GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:19:04 PM

Title: Stefan Campbell signs for Lurgan Celtic
Post by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:19:04 PM
End of Armagh career?
Title: Re: Stefan Campbell signs for Lurgan Celtic
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 03, 2017, 08:59:16 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:19:04 PM
End of Armagh career?

Armagh typically play 2 championship games a season. I'm sure he can fit those into his soccer schedule...
Post by: tonto1888 on September 03, 2017, 09:27:51 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on September 03, 2017, 08:59:16 PM
End of Armagh career?

Armagh typically play 2 championship games a season. I'm sure he can fit those into his soccer schedule...

When was the last time we played two championship games in a summer
Post by: Jinxy on September 03, 2017, 09:35:27 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?board=12.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?board=12.0)
Post by: BennyCake on September 03, 2017, 11:33:34 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 03, 2017, 09:27:51 PM
End of Armagh career?

Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 07:20:10 AM
His soccer commitments will leave him unavailable for all of the National League.Lurgan Celtic are riding high in the Irish League's First Division and were Irish Cup semi finalists two years ago.This is not recreational soccer.I can't see this being accommodated by Mc Geeney who demands full commitment.He didn't have a great season with Armagh and it looks to me as if he has opted for soccer.
Post by: LCohen on September 04, 2017, 08:25:59 AM
End of Armagh career?

Or the making of it? Who knows?

The lad needs to get fit. Actually playing rather than repetitive training might just be logical?

The money might come in handy for s few months?

He could be fed up with the commitment needed for GAA?

He could be fed up with the style of football he is being asked to play?

Who knows?
Post by: tonto1888 on September 04, 2017, 09:03:12 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 03, 2017, 11:33:34 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 03, 2017, 09:27:51 PM
End of Armagh career?

We played three that year
Post by: redhandefender on September 04, 2017, 02:08:42 PM
End of Armagh career?

Who cares, your county is irrelevant, why the main board
Post by: haveaharp on September 04, 2017, 02:26:43 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on September 04, 2017, 02:08:42 PM
End of Armagh career?

The drugs don't work, they just make you worse...........
Post by: illdecide on September 04, 2017, 04:04:15 PM
£2k signing on fee plus £200 a week and all with Kieran McGeeney's approval...Win win situation for Stefan

Oh wait, i just made that all up...Who cares how he keeps himself fit from now to January and gets a few quid for doing so ::)
Post by: tonto1888 on September 04, 2017, 04:16:37 PM
Quote from: illdecide on September 04, 2017, 04:04:15 PM
£2k signing on fee plus £200 a week and all with Kieran McGeeney's approval...Win win situation for Stefan

Oh wait, i just made that all up...Who cares how he keeps himself fit from now to January and gets a few quid for doing so ::)

I was actually believing you 😂😂
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 06:16:18 PM
Consider this.Lurgan Celtic have realistic ambitions of promotion and Cup runs.They are not a Mid Ulster League Junior Football outfit.I doubt therefore they'd sign a player who was only going to be available for half the season.
Post by: Throw ball on September 04, 2017, 06:33:24 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 06:16:18 PM
Consider this.Lurgan Celtic have realistic ambitions of promotion and Cup runs.They are not a Mid Ulster League Junior Football outfit.I doubt therefore they'd sign a player who was only going to be available for half the season.

Why not? Did David Beckham , Robbie Keane etc. not sign for European professional teams during American off season?
Henrick Larsson also signed for Manchester United for a couple of months.
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 06:43:38 PM
Name me another prominent County GAA player who has signed for an Irish League or League of Ireland club,in recent times? The only one I can think of is Eoin Bradley who has not played for Derry since
Post by: Throw ball on September 04, 2017, 06:51:06 PM
Did Lee Chin not play league of Ireland soccer?
Post by: mrdeeds on September 04, 2017, 07:16:38 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on September 04, 2017, 06:51:06 PM
Did Lee Chin not play league of Ireland soccer?

Dipped his toes in it. Cian Mackey played with Monagan United and Armagh City while part of Cavan panel so it happens.
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 08:30:35 PM
Do you think Mc Geeney will tolerate it?
Post by: illdecide on September 04, 2017, 09:50:33 PM
You're losing the run of yourself ffs. It's Lurgan Celtic we're talking about here...they can't afford to get promoted and that's a fact. He'll get a few quid and keep himself in a bit of shape and then after Christmas he'll drift away from that dross and back with Armagh
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 11:36:53 PM
I thought that modern day County Stars would have to rest up at the end of the club season and their fitness and nutrition plans would factor in this rest period.As I say I know no one in the modern era combining a county football and semi professional soccer career simultaneously
Post by: regal on September 04, 2017, 11:40:44 PM
Catch yourself on and relax for a couple of months. Nobody cares less for the time being.

Ryan mccloskey and Shane McCabe spring to mind
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 07:16:03 AM
That was a good few years ago.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 05, 2017, 08:38:45 AM
I don't think Lurgan Celtic are really a semi professional team
Post by: punt kick on September 05, 2017, 09:00:34 AM
End of Armagh career?

Oh dear that hammering by Dublin is killing you lot, imagine in front of 82,000 defending a deficit - still makes me laugh.
Post by: illdecide on September 05, 2017, 09:13:07 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 05, 2017, 08:38:45 AM
I don't think Lurgan Celtic are really a semi professional team

Correct...this is laughable actually. Mid Ulster Soccer football FFS
Post by: redhandefender on September 05, 2017, 09:36:34 AM
Bradleys soccer club allowed him to play it was the county manager said he couldn't.

What a needless thread
Post by: The Gs Man on September 05, 2017, 10:06:08 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 11:36:53 PM
I thought that modern day County Stars would have to rest up at the end of the club season and their fitness and nutrition plans would factor in this rest period.As I say I know no one in the modern era combining a county football and semi professional soccer career simultaneously

Semi-professional?   :D  Give your head a shake.

(Ex-LC player here)

Although it is a considerably higher standard than Mid Ulster as illdecide suggests! 

Post by: redhandefender on September 05, 2017, 10:49:51 AM
Quote from: punt kick on September 05, 2017, 09:00:34 AM
End of Armagh career?

Oh dear that hammering by Dublin is killing you lot, imagine in front of 82,000 defending a deficit - still makes me laugh.

What county are you from? Too embarrassed to say? I'm grand the futures bright!
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 11:40:42 AM
Can someone explain if Kieran Mc Geeney will sanction any of his players playing soccer at any level?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2017, 11:53:58 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 11:40:42 AM
Can someone explain if Kieran Mc Geeney will sanction any of his players playing soccer at any level?

What can he do? They're not playing soccer and missing Armagh training?
Post by: tonto1888 on September 05, 2017, 11:57:45 AM

Nothing to do with Geezer. Or any of us to be honest
Post by: illdecide on September 05, 2017, 12:01:51 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 05, 2017, 11:57:45 AM

Nothing to do with Geezer. Or any of us to be honest

Correct...Kieran doesn't own the players, what do you want them to do...phone him for permission to take a crop ffs. Wise up
Post by: lurganblue on September 05, 2017, 12:16:43 PM
Some knickers in a twist here. Should county players become hermits when their season finishes, or maybe it would be better to hit the beer flat out.
Post by: armaghniac on September 05, 2017, 12:33:04 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on September 05, 2017, 12:16:43 PM
Some knickers in a twist here. Should county players become hermits when their season finishes, or maybe it would be better to hit the beer flat out.

I know this might not be obvious in Lurgan, but there are other things to do other than play soccer or get pissed.
Post by: yellowcard on September 05, 2017, 12:39:19 PM

This is not the 1960's. To the best of my knowledge the players are not under contract with Armagh. Should geezer then not be allowed to undertake work carried on outside Armagh GAA? They are not employee's of the county board so he is entitled to do as he chooses.
Post by: lurganblue on September 05, 2017, 12:47:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 05, 2017, 12:33:04 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on September 05, 2017, 12:16:43 PM

I know this might not be obvious in Lurgan, but there are other things to do other than play soccer or get pissed.

i dont believe ya  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 12:58:52 PM
Of course the lad can do what he wants but I revert to my original question,does signing for Lurgan Celtic mean the end of his Armagh career,whether he desires this outcome or not.Is any other fairly high profile GAA player in any other county also playing soccer currently?
Post by: nrico2006 on September 05, 2017, 01:11:14 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 12:58:52 PM
Of course the lad can do what he wants but I revert to my original question,does signing for Lurgan Celtic mean the end of his Armagh career,whether he desires this outcome or not.Is any other fairly high profile GAA player in any other county also playing soccer currently?

I'm sure there are other high profile GAA players playing football leagues the equivalent of what Lurgan Celtic are playing in.  Nobody probably has heard of Lurgan Celtic bar people in the area and there are probably loads of clubs in the country who we haven't heard of with high profile GAA players playing through the autumn and winter.
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 01:17:52 PM
Lurgan Celtic play in a Division immediately below the Northern Irish Premiership,whose Champions met Glasgow Celtic in the Champions League qualifiers this season.This is not a pub football or junior football team,but one with aspirations to play in the Northern Irish Premiership.
Post by: David McKeown on September 05, 2017, 01:39:03 PM
The thing that occurs to me is that it's unlikely Lurgan Celtic would have signed a player without him have played at level not too far removed from their level. From my own experience coaching underage sides of championship teams I think 1 of 3 situations is likely to pertain.

1. Campbell will be well use to playing decent level football and the demands that come with that if he is expectind to play regularly and will have done so over a number of years (I think he played for Banbridge) previously such that he will be able to work around the GAA as he has done in the past.

2. He has joined Lurgan Celtic as a squad or seconds player and will be very much playing at an amateur level which likely won't impact on GAA and will only help to improve his fitness. .

3. Campbell wishes to give his all to a different sport and as is his right has decided to commit to that. In this scenario he is perfectly entitled to do this as unlike what some on here may think he owes Armagh and the GAA nothing.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 05, 2017, 01:44:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 01:17:52 PM
Lurgan Celtic play in a Division immediately below the Northern Irish Premiership,whose Champions met Glasgow Celtic in the Champions League qualifiers this season.This is not a pub football or junior football team,but one with aspirations to play in the Northern Irish Premiership.

Doesn't mean many people will have heard of them. There's teams in that league I hadn't heard of before I actually looked to see where LC were playing these days
Post by: The Gs Man on September 05, 2017, 01:45:18 PM
Young Soup is no old Soup.  ;)
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on September 05, 2017, 02:05:49 PM
Thick Gavin McParland usually joins Armagh City for a few months each year, but not sure if he sticks around come January time. 

Pointless thread as mentioned, doubt Mc Geeney has to sanction anything and if he is good at soccer why wouldn't he play at a higher level with Lurgan Celtic? Wouldn't read into it too much.

No doubt he, like most of the Armagh ones would be playing soccer over the next few months to keep fit and enjoy some aspect of sport without the scrutiny.     
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 05, 2017, 02:45:34 PM
Aaron Findon has joined a soccer team as well....may as well pack up the Armagh squad at this point...they're all gonna be lost to the Garrison Game!!
Post by: Sandy Hill on September 05, 2017, 03:50:39 PM
Is Stefan Campbell playing soccer very much different to Kieran Donaghy playing basketball every winter?
Post by: RedHand88 on September 05, 2017, 04:06:11 PM

Missing the entire McKenna cup/ League and turning up for the championship is bound to annoy some of the boys who have trained since January.

Werent the IFA talking about moving the league to a summer season? Or was that the FAI?
Post by: J70 on September 05, 2017, 04:39:07 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 05, 2017, 04:06:11 PM

Missing the entire McKenna cup/ League and turning up for the championship is bound to annoy some of the boys who have trained since January.

Werent the IFA talking about moving the league to a summer season? Or was that the FAI?

League of Ireland has been playing through the summer for a few years now.
Post by: RedHand88 on September 05, 2017, 04:56:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 05, 2017, 04:39:07 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 05, 2017, 04:06:11 PM

League of Ireland has been playing through the summer for a few years now.

That must be it cheers.
Post by: yellowcard on September 06, 2017, 12:06:37 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on September 05, 2017, 03:50:39 PM
Is Stefan Campbell playing soccer very much different to Kieran Donaghy playing basketball every winter?

No, it's not but it doesn't suit the narrative which is aimed at having a pop at the player for having the audacity at playing another sport.
Post by: T Fearon on September 07, 2017, 07:53:24 AM
It is not having a pop at the lad.It is suggesting that having had a relatively poor season on the GAA front,does his decision to play soccer at an above average level spell the end of his GAA career,as it did for his now Lurgan Celtic team mate,Ryan Henderson.
Post by: The Gs Man on September 07, 2017, 09:18:28 AM
Ryan scored 4-3 against Wexford on his league debut then hardly got a sniff for Armagh after it.

I wouldn't say he picked soccer over Gaelic, more so he was forced to pick soccer over Gaelic due not getting a look-in come Championship time.

He's still starring for Clann Eireann too.
Post by: T Fearon on September 07, 2017, 10:36:12 AM
He did get a run in the Armagh team after that but never came close to repeating that performance.But opting for soccer ended his Armagh career immediately
Post by: The Gs Man on September 07, 2017, 10:59:17 AM
Barely got a kick in the Championship though, which made his decision to sign for DC a whole lot easier....
Post by: tonto1888 on September 07, 2017, 11:12:22 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 07, 2017, 10:36:12 AM
He did get a run in the Armagh team after that but never came close to repeating that performance.But opting for soccer ended his Armagh career immediately

Did it really?
And let's be honest, soccer at the highest level, which lurgan celtic are not at, is, at best, average
Post by: The Gs Man on September 07, 2017, 11:20:03 AM
Nah, it didn't really.

Tony's just being Tony.
Post by: T Fearon on September 07, 2017, 11:57:33 PM
He wasn't getting his place on Armagh team,a bit like Stefan,then he signed for Donegal Celtic,just then one division above Lurgan Celtic's current division,and never played for Armagh again.

As I say,I no of no other player in the current era combining decent soccer and county GAA careers
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on September 08, 2017, 08:05:44 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 07, 2017, 11:57:33 PM
He wasn't getting his place on Armagh team,a bit like Stefan,then he signed for Donegal Celtic,just then one division above Lurgan Celtic's current division,and never played for Armagh again.

As I say,I no of no other player in the current era combining decent soccer and county GAA careers

Your as bad as a politician...pick and choose what you answer too.  Both Kieran Donaghy and Aiden O'Se play basketball in the off season at a high level and AFAIK played in a final against each other.  Didn't have any impact in them playing championship football with counties.

Also another point which has been made...why a full blown new thread created?  Wouldn't the most relevant place to discuss this be in the Armagh County Thread?
Post by: tonto1888 on September 08, 2017, 08:12:17 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 07, 2017, 11:57:33 PM

So he went from not playing for Armagh to not playing for Armagh?
Post by: The Gs Man on September 08, 2017, 09:00:29 AM
Get more sense out of my dog ffs.

Post by: PAULD123 on September 08, 2017, 02:08:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 04, 2017, 06:43:38 PM
Name me another prominent County GAA player who has signed for an Irish League or League of Ireland club,in recent times? The only one I can think of is Eoin Bradley who has not played for Derry since

Not hugely prominent but Warrenpoint's John Boyle plays for Warrenpoint Town in the Irish Premier League. Decided to play for them when he was in the county squad and therefore gave up a county career. He also missed this year's club championship because the soccer had started back. Generally we get him for a bit when the soccer is off-season and the club scene is just starting.
Post by: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 02:15:27 PM
It is not physically possible to maintain a decent level soccer career and a GAA county career nowadays.In any event neither manager,particularly a county GAA manager,would tolerate it.Basketball is totally different,you just stand there,on a relatively small court,no physical contact,receive and pass the ball with an odd jump to score.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 08, 2017, 02:33:43 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 02:15:27 PM
It is not physically possible to maintain a decent level soccer career and a GAA county career nowadays.In any event neither manager,particularly a county GAA manager,would tolerate it.Basketball is totally different,you just stand there,on a relatively small court,no physical contact,receive and pass the ball with an odd jump to score.

How do you know either Geezer or Paddy O'Hagan won't tolerate it
Post by: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 02:41:08 PM
They demand full and exclusive commitment.The lad can hardly play an Irish League Div 1 game on a Saturday afternoon,and potentially a NFL game a few hours later,the same evening.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 08, 2017, 02:50:54 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 02:15:27 PM

This comment on basketball shows how little you actually know Tony. You really have no idea
Post by: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 03:06:08 PM
You just stand around,no physical hits,with the odd jump.It is the equivalent of chess,not physically strenuous.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 08, 2017, 03:08:38 PM
Stand around :) :) :)

I don't know of any game that involves more sprinting and movement than Basketball.
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on September 08, 2017, 03:28:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 08, 2017, 03:08:38 PM

I don't know of any game that involves more sprinting and movement than Basketball.

Must not know where the term used in gaelic these days called full court press comes from.  Have you played much basketball at a decent level yourself Tony that you know of the physical demands involved or have you watched an odd game at the Olympics and decided you know everything about it.  Also what about the other point - why raise this as its own thread..is the Armagh County thread not a good enough place to discuss it?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 08, 2017, 03:29:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 08, 2017, 03:08:38 PM

And no physical hits ;D. Obviously never been boxed out by a BIFFO a Big Ignorant f**ker from Overseas!!!!  A big 6'6 Latvian fecker with sharper elbows than me!
Post by: general_lee on September 08, 2017, 03:40:14 PM
Basketball compliments Gaelic football so you'd much rather players choosing it rather than something like soccer or rugby
Post by: lurganblue on September 08, 2017, 03:43:13 PM
Dublin obviously thought Basketball was more than just standing around http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-boss-jim-gavin-drafts-in-renowned-basketball-coach-to-help-beat-blanket-defences-31110249.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-boss-jim-gavin-drafts-in-renowned-basketball-coach-to-help-beat-blanket-defences-31110249.html)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 08, 2017, 03:52:00 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 08, 2017, 03:40:14 PM
Basketball compliments Gaelic football so you'd much rather players choosing it rather than something like soccer or rugby

We have been playing in at underage level for years in the winter months.
Post by: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 04:54:22 PM
Basketball is a namby pamby sport,unlike soccer.Not demanding at all
Post by: AZOffaly on September 08, 2017, 04:59:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 04:54:22 PM
Basketball is a namby pamby sport,unlike soccer.Not demanding at all

Too obvious Tony. Too obvious.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 08, 2017, 06:27:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 08, 2017, 02:41:08 PM
They demand full and exclusive commitment.The lad can hardly play an Irish League Div 1 game on a Saturday afternoon,and potentially a NFL game a few hours later,the same evening.

Playing for LC certainly does not demand full and exclusive commitment
Post by: Rossfan on September 08, 2017, 06:38:52 PM
As someone else remarked - can this localised uninteresting squabble be hived off to the Armagh section.
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on September 08, 2017, 07:11:15 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 08, 2017, 06:38:52 PM
As someone else remarked - can this localised uninteresting squabble be hived off to the Armagh section.

Still awaiting the original Author reply as too why it wasnt posted there in the first instance
Post by: T Fearon on September 09, 2017, 12:16:12 AM
The potential premature retirement of a prominent player from one of this year's All Ireland quarter finalists is a national issue.
Post by: mcklatchee on September 09, 2017, 08:33:25 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 09, 2017, 12:16:12 AM
The potential premature retirement of a prominent player from one of this year's All Ireland quarter finalists is a national issue.

We need a referendum so
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 09, 2017, 09:07:55 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 09, 2017, 12:16:12 AM

A cross border symposium is needed then!!
Post by: bogball88 on September 09, 2017, 12:25:52 PM
Bam Neeson?
Post by: bogball88 on September 09, 2017, 12:31:23 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on September 09, 2017, 12:25:52 PM
Kevin Niblock? Both played for a county in the lower leagues who would be doing well to be playing Championship beyond July
Post by: T Fearon on September 09, 2017, 12:32:12 PM
Hasnt played for Antrim for years.Not high profile County anyway
Post by: bogball88 on September 09, 2017, 12:33:03 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 09, 2017, 12:32:12 PM
Which high profile county are we discussing?
Post by: imtommygunn on September 09, 2017, 03:54:24 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 09, 2017, 12:32:12 PM

1 year to be precise. Lol. Not high profile enough. I guess you decide what merits bhigh profile.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 09, 2017, 04:24:38 PM
Stefan Campbell is a decent county footballer, he is not a calamitous loss to Armagh. That said any man who is competent at a number of sports in todays world will struggle to compete in any more than one. Even dual gaelic stars eventually settle for one or the other and thats with the support given by county boards. Even at club level today it is takes sacrifice for anyone to hold down a job and train and prepare for a sport never mind two. If Stefan believes he will get more out of LC then good luck to him.
Post by: JimStynes on September 10, 2017, 08:06:29 AM
6 pages ffs  ;D Well done Tony!
Post by: T Fearon on September 10, 2017, 09:46:46 AM
Yes amazing! We've also discussed the merits of Basketball in this thread.
Post by: T Fearon on December 16, 2017, 11:34:21 AM
Opting out of the panel,bringing the number to six plus Mc Keever's retirement.Not looking good for the new season
Post by: naka on December 16, 2017, 03:28:47 PM
Tony
He is getting a few quid so that decided it .
For me save for the ONeills everyone else has a legitimate reason
Gaelic is no longer the be all and end all
I can see it in my own house with me son.
He can take it or leave it whereas I lived and breathed it.
Croke Park has caused this because the chances of winning sam are minimal.
Post by: stew on December 16, 2017, 03:40:49 PM
Quote from: naka on December 16, 2017, 03:28:47 PM
Tony

If I had a son that was good enough to make a living at playing sawker or playing club/county football I would let him make the decision................................Because it would be his decision, not mine, I was 20 and decided to play B football for my club with a view to trying to make the senior team, so I get ready to come on as a sub and the manager tells me to play right half back, I tell him I am a forward and he tells me he thought I was a back! When asked why, he said because he knew I was a sweeper for my football team and assumed I was a back, I said no, that was not the case, he told me to get back on the bench and thus ended the worst career in gaelic footballing history, I still love the sport but f**k I was crushed!
Post by: Itchy on December 16, 2017, 03:52:05 PM
Would you not just go on and do your best no matter where you were asked to play?
Post by: BennyCake on December 16, 2017, 04:28:10 PM
Tony

That about sums it up.

Good luck to him. Armagh could be doing with him, but a few quid and presumably a less intense training schedule wins out over a crazy gaa schedule and the monster that the gaa created ie. Dublin.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 16, 2017, 05:01:20 PM
He cant be getting that much, ffs its basically intermediate football.
Post by: LCohen on December 16, 2017, 06:45:08 PM
Gaelic football has lost its grip on reality.
Top brass make effort to control professionalism. Name one senior official within The GAA who does not preach one thing but facilitate the practice of the other?

They don't be able to see what modern coaching is doing with the game. In the past we had a participation sport open to labourers and chief executives and (almost) all jobs and professions in between. The best of those participants played for their county and the county with the best players tended to win unless they lacked the mentality. Nothing particularly wrong with that. It was actually interesting to watch and as the majority of the TV audience is not from the participating counties the fact that the spectacle was worth watching was important.

Club, school, college and underage football is preoccupied with "not losing at all costs " or even worse "not getting annihilated at all costs ". This is fed from county football. The enjoyment is gone. The playing time eroded to practically nothing. The training time exponentially increased making huge encroachment into any attempt at a normal life. For most the reward is to sit behind the subs as half the panel don't get any playing time.

Players should question what they do with their lives. If we don't like the conclusions they reach then we need to make some changes
Post by: naka on December 17, 2017, 12:23:55 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 16, 2017, 05:01:20 PM
He cant be getting that much, ffs its basically intermediate football.
Sometimes a £100 or £150 can make all the difference
My brother is on £400 a week two kids and a wife so he would be more than happy with that
Post by: rrhf on December 17, 2017, 10:13:36 AM
It is also about ambition of the individual as well. Do you want to play in front of 1 man and his dog or 15k. Each to their own.
Post by: Rossfan on December 17, 2017, 11:57:51 AM
Will those 15k  pay the rent though? ;)
Post by: GetOverTheBar on December 17, 2017, 01:03:38 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 16, 2017, 04:28:10 PM
Tony

That about sums it up.

Good luck to him. Armagh could be doing with him, but a few quid and presumably a less intense training schedule wins out over a crazy gaa schedule and the monster that the gaa created ie. Dublin.

Hard to argue with your last point - Not much use to Armagh or their fans, but at the end of the day if you are getting paid for it, it makes the training slightly more bearable.

There is also the aspect, maybe he just likes football better. Nothing wrong with that.
Post by: Itchy on December 17, 2017, 02:17:04 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on December 17, 2017, 01:03:38 PM
Tony

That about sums it up.

Hard to argue with your last point - Not much use to Armagh or their fans, but at the end of the day if you are getting paid for it, it makes the training slightly more bearable.

There is also the aspect, maybe he just likes football better. Nothing wrong with that.

If he liked football better wouldn't he play for Armagh.
Post by: BennyCake on December 17, 2017, 02:19:00 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on December 17, 2017, 01:03:38 PM
Tony

That about sums it up.

You mean soccer?
Post by: tonto1888 on December 17, 2017, 04:13:24 PM
The door is still open for him apparently. I wouldn't be surprised to see a few of the 7 who have left the panel back for the championship at least
Post by: Rossfan on December 17, 2017, 05:59:26 PM
GAA people referring to soccer ball as "football" gets my goat.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 17, 2017, 06:30:45 PM
Association football and our own Gaelic football. Soccer you call it if you are American as they have their own football.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on December 17, 2017, 06:38:38 PM
Are there any Cross players on the panel this. From what I've read, it looks like they have all opted out.
Post by: Zulu on December 17, 2017, 06:48:02 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 17, 2017, 06:30:45 PM
Association football and our own Gaelic football. Soccer you call it if you are American as they have their own football.

Or soccer if you're Irish.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on December 17, 2017, 07:48:03 PM
Quote from: Zulu on December 17, 2017, 06:48:02 PM

Or football if you're Irish.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 17, 2017, 07:49:39 PM
Irish people calling football soccer gets on my goat.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 07:54:20 PM
Some will call it soccer on here to save any confusion. Soccer is only a nickname and Irish people that doesn't have any interest in the sport calls it nothing but soccer.
Post by: BennyCake on December 17, 2017, 08:21:06 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 07:54:20 PM
Some will call it soccer on here to save any confusion. Soccer is only a nickname and Irish people that doesn't have any interest in the sport calls it nothing but soccer.

Not true. Soccer men like Giles, Dunphy, Brady etc all call it soccer regularly.
Post by: tonto1888 on December 17, 2017, 08:55:42 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 17, 2017, 06:38:38 PM
Are there any Cross players on the panel this. From what I've read, it looks like they have all opted out.

It doesn't look like it tho I'm sure BCB would know for sure
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 09:05:51 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 17, 2017, 08:21:06 PM

Not true. Soccer men like Giles, Dunphy, Brady etc all call it soccer regularly.
They are football men that may occasionally call it soccer. What did i say that wasn't true?.

1) that some will call it soccer on here to save any confusion
2) that soccer is a nickname for the sport
3) Those that doesn't have any interest in the sport calls it nothing but soccer
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on December 17, 2017, 09:17:04 PM
Armagh will struggle for scores this year now that him and Clarke are out.  Going to be a short year me thinks!

Its ground ball btw!
Post by: Zulu on December 17, 2017, 09:22:37 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 09:05:51 PM

They are football men that may occasionally call it soccer. What did i say that wasn't true?.

3) Those that doesn't have any interest in the sport calls it nothing but soccer

Don't know any Irish people that aren't very big into LOI that call soccer football. It's nothing to do with avoiding confusion, being a nickname or not having an interest in the sport, they just call it what it is known as by most people in Ireland, soccer.
Post by: BennyCake on December 17, 2017, 09:23:53 PM

"Football".

Also, those that are interested in soccer, call it nothing but soccer too.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 09:44:16 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 17, 2017, 09:23:53 PM

"Football".

The game is called "Football" i didn't say anything wrong there. Yes plenty that have interest in the sport call it soccer also but even those calling it soccer the majority of them still know the true name of the sport is called football.
Post by: seafoid on December 17, 2017, 09:48:44 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 09:44:16 PM

"Football".

The game is called "Football" i didn't anything wrong there. Yes plenty that have interest in the sport call it soccer also but even those calling it soccer the majority of them still know the true name of the sport is called football.
Association football
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 17, 2017, 09:50:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on December 17, 2017, 06:48:02 PM

FAI = Football Association of Ireland. Maybe someone in Ireland should tell John Delaney and Co to change that football bit to soccer.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 09:52:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 17, 2017, 09:48:44 PM

"Football".

The game is called "Football" i didn't anything wrong there. Yes plenty that have interest in the sport call it soccer also but even those calling it soccer the majority of them still know the true name of the sport is called football.
Association football
Thats the full name yes. Soccer is a nickname.
Post by: Rossfan on December 17, 2017, 09:53:02 PM
Some right west Brits among the Nordies here.....
Post by: LooseCannon on December 17, 2017, 09:58:09 PM
Can this thread be locked please?

It's about as useful as a chocolate teapot
Post by: BennyCake on December 17, 2017, 10:17:07 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on December 17, 2017, 09:52:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 17, 2017, 09:48:44 PM

"Football".

Association football
Thats the full name yes. Soccer is a nickname.

So is "football" then.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 18, 2017, 06:00:29 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on December 17, 2017, 09:58:09 PM

Iced tea? :P :P
Post by: omaghjoe on December 18, 2017, 06:08:26 AM
Looks like we deemed to be in the "soccer" camp along with most anglophone countries...

(http://static3.businessinsider.com/image/52b84a70eab8ea13673fafb8-960/soccer-world-map.jpg)

Tho I call it football in America.... just to be different. I call it by its correct name in Ireland.... "the foreign sport"  ;)

What I find kinda weird is Spanish speakers in America will swtich language mid conversation and call it futbol in one sentence and soccer the next.
Post by: LooseCannon on December 18, 2017, 09:06:28 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 18, 2017, 06:00:29 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on December 17, 2017, 09:58:09 PM

Iced tea? :P :P

Ok, it's about as useful as tits on a bull.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 18, 2017, 11:00:27 AM
I wonder did most Irish fans replace the word football with soccer when singing 'Put 'Em Under Pressure'.
Post by: Zulu on December 18, 2017, 12:13:50 PM
Indeed, I wonder did most Irish fans replace the word óle in the song with hurrah or up ya boy ya?
Post by: illdecide on December 18, 2017, 12:39:24 PM
Meanwhile back at the ranch...Stefan i reckon will be back at the tail end of the league to get ready for the Championship, Lurgan Celtic will be well relegated by that stage.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on December 18, 2017, 01:10:10 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 18, 2017, 12:39:24 PM
Meanwhile back at the ranch...Stefan i reckon will be back at the tail end of the league to get ready for the Championship, Lurgan Celtic will be well relegated by that stage.

Yeah that got a bit out of hand, Armagh don't need him until then. He's proven quality.
Post by: rosnarun on December 18, 2017, 02:41:08 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 18, 2017, 06:08:26 AM
Looks like we deemed to be in the "soccer" camp along with most anglophone countries...

(http://static3.businessinsider.com/image/52b84a70eab8ea13673fafb8-960/soccer-world-map.jpg)

Tho I call it football in America.... just to be different. I call it by its correct name in Ireland.... "the foreign sport"  ;)

What I find kinda weird is Spanish speakers in America will swtich language mid conversation and call it futbol in one sentence and soccer the next.
I remember an English TV slagging a yank over the whole Fooball soccer thing until he reminded the Idiots their programme was call Soccer AM. summed it up for me
the English call it soccer unless they are talking to a americans and then their  imperilialistic nature kicks in
Post by: maddog on December 18, 2017, 02:46:17 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 18, 2017, 02:41:08 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 18, 2017, 06:08:26 AM

I remember an English TV slagging a yank over the whole Fooball soccer thing until he reminded the Idiots their programme was call Soccer AM. summed it up for me
the English call it soccer unless they are talking to a americans and then their  imperilialistic nature kicks in

No they don't. I've yet to hear any of the lads i work with calling it soccer.