A History of Ireland in 100 Euphemisms: Add your own.

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, March 24, 2011, 08:19:35 PM

Ireland is great for euphemisms about drinking and alcoholism and social class. But "the Troubles" beats them all. 

Quote from: seafoid on March 25, 2011, 10:25:28 AM
Ireland is great for euphemisms about drinking and alcoholism and social class. But "the Troubles" beats them all.

He's fond of a drop
He takes a drink alright
The investigation follows an altercation outside a public house
PSTG is a bit of a rogue  ;)

Olly

One thing I could never figure out was how he kept his shoes on while soiling the sloppy technicolor Buddha.
Access to this webpage has been denied . This website has been categorised as "Sexual Material".

the garda are treating the death as suspicious
I'd ate the hind leg of a dead donkey
Jesus H. Christ on a motorbike

Banana Man

Quote from: passedit on March 25, 2011, 08:02:35 AM
Quote from: Leo on March 25, 2011, 02:14:39 AM
It'll do rightly...

N-n-n-n-no favours were given (Bertie, Charlie, Burke, Pee Flynn, Lowry et al)

That jersey's a bit tight on ye

he's wintered well
he wasn't bullied at the trough
he must have ate from the middle teat

<insert terrible insult here>

God forgive me (euphemism)

HiMucker

Quote from: AbbeySider on March 25, 2011, 11:40:27 AM
<insert terrible insult here>

God forgive me (euphemism)
But he has a face on him like a bull dog chewin a wasp
                                               like a pig eatin a lemon
                                               like a bag of hammers
                                               like a melted welly boot
                                               like the back of my ball sack

bcarrier

he is his own best customer

(original euphemism for alcoholic publicans but could apply to 21st century bankers)

HiMucker

Quote from: BennyHarp on March 25, 2011, 12:33:33 PM
Thon blade's a quare wan.
Shes no show pony, but she do for a ride around the living room :D

You wouldn't throw her out of the bed for eating Taytos.
It's not ideal

I'm not racist but.........

With all due respect.......

The beebil of Sout Kirry.....

in fairness we beat the......

Your wan looks a quare yoke with the wee mini.