Cycling

Started by Jimmy, February 18, 2010, 10:20:27 PM

I also forgot to add that i think i'm cycling in too high a gear (would that be hurting my back). If i drop a gear or 2 and basically cycle the legs a bit faster would that help?

Shouldn't be hurting your back. Cycling with a higher cadence/revs should save ur energy though

Mickey Linden

U know the route the Clan Eireann cycle is following illdecide?

I'm looking at  the Giant Defy 5 bike as a possible purchase. Any of ye lads have one in the past ,what is your opinon of them ?

i have being riding a giant now for two years with no issues.  what sort of price range have you in mind and have you thought about second hand

Gerry's sniffing a sale.

Quote from: Mickey Linden on September 05, 2012, 09:04:39 AM
U know the route the Clan Eireann cycle is following illdecide?

I do Micky, i done a trial run last weekend...Clann Eireann club onto Aghagallon, Aghalee a few mile past that and cut back intowards the Lough and round by Derrymore, Bartons bay and back to Lurgan again...

Quote from: trileacman on September 05, 2012, 10:48:40 PM
Gerry's sniffing a sale.

naw, keeping my current bike for the wet cold January days.  i just think there is loads of good second hand bikes that people are trading up on

Quote from: gerry on September 05, 2012, 10:40:34 PM
i have being riding a giant now for two years with no issues.  what sort of price range have you in mind and have you thought about second hand

It was 2 months since i was talking to the bike dealer i seem to reall him saying between 550 and 600 yo yo's however from reading posts on this thread i would probably be better getting different tyres as well

Done the 25 mile trek today and went great. V good turn out and all for worthy cause (PIPS), hammered it home in the last 3 mile and was busted by the time i got back to the club...sore lower back again but not as bad as last week and done a longer distance today

Quote from: illdecide on September 09, 2012, 10:57:37 PM
Done the 25 mile trek today and went great. V good turn out and all for worthy cause (PIPS), hammered it home in the last 3 mile and was busted by the time i got back to the club...sore lower back again but not as bad as last week and done a longer distance today

Hey, where was that? Thats about my distance. I did 26 mile.

Actually woke up with a splitting headache and thought I would cycle it off, as you can do by jogging.

But it didnt work.

Anybody else using strava? Great app which maps ur cycle and then shows u how to compare to others who have cycled a similar segment of that route. Can't recommend it highly enough

This might strike a chord for a few lads (Mamil's) on here.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-10965608

Worlds on at the minute, TT 2moro with Tony Martin 4/7 in a weak lookin field, no Wiggins, Cancellara & Froome pulled out today, Contador @ 9/2 could be his only threat ( & he mite be saving himself for the roadrace on Sunday).

I've Tommy Voeckler backed EW @ 20's for the road race.

Any one watching road to glory british cycling it's on an the moment on sky 108 . It's about Wiggins and this years tour very interesting