announced