Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: topcuppla on May 27, 2015, 08:03:55 AM

Title: FIFA Corruption arrests.
Post by: topcuppla on May 27, 2015, 08:03:55 AM
Hardly surprising.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/32895057 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/32895057)
Title: Re: FIFA Corruption arrests.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 27, 2015, 08:22:20 AM
I wonder are these arrests deliberately timed to influence the vote on Friday? Would love to see Blatter get kicked out.
Post by: Wee Roddy on May 27, 2015, 10:56:17 AM
I can remember at the time that the WC was awarded to Qatar upon seeing Prince Williams face, thinking to myself that Blatter, who hates the FA, is messing with the wrong type of people to be in charge of a mere football operation. I wonder were the Brits behind this?
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 27, 2015, 11:03:04 AM
If we can get the finger out Casement could yet host the World Cup!!
Post by: OakleafCounty on May 27, 2015, 11:08:27 AM
The FBI and Swiss authorities are carrying out the investigation. The CONCACAF headquarters in Miami are also getting raided now. It's great to see such a rotten organisation finally starting to face the consequences of corruption.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 27, 2015, 11:16:19 AM
Round up all the corrupt fcukers. They make FF look like an ould ones knitting circle. I would love to see Blatter in jail.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 27, 2015, 11:22:22 AM
Blatter et al are stains on world football. But some of the blame are lies with the organisations and individuals that kept this shower in power for so long. Self interest is the keyword in this and I'll rear up if John Delaney starts pontificating on how the FAI always wanted change....yada yada yada.

World Cup in Qatar - you may as well be having the Olympics in Ballymahon.
Post by: laoislad on May 27, 2015, 12:06:59 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 27, 2015, 11:22:22 AM
Blatter et al are stains on world football. But some of the blame are lies with the organisations and individuals that kept this shower in power for so long. Self interest is the keyword in this and I'll rear up if John Delaney starts pontificating on how the FAI always wanted change....yada yada yada.

Sure once ye have the Centre Parcs who knows what ye will get!
Post by: Bensars on May 27, 2015, 12:38:06 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 27, 2015, 08:22:20 AM
I wonder are these arrests deliberately timed to influence the vote on Friday? Would love to see Blatter get kicked out.

Heard on radio, Switzerland have an extradition arrangement with States. This made it handy to have them all in one place, arrest en masse and avoid any extradiction complications in other parts of the world.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2015, 01:01:49 PM
There was a routine FIFA meeting scheduled in Geneva for today - I guess this swoop has been planned for a while. 
Post by: ludermor on May 27, 2015, 01:10:24 PM

Delaney obviously has a lot of influence in UFEA http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/32891267
Delaney said the FAI will also back Prince Ali and that Blatter should step down for "the good of the game".
"If he was doing the right thing by football, which he says he cares and loves, then he should step aside and let somebody else come forward and improve the image of the world game," added Delaney.
"Uefa's image is very good, which is run by a good friend of mine Michel Platini. "I can go to Uefa and ask 'can we increase the Euros from 16 teams to 24' which I did, they get that.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 27, 2015, 03:15:00 PM
John Delaney is some gobdaw.
Post by: stew on May 27, 2015, 03:39:26 PM
Unfortunately I have little to no faith in my fellow man and think this w**ker will get elected again despite this aptly timed happening in Switzerland.

The house of cards is collapsing and it cannot happen quickly enough, I would love to see that bastard Blatter behind bars.
Post by: Boycey on May 27, 2015, 06:48:41 PM
Is the House of Blatter about to fall?

UEFA have called for the postponement of FIFA presidential election and says it may boycott congress altogether.
Post by: muppet on May 27, 2015, 07:04:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 27, 2015, 03:15:00 PM
John Delaney is some gobdaw.

;D ;D ;D

"If he was doing the right thing by football, which he says he cares and loves, then he should step aside and let somebody else come forward and improve the image of the world game," added Delaney.
"Uefa's image is very good, which is run by a good friend of mine Michel Platini. "I can go to Uefa and ask 'can we increase the Euros from 16 teams to 24' which I did, they get that.

After reading his 2nd line, I think Delaney should listen to the advice in the first himself.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 27, 2015, 07:14:51 PM
Corruption in FIFA, well i never seen that coming lol
Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2015, 07:44:47 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 27, 2015, 01:10:24 PM

Delaney obviously has a lot of influence in UFEA http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/32891267
Delaney said the FAI will also back Prince Ali and that Blatter should step down for "the good of the game".

Have to say that I'm glad Delaney has got a (very small) chance to stick the Knife and twist it into Blatter. As bad as Delaney is, Blatter acted  a complete and utter P***k during the Henry handball incident.

Soccer is corrupt at all levels of the professional side of the game. Can only be expected with the money involved.  The Amateur level in Ireland is huge and does brilliant work.
Post by: stew on May 27, 2015, 09:34:55 PM
Blatter is sudenly going to get ill and will be too frail to A. Continue in his capacity as FIFA President and B. To stand trial for the sins he was involved in/oversaw in fixing world cup venues, bribery and corruption and most importantly, the use of slave labor in Qatar and Africa among other places.

The man is pure scum and I hope he rots in jail.
Post by: muppet on May 27, 2015, 11:38:10 PM
Quote from: stew on May 27, 2015, 09:34:55 PM
Blatter is sudenly going to get ill and will be too frail to A. Continue in his capacity as FIFA President and B. To stand trial for the sins he was involved in/oversaw in fixing world cup venues, bribery and corruption and most importantly, the use of slave labor in Qatar and Africa among other places.

I suspect Blatter is, shall we say, unreliable. I hope any investigation confirms my beliefs. I suspected Lance Armstrong was the same and was delighted when my beliefs were confirmed.

Stew iirc you attacked posters on here for questioning Lance Armstrong without evidence, yet without evidence (unless you have something in which case please show it) you want Blatter to rot in jail.

Post by: Billys Boots on May 28, 2015, 09:06:49 AM
I don't know what the issue is here with Delaney - he's not the best 'performer' I've ever seen, but I think he's been effective in terms of what he's working with.  The state of grassroots and under-age football has improved greatly under his watch - there's still a way to go, but it's definitely going in the right direction.  What else can you ask of the man?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 11:54:55 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 27, 2015, 07:44:47 PM

Have to say that I'm glad Delaney has got a (very small) chance to stick the Knife and twist it into Blatter. As bad as Delaney is, Blatter acted  a complete and utter P***k during the Henry handball incident.

Soccer is corrupt at all levels of the professional side of the game. Can only be expected with the money involved.  The Amateur level in Ireland is huge and does brilliant work.

He basically lampooned us for being up in arms about being cheated so blatantly. He laughed at us. sc**bag.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 28, 2015, 12:13:15 PM
I think Delaney could have shouted STOP at least 5 years ago. Nobody would have listened but what matter. He'd be on record opposing Blatter as opposed to be viewed as being overly loyal to Blatter's until the other day. When Blatter publicly laughed at the "33rd team" at the 2010 World Cup Delaney should have sown in the boot.

I appreciate the work Delaney has done on the grassroots. Comes across as a clown sometimes in the media and that's his own fault. Tries to be all things to "the best supporters in the wurrild" and this is his Achilles heel.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 12:19:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 28, 2015, 12:13:15 PM
I think Delaney could have shouted STOP at least 5 years ago. Nobody would have listened but what matter. He'd be on record opposing Blatter as opposed to be viewed as being overly loyal to Blatter's until the other day. When Blatter publicly laughed at the "33rd team" at the 2010 World Cup Delaney should have sown in the boot.

I appreciate the work Delaney has done on the grassroots. Comes across as a clown sometimes in the media and that's his own fault. Tries to be all things to "the best supporters in the wurrild" and this is his Achilles heel.

I just think he is grossly overpaid (partially by us taxpayers) and oversees an organisation with a patchy, at best, track record. He's there a long time to have some grassroots underage coaching improvements as his only success. Any organisation with money to spend can pay coaches to coach kids.
Post by: Canalman on May 28, 2015, 01:11:04 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 11:54:55 AM

He basically lampooned us for being up in arms about being cheated so blatantly. He laughed at us. sc**bag.

Think and I could be wrong that he laughed at the suggestion that was made  that an extra place be made for us in the WC finals.

Henry handball a blessing in disguise. A hardluck story to stoke our inherent sense of injustice. Priceless.
Post by: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 01:31:58 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 11:54:55 AM

And anyone he directed it at deserved it for being so moronic about it. Players cheat constantly in games, it just happened that this particular instance cost Ireland a goal. Robbie Keane cheated earlier in that campaign to grab a winner over Georgia I think it was and nobody every brings it up. Laughable.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 01:38:14 PM
The "33rd team" suggestion and the reaction after Thierry Henry's deliberate handball were a bit OTT but for the top man in world soccer to come out and publically laugh at Ireland over it was a complete disgrace. It gave an insight into the type of individual you have here. Basically scum.
Post by: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 01:42:49 PM
He is absolutely scum, but if your issue with him is that he was withering about the pathetic appeal of the FAI and the hypocritical bleating of the Irish people over Henry, rather then you know, slave workers in Qatar, deaths of slave workers in Qatar, gay bashing in both Russia and Qatar or the overall corruption and moral emptiness of FIFA, then I'd suggest your priorities are wrong.
Post by: deiseach on May 28, 2015, 01:43:00 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 01:31:58 PM
And anyone he directed it at deserved it for being so moronic about it. Players cheat constantly in games, it just happened that this particular instance cost Ireland a goal. Robbie Keane cheated earlier in that campaign to grab a winner over Georgia I think it was and nobody every brings it up. Laughable.

I'm pretty Robbie was penalised during the France game for handling the ball. Twice. On each occasion he gave his best who-me? stare at the ref.
Post by: deiseach on May 28, 2015, 01:44:15 PM
If the sponsors withdraw then Blatter is toast. Which, if you think about it too hard, is even more depressing.
Post by: muppet on May 28, 2015, 02:07:36 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 28, 2015, 01:44:15 PM
If the sponsors withdraw then Blatter is toast. Which, if you think about it too hard, is even more depressing.

This looks like a co-ordinated attack to me.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 04:19:31 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 01:42:49 PM
He is absolutely scum, but if your issue with him is that he was withering about the pathetic appeal of the FAI and the hypocritical bleating of the Irish people over Henry, rather then you know, slave workers in Qatar, deaths of slave workers in Qatar, gay bashing in both Russia and Qatar or the overall corruption and moral emptiness of FIFA, then I'd suggest your priorities are wrong.

No - my priorities are correct. The other things are way more serious and a given. This issue is related more to Ireland and as I said for a sports administrator to conduct himself the way this guy does is beyond belief.

It does look like the arrests and sponsors statements etc are a co-ordinated attack. Fair play to whoever is behind it anyway - this dirtbird and his backers have to be removed.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2015, 04:30:07 PM

What are you on about Riobbie Keane cheating against Georgia to get a winner? Senseless drivel.

Post by: stew on May 28, 2015, 04:43:42 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 27, 2015, 11:03:04 AM
If we can get the finger out Casement could yet host the World Cup!!

Aye, sure Windsor could host the final! :)
Post by: Syferus on May 28, 2015, 04:52:57 PM
Blatter is amazing.
Post by: stew on May 28, 2015, 04:59:33 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 27, 2015, 11:38:10 PM

I suspect Blatter is, shall we say, unreliable. I hope any investigation confirms my beliefs. I suspected Lance Armstrong was the same and was delighted when my beliefs were confirmed.

Stew iirc you attacked posters on here for questioning Lance Armstrong without evidence, yet without evidence (unless you have something in which case please show it) you want Blatter to rot in jail.

Eh Armstrong never had a released positive test and was the single most tested Athlete of all Time.

Blatters FIFA has had top officials jailed for asking for Bribes.

Jack Warner.

CONACAF. Jack Warner, whistleblowers, the IRS, The Government of the United States has built a case against the **** spanning decades.

The way he went against FIFA's own rules and seeded the playoffs which had a direct impact on Ireland when they were involved, he tried to get the French and the Russians in and got that half right, no way was that bastard going to give Ireland another crack at the French, too many eyeballs and too much money to let that happen.

Islands with a population of 5,000 that are not even considered a nation have the same voting rights as Germany, England or Brazil.

His track record of allowing workers to be abused in South Africa and his backing of Qatar even though those bastards are holding foreign nationals passports and refusing to let them out of the country, one of who was an Austrian division 2 player of some note.

The man has been a blight on the sport for forty years and I stand by my comments, if you cannot see the difference between his case and that of Armstrongs I cannot help you.

Post by: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 05:16:34 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2015, 04:30:07 PM

What are you on about Riobbie Keane cheating against Georgia to get a winner? Senseless drivel.

My recollection is that prior to the absolute joke of a penalty (which Ireland were only too happy to get), Keane handled the ball played into him after it came off his chest. Nothing senseless about it.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2015, 06:42:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 05:16:34 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2015, 04:30:07 PM

My recollection is that prior to the absolute joke of a penalty (which Ireland were only too happy to get), Keane handled the ball played into him after it came off his chest. Nothing senseless about it.
You haven't said anything  to support your  claim that "Robbie Keane cheated earlier in that campaign to grab a winner over Georgia", The winner in that game was scored by a diving header by Keane, there were no issues with it at all.

Now you seamlessly move your goalposts  and  change the narrative of your story to some  event before "a joke of a penalty".
It was no joke of a penalty to those who understand the laws. It was a soft penalty to concede but it was a penalty, the ref was looking right at it, the Georgian defender made a slight but no ticable movement towards the ball, making contact to the ball with his upper arm. It was soft but it was 100% kosher and it came after a stonewall penalty claim was denied earlier. A penalty is awarded against a player who deliberately makes a movement  using  their upper arm to nudge the ball away, even if there is no goal threat.
Strange that you saw a Keane handball in the buildup that nobody else claimed  happened, probably because the ball came off Robbie's chest.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvewicmRNdw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvewicmRNdw)
Post by: Zulu on May 28, 2015, 07:48:57 PM
Don't know about the Keane incident but Gallsman is 100% right about the embarrassing carry on of the FAI and many Irish folk over Henry's handball. A tough break for Ireland but one that has happened a hundred times over to countless teams and individuals in sport.
Post by: stew on May 28, 2015, 09:11:16 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 28, 2015, 07:48:57 PM
Don't know about the Keane incident but Gallsman is 100% right about the embarrassing carry on of the FAI and many Irish folk over Henry's handball. A tough break for Ireland but one that has happened a hundred times over to countless teams and individuals in sport.

It was embarrassing but Blatter was no doubt delighted it happened, Population was what he was going after, he wanted all the biggest countries there so more money could be spent and he has been a nightmare and a blight on football for forty years!
Post by: armaghniac on May 28, 2015, 09:49:35 PM
it said there on TV that the FIFA HQ had 4 subterranean levels, just like the barracks in Cross! Perhaps the IFA should move there. 
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2015, 09:54:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 28, 2015, 07:48:57 PM
Well if you cared you could look at the linked  video and offer an opinion but it might disturb your elevation of Gallsman  to the level of oracle,
However, just because you agree with Gallsman does not mean he's 100% right. unless you are under the illusion that you are 100% right.  Is this a discussion with absolutists and Indiana isn't even involved? :)

Henry's was a blatant piece of cheating which he wasn't proud of, neither were many of his peers or his compatriots,  around the world the incident hit a sentiment,  it was an extraordinary incident in a very high profile game, by one of the world's great players in a top european team against one of the underdog teams who had given a great account of themselves in the game. So yes any Irish soccer fan had a right to feel aggrieved and done by,  but sure enough you find 'assholes pointing out as if we didn't know, that actually there is a bit a cheating in the game etc etc.
'Ah sure  there was some cheating 2 years ago by so and so  therefore   get over it'  nonsense
  Delaney can act the complete buffoon , why is that news? we know that,   but as was pointed out, Blatter acted the complete and utter ásshole by humiliating him and the FAI on the public stage, that incident  was to Blatter's discredit not the FAI.
What you haven't noted in the article is that Delaney takes credit for inspiring UEFA to make progressive changes, claims he is a good friend of Platini, and  that UEFA are smart enough to realise that Delaney is a man they can listen to and get guidance.
Post by: Zulu on May 28, 2015, 10:20:34 PM
I didn't elevate gallsman to 'the level of Oracle', whatever that means, I simply agreed with him that we were embarrassingly ridiculous in our moaning about an incident that happens every week in sport. I just watched your link and I thought we got a very soft penalty but that has nothing to do with my view that we were an embarrassment in our moaning about the French goal. Cheating goes on every week in soccer, by Irish soccer players too, so climbing on the high moral ground like many Irish soccer folk did was an utter embarrassment. And that's not to mention how we would have ridiculed the French if the shoe was on the other foot for complaining. The reaction of the Irish soccer crowd to the handball must be a low point in Irish sport, our whinging was  a joke.
Post by: Syferus on May 28, 2015, 10:24:11 PM
We were right to make a stink. Hell it was one of the key moments in Blatter caving on more officials behind the goal.
Post by: Zulu on May 28, 2015, 10:29:52 PM
No we weren't. I'd give some credence if it was for a day or two while emotions were high but pissing and moaning for days (weeks?) on end was a national joke.
Post by: An Watcher on May 28, 2015, 10:51:59 PM
I'm no fan of FIFA but I do feel they're being targeted because they didn't give the brits the world cup. A few news stories about blatter and everyone jumps on the bandwagon. What has he done that is so wrong? I've no complaints if he's shafted a few PL teams or annoyed the English soccer team. England are not the world governing body.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2015, 11:35:07 PM
Given Qatar a world cup stunk the place out, at the time of the bid i don't think they had a stadium even built, they haven't even focused on that one yet. For place like the cayman islands with a population of 50,000 to have the same vote of germany 70 million pop or France 60 million pop  with numerous professional football teams and professional players does not make sense. Some sort of main committee is needed in line with the United nations big 5, a presidency should only be for 2 terms maximum. a candidate must put forward his vision for fifa in alive debate with other, all payments must be done through official channels and open to check by govt. bodies to ensure no tax evasion, money lying in the cayman island etc and dodgy dealings.
Post by: Minder on May 28, 2015, 11:41:05 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 28, 2015, 10:51:59 PM
I'm no fan of FIFA but I do feel they're being targeted because they didn't give the brits the world cup. A few news stories about blatter and everyone jumps on the bandwagon. What has he done that is so wrong? I've no complaints if he's shafted a few PL teams or annoyed the English soccer team. England are not the world governing body.

It was a U.S. inquiry
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2015, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 28, 2015, 10:20:34 PM
I didn't elevate gallsman to 'the level of Oracle', whatever that means, I simply agreed with him that we were embarrassingly ridiculous in our moaning about an incident that happens every week in sport. I just watched your link and I thought we got a very soft penalty but that has nothing to do with my view that we were an embarrassment in our moaning about the French goal. Cheating goes on every week in soccer, by Irish soccer players too, so climbing on the high moral ground like many Irish soccer folk did was an utter embarrassment. And that's not to mention how we would have ridiculed the French if the shoe was on the other foot for complaining. The reaction of the Irish soccer crowd to the handball must be a low point in Irish sport, our whinging was  a joke.

You're missing the point. The reaction of Irish people and the FAI is a completely separate issue (and I think most of us largely agree about that). However, laughing and joking about cheating and ridiculing the "victim" (for want of a better word) by the top administrator in the world governing body of a sport has never happened in my memory in any other sport. It beggars belief. This guy staunchly opposes technology. Hopefully the guys that are currently indicted spill the beans to save their own arses and Blatter gets nailed. An odious man.
Post by: stew on May 29, 2015, 04:43:33 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 28, 2015, 10:51:59 PM

Utter balls!

I have no time for the English FA, arseholes to be sure but the English simply are not big enough to make this happen, nobody is individually, the fact is the Swiss and the Yanks have been prudent and are now borderline arrogant in this issue, this has been going on for years and the FBI have done their due dilligence!

Post by: foxcommander on May 29, 2015, 07:52:31 AM
It takes the yanks to do the world policing....

F* yeah!
Post by: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 09:20:33 AM
Last week, Blatter and a couple of FIFA officials visited Palestine and Israel ahead of a vote to expel Israel due to their treatment of Palestinian footballers and clubs and having 5 teams based in occupied territory .

The vote is to take place today at the FIFA convention

Netanyahu told reporters yesterday that if Israel is suspended "it would be a blatant politicisation of sport and the result will be Fifa's collapse".

Given how Israel pull many strings at the top levels of Government in the USA, I wouldn't doubt for a second that they were pulling strings in this ongoing FIFA scandal.

A couple of articles for reading

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/may/29/palestinian-football-association-to-push-ahead-for-israels-suspension-from-fifa

http://www.fifa.com/about-fifa/news/y=2015/m=5/news=fifa-president-blatter-concludes-visit-to-israeli-and-palestinian-auth-2607075.html

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2015/05/palestinians-await-fifa-decision-israel-suspension-150527055903301.html

https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/news/middle-east/18912-independent-jewish-voices-joins-activists-in-demanding-fifa-show-israel-the-red-card
Post by: Over the Bar on May 29, 2015, 09:35:41 AM
On a lighter note....

http://www.teamtalk.com/news/2483/9868224/Uruguay-union-to-challenge-FIFA-ban-on-Luis-Suarez

Post by: muppet on May 29, 2015, 11:01:16 AM
Quote from: stew on May 28, 2015, 04:59:33 PM

Eh Armstrong never had a released positive test and was the single most tested Athlete of all Time.

Jack Warner.

CONACAF. Jack Warner, whistleblowers, the IRS, The Government of the United States has built a case against the **** spanning decades.

The way he went against FIFA's own rules and seeded the playoffs which had a direct impact on Ireland when they were involved, he tried to get the French and the Russians in and got that half right, no way was that b**tard going to give Ireland another crack at the French, too many eyeballs and too much money to let that happen.

Islands with a population of 5,000 that are not even considered a nation have the same voting rights as Germany, England or Brazil.

His track record of allowing workers to be abused in South Africa and his backing of Qatar even though those b**tards are holding foreign nationals passports and refusing to let them out of the country, one of who was an Austrian division 2 player of some note.

The man has been a blight on the sport for forty years and I stand by my comments, if you cannot see the difference between his case and that of Armstrongs I cannot help you.

You missed my point.

You condemned anyone who criticised Armstrong, because of no smoking gun.

You are now doing the same.

(And now we know that Armstrong DID test positive as did most of his teammates. And it was Armstrong who insists he was the most tested athlete of all time - he is hardly a reliable source is he?).

I will be as happy as anyone if Blatter goes down. But I want to wait and see what exactly he did that is indictable, rather than 'allowing workers' to be abused. If you wear top sports brands you are doing the same.
Post by: easytiger95 on May 29, 2015, 11:17:55 AM
Lads, you don't need a big conspiracy on this one. The failure of the US bid for the World Cup, or even to make the shortlist, despite a hugely expensive campaign, opened the eyes of many involved (including Bill Clinton) to the incredible open corruption of FIFA. It wasn't going to be long after that the US Justice department were going to start casting around for leads.

Throw in the brilliant Chuck Blazer living in Trump Towers with not one, but two apartments (the second one was for his cats) and the whole house of cards was going to fall.

Once the Feds have two possibly linked criminal acts, they can break out the RICO laws - and once they are after you for racketeering, you can forget about it. Add in that most of the international money transfer transactions in the world go through US banks, then you have wire fraud and money laundering as well.

Now, unlike HSBC, FIFA have no pull with the US, throw in the fact that the US have been making a lot of noises about repatriating tax money from Swiss Bank accounts, and you have a perfect storm for FIFA and Dr Evil. They done messed with the wrong boys, because if there is one thing the Yanks like, it is a fair fix.
Post by: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 11:51:04 AM
This is not an article from The Onion or Waterford Whisperers..... 

Senator John McCain on Thursday proposed military action to "dismantle and destroy FIFA once and for all."

"These are people who only understand one thing: force," McCain said on the floor of the United States Senate. "We must make FIFA taste the vengeful might and fury of the United States military."

http://www.newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report/mccain-urges-military-strikes-against-fifa
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2015, 11:51:25 AM
Quoteif there is one thing the Yanks like, it is a fair fix

Nail on head, corruption stinks unless its their corruption. 
Post by: gallsman on May 29, 2015, 11:53:53 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 11:51:04 AM

Senator John McCain on Thursday proposed military action to "dismantle and destroy FIFA once and for all."

"These are people who only understand one thing: force," McCain said on the floor of the United States Senate. "We must make FIFA taste the vengeful might and fury of the United States military."

http://www.newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report/mccain-urges-military-strikes-against-fifa

No it's not, but it is satire of a similar variety. Surely you didn't think it was real?
Post by: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 12:00:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 29, 2015, 11:53:53 AM

No it's not, but it is satire of a similar variety. Surely you didn't think it was real?

Of course it's real. Sure he said this as well......

McCain requested a four-billion-dollar aid package for moderate elements within global soccer, and said that the United States should be prepared to put boots on the ground in Switzerland.
Post by: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 12:13:23 PM
A bomb threat has been received at the FIFA Congress in Zurich, Swiss police have confirmed to SRF News.

Authorities were alerted around 11 a.m. local time, police spokesman Marco Cortesi confirmed.

It remains unknown whether the congress will resume.

http://rt.com/news/263137-bomb-threat-fifa-congress/
Post by: AZOffaly on May 29, 2015, 12:15:57 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 12:00:03 PM

McCain requested a four-billion-dollar aid package for moderate elements within global soccer, and said that the United States should be prepared to put boots on the ground in Switzerland.

That's not real GHD. Look at the URL. Holy God.
Post by: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 12:21:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 29, 2015, 12:15:57 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on May 29, 2015, 12:00:03 PM

That's not real GHD. Look at the URL. Holy God.

Of course its not real......
Post by: gallsman on May 29, 2015, 12:41:33 PM
The thing is, your opening line, which effectively says "this is not from a satirical news site", suggests you believed it so and couldn't wait to jump at the chance to have a go at the gun totin' yank.
Post by: stew on May 29, 2015, 03:41:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 29, 2015, 11:01:16 AM
Quote from: stew on May 28, 2015, 04:59:33 PM

I did not miss your point muppet!

So its a smoking gun you want is it????

1998 ELECTION

A key turning point to understanding FIFA's modern history and Qatar's influence.

After 24 years of Joao Havelange's presidency, FIFA member federations had a clear choice in choosing his successor.

Sepp Blatter was Havelange's long-time top administrator who intimately knew FIFA's culture. He had Havelange's support and use of an airplane from the then-Emir of Qatar, according to author David Yallop's 1999 book "How They Stole The Game."

Lennart Johansson, a FIFA vice president from Sweden, promised financial transparency. He was backed by Europe and Africa and seemed likely to get more votes.

Mohamed bin Hammam of Qatar was then a FIFA executive committee member and key campaigner for Blatter.

Before the vote in Paris, intense late lobbying in hotels included widely reported offers of $50,000 to African delegates.

Blatter won 111-80, enough for Johansson to concede defeat before a second-round run-off.

At his victory news conference, Blatter dismissed questions of corruption, though he has since referred to reported vote-buying at the Meridien Montparnasse hotel.

"I will maintain that I was not there so it couldn't be me," Blatter said during his 2011 election contest — against Bin Hammam.

___

QATAR QUESTION

The FIFA executive committee's choice of Qatar as 2022 World Cup host was the explosive event of Blatter's third term and dominated his fourth. Cases of unethical behavior by some voters are still open.

Few think Blatter voted for Qatar, whose victory raised Bin Hammam's status six months before the 2011 FIFA presidential election.

Still, Blatter's reputation suffered. The 2018-2022 bidding contests showed a culture of entitlement and disregard for rules by some executive committee members which had festered on Blatter's watch.

An undercover sting by British newspaper The Sunday Times revealed the corruption that defined the bidding contests won by Russia and Qatar.

The 24-man executive committee of 2010 is now largely discredited: A life ban for Bin Hammam, shorter bans for others, some resignations to avoid FIFA sanctions and many allegations that were unproven.

Qatar has retained its 2022 hosting rights after a FIFA ethics investigation judged that wrongdoing by several bid candidates did not influence the results.

___

2011 ELECTION

Bin Hammam was boosted by Qatar's win and tired of waiting for old ally Blatter to leave. He ran for the presidency in 2011.

Blatter first promised European voters, then all FIFA members in a manifesto letter, that he would certainly stand aside in 2015 if he won.

In a tight race, 35 votes from the North American confederation seemed key.

Blatter pledged $1 million of FIFA money — a gift now barred by election rules — at CONCACAF's assembly one month before polling.

The next week, Bin Hammam went to Trinidad to meet Caribbean delegates who were offered $40,000 cash per country. Some of them blew the whistle to CONCACAF secretary general Chuck Blazer, an American smarting from the loss of World Cup hosting to Qatar.

The ensuing bribery scandal saw Bin Hamman withdraw days before the vote, then suspended by the FIFA ethics committee.

Blatter was re-elected unopposed and Bin Hammam, who suspected complicity in a plot to entrap him, never returned to FIFA.

___

CLUMSY WITH KICKBACKS

For 12 years of Blatter's reign, the kickbacks scandal of FIFA's former marketing partner ISL was a toxic threat.

Jack Warner.

The way he went against FIFA's own rules and seeded the playoffs which had a direct impact on Ireland when they were involved, he tried to get the French and the Russians in and got that half right, no way was that b**tard going to give Ireland another crack at the French, too many eyeballs and too much money to let that happen.

His track record of allowing workers to be abused in South Africa and his backing of Qatar even though those b**tards are holding foreign nationals passports and refusing to let them out of the country, one of who was an Austrian division 2 player of some note.

You missed my point.

You condemned anyone who criticised Armstrong, because of no smoking gun.

You are now doing the same.

(And now we know that Armstrong DID test positive as did most of his teammates. And it was Armstrong who insists he was the most tested athlete of all time - he is hardly a reliable source is he?).

I will be as happy as anyone if Blatter goes down. But I want to wait and see what exactly he did that is indictable, rather than 'allowing workers' to be abused. If you wear top sports brands you are doing the same.

Were the results of this test Armstrong had ever released at or close to the time they were taken? NO!

Armstrong was constantly tested and passed thousands of tests, he deserved to be considered innocent until proven guilty based on the fact that he always tested negative.

I saw him once cycling up a mountain eating a sandwich with both hands off the handlebars, he passed the guy in second who was toiling away, head down dying as Armstrong passed him like it was nothing, at that point it was obvious he was juicing but still he had never tested positive as far as we knew.

Blatters track record is horrendous on human rights, bribery and corruption, he bribed people himself as the article on human rights is deplorable and getting worse.

As bad a man as Armstrong is, Blatter is worse simply because he has far more power to wield and uses it to great effect to further his agenda.

Again, the body of wrongdoing, mismanagement and knavery is there for all to see over a period of forty years, especially the last seventeen since he has been President, there is a start difference in these cases and it is an unfair comparison in many way, an individual riding for a tiny team as opposed to a corrupt dictator who runs the biggest sporting body the world has ever seen.
Post by: stew on May 29, 2015, 04:01:35 PM
Former FIFA vice president Jack Warner gave a defiant speech to supporters a day after he was charged in a U.S. corruption case that has led to the arrests of more than a dozen international football officials and businessmen.

Warner left a Trinidad jail by ambulance on Thursday, with judicial officer Ibrahim Ali saying Warner had complained of exhaustion and was not able to face questions from reporters gathered for several hours outside the jail.

Officials within his Independent Liberal Party said in a statement that he would speak at a community meeting on Thursday night, and the 72-year-old appeared in front of supporters in the district he represents as an opposition member of the Trinidad and Tobago Parliament.

Warner said: "If I have been thieving FIFA money for 30 years, who gave me the money? How come he is not charged? Why only persons from Third World countries have been charged?"

I seem to recall saying Blatter would pull the 'I am sick as fcuk' card, Warner, his one time bestie just threw him under the bus, these rotten bastard leeches are going down, they will turn on each other to save their own skins and I hope there is a boycott by EUFA and others of the next two world cups if Blatter gets re-elected, the English are already talking about that option.

Who the f**k wants to go to Russia given the state of that country both financially and morally?

I hope the WC, the next two are taken from these two countries the second they find evidence they rigged the vote, but only if they find it.
Post by: topcuppla on May 29, 2015, 04:04:11 PM
There is no way they will take it off Russia with that mental bastard in charge.
Post by: JoG2 on May 29, 2015, 04:07:10 PM
Quote from: stew on May 29, 2015, 04:01:35 PM
Former FIFA vice president Jack Warner gave a defiant speech to supporters a day after he was charged in a U.S. corruption case that has led to the arrests of more than a dozen international football officials and businessmen.

Warner left a Trinidad jail by ambulance on Thursday, with judicial officer Ibrahim Ali saying Warner had complained of exhaustion and was not able to face questions from reporters gathered for several hours outside the jail.

Officials within his Independent Liberal Party said in a statement that he would speak at a community meeting on Thursday night, and the 72-year-old appeared in front of supporters in the district he represents as an opposition member of the Trinidad and Tobago Parliament.

Warner said: "If I have been thieving FIFA money for 30 years, who gave me the money? How come he is not charged? Why only persons from Third World countries have been charged?"

I seem to recall saying Blatter would pull the 'I am sick as fcuk' card, Warner, his one time bestie just threw him under the bus, these rotten b**tard leeches are going down, they will turn on each other to save their own skins and I hope there is a boycott by EUFA and others of the next two world cups if Blatter gets re-elected, the English are already talking about that option.

Who the f**k wants to go to Russia given the state of that country both financially and morally?

I hope the WC, the next two are taken from these two countries the second they find evidence they rigged the vote, but only if they find it.

thats key. If they do, the sponsors go and Blatter goes through the mincer. He has pocketed so much he will be a rich man til his dying breath. Jail time is whats needed (note to Blatterites...IF he is proved guilty of corruption etc)
Post by: stew on May 29, 2015, 04:16:49 PM
There are those who say he never took a dime but was ok with those that did as long as they were in his pocket, to me, if true he should be locked up.

If not true he should resign as too much nad shit has gone down on his watch, but then again the only World body bigger than FIFA, The Catholic Church Canonized the man who was Pope when the sex scandals broke, these rich f**kers look after their own.

Post by: muppet on May 29, 2015, 04:21:11 PM
Quote from: stew on May 29, 2015, 03:41:20 PM
Were the results of this test Armstrong had ever released at or close to the time they were taken? NO!

Armstrong was constantly tested and passed thousands of tests, he deserved to be considered innocent until proven guilty based on the fact that he always tested negative.

I saw him once cycling up a mountain eating a sandwich with both hands off the handlebars, he passed the guy in second who was toiling away, head down dying as Armstrong passed him like it was nothing, at that point it was obvious he was juicing but still he had never tested positive as far as we knew.

Blatters track record is horrendous on human rights, bribery and corruption, he bribed people himself as the article on human rights is deplorable and getting worse.

As bad a man as Armstrong is, Blatter is worse simply because he has far more power to wield and uses it to great effect to further his agenda.

Any objective observer knew Armstrong's story simply wasn't credible. There was a failed test but it was covered up and Armstrong was well away of this.

Blatter's story looks to be about as credible as Armstrong's imho. But you still claim Armstrong was entitled to be considered innocent until proven guilty someone exposed the cover-ups?
Post by: stew on May 29, 2015, 04:29:31 PM
Muppet I thought he was guilty, I just was not willing to take a chance on being wrong and ruin an individual unless the evidence was there.

Blatter runs the most corrupt and biggest sporting body the planet has ever seen, he is the CEO who is in charge of billions of dollars and he has tens of thousands of employees all over the world that are accountable to him.

I have posted enough information on here to help you understand my point of view and I stand by it.

Finally, in my opinion this Prince is not the option either, in the cold light of day I think he will be found wanting for his act in 2010. I just wish Platini would run! ;)
Post by: muppet on May 29, 2015, 04:39:47 PM
Quote from: stew on May 29, 2015, 04:29:31 PM
Muppet I thought he was guilty, I just was not willing to take a chance on being wrong and ruin an individual unless the evidence was there.

Blatter runs the most corrupt and biggest sporting body the planet has ever seen, he is the CEO who is in charge of billions of dollars and he has tens of thousands of employees all over the world that are accountable to him.

I have posted enough information on here to help you understand my point of view and I stand by it.

Finally, in my opinion this Prince is not the option either, in the cold light of day I think he will be found wanting for his act in 2010. I just wish Platini would run! ;)

Fair enough.

I am not so convinced by Platini either. Did he switch his vote from the US to Qatar?

Wonderful player though.
Post by: dec on May 29, 2015, 06:27:43 PM
Blatter re elected

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-32937639
Post by: AZOffaly on May 29, 2015, 06:29:39 PM
It is such a farce. Reminded me of the Godfather, with all the auld lads in suits, very well fed, kissing each other on the cheek.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 29, 2015, 07:31:28 PM
Just shows all the voters out there that owes him favours. Scratch back stuff! He seems to be the Charlie Haughey of Football politics!
Post by: foxcommander on May 31, 2015, 05:08:44 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 29, 2015, 07:31:28 PM
Just shows all the voters out there that owes him favours. Scratch back stuff! He seems to be the Charlie Haughey of Football politics!

They've all had their hand in the till somewhere along the line - if blatter falls who might he take along with him for the ride. These fellas are all sh** scared since Webb & co might do time in the states.

They need to gut FIFA and start again but will probably end up the same. Always some C*** on the take.

Someone mentioned at work yesterday and I agree with them, why would an official take receipt of a 50k watch as a present if not on the take. Wouldn't it be better to buy 50k's worth of equipment for kids football in your country than wearing something tawdry on your arm. Shows the character of these elected officials.
Post by: johnneycool on June 01, 2015, 01:04:08 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 31, 2015, 05:08:44 AM

They've all had their hand in the till somewhere along the line - if blatter falls who might he take along with him for the ride. These fellas are all sh** scared since Webb & co might do time in the states.

They need to gut FIFA and start again but will probably end up the same. Always some C*** on the take.

Someone mentioned at work yesterday and I agree with them, why would an official take receipt of a 50k watch as a present if not on the take. Wouldn't it be better to buy 50k's worth of equipment for kids football in your country than wearing something tawdry on your arm. Shows the character of these elected officials.

Sure wur Jim didn't even know he'd got one, found it in his garage after the shít had hit the fan post Brazil.

Post by: Smokin Joe on June 01, 2015, 01:10:33 PM
This is an interesting alternative look at why FIFA is the way it is.  Certainly some food for thought IMO:
http://glineq.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/the-real-stakes-behind-fifa-scandal.html
Post by: BennyHarp on June 02, 2015, 05:50:49 PM
Blatter gone!!
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2015, 06:00:00 PM
Sponsors must have had a word
Post by: muppet on June 02, 2015, 06:13:41 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 02, 2015, 06:00:00 PM
Sponsors must have had a word

(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/1d/JUST_DO_IT._%28NIKE%29.gif)
Post by: Boycey on June 02, 2015, 07:06:43 PM
Makes you wonder what's coming down the line?

He was very bullish at the congress despite last weeks arrests and scandal.
Post by: foxcommander on June 02, 2015, 10:21:52 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 01, 2015, 01:04:08 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 31, 2015, 05:08:44 AM

Sure wur Jim didn't even know he'd got one, found it in his garage after the shít had hit the fan post Brazil.

Because your garage is the right place to store a Rolex...right next to your mink coat and the faberge eggs.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 02, 2015, 10:50:12 PM
Blatter's gonna resign...... the flames must be getting close to his ass
Post by: ballinaman on June 02, 2015, 11:00:53 PM
"Zey vant to be zeam number zurty zree.....ya...really.....zey said ziz."..

Regards,
Ireland

(http://bm23tvreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/father-dick-byrne.jpg)
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 02, 2015, 11:57:03 PM
None of the executive members of FIFA who were arrested were appointed by Blatter,  they are all appointed by their federations and he didn't have the authority to sack any of them.   Other than this happening on his presidency it's doubtful he has any case to answer in relation to allegations of corruption by members appointed by the federations. 
Post by: macdanger2 on June 03, 2015, 01:43:59 AM
I presume he has a successor waiting in the wings? The only reason I can see for doing this now instead of 4 days ago is that he didn't want the other guy in
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 10:08:40 AM
Well there will have to be another vote, so he can't just annoint his successor. I would say that the Feds have him in their sights, and maybe someone said if you don't step down you're coming in bucko.
Post by: muppet on June 03, 2015, 10:10:35 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 03, 2015, 01:43:59 AM
I presume he has a successor waiting in the wings? The only reason I can see for doing this now instead of 4 days ago is that he didn't want the other guy in

Possibly, or maybe some of his enemies waited to see if the vote would remove him. When it didn't, they hit him with something that was enough to get him to resign.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 03, 2015, 01:42:31 PM
I would say the Qataris are watching with interest. Athlete's have been retrospectively stripped of medals etc. for wrong-doing indentified at a later date so are we likely to see another "clean" vote-off for WC2022?
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 01:46:37 PM
They wont be happy boys if they've built all these stadiums to have it taken off them!!

Serves them right for their inhumane working conditions!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 01:48:59 PM
f**king ridiculous when you think about it. How in the name of Jaysus can Qatar hope to use all those stadiums?
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 01:53:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 01:48:59 PM
f**king ridiculous when you think about it. How in the name of Jaysus can Qatar hope to use all those stadiums?

I think I may have read somewhere that they can get past the legacy debate by dismantling and selling off the stadiums as such.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 01:55:45 PM
Yeah right. It was a clusterf*ck from the start. Not to mind screwing world wide calendars to accomodate it.
Post by: Bingo on June 03, 2015, 02:06:17 PM

Sure half the stadiums in Brazil are already out of use, read somewhere that on was been used as a car park. Stadiums in South Africa are putting massive pressure on local and national funds from their world cup stadiums.
Even in London the main stadium for the Olympics might as well have been bulldozed and rebuilt as a football stadium, would have been cheaper.

All these global events seem to have very little legacy after them.

They should really start to look at countries that can host them with largely existing infrastructure.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:07:47 PM
Exactly. These tournaments should really be rotated between countries like the USA, Japan, and various European Countries.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 02:17:09 PM
Quote from: Bingo on June 03, 2015, 02:06:17 PM

Sure half the stadiums in Brazil are already out of use, read somewhere that on was been used as a car park. Stadiums in South Africa are putting massive pressure on local and national funds from their world cup stadiums.
Even in London the main stadium for the Olympics might as well have been bulldozed and rebuilt as a football stadium, would have been cheaper.

All these global events seem to have very little legacy after them.

They should really start to look at countries that can host them with largely existing infrastructure.

Other than the roof on the Olympic stadium, London done pretty well. A lot of the infrastructure was either temporary (basketball arena) or could scaled down (aquatic centre).

Athens is the worst post olympics I've ever seen, but no surprise there.
Post by: muppet on June 03, 2015, 02:20:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:07:47 PM
Exactly. These tournaments should really be rotated between countries like the USA, Japan, and various European Countries.

Why should a single country host it at that? Other than the US, it would be better for groups of countries to host tournaments together. Everyone has a national stadium and maybe a few other decent ones, but for most countries building a suite of World Cup standard stadia for one tournament is just an expensive vanity project.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:33:50 PM
I suppose it makes it a bit easier for the logistics of following your team. One or two neighbouring countries that are fairly small wouldn't be a major issue, but something like a Western Europe world Cup would involve a lot of travelling. (The US falls into this trap actually).
Post by: muppet on June 03, 2015, 02:39:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:33:50 PM
I suppose it makes it a bit easier for the logistics of following your team. One or two neighbouring countries that are fairly small wouldn't be a major issue, but something like a Western Europe world Cup would involve a lot of travelling. (The US falls into this trap actually).

But isn't this the problem? The countries big enough to support a network of giant stadia, have to be giants themselves.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:46:54 PM
I think the UK could host a world cup. As could France, Germany, Italy and Spain.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 02:49:27 PM
I think as long as you kept it realistic a World Cup hosted by Uefa is very feasible.

Not exactly sure of the plans for future Euros when it will be spread across Europe but say 6 groups hosted by:

Group 1 - UK & Ireland
Group 2 - Scandinavia
Group 3 - Belgium, Holland, Germany
Group 4 - Portugal, Spain, France
Group 5 - Italy, Austria, Czech
Group 6 - Poland, Ukraine??, Romania
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:52:15 PM
Yeah, you could do it alright. I'm not sure it's really necessary though. As I said there are several countries in Europe alone that could host on their own. All you need is 10 or 12 stadia with 40k+ capacity, and a couple of those with 60k plus.

Whatever they do, they should be looking at countries, or groups of countries, where minimal work is needed on stadiums. If money has to be spent, let it be spent on infrastructure projects where the people left behind will at least benefit for the next generation.
Post by: muppet on June 03, 2015, 03:04:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 02:46:54 PM
I think the UK could host a world cup. As could France, Germany, Italy and Spain.

They probably could, but I can't see the rest of the world being happy playing the above or the USA every time.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 03:10:10 PM
Well wherever they take it, there should be a viable stadium infrastructure already in place at the time of bidding, and it should be a sustainable infrastucture, not purpose built.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 03:11:12 PM
So where could realistically afford to host it?

USA/Canada
Europe
China
Japan/S. Korea
India
Brazil/Argentina
Australia
Middle East (weather/war issues)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 03:12:17 PM
It should only be in countries where kick off times in Ireland are 5pm to 9pm. :)
Post by: armaghniac on June 03, 2015, 03:27:00 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 03:11:12 PM

USA/Canada
Europe
China
Japan/S. Korea
India
Brazil/Argentina
Australia

Mexico? And of course South Africa.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 03:35:36 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 03, 2015, 03:27:00 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 03:11:12 PM

USA/Canada
Europe
China
Japan/S. Korea
India
Brazil/Argentina
Australia

Mexico? And of course South Africa.

Certainly big safety issues with Mexico and as pointed out earlier, did South Africa have the finances to run the stadiums post W.C?
Post by: topcuppla on June 04, 2015, 01:04:06 PM
Could start to get interesting!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-33002674 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-33002674)
Post by: Franko on June 04, 2015, 01:58:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2015, 03:12:17 PM
It should only be in countries where kick off times in Ireland are 5pm to 9pm. :)

Ah no AZ - I (vaguely) remember the 7am kick-offs in Japan/S. Korea were brilliant craic... I was a student in those days though.  Rose tinted glasses...
Post by: topcuppla on June 05, 2015, 07:57:50 AM
Fifa 'paid Irish to stop legal action over Thierry Henry handball'

Fifa paid the Football Association of Ireland 5m euros (£3.6m) to stop legal action after France controversially beat Ireland in a World Cup play-off.
FAI chief executive John Delaney said he believed they had a case against Fifa after French striker Thierry Henry's handball in the 2009 match.
Delaney said a "legitimate agreement" was made to drop the claim after Ireland missed the 2010 World Cup.
Fifa president Sepp Blatter is quitting with the organisation in crisis.
Delaney's claim comes after a turbulent nine days for football's world governing body amid claims of "systemic and deep-rooted" corruption.
Fifa is facing two criminal investigations by both the US for widespread bribery allegations and Swiss authorities over the 2018 and 2022 World Cup bidding processes.
The Republic of Ireland were 16 minutes away from a penalty shootout for a place in the 2010 finals in South Africa before Henry handled in the build-up to William Gallas's extra-time equaliser in the second leg of the play-off in Paris.
The 2-1 aggregate win sent France to the 2010 tournament, where they were knocked out of the group stages amid a player strike.

A Fifa spokesman confirmed the payment, but said it was a $5m loan and was granted for "the construction of a stadium in Ireland".
The spokesman added that the FAI was to repay the money if Ireland qualified for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, which they failed to do. Fifa wrote off the loan on 31 December 2014. The Aviva Stadium was the only major ground redeveloped during that period.
On Thursday, the FAI said the settlement was made without any conditions and was reached "following strong legal advice", with the money going towards the new Aviva Stadium - opened in May 2010 after the old Landsdowne Road ground was redeveloped.
In a statement, the FAI said: "This is fully reflected in our financial statements, which are audited independently. The FAI accepted Fifa's settlement offer to avoid a long, costly and protracted legal case.
"The settlement has at no time influenced the FAI's criticism of Fifa as demonstrated by our consistent criticisms of Sepp Blatter."
Delaney said he and Fifa president Sepp Blatter "came to an agreement" after Blatter publicly dismissed the country's appeal to be made a "33rd team" at the tournament.
"We felt we had a legal case against Fifa because of how the World Cup play-off hadn't worked out for us with the Henry handball," he said in a radio interview with Ireland's national broadcaster RTÉ.
"Also the way Blatter behaved, if you remember on stage, having a snigger and having a laugh at us.
"I told him how I felt about him, there were some expletives used. We came to an agreement".
"It's a very good agreement for the FAI and a very legitimate agreement for the FAI," he said.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-33011692 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-33011692)
Post by: screenexile on June 05, 2015, 10:20:46 AM
Is that not par for the course for these legal things? FIFA are perfectly entitled to settle under a threat of legal action.

Did we ever think that the FAI was going to take on FIFA in a legal battle to get into the World Cup? We all know the score referees make mistakes and this was one you take your oil and get on with it. I think the FAI did alright to get 5 mill out of it and I'm pretty sure Delaney knew what he was doing at the time.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 05, 2015, 10:50:07 AM
I wonder will Louth County Board be on the blower now to the Leinster Council re the 'referee mistake' in 2010?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 05, 2015, 10:54:42 AM
I have to laugh at people saying that this €5m 'loan' was a disincentive (f**k I hate those types of words but it is the one to best describe it!)  to qualify for the World Cup.  Surely it was a nice wee safety net as I'm sure that there would have been significantly more money available in terms of sponsorship etc if they did qualify.  Whatever you may say about Delaney,  and he is an awful clown in many ways,  he is playing a very good game at the minute and positioning himself nicely as a 'white man' in an arena full of dirty men.
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2015, 10:57:32 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 05, 2015, 10:50:07 AM
I wonder will Louth County Board be on the blower now to the Leinster Council re the 'referee mistake' in 2010?

I believe a plan for 3000 seater Dermot O'Brien stadium will emerge. This will have a silver roof and will be built on a hill overlooking the Boyne so that it can be seen throughout Meath.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 05, 2015, 11:06:41 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 05, 2015, 10:54:42 AM
I have to laugh at people saying that this €5m 'loan' was a disincentive (f**k I hate those types of words but it is the one to best describe it!)  to qualify for the World Cup.  Surely it was a nice wee safety net as I'm sure that there would have been significantly more money available in terms of sponsorship etc if they did qualify.  Whatever you may say about Delaney,  and he is an awful clown in many ways,  he is playing a very good game at the minute and positioning himself nicely as a 'white man' in an arena full of dirty men.

Agreed.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 11:12:53 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 05, 2015, 11:06:41 AM

Agreed.

Completely disagree - this will backfire on him spectacularly. Unless he can show this 5mil in the accounts and how it was funnelled into the Aviva debt, he is going to find himself in very hot water. In his eagerness to bash Blatter, he has exposed the gombeenism and cute hoor syndrome running through the FAI. He also lied by saying that he never voted for Blatter - he did, just not in the latest election. Delaney might just end up as the Irish personification of FIFA decadence and find himself on the outs.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:25:17 AM

Quote from: armaghniac on June 05, 2015, 10:57:32 AM

I believe a plan for 3000 seater Dermot O'Brien stadium will emerge. This will have a silver roof and will be built on a hill overlooking the Boyne so that it can be seen throughout Meath.

Zey have ask, "Can't we have a replay?" (Laughter.) Ya. Ha ha. Zey have ask for zat. Really.

(Actually they never did, but the majority of gaeldom will swear they did. That's how legend trumps fact. Sure practically 100% of GAA people think John McDermott injured Peter Canavan.)
Post by: JoG2 on June 05, 2015, 11:38:30 AM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 11:12:53 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 05, 2015, 11:06:41 AM

Agreed.

Completely disagree - this will backfire on him spectacularly. Unless he can show this 5mil in the accounts and how it was funnelled into the Aviva debt, he is going to find himself in very hot water. In his eagerness to bash Blatter, he has exposed the gombeenism and cute hoor syndrome running through the FAI. He also lied by saying that he never voted for Blatter - he did, just not in the latest election. Delaney might just end up as the Irish personification of FIFA decadence and find himself on the outs.

Completely disagree (but agree with the post above 'Tiger's one). The majority of the smaller football nations have voted for Blatter in the past as they get their equal share from the World Cup profit kitty. . To an organisation like the FAI, this is serious cash. For a nation with a small population, we're doing rightly. Are the historical FIFA presidency votes available for public consumption? Wouldn't mind a look if they are

have you not been following the news? its been in their financial reports
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 11:50:31 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/fai-s-5m-fifa-payment-not-apparent-in-published-accounts-1.2238001

I have been following the news, yes.

There is a very big difference, even in FIFA, between profit sharing from a World Cup, and a one-off, non disclosed, discretionary payment, given on a very questionable "legal" basis, of 5 million dollars.
Post by: heffo on June 05, 2015, 11:56:04 AM
Whatever you may say about Delaney,  and he is an awful clown in many ways,  he is playing a very good game at the minute and positioning himself nicely as a 'white man' in an arena full of dirty men.

Agreed in one sense but on the other hand, the fact it wasn't made public and was buried in the annual accounts will lead many to think it was dodgy..
Post by: JoG2 on June 05, 2015, 12:02:59 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 11:50:31 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/fai-s-5m-fifa-payment-not-apparent-in-published-accounts-1.2238001

There is a very big difference, even in FIFA, between profit sharing from a World Cup, and a one-off, non disclosed, discretionary payment, given on a very questionable "legal" basis, of 5 million dollars.

the 9pm rte news said it had been published. The outrage of the 5 mill is this weeks 'hate / anger' topic. What recourse from a legal battle with FIFA?  it would have been a complete non runner ...the hand ball happened on a football pitch. Sport is often unfair, you take your oil and move on. If I was running the FAI, I would have taken the money (grass roots, address debt etc) as it was either the money or feck all.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 12:36:28 PM
I don't have a problem with it, in principle, but it sounds as shady as f**k. And it only came out because Delaney was try to show how he's a big man in international football. Did you hear the nonsense about his girlfriend, and about telling Blatter he'd speak to him how he liked? Such horseshit.
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2015, 12:57:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 12:36:28 PM
I don't have a problem with it, in principle, but it sounds as shady as f**k. And it only came out because Delaney was try to show how he's a big man in international football. Did you hear the nonsense about his girlfriend, and about telling Blatter he'd speak to him how he liked? Such horseshit.

Look at it from the FIFA side.

A team that loses a match, because a ref missed a handball, wants to sue for millions. There isn't a hope in hell that a judge is going to rule in favour of the FAI, otherwise sports as we know it would cease and fans everywhere would spend most of their time in courts. But regardless, FIFA decides to just throw €5m at the FAI to make them go away.

We haven't seen any paperwork explaining what exactly FIFA bought for this €5m. Were there specific demands or waivers sought in return? What was the process of approval for the €5m?

I think most people assume FIFA is corrupt, rightly or wrongly. But if you are connected to FIFA then you are vulnerable and if there is a transfer of money involved, then you are even more vulnerable.

This story has legs yet I feel.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 12:59:16 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 05, 2015, 12:02:59 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 11:50:31 AM

the 9pm rte news said it had been published. The outrage of the 5 mill is this weeks 'hate / anger' topic. What recourse from a legal battle with FIFA?  it would have been a complete non runner ...the hand ball happened on a football pitch. Sport is often unfair, you take your oil and move on. If I was running the FAI, I would have taken the money (grass roots, address debt etc) as it was either the money or feck all.

Sorry JoG2 but are you reading my posts?

The link I posted was from the Irish Times website this morning, so I assume it is more up to date than the 9pm RTE news.

QuoteWhat recourse from a legal battle with FIFA?  it would have been a complete non runner ...the hand ball happened on a football pitch.
That is exactly my point - it was why I used apostrophe marks around "legal".

QuoteSport is often unfair, you take your oil and move on.
I completely agree with this. But how do you get from there to...

QuoteIf I was running the FAI, I would have taken the money (grass roots, address debt etc) as it was either the money or feck all.

We were not entitled to any of that money as a footballing nation. At best, fair play dictated we should have got a replay. At worst, accept the referee's decision and move on. Pointing out that it was used as an opportunity to shake down Blatter to cover stadium debt accrued on underselling overpriced and unwanted corporate seats is not jumping on this week's "hate/anger topic". Indeed that was exactly Delaney did yesterday, and look where it has gotten him. It is merely pointing out yet another embarrassing incident in a long line of them during JD's reign.

I don't think we should proud of the footballing affairs of this country playing out like an episode of the Irish RM, with John Boy playing Slipper. And then boasting about it??!! good Jaysis.
Post by: JoG2 on June 05, 2015, 01:52:23 PM
didn't read the article from the IT at the time. So we agree on the legal bit. This affair isnt without mess, but we'll disagree on whether they should have taken the money and the level of outrage on social media regarding this issue.
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2015, 02:16:13 PM
Delaney did the right thing for Ireland. Nothing else to it.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 05, 2015, 02:28:32 PM
Wearing my boring aul accountant/auditor's hat I find it strange that a sum of that magnitude was buried in the accounts of the FAI.

What else is buried in their accounts? How much of our tax gets paid over to the FAI.

And has anyone mentioned D■■■■ O'■■■■■ yet? Can we blame him?
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 02:40:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 05, 2015, 02:16:13 PM

Floating the 33rd team idea was categorically the wrong thing.

Not pursuing a replay, or considering going to CAS or somewhere like that (which would have been a threat with real teeth) was categorically the wrong thing.

Accepting a payment under false pretences was categorically wrong - putting the arm on Blatter, citing "legal" advice, which, by the way, they still haven't made public, simply makes us piggies in the same trough that Blatter presided over.

Accepting a payment which had, as a precondition for it being paid back, our success in qualifying for an international tournament, was absolutely, categorically, empirically (and every other word ending in ly) wrong. If you can imagine even one FAI administrator saying, in the aftermath of our unsuccessful campaign for 2014, "Ah shure, at least we don't have to pay back the 5 million to FIFA" then we compromised our efforts from the start. How much did the fact that we had this insurance policy for non-qualification, weigh in the decision to keep Trap for another campaign? The conflict of interest it presents is staggering.

And don't even get me started on the Aviva/corporate seats debacle that put them in this compromising situation in the first place.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/live/2015/jun/05/fifa-corruption-crisis-pressure-mounts-on-fai-over-5m-payment-live

the guardian are doing a good live blog on it - the international reaction doesn;t see the green jersey argument, whether you believe it or not, and with the wave of resignations/arrests across football, Delaney has made himself incredibly vulnerable. I'd be surprised if he lasts the weekend. Someone ring the Sindo.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 02:55:54 PM
I'm with you easytiger. I can't understand the notion that somehow Delaney is playing a media blinder. If anything, he's painted himself and the FAI in the same sort of colour scheme as the rest of FIFA, for no good reason that I can see other than he wanted to be the big man on Ray D'Arcy.

Even if he survives, and I think he will, it's not as if he has somehow made himself the white knight of the piece. What he has done is admit that FAI took FIFA money, on the quiet, in exchange for not pressing what Delaney himself referred to as a matter of integrity, not money.

So at the very least, he's made himself sound like a liar. And at worst he's put himself in a position where, true or not, he is going to be portrayed as just another pig in the FIFA trough.
Post by: stew on June 05, 2015, 03:04:22 PM
Greedy Irish bastards hiding ill gotten gains, nothing new to see here!!!!!

My heart sank when I heard this report, we seem to be as bad as any other bung accepting bastard nation!
Post by: Orior on June 05, 2015, 03:05:47 PM

It depends what he did with the hush money!
Post by: johnneycool on June 05, 2015, 03:34:02 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 05, 2015, 03:05:47 PM

India got £10M for developing football pitches in India, was that a bribe or was that FIFA and Blatter 'developing football at grassroots level'?

No doubt the Indian FIFA rep was a big fan of Blatters along with the other small footballing nations who have received financial assistance from FIFA.

If FIFA had did the same in England, Blatter would be the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Officials lining their own pockets in a very different thing to John Delaney and the €5M to f**k off into the sunset over the hand ball incident..
Post by: Billys Boots on June 05, 2015, 03:49:31 PM
Presumably Delaney's argument was that development of the game in Ireland would suffer greatly without the windfall of World Cup qualification. 
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 03:53:11 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 05, 2015, 03:34:02 PM

India got £10M for developing football pitches in India, was that a bribe or was that FIFA and Blatter 'developing football at grassroots level'?

No doubt the Indian FIFA rep was a big fan of Blatters along with the other small footballing nations who have received financial assistance from FIFA.

If FIFA had did the same in England, Blatter would be the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Officials lining their own pockets in a very different thing to John Delaney and the €5M to f**k off into the sunset over the hand ball incident..

Did India apply for, and get, a grant? If so, that's sort of a red herring.

The point about this was it was passed over, on the QT, in exchange for the FAI stopping their protests about the handball (which were bordering on ludicrous anyway). At the time, John Delaney said 'This isn't about money, it's about integrity". Then he took a wedge of money to shut up.

Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 03:57:01 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 05, 2015, 03:34:02 PM

But it is also very different from getting a grant for pitches. Delaney was threatening Blatter with legal consquences. Blatter caved for a quiet life. The FAI hadn't a leg to stand on and instead of pursuing a replay in a "matter of integrity" and sportsmanship, they chose to go after Blatter because their noses were out of joint over the 33rd team proposal.

As for FIFA, in no organisation, corporation, federation, NGO, charity can the president, without any oversight from the board or  accountants simply throw 5 million at a problem. It is exactly this kind of behaviour that leads to the atmosphere where corruption can flourish. Even without the other charges, in any other federation, Blatter's behaviour in this matter would be a resigning offence.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 03:57:42 PM
Yeah, like AZ said!!
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2015, 04:05:26 PM
I really don't know what planet you're on easytiger if you think Delaney is going to be made resign over this storm in a tea-cup.

I'm no Delaney fan but this is so far from a sack-able 'offence' (hint: it's not even an offence in the first place) that it's hard to understand why anyone would be trying to rabble rouse over it.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 04:08:22 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:25:17 AM

Zey have ask, "Can't we have a replay?" (Laughter.) Ya. Ha ha. Zey have ask for zat. Really.

(Actually they never did, but the majority of gaeldom will swear they did. That's how legend trumps fact. Sure practically 100% of GAA people think John McDermott injured Peter Canavan.)

Wasn't a referee mistake in 2010, Im pretty sure he done it on purpose

Who injured Peter Canavan in 96?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 04:08:32 PM
I think you are completely off base Syferus. You have to look at in context. A couple of days ago he was on about greater transparency in FIFA, and then it transpires he's off making side deals to shut his mouth, even as he preaches about 'integrity, not money'.

There's no crime here, don't get me wrong, but I think it's indicative of a man who at best is an egotistical buffoon, who is always trying to be billy big bollix in the media, and at worst it's indicative of a fella who is complicit in, and very comfortable with, the culture of backhanders and quieteners that FIFA is plagued with, even as he shouts the opposite.
Post by: BennyCake on June 05, 2015, 04:10:33 PM
If Ireland were found to have been wrongly denied a chance to win their place at the 2010 World Cup, due to FIFA corruption, shouldn't the whole tournament be played over again? It's only fair.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 04:12:50 PM
And Chuck Blazer (brilliant name) said that he took bribes when that world cup was being awarded to South Africa, so they should be stripped of it, and it should be played in the Phoenix Park.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 04:15:54 PM
I tell you what is an "offence" in the harshest sense of the word - filing false or misleading accounts. "Our lawyers told us not to report this as a loan" is not a defence that will go too far. If there is no proper money trail, then there is no way to tell that this money went to where it ostensibly was meant to go - ie the Aviva. I'm not saying that it went anywhere else, but in a time where FIFA is being revealed as rotten to the core, do you think someone who went on radio boasting about the standards of transparency in his organisation will get away with having an invisible 5 million on the books?

I don't know what age you are, or what planet you are from Syferus, but I've seen plenty of FAI figures knifed for a lot less eg Fran Rooney, Bernard O'Byrne, John Delaney's dad. Never underestimate the capacity of the FAI to sacrifice one of their own.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 04:16:40 PM
Yeah, like AZ said!! (I need a quicker computer)
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 05, 2015, 04:34:28 PM
Jesus its turning into some craic now!!

http://www.the42.ie/germany-saudi-arabia-world-cup-2006-2145450-Jun2015/
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 05:50:09 PM
Never mind all that. Judging by the headline item on their sports bulletins all morning, Newstalk thinks the most important thing that happened in world sport today is that Roy Keane said nothing.

Big championship games in hurling and football (and soccer, I hear), Jerry Collins dead, French Open climax, etc., but Newstalk screams "Roy Keane has said he won't be drawn on the FIFA/FI controversy" as their headline item.

Not so much Newstalk as Celebgossip.
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2015, 05:54:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 04:08:32 PM
I think you are completely off base Syferus. You have to look at in context. A couple of days ago he was on about greater transparency in FIFA, and then it transpires he's off making side deals to shut his mouth, even as he preaches about 'integrity, not money'.

There's no crime here, don't get me wrong, but I think it's indicative of a man who at best is an egotistical buffoon, who is always trying to be billy big bollix in the media, and at worst it's indicative of a fella who is complicit in, and very comfortable with, the culture of backhanders and quieteners that FIFA is plagued with, even as he shouts the opposite.

It looks and smells like an out-of-court settlement to me. There's nothing inherently wrong in that even viewed through the glass of a corrupt FIFA. I think some are looking for everything that looks like a witch to burn it right now. FIFA being mostly corrupt doesn't make every payment they've made corrupt or even dodgy.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 06:24:31 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 04:08:22 PM

See what I mean?
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 06:37:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 06:24:31 PM

See what I mean?

No

Who injured Peter Canavan in 96
Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 06:42:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 05, 2015, 05:54:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 04:08:32 PM

It looks and smells like an out-of-court settlement to me. There's nothing inherently wrong in that even viewed through the glass of a corrupt FIFA. I think some are looking for everything that looks like a witch to burn it right now. FIFA being mostly corrupt doesn't make every payment they've made corrupt or even dodgy.

Very simple syferus - for it to be an out-of-court settlement, a suit has to have been lodged. There was none, nor was there any civil law statute that it could have been litigated under. However, if Delaney et al had felt so strongly about the integrity of sport, they could have brought a case to the C.A.S. Instead, they used it for a cheap shakedown of Blatter - and he had so much unfettered control over funds that he could indulge them. Now you know my views on the particulars of the case, but in a general sense, what appalls me most about this transaction is that it had zero, absolutely nothing to do with sport, or any kind of ideal of sport. And one of these guys runs football in Ireland and one of them runs it globally.

And neither one of them had any kind of a handle on fair play, or trustworthiness, or honour - all of which, apart from staying fit, we get involved with sport to experience.

It was cheap and shoddy - two men, elevated beyond the capacity of their own characters, playing dice with the ambitions of the team and the hopes of the fans.

You don't need to shout about witches - that's the same kind of logic the No side used in the referendum, abusing people for naming their oppressors. The inability of many in this country and beyond, to tell a duck that he's a duck when he is waddling by them, quacking and eating some bread, is what has led to situations like this in FIFA and beyond (IBRC all the way back to Green core and the Beef Tribunal).

You may say it smells like a settlement, but to quote the great Ryan Adams "down here in the sewer, I'm smelling a rat..."

Post by: easytiger95 on June 05, 2015, 06:44:41 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jun/05/fifa-money-fai-thierry-henry-handball

Nice take from Owen Gibson on Delaney/Blatter and the implications of it.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 06:51:00 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 06:37:26 PM

See what I mean?

No

Why don't you go and find out whether anybody injured him?
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 07:05:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 06:51:00 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 06:37:26 PM

See what I mean?

No

Why don't you go and find out whether anybody injured him?

That's what I am trying to do... and since you seem to know I am asking you

so....

Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 08:18:51 PM
Sorry - I didn't mean to be tetchy.

Nobody injured him. He injured himself by twisting his ankle when he got his standing toe stuck in the turf in the course of scoring a point. I don't mean to go all Tyronie by dredging up events of a generation ago. Though I do particularly enjoy my memories of possibly our second-best ever performance. I just think it's a particularly good example of the triumph of legend over fact. I'm willing to bet over 90% of football fans believe John McDermott took him out.

(Sorry for the thread diversion. I'd be sorrier if it wan't a soccer thread, though.)
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2015, 08:35:17 PM
Imagine that Delaney is correct.

Imagine then, that a missed call by a referee, has a strong legal basis for a court action against the sporting authority responsible. Remember Henry's handball created a winner, if it hadn't happened we would have probably had a penalty shoot-out. There is absolutely no legal argument that we would definitely have gone on to qualify for the World Cup if the goal had been disallowed. So Delaney's case is that we were denied the chance to qualify for South Africa. That fact that a total 210 minutes of football was played, where we had that very chance throughout, would appear to me to water down the argument that one error cost us our chance.

Regardless though, is it the FAI position that any contentious decision in the League of Ireland, that could be seen to cost a team their chance at success, would see the FAI as being liable for the potential loss of prize-money, attendances, sponsorship etc? Is that what Delaney is really saying?

Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 08:44:10 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 08:18:51 PM

Nobody injured him. He injured himself by twisting his ankle when he got his standing toe stuck in the turf in the course of scoring a point. I don't mean to go all Tyronie by dredging up events of a generation ago. Though I do particularly enjoy my memories of possibly our second-best ever performance. I just think it's a particularly good example of the triumph of legend over fact. I'm willing to bet over 90% of football fans believe John McDermott took him out.

(Sorry for the thread diversion. I'd be sorrier if it wan't a soccer thread, though.)

And the late tackle that twisted his body away from his standing foot had no contribution to his injury?

Post by: muppet on June 05, 2015, 09:04:20 PM
Those you us who found the whole 'please, please let us go to South Africa' sh*te embarrassing are about to enter Groundhog Day. I expect more of the same stupid FaceBook and twitter nonsense from people who never interact with sport unless it is via a bandwagon.

http://www.fai.ie/domestic/news/fai-statement-050615 (http://www.fai.ie/domestic/news/fai-statement-050615)

This is the latest spin:

*    On November 30 2009, during a press conference, Sepp Blatter made a joke of the Association's request to be the 33rd team at the World Cup. This was in direct breach of agreed confidentiality and subsequently brought reputational damage to the FAI.

So the money was because of Blatter's 'joke' and breach of confidentiality. This is even bigger bollox than the previous position.

Especially considering this is how easy it is to get out of confidentiality according to the FAI:

This action is being taken because FIFA has confirmed the transaction. As such, it is the view of the FAI Board who met today, that they are no longer obliged to abide by the confidentiality agreement with FIFA.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 10:27:52 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 08:44:10 PM

And the late tackle that twisted his body away from his standing foot had no contribution to his injury?

There was no tackle. There was no contact other than McDermott's tripping over the falling Canavan.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 10:36:41 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 10:27:52 PM

There was no tackle. There was no contact other than McDermott's tripping over the falling Canavan.

So at what stage in the course of events would this photo have been taken?

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/74/3f/6e/0f0f236de8e4f0b4cca602c7b8d9f6c580b40ad655/INPHO_00082696.jpg)
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2015, 10:38:36 PM

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197454
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 10:46:32 PM
1. Still photographs are not acceptable evidence of anything other than the presence if the protagonists.

2. Even if they were, where's the contact in that pic?

Look, do you think I would be making categorical statements here if I wasn't sure of the facts? Check out the video. There's no contact. There might have been intent. My own opinion is that Peter was wide open and John would have creamed him - legitimately if he'd connected properly or illegally if he'd connected with Peter's front. But it doesn't matter, because he missed.

My only point is  to illustrate that myth and legend completely overwhelm facts.The facts of this case have absolutely no bearing on the universally accepted myth that McDermott took Canavan out of that game.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 10:52:35 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 05, 2015, 10:38:36 PM

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197454

Check the video. There is no contact. Canavan leans back and McDermott misses him. I can't offer an opinion as to why he would say otherwise.
Post by: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 10:53:51 PM
What has any of this nonsense got to do with FIFA Corruption.?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 10:54:55 PM
They gave Tyrone Mickey Harte to make them shut up.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 10:57:28 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 05, 2015, 10:53:51 PM
What has any of this nonsense got to do with FIFA Corruption.?

Nothing.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 11:02:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 10:46:32 PM
1. Still photographs are not acceptable evidence of anything other than the presence if the protagonists.

2. Even if they were, where's the contact in that pic?

Look, do you think I would be making categorical statements here if I wasn't sure of the facts? Check out the video. There's no contact. There might have been intent. My own opinion is that Peter was wide open and John would have creamed him - legitimately if he'd connected properly or illegally if he'd connected with Peter's front. But it doesn't matter, because he missed.

My only point is  to illustrate that myth and legend completely overwhelm facts.The facts of this case have absolutely no bearing on the universally accepted myth that McDermott took Canavan out of that game.

Listen Hardy I am not disputing what you are saying i was just looking for evidence of what happened and uncovered that photo. And was interested because it looks like McDermott is about to blindside him and that Canavans foot doesn't look planted so I was wondering where in the course of events you thought that the photo might have taken place.

If you have other evidence please present it so we can check it out and then we can all be sure about the facts.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 11:04:50 PM
I suspect you are being a tiny bit disingenuous there Joe :)
Post by: BennyHarp on June 05, 2015, 11:10:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 05, 2015, 11:04:50 PM
I suspect you are being a tiny bit disingenuous there Joe :)

I suspect that even after nearly 20 years of this, Hardy is being a tad disingenuous himself!  I'm a bit surprised that after all this time we are still taking the bait.

I blame Sepp Blatter.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 11:21:13 PM
Im not AZ honestly, I ahve my own opinion on the incident that true however Hardy has said something which he said is fact I wanna know why he thinks it is fact
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:26:25 PM
If you're disputing my statement it's up to you to show where you think I'm wrong.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 11:31:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:26:25 PM
If you're disputing my statement it's up to you to show where you think I'm wrong.

But I said I'm not disputing it. ???

You said something that you said yourself is contrary to the believe of nearly everyone and I am interested to see the evidence that would allow you arrive at the opposite conclusion of the consensus.
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:36:19 PM
I've told you. It's quite simple. Just look at the video.

All this is just a fascinating illustration of my point. I simply state the fact, based on fairly simple and basic research. But the myth is so strong that I'm challenged to prove my statement while the myth is assumed to be the truth.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 11:42:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:36:19 PM
I've told you. It's quite simple. Just look at the video.

All this is just a fascinating illustration of my point. I simply state the fact, based on fairly simple and basic research. But the myth is so strong that I'm challenged to prove my statement while the myth is assumed to be the truth.

Do you have a video you could put for us?

Or maybe stills from it or something to illustrate the course of events?

Being from Tyrone that match is something you try to forget about :'( so needless to say I don't have a video
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2015, 11:45:24 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11550.30 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11550.30)
Post by: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:46:40 PM
It must be on YouTube. If not, I have a VHS tape. If you like I can send it to you.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 11:57:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:46:40 PM
It must be on YouTube. If not, I have a VHS tape. If you like I can send it to you.

Super I'm abroad at the moment but if you put my user name on it and send it to:

Tyrone GAA
230 Radergan Road
Garvaghey
Dungannon
Co Tyrone
BT70 2EH

I'll have it picked up from there and watch it next time I'm back

When should I arrange to have it picked up?
Post by: omaghjoe on June 06, 2015, 12:10:25 AM
An alternative would be to get it converted to DVD, Im sure you could get it done for about 10-20 yoyos at most. From there you could get it onto your computer and youtube

Would be worth it to get the facts out there, you cant really put a price on getting the truth out there and exposing myths.
Post by: Syferus on June 06, 2015, 06:52:51 PM
Dunphy, Brady and Giles talking a lot of sense on the Delaney situation.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 06, 2015, 08:33:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 06, 2015, 06:52:51 PM

Look we were fecked about by FIFA. We played hard ball got a couple of quid for it and it helped the game here. It was put through the books. No one got money into the back pocket. This was documented in The Sun last year and no one said boo. Don't give me the moral ground bull.
Post by: Syferus on June 06, 2015, 08:47:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 06, 2015, 08:33:49 PM

Look we were fecked about by FIFA. We played hard ball got a couple of quid for it and it helped the game here. It was put through the books. No one got money into the back pocket. This was documented in The Sun last year and no one said boo. Don't give me the moral ground bull.

+1.

It's unfortunate timing for it to come up again, no more.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 06, 2015, 08:50:06 PM

Any links? Sky wont let me watch it.
Post by: Main Street on June 06, 2015, 10:28:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 06, 2015, 08:47:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 06, 2015, 08:33:49 PM

+1.

It's unfortunate timing for it to come up again, no more.
I remember it was talked about last year and no one passed any notice,  perhaps there was no populist bandwagon to jump on. Delaney is not responsible for FIFA,   he's responsible for the FAI and the money was fully accounted for. And a big boo to all the morons, including totally  forgettable  ex-Fai CEOs who were fast to jump in front of a microphone and make false implications about FAI accountability. It's about the only thing Delaney can do is accounting and for sure he would have known the loan was accounted for before mentioning it. Only a fool would take on Delaney about an accounting entry.
What Delaney is responsible for is his mouth and he should have kept his mouth zipped tight, but no he just cant resist a bit of self aggrandisement  and then  eulogising his great friend Platini, 'I call him Mick'.
Post by: muppet on June 08, 2015, 04:01:41 PM
http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2015/0608/706707-two-people-turn-up-to-watch-new-fifa-movie/ (http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2015/0608/706707-two-people-turn-up-to-watch-new-fifa-movie/)

Two people showed up for the debut of the new FIFA movie.

Two.

The movie cost FIFA €20m to make.

This puts John Delaney's negotiating ability into context.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 09, 2015, 01:02:51 PM
Sean Kelly interviewed on Newstalk there and he has asked the FAI to give back the 5m to FIFA. Gas, he even brought in up in the European Parliament. So he want us to give it back and ask for it back as a grant. Comedy Gold!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 09, 2015, 02:05:56 PM
Jack Warner - some sc**bag

QuoteThe BBC can reveal that the former FIFA Vice President Jack Warner has been investigated by US prosecutors over the disappearance of money meant for victims of the Haiti earthquake.

He visited the country in 2010 and raised $750,000 from FIFA and the Korean Football Association to help rebuild the country after the disaster.

Mr Warner is facing extradition from Trinidad and Tobago to stand trial in the US on allegations of corruption and bribery. He denies all the charges.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2015, 03:56:02 PM
On a slightly related topic, the bizarre movie that FIFA spent $30m dollars to make opened in the US, and shut this week after grossing $918. That's not $918K mind you, just $918. Unreal. A vanity project for Blatter it seems, and brutal timing for the release. If the scandal wasn't ongoing it may have broken the grand.

They should be fired for this alone. $30m is a lot of footballs and gear for kids.

http://www.sportingnews.com/soccer/story/2015-06-18/fifa-movie-united-passions-box-office-flop-sepp-blatter-worst-movies-all-time?eadid=SOC%2FFBSNMain (http://www.sportingnews.com/soccer/story/2015-06-18/fifa-movie-united-passions-box-office-flop-sepp-blatter-worst-movies-all-time?eadid=SOC%2FFBSNMain)
Post by: foxcommander on June 18, 2015, 04:39:53 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 09, 2015, 01:02:51 PM
Sean Kelly interviewed on Newstalk there and he has asked the FAI to give back the 5m to FIFA. Gas, he even brought in up in the European Parliament. So he want us to give it back and ask for it back as a grant. Comedy Gold!

He is a gobsheen of the highest order.
Post by: foxcommander on June 18, 2015, 04:42:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 18, 2015, 03:56:02 PM
On a slightly related topic, the bizarre movie that FIFA spent $30m dollars to make opened in the US, and shut this week after grossing $918. That's not $918K mind you, just $918. Unreal. A vanity project for Blatter it seems, and brutal timing for the release. If the scandal wasn't ongoing it may have broken the grand.

They should be fired for this alone. $30m is a lot of footballs and gear for kids.

http://www.sportingnews.com/soccer/story/2015-06-18/fifa-movie-united-passions-box-office-flop-sepp-blatter-worst-movies-all-time?eadid=SOC%2FFBSNMain (http://www.sportingnews.com/soccer/story/2015-06-18/fifa-movie-united-passions-box-office-flop-sepp-blatter-worst-movies-all-time?eadid=SOC%2FFBSNMain)

Is it a type of nudey thing?

(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/gT9xuXQjxMM/maxresdefault.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2015, 03:21:19 PM
On a completely unrelated topic, but I can't find a suitable thread, I see Parma have been declared bankrupt and are relegated all the way down to Serie D, which is an amateur division. Sad when you think of the likes of Thuram, Buffon, Crespo, Veron and Zola playing for them.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 22, 2015, 03:25:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2015, 03:21:19 PM
On a completely unrelated topic, but I can't find a suitable thread, I see Parma have been declared bankrupt and are relegated all the way down to Serie D, which is an amateur division. Sad when you think of the likes of Thuram, Buffon, Crespo, Veron and Zola playing for them.

A real shame that. Cannavaro also played for them.
Post by: muppet on June 22, 2015, 04:16:25 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 22, 2015, 03:25:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2015, 03:21:19 PM

A real shame that. Cannavaro also played for them.

Leeds bought Thomas Brolin from Parma iirc?
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 05:43:25 PM
Blatter now under investigation re payments, one about TV rights and one to Platini!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/0925/730330-criminal-proceedings-launched-against-sepp-blatter/
Post by: muppet on October 13, 2015, 08:23:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 05:43:25 PM
Blatter now under investigation re payments, one about TV rights and one to Platini!

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/0925/730330-criminal-proceedings-launched-against-sepp-blatter/

Hopefully they find something that sticks.
Post by: stew on October 13, 2015, 08:30:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 18, 2015, 03:56:02 PM

The sad thing is Tim Roth is probably never going to get another top gig, I think he is a cracking actor and his performance is said to be top notch!
Post by: stew on October 14, 2015, 01:33:52 PM
I am telling you know, this clown is going to get sick soon and will not stay in jail for too long, he is going to get a walking stick and hobble around like he has been shot, this bastard ultimately will walk.
Post by: foxcommander on December 15, 2015, 05:59:47 PM
You have to admire the gall of the  man for still trying to convince the world he's not bent..

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/35102749

hope him and platini get booted out of the sport.

Post by: stew on December 16, 2015, 12:38:51 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 15, 2015, 05:59:47 PM
You have to admire the gall of the  man for still trying to convince the world he's not bent..

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/35102749

hope him and platini get booted out of the sport.

There is absolutely no exceuse for Platini, a top 100 player of all time who made plenty of money just destroyed his reputation earned over his career for paper he did not need.
Post by: armaghniac on December 21, 2015, 08:54:46 AM
Blatter and Platini suspended for 8 years. Not surprised about Blatter, but Platini is  just as bad.
Post by: StGallsGAA on December 21, 2015, 08:58:39 AM
Does this mean the Reps will be posthumously re-instated to The WC2010 finals as the 33rd team?
Post by: foxcommander on December 05, 2016, 05:54:24 PM
They should get him to pay back all the dodgy money. CHF 50k fine only!
He has a neck appealing it.

As for his "services to football"  :o

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/1205/836664-blatter-must-serve-full-six-year-ban-from-football/