Teachers get it handy!

Started by wherefromreferee?, June 20, 2008, 08:49:07 AM

Quote from: Sportacus on November 28, 2023, 07:36:23 PMSeeking pay parity with other parts of the UK seems fair. It'd be a great career if it weren't for all the entitled parents.

Scottish teachers annually make 16 grand more? On average

Quote from: Sportacus on November 28, 2023, 07:36:23 PMSeeking pay parity with other parts of the UK seems fair. It'd be a great career if it weren't for all the entitled parents.

Even better job without the kids!!

Out of education 10 years now, seems like a distant memory..

Kidder81

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 28, 2023, 06:08:07 PMThink one of the big differences which gets ignored is the pension. Excellent pension at end of it by they sure pay for it while working. Not uncommon to see a deduction of 4/500 pm taken out. Compare this to a pension of eg tesco/tyre fitter.

Just one argument but I know what yous are saying

Yeah and what they pay in their employer (taxpayer) is paying in 4/5 times that

Champion The Wonder Horse

Quote from: FermGael on November 28, 2023, 07:29:56 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on November 28, 2023, 06:30:02 PM
Quote from: intheknowhow on November 28, 2023, 05:15:35 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 28, 2023, 04:56:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 26, 2023, 10:20:10 PMTeachers in the wee six not doing so well

I hadn't seen that before, but I can say that it feels about right.
My wife is a teacher now for well over 20 years. She has management points and her take home now is roughly 2k more than when she started all those years ago. Less than £200/year increase in salary.
I can say in all honesty, she has more hours to work in a week than I do.
Was recently chatting to a young lad in a tyre depot when getting a puncture fixed, he was about 21/22 and he was telling me he's taking home over £500 a week. One of the neighbours kids has a part time job in Tesco, and her hourly rate is better than what my wife earns.
I get that there isn't money in the education budget to pay them more, but the current state of things where students and early stage "non-professional" jobs (such as a tyre fitter) earn as much as if not more than a teacher of 20+ years in a management position is fundamentally wrong. I'm not suggesting that those other workers don't deserve what they are getting paid, but teachers should certainly be getting paid more.
I know of 2 young teachers who recently resigned. One of them is just looking for work in shops etc until they find their feet. The other is doing reflexology from the house 3 nights a week and making more than she was when teaching full time.

Ye but is it not a 10 month contract? Her hourly rate over them weeks is higher?

UK workers are guaranteed a minimum of 28 days paid leave per year. This can include bank holidays, but many employers add them on top, so employees in England get a minimum of 36 days, or 7 weeks and 1 day (more in Wales, Scotland, and NI).

Typically schools will have the following breaks:

Autumn half-term - 5 days
Christmas - 11 days (inc. three bank holidays)
May Day (bank holiday)
Spring half-term - 5 days
Easter - 10 or 11 days (inc. two bank holidays)
Summer half-term - 5 days (inc. one bank holiday)
Summer - 30 days (inc. one bank holiday)

So that makes 67 or 68 days, of which eight are bank holidays, and 28 are the same entitlement most other employees get. That leaves 30 or 31 days that are "extra." Some of those may be inset days where kids are at home, and schools closed, but teachers are still there working. The first two days of the next Summer break are inset days. This whittles the "extra" down to 28 or 29 days.

1,265 hours a year.

Catch yourself on.

Sure it's nearly Christmas .

Most of the primary ones will have Elf , the Grinch on repeat for the next three weeks .

Secondary ones have will a week of Christmas "mocks" where they get a handy wee day off and then they will hit the Christmas Netflix section.

Surprised if any of them made 1000 hours a year.

Yes, that was sort of my point.

Quote from: Kidder81 on November 28, 2023, 09:01:43 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 28, 2023, 06:08:07 PMThink one of the big differences which gets ignored is the pension. Excellent pension at end of it by they sure pay for it while working. Not uncommon to see a deduction of 4/500 pm taken out. Compare this to a pension of eg tesco/tyre fitter.

So break it down for me, a pension for a teacher who retires at 65 gets what (on average) per month after tax?

Quote from: FermGael on November 28, 2023, 07:29:56 PMMost of the primary ones will have Elf , the Grinch on repeat for the next three weeks .

I think I would rather fit tyres than watch the Elf on repeat.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 29, 2023, 12:01:52 AM

So break it down for me, a pension for a teacher who retires at 65 gets what (on average) per month after tax?

Employee putting in anywhere from 7.4% to 12%
Employer putting in a whopping 17.7%

Normal pension is 8% total (4% employee, 3% employer 1% Gov)

Nice work if you can get it.

Mike Tyson

Quote from: trailer on November 29, 2023, 09:22:08 AM

Plus they're Defined Benefit which are impossible to get in the private sector. A guaranteed income for life which increases with inflation each year - "PI is always applied on the first Monday falling on or after 6 April. PI this year will be 10.1%, which will be applied from 6 April 2023."

Nice wee 10% boost to their pensions this year!

Quote from: Mike Tyson on November 29, 2023, 09:47:14 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 29, 2023, 09:22:08 AM

Plus they're Defined Benefit which are impossible to get in the private sector. A guaranteed income for life which increases with inflation each year - "PI is always applied on the first Monday falling on or after 6 April. PI this year will be 10.1%, which will be applied from 6 April 2023."

Nice wee 10% boost to their pensions this year!

We (the taxpayer) should really consider cutting their pay.

Quote from: intheknowhow on November 28, 2023, 07:01:08 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on November 28, 2023, 06:30:02 PM
Quote from: intheknowhow on November 28, 2023, 05:15:35 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 28, 2023, 04:56:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 26, 2023, 10:20:10 PMTeachers in the wee six not doing so well

I hadn't seen that before, but I can say that it feels about right.
My wife is a teacher now for well over 20 years. She has management points and her take home now is roughly 2k more than when she started all those years ago. Less than £200/year increase in salary.
I can say in all honesty, she has more hours to work in a week than I do.
Was recently chatting to a young lad in a tyre depot when getting a puncture fixed, he was about 21/22 and he was telling me he's taking home over £500 a week. One of the neighbours kids has a part time job in Tesco, and her hourly rate is better than what my wife earns.
I get that there isn't money in the education budget to pay them more, but the current state of things where students and early stage "non-professional" jobs (such as a tyre fitter) earn as much as if not more than a teacher of 20+ years in a management position is fundamentally wrong. I'm not suggesting that those other workers don't deserve what they are getting paid, but teachers should certainly be getting paid more.
I know of 2 young teachers who recently resigned. One of them is just looking for work in shops etc until they find their feet. The other is doing reflexology from the house 3 nights a week and making more than she was when teaching full time.

Ye but is it not a 10 month contract? Her hourly rate over them weeks is higher?

UK workers are guaranteed a minimum of 28 days paid leave per year. This can include bank holidays, but many employers add them on top, so employees in England get a minimum of 36 days, or 7 weeks and 1 day (more in Wales, Scotland, and NI).

Typically schools will have the following breaks:

Autumn half-term - 5 days
Christmas - 11 days (inc. three bank holidays)
May Day (bank holiday)
Spring half-term - 5 days
Easter - 10 or 11 days (inc. two bank holidays)
Summer half-term - 5 days (inc. one bank holiday)
Summer - 30 days (inc. one bank holiday)

So that makes 67 or 68 days, of which eight are bank holidays, and 28 are the same entitlement most other employees get. That leaves 30 or 31 days that are "extra." Some of those may be inset days where kids are at home, and schools closed, but teachers are still there working. The first two days of the next Summer break are inset days. This whittles the "extra" down to 28 or 29 days.

1,265 hours a year.

Exactly ........

imagine thinking thats the only hours a teacher does

Kidder81

I'm away to see if Tescos are recruiting for any £40k a year shelf stacking posts

There's an obvious theme here that many feel the job teachers have isn't deserving of the pay as they get too many holidays or have 10 month contracts or have a decent pension.

That's the job, it comes with those holidays and perks. Like many jobs in private sector that come with perks such as pensions, company car, private health care etc.

Yes teachers have a 10 month contract, but they still have bills for 12 months like the rest of us, so their wages are split over 12 months. Not sure why that's an issue as their annual salary hasn't changed. If you want to compare a 10 month contract with a 12 month contract, then take the annual salary of someone on a 12 month contract and compress it to 10 months, the comparison applies then.

The fact remains, the role a teacher provides is a professional one that all children need.

In terms of hours worked...that's so far off the mark you've no idea.

I'd be the first to poke fun at a teacher and the short days and long holidays, but the reality is totally different.

To add insult to injury, teachers doing the same job in other parts of the UK are getting paid more.

It's unsustainable.
Teachers will leave the jobs. Kids will ultimately suffer the consequences and all those people who see the schools as free childminding will be up in arms.

Some people do seem to have had particularly bad experiences of teachers here whether it be through their own schooling or their own childrens schooling I don't know. I wouldn't share the same opinions - it's a tough job and I wouldn't want to do it.

Any young teacher I know is either going straight to Oz, the Middle East or England. Cannot blame them in the slightest. The money is shite here.

burdizzo

My missus is a teacher, and when we were first married, I used to rib her relentlessly about what a handy number she was on. Eventually, our children started going to GAA activities, and I was inevitably roped in to lead the group w/ my own young lad in it. Well, it was only once a week at the start, but that one hour of the week was more stressful for me than the whole rest of it at my normal work! Many times my assistant wouldn't show up, and I was left w/ 20-25 u6s on my own. Complete nightmare! Also - the parents! Sheesh! So, I've definitely revised my opinion: teachers deserve all the time off they get!