Possible Rule changes

Started by Rossfan, October 13, 2015, 04:28:50 PM

Don't think the mark or restricting the hand pass are worthwhile solutions. The mark will slow the game down and might even increase blanket defending as if you're up against a good high fetching midfield and you can't dispossess them on the ground some teams might just concede the kickouts altogether.

Restricting the hand pass is daft IMO. It might only encourage teams to drop deeper as they know a kick will have to come after three hand passes so it becomes easier to plan defensively.

Ridiculous idea. I have images of players being coached 5 yard kick passes

Quote from: general_lee on November 18, 2015, 04:55:24 PM
Ridiculous idea. I have images of players being coached 5 yard kick passes

And us trying to coach young lads not to kick it 5 yards :)

The mark wasn't introduced to Australian Rules as a cosmetic ploy to encourage or reward high fielding. Instead it was introduced as without it, there would have been no discernible advantage in gaining clean possession (without the mark, you would simply let your opponent get the ball, then empty him).

There is no such advantage can be accrued in Gaelic Games, especially not between the 45s, as a stoppage will - most of the time - kill the momentum of the attacking side by allowing their opponents to regain a man-for-man shape that they would have got tossed up a little for the restart.

Sooner or later I'm hoping that this penny will finally drop onto the litany of fuckwits determined to turn out game into one where being 6' 6" is more important than being able to play football.

Sheer fuckwittery.

themac_23

Quote from: thewobbler on November 18, 2015, 05:47:27 PM
The mark wasn't introduced to Australian Rules as a cosmetic ploy to encourage or reward high fielding. Instead it was introduced as without it, there would have been no discernible advantage in gaining clean possession (without the mark, you would simply let your opponent get the ball, then empty him).

There is no such advantage can be accrued in Gaelic Games, especially not between the 45s, as a stoppage will - most of the time - kill the momentum of the attacking side by allowing their opponents to regain a man-for-man shape that they would have got tossed up a little for the restart.

Sooner or later I'm hoping that this penny will finally drop onto the litany of fuckwits determined to turn out game into one where being 6' 6" is more important than being able to play football.

Sheer fuckwittery.

This plus 1, the mark works in a far more physical game, the thing i love seeing in football is a midfielder winning a ball and slipping it off to a man coming off the shoulder. though to be fair doesn't happen often anymore as with forwards jogging back in to a defensive position gks just use a short kick out and start their possession from there instead of from midfield area.

As for 3 handpasses. Seriously think this shit out.

Clucko drives his kick out to big Tohill who palms it down to the on rushing Geraghty. With the lads now charging over halfway, the canny Canavan pulls his marker out of the road to create space. Glen Ryan from centre back comes out to floor Geraghty, but a swift movement of hands between between himself, McDonald and Cooper - who has looped out from the corner - has seen that challenge bypassed. Cooper now has the ball 45 yards out and Lacey is hanging off him like a dog, and Ryan smells blood. But where are his teammates to help him?

Well Geraghty he's trying to run away and make room to receive a kick pass. So is McDonald. Canavan is betraying is natural instincts to run short, and is currently running from side to side along the 14, and he's pretty sure that Cahalane knows this is his only option, as he's not even trying to cut out a more direct run.

As for Tohill? Well he's the screen at the other side. As long as he's standing around his 45, no opponent in their right mind is going to try to kick early over his head. So when they win the ball back through opponent overcarrying, they'll also use up their 3 hand passes before they know it.

This is not a far fetched scenario. Not even close.

mrdeeds

If you limit handpasses you'll just see a five yard kick pass. Happens in every training game where you play one handpass then kick. Will look terrible. The rules are fine. Trying to dictate the way a team plays is madness. We finally have innovative managers trying new things and old school fans, players etc.... are trying to change it.

I agree with the wobbler and the first part of mrdeeds post. However, I don't think we should necessarily leave the game develop as IC managers (most of whom will have a 2-4 year stint) want to as they are only looking to win while we (the boarder GAA) have to consider at what cost. There is nothing wrong with wanting to keep football an entertaining spectacle. We do have issues in the game but they are really the result of a daft season where winning a few (particular) games a year is all that's important and therefore making yourself tough to beat is probably the best way to give yourself a chance of winning those few games. Our season rewards conservative, defensive thinking not risk taking attacking teams.

drici

Quote from: Zulu on November 18, 2015, 07:01:07 PM

Our season rewards conservative, defensive thinking not risk taking attacking teams.

The three hand pass thing was tried 20 years ago and flopped.

Why will this time be any different?

Ban the fcukn hand pas - it's an abomination and is totally mind numbingly boring to watch  and has destroyed our game.
Name of the game is FOOTball so let's go all revolutionary and start kickin the effin ball.

Quote from: Rossfan on November 18, 2015, 08:27:27 PM
Ban the fcukn hand pas - it's an abomination and is totally mind numbingly boring to watch  and has destroyed our game.
Name of the game is FOOTball so let's go all revolutionary and start kickin the effin ball.

Let's take out catching too.

And tackling.

And running.

Let's have a cic fada competition instead. Jaysus that would be great craic altogether lads.

You should perhaps go and watch association football.

Quote from: thewobbler on November 18, 2015, 08:31:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 18, 2015, 08:27:27 PM

Let's take out catching too.

And tackling.

And running.

Let's have a cic fada competition instead. Jaysus that would be great craic altogether lads.

You should perhaps go and watch association football.

You are the silly chap who made a load of silly suggestions.

2 points for a free kick from the sideline help this new game ye are taking about?

Quote from: rrhf on November 18, 2015, 09:28:16 PM
2 points for a free kick from the sideline help this new game ye are taking about?

I reckon what what make him happy would take the form of:

10 men at one in end in heavy jerseys and unnecessarily tight shorts. Colours don't matter.

50 metre pitch.

10 men at the other end.

Someone on one side lashes the ball high up in the air towards the other side. Every man has to go for the ball and under no circumstances can you try fisting or punching the ball away from anyone else.

Points are awarded for clean catches, and bonus points if more than 5 men end up in a heap on the floor. But points don't matter, it's alll about the fun.

Everyone must laugh an outrageous laugh at the end of each play.

At half time there's tea and sandwiches.

Game draws to a close just in time to milk the cows.