Hurling Championship 2017

Started by seafoid, May 19, 2017, 10:02:07 AM

Cunningham deserves a lot of credit for stopping the rot.
Without him it would have been more shite as epitomised by Ger Loughnane who said in 2007 "that game will win Kilkenny the all Ireland". What a clown.
Cody was happy for the win but thought Gerlock was managing Galway.

Every Galway hurling year finishes with a JC.
John Connolly, Joe Connolly,Jimmy Cooney, Joe Cooney, Joe Canning . The winners

For the rest there is Jaysus Chrisht  the Galway hurling god of throwing it away and watch them f**k this up in the second half.

Quote from: seafoid on September 04, 2017, 01:01:22 PM
For the rest there is Jaysus Chrisht  the Galway hurling god of throwing it away and watch them f**k this up in the second half.

proof indeed that god exists

They went Café del mar about 15 mins in to the second half. Intinsity. They put the burners on and Waterford lost then.
The wides were a sign. Galway only had 6 wides.
Jaysus.
https://youtu.be/9o2cV-FpoHo

Jeepers Creepers

Waterfords change of tatic to high ball in the 2nd half was pivotal. It didnt work and didn't need changed but you always knew that Galway could muster a 10 minute purple patch to pull away. Their subs were crucial to this. Wouldnt begrudge either team an All Ireland yesterday. While nerves seemed to control the match yesterday some of the points were majestic.

Quote from: mouview on September 04, 2017, 12:34:25 PM
Wonderful day to be a Galway supporter in CP.

Not a classic final but the quality of some of the scores taken was excellent, especially Galway's in the opening spell when they couldn't miss. Goals make a game and Deise's kept them in it when the tide was against them. Was really worried about the 45th minute when Waterford were a point ahead and crucially missed an easy chance to extend it. David Burke said "Lads, this is not happening again" and Galway regrouped, helped in no small way by the subs' impact. (Think we would really have pushed on at the end had Jayo steadied up and put us 5 up with his missed chance.) Missed frees at the end were hugely costly for the Deise when they needed to build momentum again. Joy, elation, relief at the final whistle.

Fair play to Waterford, they died with their boots on, and their supporters were very gracious afterwards in spite of immense disappointment. Delighted for JC, our GOAT in my opinion. McInerney as HOTY (Sunday Game) was left-field but fully deserved as he's had a terrific year; great as well to see accolades for all other Galway players on the 2017 Team. Padraig Mannion worthy of an honourable mention while Harte is distinctly unlucky to miss out.

Minors' outstanding win was the icing on the cake. Incredible to beat KK and a strongly-tipped Cork in the one year. Geoff Lynskey, maybe even more than Micheal Donohoe, is manager of the year.

Can't wait til next year already. Now for the homecoming.
A compliment from mo.
An rud is annamh is íontach.

Quote from: Kilkevan on September 03, 2017, 09:46:35 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 03, 2017, 09:37:52 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on September 03, 2017, 09:30:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2017, 08:37:26 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on September 03, 2017, 06:30:49 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 03, 2017, 05:28:01 PM
Congrats to Galway. Were the better team from the start and were taking fantastic points all day. Thought it was an enthralling game and Waterford put in a huge effort to make a game of it when Galway took off like they were going to run away with it. There was a period mid way through second half when Waterford looked like they could win but they changed tactics and became one dimensional. Has to be heatbreaking to their supporters and players. As a team they've given us some great performances this year and over last 10 years.

Congratulations to all from Galway (apart from the poison rat). Ye deserved it this year. Best team in the country since the league final. Was great to see a set of supporters who it meant so much to win it. A bit of that vibe has gone out of Kilkenny recently and a couple of years without will serve to make people hungry again.

Now for the poison rat... Instead of fixating on Kilkenny as the condom split mistake that you are, enjoy tonight and be a Galway supporter for once rather than a Kilkenny hater... Also, try to learn a bit about hurling over the next six months instead of coming out with dicksplats about how Galway are going to hammer teams, believe they'll win yes but don't be such an embarrassment to your parents by claiming they're going to beat teams out of the gate... Your poor mammy and daddy have suffered enough shock with the faulty French letter, the disappointment of pregnancy and the desperation of the nurse not f**king you out of the window... Oh and before you think the Cats are gone... We've the ladies next week and I reckon we have a fair chance of two in a row!
3 more to collect the bet.

Jaysus ChrisHT

Galway didn't need to hammer them. They didn't need to scaoil amach an bobailin.

No, but you claimed they would hammer them making yourself look quite the tool.

You have been very brave about the bet, well except naming your price...

Love the way you ignore the camogie though. Personally I reckon it's cause you're a frustrated virgin... You should be out on the town tonight... You never know... You might get lucky... But at least try to hold your load until you're actually inside or you'll end up blowing it like Joe did so many times until tonight... That or you're a misogynist who doesn't count women's sports even though they have just as much right to be counted as men's... Tell us how much it would sting to see the Cats do two in a row in the year our men went back a bit, ye finally got over the line, but our women continued to fill the void?
hurling thread, not camogie

Not only do you claim to see people who aren't there, you claim camogie and hurling aren't the same sport slightly adapted for the different sexes... Pathetic... How many mirages are you seeing as a result of your needle abuse this week?
camogie isn't even in the GAA

Kilkevan

Let's say the bet is €100.
Galway to win 3 more all Irelands before KK win 36.
There is a word in Galway for people like you.
Amadán

Give it a rest lads. The Hurling threads are normally the best ones!

north_antrim_hound

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2017, 04:54:11 PM

Agree
It's time those two got a room and stop dragging down a good thread
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

What were your highlights of the hurling this year?

Quote from: north_antrim_hound on September 04, 2017, 05:19:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2017, 04:54:11 PM

Agree
It's time those two got a room and stop dragging down a good thread

Avondhu star

Quote from: mouview on September 04, 2017, 12:34:25 PM
Wonderful day to be a Galway supporter in CP.

Not a classic final but the quality of some of the scores taken was excellent, especially Galway's in the opening spell when they couldn't miss. Goals make a game and Deise's kept them in it when the tide was against them. Was really worried about the 45th minute when Waterford were a point ahead and crucially missed an easy chance to extend it. David Burke said "Lads, this is not happening again" and Galway regrouped, helped in no small way by the subs' impact. (Think we would really have pushed on at the end had Jayo steadied up and put us 5 up with his missed chance.) Missed frees at the end were hugely costly for the Deise when they needed to build momentum again. Joy, elation, relief at the final whistle.

Fair play to Waterford, they died with their boots on, and their supporters were very gracious afterwards in spite of immense disappointment. Delighted for JC, our GOAT in my opinion. McInerney as HOTY (Sunday Game) was left-field but fully deserved as he's had a terrific year; great as well to see accolades for all other Galway players on the 2017 Team. Padraig Mannion worthy of an honourable mention while Harte is distinctly unlucky to miss out.

Minors' outstanding win was the icing on the cake. Incredible to beat KK and a strongly-tipped Cork in the one year. Geoff Lynskey, maybe even more than Micheal Donohoe, is manager of the year.

Can't wait til next year already. Now for the homecoming.
League. Minor Senior. Leinster. Tipp beaten twice. Makes up for a lot of heartbreak.
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

John Fogarty @JohnFogartyIrl·20h

Picking now? O'Keeffe; Coughlan Burke Connors Mannion, McInerney Coleman; Barron Moran; Walsh Canning C Cooney Whelan Horgan McGrath. #GAA