GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Don Draper on November 27, 2017, 01:14:28 PM

Title: County Convention
Post by: Don Draper on November 27, 2017, 01:14:28 PM
Shaggy Leavy v Peter O Neill. To replace Kavanagh.

And we wonder why we are where we are.
Title: Re: County Convention
Post by: Helix on November 27, 2017, 11:00:40 PM
They'll need a lot of support best of luck to whoever gets it, they'll need it. It surely can't get any worse can it ? :o
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 08:51:06 AM
Quote from: Helix on November 27, 2017, 11:00:40 PM
They'll need a lot of support best of luck to whoever gets it, they'll need it. It surely can't get any worse can it ? :o
Yes it can
Post by: redsetanta on November 28, 2017, 09:20:41 AM
Don, how and why would it get worse? I only ask because I know very little of the inner workings of Laois GAA politics!
Post by: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 10:33:48 AM
come and save us Don,Your county needs you to get down off the ditch

either that or Leavy could end up having to do the job of both vice chairman and chairman
Post by: steven seagal on November 28, 2017, 11:39:06 AM
And assistant treasurer, he's the only one nominated for that.

Surely Shaggy will pull out though to pursue his dream of forcing all juvenile gaa players in the country to give up the other sports they play
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 11:54:05 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on November 28, 2017, 09:20:41 AM
Don, how and why would it get worse? I only ask because I know very little of the inner workings of Laois GAA politics!
We have a man who lost a vote for Vice Chairman a few months ago, about to walk into the Chairmans position, uncontested. We have a situation whereby two men allowed their names go forward, only to bollox it up between themselves to allow a non race for the top job, most important job, in Laois GAA.

If you believe this is good for Laois GAA, then pray tell, and you too "clonadmad", what Mr O Neill is going to bring to Laois GAA? Lets not forget, he's backed by a Club who brought Laois GAA to the DRA (aka Supreme Court in our Association terms) a number of months ago.
Post by: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 12:02:28 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 11:54:05 AM
We have a man who lost a vote for Vice Chairman a few months ago, about to walk into the Chairmans position, uncontested. We have a situation whereby two men allowed their names go forward, only to bollox it up between themselves to allow a non race for the top job, most important job, in Laois GAA.

If you believe this is good for Laois GAA, then pray tell, and you too "clonadmad", what Mr O Neill is going to bring to Laois GAA? Lets not forget, he's backed by a Club who brought Laois GAA to the DRA (aka Supreme Court in our Association terms) a number of months ago.

Id say the odds of Portlaoise getting a stand and floodlights funded has been greatly increased,for starters.

He's there,because no one else go off their arses and stepped forward,that's why.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 12:19:43 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 12:02:28 PM

Id say the odds of Portlaoise getting a stand and floodlights funded has been greatly increased,for starters.

He's there,because no one else go off their arses and stepped forward,that's why.
He's there, like the rest of them, because no one else will touch it as long as they continue musical chairs. Good men will come and give up (cf Cheddar) out of sheer frustration with the shite.
Post by: SCFC on November 28, 2017, 12:25:22 PM

If the two lads managed to bollox up who was running maybe it's just as well they're not going to be in charge.

O'Neill isn't very inspiring either but has moved in the right circles for years now. An offaly man too.

Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 12:28:07 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 28, 2017, 12:25:22 PM

If the two lads managed to bollox up who was running maybe it's just as well they're not going to be in charge.

O'Neill isn't very inspiring either but has moved in the right circles for years now. An offaly man too.
Its not so much a race to the top, as the last to the bottom.
Post by: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 12:37:26 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 12:19:43 PM

He's there, like the rest of them, because no one else will touch it as long as they continue musical chairs. Good men will come and give up (cf Cheddar) out of sheer frustration with the shite.

always easier to curse the dark than light a candle

Who did you propose for the positions in your club,Don?
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 12:38:59 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 12:37:26 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 12:19:43 PM

always easier to curse the dark than light a candle

Who did you propose for the positions in your club,Don?
Sean
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2017, 12:50:21 PM

Clown
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 12:52:32 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2017, 12:50:21 PM

Clown
You're not wrong there.
Post by: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 01:01:50 PM

Clown

aaaw diddums,did that sting

had to go to HQ to be bailed out after your smart men bogged the club in debt to tune of millions and yet were able to spend thousands pursuing a 16 year old from a junior neighboring club to the DRA.

hopefully ye will spend the windfall that O'Neill delivers that bit better.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2017, 01:09:11 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 01:01:50 PM

Clown

had to go to HQ to be bailed out after your smart men bogged the club in debt to tune of millions and yet were able to spend thousands pursuing a 16 year old from a junior neighboring club to the DRA.

The bigger the stand the better ;D
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 01:13:45 PM
The transfer loophole in Laois GAA has yet to be closed. I imagine it will be top of PON's agenda.

Once they get a few more in first.
Post by: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 01:19:12 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2017, 01:09:11 PM

Clown

Aye,more room for visitors as your own support is so miniscule
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2017, 01:23:12 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 01:19:12 PM

Clown

Aye,more room for visitors as your own support is so minscule
........like a dagger through the heart 
Post by: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 01:45:05 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2017, 01:23:12 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 28, 2017, 01:19:12 PM

Clown

Aye,more room for visitors as your own support is so minscule
........like a dagger through the heart

Aye

whats known as a "Jody Dillon"
Post by: Unlaoised on November 28, 2017, 03:38:09 PM
An Offaly man to take our County into the next phase .....Lovely ;-(
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 03:44:49 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 28, 2017, 03:38:09 PM
An Offaly man to take our County into the next phase .....Lovely ;-(
Its quite apt really. No one knows as much about sinking as a man from the bog.
Post by: Keyser Söze on November 28, 2017, 06:34:05 PM
Lads a bit personal and a bit OTT here on Peter O' Neill. The man works hard for Laois GAA, doesn't seem to be afraid of the less glamorous jobs and I don't see how he is any less qualified than any of the past 5/6 people to hold the role.

You can hardly throw accusations in advance regarding favouring Portlaoise, especially in light of the relegation issue with Stradbally a few years ago.

Also, I predicted here a long time ago that O' Neill would win it. I still think he would. The circumstances surrounding the withdrawal of Allen and Mortimer are absolutely bizarre. Is Mortimer suggesting that Allen pulled a fast one, in cahoots with O' Neill?
The only thing I will say is that people don't tend to withdraw unless they are fairly reconciled to losing out. Whatever about Allen (whose reason for running initially I still cannot understand), it would appear to me that Mortimer didn't feel he could win.
Unless of course Allen's sole purpose was to split the hurling vote?
All very bizarre!
Post by: merman on November 28, 2017, 07:14:16 PM
I believe Allen had a health scare.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 07:23:01 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on November 28, 2017, 06:34:05 PM
Lads a bit personal and a bit OTT here on Peter O' Neill. The man works hard for Laois GAA, doesn't seem to be afraid of the less glamorous jobs and I don't see how he is any less qualified than any of the past 5/6 people to hold the role.

Personal? And you compare him to Dick Miller, who dragged this county from self destruction! Now that's a personal insult right there.
Post by: SCFC on November 29, 2017, 12:01:41 AM
Last decent chairman we had was Dick Miller. Got things done. Mightnt have been as polished as some would have liked but things were going well under him.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 29, 2017, 09:14:33 AM
Dick Miller had his issues also, no one is perfect.  I have no idea how PON will go as county chairman but I am sure he will do his best.  It is worrying that there is not a contest, really is a sign of how low morale is out there.  In fairness to Gerry Kavanag & the rest of the board while things are not great on the pitch they have done quite well off it.  The training centre is coming along nicely in a great location before anyone gets on their high horse, also O Moore Park renovation nor were Laois Gaa looking for bailouts like many county boards.  At the end of the day these people are volunteers doing a job that many won't and while I would not be happy with a lot in Laois Football at least they got off their arses and did something.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 29, 2017, 09:58:46 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 29, 2017, 09:14:33 AM
Dick Miller had his issues also, no one is perfect.  I have no idea how PON will go as county chairman but I am sure he will do his best.  It is worrying that there is not a contest, really is a sign of how low morale is out there.  In fairness to Gerry Kavanag & the rest of the board while things are not great on the pitch they have done quite well off it.  The training centre is coming along nicely in a great location before anyone gets on their high horse, also O Moore Park renovation nor were Laois Gaa looking for bailouts like many county boards.  At the end of the day these people are volunteers doing a job that many won't and while I would not be happy with a lot in Laois Football at least they got off their arses and did something.
Good post.
Post by: Don Draper on November 29, 2017, 10:13:05 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 29, 2017, 09:14:33 AM
They're volunteers and deserve credit for putting themselves forward, but its the musical chairs aspect that turns the stomach as much as it does.

They fucked up the SFC restructure. They ran Cheddar. They made a balls of, and continue to make a balls of the transfer situation in Laois. They were practically handed Fr Browne Avenue. The Setanta program stalled, only be to resurrected again recently. Our underage squads in the football went to shit. Dont be too confident about bailouts, we're not there yet. We shouldn't believe that just because they didn't take the roles, they'd be left unfilled. Does their presence, and ringfencing of roles, dissuade others from getting involved?
Post by: clonadmad on November 29, 2017, 10:45:24 AM
Laois secretary Niall Handy was not holding back in his appraisal of the county senior footballers' campaign this year.

Writing in his report for the annual convention which takes place next Monday night (December 4th), Handy states that 'player indiscipline' contributed largely to their poor performances in 2017.

The Laois sec goes on to allege that the players were 'devoid of any passion and pride in a Laois jersey' when they took on Kildare earlier in the year.

"Whilst poor performances and inept defending all contributed, I have no hesitation in stating that player indiscipline conspired to relegate us to the bottom tier of league football, with a total of eight players during our league campaign failing to complete their games," writes Handy.

He did go on to say that it would be unfair to put all the players in the same category.

"I know some players are hurting from our poor performances and the accusations and allegations that were associated with these and I honestly believe this panel has the potential to be competitive and progress further than their results have in recent years, and with their renewed commitment I believe this can happen."
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 29, 2017, 10:47:51 AM
As far as I can see nobody is prohibited from being nominated to the County Board, it's probably daunting for a lot of people. There is a lot of work and abuse so a thick skin is advised,  I would not agree with a lot of what they do but to give a blanket negative is unfair.  I do agree we need to improve but to do that people need to put their name forward.
Post by: SCFC on November 29, 2017, 08:20:23 PM
Leavy will run against O'Neill. Could surprise a few people. Will get plenty of "protest" votes. Can see him getting Heath, Clonad, Park Rath anyway.  :D
Will also get Port, Emo, O'Dempseys, Courtwood. Strong possibles then would be Strad, Timahoe, Annanough.
I haven't a clue how the hurling clubs will split on the two runners.
Post by: Keyser Söze on November 29, 2017, 11:07:25 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2017, 07:23:01 PM

Personal? And you compare him to Dick Miller, who dragged this county from self destruction! Now that's a personal insult right there.

Do enlighten me
Post by: Keyser Söze on November 29, 2017, 11:11:17 PM
Have you a link to his report?
Post by: Toomanygaels on November 30, 2017, 02:13:50 AM
I am a very active member in my club and on average I would say I put in at least 15 hours a week into the club. I can't even imagine the work and time involved in the role of county chairman, it would be unbelievable. Therefore any person that gives that time you have to admire them to a certain degree.

But I am terrible disappointed and disheartened that we haven't anybody of a reasonable level of capabilities in the County with a huge Gaa interest to go for the role. If either one of these were a clubman of mind and going for the role of Chairman in my club, I would leave no stone unturned to make sure they didn't get it.

I don't buy Mortimer reasons for withdrawing at all. After winning the vice chairmans role last year and particularly after beating O'Neill to it, he was seen as chairman elect. Why he would take on that role and then pull out to of the elections this year "to support someone else" makes no sense to me
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 05:47:57 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on November 29, 2017, 11:07:25 PM

Do enlighten me
What? You don't recall the county being in financial ruin? Memories are short around here.
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 05:49:38 AM
Quote from: Toomanygaels on November 30, 2017, 02:13:50 AM
I am a very active member in my club and on average I would say I put in at least 15 hours a week into the club. I can't even imagine the work and time involved in the role of county chairman, it would be unbelievable. Therefore any person that gives that time you have to admire them to a certain degree.

But I am terrible disappointed and disheartened that we haven't anybody of a reasonable level of capabilities in the County with a huge Gaa interest to go for the role. If either one of these were a clubman of mind and going for the role of Chairman in my club, I would leave no stone unturned to make sure they didn't get it.

I don't buy Mortimer reasons for withdrawing at all. After winning the vice chairmans role last year and particularly after beating O'Neill to it, he was seen as chairman elect. Why he would take on that role and then pull out to of the elections this year "to support someone else" makes no sense to me
Excellently put
Post by: steven seagal on November 30, 2017, 10:04:28 AM
This election is like asking the clubs of Laois if they would rather drown or be burnt alive
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 10:25:28 AM
Quote from: steven seagal on November 30, 2017, 10:04:28 AM
This election is like asking the clubs of Laois if they would rather drown or be burnt alive
Its like being put in a room with the two candidates and being given a gun with two bullets. You'd shoot yourself twice, just in case.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 30, 2017, 11:30:45 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 10:25:28 AM
Its like being put in a room with the two candidates and being given a gun with two bullets. You'd shoot yourself twice, just in case.

Harsh but  :D :D :D ;D
Post by: Giovanni on November 30, 2017, 01:46:34 PM

Why wouldn't you shoot the two candidates and do the job yourself?? A rhetorical question, of course. I think some of the commentary is very harsh. I don't know either of the candidates but there is not much point in talking about mystical visionaries who haven't put their name forward.
Post by: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 02:10:25 PM
Our new chairman can hardly lecture our current players on indiscipline when he received a 2 month ban himself

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/clubs-out-of-laois-u-21-championship-after-brawl-52266.html
Post by: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 02:12:59 PM
No blacks
No dogs
No biffos

According to Mr.Loyalty himself

https://twitter.com/woolberto/status/936204818800152577
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 02:31:41 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on November 30, 2017, 01:46:34 PM

Why wouldn't you shoot the two candidates
You're condoning murder there. Thats a very serious charge to be making.
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 02:36:21 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 02:12:59 PM
No blacks
No dogs
No biffos

No mention of blacks or dogs there.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 30, 2017, 02:58:02 PM
No blacks
No dogs
No biffos

Very clever by Portlaoise GAA getting Wooly to back Leavy ensures O Neill is a certainty.
Post by: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 03:09:53 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 02:36:21 PM
No blacks
No dogs
No biffos

Well spotted,sharp as a tack as always
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 03:29:20 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 03:09:53 PM
No blacks
No dogs
No biffos

He may be a lot of things, but its unfair to refer to him as a racist or caninist. He's a big dog lover in fact.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 30, 2017, 03:34:44 PM
Woolly is spot on here.

I'd have to say that anyone who doesn't think that Kieran Leavy has "a reasonable level of capabilities" in terms of the ability to chair the county board doesn't know the guy.

He has pretty much single handedly brought in not tens of thousands but hundreds of thousands to the county's coffers through his fundraising efforts and comes from a highly successful business background. He might well be unorthodox in what he says from time to time but surely another Brian Allen or Gerry Kavanagh type character is not needed. Someone said Dick Miller mightn't always have been as "polished" as others but he sure got things done.

Leavy also voted against the appointments of both Peter Creedon and Tomás Ó Flatharta and was surely proven right there.

Post by: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 04:33:20 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 03:29:20 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 03:09:53 PM
No blacks
No dogs
No biffos

He may be a lot of things, but its unfair to refer to him as a racist or caninist. He's a big dog lover in fact.

So he thinks dogs should have the same rights as people,I knew Wolly was a bit of a radical but this......

https://m.imgur.com/gallery/uCe7qWz
Post by: clonadmad on November 30, 2017, 04:35:34 PM
Back on Topic

I'm hearing some of the clubs surrounding Portlaoise won't be voting for PON given the Towns recent transfer policy
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 01, 2017, 01:06:28 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 30, 2017, 05:47:57 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on November 29, 2017, 11:07:25 PM

Do enlighten me
What? You don't recall the county being in financial ruin? Memories are short around here.

And Dick Miller single handedly solved this?
You don't remember irregularities around ticket sales? You don't remember suspensions for certain things no official let alone a County Chairman should engage in? You don't remember a controversial vote that saw an honourable Laois man removed as Laois Senior Hurling manager?

We can all drag stuff up.
No one man "Saved" Laois.

And rest assured that Mr Parkinson's agenda is personal as usual.
Post by: Don Draper on December 01, 2017, 07:04:54 AM
Miller went in as chairman to save Laois from financial ruin and did so.

He was a fine Chairman who had his faults but did everything for the love of Laois GAA

It's a very nasty tone to your post seeking to draw dirt on a man who did such good service to Laois GAA.

Personal or not, Parkinson is making some salient points.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 01, 2017, 09:10:56 AM
This whole thread is quite nasty.

Good  men all sides who have the best interests in Laois GAA with no right of reply are being vilified by anonymous posters.

I haven't noticed any negative comments on social media. Very easy hide in here.
Post by: clonadmad on December 01, 2017, 09:38:43 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on December 01, 2017, 09:10:56 AM
This whole thread is quite nasty.

Good  men all sides who have the best interests in Laois GAA with no right of reply are being vilified by anonymous posters.

I haven't noticed any negative comments on social media. Very easy hide in here.

You haven't noticed any negative comments on social media

Do keep up,Son

Or this

https://twitter.com/peterfarr_/status/936231505625604096

Was PON Juvenile Board Chairman when this took place?

Some example
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 01, 2017, 10:05:30 AM
In fairness the only thing I can guess is that Wooly does not like Peter O Neill

Did anyone ever claim the bag that was in the Garda Station or was this just a rumour

Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on December 01, 2017, 10:29:26 AM
portlaoiseman says  this thread has become nasty...........no sir, we are entitled to examine the candidates....whoever wins is likely to serve for the next 5 years and the direction they steer the organisation within the county and the leadership they bring will be an important factor in success or failure. If an individual does not want to be therefore examined, don't offer themselves on the ballot.

clearly, portlaoiseman is miffed about his candidate not getting a positive reaction. I have no axe to grind with portlaoise gaa club, and have never been negative towards that club on any posting on this board. If for instance individuals of the calibre of John Hanniffy or  Cheddar were seeking the position of County Chairman, they would have my 100% support, no question.  O Neill brings nothing to the plate, one of those non descript individuals, that has hovered around for long enough and suddenly is at the doorstep of a relatively influential position.

from the late 1960s, the list of county chairman reads, Tom Cushen, Sean Ramsbottom, Bill Phelan, Tom Hassett, Dick Miller, Brian Allen, Gerry Kavanagh....I have experience of all 7 men, and they shared one common denominator....they were committed Laois men. O Neill is not a Laois man and that rankles with me and many others.  I have  spoke with plenty of current and past committee men within Portlaoise Gaa club and O Neill does not get universal approval within his own club is a kind way of putting it...Parkinson on twitter is certainly reflecting a view held by many others within the club.

Hesh's Umpire reflects my view on Shaggy. I have worked alongside him on county fund raisers in the past and he has a good way of sourcing funds for the county...I have found him to be very effective from a few business dealings with him also, and despite the much maligned comment he uttered at the county meeting about foreign games, I think Leavy is quite well clued in......for the record, Leavy with that comment about other sports versus GAA, he was correct in a way..... the GAA should be proactive in looking after itself first rather than rolling over and losing out to other sports....akin to the Christian churches currently taking a big beating from the liberals/pagans and doing nothing about it.

Anyway, a contest is more interesting than a coronation.  My club met earlier in the week, having been heavily canvassed by O Neill, it was decided that the chosen club delegates would have a free vote, you can guess who is getting mine!.

I think Leavy will poll strongly on the Carlow side, I am 100% certain he will win the votes of both Arles club( a novelty), and I think he may receive the majority of the executive. Not sure how he will poll in the southern hurling hinterland, this has the makings of a 60-40 election.

the one item that is pleasing is the bravery of Fergal Byron to run for coaching officer, he is a shoo-in, may receive a walkover....I would see a Leavy-Byron ticket  adding energy and positivity to the county.
Post by: clonadmad on December 01, 2017, 11:03:28 AM
Quote from: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on December 01, 2017, 10:29:26 AM
portlaoiseman says  this thread has become nasty...........no sir, we are entitled to examine the candidates....whoever wins is likely to serve for the next 5 years and the direction they steer the organisation within the county and the leadership they bring will be an important factor in success or failure. If an individual does not want to be therefore examined, don't offer themselves on the ballot.

clearly, portlaoiseman is miffed about his candidate not getting a positive reaction. I have no axe to grind with portlaoise gaa club, and have never been negative towards that club on any posting on this board. If for instance individuals of the calibre of John Hanniffy or  Cheddar were seeking the position of County Chairman, they would have my 100% support, no question.  O Neill brings nothing to the plate, one of those non descript individuals, that has hovered around for long enough and suddenly is at the doorstep of a relatively influential position.

from the late 1960s, the list of county chairman reads, Tom Cushen, Sean Ramsbottom, Bill Phelan, Tom Hassett, Dick Miller, Brian Allen, Gerry Kavanagh....I have experience of all 7 men, and they shared one common denominator....they were committed Laois men. O Neill is not a Laois man and that rankles with me and many others.  I have  spoke with plenty of current and past committee men within Portlaoise Gaa club and O Neill does not get universal approval within his own club is a kind way of putting it...Parkinson on twitter is certainly reflecting a view held by many others within the club.

Hesh's Umpire reflects my view on Shaggy. I have worked alongside him on county fund raisers in the past and he has a good way of sourcing funds for the county...I have found him to be very effective from a few business dealings with him also, and despite the much maligned comment he uttered at the county meeting about foreign games, I think Leavy is quite well clued in......for the record, Leavy with that comment about other sports versus GAA, he was correct in a way..... the GAA should be proactive in looking after itself first rather than rolling over and losing out to other sports....akin to the Christian churches currently taking a big beating from the liberals/pagans and doing nothing about it.

Anyway, a contest is more interesting than a coronation.  My club met earlier in the week, having been heavily canvassed by O Neill, it was decided that the chosen club delegates would have a free vote, you can guess who is getting mine!.

I think Leavy will poll strongly on the Carlow side, I am 100% certain he will win the votes of both Arles club( a novelty), and I think he may receive the majority of the executive. Not sure how he will poll in the southern hurling hinterland, this has the makings of a 60-40 election.

the one item that is pleasing is the bravery of Fergal Byron to run for coaching officer, he is a shoo-in, may receive a walkover....I would see a Leavy-Byron ticket  adding energy and positivity to the county.

Well said,that man
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 01, 2017, 02:15:02 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 01, 2017, 07:04:54 AM
Miller went in as chairman to save Laois from financial ruin and did so.

He was a fine Chairman who had his faults but did everything for the love of Laois GAA

It's a very nasty tone to your post seeking to draw dirt on a man who did such good service to Laois GAA.

Personal or not, Parkinson is making some salient points.

Miller didn't save Laois on his own. Don't pull that one. You have the thrown lots of dirt at other potential candidates while holding up Miller as what they should all be striving to match. You can't do that and then throw a hissy fit when his faults & falls are pointed out! That is how a debate/discussion works. You should be well used to it.
I never said Miller was poor or ineffective!

That O' Neill was born in Offalyis absolutely irrelevant as far as I'm concerned.
Post by: Don Draper on December 01, 2017, 02:19:09 PM
Excuse me, I said Miller dragged the county from self destruction. He did. That he did it by leading others with him is more credit to him and those who followed him. That cannot be contended despite your efforts.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 01, 2017, 03:25:49 PM
You are excused.

I'd list Liam O' Neill and John Hanniffy as at least as influential in this turn around from not having a pot to piss in to financial stability. There were others I'm sure.

The point remains. We are lampooning volunteers before they even get a job and telling them they won't match up to the great hero Chairmen of yesteryear!
I would be much more middle of the road on this issue. They guys nominated are fine, decent, hard working GAA men. The "heroes" of yesteryear were not quite the heroes they are being made out to be.

I think this is fair. And I stand over it.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 04, 2017, 09:23:44 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 01, 2017, 03:25:49 PM
You are excused.

I'd list Liam O' Neill and John Hanniffy as at least as influential in this turn around from not having a pot to piss in to financial stability. There were others I'm sure.

The point remains. We are lampooning volunteers before they even get a job and telling them they won't match up to the great hero Chairmen of yesteryear!
I would be much more middle of the road on this issue. They guys nominated are fine, decent, hard working GAA men. The "heroes" of yesteryear were not quite the heroes they are being made out to be.

I think this is fair. And I stand over it.
Great post.
Post by: Don Draper on December 04, 2017, 09:53:10 AM
Massive surge for Shaggy over the weekend. A real momentum behind him it seems. The hurling clubs will be key though.
Post by: clonadmad on December 04, 2017, 10:21:22 AM
I know of one very prominent hurling club that won't be voting for PON

I'm sure there are more leaning away from him too.

He will still probably win,but not the landslide that many were expecting,Leavys team are doing the hard yards and canvassing heavily
Post by: SCFC on December 04, 2017, 11:07:07 AM
I've heard Leavy is getting on really well.

I still think O'Neill will win but there's a lot of people out there pi**ed off with the same old faces. Leavy is seen as outside the county board clique even though he's been on it a few years now.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 04, 2017, 12:54:21 PM
It'll be close, Leavy has all the momentum and at the right time.

Personally I think it much of a muchness whoever wins. I don't see either changing the face of Laois GAA dramatically but best of luck to whoever does win because its not an easy job.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 04, 2017, 04:49:19 PM
Leavy could sneak this from what I hear...I don't know O'Neill very well apart from reffing  I have heard he puts in long hours but he is part of the clique and this is not favoured by many esp the hurling side...Leavy has strong connections in the camross castletown borris end of things despite being from Port!
Post by: merman on December 04, 2017, 05:59:12 PM
All the momentum with Leavy.

I said all along I thought O'Neill would get in, regardless of who dropped out.

From what I'm hearing now, I've a feeling he may be pipped again....
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 04, 2017, 06:05:41 PM
Quote from: merman on December 04, 2017, 05:59:12 PM
All the momentum with Leavy.

I said all along I thought O'Neill would get in, regardless of who dropped out.

From what I'm hearing now, I've a feeling he may be pipped again....

That would be both Mortimer and O' Neill gone. Big changes!
Post by: clonadmad on December 04, 2017, 07:54:28 PM
Live Feed

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/04/live-blog-laois-gaa-convention-2017/

Post by: clonadmad on December 04, 2017, 09:04:31 PM
Peter o'Neill Elected

86 to 67
Post by: Unlaoised on December 04, 2017, 09:18:57 PM
Ohhh great same old same old ....non inspiring choice
Post by: town1980 on December 04, 2017, 09:26:24 PM
Delighted for peter he has done massive work for the portlaoise club,,, congrats p
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 04, 2017, 09:54:02 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on December 04, 2017, 09:18:57 PM
Ohhh great same old same old ....non inspiring choice

As opposed to? 5 more years of Gerry Kavanagh? Bring back Dick Miller maybe? I wonder would Tom Hassett be available?
Your club either nominated nobody or nominated one of the "same old same old brigade".
Post by: redsetanta on December 04, 2017, 11:10:50 PM
10 votes swung it. Not much considering how late Leavy left it.
Post by: Don Draper on December 05, 2017, 08:07:07 AM
Wonderful to see Fergal Byron get the Coaching Officers role. A good step for the county and hopefully the start of newer younger blood getting involved on the County Board.
Post by: SCFC on December 05, 2017, 10:47:07 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 05, 2017, 08:07:07 AM
Wonderful to see Fergal Byron get the Coaching Officers role. A good step for the county and hopefully the start of newer younger blood getting involved on the County Board.
Yeah. One positive from last night. I suppose it's a tough job he has ahead of him. The whole underage scene in the county has fallen into disrepair.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2017, 08:48:58 AM
Best of luck to Peter on his appointment, not an easy job ahead of him .
Post by: Don Draper on December 06, 2017, 09:52:30 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2017, 08:48:58 AM
Good to get the excuses in early.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2017, 01:19:49 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 06, 2017, 09:52:30 AM
Good to get the excuses in early.
For what?

My position was very clear from the day of the vote ---

'It'll be close, Leavy has all the momentum and at the right time.

Personally I think it much of a muchness whoever wins. I don't see either changing the face of Laois GAA dramatically but best of luck to whoever does win because its not an easy job. '

Post by: Don Draper on December 06, 2017, 01:33:46 PM
not an easy job ahead of him .

Roll on 5 years, expect a post from portlaoisekid

Listen lads, I said it wasn't an easy job when he got it.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2017, 02:10:18 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Heshs Umpire on December 18, 2017, 09:25:18 PM
Just wanted to belatedly congratulate my clubman Fergal on having the courage to go for the Coaching Officer role and then getting it.
He has a tough job ahead but from talking to him he won't be faulted for effort.