GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 16, 2017, 01:29:21 AM

Title: 2018 O'Byrne Cup
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 16, 2017, 01:29:21 AM
The 2018 O'Byrne Cup draw has been made with holders Dublin being grouped alongside Offaly and Wexford.
Dublin will have a bye in the opening round of the upcoming pre-season competition which will take place on Saturday, 30th December

2018 O'Byrne Cup draw:

Group 1
Dublin
Offaly
Wexford

Group 2
Kildare
Louth
Longford

Group 3
Meath
Carlow
Wicklow

Group 4
Westmeath
Laois

Dates:
Dec 30, Jan 3, Jan 7.

Semi-finals
Jan 13/14.

Final
Jan 20/21.

Opening Fixtures:
Offaly v Wexford
Louth v Longford
Wicklow v Carlow
Westmeath v Laois

Format:
Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Westmeath and Laois play each other home and away with aggregate score deciding who tops Group 4.

Title: Re: 2018 O'Byrne Cup
Post by: Don Draper on November 16, 2017, 09:49:57 AM
How can it be a group when it has two teams?! We'd be as well off out of this f**king thing.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 16, 2017, 09:50:21 AM
Strange....To only have two teams in one group?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 16, 2017, 01:16:33 PM
Wouldn't worry about it too much, it's a competition that benefits injured players and gives players games instead of training only. What can be wrong with that ?
Post by: Don Draper on November 16, 2017, 01:17:24 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 16, 2017, 01:16:33 PM
Wouldn't worry about it too much, it's a competition that benefits injured players and gives players games instead of training only. What can be wrong with that ?
They're running it arseways, thats whats wrong with it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 16, 2017, 03:53:17 PM
I know it's not ideal but, as I said, its games and that's what the players want.
I'm sure the new management team will be delighted to try out a few new players and ideas in a few competitive games.
Just out of curiosity, what way would you run it?
Post by: SCFC on November 16, 2017, 04:13:07 PM
I fancy us for this big time ;D

They probably should have gone with 2 groups of 4 and a group of 3. 11 is an awkward number to be fair.
Post by: brandyandPORT on November 16, 2017, 06:15:01 PM
It's probably the best competition to look at some of our new additions to the panel, realistically  it is scary to think of a senior team without our top scorer. Who can fill those shoes is the biggest question???
Post by: Unlaoised on November 17, 2017, 03:47:58 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 16, 2017, 04:13:07 PM

They probably should have gone with 2 groups of 4 and a group of 3. 11 is an awkward number to be fair.

Simples ..Top from each group 2nd best place team in the group of 4 to go into the semis!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 15, 2017, 06:33:44 PM
O'Byrne Cup Round 1
Saturday, December 30th @2pm

Offaly v Wexford, O'Connor Park
Louth v Longford, Gaelic Grounds
Wicklow v Carlow, Bray
Westmeath v Laois, TEG Cusack Park
Post by: Zooming around on December 15, 2017, 10:59:50 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 17, 2017, 03:47:58 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 16, 2017, 04:13:07 PM

Simples ..Top from each group 2nd best place team in the group of 4 to go into the semis!

Did you do much maths in school?
Post by: the sash on December 17, 2017, 07:42:10 PM
Have lost faith in this management team already. Heard last night that paddy o sullivan was dropped off the laois panel and told he was too small to play centre back and not mobile enough to play wingback. They said that when they saw him play centre back with his club during the championship and said he wasn't strong enough to play there. Bit strange condsidering he never played centre back this year with us. Was sugrue watching the championship at all.  So the laois under 21 player of the year is gone off the panel without getting a run in the o byrne cup or start of the league, it's no wonder that half the players in our club have no interest in playing with the county when they are treated like this. We need to rebuild our senior team, we'd be better off dropping some of the elder statesmen
Post by: Don Draper on December 17, 2017, 09:06:29 PM
Quote from: the sash on December 17, 2017, 07:42:10 PM
Have lost faith in this management team already. Heard last night that paddy o sullivan was dropped off the laois panel and told he was too small to play centre back and not mobile enough to play wingback. They said that when they saw him play centre back with his club during the championship and said he wasn't strong enough to play there. Bit strange condsidering he never played centre back this year with us. Was sugrue watching the championship at all.  So the laois under 21 player of the year is gone off the panel without getting a run in the o byrne cup or start of the league, it's no wonder that half the players in our club have no interest in playing with the county when they are treated like this. We need to rebuild our senior team, we'd be better off dropping some of the elder statesmen
Aye, they should have lead him on rather than be honest with him, shur that woulda been the smart thing to do. If I was him, I'd knuckle down and tell myself that I'm going to f**king show that shower of pricks that they were wrong and make myself unignorable. I'd love to see him do that.

Post by: Giovanni on December 17, 2017, 09:16:31 PM
Doesn't make much sense to me. Wouldn't they have known how big he was and how mobile he was before they invited him to join the panel???

I'd agree with Don's sentiments on this, if not the manner in which we expresses them.
Post by: O moore parklife on December 17, 2017, 10:15:05 PM
The man is 20 lets leave him prove himself as a senior footballer. He was very good  21 player on a great 21 team playing against lets face it weak opposition.
Loads of potential and time..
Have to admire sugrues honesty.
Unfortunate to see the knives out already.
I'm remaining positive for the rest of the squad including colm murphy who is still there despite long term injury
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 18, 2017, 12:00:45 PM
We have some problems already with injury's to a few players. Seem to be plenty of interest in the squad so far, let's hope this is the start of a new era for Laois football.

Laois football manager provides injury update ahead of new season
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/18/laois-football-manager-provides-injury-update-ahead-new-season/
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/18/midfielder-quigley-gearing-up-for-twelfth-season-with-laois/

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/1085045-e1504006270508-180x135.jpg)(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/Brendan-Quigley-180x135.jpg)
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2017, 12:03:41 PM
Fair play to John, seems to be a good communicator, happy to talk to the media. Horseshit blossoms in a vacuum. He seems clear and concise and a good communicator. Hopefully it works thusly with the panel also.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 20, 2017, 07:11:05 PM
 Bit of chat from some of the lads...
https://www.facebook.com/CLGLaois/videos/1513074078812986/
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 20, 2017, 10:54:41 PM
Here are the O'Byrne Cup games and all the other fixtures for the Laois footballers this year

O'Byrne Cup
Saturday, December 30 – Laois v Westmeath (away)
Sunday, January 7 – Laois v Westmeath (Stradbally)

Allianz Football League Division 4
Saturday, January 27 – Laois v Limerick (home)
Sunday, February 4 – Laois v Leitrim (away)
Saturday, February 10 – Laois v Waterford (home)
Sunday, February 25 – Laois v Wicklow (away)
Saturday, March 3 – Laois v Antrim (home)
Sunday, March 11 – Laois v London (away)
Sunday, March 25 – Laois v Carlow (away)

Leinster Football Championship
Saturday, May 12 – Laois v Wexford (away)
Saturday/Sunday, May 26/27 – Laois/Wexford v Westmeath (TBC)
Sunday, June 12 – Leinster semi-finals in Croke Park
Sunday, June 26 – Leinster final in Croke Park
Post by: KOTS3 on December 28, 2017, 11:17:39 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/28/john-sugrue-names-first-laois-football-team-new-era-begins/
Post by: SCFC on December 29, 2017, 11:59:24 AM
Quote from: KOTS3 on December 28, 2017, 11:17:39 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/28/john-sugrue-names-first-laois-football-team-new-era-begins/
Glynn at 6 is interesting.
I'm not convinced about McEvoy but hope he proves me wrong. Fennell is an odd one. Again, I'm sure he's worth a look but haven't ever seen him dominate games for Rosenallis.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 30, 2017, 12:42:13 AM
Great to see Mark Timmons line out for Laois tomorrow to begin his tenth year playing at Senior level. Even though he went through a double hip operation last year he still puts himself forward for selection again this year.
No waiting for fine weather football for this man, he will line out at full back tomorrow in the wind and rain and be joined on the team by another great stalwart of Laois football, John O'Loughlin. These are the type of footballers that drive Laois on through tough times and I'm full of admiration for both of them in particular.
Great to see some new names out there and maybe Div.4 could turn out to be the launchpad for better days for Laois football...

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DSNmLWBX0AANyGB.png:small)
Post by: on the hop on December 30, 2017, 09:49:50 PM
Wasn't to many at the game, we were steeped to come out by a point as they were much better and took a few players off and we came back into it. They had s few more regulars and it showed. The team is young and very light and at times it showed. First half was awful with the wind and we looked like getting a tanking, we finished far better. No real standouts. Brody was good but got planted with a shoulder when he soloed towards midfield, so hopefully no more of that. No shape in the Back's especially when Timmons and buggie got injured but fennell and Collins battled on, the rest handled a lot of ball but were very loose. Brian Glynn back after a long absence got roasted by a very quick if not an asshole of a centre forward. Hasn't the pace or fitness for that type of opponent. Was much better as a wing back:forward and kicked two points before been subbed. Jol was on his own in midfield but mixed good/bad and the reckless over the hour. Forwards had no bite, Kingston got a good goal and Gary kicked good scores but both missed a lot as well. Sean Moore really needs to up his gane. A lot subs used and the team picture on social media shows how new the team is.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 31, 2017, 02:15:05 PM
Agree, we were lucky to get out of there with anything, backline was totally disorganised after the two boys got injured but fair play to them they stuck with it and got what they deserved.
I think some lads found out what inter county football is all about and just how fit you need to be to last the pace. One lad in particular had to be subbed after chasing up the field and falling behind dramatically. Even at this level half hearted training won't do, it's all or nothing.
Can't knock the lads too much after the first game of the season but it looks like John Sugrue has a lot of work to do still.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 02, 2018, 10:45:08 AM
Not a bad result considering what happened ..looking forward to the return game...Laois need more from their forwards...

aswell as Gary Walsh played he missed some terrible chances in front of goal from open play and from off the ground but he is flying it ..

That young Holland chap has some engine.

Finally we might have some backs in him and Dowling from the Rock.

I thought Westmeath bullied us a bit over the period but we looked a little bit fitter.

Interesting to see who comes back into the fold for the next game!
Post by: Laoisguy on January 02, 2018, 11:10:16 AM
By all accounts this game was very poor from both sides

I’m looking forward to home return and see who is putting their hand up

Great to see Sugrue trying out guys with potential and motivation
Post by: justinn on January 05, 2018, 11:15:58 PM
Laois Team v westmeath
LAOIS: Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick); Stephen Attride (Killeshin), Shane Nerney (O'Dempsey's), James Kelly (St Joseph's); Robbie Piggott (Portarlington), Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise), Colm Begley (Stradbally); Danny Luttrell (Courtwood), Colm Coss (Mountmellick); Ciaran McEvoy (Portlaoise), Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard), Niall Donoher (Courtwood); Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise), Aaron Forbes (Graiguecullen), Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)
Post by: the sash on January 06, 2018, 12:18:50 AM
Nice to see games alocated outside of o moore park with this one in stadbally on suday. At least there might be more of an atmosphere around d ground even with small support. Would love to see the county board put senior club championship games around the club grounds again. Use to love playing championship games in stadbally, timahoe, park and mountmellick, there was that extra bit of bite to the games when the crowd was nearly on to of you. In o moore park  in the earlier rounds at the moment you might hear a solitary clap and an echo, nothing to get excited about. No spark to the games and as a player thats one of the few things that could really drive you on even if results weren't going your way. All the county board want is an easier way of  policing the money they take on from the gates. Should have really started a new forum for this rant

Post by: Tony on January 07, 2018, 12:22:15 PM
Good point, Sash. As a player, I found the atmosphere great in rural grounds. 200 people in Stradbally would be a much better atmosphere than 600 people in OMP for example. It's a good idea to hold the westmeath game there. Great ground, too, in good condition for this time of year. It's nice to see common sense winning sometimes.
Post by: town1980 on January 07, 2018, 04:30:13 PM
Any updates on the game.??..
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2018, 04:35:13 PM
Quote from: town1980 on January 07, 2018, 04:30:13 PM
Any updates on the game.??..
Match abandoned after 15 mins.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 07, 2018, 06:05:02 PM
Would be nice to get a genuine update from people at the game rather than pointless glib comments
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 07, 2018, 06:26:56 PM
It was not great, a lot of new players been thrown in at once.  I would hold fire on any judgement, both the players and management team are very inexperienced and I think should improve a lot over the year.  It's the O Byrne Cup a nothing of value tournament at the start of the season, but we will be looking for improvement in the league.  Westmeath looked along way down the road in terms of conditioning in comparison to  Laois, probably due to the fact we had so many first year county men involved at the moment but a sad indictment of what's gone on in that sphere at under age level.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 07, 2018, 06:34:39 PM
Laois looked so slight in comparison to Westmeath today. We should employ someone full time to oversee S&C from u17s up to senior in both hurling and football. I hope it's one of the recommendations from the review we'll see tomorrow night!!

Post by: Helix on January 07, 2018, 06:47:37 PM
A disappointing result but good to see different team trialled and see who's up to the mark and who isn't. Could have been a lot better and also a lot worse. A lot of turnovers both forced and unforced killed us over 70 minutes. We looked like a team who hasn't played together. Westmeath that bit more organised and more clinical up front. They took their chances when they got them. Their 2 goals in quick succession in the 2nd half ended it as a contest when we started to get a foothold on the game.

I thought Forbes from Graig thought done ok at times unlucky with goal chances but decent in the air as he is with his club. Hopefully he gets a good chance in the league. More direct ball to him and he'll get scores or win frees.  Eoin Lowry and Shane Nerney have good potential. A big killer was lack of movement on the kick outs we seemed to lose a lot of breaking balls and hence they going up the field and getting scores. We seemed to carry the ball into tackles a bit much and get turned over. 2 goal chances for us in first half were almost walked into the net, one a solo too much from Lowry and an excellent turnover on Forbes by Westmeath defender.  Hopefully good work will get done over next 3 weeks till first round of league.

As said above the size difference was quite evident and hopefully with Sugrues  experience with Justin McNulty something can be done to sort out the size difference. And at underage level also. We seem to be lighter at  underage and hopefully this is dealt with as we're constantly being bullied by teams; at both codes and at every age level. Can't remember last time we physically outplayed any team bar McNulty era.

It was great to see Ross playing for another year. A real leader and hopefully gives plenty of advice to younger lads coming through. Hopefully he'll get another day out in Croke Park and a chance for some silverware, even if is Division 4. A great servant to Laois over the years.
Post by: on the hop on January 07, 2018, 08:11:18 PM
after looking at the two games nothing new really has been found. bar as mentioned Nerney and Lowry there doesn't appear to be anyone else going to make the team or freshen it up. Westmeath have obviously targeted the o byrne cup as a base for their year as they have been well ahead of us in fitness and conditioning. the big thing though, was the complete lack of shape or game plan over the two games, we are playing off the cuff and very open and this half the reason we conceded such a big score, I thought management would be showing some sort structure at this stage. three weeks to the game with Limerick and a lot of work to be done on fitness. have to start well to have some base in Division 4. big worries is the lack of speed in defence especially at centre back, both glynn and lillis badly exposed for pace. lillis actually ended up corner back today which was worse/ its looking like

brody, nerney, Timmons, possibly lillis looking at today, strong, attride, Begley, jol, glynn, o carroll, kingston, farrell, ross, gary Walsh, lowry
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 07, 2018, 08:48:31 PM
Is Cahillane involved?
Post by: Giovanni on January 07, 2018, 08:54:00 PM
While he made a few handling and other errors today, I think Ciaran McEvoy has the makings of an inter-county footballer. He makes intelligent runs and picks up a lot of ball. He's also physically able to look after himself. A few bad-looking mistakes took the shine off what I thought was a decent enough first run out.
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2018, 09:54:21 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 07, 2018, 08:54:00 PM
While he made a few handling and other errors today, I think Ciaran McEvoy has the makings of an inter-county footballer. He makes intelligent runs and picks up a lot of ball. He's also physically able to look after himself. A few bad-looking mistakes took the shine off what I thought was a decent enough first run out.
Agreed. For me it was Nerney, McEvoy, Lowry and Forbes. Keogh is a solid back up to Brody, and everyone else still a lot to prove. Harsh to say based on one outing, but Sugrue will judge on training and that game, and keep what he can, and hopefully inform those being let go what they can work on and monitor them from afar. My concern would be with the established players, they need to be ready for battle in the league in a few weeks. If they are, and we add the above 4 to what we have, it'll be a decent start.

Agree also on the special mention for Ross, f**king unreal to watch him out there tracking runners into the 70th minute. Must be some boost to the younger lads to see how he conducts himself. Long may he race.
Post by: town1980 on January 07, 2018, 10:19:07 PM
Good to see no knockers on what reads a bad display,,,give John time let him try develop his panel/ team
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 07, 2018, 11:51:48 PM
Quote from: town1980 on January 07, 2018, 10:19:07 PM
Good to see no knockers on what reads a bad display,,,give John time let him try develop his panel/ team
Agree, knocking people who are trying to get Laois football back to some sort of respectability does no-one any good. John Sugrue did what he had to do in this competition, put out two totally different teams, give everyone a run and see in the heat of battle just what you have at your disposal. I went to both games and to be honest I was disappointed at our general play and the lack of leadership from our established players on the field. Apart from J'O'L last week and Ross today our main men did very little to help the new lads settle in and there is a hell of a lot of work to be done still.

That's acceptable at this stage of team building and the first few weeks of the league should see a lot of improvement as things settle down and guys get used to whatever system John decides to play. I think the O'Byrne cup was used simply to see lads in action as there seemed to be very little structure to the play in either game. He now has three weeks to come up with a game plan to suit the type of player he decides to keep on the squad and build from there. It wouldn't surprise me to see us loose a few games that we traditionally would have expected to win early on in this league but if we could reach a league final it would be progress in my opinion.

I hope Cahillane is still involved as he's the type of player that would really make a difference at this level of football but if anyone thinks that we are going to walk through this division they will be sorely disappointed I'm afraid..
Post by: Don Draper on January 08, 2018, 09:28:22 AM
Cahillane was in Amsterdam for the weekend, so I doubt he's in there on that basis.

Laois Today had a good piece with Sugrue here

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/01/08/laois-manager-sugrue-confirms-will-cut-panel-league-begins/

This piece stands out for me

He said: "We've seen 37 or 38 players over the last two games so we will just have to start making our decisions now on who will make the National League team.

"Unfortunately we are going to have cut a few fellas from the panel. If they've got competitive action and they are not matching up to what we have, they are probably not fit to be on the panel.

"A lot of the most positive fellas so far are the newcomers as far as I'm concerned. They've shown a real freshness and a real appetite for this thing and they really want to play for Laois.

"So a lot of the newcomers are looking good at the moment for us."

Sounds like he's given some deadwood on the panel a chance to prove themselves. I imagine many didn't from the sounds of things.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 08, 2018, 10:53:49 AM
Very interesting to hear Sugrue on SoundCloud same as the report above

Really seems like he's going to scratch some of the so-called more established guys up to now
And I'm thrilled

Lads I was happy with yesterday Nerney Attride Piggott McEvoy Lowry forbes also Dowling and Murray kept ball alive well with some impact

Content so far actually
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 08, 2018, 03:13:38 PM
Quote from: Laoisguy on January 08, 2018, 10:53:49 AM
Very interesting to hear Sugrue on SoundCloud same as the report above

Really seems like he's going to scratch some of the so-called more established guys up to now
And I'm thrilled

Lads I was happy with yesterday Nerney Attride Piggott McEvoy Lowry forbes also Dowling and Murray kept ball alive well with some impact

Content so far actually

This is the report on Soundcloud you are talking about, thanks for that.
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/john-sugrue-post-westmeath
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 08, 2018, 03:54:35 PM
I will say one other positive thing - it took balls to put out two completely different inexperienced teams in the O'Byrne cup. We were unlikely to win either game and it immediately puts pressure on the manager. A manager with no vision or less self belief would have tried to get a home win yesterday to keep people off his back.

Personally, given a choice between putting out last years team and getting promoted to Div 3. or a new team that shows potential for the future and competes well enough in Div. 4 without promotion, I would choose the latter.
Post by: The PRO on January 08, 2018, 04:10:30 PM
Woolly is spot on. These winter competitions should be gotten rid of. Completely meaningless.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 08, 2018, 04:22:38 PM
The good

The hunger from the new players

Munnelly looking fitter than ever

Nearney  Holland and Lowry

More speed in the team

The Bad

How light we are

The lack of a system or game plan

Running out of options

The Limerick game is only 20 days away

Glad John had the guts to go with the two different sides takes balls to do that as a previous poster said knowing the knives would be out from the armchair fair weather fans.

I for one will be behind the team big time and look forward to the campaign ahead.

I think they are playing a college team in a friendly this Thursday!
Post by: Laoisguy on January 08, 2018, 04:43:56 PM
Wednesday and Friday challenges against college s
Post by: Don Draper on January 08, 2018, 04:44:55 PM
Quote from: Laoisguy on January 08, 2018, 04:43:56 PM
Wednesday and Friday challenges against college s
Great to hear. Players will want games, and Sugrue can fine tune his team ahead of Limerick. S'all good.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 08, 2018, 05:38:12 PM
Where are the challenge matches on lads? Be interesting to see if he has cut anyone since the 2 games.

What's the latest on the injury front?
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 08, 2018, 05:56:28 PM
Would Limerick be any good?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 08, 2018, 05:58:46 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on January 08, 2018, 05:56:28 PM
Would Limerick be any good?

About the same level as us I would say!!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 08, 2018, 06:43:07 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 08, 2018, 03:54:35 PM
I will say one other positive thing - it took balls to put out two completely different inexperienced teams in the O'Byrne cup. We were unlikely to win either game and it immediately puts pressure on the manager. A manager with no vision or less self belief would have tried to get a home win yesterday to keep people off his back.

Personally, given a choice between putting out last years team and getting promoted to Div 3. or a new team that shows potential for the future and competes well enough in Div. 4 without promotion, I would choose the latter.

Look I like Sugrue,  but there are many other ways of interpreting what he is doing.  A manager is judged by results not some hotchpotch of potential,  It's all fine to give Sugrue a break in the  O Byrne Cup but at some point  he will have to be seriously analyzed.   Regardless of what some on here think this is very much a results based business, of course we cut Sugrue a break because of his inexperience and we understand what he is trying to do but there does come a point where results will be what he is judged on.  The first thing he must do regardless is manufacture the return of Mr D Kingston to the Laois Set Up or before he starts he faces a very serious handicap.  This is one of the first tests of his management if Donie is not back in soon there is not a hope in hell he will be championship fit.     
Post by: Tony on January 08, 2018, 07:37:38 PM
Lads need to calm down a bit. Expectation is at an all time low. Give all involved a chance. John has a huge job to do and it needs time. It might get worse before it gets better but if lads are thinking of running him if Donie doesn't return for example, those lads should turn off their laptops. Donies decision is his decision and not Sugrue's.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 08, 2018, 11:06:45 PM
Whose running him Tony ? What I said is that the return of Donie Kingston is one of the tests of his management.  In fairness he will be given time and I think most people would understand the job he has to do.  I think Sugrue will succeed but in the end results will be the determining factor.  I don't think I have said anything outlandish in that.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2018, 12:38:28 AM

QuoteThe first thing he must do regardless is manufacture the return of Mr D Kingston to the Laois Set Up

This is a quote from John Sugrue's interview and it gives us an insight into the way he is thinking ..
QuoteA lot of the most positive fellas so far are the newcomers as far as I'm concerned. They've shown a real freshness and a real appetite for this thing and   they really want to play for Laois.

Unfortunately Donie doesn't want to play for Laois so I can't see John running after him. Maybe he thinks Div.4 is beneath him or something but I can't see John making serious efforts to get him to play if he hasn't the heart for it.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 09, 2018, 09:16:08 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2018, 12:38:28 AM
QuoteThe first thing he must do regardless is manufacture the return of Mr D Kingston to the Laois Set Up

This is a quote from John Sugrue's interview and it gives us an insight into the way he is thinking ..
QuoteA lot of the most positive fellas so far are the newcomers as far as I’m concerned. They’ve shown a real freshness and a real appetite for this thing and   they really want to play for Laois.

Unfortunately Donie doesn't want to play for Laois so I can't see John running after him. Maybe he thinks Div.4 is beneath him or something but I can't see John making serious efforts to get him to play if he hasn't the heart for it.

The big D doesn't feel like training with the panel
Well my view is it would have a terrible effect on group think if he waltzes back in May shouting at inexperienced guys bursting there gut if a pass wasn't timed correctly

Culture needs to change and I think that's Sugrues real major issue to address

Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 11:10:11 AM
In theory your right, of course every player should want to play for Laois.   But Culture is an intangible,  It could take 5-10 years to implement a culture and just as likely you may not succeed.  Managers are in the business of results.   Many of you may not agree but Donie Kingston for the last 2-3 years has held Laois together and because he has become disillusioned he left.  Is this not an indictment of previous set ups ?  John Sugrue in my opinion must try to persuade Kingston back in regardless of culture and what other players may think.  He simply must be persuaded and if things are as good or as positive as they seem to be he then may buy into the setup.  One place he is not going to buy into the setup is on the couch watching T.V.
Post by: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 11:13:08 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 11:10:11 AM
In theory your right, of course every player should want to play for Laois.   But Culture is an intangible,  It could take 5-10 years to implement a culture and just as likely you may not succeed.  Managers are in the business of results.   Many of you may not agree but Donie Kingston for the last 2-3 years has held Laois together and because he has become disillusioned he left.  Is this not an indictment of previous set ups ?  John Sugrue in my opinion must try to persuade Kingston back in regardless of culture and what other players may think.  He simply must be persuaded and if things are as good or as positive as they seem to be he then may buy into the setup.  One place he is not going to buy into the setup is on the couch watching T.V.
You believe he hasn't tried?

You believe he won't try again?

A lot of assumptions there.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 09, 2018, 11:16:19 AM
I think Donie will be back especially with Paul being so heavily involved...

Do his body no harm to get a break and come in refreshed say in late Feb or march!

Pauric clancy did it a few years back under McNulty and he was like a new man and gave the team a great boost.

Anyone know where they are playing the college teams and what times...

I heard O'Moore park on Wednesday evening but I'm not sure if thats true!

Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 11:25:26 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 09, 2018, 11:13:08 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 11:10:11 AM
You believe he hasn't tried?

You believe he won't try again?

A lot of assumptions there.

Never said that, I do worry with Donie that the longer he stays out the more likely he stays out.  Hopefully this all becomes airy fairy talk and Donie announces a return to the panel as soon as.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 09, 2018, 04:17:43 PM
UCD Wednesday in Portlaoise(don't know where presume centre of excellence) and DIT Friday(no location so far)
Post by: Tony on January 09, 2018, 04:50:41 PM
If Donie comes back it'll be Donie's doing and nobody else's. Of course Sugrue wants him there and has tried to get him back. There's only so much you can do though, so I really don't get behind this "it will be the first test for Sugrue" kind of talk. No it's not. If Donie doesn't come back, Sugrue hasn't failed that test. Donie's out for his own personal reasons but the door is open and nobody is blocking it.

We need lads with desire to play for Laois and that's the main foundation we can go on. Any word about Cahir Healy? I know he was riddled with injuries but would love to see him back at some point as he's only got 3-4 years in him as an inter county player. Would love to see him back with the footballers (and hurlers if possible) for himself mainly, as your playing career is very short. Fully fit, Cahir is one of the best defenders in Leinster, in my opinion.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 05:18:07 PM
Tony I see where your coming from, however what are our chances of success without Donie ?  It's all well and good talking about desire.  But being competitive and winning fuels that desire.  If we go out and are beaten with regularity it will not do anything for squad morale.  Personally I do think a certain part of a managers job is getting the maximum out of the resources available to you.   Sugrue is unlucky that Donie has decided to do this but part of his job in my view is to get him back into a Laois Jersey.  Without Donie it makes Sugrues job that much harder, Sugrue may well prove that he can negotiate this hurdle without Donie but that is for the future.
Post by: The Monument Road on January 09, 2018, 09:31:54 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2018, 05:18:07 PM
Tony I see where your coming from, however what are our chances of success without Donie ?  It's all well and good talking about desire.  But being competitive and winning fuels that desire.  If we go out and are beaten with regularity it will not do anything for squad morale.  Personally I do think a certain part of a managers job is getting the maximum out of the resources available to you.   Sugrue is unlucky that Donie has decided to do this but part of his job in my view is to get him back into a Laois Jersey.  Without Donie it makes Sugrues job that much harder, Sugrue may well prove that he can negotiate this hurdle without Donie but that is for the future.
Laois need Donie back end of, but if he isnt coming back is that a failure on Sugres part, I dont think so. Im sure he has tried but he cannot force him back, Thats up to Donie himself. My own feelings are as follows.  Donie saw what Sugrue expects from anyone who wants to play for laois, that is training 5 nights etc a week and Donie was never a fan of that type of regime.
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 10, 2018, 08:37:58 AM
If Donie doesn't want to play that's fine, its his life and has every right not to play.

The pity about Donie is, albeit a very good footballer and is our best forward by a distance, he never reached his potential and never will unfortunately. He could have been one of the top forwards in Ireland.
Post by: Don Draper on January 10, 2018, 08:56:28 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on January 10, 2018, 08:37:58 AM
If Donie doesn't want to play that's fine, its his life and has every right not to play.

The pity about Donie is, albeit a very good footballer and is our best forward by a distance, he never reached his potential and never will unfortunately. He could have been one of the top forwards in Ireland.
Agreed.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 10, 2018, 11:46:42 AM
He already was one of the top fowards in Ireland. Just didn't get enough recognition cause he's from Laois not Kerry Mayo or Dublin
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 10, 2018, 01:14:50 PM
I disagree, he is very good yes but he is only a top forward in potential only.

At the top level his conditioning lets him down, of course he is fit but not an athlete. If he was under the conditioning programme of Dublin, Kerry or Mayo he would a top player IMO. In saying that no Laois player has that level of conditioning but Donie has so much to gain from that level of conditioning.

In all this I'm not giving out about the lad, he is very good and I'd love him back in with Laois but its frustrating when there is genuinely so much more to come from him.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 10, 2018, 01:58:43 PM
Big fish in small pond

Very good player but would his attitude cut it in with the big boys...not a chance

I don't think John Sugrue will take a lazy mè fèin attitude that's the vibe I'm getting anyway
Post by: Don Draper on January 10, 2018, 03:43:04 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on January 10, 2018, 11:46:42 AM
He already was one of the top fowards in Ireland. Just didn't get enough recognition cause he's from Laois not Kerry Mayo or Dublin
Had the potential to be. We all wanted him to be. He was badly served by managers for a while, but he didn't do himself any favours. Bordering on what could have been at this point. On his day unplayable. He should have been Michael Murphy.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 10, 2018, 04:14:32 PM
Okay okay I want someone to answer this ? Donie Kingston plays for Dublin , he is focused , committed,motivated and wants to win. He is conditioned to the highest level and so are his teammates .Is he the best full foward in the country now?? I know he is .
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 10, 2018, 05:04:02 PM
If Donie is reading this forum, some of the comments won't encourage him to come back!!

Donie is head and shoulders above anyone forward we have in this county ar present. Hopefully we will see him in the blue and white soon as he would do serious damage in division 4 if we play to his strengths.

Hopefully Paul is in his ear giving him encouragement to come back as we need every player available to try get out of division 4. It won't be a cake walk unless everyone is mentally and physically ready.
Post by: Don Draper on January 10, 2018, 05:39:19 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on January 10, 2018, 04:14:32 PM
Okay okay I want someone to answer this ? Donie Kingston plays for Dublin , he is focused , committed,motivated and wants to win. He is conditioned to the highest level and so are his teammates .Is he the best full foward in the country now?? I know he is .
No, Michael Murphy is.
Post by: Giovanni on January 10, 2018, 06:30:19 PM

If he was "focused, committed, motivated, wants to win, highly conditioned and playing with highly conditioned team mates", I doubt Laois would be in Division 4 now. That's where we are and it was last year's team with Donie that got us there (admittedly with some indisciplined team mates). Donie was a leader in a losing team.

This is not to denigrate his efforts. Last season must surely be hurting. But if you're a leader, you come back and make sure that the mistakes of last year are not repeated. He shares some responsibility for last year's debacle (with all of the other players and management). I would like to see him take the opportunity of this year's campaign to show what he's really capable of (and to lead Laois football into some form of respectability).
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 10, 2018, 11:16:52 PM
What kind of team did Laois have out?

Any Laois lads with UCD?
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 11, 2018, 09:24:42 AM
We will never know.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 11, 2018, 09:52:07 AM
Starters
Brody
Dutchie nerney rory
Donoher collins Crowley
Danny and johno
Alan Farrell Kingston Benny
Dowling Walsh Whelan

Decent game good run out defense under pressure through centre until second
Half when Collins got support numbered wise
Danny under pressure physically and johno mobility wise

Walsh Kingston dutchie nerney improved significantly after sluggish start
Dowling putting hand up big time

Begley Ross Glynn Stephen came in also

Rest of guys got flaked on top pitch....heavy work being done
Post by: The PRO on January 11, 2018, 02:12:05 PM
Quote from: Laoisguy on January 11, 2018, 09:52:07 AM
Starters
Brody
Dutchie nerney rory
Donoher collins Crowley
Danny and johno
Alan Farrell Kingston Benny
Dowling Walsh Whelan

Decent game good run out defense under pressure through centre until second
Half when Collins got support numbered wise
Danny under pressure physically and johno mobility wise

Walsh Kingston dutchie nerney after sluggish start
Dowling putting hand up big time

Begley Ross Glynn Stephen came in also

Rest of guys got flaked on top pitch....heavy work being done
Who's Danny? O'Reilly or Luttrell?
Post by: Laoisguy on January 11, 2018, 03:00:24 PM
Danny o Reilly

Luttrel was brought on later actually didn't get much of the ball
Post by: OTF on January 11, 2018, 03:07:42 PM
Quote from: Laoisguy on January 11, 2018, 03:00:24 PM
Danny o Reilly

Luttrel was brought on later actually didn't get much of the ball

Ye saw DoR a few years ago thought he had potential, wingback maybe.
Post by: OTF on January 11, 2018, 03:09:55 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 10, 2018, 06:30:19 PM

If he was "focused, committed, motivated, wants to win, highly conditioned and playing with highly conditioned team mates", I doubt Laois would be in Division 4 now. That's where we are and it was last year's team with Donie that got us there (admittedly with some indisciplined team mates). Donie was a leader in a losing team.

This is not to denigrate his efforts. Last season must surely be hurting. But if you're a leader, you come back and make sure that the mistakes of last year are not repeated. He shares some responsibility for last year's debacle (with all of the other players and management). I would like to see him take the opportunity of this year's campaign to show what he's really capable of (and to lead Laois football into some form of respectability).

Good answer to an unanswerable
Post by: Unlaoised on January 11, 2018, 03:57:43 PM
Was at last nights game ...better showing than Westmeath games for sure we were much better in possession ...

Brody was excellent in the goals I thought Nearney Holland and O'Reilly were okay Dowling from the Rock played well...

Lowry was on fire for UCD

Think they are playing somewhere in Kildare on Friday.

Heard a rumour Donie might be coming back today not from my usual source but there is no smoke without fire(I live in hope anyway)
Post by: Don Draper on January 11, 2018, 04:04:02 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 11, 2018, 03:57:43 PM
Was at last nights game ...better showing than Westmeath games for sure we were much better in possession ...

Brody was excellent in the goals I thought Nearney Holland and O'Reilly were okay Dowling from the Rock played well...

Lowry was on fire for UCD

Think they are playing somewhere in Kildare on Friday.

Heard a rumour Donie might be coming back today not from my usual source but there is no smoke without fire(I live in hope anyway)

I have no doubt Donie read the comments here and felt inspired to return.
Post by: redsetanta on January 11, 2018, 04:51:51 PM
'I'll show the bastards'
Post by: redsetanta on January 11, 2018, 05:30:43 PM
Who's the Crowley lad that lined out at wing back?
Post by: Don Draper on January 11, 2018, 05:42:59 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 11, 2018, 05:30:43 PM
Who's the Crowley lad that lined out at wing back?
Finbar, CmanAymoNow.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 12, 2018, 07:00:46 PM
Moorefield tonight not Dit in newbridge
Post by: redsetanta on January 13, 2018, 12:21:34 PM
Any word how they got on last night.
Post by: Laoisguy on January 13, 2018, 12:38:10 PM
Not yet Red will hear soon
Post by: O moore parklife on January 13, 2018, 01:00:10 PM
Lost by 4 or 5 against a serious cohesive drilled  moorefield who have been together all year.. alot of that team named last night was there last roll of the dice for a squad spot before the settling of a starting team begins.  good performance from Robbie piggot and Colm coss. Ross lead from the front. Played into a storm the first half held moorefield to a point or 2 in the second.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 13, 2018, 01:36:48 PM
What was the line-up of the team last night??
Post by: O moore parklife on January 13, 2018, 01:46:36 PM
From what I saw positions not 100%
Keogh

Finn
Begley
Kelly

Piggot
Glynn
David Holland

Lillis
Coss

Luttrell
Paul k
Donoher

Ross
Forbes
Moore

That's the bones of it im sure or there abouts. Shocking weather.

Subs not sure on

Post by: town1980 on January 13, 2018, 02:08:31 PM
results not reading well at the minute but im sure johns just weeding out his panel,,league isnt too far away though
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 13, 2018, 03:30:57 PM
Looks fairly strong up the middle, how did Forbes and Moore play up front. Would like to see Forbes kept on the panel, big and strong and a great ball winner but really needs inter county experience and coaching. Moore has lots of talent but may be a bit young still.
Post by: O moore parklife on January 13, 2018, 03:58:03 PM
Tough night for forwards first half no ball with the wind second half lads picking off points from deep robbie piggot with 2 from half back. With the installation of mister cannon as strength and conditioning sean moore needs 2-3 years of heavy work to help him fill out properly. In my opinion Laois should appoint a S and C team with a 5 year plan and keep them in place irrespective of management change. This will insure a plan and progression instead of constant change. The players look really fit rumours of serious running and group gym work must be true. I expect the large panel to be trimmed this week and work to begin settling a team for the league. Get them fit the football will come with jerome stack involved. Fair balls to john sugrue for having the balls to sacrifice a few throw away win results and test players in different roles. Player's looked happy morale looks high.
Roll on limrick
Post by: Laoisguy on January 13, 2018, 04:21:47 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on January 13, 2018, 03:58:03 PM
Tough night for forwards first half no ball with the wind second half lads picking off points from deep robbie piggot with 2 from half back. With the installation of mister cannon as strength and conditioning sean moore needs 2-3 years of heavy work to help him fill out properly. In my opinion Laois should appoint a S and C team with a 5 year plan and keep them in place irrespective of management change. This will insure a plan and progression instead of constant change. The players look really fit rumours of serious running and group gym work must be true. I expect the large panel to be trimmed this week and work to begin settling a team for the league. Get them fit the football will come with jerome stack involved. Fair balls to john sugrue for having the balls to sacrifice a few throw away win results and test players in different roles. Player's looked happy morale looks high.
Roll on limrick

I agree

Sean Moore's confidence has been jolted because of the speed and strength differential
Just needs time unfortunately and a plan to work on

Really like what has been done so far and the vibe is spot on