Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2019, 10:40:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 04, 2019, 10:36:49 PM
Look at Chelsea. They have the proven model.  Claudio Ranieri, José Mourinho, Guus Hiddink, Luiz Felipe Scolari, Avram Grant, Carlo Ancelotti, André Villas-Boas, Roberto Di Matteo, Rafael Benítez, Antonio Conte and Maurizio Sarri. All these Managers in a short space of time. Chelsea go for proven quality, they just don't pluck a former legend out of nowhere and hope for the best. Some don't do well and are replaced. Some do well and are replaced. Good  players stay at the club despite the many changes in Management. No manager is bigger than the club.
They currently have a former legend plucked from nowhere. And they're shit.
Bad example.

Which club do you see turning around their fortunes quicker?

Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2019, 11:03:04 PM
I don't know.
It's just you said that Chelsea are a good example of a team that the doesn't just pluck a random club legend out of nowhere and hope for the best.
I believe Frank Lampard fits that description better than anyone else.
True but in the main (up to now) and except Di Matteo, Chelsea have gone for the Top experienced coach.

Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2019, 11:23:56 PM
It's not as if Man Utd haven't tried any of the "Top experienced" coaches. They have.

True! And they've horsed the two out despite winning trophies! Maybe they have adapted the Chelsea model!

FtB doesn't do sarcasm well enough hardstation. He's a LFC fan, spouting shite on this thread always.

Quote from: hardstation on October 05, 2019, 09:29:12 AM
Liverpool - another club with form of plucking club legends/bum managers from nowhere. Kenny Dalglish.

True, although he did win Football League First Division: 1985–86, 1987–88, 1989–90 and FA Cup: 1985–86, 1988–89 back in the day. Better than a novice who's only other achievement in the Premiership was relegation with Cardiff. I suppose the lesson is don't look to unproven legends to change your circumstances.

U lost this encounter early on From the Bunker it can't be clawed back, keep your dignity and let it go  ;D

Quote from: Boycey on October 05, 2019, 03:22:36 PM
U lost this encounter early on From the Bunker it can't be clawed back, keep your dignity and let it go  ;D

I conceeded it a long time ago! The lads just dragged it out!  ;)

Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 05, 2019, 07:23:11 AM
FtB doesn't do sarcasm well enough hardstation. He's a LFC fan, spouting shite on this thread always.

On a separate note Farr. Was down in Knockmore for the Annual Jackie McLoughlin under 10 Tournament  a fortnight ago. Very well run Blitz. Nicely printed program, well marked pitches, and a proper competition that grades the team entered evenly. Well done to all involved. 

Time to get Big Sam in chaps, at this rate ye will be in a relegation fight soon enough.....

I can't see Ole lasting much longer. It's not all his fault though. That squad is a joke.

Geoff Tipps

Ed Ricketts

At what point do you begin to genuinely worry about relegation?

This isn't a just bad turn, it has been going on for 7 months now and it's getting worse by the week.

17 points in the last 17 league games since March - that's pretty much half a season of relegation form.

Solskjaer may not be at the route of the problems, but he's clearly not making things any better.
Doc would listen to any kind of nonsense and change it for you to a kind of wisdom.

A full blown crisis now two points off the relegation zone and no signs of any improvement in recent weeks only getting worse. Another fairly average team that didn't have to play well to beat United and beat them deservedly so. Ole the other day admitted United are now a counter attacking team, the irony the games only goal came for counter attacking move. 

Won't be surprising if for the 2nd season in a row that a United manager gets sacked after getting well beaten by Liverpool.

GJL

Helix.

Ole at the wheel and has driven the bus over a cliff. It's a case of who do you get next if he gets the sack. Absolutely atrocious to look at!