GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 02:38:45 PM

Title: 2019 All Ireland Football Qualifiers
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 02:38:45 PM
The CCC has decided that Laois will face Derry in Owenbeg at 5pm on Saturday June 22.
Title: Re: 2019 All Ireland Football Qualifiers
Post by: MasterJ on June 11, 2019, 03:47:57 PM
Wont be easy. A long trip for players and fans.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 11, 2019, 03:49:44 PM
How come the game isnt in Celtic Park ?
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 03:53:13 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on June 11, 2019, 03:49:44 PM
How come the game isnt in Celtic Park ?
Derry train in Owenbeg, and f**k all will travel to this game you'd suspect.
Post by: Tony on June 11, 2019, 04:38:11 PM
Owenbeg is a nice pitch. Good quality surface. Stadium itself is something along the likes of Aughrim in terms of capacity and atmosphere. I don't really understand how the qualifiers aren't in a neutral pitch as it's a huge advantage for them. But we have to go with it. May the best team win. I personally see us winning this one - I can see the lads not being happy with Sunday and I can see us improving on a lot of things that went wrong in Croke Park. Laois by 4, especially if we see Begley return.
Post by: MasterJ on June 11, 2019, 07:15:46 PM
Meath were always going to  win on Sunday. Laois just need to pick themselves up and prepare for a tough battle!!!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 12, 2019, 12:32:59 AM
Qualifier Games --- Venues and Times

Saturday June 22

Antrim v Kildare, Corrigan Park, 3pm - *Subject to inspection and safety certification

Longford v Tyrone, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 5pm

Derry v Laois, Owenbeg, 5pm

Westmeath v Limerick, TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar, 6pm

Leitrim v Clare, Avantcard Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada, 6pm

Monaghan v Armagh, St Tiernach's Park, 7pm

Down v Mayo, Páirc Esler, 7pm

Sunday June 23

Offaly v Sligo, Bord Na Mona O'Connor Park, 2pm
Post by: les Antiques on June 20, 2019, 10:51:23 AM
Any news about Begley been fit for Saturday ? With Timmons not available Begleys presence in the backs is  crucial. 
Post by: Brandon on June 20, 2019, 04:00:04 PM
I see that Derry are favorites to win. I don't get this at all.... I think that laois are for more organized and have stronger players than Derry. Long trip for players but I think laois will win this match.
Post by: smcder on June 20, 2019, 06:50:21 PM
4 hour drive.  Is there many going to it?
Post by: Laoiseabu on June 20, 2019, 07:47:38 PM
Quote from: Brandon on June 20, 2019, 04:00:04 PM
I see that Derry are favorites to win. I don't get this at all.... I think that laois are for more organized and have stronger players than Derry. Long trip for players but I think laois will win this match.
Stronger players than Derry ?? Are you serious ? Derry are physically a very big team . A spine of Rogers , McKaigue , McAtamney , Bell,  McGuigan , McFaul, Cassidy , Heron , Lynn and E Bradley is fairly strong in my opinion . Derry only lost to Tyrone by a few points and absolutely smashed Wexford the last day out so we can't afford to be going up North with this arrogance on Saturday . Derry might be about the same level as ourselves .If we play to our full potential and with Donie and Evan BOTH starting we can sneak it . Anything below par could equal a tough day out .
Post by: Gmac on June 20, 2019, 11:34:58 PM
Whatever happens Laois will have to up the scoring to win 12 points won't do here , 2 evenly enough matched teams home advantage might swing it for Derry
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 21, 2019, 12:46:00 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on June 20, 2019, 10:51:23 AM
Any news about Begley been fit for Saturday ? With Timmons not available Begleys presence in the backs is  crucial.

Not looking good for either of them...
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/21/injury-problems-for-laois-footballers-ahead-of-qualifier-clash-with-derry/
Post by: SCFC on June 21, 2019, 03:17:46 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 21, 2019, 12:46:00 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on June 20, 2019, 10:51:23 AM

Not looking good for either of them...
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/21/injury-problems-for-laois-footballers-ahead-of-qualifier-clash-with-derry/
I'm not too sure how accurate that is. I hear Begley will start.
Post by: Don Draper on June 21, 2019, 07:50:45 PM
Quote from: Gmac on June 20, 2019, 11:34:58 PM
Whatever happens Laois will have to up the scoring to win 12 points won't do here , 2 evenly enough matched teams home advantage might swing it for Derry
TBF it will if Derry score 11.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:25:51 PM
Three changes if the clonaslee man I was talking to is right ??
Donie scully and Begley all in

Anyone confirm or is it just rumours
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 21, 2019, 10:30:11 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:25:51 PM
Three changes if the clonaslee man I was talking to is right ??
Donie scully and Begley all in

Anyone confirm or is it just rumours

Personally, I wouldn't believe a word from Tommy Tynan!  ;D
Post by: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:31:14 PM
Senior or junior
Post by: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:39:29 PM
Same team named ...strange

No Kingston no who I thought would been nailed on .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 22, 2019, 11:47:01 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:39:29 PM
Same team named ...strange

No Kingston no who I thought would been nailed on .

I think he's trying to teach Kingston a lesson or two. It has to be that as Donie is playing very well lately but still hasn't reached his potential. This will benefit Donie in the long term, pity some of the other managers didn't do something similar years ago..

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/21/laois-football-team-named-for-qualifier-clash-with-derry/

Seems like there will be changes to the Laois team before throw in according to this..
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/22/all-you-need-to-know-as-laois-face-derry-in-round-2-of-the-all-ireland-qualifiers/
Post by: Countyminor on June 22, 2019, 02:57:10 PM
Donie, Begley and Collins all in from the start apparently if the rumours are true. Don't see how we could possibly set up without Donie on the Meath games basis.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 22, 2019, 06:45:50 PM
Superb result
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 22, 2019, 06:47:17 PM
Great Result

Laois Football needed this result
Post by: Helix. on June 22, 2019, 06:49:18 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on June 22, 2019, 06:47:17 PM
Great Result

Laois Football needed this result

Great result the bench making the difference. Bring on the next draw Monday morning  8)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 22, 2019, 06:53:28 PM
What a brilliant result given the way the game went. Delighted for Dicey getting Man of the Match from Midlands radio, a well deserved reward for the way he has got himself back into the game after his awful injury.
Another shocker from Evan but fair play to the bench who are really proving their worth. After losing Evan and Donie we could well have dropped the heads but a lot of the younger crew showed us what they are worth and won well in the end.
Well done lads ..
Post by: Don Draper on June 22, 2019, 07:50:13 PM
Sugrue knows
Post by: Chrimtain on June 22, 2019, 07:58:03 PM
Brilliant!!
Post by: Countyminor on June 22, 2019, 10:24:08 PM
Some win up there. Think about it: Pigott, Collins, O'Sullivan, O'Flynn, Lowry, Barry, Scully etc all blooded by Sugrue and all stood up today when needed. Our future is looking a hell of a lot brighter than 2 years ago.
Post by: on the hop on June 22, 2019, 11:53:37 PM
Well the trip back was made a lot shorter with that win. A few thoughts,Fabulous facilities up there and a cracking pitch. First half we were poor with the breeze and seemed to all over the place defensively. They had loads of ball and were pulling us from side to side and we were fouling a bit. We had problems in the centre with booth on a yellow card and piggott at sea. We also couldn't get a handle on Enda Lynn or their kick outs. The placement of Donie was a disaster with Mckaigue pinning him back into our half by driving forward. With Evan also misfiring we looked in a bit of bother but the last score before half time that made it 8-7 was vital and it came from a great run forward by Lillis. Murphy had been excellent as well living off scraps. It was noticeable that they had carried a lot of ball and appeared a bit leggy going off plus a few of their forwards were well strapped up.

Booth sacrificed at half time as he was in danger and piggot went back full. Sean Byrne went centre and made a big difference. We started driving at them and missed four goals, the first two in particular were sitters. The pictures for the second one are on the Facebook and I don't know how it was missed. We really pressed their kickout and had them in trouble. We still missed frees and the feeling that we were leaving this behind us started to creep in. But it was the upped work rate, dicey in particular and the pace that the bench injected that turned the screw. Marty made a massive difference running directly. Once we got the goal it was over and we finished out the game. Mention especially for mark barry who is a loss to the u-20's but displayed a massive football brain when he came on. I think the team finished- brody, attride, o Flynn, Dillon, Collins, Byrne, buggie, Lillis, jol, dicey, Boyle, Scully, Lowry, Murphy, Barry. I don't think I could have imagined that at the start of the year.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 23, 2019, 12:21:05 AM
Looking forward to the draw on Monday with a home venue very likely. Here are the teams we can draw..

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/22/explained-who-the-laois-footballers-can-face-in-round-3-of-the-all-ireland-qualifiers-and-where/
Post by: Gmac on June 23, 2019, 02:59:34 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 21, 2019, 07:50:45 PM
Quote from: Gmac on June 20, 2019, 11:34:58 PM
TBF it will if Derry score 11.
12 would have got us to extra time nice win and a nice double header for next weekend
Well done to all involved a character building win
Post by: Tony on June 23, 2019, 07:40:22 AM
Fantastic win, credit to all involved! It should have been by more, we were about 8-10 points the better team overall. It's hard for anyone to go up to Ulster and get a win in championship but we did it. Derry looked good in championship games so far but we were much the better team. Only real criticism I'd have is not converting those chances more but it's good that we're creating them and going for it. Massive win, LAOIS ABU
Post by: MasterJ on June 23, 2019, 08:34:25 AM
Yes great win.
Post by: Tony on June 23, 2019, 04:50:09 PM
Some audio reaction from the game vs Derry yesterday :

John Sugrue post Derry:
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/john-sugrue-post-derry

Chris Conway post Derry:
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/chris-conway-on-laois-win-at-derry

Jack Nolan on Laois into 3rd round of qualifiers:
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/laois-into-round-three-of-the-football-qualifiers

Post by: High Fielder on June 23, 2019, 11:23:15 PM
Happy with the win, but happier to see the younger lads carrying us through. They bring a pace and urgency that can sometimes be lacking in our play. Today's scoreline in Croker should ensure our feet are planted because as I suspected, Meath are limited enough. Increasing the tempo has now got to be our main focus. Yesterday showed again that we can own the ball and get into positions. The scores will happen eventually but as long as we're in possession, we're doing the basics right. Meath knew that they could suck us in and destroy us for pace on the break. Speed going forward and back are equally important, and the younger lads give you that. We can carry the odd one paced player, but not half a team of them
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 24, 2019, 08:41:55 AM
Qualifier Draw:

Mayo V Armagh
Kildare V Tyrone
Westmeath V Clare
Laois V Offaly
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2019, 08:52:39 AM
Better to be lucky than rich, that's a winnable draw.  Poor Kildare 😂😂😂
Post by: Helix. on June 24, 2019, 08:53:51 AM
Home draw ideal. The best scenario we could have hoped for. Will still be an obstacle to get over but should kick on from the Derry match! :)
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 24, 2019, 09:12:10 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2019, 08:52:39 AM
Better to be lucky than rich, that's a winnable draw.  Poor Kildare 😂😂😂

Kildare will have a chance in Newbridge.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2019, 09:16:02 AM
I doubt it Tyrone we're back to basics at weekend running ball through the hands.  Mayo were all over the shop when Kildare beat them last year can't see Tyrone being caught like that.
Post by: Tony on June 24, 2019, 09:30:25 AM
While it is a good draw for us and we'd be favourites to go through, there hasn't been much between the sides (Laois and Offaly) in recent years. Offaly put up 3-17 against Sligo and had a very good showing against Meath. They are a fast team and have good scorers. It's certainly an excellent chance to get to 4th round but I hope all involved treat this match as seriously as playing a div 1 or 2 side. I believe they will. Laois by 3.

I can see Mayo, Tyrone and Westmeath getting out of the other matches but all matches are fairly even with Armagh and Kildare hopeful of upsets and wouldn't be surprised if that happens. Armagh in particular have improved greatly with a huge win over Monaghan under their belt. Kildare looked decent for some spells against Dublin - I wouldn't be surprised if they put it up to Tyrone in a close encounter in Newbridge. Intriguing draw, really.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 09:42:19 AM
Put a muzzle on Piggott immediately and start taunting him with Carrolls ham for the next 6 days.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2019, 09:46:05 AM
Good draw for us, one we should win especially at home. If we could improve our scoring rate , win this one and draw Meath in the next round we would have a great chance of reaching the Super 8s for the first time..

(https://img.rasset.ie/00124319-614.jpg?ratio=6)
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 24, 2019, 10:02:36 AM
Always going to have a chance against any division 3 or 4 side so it's a good draw. In fact, we tend to win games against teams ranked lower than us in the league fairly reliably.

The real test for Laois is always when we face a division 1 or 2 side. Our record against true 'top 16' sides in the last 10 years has been pretty poor.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 24, 2019, 10:07:34 AM
This is a dangerous banana skin for Laois.
NFL 16-March   Offaly 0-15  Laois 2-12
Since then Offaly have Niall McNamee back in their ranks.
They were very unlucky to lose some close games in the league which kept them out of the promotion hunt.
As they showed against Meath they are a very capable side.
The local derby factor also means that all previous form can go out the window.
Laois might be slight favourites but Offaly will throw the kitchen sink at us.
Post by: Joeythelips on June 24, 2019, 10:13:28 AM
Great Draw in general, 4 really evenly balanced games where its hard to call a winner.
Mayo v Armagh should be a cracking game, I have watched all Armaghs Ulster games on TV and they are a side going places (in fact they are one of the few sides who could cause Dublin some problems). They have a nice blend of youth and experience and create a hell of lot of scoring chances but are a small bit naive and take the wrong options at times which was their downfall against Cavan. They will really put it up to Mayo and would be a dangerous team in the Super 8s.
It's the best draw Laois could have got, but then again Im sure Offaly would have thought the same, both sides have shaken off the provincial defeats and nothing like local rivalry to sharpen the focus.
Post by: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 10:15:00 AM
Definitely not to be taken lightly. Is it definitely in Portlaoise?
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 10:20:01 AM
"Offaly played Leix in Portleix in 2006 in a Round 4 qualifier on foot of a home and away agreement. Surely it comes to Tullamore this time?
#TullamoreOrNowhere"
Courtesy of BordnaMónaMan.
He's dead right too. 'Twill be interesting anyway.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 10:22:25 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 10:20:01 AM
"Offaly played Leix in Portleix in 2006 in a Round 4 qualifier on foot of a home and away agreement. Surely it comes to Tullamore this time?
#TullamoreOrNowhere"
It won't. Laois are at home.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 10:27:57 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 10:22:25 AM
#TullamoreOrNowhere"
I've read that as well, and it's the only viable option regardless due to the Celtic Challenge finals being played in OCP. But Leix were pulled out second. Did they even have a provision for that?
Post by: Tony on June 24, 2019, 10:39:37 AM
Laois were pulled out first. Stop spreading misinformation. Westmeath vs Laois was lined up but we've played already, so it meant Laois got the home draw in game number 4. offaly were drawn last. If you don't know what you're talking about, then stop talking lad.
Post by: SCFC on June 24, 2019, 10:53:08 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 10:27:57 AM
Leix were pulled out second.
No they weren't.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 11:09:55 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 10:22:25 AM
#TullamoreOrNowhere"
I've read that as well, and it's the only viable option regardless due to the Celtic Challenge finals being played in OCP. But Leix were pulled out second. Did they even have a provision for that?
Laois were pulled out first.

And you can go f**k yourself with your Leix bollocksology you shitehawk.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 11:15:23 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 24, 2019, 10:53:08 AM
No they weren't.
They were pulled out after Westmeath. Offaly were pulled out after Leix but ye were still the second team to be pulled out on that fixture.
One of the other teams should have been pulled out to see who played WH, then LS put back in and whoever was pulled out first had home advantage. It's not particularly fair that LS get home advantage on the back of what happened in the draw.
That being said, we've had two home games, we're due an away one.
LS were pulled out after WH, that is my point.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 24, 2019, 11:20:24 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 11:15:23 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 24, 2019, 10:53:08 AM
No they weren't.
They were pulled out after Westmeath. Offaly were pulled out after Leix but ye were still the second team to be pulled out on that fixture.
One of the other teams should have been pulled out to see who played WH, then LS put back in and whoever was pulled out first had home advantage. It's not particularly fair that LS get home advantage on the back of what happened in the draw.
That being said, we've had two home games, we're due an away one.
LS were pulled out after WH, that is my point.

It was clear as day before the draw what would happen in such a scenario- now come down and take your beating and let that be the end of it.
Post by: Tony on June 24, 2019, 11:28:42 AM
He's a typical lad who doesn't pay attention when something is being explained, but then still reckons he's right, even though clearly he's not. Typical idiot, really.
Post by: vetoldthe on June 24, 2019, 11:35:11 AM
I heard John Maughan say yesterday on local radio that they set
a target of 3 goals against Sligo which they got, I'm sure he is
thinking the same way against us this saturday.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 11:41:12 AM
Quote from: vetoldthe on June 24, 2019, 11:35:11 AM
I heard John Maughan say yesterday on local radio that they set
a target of 3 goals against Sligo which they got, I'm sure he is
thinking the same way against us this saturday.
Bring it on.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 24, 2019, 11:44:10 AM
Reality is the game will probably be tight enough for a while but Laois are further down the road development wise with Sugrue- Offaly can be happy with their season under Maughan but it will end this weekend baring a severe under performance from Laois and unless we in Laois can insert that mentaility into ourselves we will struggle unnecessarily against the like of Offaly. If this was Derry V Offaly no one would say Offaly will win this.
Post by: Countyminor on June 24, 2019, 12:24:51 PM
Offaly are decent enough. Kept finding themselves in great positions in the league and vs Meath before more often than not shitting the bed completely. Confidence or a lack thereof likely the culprit. But to their credit they've come on this past few weeks. This is a great tie for both sides, we've waited too long for a Laois Offaly game in championship football.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 12:46:26 PM
Quote from: Tony on June 24, 2019, 11:28:42 AM
He's a typical lad who doesn't pay attention when something is being explained, but then still reckons he's right, even though clearly he's not. Typical idiot, really.
Cheers Anthony. I must have missed the bit where they said that LX or WH would get home advantage should they be drawn out for the one fixture.
Also, there's a pre-existing home-away agreement between the two counties. Either we get home advantage or we do so for the next two championship games that we play against LX.

Thanks for the wonderful compliment,
Yours in the GAA,
LC
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 12:47:59 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 12:46:26 PM
Cheers Anthony. I must have missed the bit where they said that LX or WH would get home advantage should they be drawn out for the one fixture.
Also, there's a pre-existing home-away agreement between the two counties. Either we get home advantage or we do so for the next two championship games that we play against LX.

Yours in the GAA,
LC
I am enjoying your seethe these past few weeks, please don't go. You're tremendous fun to laugh at.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 12:56:33 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 12:47:59 PM

Yours in the GAA,
LC
I am enjoying your seethe these past few weeks, please don't go. You're tremendous fun to laugh at.
Any time, you're welcome.
The funny thing is that I don't actually mind ye (LX). Can't stand WH or the rest of the counties that border us, save maybe Roscommon.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 12:59:37 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 12:56:33 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 12:47:59 PM

Yours in the GAA,
LC
Any time, you're welcome.
The funny thing is that I don't actually mind ye (LX). Can't stand WH or the rest of the counties that border us, save maybe Roscommon.
I've no real feelings for Offaly, they're too simple a folk to dislike.
Post by: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:10:32 PM
Jesus! Seems to be a lot of anger here despite the good weekend we've just had!

The draw was confusing. They announced it as Offaly v Laois at one stage and then said it would be in Portlaoise. I'm sure it'll all become clearer later today.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 01:13:05 PM
GAA football qualifiers confirmed for next Saturday:

Kildare v Tyrone, St Conleth's Park, 5pm, (Sky Sports)
Westmeath v Clare, Cusack Park, 6pm
Laois v Offaly, O'Moore Park, 7pm
Mayo v Armagh, MacHale Park, 7pm, (Sky Sports)
Post by: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:13:25 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/24/fixture-details-confirmed-for-laoiss-all-ireland-football-qualifier-clash-with-offaly/
Post by: SCFC on June 24, 2019, 03:13:06 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 01:13:05 PM

#tullamoreornowhere
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2019, 04:37:18 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 01:13:05 PM

They got the two match-ups that Sky Sports wanted, The four top teams from the eight in the draw....
Post by: Butch Cassidy on June 24, 2019, 04:44:12 PM
Will Begley and Timmons be back? Offaly have been putting up big scores and will be confident of turning Laois over. We'll need to keep McNamee quiet and dominate around the middle to set up a platform for Kingston, Evan and Murphy.
Post by: Tony on June 24, 2019, 07:24:54 PM
That loose cannon lad is making some donkey out of himself. Calling me Anthony as if that's an insult. Jaysus, I'd say he's some laugh at parties. He's another lad who could do with some time away from the internet I'd say; participate in life a bit more. That kind of thing.

Back to common sense, I think Scully has to start on Saturday. From what I'm hearing, Begley will be ready to start but Timmons will not. However, judging by Sugrues past habits, he wont start Begley even if he's physically fit as he's not match sharp for 70 mins. I see Begley coming on at some point in the 70, but not for all. The subs changed things against Derry and we'll learn from that. But Scully would be one of the first names on my team sheet. So would Danny O' Reilly. The more pacey, creative and athletic players like that on the starting 15, the better.

And as for the mood in the county, it's great! There's a real buzz around, it's high summer and we could be heading for final round of qualifiers if all goes to plan. Expect a big crowd on Saturday. LAOIS ABU!!
Post by: ollie12 on June 24, 2019, 07:36:39 PM
Also, there's a pre-existing home-away agreement between the two counties. Either we get home advantage or we do so for the next two championship games that we play against

The pre existing home-away agreement only happens in the leinster championship should both sides meet each other.  This agreement doesn't apply in the qualifier section.
Also it was clear as mud before the draw was made the rules for the draw. Laois were drawn out 6th vs westmeath. That tie wasn't allowed. Clare were then drawn out  7th and basically laois and Clare swapped places(as explained before the draw) and offaly drawn out last.
Post by: Chrimtain on June 24, 2019, 08:05:52 PM
This draw presents a great opportunity for either Laois or Offaly to reach the last twelve, and, once there, to perhaps get into the Super 8s. I hope to God it is Laois, but would never underestimate an Offaly team. Particularly since they made it very difficult for us to win in Tullamore in the League.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 10:39:08 PM
Quote from: Tony on June 24, 2019, 07:24:54 PM
That loose cannon lad is making some donkey out of himself. Calling me Anthony as if that's an insult. Jaysus, I'd say he's some laugh at parties. He's another lad who could do with some time away from the internet I'd say; participate in life a bit more. That kind of thing.
Thanks for the compliment. Could be an ass stuck in a boghole. Anthony wasn't meant to offend or insult, I was only trying to be polite. Thankfully I spend a lot of time away from the internet. Participate in life, jaysus. Work, coaching an underage team and a club development meeting today. Unfortunately I couldn't participate that much more today. Tomorrow's a new day. Here's to taking your advice.

Also, parties aren't really my scene, never were. Back when I played, to a pretty high level mind you, I abstained from alcohol and still do. I'd happily have a 7Up instead of making a tit out of myself thanks.

I don't think that I'll be taking much advice from you anyway.

I'll happily take the title of donkey if it boosts your self esteem.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on June 25, 2019, 08:38:18 AM
Great draw for both counties. No big travel time. Local derby should generate plenty of interest. Avoided the bigger guns and both will think they can win this.
I hope we can do it but they obviously have some really good forwards in Allen and McNamee. Cunningham is playing very well too apparently. Good keeper in Dunican.
Post by: portlaoisekid on June 25, 2019, 08:50:49 AM
Why do Offaly people call Laois Leix....... Is it meant to be a derogatory term? It really is kind of pathetic if thats the case.
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 09:00:27 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on June 25, 2019, 08:50:49 AM
Why do Offaly people call Laois Leix....... Is it meant to be a derogatory term? It really is kind of pathetic if thats the case.
I think its meant is a jokey way, kinda like how we call them c***ts.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 25, 2019, 09:08:37 AM

This topic was covered on a different thread last December :

Quote from: blueandwhite1 on December 17, 2018, 10:17:05 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 17, 2018, 09:44:11 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on December 17, 2018, 09:41:49 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 10:39:39 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on December 16, 2018, 10:06:29 PM
Why?

I must say, you do seem to enjoy trying to rile people! Again, I ask - why?
Our county's name is Laois. I asked nicely, there was no attempt to rile you or anyone.

Like it or not the name Leix is part of our heritage and was in common use up the 1960s (as was Maryborough).
The great Laois team of the 1930s would have been called Leix at the time.
When Laois GAA people refer to our county as Leix, e.g. C'mon Leix, you can take it that they are using it as a term of affection.
Would you shout out "Cmon Maryborough"?

Would you shout out "Cmon the Queens County"?

Its an anglacised version of our heritage. We threw the f**kers off, throw off their terminology as well if you can.

Legally, the area we call Laois from a GAA perspective, is still Queen's county! Anyone who buys or sells land or a house will see that in the legal paperwork. The ancient Loigis or Leix is not the county we have today. Leix was in the east and north. Ossory was in the south and West and contained towns like Rathdowney, Durrow, Borris-in-Ossory. Queens county unites them. However, many older people from inside and outside the county who talk about hurling still call it Leix.

Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 09:21:28 AM
And I call bullshit on that once again.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 09:25:05 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 09:00:27 AM
I think its meant is a jokey way, kinda like how we call them c***ts.

;D ;D
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 25, 2019, 09:27:28 AM
Same way we call Portlaoise, Maryborough.   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: portlaoisekid on June 25, 2019, 10:27:19 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on June 25, 2019, 09:27:28 AM
Same way we call Portlaoise, Maryborough.   ;D ;D ;D
We have been called worse!
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 12:44:05 PM
The bitterness is so strong still, it's delicious

https://twitter.com/pat_nolan/status/1143173193101918208?s=21
Post by: Tony on June 25, 2019, 12:58:19 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 10:39:08 PM
Quote from: Tony on June 24, 2019, 07:24:54 PM
Thanks for the compliment. Could be an ass stuck in a boghole. Anthony wasn't meant to offend or insult, I was only trying to be polite. Thankfully I spend a lot of time away from the internet. Participate in life, jaysus. Work, coaching an underage team and a club development meeting today. Unfortunately I couldn't participate that much more today. Tomorrow's a new day. Here's to taking your advice.

Also, parties aren't really my scene, never were. Back when I played, to a pretty high level mind you, I abstained from alcohol and still do. I'd happily have a 7Up instead of making a tit out of myself thanks.

I don't think that I'll be taking much advice from you anyway.

I'll happily take the title of donkey if it boosts your self esteem.
You're even more boring than I thought  ;D ;D. You must have some active life there if you have time to write essays about how boring you are on another counties' forum  ;D ;D ;D  . You're not even gas enough to have a bit of banter with to be fair, no idea what the point of you is, really.  ;D ;D ;D

Really looking forward to this match now. Almost all the people I'm talking with about it are going. Could see 6,000 to  8,000 there maybe, from both counties
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 25, 2019, 01:39:27 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 09:21:28 AM

Bullshit on what this time?

Don, you seem to have become the self appointed anonymous 'bullshit caller'  and insult-warrior on the board. I'm betting you are not half the big man or big mouth in real life.
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 02:23:45 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 25, 2019, 01:39:27 PM

Don, you seem to have become the self appointed anonymous 'bullshit caller'  and insult-warrior on the board. I'm betting you are not half the big man or big mouth in real life.
So much anger, I call bullshit on it because very few people below the age of 80 have any reason to call Laois Leix.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 25, 2019, 04:35:25 PM

Blueandwhite1 – the bible saying "Cast not pearls before swine" comes to mind.
I'm referring to the most interesting insight you shared on ancient Leix above – I don't reckon Don has any interest in our cultural heritage but I'm sure he will gracefully (?) inform us otherwise.

Anyway back to the qualifiers – both sides have a link with the 2003 draw and replay. Niall McNamee made his debut with Offaly and Ross Munnelly was in his first season with Laois.
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 06:04:45 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on June 25, 2019, 04:35:25 PM

Blueandwhite1 – the bible saying "Cast not pearls before swine" comes to mind.
I'm referring to the most interesting insight you shared on ancient Leix above – I don't reckon Don has any interest in our cultural heritage but I'm sure he will gracefully (?) inform us otherwise.

Anyway back to the qualifiers – both sides have a link with the 2003 draw and replay. Niall McNamee made his debut with Offaly and Ross Munnelly was in his first season with Laois.
Thats a lousy thing to say about blueandwhite, he's no more a swine than you or I.
Post by: MasterJ on June 25, 2019, 09:16:30 PM
Offaly are defo the best Laois could have got! ;) ;) Should be in round 4.
Post by: Tony on June 25, 2019, 10:14:57 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 25, 2019, 09:16:30 PM
Offaly are defo the best Laois could have got! ;) ;) Should be in round 4.
Just discounting Offaly like that means you haven't seen them play at all this year. They'll be a challenge to get over for sure. They're no London, Limerick or Waterford. Fortunately, we know the team and setup will take this game seriously. We're the better team on paper but anything can happen in championship football in a local derby like this. At the same time, of course we don't fear them. We should go out and express ourselves and play to our ability. If we do, we should win but I can't see more than 3-5 points in it.
Post by: Chrimtain on June 25, 2019, 10:17:23 PM
Offaly will be a serious threat.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 27, 2019, 08:10:45 AM
I'll be having a few quid on Offaly, have been following them since Maughan took over, they were exceptionally unlucky in the league, Louth, Westmeath, Longford could all have been bet and promotion secured
Post by: Don Draper on June 27, 2019, 08:17:11 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 27, 2019, 08:10:45 AM
I'll be having a few quid on Offaly, have been following them since Maughan took over, they were exceptionally unlucky in the league, Louth, Westmeath, Longford could all have been bet and promotion secured
They'll be unlucky Saturday too.
Post by: High Fielder on June 27, 2019, 09:03:26 AM
A poster called Mayo4Sam telling us who they are going to back at the weekend. What more can you say really?
Post by: Tony on June 27, 2019, 09:08:34 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 27, 2019, 09:03:26 AM
A poster called Mayo4Sam telling us who they are going to back at the weekend. What more can you say really?
HAHAHA  ;D ;D ;D . Sharp man is the High Fielder  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Chrimtain on June 27, 2019, 09:33:40 AM

While you are at it John, put a few quid on Armagh.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 27, 2019, 10:34:36 AM

Ill give you 5/1 Min bet €1000

You can nearly name your price, Laois will not lose this game. Offaly can be happy with their year and might be a good force in Division 3 next year and draw dependent win a game or two in leinster. Laois are just that bit further down the road with Sugrue. Maughan is not the second coming of Christ or the 3rd coming from a Mayo perspective. Laois had their poor performance against Meath, Re Grouped for Derry and will be 100% up for this Saturday. It might be tight but Laois will win it and win it by 4 or more by the end.
Post by: Nameless on June 27, 2019, 10:49:42 AM
I'm very worried about this game. There's an air of complacency around the county and sometimes that can seep into the players' psyche. People are already eyeing up who we will get in the 4th round. Hopefully, the squad haven't been listening too much to this. Offaly should have beaten Meath in Meath. Yes, they've had 2 easy games leading into this but their confidence is growing and they'll be up for this. If we're not at the right intensity level for this we will lose.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 27, 2019, 11:02:47 AM
The players won't be taking Offaly lightly they relegated us two years ago and there was only 3 points in it in the league .

We certainly won't fear them .

Dillion and Attride will need to be back to good form to deal with their danger men.

Begley being fit could be a boost but a place on the bench will be all for him I'd say.

Not sure who was the player injured at the end of the Derry game I can't remember hopefully he can recover but a week is a short time.

Offaly have had a very easy path to get here and Laois are a step up. People say they were unlucky in the league but they kept throwing away leads which is not a good sign.

LAOIS have had 3 bad performances this year ...all in croker ..

Mullingar is mullingarwe just don't kick up there .

Portlaoise will suit us and I think We will get over the line.

It won't be easy but just like playing a Carlow  we know how to the better of Offaly in championship football
Post by: Don Draper on June 27, 2019, 11:23:48 AM
Quote from: Nameless on June 27, 2019, 10:49:42 AM
I'm very worried about this game. There's an air of complacency around the county and sometimes that can seep into the players' psyche. People are already eyeing up who we will get in the 4th round. Hopefully, the squad haven't been listening too much to this. Offaly should have beaten Meath in Meath. Yes, they've had 2 easy games leading into this but their confidence is growing and they'll be up for this. If we're not at the right intensity level for this we will lose.
There's a good scatter of Port men on the panel, and enough who know the score from previous years against them, most notably the relegation game in Tullamore not so long ago. Complacency will not be an issue. FFS we even have a Kerry man involved who will know all about taking an Offaly side lightly.
Post by: portlaoisekid on June 27, 2019, 12:52:05 PM
Laois are in no position to take anyone lightly but that doesn't mean we cant believe in our own abilities and know if we play to our potential we will beat Offaly no matter how they play.

Nothing wrong with confidence. Laois by 4
Post by: Tony on June 27, 2019, 01:10:10 PM
I've no issue with realistic confidence but when lads say "Ill give you 5/1 Min bet €1000. You can nearly name your price, Laois will not lose this game." ...

It's just asking for trouble really. I'm confident Laois will win but it'll be tight. Offaly are no mugs either. They've a decent manager and a good, strong, speedy team. Speaking of teams, it should be named today. Really hoping Scully and Begley start.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 27, 2019, 01:10:49 PM
Offalywill bring a big support Saturday I hope we have a big support too with so many heading Sunday
Post by: Unlaoised on June 27, 2019, 01:17:01 PM
My team would be

Brody

Attride
Booth
Dillion

O Flynn
Pigot
Byrne

Lillis
Johno

Collins
Donie
Dicey

Kingston p
Murphy
Evan

Post by: Tony on June 27, 2019, 01:36:25 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on June 27, 2019, 01:17:01 PM
My team would be

Brody

Attride
Booth
Dillion

O Flynn
Pigot
Byrne

Lillis
Johno

Collins
Donie
Dicey

Kingston p
Murphy
Evan
No begley or scully?
Post by: Joeythelips on June 27, 2019, 04:08:31 PM

I dont bet but apparently the bookies have the handicap set at 2 points in Laois favour, that sounds about right to me. It will be very close and I think it will be highscoring too. Hopefully our advantage in terms of big game experience should help but it will be mighty close. At least our game is at 7 so the heat wont be too much of an issue.
Post by: Giovanni on June 27, 2019, 04:56:33 PM
We haven't been particularly high scoring this year so far. Maybe it'll all click this weekend and we'll start to take a higher percentage of our chances but I wouldn't put my house on it. 
Post by: Laoiseabu on June 27, 2019, 05:41:38 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on June 27, 2019, 01:17:01 PM
My team would be

Brody

Attride
Booth
Dillion

O Flynn
Pigot
Byrne

Lillis
Johno

Collins
Donie
Dicey

Kingston p
Murphy
Evan
Collins half foward ?? Where's scully?
Post by: bluespower on June 27, 2019, 09:41:51 PM
Hey there fellas, long time listener first time caller. haha

That was a good win for Laois last weekend i hope they can keep the momentum going this Saturday as wins at these stages give the county a big lift.

Anyway just thought it tough to only have one week between games why not 2 weeks between games,? it would give the players a bit more rest and recovery time and also maybe give the injured ones a bit more time to get back on the team too, like what rush is there to get it all completed in such a short time span.

Offaly won't be easy and they will be really up for this game make no mistake about that with a nothing to lose mentality they will throw everything at Laois and i just hope the lads heads and focus are at 100% for this.
Post by: Don Draper on June 27, 2019, 09:51:31 PM
Quote from: bluespower on June 27, 2019, 09:41:51 PM

Anyway just thought it tough to only have one week between games why not 2 weeks between games,? it would give the players a bit more rest and recovery time and also maybe give the injured ones a bit more time to get back on the team too, like what rush is there to get it all completed in such a short time span.
The Super 8s.
Post by: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 12:27:05 PM
Team named for Saturday. No Scully or Begley.

1.Brody
2.Attride
3.Booth
4.Dillon
5.O'Flynn
6.Pigott
7.O'Sullivan
8.O'Loughlin
9.Lilis
10.O'Reilly
11.D. Kingston
12.O'Connor
13.P.Kingston
14.Murphy
15.O'Carrol
Post by: redsetanta on June 28, 2019, 12:32:13 PM
6 O's in the team. That much be some sort of a record. Give Guinness a shout there!
Post by: Chrimtain on June 28, 2019, 12:39:29 PM
Strange team.
Post by: Laois fan on June 28, 2019, 01:35:17 PM
Presume this is another dummy team,collins and boyle hardly deserved to be dropped while if anyone was to come in it would surely be byrne and scully
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 28, 2019, 05:36:04 PM
BREAKING: Laois senior football team named for All-Ireland Qualifier against Offaly

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/28/breaking-laois-senior-football-team-named-for-all-ireland-qualifier-against-offaly/
Post by: G@@ on June 29, 2019, 05:27:41 PM
Is it being live streamed?
Post by: MasterJ on June 29, 2019, 05:49:14 PM
Quote from: G@@ on June 29, 2019, 05:27:41 PM
Is it being live streamed?

No
Post by: MasterJ on June 29, 2019, 07:03:37 PM

Laois GAA

@CLGLaois

Throw in will now be at 7.10 to allow for the large volume of people still coming in to O'Moore Park.
Three changes to the Laois team;
Trevor Collins, Martin Scully & Ross Munnelly all start instead of Sean O'Flynn, Damien O'Connor & Evan O'Carroll.
Post by: High Fielder on June 29, 2019, 07:58:49 PM
Getting opened up far too easily. A couple of forwards not playing well but we're haemorrhaging scores, and that's the biggest issue. You need to give McNamee a lot more respect than we've shown him.
Post by: Helix. on June 29, 2019, 08:47:39 PM
Happy days!  ;D
Post by: Chrimtain on June 29, 2019, 08:49:54 PM
Yahoo!! Great week for Laois football. John Sugrue is some man. To throw David Seale on for his debut at this stage of the year is something else!!
Post by: SCFC on June 29, 2019, 08:53:00 PM
Cavan, Cork or Galway for a place in the last 8.
I'll take that!! Brilliant stuff...
Post by: Chrimtain on June 29, 2019, 09:37:12 PM
For me, matching what we did last year is huge. Nothing like consistency.
Post by: Don Draper on June 29, 2019, 10:00:18 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 29, 2019, 07:58:49 PM
Getting opened up far too easily. A couple of forwards not playing well but we're haemorrhaging scores, and that's the biggest issue. You need to give McNamee a lot more respect than we've shown him.
I hope youll agree you were overreacting Slightly.

A mighty win, proud of them boys, very very proud.
Post by: High Fielder on June 29, 2019, 10:36:26 PM
No I wasn't. We really were haemorrhaging scores. Certain players were getting rinsed. It was a great team effort in the second half to push us on, but we won't get away with such looseness against better teams. It was a good open game of football that we might have lost pre Sugrue
Post by: Tony on June 29, 2019, 10:45:24 PM
I'm delighted with that, great performance and an entertaining open match with 35 scores. Donie was absolutely class. Great performances also from Lillis, Dillon, Scully, JOL, Attride, and Paul Kingston came good in 2nd half. We could really do with Colm B and Mark Timmons returning to shore up our defense a bit coming into round 4. We really are dark horses now to get further in the competition. It's bonus territory now. It's a great feeling to perform well like that in a tight game. Offaly let themselves down with certain play in the 2nd half and easy misses. We will def need to improve for the next game to have a chance. But delighted tonight for that win. Those 3 games we've won this year in championship - Westmeath, Derry away and Offaly are all games we'd likely lose a few years ago, so I'm very happy with the progress. A lot done, a lot more to do, but certainly looking up, especially given the context of some good prospects underage
Post by: Don Draper on June 29, 2019, 10:55:24 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 29, 2019, 10:36:26 PM
No I wasn't. We really were haemorrhaging scores. Certain players were getting rinsed. It was a great team effort in the second half to push us on, but we won't get away with such looseness against better teams. It was a good open game of football that we might have lost pre Sugrue
Massive overreaction. I'm gonna leave you off.
Post by: Countyminor on June 29, 2019, 11:05:56 PM
Donie was worth the entrance fee alone. Sublime. The strength of an ox combined with the feet of gymnast.
Post by: Giovanni on June 29, 2019, 11:07:45 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 29, 2019, 10:55:24 PM

Laois Today seem to be overreacting too.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/29/the-eight-talking-points-as-laois-footballers-move-a-step-closer-to-super-8s/
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 29, 2019, 11:20:48 PM

A King's pardon.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 29, 2019, 11:22:22 PM
Great win, great start to the weekend. Sorry I didn't go.
Massive crowds in Portlaoise for a Laois v Offaly game, a game that is end to end and high scoring. Sounds like a scene from a different age!
Post by: LooseCannon on June 29, 2019, 11:25:08 PM
Well done folks. Best of luck in the next round and tomorrow in the hurling. Thoroughly deserved. I'd be lying if I said that I wasn't extremely disappointed.
Go n-éirí libh.
Post by: High Fielder on June 29, 2019, 11:54:38 PM
I think ye took a small step forward this year LC. You posed problems for us in the first half, but two things gave me hope. You went off at way too fast a gallop, and your backs were always going to give us chances. We're probably a small bit further down the road, and Sugrue does matchplay really well. He'll need to do it quicker in future rather than waiting for half time, but with respect, ye afforded us that luxury. We're in the same boat these days, and whilst I want us to beat you no matter what, I hope your fortunes improve
Post by: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 07:41:51 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 29, 2019, 11:20:48 PM

A King's pardon.
The well bred know when to move forward and leave the past behind.
Post by: MasterJ on June 30, 2019, 07:47:53 AM
Great win!
Post by: SCFC on June 30, 2019, 09:06:06 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 29, 2019, 11:25:08 PM
Well done folks. Best of luck in the next round and tomorrow in the hurling. Thoroughly deserved. I'd be lying if I said that I wasn't extremely disappointed.
Go n-éirí libh.
We'll never know if those two star under 20 forwards (Johnston and Farrell?) might have given Offaly the bit of extra firepower they seemed to lack.
It was still a good enough season for ye. Maughan seems to have a very happy camp.
Post by: High Fielder on June 30, 2019, 09:55:31 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 07:41:51 AM

A King's pardon.

Hopefully you were consistent and told Laois Today, and from what I gather Jack Nolan and Chris Conway, that they over reacted too.
Post by: Tony on June 30, 2019, 10:13:41 AM
John Sugrue interview post Offaly match:

https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/john-sugrue-post-offaly-1
Post by: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 11:22:39 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 30, 2019, 09:55:31 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 07:41:51 AM

A King's pardon.

Hopefully you were consistent and told Laois Today, and from what I gather Jack Nolan and Chris Conway, that they over reacted too.
Relax, you're overreacting still.
Post by: Nameless on June 30, 2019, 11:34:52 AM
Great to get the win and get back into round 4. I thought Dillon had a very good game, especially second half. O'Loughlin started very well, Lillis had one of his best games. Scully's direct running causes all sorts of problems and Paul Kingston had a great game. Donie showed some moments of absolute class, how he was left 1 v 1 in this day and age is beyond belief. That was the way it was for both sides though. There was so much space for the inside forwards. It's clear we need to tighten up but having Timmons and Begley there would make such a difference.
Cork, Galway or Cavan next, we'd be underdogs against any of them obviously. We still have so much to improve on, defensively as already noted, the silly turnovers and again the wasted chances in front of goal. It'd be great to have Begley back for next week and I think Evan has to start. Fair play to Ross, great servant and did alright yesterday but with the ball he got, I think O'Carroll would have destroyed Offaly.
Post by: High Fielder on June 30, 2019, 11:35:33 AM
Maybe. Maybe not. Let the people talk about the game Don. You steal way too much oxygen out of the forum on a daily basis
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 30, 2019, 12:54:49 PM
Great game to watch because of the tactics used by both managers and also the sensible refereeing throughout the game.
At last we are moving the ball quicker and lads are finding the pockets of space. That was happening a bit before but when we would find that space the ball was way too slow into that space and the advantage was lost. Almost everyone played their part in that win but we must improve even more next week to beat either of the 3 teams we will meet.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on June 30, 2019, 01:06:26 PM
I think Offaly could not stick the pace of the game, always going to try and give it a go in the first half. But the writing was on the wall early doors.  We looked a level above and Offaly just could not handle the pace.   While loving Sugrues way of doing things ,we have yet to beat anyone in a Division above us under his management.  We are developing nicely and this will come sooner or later.  For now Laois Football is in a nice place.

You have to love the attitude that Sugrue is developing, everyone working their hardest.  It's great to see the honesty.
Post by: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 06:25:14 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on June 30, 2019, 01:06:26 PM
I think Offaly could not stick the pace of the game, always going to try and give it a go in the first half. But the writing was on the wall early doors.
Finally someone gets it. 10 rah at the break was great for us, anyone could see that. I'd every confidence our lads could get the upper hand.
Post by: Jd on June 30, 2019, 06:43:49 PM
Were Westmeath not a division above us last year when we beat them in Leinster last year
Post by: thegreeenandgold on June 30, 2019, 07:07:50 PM
They were you are correct but had they not completely imploded at that stage ?  Manager had all but resigned and players were opting out en masse.
Post by: the sash on June 30, 2019, 09:22:28 PM
great result last  night, what's impressive for me is that evertime we play, somebody else steps up to the mark. last night it was the kingstons turn to shine and boy did  they. thought paul's workrate and his ability to bring others into the game stood out last night. we looked a little nervous at times in defence when left in one on one situations in the full back line although we turned over alot of ball.  they played quick counter attacking football in the first half which we struggled with. its great that we are able to empty our bench and still finish strong. credit to sugrue and co, if you'd have said to me at the start of the year that ross would be starting a championship match this late on, but sugrue has for his match ups right. would be great to take a big scalp the next day while we have made good progession we probably have only beatin teams in championship that we would have expected to at the start of the year.
Post by: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 08:45:33 AM
Laois will play Cork!
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 01, 2019, 08:48:52 AM
Really the best we could of hoped for, a very winnable game.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 01, 2019, 08:49:26 AM
Total fix!
Post by: recyclebin on July 01, 2019, 08:58:36 AM
Thurles or Limerick?
Post by: Butch Cassidy on July 01, 2019, 09:06:23 AM
 :Double header in Thurles with Meath and Clare?
Post by: Tony on July 01, 2019, 10:38:33 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 01, 2019, 08:49:26 AM
Total fix!
It was televised. If you think everybody in the studio (10+ people) were paid off, well, you're a simple man really.

Interesting draw. 2 massive games for the neutral and then the Laois Cork game and Meath Clare. I think we're in bonus territory now, really. It's already been a very successful 2019 for Laois and our targets have already been met (and exceeded in my opinion). No idea what will happen in the game but will support the lads no matter what.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 01, 2019, 10:49:44 AM
Great draw, Cork will be in a bad place after that defeat to Kerry and we are on a high at the moment. I know that won't win it for us but if you look at the league form this year we are very close to each other so any psychological difference between the teams can make the difference.

We also have a few lads to come back and the guys we have are really battling for a starting spot on this team thanks to John's management skills and the way he has brought on young players this year. We can go into this game with nothing to fear and give it a real go with a Super 8 spot the prize at the end of the day..
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 10:51:03 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 01, 2019, 10:49:44 AM
Great draw, Cork will be in a bad place after that defeat to Kerry and we are on a high at the moment. I know that won't win it for us but if you look at the league form last year we are very close to each other so any psychological difference between the teams can make the difference.
WTF? Surely Cork are on a high after putting it up to a Kerry side who have bent them over repeatedly in recent years?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 01, 2019, 10:59:01 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 10:51:03 AM
Great draw, Cork will be in a bad place after that defeat to Kerry and we are on a high at the moment. I know that won't win it for us but if you look at the league form last year we are very close to each other so any psychological difference between the teams can make the difference.
WTF? Surely Cork are on a high after putting it up to a Kerry side who have bent them over repeatedly in recent years?

They might be on a high but they still lost a game they could have won. That does things to players heads and, as I said, it's not going to win the game for us but it can make heads drop when the going gets tough. Maybe you're right and we will roll over and give up because they put it up to the mighty Kerry but I don't think so and the form suggests there is very little between us.
Post by: From the Terrace on July 01, 2019, 11:02:20 AM
I think its a good draw too we have avoided a Division one team. Cork have had a good Munster Championship, They got relegated out of Division 2. On the match the weekend, serious concerns about our full back, Thought midfield was very good & up front i would like to see O'Carroll start next weekend. O'Loughlin, two Kingstons & Scully stood out for me.
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 11:12:20 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 01, 2019, 10:59:01 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 10:51:03 AM

They might be on a high but they still lost a game they could have won. That does things to players heads and, as I said, it's not going to win the game for us but it can make heads drop when the going gets tough. Maybe you're right and we will roll over and give up because they put it up to the mighty Kerry but I don't think so and the form suggests there is very little between us.
Its as good a draw as we could have hoped for, but if I were one of those Cork players, I'd be feeling very happy with myself coming out of that game. Pride restored. Meath are on a low, Galway are looking to bounce back, Cavan might be a bit down. Cork, they've been relegated, pilloried, decried, that win will restore some confidence.

Its up to us to shatter it once more.

I'm terrified of their pace however.
Post by: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 11:50:40 AM
All the teams who lost provincial finals all probably where hoping for Laois.
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 11:52:31 AM
Quote from: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 11:50:40 AM
All the teams who lost provincial finals all probably where hoping for Laois.
No way? They weren't secretly hoping for 2018 All Ireland Finalists Tyrone? Perennial All Ireland Finalists Mayo? Division 2 side Clare?
Post by: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 11:54:52 AM
Relax
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 01, 2019, 12:21:46 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 11:12:20 AM
I'm terrified of their pace however.

Totally agree with that, I think this is where we could fail, the speed of some of there lads against Kerry was awesome. That No. 11 will cause us a lot of problems..
Post by: Tony on July 01, 2019, 12:53:33 PM
Cork 1/2 to win this one. Can't really argue with that.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 01, 2019, 01:13:49 PM
I would have Laois slight favorites for this, Cork while a familiar name are not what they once were.  If a good showing in Munster Final makes you a good team over night well fair play but I don't think so.  Laois to win this and qualify for Super 8's BOOM
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 01, 2019, 01:14:08 PM
This is exactly where you want to be. We have learned enough about Laois to know that we are very good at beating teams below us but you have to move up a serious notch to be good enough to compete in the Super 8s. Cork ran Kerry very close and will be very confident of beating us. If they do, then in reality we are not ready for the Super 8s. If we beat them, then we will deserve to be in the Super 8s. The likely group that Laois would be in are Dublin, Tyrone and Roscommon (sorry Cavan).

Personally, I thought we looked more than good enough on Saturday to beat Offaly but a long way off the standard that is required. Our defending is only sporadically intense and the speed at which we attack is way off the mark.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 01, 2019, 01:28:34 PM
I don't know Blueandwhite1  I don't think Cork are great, I feel Super 8's will be an eyeopener for us.  But we will never move up the levels unless we are there.  However Cork are far short of Super 8's standard them ourselves are just on the lucky draw.
Post by: recyclebin on July 01, 2019, 01:39:48 PM
 Super 8 would be a great for Laois. We may lose all three games but it would be against division 1 teams and be good preparation for division 2 next year. It would highlight our biggest weakness to work on.

Cork will have there homework done. I was sitting beside two of their backroom team on Saturday in O Moore Park and they were flat out taking notes on both Laois and Offaly. They weren't even hiding the fact that they were from Cork. Both had Cork gaa tshirts on.
Post by: Tony on July 01, 2019, 02:00:35 PM
Ballyroan, Cork were very unlucky in the League to go down, beating Armagh on the last day. They are a good side and their championship form has been good with an impressive showing against Kerry - one of the top 3 sides in the country. So I'm not sure if you've seen them at all this year. Having said that, I think we can have a competitive enough game with them. But to label us favourites is very questionable.
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 02:00:52 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on July 01, 2019, 01:14:08 PM
This is exactly where you want to be. We have learned enough about Laois to know that we are very good at beating teams below us but you have to move up a serious notch to be good enough to compete in the Super 8s. Cork ran Kerry very close and will be very confident of beating us. If they do, then in reality we are not ready for the Super 8s. If we beat them, then we will deserve to be in the Super 8s. The likely group that Laois would be in are Dublin, Tyrone and Roscommon (sorry Cavan).

Personally, I thought we looked more than good enough on Saturday to beat Offaly but a long way off the standard that is required. Our defending is only sporadically intense and the speed at which we attack is way off the mark.
We're missing out two main central defenders, of course its going to be sporadic, but its developing.
Post by: High Fielder on July 01, 2019, 02:01:57 PM
Cork looked good the last day, but you could turn that on its head and say that Kerry looked a million miles off being All Ireland contenders. They're probably no better than Meath, who we were very disappointing against. It's not a game I'd expect to win, but I'd be delighted if we did, obviously.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 01, 2019, 02:04:36 PM
I'm a huge fan of the League and I think the tables tend to be an accurate assessment of where teams are.  I've seen Cork sporadically play well but more often than not they are poor.  Historically a big name but that counts for little.  I know we are a long way off the top sides, but I don't think Cork are a top side.
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 02:07:21 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on July 01, 2019, 02:04:36 PM
I'm a huge fan of the League and I think the tables tend to be an accurate assessment of where teams are.  I've seen Cork sporadically play well but more often than not they are poor.  Historically a big name but that counts for little.  I know we are a long way off the top sides, but I don't think Cork are a top side.
There was no easy tie for Laois, thats what happens when separate the wheat from the chaff. This Laois side shouldn't fear Cork, but respect is expected. Cork scored heavy against Limerick and Kerry and got all the goals they wanted in both. That will have to be dealt with. I think we'll cause them plenty of problems too. There's a lot of reasons to be hopeful here.
Post by: Laois Rising on July 01, 2019, 02:16:25 PM
Huge positivism back in Cork football. In challenge games leading up to Munster final were playing well and brought that form into Munster Final. With getting Laois in draw their tails will be up. Ruairi Deane is probably one of the quickest centre forwards in country and not afraid to run directly at goal. Interesting to see if Laois drop a permanent sweeper in front of full back line to try counter act these runs. Collins Connolly Hurley will cause problems for full back line. Cork midfield competed well with Kerry so huge challenge ahead of Lillis and O'Loughlin- I think our midfield partnership performance has been consistently good this year and hopefully that will ring true again next weekend. Where we have a chance is if our forwards click. They have improved with each championship game-the Kingstons, Murphy and Carroll all capable of scoring heavily when on song. If they do there won't be too much between the sides come the final whistle.   
Post by: Helix. on July 01, 2019, 02:47:01 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on July 01, 2019, 02:16:25 PM
Huge positivism back in Cork football. In challenge games leading up to Munster final were playing well and brought that form into Munster Final. With getting Laois in draw their tails will be up. Ruairi Deane is probably one of the quickest centre forwards in country and not afraid to run directly at goal. Interesting to see if Laois drop a permanent sweeper in front of full back line to try counter act these runs. Collins Connolly Hurley will cause problems for full back line. Cork midfield competed well with Kerry so huge challenge ahead of Lillis and O'Loughlin- I think our midfield partnership performance has been consistently good this year and hopefully that will ring true again next weekend. Where we have a chance is if our forwards click. They have improved with each championship game-the Kingstons, Murphy and Carroll all capable of scoring heavily when on song. If they do there won't be too much between the sides come the final whistle.   

Didn't laois play Cork in challenge before Westmeath match? At least they'd have some knowledge of Cork beforehand. Won't be much in the final score hopefully 👍🏻
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on July 01, 2019, 03:02:29 PM
in the draw this morning, I was hoping for Galway, Cork , Cavan in that order.
Most Laois people seemed to want Cavan, I did not because they had in the bank rock solid wins over Monaghan and Armagh and might be a step ahead of Laois.
I would have taken Galway first because the word is that Walsh has lost the dressing room and they would be vulnerable if you kept with them for 50 mins.

Cork is a so-so outfit..........forget about the challenge games  and the freakish win against Limerick, 3-3 in 5 minutes ended that game.  Overall Cork have the same professional losers in this team that have been knocking about for the last 3 or 4 years.

They done OK against Kerry, but I believe Kerry always fancied they would do enough to win and did not go gungho like in 2018. One fact is that after 58 minutes of the Munster final, the game was a draw and in the remaining 12 minutes plus stoppage time, Kerry, also down a man, won that period by 3 points and when all is said and done Cork only scored 13 times in that game.

Stripped back I think this is still the same moderate Cork team of recent years, confidence could be brittle and if Laois are up for the battle, we might have the appetite to see it out and wrestle a win.
Post by: Leixlad on July 01, 2019, 03:09:06 PM
Thurles Saturday 5pm, bring it on  8)
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 03:12:52 PM
Quote from: Leixlad on July 01, 2019, 03:09:06 PM
Revenge for the U21 Final defeat.
Post by: The PRO on July 01, 2019, 03:28:28 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 03:12:52 PM
Did you have to bring that up? Still have nightmares about that one. We were so much the better team.and chucked it away.
Post by: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 03:30:59 PM
Quote from: The PRO on July 01, 2019, 03:28:28 PM
Did you have to bring that up? Still have nightmares about that one. We were so much the better team.and chucked it away.
Revenge for Sean Ban Breathnach?
Post by: on the hop on July 01, 2019, 04:05:57 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 01, 2019, 03:30:59 PM
Quote from: The PRO on July 01, 2019, 03:28:28 PM
Revenge for Sean Ban Breathnach?
never forgotten
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 01, 2019, 05:28:21 PM
I'd like to see O'Carroll back in the team against Cork. Munnelly did decent, but O'Carroll on form is a potential game winner.

I'd also like to see Sean Byrne in from the start. He was excellent when he came on against Derry.

Post by: SCFC on July 01, 2019, 05:48:53 PM
Totally depends which Cork team turn up.

The way they played against an admittedly lethargic Kerry team in the Munster final would be a cause for concern but they can be absolutely terrible at times.

They'll definitely be delighted with the draw themselves and a shot at the Super 8's.

On our team, it would be great if Begley or Timmons became available. I think Scully must start and Evan might edge Ross out next day. Where was Boyle Saturday? Went from starting v Derry to outside the 26. Injured?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 01, 2019, 05:52:57 PM
We'll probably need a minimum of two goals to beat Cork. Would be great to see Donie closer to the goal for that purpose alone. Or maybe the brother can repeat the feat of last year against Westmeath!
Post by: Unlaoised on July 01, 2019, 09:01:18 PM
Not the draw I wanted I fear the pace of Cork big time .
Still never going to be easy no matter who .

I know it couldn't have happened but I'd have loved another wrap at Meath
I think Clare will beat them
Post by: Tony on July 01, 2019, 09:58:12 PM
I think it's the perfect draw, in the sense that, Cork are ahead of us on paper, yet they're not in the very top 6 counties in the country. What I mean by that, is, they're a good test to see if we're at that level, yet. If we beat them, we deserve to be in the Super 8's. If we don't beat them, then it means we're not on that level yet, and we work on ourselves for 2020. As Sugrue likes to say, it's a test to measure ourselves against better opposition and see where we're at. It really is bonus territory, now, in my opinion. But it'd be some achievement to get to the Super 8's, no matter what happens. If we beat Cork, then we certainly deserve to be there. My prediction is a 4 to 6 point victory for Cork - I think they'll have too much for us currently, but let's see how we measure up on Saturday.
Post by: Jellyfish on July 02, 2019, 11:17:05 AM
Does anybody know how the injuries are coming along or if Timmons, Begley or Boyle are fit enough for game time at the weekend?
Post by: Don Draper on July 02, 2019, 11:19:03 AM
Quote from: Jellyfish on July 02, 2019, 11:17:05 AM
Does anybody know how the injuries are coming along or if Timmons, Begley or Boyle are fit enough for game time at the weekend?
Timmons - No
Other two will be marginal calls on the day.
Post by: Tony on July 04, 2019, 09:48:14 PM
Laois team named for Saturday:

LAOIS: Graham Brody (Portlaoise); Stephen Attride (Killeshin), Denis Booth (The Heath), Gareth Dillon (Portlaoise); Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen), Robert Pigott (Portarlington), Patrick O'Sullivan (Portarlington); John O'Loughlin (St Brigid's), Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise); Daniel O'Reilly (Griaguecullen), Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen), Marty Scully (Ballyroan-Abbey); Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen), Colm Murphy (Portarlington), Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise).
Post by: Brandon on July 04, 2019, 10:09:32 PM
I'm from cork and live in cork but I follow laois in football and hurling because my grandad use to bring me to the games since 2005 and still does. Where I'm from in cork (cobh) they only care about hurling so I changed club and stared playing up here. I hope laois do beat them which I think they will, can't wait to slag my friends. I've been waiting for years for this. Cork have a few players injured. Cmon LAOIS
Post by: redsetanta on July 04, 2019, 10:53:49 PM
So are you kicking football in Laois? Welcome by the way!
Post by: Unlaoised on July 04, 2019, 11:05:43 PM
I think that tram might just start .
Begley is close very close .

Crowd will be lost in thurles a smaller venue would have suited Laois better I think.

Nothing to fear from Cork if we can keep it tight we can certainly trouble them
Post by: Giovanni on July 04, 2019, 11:26:37 PM
What's the story with Evan?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 04, 2019, 11:51:09 PM
Laois senior football team named for crucial Cork clash
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/04/breaking-laois-senior-football-team-named-for-crucial-cork-clash/

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/WhatsApp-Image-2019-06-10-at-08.09.13-e1560150677552-640x346.jpeg)
Post by: vetoldthe on July 05, 2019, 12:05:05 AM
I GAVE UP SECOND-QUESSING WHAT TEAM SUGRUE PICK,

THAT MAN HAS OUTFOX ME EVERY TIME.
Post by: smcder on July 05, 2019, 02:45:39 AM
Has he not just named the team that started the last day?

So probable a couple changes before throw in.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 05, 2019, 06:48:32 AM
Martin Breheny is unhappy that the likes of Laois, and even Cork, could qualify to play in the Super 8s....

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/martin-breheny-qualification-system-not-delivering-real-super-8-38277153.html

The elitism in the GAA is astonishing.

Post by: Tony on July 05, 2019, 09:30:41 AM
It wanted me to pay for that article so I declined. What does he want, the same 8 teams there every year? Yes Monaghan aren't there because they weren't good enough this year. They've clearly taken a step back. The top 6 counties are in, no doubt. If there's a surprise team in, like Laois, who would have played 5 hard games and won 4 to get to the super 8's, then let them. What about Kerry, playing two games, only one was difficult, and they're straight through to super 8s. Clearly the system needs to change to be fair to all teams. His criticism seems misguided.
Post by: Don Draper on July 05, 2019, 10:18:25 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 05, 2019, 06:48:32 AM
Martin Breheny is unhappy that the likes of Laois, and even Cork, could qualify to play in the Super 8s....

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/martin-breheny-qualification-system-not-delivering-real-super-8-38277153.html

Breheny is a w**ker
Post by: RedHand88 on July 05, 2019, 10:32:21 AM

That article epitomizes Irish begrudgery. So what if a few teams go on a run. It's what makes the championship.
Post by: MasterJ on July 05, 2019, 11:23:59 AM
Exactly! It is always great if a surprise gets through. Look at Tipperary in 2016. They made to the All-Ireland semis which was exciting.
Post by: Countyminor on July 05, 2019, 11:26:14 AM

Why don't we get a new system in place where all Division 1 teams automatically qualify for the super 8s irrespective of form and all the other 24 teams take part in the brand new Peter Pan cup? Then we won't have the situation of upstarts like Laois going on a run through the backdoor. We deserve to be in the last 12. Cork have beaten Limerick to get here ffs. Dublin haven't faced a side that were in D1 side yet.  The only team Cork beat to get to this stage was Limerick. Galway only beat London and Sligo. In spite of the provincial imbalance regarding numbers and how the competition is run which certainly won't be getting addressed anytime soon, we have won 3 games and earned our way here more than most.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 05, 2019, 11:26:39 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 05, 2019, 10:32:21 AM

That article epitomizes Irish begrudgery. So what if a few teams go on a run. It's what makes the championship.

Exactly. Isn't the beauty of the championship that underdogs can have an extended run.

Would Breheny prefer if the likes of Laois dropped out and let the big boys at it.
Post by: MasterJ on July 05, 2019, 11:28:17 AM
Team named:
Brody
Attride  Booth  Dillon
Collins  Pigott  O'Sullivan
O'Loughlin  Lilis
O'Reilly   D.Kingston  Scully
Munnely  Murphy  P. Kingston
Post by: From the Terrace on July 05, 2019, 12:09:45 PM
I expect to see Evan play the majority of this game, Sugrue made 3 changes last week, wouldnt be surprised if begley plays aswell. I think we're in with a good shout here. Its being a good year so far, Super 8s & Leinster U20 final appearance would be great.
Post by: Tony on July 05, 2019, 12:41:28 PM
I can't see Colm Begley starting but I can see him coming on. It's not really Sugrue's style to start someone who's been out injured and just back in contention.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 05, 2019, 05:30:44 PM
Seriously "Underdogs" this game is 50/50, same lads would be saying it's 50/50 against Roscommon when they would be easy favs. Cork are shambolic and okay there may be enough talent to trouble Laois, but no way is this anything but 50/50.  In the same way as Offaly, Cork will try to hit Laois in the first half but I can't see them staying with us.  We are just in a better place.  On the minus side I would think we will struggle in Super 8's and I genuinely can't make up mind is this a good thing long term or a bad thing ala Kildare this season.
Post by: Nameless on July 05, 2019, 05:53:07 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on July 05, 2019, 05:30:44 PM
Seriously "Underdogs" this game is 50/50, same lads would be saying it's 50/50 against Roscommon when they would be easy favs. Cork are shambolic and okay there may be enough talent to trouble Laois, but no way is this anything but 50/50.  In the same way as Offaly, Cork will try to hit Laois in the first half but I can't see them staying with us.  We are just in a better place.  On the minus side I would think we will struggle in Super 8's and I genuinely can't make up mind is this a good thing long term or a bad thing ala Kildare this season.

How much have you put on at 2/1? Great odds on Laois if you believe what you posted.

I think we'll find it tough but we can beat Cork. It will take a day where we actually take a high percentage of our chances and especially goals. We'll have to tighten up at the back and give a bit more protection, I'm sure there's a plan for this. Whatever happens, I hope a big crowd goes down to support them. They're giving their all and they deserve our backing.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 05, 2019, 06:38:10 PM
Went 5/2 on betfair for small but will go again at 2/1 same as the 15/8 in Derry

Cork Derry essentially two Div 3 teams, Cork prob worse on the way down.
Post by: Tony on July 05, 2019, 07:30:47 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on July 05, 2019, 06:38:10 PM
Went 5/2 on betfair for small but will go again at 2/1 same as the 15/8 in Derry

Cork Derry essentially two Div 3 teams, Cork prob worse on the way down.
I seriously doubt you've kept a close eye on Cork this season. Yes, they went down but they were playing good football come end of League, especially with the good win against Armagh (who are a serious team these days) and continued that into championship form. You're dismissing them like they're a Louth or Offaly type team. We wont fear them but they are clear favourites.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 05, 2019, 09:05:26 PM
No better than Offaly or Louth who you would expect Laois to be 1/3 or 1/4.  I'm saying this Laois team has to be 50/50 makes them evens to win this.
Post by: MasterJ on July 05, 2019, 09:34:10 PM
I don't know how it is 50/50 as Laois winning would be a huge shock!
Post by: Tony on July 05, 2019, 09:50:17 PM
19/20 neutrals would predict Cork. That's just the reality of the situation. So you can live in deluded world if you like but facts are facts. It's clear that Cork are not HOT favourites but they're certainly WARM favourites for this one. That's the consensus between all the expert journalists and any neutral opinion I've seen.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 05, 2019, 09:55:01 PM
Bookies expect Laois to win 1 in 3.5 times, I think its 1 in 2.  Whatever it is a Laois win would not be a huge shock,  Laois beating Dublin in hurling on Sunday would be a huge shock. I am not saying Cork can't beat Laois but teams are on a par, saying different is not true.
Post by: Don Draper on July 05, 2019, 11:26:02 PM
We will win this
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on July 06, 2019, 09:45:17 AM
Like your confidence Don.
Id be a bit worried about corks pace though.
Well need to put up a big xcore to beat them
Post by: Chrimtain on July 06, 2019, 10:36:54 AM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on July 06, 2019, 09:45:17 AM
Like your confidence Don.
Id be a bit worried about corks pace though.
Well need to put up a big xcore to beat them

Fair play to you Don.
Post by: Tony on July 06, 2019, 11:24:57 AM
I love the confidence, I just dislike one or two posters describing Cork as "shambolic" and a poor team etc. That talk is just stupid and ignorant.

We wont fear them and we'll give our all. Let the best team win. Laois abu
Post by: merman on July 06, 2019, 12:22:04 PM
John Sugrue is some man.
Great to see such confidence in going to tackle Cork in the last 12 of an All-Ireland.
Some turnaround in 2 years!

Sugrue and Eddie Brennan (like Chedder before him) are laying foundations that we as a County must accept as baseline requirements.
The quality of player we have available will peak and trough across the years but we must get behind people of substance who demand the best from our county panelists.

Best of luck to the lads today.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 06, 2019, 12:38:01 PM
Tony quit this racket,  Laois have worked hard for the past couple of years. Cork are poor at the moment. This is Sugrue's big chance, until now we have beaten no one.  Cork are in their worst situation in years.  If we can't beat them now we never will, if we get hammered here we have no business at top tier level in football.  UP Laois buy in Tony and stop looking for excuses.  Laois Win
Post by: Brandon on July 06, 2019, 02:06:33 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on July 04, 2019, 10:53:49 PM
So are you kicking football in Laois? Welcome by the way!
yes I am and thanks
Post by: Joeythelips on July 06, 2019, 03:23:21 PM
I dont think people are looking for excuses, they just want a bit of realism in the argument. We still are a team that got a hiding off Meath and lost to Westmeath twice in the league. There is no doubt Cork are on a downward spiral and their league form was horrendous but they will be fully confident they will send our lads packing. Im confident if Laois play to their potential they can win this, but we have yet to see their full potential yet.
Post by: on the hop on July 06, 2019, 05:48:56 PM
Can't get the kick outs away, can't get at there's. Pace up the middle killing us
Post by: redsetanta on July 06, 2019, 05:58:35 PM
Disaster start to second half.
Post by: MasterJ on July 06, 2019, 06:54:11 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 05, 2019, 11:26:02 PM
We will win this

Great win today Don.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 06, 2019, 07:34:09 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on July 06, 2019, 05:58:35 PM
Disaster start to
Quote from: MasterJ on July 06, 2019, 06:54:11 PM
We will win this

Great win today Don.

Are you from Laois ? 
Post by: Tony on July 06, 2019, 07:47:50 PM
Cork looked very shambolic.

Hard luck to all involved. Good year for Laois across the board, regardless. We're not at that level yet but we're making good progress. We'll be back stronger for 2020. Looking forward to switching the attention now to the underage and also the hurlers at OMP. Huge respect and praise deserved for all involved this year and thanks for some good days out along the way. Onwards and upwards
Post by: MasterJ on July 06, 2019, 07:57:12 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 06, 2019, 07:34:09 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on July 06, 2019, 05:58:35 PM
Disaster start to
We will win this

Great win today Don.

Are you from Laois ? 

Yes I am.
Post by: Helix. on July 06, 2019, 08:03:53 PM
Hard luck indeed to the lads. Listened on Midlands 103 and goals obviously took the stuffing out of us. Like the Meath match we seemed to miss the goal chances when every chance needed to be taken. Hopefully division 2 football will stand to them and hopefully not as open in the backs.

Quick question, are Mark Barry and Sean O'Flynn available to play u20s Tuesday or is it once you play higher grade, can't go back down to 20s. It would be great for that bunch to make a Leinster final and get on a run.
Overall got back to Division 2, back to final 12, new additions blooded and hopefully we keep building. Onwards and upwards.
On a side note credit to Brian Hurley for Cork today. Through the ringer with 2 career threatening knee and hamstring injuries and did awful damage today and took his goals well. A fine footballer.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 06, 2019, 08:10:00 PM
Quote from: Helix. on July 06, 2019, 08:03:53 PM
Hard luck indeed to the lads. Listened on Midlands 103 and goals obviously took the stuffing out of us. Like the Meath match we seemed to miss the goal chances when every chance needed to be taken. Hopefully division 2 football will stand to them and hopefully not as open in the backs.

Quick question, are Mark Barry and Sean O'Flynn available to play u20s Tuesday or is it once you play higher grade, can't go back down to 20s. It would be great for that bunch to make a Leinster final and get on a run.
Overall got back to Division 2, back to final 12, new additions blooded and hopefully we keep building. Onwards and upwards.
On a side note credit to Brian Hurley for Cork today. Through the ringer with 2 career threatening knee and hamstring injuries and did awful damage today and took his goals well. A fine footballer.

Yep to Tuesday

Cork are no use Tony,  but still have faith in Sugrue but that was winnable.
Post by: Don Draper on July 06, 2019, 08:42:47 PM
We will win this

Great win today Don.

Thanks, the U11s were flying it this morning

Post by: Don Draper on July 06, 2019, 08:45:08 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 06, 2019, 08:10:00 PM
Quote from: Helix. on July 06, 2019, 08:03:53 PM

Yep to Tuesday

Not sure they're no use, they've power and pace and that'll take you a long way. We're moving upwards but slowly. I'm happy enough with the year, a lot to build on.
Post by: High Fielder on July 06, 2019, 08:56:22 PM
Damage done by half time. They convincingly wiped us out in midfield and we should have tried something different. Far too much pressure on our backs as a result, a lot of whom are out of position or not this standard yet. Going forward ourselves, we did some good things. Donie was all class today and I hope he stays going while Lowry really stepped up too. Our backs need some specialist coaching particularly with their tackling. I hope we can find an odd player or two that would free up Attride and Dillon. Corner back is not for them. Maybe we are forever destined to play the square pegs in round holes game. I personally think that a weaker player in his natural position is better than a good player in an unnatural position.
Post by: Giovanni on July 06, 2019, 09:17:17 PM
Especially when the position is corner back
Post by: Blow-in on July 06, 2019, 09:21:07 PM
Decided to leave Denis booth on until 3-4 was kicked off him. You'd really have to question the management on a number of times this year.
Post by: on the hop on July 06, 2019, 10:03:17 PM
4-20 is unbelievable score to concede. A complete systems failure or a lack of a system or maybe options to adjust to what was happening. Two heavy defeats and seven goals conceded against teams that we thought realistically we could beat to show progression. Under 20 is vital on tuesday
Post by: High Fielder on July 06, 2019, 10:27:31 PM
There are issues there. No doubt about that. There are places up for grabs. No doubt about that either. But let us be clear. John Sugrue is the best thing to happen to Laois football in the longest time. With the players he has available to him, I think he's getting as much out of us as there is to get. If there are lads out there who feel they could do better than the players in there, get your arses in there and show it. I personally don't think there is, and that's our biggest problem.
Post by: Giovanni on July 06, 2019, 10:42:08 PM
There's no doubt he's done a fantastic job overall and deserves all the plaudits he gets. He has managed to build confidence when we were at our lowest point and has brought through a lot of good young lads. I think he has managed Donie Kingston especially well and we have seen the fruits of that in the last two games.

It's easy to be critical tonight. I have to admit that I have been puzzled about why there wasn't a bit more experimentation to try to solve our biggest problem positions but I think they've done themselves proud overall. With some new lads coming through from the u-20s, the future is bright.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 07, 2019, 12:52:47 AM
Quote from: Batman!!! on July 06, 2019, 09:21:07 PM
Decided to leave Denis booth on until 3-4 was kicked off him. You'd really have to question the management on a number of times this year.

f**k off
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 07, 2019, 12:55:22 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on July 06, 2019, 10:27:31 PM
There are issues there. No doubt about that. There are places up for grabs. No doubt about that either. But let us be clear. John Sugrue is the best thing to happen to Laois football in the longest time. With the players he has available to him, I think he's getting as much out of us as there is to get. If there are lads out there who feel they could do better than the players in there, get your arses in there and show it. I personally don't think there is, and that's our biggest problem.

That's fair enough Sugrue must stay best manager to hit Laois in my lifetime,  Micko included.  Simply no arguement
Post by: Don Draper on July 07, 2019, 07:52:03 AM
Quote from: Batman!!! on July 06, 2019, 09:21:07 PM
Go f**k yourself
Post by: MasterJ on July 07, 2019, 08:17:16 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 06, 2019, 08:42:47 PM
We will win this

Great win today Don.

Thanks, the U11s were flying it this morning

Glad to hear! What position did you play in?
Post by: High Fielder on July 07, 2019, 10:42:10 AM
I think we learned plenty about ourselves against Meath and Cork. First and foremost, at this level, you have to be able to win your own ball. Particularly yesterday, it was maddening to see the long kick to the isolated man. At best it's 50/50 and when you don't commit to the break, the percentages go against you. The better teams won't allow Cork to do that.

Our tackling when run at is as bad as I have seen at this level. Obviously the momentum is with the attacking team, but technically, we have to be better than we are. There was an inevitability that they would score when they ran at us. To a lesser extent, we were well capable of boring holes in their back line, and I thought their coach was codding himself when he said they got sloppy. Their full back got a roasting off  Donie. A proper roasting. The ref allowed their man plenty of rope, but we should have hanged him. He'll get exposed badly in the Super 8's.

We missed Benny Carroll badly. Benny wanders all over the place and has a habit of getting on the ball. He uses it well too, and that's so important to Sugrue's style. In fairness, I have to say that the most improvement has come in this department. When we did have the ball, which wasn't as often as you would like, we used it well. This has been our saving grace. I have heard plenty of talk in the county about players who should be playing and they're better at this or that. I don't agree. Players who don't have the pace or who don't work hard enough have fallen by the wayside. They can be as good as they like at this or that, but others have to carry them and will always have to carry them. They are a luxury you can't afford, and whilst yesterday will fuel this sort of debate, I am happy in my head that this is where we are right now and that Sugrue is doing the best he can with what is available to him. The modern game requires work, work, work. You can get away with stuff against poorer teams, but the better teams will expose all your weaknesses. That doesn't mean that we didn't pick the right team or didn't use the right system. It just means that the other team is better than you, and Cork were better than us yesterday on so many levels.
Post by: on the hop on July 07, 2019, 10:53:29 AM
looking back on it now, cork had their homework done on us, really went after our strengths and exposed our weaknesses. we stayed with them well for the guts of half an hour, creaking a bit at times before half time but the little spurt of 4 points to stretch the lead before the interval and then the first 10 after half time and the game was over. the rest of the game played out like a challenge match, we had numerous chances but were never going to be caught and the step up in pace killed us all evening, it wasn't helped by some crazy tactical decisions, but I don't want to commit heresy discussing them.

the key to me really looked like the failure to win kickouts when the game was in the mix. the full press saw us having to go long far to often and mostly towards Jol. they swamped the area around him, bringing both their wing forwards in and broke a lot of ball. brody doesn't have the length of kick to go over this so we tried a few short ones but were under a lot of pressure, lillis won a few but often in the corner and any possession we got had to translated into scores, but again we had some poor misses. with deane and McCarthy having a free role across their half forward line they drove down the centre often breaking tackles. we never really handled deane at all and often he laid off ball to looping forwards for handy scores. pressure on the kickers was minimal. the space down the sides allowed both their wing backs to drive at will. they had massive pace, an advantage they had in a number of areas on the field and created numerous overlaps and stretched our defense. it was very like the meath game with Keoghan. with no protection in front of the full back line and a succession of ball coming in along with untracked runners , they were badly exposed. it wasn't helped by some awful defending and 4-20 is a massive score to concede and possibly it could have been more. 7-33 in the two games against opposite that we would hope that we are getting close to or passing has to lead to a re-think of what we are at in terms of a defensive structure. its a pity the year had to end like this after a lot of progress has been made.
Post by: Tony on July 07, 2019, 12:24:40 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 06, 2019, 08:10:00 PM
You sound very confused Ballyroan. Cork just beat us by 14 points. And still you say they're no use. Bit deluded to be fair. Cork are clearly preparing for the championship, they've got a good manager now with a top record, they've gotten rid of the old dinousaur managers and tactics. The new manager knows power and pace does a lot of damage. Cork wont be a walk over against Dublin either, mark my words. They'll lose to Dublin but not by more than 6. They'll come very close to Tyrone, could go either way. They'll beat Roscommon. We lost to a good side and there's no shame in it. We'll be back stronger for 2020.

I feel bad for Colm and Mark Timmons that they didn't get more of a run of it this year. I really hope nobody retires, even Ross. I didn't see anyone who needs to retire yet. These lads mind themselves well and can go another few years (I'm referring to the Begleys / JOLs etc). Donie was really coming good the last few games and I hope he continues that into next year, he is a class player through and through. His fitness came along well as the year progressed. I hope the lads see the potential for us to be better and stick around. I also hope we see Healy and Merideth for 2020. And we could do with Zach Tuohy if he's feeling like ripping up the championship next year; what a difference he would make. Well done to all involved for the progress we've made this year. Next year it gets a bit more serious.

Brody
Healy Timmons Merideth
Attride Begley Dillon
JOL Lillis
Scully Zach Tuohy Benny Carroll
Paul Kingston  Donie  Evan O' Carroll.

Plenty of the younger lads coming through knocking at the door too, but I still see this as our best 15, strong lines, everybody playing in their best position.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 07, 2019, 01:13:25 PM
.Brody
Healy Timmons Merideth
Attride Begley Dillon
JOL Lillis
Scully Zach Tuohy Benny Carroll
Paul Kingston  Donie  Evan O' Carroll.

Meredith corner back..?

Hopefully a few of the younger lads come on board next year, the likes of Saunders, Whelan, Tyrell etc and they can offer real competition.

Although it would be difficult to see fron that game against Cork, some progress has been made this year again. The league is more important for us than championship in a way, hopefully we can at least maintain our place in Division 2 next year.

Post by: Countyminor on July 07, 2019, 01:38:33 PM
I somehow doubt Zach Tuohy would walk away from being a professional athlete to slog it out with Laois in a likely battle to stay in Div 2. Healy is over the road as far as intercounty football goes I'd imagine unfortunately, and Meredith has no interest in going back. Time to look to the future as Sugrue has been this year. The likes of Scully, Pigott, Benny Carroll, Saunders, Eoin Dunne, Tyrell, Barry, O'Flynn etc are all hopefully capable of taking over from the old guard.
Post by: Laois fan on July 07, 2019, 02:46:12 PM
Is that team a pisstake about ten lads 30 or over pace is a must in modern game what we need now is to build for future and back our youngsters while maybe changing our system,dublin as good as they our play with a sweeper we cant afford not 2.saying that would like to see meredith back involved but dont think hes ever played corner back
Post by: Chrimtain on July 07, 2019, 03:47:10 PM
Its ridiculous to be thinking pf going back to Cahir Healy, Zach Touhy and Conor Meredith. There is enough young talent there without having to do that. Coached right, the young players can help Laois bridge the gap.
Post by: SCFC on July 07, 2019, 09:35:04 PM
There's as much chance of me playing for Laois next year as Zack Touhy. And Conor Meredith has made it 100% clear that a bit of club football is as much as he wants.
Cahir, Mark and Colm are all going to be 34 or 35 next year.
The future is lads like Diarmuid Whelan, O'Flynn, Tyrell, Barry and maybe lads a little older like Hitchcock (who I really like) and maybe Keane of The Heath.
Post by: on the hop on July 07, 2019, 10:43:33 PM
That's worse on second viewing
Post by: town1980 on July 07, 2019, 11:54:07 PM
I think John has brought massive respectability to Laois the last two years but yesterday was not a great day at the office  but he admitted it so for that massive respect 👍
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 08, 2019, 10:15:33 AM
Very distant observer. Laois have rebounded to where they were, no mean feat. Takes organisation and hard work to arrest a slide and put honesty and organisation front and centre.
Taking another step, (being competitive in Div 2 and taking a scalp in the championship), could take years. It may not happen in Sugrue's time. Hopefully he stays for another couple of years. The key is the next appointment. He has steadied the ship, turned it around and started sailing in the right direction. Whether it's 2020 or 2022 don't let another eejit walk in, f**k it all up and walk away counting the dollars.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 08, 2019, 10:23:09 AM
What John Sugrue has done with Laois in wo years is very impressive. He has achieved promotion twice and gotten us to the last twelve in the country for two years in a row. I hope he is around for many years to come. Looking around, it seems to me, there is plenty of young raw material to bridge he gap to the next level.
Post by: Tony on July 08, 2019, 10:38:56 AM
I'd love if Sugrue stayed around for years. He's not perfect and he's still "learning on the job". He did make errors this year, but who doesn't. He's a fantastic person for the role. I'm sick of seeing new managers every couple of years - there's no continuity then, and inevitably we get journeymen who set the county back for years. There's a great culture of respect and working hard now, in Laois football. Nobody is guaranteed their spot. I hope Sugrue becomes a Boylan / Cody / Harte / Gavin type long - term presence within Laois football. We've made huge strides and things are looking up. I hope he has the desire to keep going with Laois. 
Post by: High Fielder on July 08, 2019, 10:46:23 AM
Well said Keyser. He has definitely made us more organised. He has changed the culture and the mindset too. There are good players not on the panel and good players on the panel who need to do more. Talent alone should never be enough to guarantee you a place, and in the current climate, your work rate is just as important.

The next step will be interesting. The good work done by Sugrue has brought us to this point. The organisation and hard work that Keyser spoke about. Now we need to address those problem areas. The ones that have caused us problems for a long time. You get away with them against lesser opposition, but the cracks open wide against better teams. Kieran Lillis would be my centre back every day of the week. Johnno would always get a place too, probably at centre half forward. But we need to find two midfielders, and without applying too much pressure, I'd gamble on Dunne and Tyrell. The two others could drop back and push forward on kickouts and ease them in. Clean ball is rare enough, and we need to be hungry around the break. If there are better options out there I'd gladly welcome some names, but these to my eye are the two most natural looking midfielders. Sometimes you have to gamble and it would be a big one. So what if we drop back a Divison? We have to prepare for the next step.

The whole back division needs serious remedial work. Tackling in particular needs urgent attention. I have to be honest and say I'm not convinced that we have players good enough in some key positions. That means we have to develop, and we go right back to what McNulty tried to do with Meaney. That didn't work because it was a hunch and no more, and maybe the next solution might be the same. But hopefully there are lads out there who have the necessary skills to adapt. Failing that, it's back to square pegs in round holes, and if Saturday taught us anything, it's that you can't play that game forever.

I hope that Sugrue stays. I will beg him if I have to. He's a good man and he has us in his heart. You can see that. He could do with the best backs coach we can afford in there to help him. But keep him we must, because the alternatives don't bear thinking about.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 08, 2019, 10:52:34 AM
Quote from: Tony on July 08, 2019, 10:38:56 AM
I'd love if Sugrue stayed around for years. He's not perfect and he's still "learning on the job". He did make errors this year, but who doesn't. He's a fantastic person for the role. I'm sick of seeing new managers every couple of years - there's no continuity then, and inevitably we get journeymen who set the county back for years. There's a great culture of respect and working hard now, in Laois football. Nobody is guaranteed their spot. I hope Sugrue becomes a Boylan / Cody / Harte / Gavin type long - term presence within Laois football. We've made huge strides and things are looking up. I hope he has the desire to keep going with Laois.

Yes, give Sugrue the same time hat Boylan was given in Meath and he can achieve something. I too, hope he has the desire to stay on.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 08, 2019, 11:44:47 AM
I think you would be hard pressed to find anyone who wants Sugrue to go, What he has done in Laois Football over the last two years has been immense.  But we do need a sea change in our thinking.  The problem with our backs will not be solved by any manager.  This is a development squad issue, the most talented footballers are continuously coming in as forwards.  I think we have to start going out-side the box and start to put younger players in positions that will benefit Laois Football rather than their ego.   We need to actually create corner backs and full backs at 12-14 rather than at 20-21.  Just my thoughts but hopefully Sugrue stays on and we continue to improve.
Post by: Jd on July 08, 2019, 11:57:04 AM
Your point about developing players at 12 to 14 is correct I've seen the 14s a lot and they are quite short on backs so the management are putting lads back and sticking with them even if the make a mistake or two in an effort to strengthen that area. John Sugrue has a very good knowledge of players around the county and namechecked a few of my own club men recently who wouldn't be sticking out a mile when I was in with my young lad at his practice. I'd love him to stay on and also take a role in identifying areas where we need players and talk to development mentors about ways to develop them
Post by: High Fielder on July 08, 2019, 12:01:43 PM
I wouldn't disagree with that BA. We seem to have an abundance of similar type forwards and I'm wondering, apart from Donie, can any of them score heavily? Maybe your own man is the answer. I don't know what the issue with Evan is, but Sugrue doesn't seem to want to play him with Donie. If that is the case, I could understand that, but maybe give him a go in midfield. He can certainly field a ball and he can certainly travel with it. The lad has bundles of ability. Either way, we have to think outside the box now, as someone said earlier. Be inventive. Take chances. It is obvious I think that the current formula has got us as far as we're going to go. 
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 08, 2019, 12:16:04 PM
Exactly lads

I think with the better teams that scores are coming from every number on the pitch, as it's much harder to track a corner back coming forward than a corner forward whose in situ.  If you look at Laois there scorers are quite limited and therefore easier to mark against better outfits.  In say a good U-14  Laois team you have 8-9 forwards but most likely only 1 or 2 will play senior for Laois.  I would say the other 6 should be seen as possible for repositioning with a long term view to making them viable County Players.  Marty is a real case in point, would he not be a better half back?  But all his Laois underage career he was a forward.  His 25 now this leaves 11 years till now where his defensive instincts would not have been honed.  Imagine someone had seen this with him early he would be well versed in his play at this stage and a real threat from deep.  There are loads of Club Players like this who would not be contemplated as forwards for Laois but possibly could have made it as backs and possibly have a higher talent level than some of our backs.   Maybe I am wrong are Gareth Dillion and Attride not converted wing forwards I am just saying imagine we had got these two converted earlier i.e in 1 of the underage squads.
Post by: The PRO on July 08, 2019, 01:03:16 PM
Just on the game itself on Saturday.

It was obviously a disaster. All fell asunder in the ten minutes before half time and the few minutes after the restart.

A lot of our lads struggled in their direct battles. Full back line as a whole (not just Booth) were roasted. Half back line not much better and even Begley misplaced a lot of ball after coming on. Deane for Cork is some classy player.

Lillis tried fierce hard. Great attitude. Similar with Johnno but we were just outclassed but Maguire and the other big fella (name gone on me!).

Donie was excellent throughout but O'Reilly just had one of those woeful days where nothing went right. Was surprised he wasn't taken off at half time.

Scully is a great trier and deserved his goal. Lowry and Paul Kinston never got going and young Murphy did kick a nice point but not much else.

Evan improved things a lot I thought and Barry got on some ball but his shot selection was a bit wayward.

Brody struggled a bit with the Cork press on our kickouts and we got hammered on breaking ball from that.

A very worrying day. Cork are no great shakes as will be seen later on but they made us look like a Division 4 team. I just think we're not that bad and a lot of lads had off days.

Next year's league will be vital. Need to uncover a couple of really sticky backs (corner/full). Need to add another big scoring threat from play to go with Donie.

Post by: recyclebin on July 08, 2019, 01:46:27 PM
Cork were a lot better than I expected. They were a big step up on Meath. Division 2 football will be a good challenge next year. When you play better teams more often you learn more about yourself and gives much better chance to be ready for championship.
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 08, 2019, 02:48:27 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 08, 2019, 10:52:34 AM

Yes, give Sugrue the same time hat Boylan was given in Meath and he can achieve something. I too, hope he has the desire to stay on.

Jaysus you are not asking much of the man!
Post by: Chrimtain on July 08, 2019, 03:33:03 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 08, 2019, 02:48:27 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 08, 2019, 10:52:34 AM

Jaysus you are not asking much of the man!

I don't mean literally 20 years, smart arse, I mean enough time to make a real difference.
Post by: Nameless on July 08, 2019, 05:16:10 PM
I agree with those talking about development, that's the key. What what the difference between us and Cork? They had players with power and pace who could take their men on and kick off both feet. Better teams than Cork have more players with this ability. We had Kingston who could do this and O'Carroll also has it but his shooting is very inconsistent. Players like Scully take on their men but he doesn't have the kicking ability, O'Loughlin can beat his man but doesn't have the pace to burst away. The top teams have the speed and power on every line. That's why we have struggled and will struggle against teams like this. Tyrone, Dublin, Donegal etc. We're not the only ones, of course, not many will be able to compete against that level of opposition and I'd say Cork will struggle as well. So identifying youngsters at an early age who show signs of potential in this regard is important and then get them down to the centre of excellence.
That's all for the future anyway, we can only work with what we have and Sugrue has to be commended for the job he has done. The way he sets up the team also has to be commended I suppose, they give it a go, they push up and take everyone on man v man. This has provided results against teams from division 3 and 4 and brought us up to division 2 and given us runs into the last 12 in the last 2 championships. Unfortunately, when we have come up against counties from division 1 and 2, we have been beaten by 18 points against Dublin, 11 points against Meath, 14 points against Cork and the only single digit defeat was to Monaghan where we lost by 5.
People have talked about our tackling needing to improve but do we also need to tighten things up? Is going 15 v 15 wise against these teams? We learned a lot more playing against Cork than we did the week before against Offaly. That's why it was so important to get up to division 2. We can test ourselves against better teams and I'm sure Sugrue has plenty of ideas on how to deal with the step up. A disappointing end to a good season where we've gained a few players who've shown they can step up and hopefully the u20's go well tomorrow night and we get a few more involved next year.
Post by: vetoldthe on July 09, 2019, 09:19:00 AM
Quote from: Nameless on July 08, 2019, 05:16:10 PM
I agree with those talking about development, that's the key. What what the difference between us and Cork? They had players with power and pace who could take their men on and kick off both feet. Better teams than Cork have more players with this ability. We had Kingston who could do this and O'Carroll also has it but his shooting is very inconsistent. Players like Scully take on their men but he doesn't have the kicking ability, O'Loughlin can beat his man but doesn't have the pace to burst away. The top teams have the speed and power on every line. That's why we have struggled and will struggle against teams like this. Tyrone, Dublin, Donegal etc. We're not the only ones, of course, not many will be able to compete against that level of opposition and I'd say Cork will struggle as well. So identifying youngsters at an early age who show signs of potential in this regard is important and then get them down to the centre of excellence.
That's all for the future anyway, we can only work with what we have and Sugrue has to be commended for the job he has done. The way he sets up the team also has to be commended I suppose, they give it a go, they push up and take everyone on man v man. This has provided results against teams from division 3 and 4 and brought us up to division 2 and given us runs into the last 12 in the last 2 championships. Unfortunately, when we have come up against counties from division 1 and 2, we have been beaten by 18 points against Dublin, 11 points against Meath, 14 points against Cork and the only single digit defeat was to Monaghan where we lost by 5.
People have talked about our tackling needing to improve but do we also need to tighten things up? Is going 15 v 15 wise against these teams? We learned a lot more playing against Cork than we did the week before against Offaly. That's why it was so important to get up to division 2. We can test ourselves against better teams and I'm sure Sugrue has plenty of ideas on how to deal with the step up. A disappointing end to a good season where we've gained a few players who've shown they can step up and hopefully the u20's go well tomorrow night and we get a few more involved next year.
Great Post Nameless, And spot on,

I would like to see Sugrue bring in a defensive coach to add to his backroom team for next season,
Post by: Zooming around on July 09, 2019, 01:08:59 PM
Quote from: Nameless on July 08, 2019, 05:16:10 PM

It's amazing how hundreds of young footballers are allowed to progress through the ranks without being taught to kick off both feet.