Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BerfArmagh on November 04, 2009, 02:48:16 PM

Title: Convicted paedophile to be beheaded and crucified
Post by: BerfArmagh on November 04, 2009, 02:48:16 PM
What do we do, put them on a sex offenders list!!! The arabs have it right on this one

Wednesday November 04 2009

A MAN who kidnapped and raped five children, one of whom was left in the desert to die, has been sentenced to be beheaded and his body publicly crucified.

Muhammed Basheer al-Ramaly (22), from the northern city of Hail, will be executed at noon today. He will be beheaded by sword then his body tied to a wooden cross and his head stuck on a pole as a deterrent.

Al-Ramaly was found guilty in February of abducting and raping five boys, the eldest of whom was 7 and the youngest just 3, who he left out in the desert to die.

His modus operandi was to pick up the boys in his car and take them off to a secret location and rape them. Most of them were found a day or two after they were abducted, and told police that they had been abused.

Saudi reports said that police used one of the survivors, a seven-year-old boy, to scour the area where he was molested, looking for the suspect's vehicle.

Al-Ramaly allegedly confessed to the crime and was sentenced to death by a court in Hail, but appealed to a higher court in the Saudi capital, Riyadh.

Disorder

That court yesterday upheld the sentence and ordered his immediate execution. While Saudi Arabia carries out numerous beheadings -- 102 last year, according to Amnesty International -- crucifixions are relatively rare. The last one appears to have been in May, when the headless body of a sex murderer was displayed in the capital.

Amnesty said there were reports that al-Ramaly may have been suffering from a psychological disorder.

One Saudi web forum claimed that police had been surprised when he laughed as he confessed to the rapes and murder.

Saudi Arabia has come under fire from human rights groups in the past for its high number of executions.

About half of the 1,695 executed between 1985 and 2008 were foreign workers unable to pay the blood money that relatives of murder victims can demand in lieu of the death penalty, according to Amnesty. (©The Times, London)
Title: Re: Convicted paedophile to be beheaded and crucified
Post by: redhandloo on November 04, 2009, 02:55:10 PM
proper order!!
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 04, 2009, 02:57:39 PM
dunno i reckon a lifetime in jail where he is known to be a paedophile would be a greater punishment
Post by: omagh_gael on November 04, 2009, 03:01:57 PM
Jaysus I wasn't aware that Saudi still carries out beheadings, 102 in the last year, ckrikey! This particular fella is a monster and while I don't agree with the death penalty the b*stard should rot in prison for the rest of his days.
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2009, 03:04:45 PM
Whilst I've no sympathy for the man, I'm against the death penalty. As others have stated here, he should serve life and life meaning life. It won't be easy for him in prison once the other inmates know what he has been convicted for.
Post by: BerfArmagh on November 04, 2009, 03:17:09 PM
Personally i'd go for castration & a life sentence
Title: Convicted paedophile to be beheaded and crucified
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2009, 03:30:01 PM
I remember a guy I used to work who spent a few years working in Saudi telling me about the firsy time he was out and about in the main square in Riyadh on the day of a public beheading.....he saw the crowd and was curious about what was going on. The locals actually pushed him to the front of the crowd so he could see at first hand what was going on....it was as if they were saying ....this is what happens if you dont behave yourself ye boy ye...

Needless to say he filled his togs...
Post by: stew on November 04, 2009, 03:39:01 PM
A bullet to the head would suffice, that said i have no sympathy for this cnut at all and if they had dragged him behind a speeding car it would have been too god for him.
Post by: Capt Pat on November 04, 2009, 03:50:15 PM
Ok I am against the death penalty in all its forms but I follow the logic of the first part of the punishment. Then they are going to crucify the body, WTF???????? What is that going to do for anyone? So just to point out the obvious, I would say the people deciding on that sentence are potentially as bad as the perp/perv. Doing things to dead bodies is not a healthy sign.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2009, 03:55:31 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on November 04, 2009, 02:57:39 PM
dunno i reckon a lifetime in jail where he is known to be a paedophile would be a greater punishment

Have to agree with this statement....I'm guessing there's no suffering involved in instant death so throw the perverted cnuts in jail with a few knuckle dragging bank robbers and tell them what they are in for..
Post by: muppet on November 04, 2009, 05:02:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 04, 2009, 03:04:45 PM
Whilst I've no sympathy for the man, I'm against the death penalty. As others have stated here, he should serve life and life meaning life. It won't be easy for him in prison once the other inmates know what he has been convicted for.

Agree with this and also the small chance of getting it wrong and killing the wrong person.
Post by: Pangurban on November 04, 2009, 05:06:05 PM
Barbarism
Post by: EC Unique on November 04, 2009, 05:11:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 04, 2009, 05:02:57 PM

Agree with this and also the small chance of getting it wrong and killing the wrong person.

No sympathy for the c**t. Doing the above would effectively be a death sentence anyway so good enough. He would die either way which is what he deserves.

If it were my child I would want him dead...
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on November 04, 2009, 05:29:29 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 04, 2009, 05:11:08 PM

No sympathy for the c**t. Doing the above would effectively be a death sentence anyway so good enough. He would die either way which is what he deserves.

But if he's dead, he's out of his misery. The unfortunate child has to live with the horror all their life. That's why I'd be in favour of a life sentence (life meaning until you're dead, not 15 years or whatever it is here).
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on November 04, 2009, 05:34:40 PM
thats great news
Post by: AFS on November 04, 2009, 05:42:37 PM
As disgusting as the crime is, beheadings and crucifixions have no place in a civilised society. It's barbaric, medieval behaviour.
Post by: Rossfan on November 04, 2009, 06:42:40 PM
Absolutely.
And to think the Hypocrites  Bush/Blair invaded Afghanistan to stop this kind of thing  ::) >:(
Post by: Square Ball on November 04, 2009, 07:55:11 PM
should have just cut his dick off and let him bleed to death, the more pain the better for him
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 04, 2009, 07:56:32 PM
Behaving like savages to punish a savage is not the way to go. Lock him up and throw away the key.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 04, 2009, 08:21:55 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on November 04, 2009, 03:50:15 PM
Ok I am against the death penalty in all its forms but I follow the logic of the first part of the punishment. Then they are going to crucify the body, WTF???????? What is that going to do for anyone? So just to point out the obvious, I would say the people deciding on that sentence are potentially as bad as the perp/perv. Doing things to dead bodies is not a healthy sign.

I agree, what's the point in crucifying a beheaded body? No problem with the fecker getting beheaded though!!
Post by: ziggysego on November 04, 2009, 08:48:38 PM

Most people would feel the same, I know I would if it was my child. However that is an emotive response and they are dangerous when looking for justice. Justice will soon become revenge and then where do we go to as a so-called civilised society?

Better he is thrown in prison for life, to life with what he has done. He should also be stripped of whatever 'luxuries' other prisoners are afforded too.
Post by: haranguerer on November 04, 2009, 10:08:06 PM
Very easy for everyone to come on here and say a worse punishment than the one before to look righteous. And if the victim was anyone I knew, no punishment could be too severe.

But does anyone think that paedophiles are normal? On here there was a debate about homosexuality a while ago, and the consensus was that people are born with certain sexual preferences, and these cant be changed, no matter what Iris says. So presumably paedophiles are also born this way. And this being the case, should they all be crucified? Or shock horror, should treatment be sought for them - before they commit crimes like this?

Just a thought...
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 04, 2009, 10:20:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 04, 2009, 08:48:38 PM

Most people would feel the same, I know I would if it was my child. However that is an emotive response and they are dangerous when looking for justice. Justice will soon become revenge and then where do we go to as a so-called civilised society?

Better he is thrown in prison for life, to life with what he has done. He should also be stripped of whatever 'luxuries' other prisoners are afforded too.
I find myself in a big dilemma over this.  If it was my child, I would want the individual responsible tortured within an inch of his/her life and I also imagine I wouldn't have a big problem with them being killed, by the state or otherwise - at the same time, I know that this is wrong and we should forgive... none of us have the right to make life/death decisions, the state shouldn't have the right to either
Post by: JUst retired on November 05, 2009, 08:02:46 AM
Sorry to read it`s happening to-day. I would love to have gone and watched it.
Will it be on you tube? ;D  Good enough for the fecker.
Post by: southdown on November 05, 2009, 12:14:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 04, 2009, 06:42:40 PM
Absolutely.
And to think the Hypocrites  Bush/Blair invaded Afghanistan to stop this kind of thing  ::) >:(

Good pont.  Bush/Blair invaded Afghanistan follwoing 9/11, yet a high number of the 9/11 hijackers were Saudi, the country with one of the world's worst human rights records.

Yet they remain close allies with one another.  Needless to say that Saudi Arabia is a rich oil-producing nation who contribute well to the US economy.  The whole thing stinks of hypocrasy.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 05, 2009, 01:12:06 PM
Personally I am against the death penalty but for one reason only, that the wrong person would be found guilty, framed etc.

But if I were God and I just knew that this guy was guilty I'd have no problem crucifying him 1st and then beheading him.

In the absence of being all knowing I would suggest a life a hard labour for anyone doing this.

It is also worth noting this. Derry O Rourke who was found guilty of abusing 10's of young kids under his control as head swim coach in Ireland and was sentanced to over 100 years and served less than 9 I believe. He is now living in Cavan somewhere. Before we worry about death penalty issues, why not get the basics right and make sure scum like this never see the light of day again.
Post by: ardal on November 05, 2009, 01:22:48 PM
Can't believe the majority on this thread are for this punishment. Mistakes are made (Birmingham 6, Guildford 4 etc). I would imagine that a better punishement would be life (living) but in an environment he headed.

Take for example a wife beater. Make him work for the rest of his life in his worst nighmare. He has to live in a womens refuge until he dies. All the ladies there have a buzzer which is attached directly to a collar on his neck which releases an electrical shock each time it's pushed. He doesn't sweep well enough, buzz; electrical shock, brings the tea too slowly; buzz, electrical shock.
Post by: Rav67 on November 05, 2009, 02:16:22 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 04, 2009, 10:08:06 PM
Very easy for everyone to come on here and say a worse punishment than the one before to look righteous. And if the victim was anyone I knew, no punishment could be too severe.

But does anyone think that paedophiles are normal? On here there was a debate about homosexuality a while ago, and the consensus was that people are born with certain sexual preferences, and these cant be changed, no matter what Iris says. So presumably paedophiles are also born this way. And this being the case, should they all be crucified? Or shock horror, should treatment be sought for them - before they commit crimes like this?

Just a thought...

It's not the thought that's a crime - it's acting on it.  So they deserve to be very harshly punished for acting on their perverted thoughts.

A US state has trialled castration, both physical and chemical, in recent years, but it was on a voluntary basis.  The castrated paedophiles became asexual after it, had no sexual desires of any sort.  I would be in favour of this on an involuntary basis for any convicted serious sex offender along with a stiff prison sentence.
Post by: Aerlik on November 05, 2009, 02:42:12 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 04, 2009, 05:42:37 PM
As disgusting as the crime is, beheadings and crucifixions have no place in a civilised society. It's barbaric, medieval behaviour.

Saudi Arabia is not a 'civilised' society.  It is a fcukin corrupt hellhole for anyone but the powerful elite.

The beheading is the punishment.

The crucifixion is the warning to others.
Post by: AFS on November 05, 2009, 04:52:40 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on November 05, 2009, 02:42:12 PM

Saudi Arabia is not a 'civilised' society.  It is a fcukin corrupt hellhole for anyone but the powerful elite.

That was my point. It's disappointing that there are some on this thread that agree with this type of behaviour.
Post by: tyssam5 on November 05, 2009, 05:15:36 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on November 05, 2009, 02:42:12 PM

That's what I was thinking. Good chance the guy getting beheaded is some innocent nobody and the real culprit is the son of some top prince.
Post by: EC Unique on November 05, 2009, 05:21:53 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on November 05, 2009, 02:16:22 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on November 04, 2009, 10:08:06 PM

Just a thought...

It's not the thought that's a crime - it's acting on it.  So they deserve to be very harshly punished for acting on their perverted thoughts.

A US state has trialled castration, both physical and chemical, in recent years, but it was on a voluntary basis.  The castrated paedophiles became asexual after it, had no sexual desires of any sort.  I would be in favour of this on an involuntary basis for any convicted serious sex offender along with a stiff prison sentence.

Wrong word perhaps :o
Post by: JUst retired on November 06, 2009, 01:45:47 PM
Just a thought, If someone in a Muslim country is guilty of robbery they get their hand chopped off> But if they win their appeal will it be sown back on again? ;D