GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: The PRO on July 26, 2017, 04:40:50 PM

Title: Laois Intermediate Football Championship 2017
Post by: The PRO on July 26, 2017, 04:40:50 PM
Can see wins for Emo, Rock, Timahoe and Portlaoise in the first round.
Title: Re: Laois Intermediate Football Championship 2017
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 26, 2017, 06:57:44 PM
Quote from: The PRO on July 26, 2017, 04:40:50 PM
Can see wins for Emo, Rock, Timahoe and Portlaoise in the first round.

Nearly agree with you - The Rock had a poor league. Emo, Courtwood, Timahoe, Portlaoise.

Losers: Annanough, The Rock, Rosenallis, Barrowhouse.
Post by: SCFC on July 29, 2017, 07:46:19 AM
Anyone at any of the games?
Courtwood v The Rock was OK. Nothing too exciting.
The Rock kicked a lot of wides. But to balance that Courtwood missed an open goal through Kinsella. No real standout players but you can see the class of Donogher every time he gets the ball.
The Rock could be in real relegation trouble now. Looks them or Barrowhouse to go down for me.
Emo's championship to lose it seems. Timahoe gone back a long way.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 31, 2017, 01:14:26 PM
Rosenallis were the surprise of the round. Timahoe in the back door will be bad news for Annanough. Barrowhouse & The Rock will be delighted to get each other.
Post by: town1980 on July 31, 2017, 02:33:28 PM
im very disapointed with malachy for playing kevin fitzpatrick its takes him away from the intermediate set up and he will play little or no football for the rest of the year,all is not well in the portlaoise camp over him taking lads who wont feature senior wise  and now as i said will get no game time,,emo for me for the title now unless timahoe mount some sort of recovery but i dont think they will they seem to be poor at the minute
Post by: High Fielder on July 31, 2017, 03:39:46 PM
Is this not the problem in Portlaoise all the time? You have enough to win a Senior and nothing else seems to matter. There are too many players falling by the wayside and no real pressure from the Intermediate team on the Senior players. In my opinion, Portlaoise as a club should have achieved a lot more outside of Laois than it has. No disrespect to Malachy, but they have enough quality without any coach to win any match in Laois.
Post by: Laois fan on July 31, 2017, 03:54:39 PM
Couldnt understand kevin coming on ,game was already won at that stage.whats story with rogers is ge finished with seniors again
Post by: Zooming around on July 31, 2017, 04:47:26 PM
Quote from: Laois fan on July 31, 2017, 03:54:39 PM
Couldnt understand kevin coming on ,game was already won at that stage.whats story with rogers is ge finished with seniors again

Rogers was finished years ago.
Post by: SCFC on July 31, 2017, 06:34:46 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on July 31, 2017, 04:47:26 PM

How many years ago? He has 10 or 11 senior medals!!
Post by: town1980 on July 31, 2017, 09:05:10 PM
High fielder I agree with you I actually don't think mal is progressing us at all and from where I was sitting a lot of the panel were angry with his decisions one of the panel members refused to go on as he wanted to play intermediate and not be used for ten mins and his football done for the year, and mal got very smart with him I heard it yards away and this is my own club I'm giving out about,,o dempseys game is the tie of the round one which will be hard to call
Post by: Zooming around on July 31, 2017, 10:25:39 PM
Quote from: SCFC on July 31, 2017, 06:34:46 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on July 31, 2017, 04:47:26 PM

How many years ago? He has 10 or 11 senior medals!!

Anyone from Portlaoise could have 10/11 medals they were so strong. He was finished as a decent footballer a long time ago. Total waste of good talent.
Post by: High Fielder on July 31, 2017, 11:00:55 PM
Quote from: town1980 on July 31, 2017, 09:05:10 PM
High fielder I agree with you I actually don't think mal is progressing us at all and from where I was sitting a lot of the panel were angry with his decisions one of the panel members refused to go on as he wanted to play intermediate and not be used for ten mins and his football done for the year, and mal got very smart with him I heard it yards away and this is my own club I'm giving out about,,o dempseys game is the tie of the round one which will be hard to call

I think a lot more emphasis needs to be put on your second team. Realistically, you should have two Senior strength teams. It's a funny set up in Portlaoise. You know a lot better than me how it works, but it all looks a bit too laid back at times. The Intermediate and Juinor teams often give the impression that nobody is really over them, which to me seems mad because any coach should want to be over such natural footballers. I understand the frustration of not getting football for the rest of the year, but surely everyone wants to play for the Seniors. Is it possible that the Intermediates is a place to go when you're not wanting to commit fully? I still feel you're far too strong for Laois. Lack of good backs, a ball winning midfielder and killer instinct still the main issues
Post by: Don Draper on August 01, 2017, 08:19:11 AM
Quote from: town1980 on July 31, 2017, 09:05:10 PM
You've some f**king neck to having cuts off Malachy McNulty, you thundering **** of a man. I hope someone opens you up.
Post by: town1980 on August 01, 2017, 09:38:03 AM
why are you using langauage like that ??its my own club im talking about im just relaying what happened saturday evening and yes as a town man im really pissed off with using kevin fitz and him wanting to use more intermediates when the game was clearly over and there was no need for it so whats your problem,this is my opinion,i seen how close and how well kevin played last year on the intermediate side he is a big driving force in getting them to win the competition and now what he wont get a look in for the next few weeks,i agree everyone wants to play senior but he has it all done finals won played in a hell of amount of them and i no as silly as it sounds if he had a chance to play with the intermediates in a final it would have meant the world to him at nearly 40 years of age,so yes i am pissed off with the situation and i no a hell of amount of lads are so keep your sillly language to yourself
Post by: Don Draper on August 01, 2017, 09:53:42 AM
Quote from: town1980 on August 01, 2017, 09:38:03 AM
why are you using langauage like that ??its my own club im talking about im just relaying what happened saturday evening and yes as a town man im really pissed off with using kevin fitz and him wanting to use more intermediates when the game was clearly over and there was no need for it so whats your problem,this is my opinion,i seen how close and how well kevin played last year on the intermediate side he is a big driving force in getting them to win the competition and now what he wont get a look in for the next few weeks,i agree everyone wants to play senior but he has it all done finals won played in a hell of amount of them and i no as silly as it sounds if he had a chance to play with the intermediates in a final it would have meant the world to him at nearly 40 years of age,so yes i am pissed off with the situation and i no a hell of amount of lads are so keep your sillly language to yourself
Kevin Fitz is big enough and ugly enough to look after himself. If he didn't want to play senior, he wouldn't. He's earned the right to do whatever he likes in a Portlaoise jersey, and doesn't need you to fight his battles.

You on the other hand go around here speaking ill and telling baseless rumours about a gentleman like Malachy McNulty, you should be shot with balls of your own shit. f**k off, I'm done with you.
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 01, 2017, 11:36:56 AM
The story above (about a sub refusing to go on) I heard from a very reliable source.
Whatever way it reflects on Malachy McNulty, (and managers will often try to build up large panels for their own selfish reasons- and you have to be selfish to win), it does indicate that all is not smooth sailing in the Portlaoise camp/club! But then I suppose this could be said of any club!
Post by: town1980 on August 01, 2017, 12:00:34 PM
don your a clown so keyser soze also heard it but i actually seen it so its not baseless,you actually sound like a right clown
Post by: Unlaoised on August 01, 2017, 12:16:54 PM
Quote from: town1980 on August 01, 2017, 12:00:34 PM
don your a clown so keyser soze also heard it but i actually seen it so its not baseless,you actually sound like a right clown

I heard this as well I aslo heard a few of the 2nd team weren't happy with Mal trying to get them to play...

I can see both points of view.

Its a pity Portlaoise with Fitzy and a few more would have given the intermediate a right rattle.Then again who's to say they wouldn't have lost them against O'Dempseys anyway.

The language used here is terrible please keep that away from this Laois board.

I know your right in saying Mal is a gentleman etc but if thats what happened it happened it happens in most of the bigger clubs in hurling and football.

I think Rosenallis will be there or there abouts for this title yet but Timahoe and Emo should have a big say yet.

I wonder will being in with clonaslee affect the usually solid Annanough boys(nearly at least a semi every year)

Post by: Keyser Söze on August 01, 2017, 05:16:57 PM
To be honest I'd rather see anyone that Portlaoise (or any other second team) win an Intermediate/Senior A title in either code. It would mean f**k all to them in comparison to the effect it would have on any of the other clubs involved.
It's not like Portlaoise's second team being strong will have any substantial overall benefit for football in the county.
Post by: BobbyBoucherJr on August 02, 2017, 10:28:16 AM
I was close to the subs bench on Saturday and there was only 1 player that didnt want to come on because there was only 1 minute left on the clock, not 10 mins, the game was won at that stage. It made sense not to bring him on for 1 minute and lose him for the intermediates. I dont think the management realised what they were doing, even though they should have. They had to be told to bring Chichi back on instead

I thought it was strange bringing Kevin Fitz on alright as he had no impact on the match and it would have made more sense to move Bruno around to try and get him into the game.
Post by: The PRO on August 02, 2017, 10:45:54 AM
Emo are probably odds on to win this.
Even though Rosenallis beat Timahoe last week, Timahoe if they get Sean Ram, Damien O'Connor and that Lennon lad back, are the only team who might stop them.
Rosenallis are OK but not good enough to win this.
Portlaoise second team isn't as strong as last year's and I'd rule them out.
Courtwood without Luttrell and Doyle won't have enough. Could reach semi.
Annanough unlucky to draw Timahoe in the losers section. Probably looking at a relegation play off.
And The Rock or Barrowhouse will join them in that. Hard to call that game. The winners won't go much further, the losers could well be edged out by Annanough's experience provided they're not distracted by senior commitments.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 02, 2017, 11:07:35 AM
Happens all the time,  if they don't want to play Senior don't tog out.
Post by: SCFC on August 09, 2017, 09:34:15 AM
I'm going for Emo to beat Portlaoise second team by around 8 points. Portlaoise obviously have no interest in the intermediate this year.
Barrowhouse to sneak a win over The Rock tonight. The Rock are aging and haven't shown any signs of being able to win a game this year.
Rosenallis to beat Courtwood. Courtwood weren't great against a poor Rock team. It should be close but confidence will be high in Rosenallis.
Timahoe to edge Annanough. Word is Timahoe are going to be missing a lot of key players for this game including Quigley. Normally, I'd expect them to easily beat their neighbours but it could be a close one.
Post by: The PRO on August 10, 2017, 10:51:42 PM
Super game in Port tonight. Rosenallis 3-13 Courtwood 0-19.
Courtwood were dead and buried at half time, 9 or 10 points down and nearly pulled off a great comeback.
Rosenallis are very impressive really. Young, fast and can score. The worry for them would be conceding 19 points to a Courtwood attack that probably isn't as good as Emo's.
Post by: SCFC on August 23, 2017, 12:36:16 PM
Should be wins for Timahoe and Portlaoise this weekend.
Can't see Emo being beaten by anyone.
Post by: SCFC on September 16, 2017, 02:46:43 PM
Rosenallis found out last night. They got lucky beating an understrength Timahoe in round one.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 18, 2017, 02:13:38 PM
Portlaoise looked good will be decent final. Emo lucky to win the other one, there centre back should of being sent off under nose of the ref midway through the second half. With evan costello to comeback for them you'd imagine they'll do it. A good game in the rain.
Post by: SCFC on September 30, 2017, 12:58:48 PM
Should be a decent final this evening.
Wouldn't rule out Portlaoise. They always have decent footballers all over the field. But I'm saying that Emo to win by 3 points or so.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 01, 2017, 01:45:59 AM
The incredible finish to the Emo v Portlaoise intermediate football final

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/30/watch-incredible-finish-emo-v-portlaoise-intermediate-football-final/
Post by: BobbyBoucherJr on October 06, 2017, 12:26:41 PM
Colin Finn had his red card rescinded I heard and is available tonight. Any word on the Byrne chap from ballylinan, I assume they appealed it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 07, 2017, 02:09:35 AM
Emo will play senior football in 2018 after they defeated Portlaoise in tonight's IFC final replay.

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/10/06/player-manager-lawlor-sublime-emo-crowned-champions/
Post by: SCFC on October 09, 2017, 03:27:23 PM
Congrats to Emo. That's twice they've bounced straight back after relegation from senior.
I think they'll survive next year. Some good young lads coming through from minor.