Derry Laois AI Minor SF

Started by Main Street, August 26, 2007, 05:39:29 PM

The Forfeit Point

cheers drici (for letting me knpw the winner anyway ;)), out of the country at the moment hope to be back home for the hurling tomorrow

jodyb

Just back. Fantastic result!! Flittery skittery goals and fantastic goals, but they all count. Cuda had a couple more too!! Not a wil' pretty game and a lot tighter than the score suggests. Hard hitting all the way. When we hadn't scored in 15 mins of the second half and Laois had put over a succession of scores, I thought we were gonna blow it again, but up stepped Aidan Heron for his 2nd goal and Derry's 4th. Laois to be fair to them never lay down , scoring one themselves about, but Derry's tails were up and they tacked on 2 or 3 crucias points at that stage.

I didn't see the kick that young Lillis was supposed to have thrown (red card) although I was close to it, but Frank Flynn in general had a negative effect on the game. He was fussy, picky and made some bewildering decisions for both sides. In saying that, I think all of Derry's scores bar one was from play, while Laois had at least 5 from frees.

The second sending off was a bit more clear cut, 2 yellows and a tick and he had given plenty in addition.

I couldn't decide on a man of the match, there were so many lads stepped up. Possibly Aidan Heron, but I could list 7 or 8 names. Only negative i thought was, apart from an otherwise solid performance, that Kielt took the wrong option for several frees about 50 metres out in 3rd qtr, when we really needed a score. Additionally, they probably did a fair bit of time wasting towards the end, but they're not the first ones ever to do that.

Anyway, fantastic result, delighted!! Now begins the hunt for that elusive AI Ticket.

Quote from: jodyb on September 01, 2007, 09:19:17 PM
Just back. Fantastic result!! Flittery skittery goals and fantastic goals, but they all count. Cuda had a couple more too!! Not a wil' pretty game and a lot tighter than the score suggests. Hard hitting all the way. When we hadn't scored in 15 mins of the second half and Laois had put over a succession of scores, I thought we were gonna blow it again, but up stepped Aidan Heron for his 2nd goal and Derry's 4th. Laois to be fair to them never lay down , scoring one themselves about, but Derry's tails were up and they tacked on 2 or 3 crucias points at that stage.

I didn't see the kick that young Lillis was supposed to have thrown (red card) although I was close to it, but Frank Flynn in general had a negative effect on the game. He was fussy, picky and made some bewildering decisions for both sides. In saying that, I think all of Derry's scores bar one was from play, while Laois had at least 5 from frees.

The second sending off was a bit more clear cut, 2 yellows and a tick and he had given plenty in addition.

I couldn't decide on a man of the match, there were so many lads stepped up. Possibly Aidan Heron, but I could list 7 or 8 names. Only negative i thought was, apart from an otherwise solid performance, that Kielt took the wrong option for several frees about 50 metres out in 3rd qtr, when we really needed a score. Additionally, they probably did a fair bit of time wasting towards the end, but they're not the first ones ever to do that.

Anyway, fantastic result, delighted!! Now begins the hunt for that elusive AI Ticket.

I agree with a  lot of what you say. Very entertaining game, was actually surprised at just how much niggle there was in it. The old saying that goals win games was never more true. Derry pumped in a lot of long ball which the Laois full back line frequently couldn't deal with it and goals came. The second goal in particular will give members of the Laois team nightmares, keeper didn't deal with it and then corner back had a chance to clear from the line and instead of pulling on it he picked it up and was bundled over the line by one of the Derry forwards (other than that he did a lot of good work)

The ref was desperate, wanted to be at the centre of the game as all poor refs do, frequently slowed up play when he should have let it flow. I personally thought that in the first ten minutes the second half he did Laois no favours, denied them what looked like a legitimate penalty claim. I was also near the sending off incident and I have to admit I didn't see any kick!! (there may have been, but nobody around me saw it) In this period he seemed to give most decisions against Laois and despite this they clawed there way back into the game.

Although Laois battled all the way and their supporters gave them some backing the fourth goal in the 15 minute followed by three points shortly after this effectively made the mountain to big to climb, they were down to 14 men playing against the wind and 8 points down. They did keep fighting but there was too much to do.

Derry overall probably did deserve the victory, but as mentioned in the previous post they persistenly tried to kick frees from around 50 yards over the bar and this just resulted in a succesion of wides. Also on the counterattack Derry had plenty of space and men over given that Laois were chasing the game and again frequently choose the wrong options. They will need a bit more composure in front of goal if they are to win the final.

Congratulations to Derry. Delighted that youse have made it to the All-Ireland Final. I only hope that youses go on to win it now. Deserved nothing less, especially after the unfair result in the Ulster Final and that's coming from a Tyrone man.

onlyonefut

Great result for Derry; just did enough to keep ahead. Agree with the last posters that Derry will need to sort out their free kicks as in the second half they wasted chance after chance with the attempted scores from long free kicks.
Saw the sending off offence; it was a kick on a Derry player who was on the ground. Mind you the Derry player was lucky to escape the referees attention as he clipped his opponents ankles as he went to ground. A few unsavory incidents with Laois officials/supporters manhandling the referee at the end of first half with the referee needing a Garda escort off the pitch.
Three of these Derry players have a championship match on Monday; have the Derry County Board no ambition.
Best of luck to Derry in the final from another Tyrone man.

Great game and Derry are a very good team,and deserved their win,I wish them all the best in the Final

we are blue... etc

Disappointing for our lads. Everybody's talking about the referee, exactly how bad was he?

Jimbobjnr

i was at the match and agree with alot of what has been said, basically derry's goals were the difference in a tight encounter. i was close to the first sending off and the laois player clearly kicked our no.12 declan mullan in retaliation to a little trip. The referee had no choice in both of the red card incidents.

I thought derry just about deserved to win the game and it should make for a good final with Galway. both semi finals have been highly entertaining. i havent seen much of galway this year, any players to look out for?

bailestil

I don't think its fair to blame to ref. Laois tried to stir it up, they didn't need too. Derry's obsession with defending leads continues. Again i think mullan is derry's finest player. Kielt has much more potential than he shows, i feel He'll save his big game for the last. Roll on all ireland final!

bailestil

Regie was excellent again. In and out of the half and full forward lines he caused them lots of bother. He made a complete balls of a last minute 1on1 with the keeper but he had proved his worth throughout the game. It was him who hit the shoulder to cause the goal from what i remember. He had a great game.

down22

Great game of football with derry doing (just) about enough to shade it. I thought the ref had a decent enough game. Sure he was fussy but that was one brutal match to referee. And at the end of the day it was Derry's 4 goals that made the difference. Bad luck to Laois though, they played some nice football.

Coilin? He doesn't post here any more does he?

bailestil

haven't seen him post in ages.

Fully blown hack these days, can't be seen on here.

No GAA Journalist would ever use this board as basis for an article ;) :P

Well done to Derry, Niall Conway and all the Ballinderry lads  - good luck in the final.

Congrats Derry hi and good luck in the final. Good to see Steelstown well represented - I like to see more GAA in the city.