Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

Quote from: Real Talk on April 19, 2014, 10:18:34 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 19, 2014, 09:02:30 AM
How has this turned into an assassination of Dick Clerkin ?

Yes Dick likes to play hard and tough. That's his prerogative. But I've seen him play ball too - he just didn't play the man all the time as some are suggesting. That game in Celtic park was a particularly spiteful one. Some would say a typical Ulster championship match. It wasn't all Dick's doing.

Need the chairman to step in here and make sure we get back to the original point ... whatever it was !!!!

Think Doherty's challenge was a definite yellow card, his first yellow was not.   Ref was inconsistent and Lynn in particular got a lot of 'black' abuse that went unpunished ... and what was Brolly talking about !!!!!!!!!!!

The first one looked like a clothes line in real time, but on the replay you could see he had his eyes on the ball so it shouldn't have been a card.

Estimator

Quote from: muppet on April 19, 2014, 10:37:11 AM
Quote from: Real Talk on April 19, 2014, 10:18:34 AM

Yes Dick likes to play hard and tough. That's his prerogative. But I've seen him play ball too - he just didn't play the man all the time as some are suggesting. That game in Celtic park was a particularly spiteful one. Some would say a typical Ulster championship match. It wasn't all Dick's doing.

Need the chairman to step in here and make sure we get back to the original point ... whatever it was !!!!

Think Doherty's challenge was a definite yellow card, his first yellow was not.   Ref was inconsistent and Lynn in particular got a lot of 'black' abuse that went unpunished ... and what was Brolly talking about !!!!!!!!!!!

The first one looked like a clothes line in real time, but on the replay you could see he had his eyes on the ball so it shouldn't have been a card.
By that rational Doherty had his eyes on a shoulder to shoulder challenge with O'Shea and so should not have been a yellow. ;D
Ulster League Champions 2009

Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 19, 2014, 09:23:18 AM

I started that...

The Assassination of Dick Clerkin by the Coward Tony Baloney.

He's tearing in to Donal Og now

http://balls.ie/gaa/joe-brolly-serious-issue-donal-og-cusack/

QuoteThe fall out from Sky's foray into the GAA world continued today as former Cork hurling captain and current RTE analyst Donal Og Cusack wrote in his Irish Examiner column that he agrees with Aidan O'Shea's assertion that football pundits do little to help improve the image of the game. One line is particular stands out.

It has improved in the last few seasons but mostly football punditry never really gets past the level of "Your jumper is gas Pat but that's a desperate game of football isn't it?"

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 19, 2014, 03:27:21 PM
He's tearing in to Donal Og now

http://balls.ie/gaa/joe-brolly-serious-issue-donal-og-cusack/

QuoteThe fall out from Sky's foray into the GAA world continued today as former Cork hurling captain and current RTE analyst Donal Og Cusack wrote in his Irish Examiner column that he agrees with Aidan O'Shea's assertion that football pundits do little to help improve the image of the game. One line is particular stands out.

It has improved in the last few seasons but mostly football punditry never really gets past the level of "Your jumper is gas Pat but that's a desperate game of football isn't it?"

If you read Donal Og's full article, apart from that comment in bold, it's hardly controversial. Joe likes to criticise and poke fun at people but can't really handle it coming back the other way. It seems like he's getting a bit twitchy as his après match style of lazy analysis will be scrutinised like never before this year - can he improve? I doubt it, as his ego will not let him admit that he needs too.

babarino

Quote from: Walter Cronc on April 19, 2014, 08:52:34 AM
Quote from: babarino on April 19, 2014, 01:00:26 AM
Quote from: screenexile on April 19, 2014, 12:30:59 AM
Quote from: babarino on April 19, 2014, 12:23:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
Dick Clerkin and Brolly seem to be continually sniping on Twitter. Not sure what has started it.

A few years ago, Monaghan V Derry, Celtic Park. Clerkin nearly had his eyes gouged out by Doherty. Brolly post match on RTE said Monaghan were the gurriers of Ulster football, never retracted. Doherty 'canonised' by Brolly, GAA hearing cleared of all charges on the basis of Brolly's defense...Clerkin ban stuck...

Because Clerkin was found out as a spoiler with limited ability! He's been going round for a decade raking lads heels and hitting them off the ball because he can't compete on a footballing level just ask Dara O'Se!

Doherty plays football ask anyone but if you want to start on him he won't shy away! I was at all those games and Clerkin got all he deserved!

Aye right, so for having 'limited ability' eye gouging is acceptable. And as if Dara O'Se and Brolly's word on Clerkin overrides all. I was at the game in Celtic Park too. You're having a laugh with your raking lads heels line stuff. Doherty was at it from the start. The dirty hit on O'Shea and all the ridiculous  defense in the aftermath is just a repeat of Derry's holier than thou attitude.

Don't worry Babarino you'll get your chance if yous meet us this summer. Dick Clerkin, if ever a name fitted! For all Ricey or Conor Gormleys faults, at least they could play ball.

Try not to be such a Wally Cronc. The way the draw is set up, we'll be doing very well to meet. It should be fun, no need for the nasty stuff.

And back to the point. Most of the time Brolly's good craic, and he's smart enough to know when he gets carried away. He should have retracted what he said though, and RTE shouldn't let him be a pundit on Derry games. If they do, someone from the opposition should be there to challenge him.

squire_in_navy_slacks

As the man is a twitter whore and cant keep his mouth shut

babarino

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 19, 2014, 07:32:36 PM

As the man is a twitter whore and cant keep his mouth shut

Have your 907 previous posts been this intelligent? How many followers do you have on Twitter? If you don't rate what he has to say unfollow.

Newbridge Exile

Dick Clerkin and Brolly seem to be continually sniping on Twitter. Not sure what has started it.

A few years ago, Monaghan V Derry, Celtic Park. Clerkin nearly had his eyes gouged out by Doherty. Brolly post match on RTE said Monaghan were the gurriers of Ulster football, never retracted. Doherty 'canonised' by Brolly, GAA hearing cleared of all charges on the basis of Brolly's defense...Clerkin ban stuck...

Because Clerkin was found out as a spoiler with limited ability! He's been going round for a decade raking lads heels and hitting them off the ball because he can't compete on a footballing level just ask Dara O'Se!

Doherty plays football ask anyone but if you want to start on him he won't shy away! I was at all those games and Clerkin got all he deserved!
To quote Clerkin himself (in Declan Bogues book ) "Fergal plays hard, plays fair,I took it to the edge, it was just a case of stopping him and stopping him playing "

Quote from: Newbridge Exile on April 19, 2014, 10:26:33 PM

To quote Clerkin himself (in Declan Bogues book ) "Fergal plays hard, plays fair,I took it to the edge, it was just a case of stopping him and stopping him playing "

There was only one team in Celtic Pk that sunny afternoon who wanted to play football and it wasn't Monaghan. Ferbie met fire with fire.

Mrs mills

So, what can we do on the discussion boards to check the validity of the Sunday Times story that O'Neills has been outsourcing some of its manufacturing to Bangladesh and to implore the GAA to do something about it if true?

babarino

Quote from: J OGorman on April 19, 2014, 11:44:54 PM

There was only one team in Celtic Pk that sunny afternoon who wanted to play football and it wasn't Monaghan. Ferbie met fire with fire.

Either you weren't there or you're seriously deluded.

Quote from: Mrs mills on April 20, 2014, 09:32:30 AM
So, what can we do on the discussion boards to check the validity of the Sunday Times story that O'Neills has been outsourcing some of its manufacturing to Bangladesh and to implore the GAA to do something about it if true?

I'm not Joe Brolly's biggest fan but I'm not sure you can blame him for this.

Quote from: Mrs mills on April 20, 2014, 09:32:30 AM

Maybe open a thread rather than post the same question in a dozen other threads ye big article ye ;-)

Quote from: babarino on April 20, 2014, 09:51:47 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on April 19, 2014, 11:44:54 PM

Either you weren't there or you're seriously deluded.

There's only one deluded person in here.