Quote from: sid waddell on August 20, 2017, 12:12:01 PM
Quote from: stew on August 20, 2017, 11:55:36 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 20, 2017, 11:51:53 AM
Quote from: stew on August 20, 2017, 10:09:42 AM
Quote from: LCohen on August 20, 2017, 09:31:21 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 19, 2017, 03:14:30 PM
The fact is, I've seen Cork fans fly it since the late 1980's, and never heard a peep about it. Now someone drew attention to it because it coincided with this Charlottesville thing, and now we are all told we should feel disgusted by it.

This is all coming from the big lads in Croke Park, the focus is on the GAA, and it's tarnishing the GAA's name. Well, those same big lads have sat back for 30 years and seen the flag flown, knowing it's significance and meanng, but it's only now they're up in arms about it. Hypocrisy, how are ye?

If things have been wrong for a while we should just let them be. Doing anything about it would risk an accusation of hypocrisy and we couldn't have that now

The sheep are told what to think by their media and they react, I have never seen anything like it, the media kick up a fuss overseas so naturally the Cork fans that have been flying a confederate flag are suddenly racists, I have never seen anything quite like peoples response to liberal media these days, the so called reporters write about a perceived issue and the sheep bleat on social media with faux outrage, which would be fine except where was their outrage before the were told they needed to be outraged?

Catch yourselves on snowflakes, the confederate flag being flown in Croker has nothing to do with Slavery etc and everything to do with the word Rebels, no racism to see here, go find a protest to join about something else you are outraged about!

I would disagree with at least 7000 of your posts but you've hit the nail bang on the head here.

Blind squirrel and all that.

We don't have to agree, I am happy enough as long as the person who disagrees with me is honest and forthright.
Comical.  ;D

Your entire output on this forum involves looking at what your imagined bogeyman, the "liberal media", are saying, and then taking a position against anything they say.

You follow the media blindly, you get outraged when they tell you to, for example, why is the confederate flag and southern statues so repugnant to you now, why were you not outraged 2 years ago or five years ago, tge fact is you cannot think for yourself siddles!

Honesty and forthrightness aren't in your lexicon.

Show me were i have not been honezt or forthright on here!

I loathe your politics as you do mine but tbat does not make me a liar.

Quote from: Hardy on August 20, 2017, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2017, 01:25:06 PM
Hardy, the English flag, the St George's is fooking grand, as they well know themselves. And as they equally know, the Butcher's Apron is not, nor has it ever been, an 'English' flag.

Sincerely hoping that answers your kind query, yours, FóSB.

Sorry, I'm even more confused now. The English flag often co-opted by the National Front, among other upstanding community activists) is OK, but the Union flag is not?  My brother-in-law probably wouldn't go within an ass's roar of the NF flag, but he'd imagine he'd be grand with the flag of his sovereign country. What am I to tell him and where am I to sit/stand if he tells me if it's OK for me to take my flag* then he's f**ing well going to take his (even if his vexillology is somewhat suspect)?

* I wouldn't be taking any flag, but that's not the point.

It's simple really, the Butcher's Apron is a blood soaked symbol of empire, whereas the St George's Flag, despite the Lebanese origins of the eponym, is not; if fascists lay claim, then the least your in-laws can do is to enlighten them, about the Arab origins of St George, if so minded. Regardless; there are no expansionist imperial aspirations connoted with the latter, as there most definitely are with the former.

Hoping this helps :)

OK then. Thanks for the excellent advice. I'll have to fall out with my imperialist expansionist brother-in-law. I didn't even know this about him until you told me. Thanks  for saving me and my family from the shame of such an association. I  think I'll ring him now

Quote from: Hardy on August 20, 2017, 04:22:43 PM
OK then. Thanks for the excellent advice. I'll have to fall out with my imperialist expansionist brother-in-law. I didn't even know this about him until you told me. Thanks  for saving me and my family from the shame of such an association. I  think I'll ring him now

It is indeed wonderful when residents of the 26 tell residents of the 6 how to behave and what to think. The problem with giving advice is that you have no idea what it has like to live in the North. But please remember that we are not the bigoted sectarian racists that you seem to think we all are.
We work together, socialise together, inter-marry, and so on and so forth. We also have Protestant in laws, English in laws and we all get on well. But very very few of us can say we like the British fleg which flies on lampposts beside UDA flags, UVF flags, Orange Order flags, NI soccer flags.

Are you talking to me? Where did I tell anyone what to think? I asked FeaR what he thought. And geography has no  bearing on logic.

Geography and bearing on logic, disagree my oul mucker -- toxic and utterly dangerous bonfire in Sandy Row, no probs; ditto in Kensington, no fecking chance! ;)

I'm searching for the relevance to logic in your point.

Bonfires are illogical, period. Depending on the geographical location, however, that illogicality is moot.

Anyway, the B-I-L is now doing a Brexit from the family and good riddance to his expansionist imperialist arse. We're going to see if we can find a decent alt-white rebel to replace him. 

sid waddell

Quote from: Orior on August 20, 2017, 04:43:24 PM
But very very few of us can say we like the British fleg which flies on lampposts beside UDA flags, UVF flags, Orange Order flags, NI soccer flags.
Nobody is asking you to like the flag of the UK.

Just to say it doesn't symbolise slavery like the confederate flag. Which it doesn't.

I mean, when I saw all the Union Jacks at Somalian-born Mo Farah's 5,000 metre race last week I wasn't thinking that all these people were flying them to rub it in the noses of formerly subjugated African peoples or people from Derry about what happened on Bloody Sunday.

mrdeeds

Eamonn Sweeneys article today very good.

Why is the confederate flag all of a sudden not welcome when the Rebel county play? Is it

a) because it represents slavery?
b) because it represents white supremacy?
c) something else?

Slavery was abolished years ago. So forget it and move on.

A few hundred nutters flew the confederate flag last week. Does the flag belong to them now? No it does not. So forget it and move on.

Quote from: LCohen on August 20, 2017, 09:38:37 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 19, 2017, 09:41:00 PM
Quote from: LCohen on August 19, 2017, 11:25:27 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 19, 2017, 12:07:33 AM
Quote from: LCohen on August 18, 2017, 10:44:15 PM
A lot of symbols have a mixed or confused history. This allows current users to point to the positive history.

Not sure what the positive history of the confederate flag is that Cork fans would point to is?

Southern Identity/CUlture
Rebelliousness/Restless spirit
Wilie Nelson
Dukes of Hazard

Other emblems do each of the first 2 couplets. Other confederate flags even do that. But the flag of choice is the one that was specifically designed to rally the south to the protection of the god given supremacy of white men over all other races.

It's other uses are
A) A focal point for rednecks who continue to believe in their supremacy and
B) A fashion item for people who are ignorant in an era when information is all around them

Cork people seem to want to create a C) category i.e. People who want to copy people in category B) because copying the ignorant is a more acceptable form of ignorance

Just lift a different flag on the way out the door

You said there was nothing positive associated with it, I pointed out a few things that were.
Funnily enough for the record I was listening to this last night too...

....Great stuff

Just for the record the rest of your post is a red herring so I wont indulge.

Your judgement is seriously flawed

Whats the flaws? I'm just applying your logic... Im not even sure if its my judgement.
Maybe its my musical taste you dont like?

mrdeeds

Quote from: trileacman on August 20, 2017, 08:24:26 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 20, 2017, 07:42:22 PM
Eamonn Sweeneys article today very good.

Gist of it?

Le Bron James attitude to rise of right wing movement versus Trump. Finished of talking about Confederate Flag. Asked imagine if a Black and Tans Flag was flown at a US Basketball game and defended as a bit of craic.