Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Main Street on October 18, 2008, 12:35:06 AM

Title: The Wire (tv drama)
Post by: Main Street on October 18, 2008, 12:35:06 AM
I downloaded the first series of The Wire.
I watched the first part of thirteen.
It looks interesting, is it worth getting hooked on it?  (I don't mean the smack)

I have just finished watching 13 parts of "Damages" and was left totally underwhelmed with the way the thing panned out in the end.
Title: Re: The Wire (tv drama)
Post by: Donagh on October 18, 2008, 12:40:52 AM
Quote from: Main Street on October 18, 2008, 12:35:06 AM
It looks interesting, is it worth getting hooked on it?  (I don't mean the smack)

I have just finished watching 13 parts of "Damages" and was left totally underwhelmed with the way the thing panned out in the end.

Watched the last episode of the last series the other week on TG4. It's the only series I've made a point of watching every episode from the start and well worth it. Seasons 2 and 3 dip a little in pace mid way but 4 and 5 are superb. Well worth sticking with.
Post by: OnTheLine on October 18, 2008, 08:25:17 AM
Quote from: Donagh on October 18, 2008, 12:40:52 AM
Quote from: Main Street on October 18, 2008, 12:35:06 AM

Watched the last episode of the last series the other week on TG4. It's the only series I've made a point of watching every episode from the start and well worth it. Seasons 2 and 3 dip a little in pace mid way but 4 and 5 are superb. Well worth sticking with.

Totally agree... I have all the series on dvd and it's one of the best tv shows I've seen. The characters are superb (mcnulty, bunk, stringer, marlo, omar, bubbles... the list goes on..) and the complex plotlines really repay the concentration you'll find yourself willingly giving.

Scary portrayal of the drugs trade and its participants if even half of it was true to life...
Post by: Main Street on October 18, 2008, 11:34:42 AM
I did 3 in a row last night and it's playing along nicely.
It leaves all other such tv dramas in the shade.

It's the best drama I have seen on crime since Donnie Brasco.

It's nice to know there are another 4 or 5 series  just as good.

Post by: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 02:05:05 PM
For me, the Wire is streets ahead of any other show, including The Sopranos.
Post by: Minder on October 18, 2008, 02:20:56 PM
Quote from: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 02:05:05 PM
For me the Sopranos is streets ahead of any other show,including the Wire
Post by: Stalin on October 18, 2008, 05:28:16 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 18, 2008, 02:20:56 PM

For me, the Wire is streets ahead of any other show, inlcuding The Sopranos.
Post by: J70 on October 18, 2008, 05:54:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 18, 2008, 02:20:56 PM

While excellent, neither is a patch on Deadwood, for me.

There is huge hype in the states over Mad Men, a drama based on advertising and set in the 60s and all of the changes of the era that came out last year. It is very common to hear it rated as the best series ever, and it cleaned up at the  Emmys and Golden Globes this year. Haven't had a chance to watch it yet myself. Anyone showing it in Ireland or Britain yet?
Post by: glens73 on October 18, 2008, 06:05:00 PM
I've seen Mad Men, it was on the bbc earlier this year, it's good, but not great.

I've not seen The Wire, but for me the best US drama I've seen is The Shield
Post by: Minder on March 18, 2009, 11:25:13 AM
The BBC are showing the entire show, 60 episodes, over a week starting on March 30th.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 18, 2009, 12:11:19 PM
Best TV show ever fact!!!!

Sheeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!
Post by: Lecale2 on March 18, 2009, 12:21:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 18, 2009, 11:25:13 AM
The BBC are showing the entire show, 60 episodes, over a week starting on March 30th.

Really? What time is it on?
Post by: Minder on March 18, 2009, 12:53:22 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on March 18, 2009, 12:21:07 PM

Not sure what BBC station Lecale but i will say it will be on most of the day for a week if they are going to show 60 episodes in a week
Post by: thewobbler on March 18, 2009, 01:20:50 PM
The Wire is absolutely brilliant TV. It's a slow burner, and is rather confusing at the start due to the sheer number of characters introduced. Once you get past the first 5-6 episodes though it's riveting. Series 3 and 4 in particular provide some of the most immersive TV I've ever seen. The supporting characters are absolutely brilliant; Omar, Bubbles, Bunk, Gus, Freamon, Snoop, Chris, Bunny - each get time to develop a personality.

Post by: Lecale2 on March 18, 2009, 01:25:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 18, 2009, 12:53:22 PM

Not sure what BBC station Lecale but i will say it will be on most of the day for a week if they are going to show 60 episodes in a week

I'd better book the week off.
Post by: Minder on March 18, 2009, 01:28:18 PM
FX have also started showing it from the beginning on a Monday at 11pm, thats where i have started watching it. Monday past was episode 4 i think so you could watch the first few episodes on BBC to get caught up with FX. You will be doing well to see them all on the BBC over a week.
Post by: turk on March 18, 2009, 04:12:05 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 18, 2009, 01:28:18 PM
FX have also started showing it from the beginning on a Monday at 11pm, thats where i have started watching it. Monday past was episode 4 i think so you could watch the first few episodes on BBC to get caught up with FX. You will be doing well to see them all on the BBC over a week.

Ya, same here Minder, I've been watching those episodes. I think 60 episodes in a week would kill you!!
Post by: Main Street on March 18, 2009, 08:19:05 PM
I think it took me 2 weeks to watch the 60.
My torrent download speed could not keep up, otherwise I would have done it in 12 or 13 days.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 19, 2009, 10:25:00 AM
do you need to have seen the first series before you watch the second one?my brother has the second series on dvd, but dunno if i should watch it untill i get to see the first one
Post by: Billys Boots on March 19, 2009, 10:29:40 AM
The second series has only a small connection to the first - it's set in the dockyards, concentrating on the Polish community.  You could probably watch it in complete isolation from all the others, though some of the connections become important in later series.  All other four series concentrate on the gangs (mainly the Barksdale and Stansfield crews).
Post by: Main Street on March 19, 2009, 10:53:42 AM
You can watch them in isolation as Billy says but if you are going to watch the whole lot then start with Series 1.
And most probably you are going to watch the whole lot  :)

Series 2 involves the same police characters in another investigation but much of the context for their operations and the character profiles has already been set in series 1
and the assumption is that you know much of this when you watch series 2.
Overall, there is a theme flowing through the 5 series.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 19, 2009, 11:09:17 AM
QuoteSeries 2 involves the same police characters in another investigation but much of the context for their operations and the character profiles has already been set in series 1 and the assumption is that you know much of this when you watch series 2.

True, ignore my post.  ;)
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 19, 2009, 11:25:38 AM
Classic Scene

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQbsnSVM1zM&eurl=http%3A%2F%2F (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQbsnSVM1zM&eurl=http%3A%2F%2F)
Post by: Minder on March 26, 2009, 09:52:33 PM
Starts on BBC2 Monday 30th March at 11.20pm. Seems to be only one episode on each night.
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on March 27, 2009, 11:51:25 AM
One of my personal favourite scenes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20G17K_0ghU.

or

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYj7q_by_2E&feature=related.

So many great scenes
Post by: Longshanks on March 31, 2009, 12:31:17 AM
Just watched the first episode and hooked, had seen a few before but good to start watching it from the start and have it all explained, I know Il not see it all on BBC 2 as its on so dam late (which really pisses me off as they show so much shite earlier) but hopefully it will also be available on i player... :)
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2009, 08:12:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVznnoptsmM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVznnoptsmM)
Post by: Billys Boots on March 31, 2009, 08:58:35 AM
Sorry Donagh, but Youtube is blocked at work - is that where they play 'The Body of an American' at the wake?
Post by: Donagh on March 31, 2009, 09:00:38 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 31, 2009, 08:58:35 AM
Sorry Donagh, but Youtube is blocked at work - is that where they play 'The Body of an American' at the wake?

Aye, at the first wake (not wanting to give away the one in the final series).
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 03, 2009, 02:21:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 18, 2009, 12:53:22 PM

It's on at 11.20 on BBC2 , have watched the first four episodes and am completely hooked , the best thing I've seen on TV for a long, long time
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 03, 2009, 04:01:08 PM
Agree, I started watching it on BBC this week.  Great stuff.  Incidentally I think the BBC scheduling is BBC2 @11:20pm Mon-Fri for the next 12 weeks.  Hooked already and have set recorder to "tape" entire series.
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2009, 08:54:30 PM
Cold Turkey until Monday night
Post by: Minder on April 04, 2009, 10:52:09 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on April 04, 2009, 09:39:29 PM
I hope I'm not pointing out that the Emperor has no clothes but I can't get anything from the Wire.

Don't get me wrong, I like US drama shows, I have watched and continue to watch quite a few, some lightweight and some tougher, NCIS, the Law & Order franchise, the CSI franchise, Cold Case, NYPD Blue, Homicide Life on the Street and The Shield.  However, I can't get enthusiastic about the Wire.  I don't think it is as good as Homicide or The Shield.

Just an opinion.
You are sick
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 04, 2009, 11:21:59 PM
I hope I'm not pointing out that the Emperor has no clothes but I can't get anything from the Wire.

Don't get me wrong, I like US drama shows, I have watched and continue to watch quite a few, some lightweight and some tougher, NCIS, the Law & Order franchise, the CSI franchise, Cold Case, NYPD Blue, Homicide Life on the Street and The Shield.  However, I can't get enthusiastic about the Wire.  I don't think it is as good as Homicide or The Shield.

Just an opinion.

You need help
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2009, 12:47:51 AM
He just needs to appreciate the need sometimes to go for goal.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on April 05, 2009, 12:53:34 AM
Don't mind them at all Take your Points this show does not appeal to me either. I hated the Sopranos too. Its all down to a matter of opinion.
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2009, 12:18:45 PM
Opinion based on
acting? plots? script? scenes? characters? realism?

Personally I wouldn't trade one Omar for the entire Soprano cast :)

A few opinions may differ on whether this is the most successfully ambitious tv drama series ever produced.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 06, 2009, 02:49:21 PM

Just an opinion.

Stick with it TYP, your opinion should be somewhat revised this time next week. As for that man who hates the Sopranos, go wash out your mouth...
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 06, 2009, 03:13:20 PM
just sort of dipped in and out of the sopranos, so just thought it was ok.loved the episode in the snow (?) rite nuf
the wire however is probably the best tv drama ever.
takes a wile to grab you, but by midway through the first series you will be hooked.
by far the best cop show i've seen, gritty and realistic but with a dark humour too, great stuff
Post by: C_Berg_316 on April 06, 2009, 03:29:37 PM
just watched the first episode off it there last night - it didn't have me in that mood where you cant wait for the next episode in the way that the pilot of lost (thought look how that turned out)  :D, Prison Break or Heroes did although in saying that I'm not going to give a full opinion on it until Ive watched the complete series.
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2009, 03:51:54 PM
The Wire is a slow enough burn.
Watching the first episode again the other day it struck me just how much they understated everything in that episode and stayed laid back.
There was no obvious pressure to pitch the series or manipulate your sense of curiosity.

Post by: The GAA on April 17, 2009, 10:33:02 AM
Just finished the lot. absolutely loved it. so diappointed there are no more. plenty of scope for more but i suppose they can be proud ofwhat they produced.

some of the best charachter writing you are ever likely to come across. This show was all about the charachters.

McNulty, bunk, kima, lestor, rawls, daniels, avon, stringer, marlowe, butch, omar, body, michael, D, Slim Charles, Prop Joe, clay (sheeeeeeeit), Spiros, bubbles, weebay, Jay homicide sergeant), even valcek.

have to say i hated the guy who played carcetti. couldn't act for shit. didn't like Bunny either.

Out of all those, my favourites were bubbles, bunk, omar, stringer and body (this game is rigged).
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 17, 2009, 10:46:39 AM
Quote from: The GAA on April 17, 2009, 10:33:02 AM
Just finished the lot. absolutely loved it. so diappointed there are no more. plenty of scope for more but i suppose they can be proud ofwhat they produced.

some of the best charachter writing you are ever likely to come across. This show was all about the charachters.

McNulty, bunk, kima, lestor, rawls, daniels, avon, stringer, marlowe, butch, omar, body, michael, D, Slim Charles, Prop Joe, clay (sheeeeeeeit), Spiros, bubbles, weebay, Jay homicide sergeant), even valcek.

have to say i hated the guy who played carcetti. couldn't act for shit. didn't like Bunny either.

Out of all those, my favourites were bubbles, bunk, omar, stringer and body (this game is rigged).

thought the guy that played bubbles was great, had the junkie thing down to a tee.
bunk was great for comedy value and Omars character was superb.
Never liked Daniels, dunno if it was the character or the way the guy played him but couldnt stand the sight of him!
Post by: Katchit on April 17, 2009, 10:48:01 AM
Finished it last night, fck knows what I'm going to do in the evenings now, best show I've ever watched bar none.
Post by: Katchit on April 17, 2009, 10:51:12 AM
Also thought D'Angelo was very good, Wire 6 please.
Post by: The GAA on April 17, 2009, 11:13:08 AM
we need to establish a support group.

lines....

Proposition Joe: I heard your end would be covering my fee.
Stringer Bell: Your fee?
Proposition Joe: Yeah, I'm like a marriage counselor. Tell the man he oughta bring the bitch some flowers every once in a while. Tell the bitch she gotta suck some c**k every once in a while. That sort of shit.
[Omar arrives]
Proposition Joe: Speaking of cocksuckers...
[to Omar]
Proposition Joe: I'm Proposition Joe. You f**k with me, I'll kill your whole family.

Moreland: I'm just a humble motherfucker with a big-ass dick.
Freamon: You give yourself too much credit.
Moreland: Okay then. I ain't that humble.

Brother Mouzone: I see you favor a .45.
Omar: At night I do. And I keeps one in the chamber in case you ponderin'.

Bubbles: Thin line between heaven and here.

Freamon: A life, Jimmy, you know what that is? It's the shit that happens while you're waiting for moments that never come.

State's Atty. Ilene Nathan: Mr. Little, how does a man rob drug dealers for eight or nine years and live to tell about it?
Omar: Day at a time I suppose?

omar: i ain't a card man but i think this 45 beats a full house

marlo: Omar aint no terrorist he's just a nigga with a gun. And you, you ain't no Delta airlines neither. You just a nigga who got his shit took.

bodie: They want me to stand with them but where the f**k are they when they suppose to be standing by us? When shit goes bad and is hell to pay where they at? This game is rigged man, I feel like them little bitches on the chess board.

Stringer: Ain't nobody got nothing to say about a 40-degree day. Fifty. Bring a smile to your face. Sixty, shit, niggas is damn near barbecuing on that motherfucker. Go down to 20, niggas get their bitch on. Get their blood complaining. But forty? Nobody give a f**k about 40. Nobody remember 40, and y'all niggas is giving me way too many 40-degree days! What the f**k?

stringer: are you taking notes on a criminal conspiracy?

Post by: Katchit on April 17, 2009, 11:29:57 AM
www.guardian.co.uk/media/wire
Post by: Main Street on April 17, 2009, 11:41:24 AM
Quote from: The GAA on April 17, 2009, 11:13:08 AM
we need to establish a support group.

lines....

Proposition Joe: I heard your end would be covering my fee.
Stringer Bell: Your fee?
Proposition Joe: Yeah, I'm like a marriage counselor. Tell the man he oughta bring the bitch some flowers every once in a while. Tell the bitch she gotta suck some c**k every once in a while. That sort of shit.
[Omar arrives]
Proposition Joe: Speaking of cocksuckers...
[to Omar]
Proposition Joe: I'm Proposition Joe. You f**k with me, I'll kill your whole family.
is that a quote from the script?
I thought it was   "you steal my stash,  I'll kill your whole family"
Post by: Main Street on April 17, 2009, 11:49:05 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 17, 2009, 10:46:39 AM
thought the guy that played bubbles was great, had the junkie thing down to a tee.
Never liked Daniels, dunno if it was the character or the way the guy played him but couldnt stand the sight of him!

From the first series, Pres's character is the one I didn't get.
To begin with, he is a  violent loose cannon but once settled in the basement on the wire he emerges as a rational man who considers consequences before acting.
Post by: The GAA on April 17, 2009, 11:57:00 AM

Def could have that wrong MS
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 17, 2009, 01:40:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 17, 2009, 11:49:05 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 17, 2009, 10:46:39 AM

From the first series, Pres's character is the one I didn't get.
To begin with, he is a  violent loose cannon but once settled in the basement on the wire he emerges as a rational man who considers consequences before acting.

Prez was never cut out to be on the ground, it was only under Lestor's guidance that he finally understood that police work was more than just rounding up little hoppers, I really liked the way his character developed especially when the demons returned and he ended up with the shooting incident...

Carcetti is actually played by an Irish guy, Aidan Gillen....

Royce was the one character I couldn't stand...

Post by: Main Street on April 17, 2009, 01:58:16 PM
So you are saying that Pres hadn't a clue how to be a cop on the ground, pressurised to take on a role he wasn't cut out for (true enough).
Then he thought he had to act like that (wild /violent) in order to be accepted by his peers.
Thus in some way explaining his distance from the others when he was first in the basement
Post by: Minder on April 17, 2009, 02:03:49 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 17, 2009, 01:58:16 PM
So you are saying that Pres hadn't a clue how to be a cop on the ground, pressurised to take on a role he wasn't cut out for (true enough).
Then he thought he had to act like that (wild /violent) in order to be accepted by his peers.
Thus in some way explaining his distance from the others when he was first in the basement

I am towards the end of the first series but thats how i saw it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 17, 2009, 02:36:39 PM
QuoteSo you are saying that Pres hadn't a clue how to be a cop on the ground, pressurised to take on a role he wasn't cut out for (true enough).

In a nutshell yes, his father in law was just trying to pressurise Prez into something he wasn't, just look how he handled his relationship with Dukie compared to what he was like when he was working on the ground.....he knew how the game worked and he was trying to make a difference...
Post by: DuffleKing on April 17, 2009, 02:59:18 PM

Can't make my mind up on daniels. he comes across the upstanding, straight down the line poelease but....

First couple of series McNulty was the heroe if there was one but as you got to know him his star faded.

loved the bubs character. we really got to know him and got inside his head.

would rte, bbc or channel 4 invest in a program like this which is based upon the intricicies and interaction of people? no chance. fair play to HBO
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 17, 2009, 08:21:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 17, 2009, 02:03:49 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 17, 2009, 01:58:16 PM

I am towards the end of the first series but thats how i saw it.
Sounds like you then Minder.
Post by: Minder on April 18, 2009, 12:28:37 PM
When is The Wire continuing on bbc? Thursday nights espisode was the finale of season one and it isnt on next week
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2009, 01:12:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 18, 2009, 12:28:37 PM
When is The Wire continuing on bbc? Thursday nights espisode was the finale of season one and it isnt on next week
4th May. Probably breaking for the snooker. Gives me time to watch season 1.
Post by: Schkite on April 18, 2009, 03:52:26 PM
Brilliant show, hooked on it. Just started season 4.

The characters are fantastic, all if them brilliantly casted and alot of detail put into them.

Not sure who's my favourite but Bunk cracks me up sometimes!

Cole: "I got laid last night"
Bunk:"Oh yeah? Does your asshole still hurt?"

Or when Lester's up in the office and walking away, Bunk says to his partner:
"See that bow-legged muthaf*cker, I did that!"
Post by: james564t on April 20, 2009, 02:12:37 AM
omar's probably the best character but there's almost too many to choose from.

funniest moment of series 1 was wee-bay taking more murders for more chips and another burger (medium-rare, lots of horseradish sauce)
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 22, 2009, 10:12:49 AM
One of my favourite's is where Bird is being interviewed at the station and after giving bad manners to all and sundry ,Daniels comes in and tears up the Polaroid photo that was taken prior to the start of the interview (as proof that he did not gain any more injuries on top of what he got whilst being arrested ) he pleads for the handcuffs to be taken off to give himself a chance , needless to say they were not
Post by: The GAA on April 22, 2009, 10:20:17 AM
Quote from: james564t on April 20, 2009, 02:12:37 AM
omar's probably the best character but there's almost too many to choose from.

funniest moment of series 1 was wee-bay taking more murders for more chips and another burger (medium-rare, lots of horseradish sauce)

don't want to say too much in case i ruin the last season for some. omar was class. "whad up bird?"

The police wakes were brilliant writing. did they come up with that or is that a real custom?
Post by: Main Street on April 22, 2009, 11:49:22 AM
I don't know about that but sure as hell, Heinikin's popularity with the cops was a "bit" artificial.
Post by: Minder on April 22, 2009, 11:54:47 AM
Lads for any of you that have see it all try not to drop any spoilers in. I always enter this thread very tentatively just in case.
Post by: Donagh on April 22, 2009, 11:56:37 AM
Jimmy McNulty's wake in the last episode is good craic.
Post by: tyrone86 on April 22, 2009, 11:57:35 AM
Wise up Donagh  :D
Post by: Main Street on April 22, 2009, 12:05:44 PM
RIP

when "The Wire" became "The Wake"
Post by: AFS on April 24, 2009, 07:00:56 PM
Lester Freamon on the one show now  :)
Post by: Main Street on May 04, 2009, 11:32:01 PM
We're back in business.

Series 2 starts tonight.
Was the snooker all that important?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on May 11, 2009, 01:34:34 PM
Praise be for Bt Vision, they have the first ten episodes of series 2 available on their on demand service
Post by: Minder on May 11, 2009, 01:37:29 PM
Anyone that is recording it on Sky Plus to watch at a more reasonable hour beware, twice last week "programme has ended" came up before it was actually over. Happened twice last week. B*stards.
Post by: nifan on May 18, 2009, 10:44:48 AM
Finished the last series on the weekend there - so can look at this thread now.
Not too many spoilers in fairness, but i couldnt take the risk!
Post by: Bensars on May 18, 2009, 10:52:09 AM
Another new show out there for any of you downloaders.  The Corner- also set in Baltimore is from the same creator of "The Wire".

Six part mini series.  Seems to come highly recommended
Post by: Minder on May 18, 2009, 10:55:10 AM
Quote from: Bensars on May 18, 2009, 10:52:09 AM
Another new show out there for any of you downloaders.  The Corner- also set in Baltimore is from the same creator of "The Wire".

Six part mini series.  Seems to come highly recommended

Based on the book i take it Bensars?
Post by: Bensars on May 18, 2009, 11:30:45 AM
Aye.

The Corner is a 2000 HBO television miniseries based on the book The Corner: A Year in the Life of an Inner-City Neighborhood by David Simon and Ed Burns and adapted for television by Simon and David Mills.

The Corner chronicles the life of a family living in poverty amid the open-air drug markets of West Baltimore.

The miniseries won several Emmy Awards in 2000, including that for best miniseries. Charles S. Dutton won for his direction of the mini series. David Mills and David Simon won Emmys for their writing. The Corner was also nominated for Outstanding Casting for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2009, 08:28:14 PM
David Simon is going to be in Belfast on 31st May as part of the Guardian Hay literary festival. Think he'll be in the Waterfront and tickets are about a tenner.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 23, 2009, 09:00:57 PM
Purposely skipped to the end of the thread for fear of spoilers... Got the DVDs, am currently on about episode eight in the second series...

Have to say its some show, am really getting into it, have watched the first series and the eight episodes in about nine days!!

Bunk is the best in it, the scene where he was dying and kept going to boke into the bin had me in stitches, everyone has been there before!
Post by: AFS on May 23, 2009, 10:42:15 PM
I foolishly bought series 3 and 4 there last weekend and can't stop myself from watching them now even though I should be studying for my exams next week. Agree with ONL that some of Bunk's scenes are hilarious, can't remember if its in series 1 or 2 but I loved the scene where he's hammered and burns all his clothes in the bath cuz he doesn't want the wife to find any 'fibres' from the one he's cheating with.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2009, 11:07:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 23, 2009, 10:42:15 PM
I foolishly bought series 3 and 4 there last weekend and can't stop myself from watching them now even though I should be studying for my exams next week. Agree with ONL that some of Bunk's scenes are hilarious, can't remember if its in series 1 or 2 but I loved the scene where he's hammered and burns all his clothes in the bath cuz he doesn't want the wife to find any 'fibres' from the one he's cheating with.
Series one - i just watched that one about an hour ago! He got blocked and started burning his clothes cos they smelt of pussy and his wife would find out! Jimmy had to come and spring him from the woman's house.

He had a great line in one of episodes where he asked a colleague why he was looking so happy. The fella said cos he got laid last night. Bunk says "does your asshole still hurt!" :)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 24, 2009, 11:23:18 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2009, 11:07:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 23, 2009, 10:42:15 PM
Series one - i just watched that one about an hour ago! He got blocked and started burning his clothes cos they smelt of pussy and his wife would find out! Jimmy had to come and spring him from the woman's house.

He had a great line in one of episodes where he asked a colleague why he was looking so happy. The fella said cos he got laid last night. Bunk says "does your asshole still hurt!" :)

That was class...

Honourable mention has to go to Herc as well, he has me in stitches some times... When he was doing the hand to hands in the second series and kept springing tooth picks out of nowhere was brilliant, then when he was trying to get out with your woman Bea from the Port Police.. Asked her for a cup of coffee but she turned him down, Carv slagged him about it to which Herc replies:

Hey, listen. I was gonna ask her for her panties to make some soup with, but uh, I was afraid she'd take it the wrong way

Post by: Minder on May 26, 2009, 09:18:07 PM
Series 2 almost done on bbc, it does not seem to be on next week. Anyone know when Series 3 starts?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 26, 2009, 09:24:54 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 26, 2009, 09:18:07 PM
Series 2 almost done on bbc, it does not seem to be on next week. Anyone know when Series 3 starts?

If its any help I just bought series three, and I will be starting to watch it tonight?? I could post up a synopsis every night?

Finished series two last night, am engrossed with this show now, love it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2009, 09:32:55 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 26, 2009, 09:24:54 PM

If its any help I just bought series three, and I will be starting to watch it tonight?? I could post up a synopsis every night?

I doubt Minder will be tuning in to see your synopsis before sitting down to watch it himself! I'll be avoiding this thread from now on as I am just starting series 2 tonight!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 26, 2009, 10:17:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2009, 09:32:55 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 26, 2009, 09:24:54 PM

I doubt Minder will be tuning in to see your synopsis before sitting down to watch it himself! I'll be avoiding this thread from now on as I am just starting series 2 tonight!

I was only joking I won't be putting up any clues at all don't worry, I havent even looked at the first five pages of the thread sure in case they give something away...

Is there a spoiler function on the board like you get on other boards for hiding parts of your posts??
Post by: Newbridge Exile on May 27, 2009, 10:35:09 AM
Got the complete 5 series boxset online for the pricely sum of £60 on DSO onlineshop.com-, halfway through series 3 at the minute and and the Herc and Carver double act keep getting better and better
Post by: Schkite on May 27, 2009, 02:31:58 PM
A few episodes into season 5 now myself, nearly don't want to watch it too quick as that's it over then! Only 10 episodes in this season apparently too which is annoying!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2009, 07:51:36 PM
Finished series three last night there... Not spoiling it but I did not see 'the contfrontation' coming!!

Starting series four, anyone else think Kima is turning into McNulty?!?
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 02, 2009, 12:35:18 AM
Which series ended on BBC2 last week? Caught the last few episodes and it seemed quite good, though it does seem to contain half the cast of Oz.
Post by: AFS on June 02, 2009, 01:14:20 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2009, 07:51:36 PM
Finished series three last night there... Not spoiling it but I did not see 'the contfrontation' coming!!

Starting series four, anyone else think Kima is turning into McNulty?!?

Just watched that last week too, didn't think it would actually happen but  :o

I'm not liking the new McNulty in series 4, he's a boring cnut now.

Also, when can we call an end to this moratorium on spoilers? Its a bit of a bitch having to talk in code when mentioning incidents in the show.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 02, 2009, 01:14:59 AM
McNulty dies.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 02, 2009, 08:27:05 AM
We should start a new thread on it with spoilers included. Proper warning in the title so people know not to come in.
Post by: Main Street on June 02, 2009, 01:32:46 PM
McNulty character, after a promising start lost it's way by the end of the first series, passed it's end date early in series 2 and overtaken by others. His script and storyline just got weaker, his family scenes rarely convincing with a poorly cast ex-wife.
The McNulty character got a raw deal.
Post by: thewobbler on June 02, 2009, 02:22:14 PM
With an ensemble cast though it wouldn't have helped the show one bit to focus primarily on one character for 70 episodes.

The things that made McNulty instantly likeable - his brashness, his free spirit - just wouldn't have made compelling TV for the long run.

On characters - Gus, in the 5th series, is a great one, and rarely remarked upon.
Post by: Main Street on June 02, 2009, 03:08:41 PM
My opinion has nothing to do with McNulty being shoved out to the sidelines.

I´ll be watching the last one in series 2 tonight. I missed the reason for the Greek giving up on Sobotka first time around.
I have a lot of time for the Sobotka character. I'll be grieving later on.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 04, 2009, 11:17:16 AM
Have to say I don't think there has ever been a more horrible character than Snoop, the wee girl with the blocked nose who works for Marlo. What the f**k is the craic with her? I hate her, horrible horrible nasty piece of work.

Yes, I know she is a fictional character
Post by: nifan on June 04, 2009, 01:16:31 PM
Snoop is played by a former dealer who did time for murder I think.

Read an article where it said she was still dealing when she started in the wire, but left when she made enough.
Post by: Schkite on June 04, 2009, 01:51:28 PM
Apparently when she was born both her parents were drug addicts in prison, not a great start! According to her Wiki she now runs a youth organisation, along with the actor that played Marlo, to help stop violence and keep kids off the streets.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 05, 2009, 12:01:08 PM
Just finished series 3 last night, it just goes from strength to strength,
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 10, 2009, 12:05:29 AM
Halfway through series 4 and hand on heart I can honestly say I have never felt such compassion about a character in a tv series as I do towards dukie
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 10, 2009, 08:21:00 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on June 10, 2009, 12:05:29 AM
Halfway through series 4 and hand on heart I can honestly say I have never felt such compassion about a character in a tv series as I do towards dukie

I know what ya mean Newbridge...

I finished episode two of series five there last night, raging I am getting to the end now...

Series Four was great but a couple of things have happened already in series five that look like its shaping up to be a great series!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 12, 2009, 03:02:51 PM
Quote from: The GAA on April 17, 2009, 10:33:02 AM

I think he was in Queer As Folk!

edit to say: Yes I looked it up and he was!!

Anyway finished the last episode there, I have never got so into a show before, that was excellent, the sheer volume of characters and all the different stories going at once just keeps you on the edge of your seat...

Gonna get the Oz box set now and work my way through that, I remember watching brief bits of this show when it was on late night on channel four years ago but now I think I would enjoy it more, think a lot of the actors went from Oz to The Wire

PS Mods how about a spoiler option added?? Is it possible?
Post by: Main Street on June 12, 2009, 04:43:26 PM
You'd think that after so many years you wouldn't need to have a spoiler option with this show.
Spoil away up to end of series 2.

I remember reading some reviewer wondering why this show never caught on to any serious extent when it was first aired in the USA. That, despite the almost unanimous ecstatic praise from  the reviewers, the viewing figures didn't top 1m in the US for series 5,whereas joe public could not get enough of the Soapranos. In the end some type of answer came from the daughter of one of the actors who didn't really like it, she could.'t multi task (net chat) and follow it at the same time, as well as it being too real.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2009, 04:59:14 PM
Sad to believe but it's thought that The Wire poored fairly in the ratings because it had a predominantly African-Amreican cast!

I miss The Wire.
Post by: Schkite on June 12, 2009, 05:05:07 PM
Just finished the final season there myself during the week, unreal show. Amazing to think that this time last year I'd barely heard of it(pardon my ignorance!), and it already over at that point! It never really caught on over here on the telly, I know BBC are running through it now but it took long enough. I suppose a factor in that may be that it's a show best seen in a few bits at a time, like on DVD, and on a one episode per week basis it was hard to pick up for some. It's a real slow-burner(especially at the start) which often didn't end an episode on a cliff-hanger like so many others, so viewers may not have had the patience to commit to watching it every week, and became bored. Amazing show though once you get into it and get familiar with the vasy amount of characters, which can be overwhelming at first, especially as we're not spoonfed introductions to them all as you see in other shows. It took me a good while at the start to figure out who was who in the Barksdale gang for example.

Don't know what to watch now, some big shoes to fill after The Wire! Funny enough I was thinking of Oz myself as I ever watched it before and heard the boxset was going cheap, it's a similarly gritty, graphic show.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 12, 2009, 05:31:50 PM
Quote from: Schkite on June 12, 2009, 05:05:07 PM
Just finished the final season there myself during the week, unreal show. Amazing to think that this time last year I'd barely heard of it(pardon my ignorance!), and it already over at that point! It never really caught on over here on the telly, I know BBC are running through it now but it took long enough. I suppose a factor in that may be that it's a show best seen in a few bits at a time, like on DVD, and on a one episode per week basis it was hard to pick up for some. It's a real slow-burner(especially at the start) which often didn't end an episode on a cliff-hanger like so many others, so viewers may not have had the patience to commit to watching it every week, and became bored. Amazing show though once you get into it and get familiar with the vasy amount of characters, which can be overwhelming at first, especially as we're not spoonfed introductions to them all as you see in other shows. It took me a good while at the start to figure out who was who in the Barksdale gang for example.

Don't know what to watch now, some big shoes to fill after The Wire! Funny enough I was thinking of Oz myself as I ever watched it before and heard the boxset was going cheap, it's a similarly gritty, graphic show.

Think there are six series of Oz, amazon doing it cheap enough at the min, round sixty quid, think I will order it now...
Post by: Main Street on June 14, 2009, 02:46:56 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 12, 2009, 04:59:14 PM
Sad to believe but it's thought that The Wire poored fairly in the ratings because it had a predominantly African-Amreican cast!
That would also fall under as being too real.
It has to be more that just the casting.
Add into the mix, some over real scripts /accents /characters/settings, all contributing to a serious slow burn plot.

Post by: DennistheMenace on June 14, 2009, 12:22:32 PM
The slow, complexish plot combined with the use of heavy slang couldn't have helped but I'm pretty sure HBO didn't give them a good time slot at the start as well.

Some people want the plot on a plate like 24, unfortunately for some this wasn't the case.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 15, 2009, 09:01:02 AM
Started watching series one again there last night

:-[

I am turning into a bit of a fan boy... Its a lot easier to keep up with now I know all the lingo, know who's who etc (the first time round it was deadly to keep up with the hierarchies: cops and the drugs)

Only watched the first episode and feel bad for D'Angelo and Wallace already!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 22, 2009, 03:57:06 PM
Heads up for Wire fans...series 3 start on BBC2 tonight...11:50pm start.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 22, 2009, 04:41:32 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 22, 2009, 03:57:06 PM
Heads up for Wire fans...series 3 start on BBC2 tonight...11:50pm start.

Waiting for one of the lads in here to bring in Series 2, no spoilers please...  :-X
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 12, 2009, 08:50:13 PM
Just after finishing series 5 there. Unreal show. Best i've seen of this type of show.

Some deadly characters in it, too many to mention, and some annoying ones. Snoop had to be the most annoying character I have ever seen.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 12, 2009, 09:28:20 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 15, 2009, 09:01:02 AM
Started watching series one again there last night

:-[

I am turning into a bit of a fan boy... Its a lot easier to keep up with now I know all the lingo, know who's who etc (the first time round it was deadly to keep up with the hierarchies: cops and the drugs)

Only watched the first episode and feel bad for D'Angelo and Wallace already!

Yep just started Season 1 again myself. You notice a lot of stuff you didn't see first time round. A bit like Shakespeare (probably)
Post by: gallsman on July 13, 2009, 11:38:30 PM
Seven episodes to go in final series for me. Phenomenal show. I hate to say it, but I think I may like it even more than The Sopranos. Snoop and Chris are some of the most terrifying characters I've ever come across in a TV show. Don't think they're annoying though, on the contrary I think they're excellent characters. Favourite main character has the be the Bunk. Best secondary character is surely Landsman. Looking at porn in front of Carcetti was brilliant. I also love Clay Davis:

Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!
Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 08:11:20 AM
Quote from: gallsman on July 13, 2009, 11:38:30 PM
Seven episodes to go in final series for me. Phenomenal show. I hate to say it, but I think I may like it even more than The Sopranos. Snoop and Chris are some of the most terrifying characters I've ever come across in a TV show. Don't think they're annoying though, on the contrary I think they're excellent characters. Favourite main character has the be the Bunk. Best secondary character is surely Landsman. Looking at porn in front of Carcetti was brilliant. I also love Clay Davis:

Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!

It is better than the Sopranos. Sopranos went on and on and on with the same characters and stretched to 7 Seasons with not a lot happening at times, some amazing episodes, but too many weak ones were the writers were allowed to w**k off with 'dream sequences' and the like. Wire was not afraid to kill off characters and the way it changes to different aspects of the city with each series kept it alive to more of an extent than the Sopranos.
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2009, 12:43:59 PM
Lol, Season 5, Episode 4. When Bubs is talking to the reporter in the soup kitchen, there's a hungerstrike memorial in the background.
Post by: Main Street on July 14, 2009, 01:14:25 PM
Watching last nights from s3  (ep.11or 12?)  on BBC
I missed this bit  first time around,
in the scene where the Brother sent in his bodyguard into the gay bar to search for Omar, you can see Major Rawls in the background looking well pleased with himself.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 14, 2009, 01:24:30 PM
I didn't see that. Must look at it again.

There was a good bit in Series 4 when McNulty goes to a function and asks barman for a Jameson, barman says "Only got Bushmills", McNulty replies "But that's a protestant whiskey!"  :D
Post by: Main Street on July 14, 2009, 01:40:18 PM
Surely you mean series 3?
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2009, 02:00:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 14, 2009, 01:14:25 PM
in the scene where the Brother sent in his bodyguard into the gay bar to search for Omar, you can see Major Rawls in the background looking well pleased with himself.

I've been watching it on DVDs borrowed from a friend. Saw it straight away and texted him immediately. It's little things like that from ages ago that make it such a great show.

Try not to give away spoilers.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 02:04:34 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 14, 2009, 01:24:30 PM

There was a good bit in Series 4 when McNulty goes to a function and asks barman for a Jameson, barman says "Only got Bushmills", McNulty replies "But that's a protestant whiskey!"  :D

Yeah its series 3 as its when hes after your woman who's mates with Carcetti
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2009, 02:21:19 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 02:04:34 PM

Being honest, I thought i was just shit research, or maybe it a doubly subtle dig at the naivety and ignorance of Irish-Americans. ALL the distillers were originally Protestant families, as is the Guinness family.
Post by: Main Street on July 14, 2009, 04:20:54 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 14, 2009, 02:00:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 14, 2009, 01:14:25 PM

I've been watching it on DVDs borrowed from a friend. Saw it straight away and texted him immediately. It's little things like that from ages ago that make it such a great show.

Try not to give away spoilers.
You can't have a discussion if you can't at least mention scenes from episodes already televised in the recent run.
The unwritten rule is, if its been on the BBC then its open season.

Post by: tyssam5 on July 14, 2009, 04:30:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 14, 2009, 02:21:19 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 14, 2009, 02:04:34 PM

Being honest, I thought i was just shit research, or maybe it a doubly subtle dig at the naivety and ignorance of Irish-Americans. ALL the distillers were originally Protestant families, as is the Guinness family.

Not shit research. Irish-Americans do come out with that on a regular basis. I order Bush deliberately to set the feckers off.

But in fairness I would not argue with McNulty when it comes to whiskey.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 14, 2009, 05:35:34 PM
My mistake. Obviously it wasn't series 4 as McNulty was shit craic and not being the usual drunk womaniser that he was in all the other seasons.
Post by: Main Street on July 14, 2009, 05:41:31 PM
Just a (relatively) sober womaniser.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 14, 2009, 05:46:33 PM
Series 5 he gets back to his best. Does what he does best as well as getting a little crazier!
Post by: gallsman on July 15, 2009, 03:39:12 PM
Finished. Great finale. As I said, on of, if not, the best TV show I've ever seen. Can't believe it never realyl got popular over here until now.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 03:41:52 PM
Great episode last night on BBC2.

One of my favourite bits in it with Avon and Stringer talking to each other on the balcony drinking

"Its just business"
Post by: Billys Boots on July 15, 2009, 03:59:24 PM
I loved the conversation between Stringer and the sleazy lawyer, where the latter explained to Stringer how Clay 'Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit' Davis had just cleaned him out of bribes. 
Post by: Schkite on July 15, 2009, 04:05:05 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 03:41:52 PM
Great episode last night on BBC2.

One of my favourite bits in it with Avon and Stringer talking to each other on the balcony drinking

"Its just business"

Yeah that was a great scene, both of them knew it would be the last time they'd share a drink and a moment together as they'd both double-crossed the other. That was a great season, you could see their friendship break bit by bit as they were going in different directions. They're all fantastic seasons of course, not a weak link among them. Re-watching season 1 again now and it's better than I remembered.
Post by: gallsman on July 15, 2009, 05:17:20 PM
Season four was y favourite. The sheer ruthlessness of Marlo and Chris, and the portrayal of the way the kids get embroiled in the drug trade was compelling viewing.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 06:38:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 15, 2009, 05:17:20 PM
Season four was y favourite. The sheer ruthlessness of Marlo and Chris, and the portrayal of the way the kids get embroiled in the drug trade was compelling viewing.

I think series 3 was my favourite with the drug war.

Four would be second though, the four kids were great additions and I even started to like Marlo.
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2009, 11:03:25 PM
Those last 2 episodes of series 3 upped the ante.
All the scenes in those 2 episodes, to wrap up the series, one after the other were just brilliant.
You could watch them again and again. An overwhelming sense of personal loss, loss of past values  and a bottomless pit of something more evil taking over.
Stringers total disintegration was complete. Avon in the leg irons but still intact.
In the last scene with Omar, his grief is all left to the imagination. Even if you didn't know what was to follow in S4, you'd just know he was going far away to lick his wounds. Not even he can stomach more loss.

As brilliant as the Wire certainly is,  the despair of it all does grind me down.

Post by: Schkite on July 15, 2009, 11:26:32 PM
I know what you mean, there certainly is some depressing stuff in it at times. I read a bit about the Wire a while back, which said that the 2nd last episode in each season was the most despairing and hopeless of that season, but usually one of the best. They're all written by the same man, and he really does like to depress! Thinking through all the penultimate episodes, without giving anything away about seasons 4 and 5 especially, they really are fantastic episodes even if they do get you down a bit!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 02:32:54 PM
For all you Clay Davis fans... you know what it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30YW3wgRvyI
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 02:34:10 PM
Top 100 scenes, lifted from another site...

100. Snot Boogie - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=h5t9I_WfOPM
(No Spoilers)

99. Herc and Carver Listen to Phone Sex - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Fr6sgx_tw_Q
(No Spoilers)

98. Carcetti's Unforgiven Speech - Season 3
No Video Available - One of the final moments of "Mission Accomplished."

97. Moving the Desk - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=xzIcmazr7KU
(No Spoilers)

96. Cutty Gets Shot - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=yj5fHw0gyy4
(Spoilers)

95. Randy's New Life - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=hAesStnk2iQ
(Spoilers)

94. "The Bigger The Lie, The More They Believe" - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=fNeZEMNm1yE
(No Spoiler)

93. McNulty Owns Templeton - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=VY9cFeYQYRk
(Spoilers)

92. Colvin Takes the Kids to Dinner - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=f_ZUsnFevQo
(No Spoilers)

91. Omar Sells the Shipment Back to Prop Joe - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=LRYGlUvWQyI
(Spoilers)

90. "To Be Continued..." - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=u031o4EYrTs
(No Spoilers)

89. A New Omar - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=hxcOS7AMna8
(Spoilers)

88. Omar Kills Savino - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=agwGqLpelso
(Spoilers)

87. Marlo Can't Give Up the Life - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=39s1sveB3DY
(Spoilers)

86. Rawls Comforts McNulty - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Gtaf9Hp04yY
(Spoilers)

85. "...All In The Game" - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=cryMVK1PwuQ
(No Spoilers)

84. Dukie and Prez - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=FARQC1YnmhU
(Spoilers)

83. Clay Davis Takes the Stand - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=5jie8sb2D5g
(Spoilers)

82. Bunk and Omar - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=1wmgghlEagA
(Spoilers)

81. McNulty Invents a Serial Killer - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=X-h-gLkhGC0
(Spoilers)

80. Chris Tries to Kill Avon - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=j68JcoXsaX8
(Spoilers)

79. Marlo's Bad Luck - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Id8My4ib6dM
(No Spoilers)

78. Lex's Demise - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=pekAUEgyDIw
(No Spoilers)

77. Marlo Kills Devonne - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=bypxHaOzObA
(Spoilers)

76. Omar Robs Marlo - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=2C1jZzEhHeU
(No Spoilers)

75. The Detail Gets a Real Break - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=tST5XH9i18s
(Spoilers)

74. "I Know About a Murder" - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=-TdsUE7jJEs
(No Spoilers)

73. D'Angelo Skates on Murder - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=kYvWQKBeNOw
(No Spoilers)

72. "It's a Tomb. Lex is in There." - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=wpb4sFRrDWs
(Spoilers)

71. Snoop Buys the Nailgun - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=w8zavPW3Bus
(No Spoilers)

70. Perishable Cargo - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=7-FkHKk-QoQ
(Spoilers)

69. "These Are For You, McNulty." - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=B_X4tdPa1iU
(No Spoilers)

68. The Chess Scene - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=S1HUlTKvDUI
(No Spoilers)

67. Valchek Arresting Frank Sobotka - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=33v78KL0DVM
(Spoilers)

66. Omar Hits the Stash - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=8gLvic55FXs
(No Spoilers)

65. Brother Mouzone shoots Cheese - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5VxvF7DaCw
(No Spoilers)

64. Avon Meets Marlo - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=3kQLgWw9aRw
(Spoilers)

63. Omar Testifys Against Bird - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=fbbNJx2Efbw
(No Spoilers)

62. Avon Gives Up Stringer - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ntm2VOfE17w
(Spoilers)

61. Wee-Bay Gets Locked Up - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JiFlDcCOK3g
(Spoilers)

60. Omar Jumps Slim - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=F6ajQi3LNM4
(Spoilers!)

59. Michael's First Hit - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=UE372-Wck-E
(Spoilers)

58. Omar Takes the Shipment - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=gE7RZmkSnIw
(No Spoilers)

57. Avon Barksdale Gets Arrested - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=WndsnSs3Tu0
(Spoilers)

56. Marlo Takes Over The Co-op - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Bhih7_iPLw0
(Spoilers)

55. Cutty Leaves the Game - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jwdfRrNEWZU
(Spoilers!)

54. Stringer Turns On Avon - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6puTD4VIjms
(Spoilers)

53. Levy vs Pearlman - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=7Zettpsn2sM
(Spoilers!)

52. McNulty speaking to Donnette and Brianna on Behalf of D'Angelo - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=lIjx62wJr1I
(Spoilers)

51. Carcetti Finds Out The Truth - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=KUxHmDE2ZXM
(Spoilers!)).

50. Avon's Coming Home Party - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=c67U_-dErD0
(Spoilers)

49. "I Need Your To Hit Someone." - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=WkVohPC_YpU
(Spoilers)

48. Marlo Does Business With Spiros Vondas - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=129djr93GMk
(Spoilers!)

47. Omar Gets Marched Into Prison - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=XzjlZlq_CMQ
(Spoilers)

46. A Paper Bag - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=F2fV-_eiKxE
(No Spoilers)

45. Prez Hits Valchek - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=9MrRct1jG28
(No Spoilers)

44. Hamsterdam - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=_9tuxxkgFME
(No Spoilers)

43. Wee-Bay's Fish - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=RYYaC3Bcuew
(Spoilers)

42. "That Was For Joe" - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=4Bmj_HqLiPc
(Spoilers)

41. Brianna Convincing D'Angelo to Stand Tall - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=J_xKf751AYM
(Spoilers)

40. Omar Goes at Avon - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=TK0axGBnzXw
(Spoilers)

39. Omar Sends a Message, Stabs Attacker in Lockup - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=shs_JZ38SU8
(Spoilers)

38. Prez Kills a Cop - Season 3
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Cfcx8r7OP3w
(Spoilers)

37. Omar Shoots Brother Mouzone - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=m5Pb8MHIy2s
(Spoilers)

36. Bubbles' Speech - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Cq7P-gjO99U
(Spoilers)

35. The Infamous Crime Scene - Season 1
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=KQbsnSVM1zM
(No Spoilers)

34. McNulty's Drunken Antics - Season 2
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=-dy0onycVHE
(No Spoilers)

33. Butchie's Death - Season 5
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=YZDSr9Mj4jc
(Spoilers)

32. Johnny Cash Montage - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=jqnWI1s-slk
(No Spoilers)

31. Nick Sobotka Talking to the Detail - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=iv0UpT6ofbY
(Spoilers)

30. "Where the Fck is Wallace?" - Season 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=YrSy9r0-l...
(Spoilers)

29. Bubbles Finding Sherrod Dead - Season 4
http://youtube.com/watch?v=sDrooDcZy...
(Spoilers)

28.The Fall of Marlo's Crew - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEVEi...
(Spoilers)

27. "You're a Soldier, Bodie." - Season 4
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Y0PMyOBF4...
(Spoilers)

26. Stringer vs Avon - Season 3
http://youtube.com/watch?v=RjCNf71eo...
(Spoilers)

25. Ride of the Valkyries - Season 3
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Tsm5kMUACwI
(Spoilers)

24. One Final Proposition - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFk5z...
(Spoilers)

23. Bubbles Hangs Himself in Interrogation Room - Season 4
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=rVC6IpcjRyI

22. Brother Mouzone and Omar in the Street - Season 3
http://youtube.com/watch?v=20G17K_0g...
(No Spoilers)

21. Michael Kills Snoop - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LePuo...
(Spoilers)

20. Kernard Kills Omar - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3p2Rt...
(Spoiler)

19. "You Come at the King, You Best Not Miss." - Season 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=WP-lrftLQ...
(No Spoilers)

18. Season 2 Ending Montage - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=iOmx9y4GHgg
(Spoilers)

17. Season 1 Ending Montage - Season 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=D_lLx-QnqO4
(Spoilers)

16. Season 4 Ending Montage - Season 4
http://youtube.com/watch?v=N6Q0c3CdG...
(Spoilers)

15. Season 3 Ending Montage - Season 3
http://youtube.com/watch?v=k8f6DHViN...
(Spoilers)

14. Chris and Snoop's Ambush - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXzUS...
(Spoilers)

13. The Greeks Take Care of a Problem - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=XBH4jP3-9DQ
(No Spoilers)

12. Season 5 Ending Montage - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtdDQ...
(Spoilers)

11. "Malaka." - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZmUQj8kCZso
(Spoilers)

10. The Last Walk - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZAathqcWA...
(Spoilers)

09. "You Got My Back, Huh?" - Season 4
http://youtube.com/watch?v=zrvaRKtfelw
(Spoilers)

08. "We Ain't Gotta Dream No More." - Season 3
http://youtube.com/watch?v=E80qYE2u_...
(Spoilers)

07. Michael Saying Goodbye to Bug and Dukie - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwxtF...
(Spoilers)

06. Bodie and Poot Kill Wallace - Season 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=hor_gOBU_GU
(Spoilers)

05. D'Angelo in the Interrogation Room - Season 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=4ognLymEEDM
(Spoilers)

04. Kima Gets Shot - Season 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=29L_yWV-698
(Spoilers)

03. D'Angelo's Death - Season 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=gjRqQ4_BtM4
(Spoilers)

02. Jimmy McNulty's Wake - Season 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVEwp...
(Spoilers)

01. The Death of Stringer Bell - Season 3
http://youtube.com/watch?v=TqbxZG6FM...
(Spoilers)

Can't pick out a personal fave though I love any scenes with Bunk and Omar, especially number 82
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 23, 2009, 04:44:34 PM
After all you lot raving about it, I have decided to dload this to see what all the fuss.

Start pulling all 8 gb of series one down last night.
Post by: Gunnergael on July 23, 2009, 04:52:37 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 02:32:54 PM
For all you Clay Davis fans... you know what it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30YW3wgRvyI

Kills me every time!!! :D :D :D
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 05:10:29 PM
With out a doubt, best show ever.

Some good scenes their Our Nail. Omar features in alot of them.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 09:44:33 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 23, 2009, 04:44:34 PM
After all you lot raving about it, I have decided to dload this to see what all the fuss.

You will not regret it.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 23, 2009, 11:13:04 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 23, 2009, 09:44:33 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 23, 2009, 04:44:34 PM

You will not regret it.

The last time you told me that it was a 7-2 shot at Sandown  :D
Post by: Main Street on August 06, 2009, 12:16:40 AM
The Guardian are running an internet poll on the best tv show of the decade.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/poll/2009/jul/28/best-tv-show-noughties (http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/poll/2009/jul/28/best-tv-show-noughties)

No surprise with the top TV drama,  especially as it's running now.
The extent of the landslide took me back.

I don't count Top Gear as Drama
Post by: AFS on August 11, 2009, 06:30:08 PM
Just finished this the other night, tried to stretch out the last season for as long as possible as I didn't want it to end. Thought the ending was brilliant, fitted in perfectly with the overall theme of the show.

I doubt I'll ever get to watch another TV show as well made. There are so few weak links, no poor storylines and only one or two dodgy peripheral characters. As David Simon said in one of the special feature, 'if we'd done everything wrong, we would've ended up making just another cop show'. Its a lot more than that. There's so much to be learnt about the drug culture, politics, the media, etc., a lot of which is surly applicable to many parts of the world, not just Baltimore.

I was gonna say its a pity that its so inaccessible and almost impossible for the casual viewer to drop into, but its not. Its this intricacy and depth that makes the show so good. The real pity is that so few people are prepared to commit enough time to watch it properly.
Post by: deiseach on August 11, 2009, 06:57:15 PM
Classic quip on it last night. Bubs asked Kima for some informant work because he was being constantly robbed by some thug. She told him she didn't work for Narcotics any more, she was in Homocide. Bubs says "if bad boy happens to kill me, then you could help me?" ;D
Post by: Newbridge Exile on August 22, 2009, 12:40:06 AM
Series 5 started last night on the beeb ,the opening scene which according to David Simons book actually happens is the funniest thing I have seen to date in this fantastic programme
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 10, 2009, 12:43:39 AM
Snoop got a taste of her own medicine tonight. Excellent show.
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2009, 01:01:24 AM
I have moved onto the prequel  -  Homicide, Life on the Streets and ploughing away through the first series.

It's good stuff, first time I ever cared about a cop.
It's not a real substitute for life after The Wire series 5, but will help to wean you off with dignity.
Post by: deiseach on September 10, 2009, 11:14:53 AM
All over tonight on the Beeb. Finally I'll be able to read Wire threads and articles without fear of spoilers!
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 10, 2009, 12:04:51 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 10, 2009, 11:14:53 AM
All over tonight on the Beeb. Finally I'll be able to read Wire threads and articles without fear of spoilers!

Didnt realise there were only 5 series. I take it this is McNultys wake tonight?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on September 11, 2009, 12:28:42 AM
Sure is, great episode. Finishes off the series well.
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2009, 10:22:27 AM
There was a film on tv the other week with the actor who plays Clay Davis, sure enough he rolled out the shiiiieeeeet line with full gusto. Must be his trademark like Pacino with his hoohaa.
Post by: nifan on September 11, 2009, 10:39:15 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 05:10:29 PM
With out a doubt, best show ever.

Some good scenes their Our Nail. Omar features in alot of them.

Would have thought his classic performance in birds trial would have been higher.

Also the scene where Carver Drops randy off to the group home should be there - when carver goes back to the car after and is just distraught.
Post by: AFS on September 11, 2009, 10:45:51 AM
One of my favourite scenes in the whole five series is one of the last, when Marlo walks out of the posh get together and takes on two wee boys on a street corner. Was pretty much the only time in almost of 3 series that you actually saw him live up to his reputation.
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 11, 2009, 11:51:37 AM
Great end to a great series, but why was it shown so late last night? They used the last couple of episodes to round it off nicely, from Naymond giving his speech on AIDS in Africa to Bubbles sitting down to dinner with his sister. I never got the whole Marlo thing though, last night was the first time he did something himself. Thankfully McNultys wake wasnt a real one, though he paid a high price for trying to get some real police work done.
One of the best shows I ever saw, though I only got into it half way through series two. The box set will be on my list for Christmas.
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2009, 12:01:21 PM
It's shown late because it is not a 'prime time' show. It is a quality drama which requires concentration as well as sense of awareness of the plot, characters and scenes in order to be able to appreciate and follow the drama.
Post by: Celt_Man on September 11, 2009, 12:36:31 PM
As Clay would ssssssshhhhhhhhhiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiittttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!  :D

Can't believe that's over, haven't been on this thread once while I was watching it on BBC, didn't go on wiki to look up about past seasons or about actors in the show - I was absolutely terrified of reading a spoiler and taking away any bit of pleasure of watching this show...
it is the best damn show on tv bar none...
Some of the characters are legendary and love the direction they took with some of them...
Would have been so easy to keep McNulty central stage as the "hero" of the show always being wronged by the bosses but look at what happens in the last season...
Omar was a brillant character, a real bad ass but at the same time he never got any civilians

Also loved the way they would bring characters in out of the blue and keep them in it and just as quick take them out again...  Bodie, Slim Charles, Cheese, prop Joe, Levy, Carv and Herc - they all went out of it for a while but still played serious roles in it
Post by: AFS on September 11, 2009, 01:10:37 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on September 11, 2009, 12:36:31 PM
As Clay would ssssssshhhhhhhhhiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiittttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!  :D

Can't believe that's over, haven't been on this thread once while I was watching it on BBC, didn't go on wiki to look up about past seasons or about actors in the show - I was absolutely terrified of reading a spoiler and taking away any bit of pleasure of watching this show...
it is the best damn show on tv bar none...
Some of the characters are legendary and love the direction they took with some of them...
Would have been so easy to keep McNulty central stage as the "hero" of the show always being wronged by the bosses but look at what happens in the last season...
Omar was a brillant character, a real bad ass but at the same time he never got any civilians

Also loved the way they would bring characters in out of the blue and keep them in it and just as quick take them out again...  Bodie, Slim Charles, Cheese, prop Joe, Levy, Carv and Herc - they all went out of it for a while but still played serious roles in it

Slim Charles is one of my favourites, even though he's a main player in the drugs world and should be a villain he ends up being one of only two or three completely honourable characters in the whole show.

"That was for Joe." Legend.
Post by: gallsman on September 11, 2009, 01:16:03 PM
"That was fo' Joe' yo"

Everybody I know loves Slim Charles. Not sure why, but he just seems so cool and likeable. Whether he's better than Omar though...
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2009, 01:32:02 PM
The Barksdale crew became the ODCs 
Everybody loves the ODC when you got Stanfield's breed on the other side
Post by: AFS on September 11, 2009, 01:34:40 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 11, 2009, 01:16:03 PM
"That was fo' Joe' yo"

Everybody I know loves Slim Charles. Not sure why, but he just seems so cool and likeable. Whether he's better than Omar though...

Nah, no one tops Omar. In any TV show. Ever.

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_isWrqvrtoeY/R8Cs0lv_RcI/AAAAAAAABPo/KhWDJnEP7gc/s400/OMAR.jpg)
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 11, 2009, 01:40:25 PM
Why does everyone like Omar?  He got blown away by a kid FFS. I was delighted to see him go. I liked the kid who shot Snoop and Bubbles.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 11, 2009, 01:49:53 PM
I loved Omar, a modern day Robin Hood with a strick moral code, don't think he ever used swear words either....

"Omar is Coming!, Omar is Coming!, Omar is Coming!"
Post by: nifan on September 11, 2009, 01:52:10 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on September 11, 2009, 01:40:25 PM
Why does everyone like Omar?  He got blown away by a kid FFS. I was delighted to see him go. I liked the kid who shot Snoop and Bubbles.

Michael is the new omar - doing the stick up at the end, even giving the smirk like omar.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 11, 2009, 01:54:51 PM
Prop Joe and Bunk were my two favourite characters.  Cringe, I liked Rawls too, what an asshole!!
Post by: gallsman on September 11, 2009, 02:12:05 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 11, 2009, 01:54:51 PM
Prop Joe and Bunk were my two favourite characters.  Cringe, I liked Rawls too, what an asshole!!

Rawls randomly in the gay bar in Series 3 was class. Like you have one up on him and he doesn't know it yet or something!
Post by: Rma13 on September 11, 2009, 08:04:57 PM
Absolutely loved this show & can't believe it's actually over!!  I'm probably one of the few posters here without Sky+ so I was watching it the old fashioned way, I had to video it every night & then catch up the next day before the next episode was aired.  Classic show with classic characters, what on earth do I replace it with!! 
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2009, 08:11:03 PM
Homicide - life on the streets   series 1
is as close as you can get.
Post by: Rma13 on September 11, 2009, 09:45:59 PM
Ta for that Main Street I may indeed have to check that out.
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 12, 2009, 02:00:31 AM
Quote from: Rma13 on September 11, 2009, 08:04:57 PM
Absolutely loved this show & can't believe it's actually over!!  I'm probably one of the few posters here without Sky+ so I was watching it the old fashioned way, I had to video it every night & then catch up the next day before the next episode was aired.  Classic show with classic characters, what on earth do I replace it with!!

I have Sky+ but watched it every night at its scheduled time except for last night when I was glad to be able to record it. I am going to get the box set now to watch the first 2 series and the first half of season 3.
Post by: Rma13 on September 12, 2009, 01:51:15 PM
Was just thinking after watching the last episode, it's a long time since Avon & Stringer ruled the corners of Baltimore, ah the good old days! ;)
Post by: Mack the finger on September 12, 2009, 03:03:09 PM
Check out homicide - a year on the killing streets.

(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51zMgV1IYEL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU02_.jpg)

And the corner - a year in the life of an inner city neighbourhood

(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51WlYB48GBL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU02_AA115_.jpg)

Both doorstep sized books but will help with wire related withdrawal symptoms.
You can see where inspiration for a lot of the characters came from.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2009, 01:35:50 AM
Just finished up watching the last 3 episodes of Season 5 which I had brewing on Sky+ this week. What a show. I can't think of a duff episode in the whole series. Every episode had a purpose in the grand scheme and almost every character was a piece in the jigsaw. Brilliant.

I haven't been on this thread in months and like most others I was so paranoid about spoilers. Back to the West Wing boxset!
Post by: Minder on September 13, 2009, 01:43:54 AM
Like Tony Baloney I just finished up tonight, it made the Sopranos look like Coronation Street

Never seen TV like it
Post by: Minder on September 13, 2009, 12:20:23 PM
Hasn't been mentioned here but when the detective Cole "died" he really did die, died of heart attack I think. He was an exec. producer, Robert Colesberry. Wonder where they got the name Cole from......

As for Rawls in the queer bar did anyone else notice grafitti in the bogs in the police station "Rawls sucks dick" in one of the scenes in S5?

Also, did Namonds mother win mother of the year? What an oul cvnt.......
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2009, 01:09:31 PM
I always thought Rawls sexual preference would have arisen in a later storyline.
Post by: Main Street on September 13, 2009, 02:10:41 PM
I just took the scene - Rawls in the background at a Gay bar- at face value, a bit of Wire humour.
Post by: Schkite on September 13, 2009, 05:47:22 PM
Think Rawls sexuality was just a running joke through the whole series, not something that would have come up in any storyline. Very interesting when watching through a second time, the wee things you pick up. There's Rawls in the bar obviously and the graffiti in the toilet, Landsman has a wee laugh at that! Some of the things he says aswell, like he's overcompensating, "we'd all like to go home and get our dick sucked", and when he's giving out to McNulty, especially at the very start, there's the odd homophobic remark, nothing you'd notice first time round interesting on a second view with the extra knowledge about Rawls.
Post by: Rma13 on September 13, 2009, 08:37:24 PM
Only back on this thread now, thanks Mack the finger for the additional advice re. my "withdrawal symptoms", I'm coping at the minute but only just!
Post by: Minder on September 14, 2009, 08:33:48 PM
Read today that Donnie, the big fella that teamed up with Omar and got killed in Monks condo was a stick up man for years and Omars character is based loosely on him.

(http://www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00192/IN10258100DONNIE-AN_192102t.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2009, 08:38:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 14, 2009, 08:33:48 PM
Read today that Donnie, the big fella that teamed up with Omar and got killed in Monks condo was a stick up man for years and Omars character is based loosely on him.

(http://www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00192/IN10258100DONNIE-AN_192102t.jpg)
The cast is littered with ex-cons and po-lice with no previous acting experience. Deacon Williams was a real life 80s drug lord, Snoop did a stretch for murder, Dipasquale was a Baltimore Police Commander etc etc.
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 14, 2009, 09:39:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2009, 08:38:21 PM
The cast is littered with ex-cons and po-lice with no previous acting experience. Deacon Williams was a real life 80s drug lord, Snoop did a stretch for murder, Dipasquale was a Baltimore Police Commander etc etc.

Felicia "Snoop" Pearson was born in prison, both her parents were serving time for drug offences. She served 8 years for her part in a murder. Unsurprisingly she is a lesbian.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2009, 09:50:08 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on September 14, 2009, 09:39:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2009, 08:38:21 PM

Felicia "Snoop" Pearson was born in prison, both her parents were serving time for drug offences. She served 8 years for her part in a murder. Unsurprisingly she is a lesbian.
It would be fair to say she didn't get the best start in life then!
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 14, 2009, 09:58:07 PM
No, but fair play to her, she has turned her life around.
From her Wiki entry, Pearson runs a youth drama organization Moving Mountains with her former Wire co-star Jamie Hector. She says the aim of Moving Mountains is to "stop youth violence, teach performing arts and help kids who really want to get off the streets and stay out of trouble". Pearson also volunteers as a prison visitor [4] and works on anti-violence and literary campaigns for youths as well as supporting The Stay Strong Foundation.[
Post by: Cúig huaire on September 15, 2009, 12:32:53 AM
The Wire is currently on channel 165. I dont know which series it is, but it is one of the early ones that I havent seen yet.
Post by: Minder on September 19, 2009, 10:11:30 PM
Cheese was Randys oul fella........Never picked up on them both having the same surname - Wagstaff............

(http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb52/The_Playlist/movies/cheese-randy-wagstaff.jpg)
Post by: deiseach on September 20, 2009, 12:50:20 AM
Bloody hell, just discovered Aidan Gillen is one of us! I'm not sure what an upwardly mobile Baltimore guinea talks like but I'd never have guessed it wasn't like Tommy Carcetti
Post by: Rma13 on October 02, 2009, 10:24:41 PM
I see there's a new mini series starting on Channel 4 on Wednesday night "Generation Kill" from the creators of "The Wire", has anyone already seen this?  I'm going to check it out to see if it can in any way live up to the classic that is "The Wire"
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2009, 10:35:16 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on October 02, 2009, 10:24:41 PM
I see there's a new mini series starting on Channel 4 on Wednesday night "Generation Kill" from the creators of "The Wire", has anyone already seen this?  I'm going to check it out to see if it can in any way live up to the classic that is "The Wire"

Ziggy from series 2 of Wire is in it, supposed to be good but unfair to judge it against the Wire.
Post by: Rma13 on October 02, 2009, 10:55:02 PM
Yep I'd seen that Ziggy is in it.  Not judging it against "The Wire" will just be interested to see how it compares, something similar to purposely hunting out books by an author I've read & liked.
Post by: Jimmy Two Times on October 03, 2009, 06:55:34 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 20, 2009, 12:50:20 AM
Bloody hell, just discovered Aidan Gillen is one of us! I'm not sure what an upwardly mobile Baltimore guinea talks like but I'd never have guessed it wasn't like Tommy Carcetti

Indeed, young Tommy went from freeing Ireland of the Brits to freeing Baltimore of crime...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiVsUS8rEgI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiVsUS8rEgI)
Post by: bennydorano on October 03, 2009, 07:12:36 PM
Aidan Gillen's been around for quite a while, he was the main man in Queer as folk on UK tv  a few years back.
Post by: Schkite on October 03, 2009, 07:40:21 PM
Generation Kill is another great show, unfair to compare to the Wire as it's only a 7 episodes long mini-series, but it's top class all the same. By all accounts it's one of the most realistic represtations of war that has been on TV or film, based on the book from a reporter which chronicled his experiences following the marines in Iraq. The actor that played Ziggy has a fairly prominent role, and I think I recognised another face or two in the supporting cast that would have been in the Wire in some small role.
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on October 03, 2009, 07:50:46 PM
Generation Kill is very good, no point going into it expecting something Wire-esque because theyre completely different

If you want something half similar to the wire from the same writers then get the corner, 6/7 part miniseries with a few of the same actors from the wire and set in baltimore too. tells the stories of several dope fiends
Post by: Main Street on October 03, 2009, 08:03:32 PM
Spiral II (second series)  french tv  cop drama  has been on BBC4  on odd days & late in the evening/night.

Well worth a watch. I just joined in on nr 3 last night. Nr 4 is on Sunday night.

Some of you might get it the replays on the BBC iplayer
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2009, 12:16:42 AM
Walon.......Didnt know this was his tune

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7-PM_4aeE4
Post by: Class of 99 on October 04, 2009, 08:17:46 AM
I recently had series one box set forced upon me with the promise that this was the best TV show of all time.
I have now watched the first 6 episodes and am still waiting for the magic to begin.
It is watchable, but nothing more I am going to stick with it and hope to be proved wrong but to put this show on the same level as The Sopprano's to me is crazy
Post by: AFS on October 04, 2009, 09:04:02 AM
Quote from: Class of 99 on October 04, 2009, 08:17:46 AM
I recently had series one box set forced upon me with the promise that this was the best TV show of all time.
I have now watched the first 6 episodes and am still waiting for the magic to begin.
It is watchable, but nothing more I am going to stick with it and hope to be proved wrong but to put this show on the same level as The Sopprano's to me is crazy

Blasphemy!
Post by: mc_grens on October 04, 2009, 10:46:01 AM
Keep watching fella, keep watching.

By the way, I'm on my phone so I can't (be arsed) to post photos, but does anybody else think that Omar Little and Randy Moss of the New England Patriots were separated at birth?
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2009, 10:51:54 AM
I am also on my phone Mc Grens but here goes........

(http://www.hbo.com/thewire/img/castcrew/actor_season04/michaelkwilliams.jpg)

(http://patsblog.projo.com/PATRIOTS_02_BB.JPG)
Post by: AFS on October 04, 2009, 11:01:57 AM
Looks more like Cutty to me.
Post by: mc_grens on October 04, 2009, 11:12:14 AM
Maybe you're right. You can see it Better when he's beardless. Also when he's playing he has that same hang-dog expression that Omar has above.
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2009, 11:14:33 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on October 04, 2009, 11:12:14 AM
Maybe you're right. You can see it Better when he's beardless. Also when he's playing he has that same hang-dog expression that Omar has above.

Aye it's probably not the best photo but all the rest he had a helmet on!
Post by: mc_grens on October 04, 2009, 12:20:04 PM
Of course. I can hardly complain about that Minder, bearing in mind I didn't bother posting any!
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2009, 09:43:27 PM
Transcript from David Simons new book, "The Wire, truth be told"

http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/books/article6872920.ece
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2009, 10:35:01 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 13, 2009, 09:43:27 PM
Transcript from David Simons new book, "The Wire, truth be told"

http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/books/article6872920.ece
Know what to buy you for Xmas! Five series box set is onsale for less than 70 quid now.
Post by: BennyHarp on October 13, 2009, 11:01:41 PM
Quote from: Class of 99 on October 04, 2009, 08:17:46 AM

This is some show alright - just finshing watching series 3, with Series 4 bought on DVD and series 5 taped from BBC2. Class of 99, it is a bit of slow burner at the very start- but definately well worth sticking with!
Post by: Cúig huaire on October 27, 2009, 10:12:32 PM
Got the box set last week and managed to watch the first few episodes over the last couple of days. Series 1 is excellent so far, getting to see some of the characters that I heard about on this thread. Its weird having watched series 4 and 5, knowing what happens to some of the characters, but it is definitely one of my favourite shows ever (if not the favourite).
Post by: BennyHarp on November 03, 2009, 07:56:24 PM
Just completed watching all 5 series of the show - great stuff!

Did anyone else notice Rawls in the gay bar in series 3 when some people where looking for Omar? I've been waiting to see if this came back on him but was never mentioned or was i seeing things?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 03, 2009, 08:54:46 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 03, 2009, 07:56:24 PM

Did anyone else notice Rawls in the gay bar in series 3 when some people where looking for Omar? I've been waiting to see if this came back on him but was never mentioned or was i seeing things?
Aye I posted something about this a while back as I also thought it was a hook for a later story but it never materialised. Just a wee glimpse into his life. I think at one point in a later series he mentions something about taking it in the ass or something similar.
Post by: Cúig huaire on November 03, 2009, 09:17:21 PM
Is it just me or is series 2 a bit of a let down after series 1? The first seres was excellent, some of the best TV I have ever watched.
Post by: thewobbler on November 03, 2009, 09:20:29 PM
I liked 2. It took a while to get used to the rather serious change of direction, and Ziggy is a character you could never warm to, but the storyline is, if anything, a bit tighter than series 1.
Post by: Cúig huaire on November 03, 2009, 09:22:10 PM
Ive only watched 2 episodes and I want Ziggy dead.

No not you ziggy.
Post by: Minder on November 03, 2009, 09:48:55 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on November 03, 2009, 09:22:10 PM
Ive only watched 2 episodes and I want Ziggy dead.

No not you ziggy.

Aye he was an annoying p***k, series two is totally different, it is set in the winter and well there are a lot more white faces. It does tie things together later on towards the end of the show, where the drugs come from etc.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on November 03, 2009, 10:03:16 PM
They are all good. It's good the way each series focues on something different but it all ties in with the whole story. Best drama series ever. The part with Ziggy and the duck is funny.
Post by: AFS on November 03, 2009, 10:25:09 PM
I really liked season two, probably my second favourite one after season four with the kids.
Post by: Santino on November 03, 2009, 10:49:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 03, 2009, 10:25:09 PM
I really liked season two, probably my second favourite one after season four with the kids.

I'll second that!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 03, 2009, 11:06:56 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on November 03, 2009, 09:17:21 PM
Is it just me or is series 2 a bit of a let down after series 1? The first seres was excellent, some of the best TV I have ever watched.
thought it was the weakest series aswell, still good though!
thought 4 was the best
Post by: Main Street on November 04, 2009, 12:14:43 AM
I liked season 2.  Imo, Sobotka was the Wire's most powerful character outside the central wire/drugs theme.

I felt for him, dedicated, brave, fearless no matter the odds and dumb, just like my Dalmation dog.
Post by: gallsman on November 04, 2009, 01:35:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 03, 2009, 08:54:46 PM

Aye I posted something about this a while back as I also thought it was a hook for a later story but it never materialised. Just a wee glimpse into his life. I think at one point in a later series he mentions something about taking it in the ass or something similar.

Someone is taking a slash in the homicide department jacks (Landsman I think) and there's graffiti on th wall saying "Rawls sucks c**k."
Post by: BennyHarp on November 04, 2009, 01:41:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 04, 2009, 01:35:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 03, 2009, 08:54:46 PM

Someone is taking a slash in the homicide department jacks (Landsman I think) and there's graffiti on th wall saying "Rawls sucks c**k."

Aye right enough - and Landsman laughs to himself as if he knows something!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 18, 2009, 10:33:27 AM
finally finished watching the 5th series last night.
what a show, without a doubt some of the best television ever made.actually think the 5th series might be the best of the lot.
great way to finish.
could actually see myself watching the whole 5 series again (i know sad isnt it :-\ )
Post by: nifan on November 18, 2009, 10:46:12 AM
Just found out there was a wire quiz int he errigle last night :(

Would have been good craic but im sure there would have been more than a few obsesives who would run away with it.
Post by: Class of 99 on November 18, 2009, 05:48:47 PM
Was advised about a month ago to stick with it and am glad I did excellent show. I'm half way through series 4, but think series 2 so far has been the best. Not feeling any love for the Omar character yet though much to many peoples surprise nor did I like Stringer. Avon was the man knew where he came from and didn't get ahead of himself, still ended up in jail though. Bubbles is a good character and hoping to see some more of brother mizon (pardon spelling) great show though so far
Post by: Cúig huaire on November 18, 2009, 08:41:00 PM
Finished season 3 late last night. Excellent stuff. The Wire just gets better and better. I started watching the wire on BBC2 after reading this thread, sadly I missed the first two series and most of the third. Its all makes sense now, getting into something half way through you never really get to know the characters, so I am glad I was able to see it from the start.
I didn't like Omar, but then again I didn't know him. His performance in the courtroom in series 2 was fantastic. He made the lawyer look like a fool and managed to win over both the judge and the jury. He plays by his own rules, I just wish I didn't know what happens to him now.
I was delighted to see Stringer get his comeuppance, I was gutted when he had D. Barksdale killed. D was a great character with a heart of gold.
I really enjoyed Series 4 first time round, I am sure I`ll enjoy it as much this time. Normally when I have seen something before I wouldn't bother to watch it again, but with The Wire you seem to notice so much more the second time. This has to be the best TV ever.

Strange thing is, while watching series 1, I realised I had seen a bit of one of the episodes. I had watched about 15 minutes of the episode where D. Barksdale gets arrested and decided it wasn't for me. How wrong was I?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYj7q_by_2E&feature=related
Post by: AFS on November 18, 2009, 08:49:51 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on November 18, 2009, 08:41:00 PM
Strange thing is, while watching series 1, I realised I had seen a bit of one of the episodes. I had watched about 15 minutes of the episode where D. Barksdale gets arrested and decided it wasn't for me. How wrong was I?

Same thing happened me. Watching it on DVD I noticed that I'd seen a few random scenes on TG4 before, but had never settled to watch a whole episode because I didn't have a notion what was going on.
Post by: Cúig huaire on November 19, 2009, 02:55:31 AM
Does anyone know what the tune is the Omar is always whistling?
Post by: AFS on November 19, 2009, 04:31:26 AM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on November 19, 2009, 02:55:31 AM
Does anyone know what the tune is the Omar is always whistling?

Think its a children's rhyme, dunno what though.

Edit: Yeah its a couple of different rhymes
On the HBO original television series The Wire, the Robin Hood-like thief Omar Little, who routinely robs Baltimore drug dealers at gunpoint, fearlessly whistles 'The Farmer in the Dell' / 'A-Hunting We Will Go' as he approaches, often punctuated with 'The cheese stands alone'.
Post by: BerfArmagh on January 04, 2010, 04:02:04 PM
Jesus lads, the missus got me the Box set for christmas. I have watched the first 8 episodes & am totally addicted to it already
Post by: new devil on January 04, 2010, 04:23:30 PM
Sister got it for me too..unreal show on the 4th season already

Omar is a cool motherfucker
Post by: gallsman on January 31, 2010, 02:59:37 PM
Watched all over again recently. Forgot just how scary a f**ker Chris Partlow was- "Forget about your why, why ain't in your repertoire no more n....."

New favourite characters include Prop Joe, Cutty and Shamrock.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 21, 2010, 11:15:43 AM
Watched the last episode of season one last night. Brilliant. It takes a while to get into it and get to know who is who, but it is without doubt the best TV I have ever watched. Great characters, great story and it all seems very very real.
Post by: JimStynes on February 21, 2010, 12:15:25 PM
Ive nearly finished season 1, its a great show.  How the f**k can there still be so much poverty in a country like america.

Prison Break, Lost, etc are crap compared to this. HBO makes som unreal tv programmes
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 21, 2010, 01:31:41 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 21, 2010, 12:15:25 PM
Prison Break, Lost, etc are crap compared to this. HBO makes som unreal tv programmes

Prison break lost the plot after the first series, never got into Lost. The Wire is in a different league though.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 21, 2010, 01:44:47 PM
Anyone ever watched Homicide: Life on the Street?

QuoteThe series was based on David Simon's nonfiction book Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets, and many characters and stories used throughout the show's seven seasons were based on individuals and events depicted in the book (Simon would also use them in his own series for HBO, The Wire).

Its perhaps a methadone treatment when you've consumed all the wire seasons.

I've also download The Corner, another HBO show, but haven't had to chance to sit down and watch it.

QuoteThe Corner is an American television miniseries based on the book The Corner: A Year in the Life of an Inner-City Neighborhood by David Simon and Ed Burns and adapted for television by Simon and David Mills. It premiered on premium cable network HBO in the United States on 16 April, 2000 and ended its original 6 part run on 21 May, 2000.

The Corner chronicles the life of a family living in poverty amid the open-air drug markets of West Baltimore. "The corner" is at the junction of West Fayette Street and North Monroe Street.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 16, 2010, 08:51:10 PM
Stringer Bell is on the Jonathan Ross Show tonight.
Post by: Minder on April 16, 2010, 09:24:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 16, 2010, 08:51:10 PM
Stringer Bell is on the Jonathan Ross Show tonight.

How? He was shot by Omar and Brother Mouzone.
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2010, 09:26:42 PM
Got "And all the pieces matter: five years of music from the wire" recently. Quality tunes on it.
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2010, 09:28:23 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 21, 2010, 01:44:47 PM
Anyone ever watched Homicide: Life on the Street?

QuoteThe series was based on David Simon's nonfiction book Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets, and many characters and stories used throughout the show's seven seasons were based on individuals and events depicted in the book (Simon would also use them in his own series for HBO, The Wire).

Its perhaps a methadone treatment when you've consumed all the wire seasons.

I use to think Homicide was a 'weaner off'  tv drama after the Wire,  good but not as good.
Now I think over the whole series there are enough sound episodes in a 20+ episode series to regard it as good as the Wire. Some of the episodes even surpassing the Wire, containing the best of tv drama.
Post by: Main Street on May 18, 2010, 12:17:24 AM
Some Wire light relief,

from Football Spotter

FOOTBALLERS IN THE WIRE

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/anderson-snoop.jpg)
RUTHLESS HITMAN (HITGIRL?) ANDERSON

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Florent_Malouda_ellis_carver.jpg)
SERGEANT MALOUDA

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/rafa-levy.jpg)
SLIMY LAWYER RAFA LEVY

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Ashley-Young-Marlo-Stanfield.jpg)
MARLO STANFIED NOW BREAKING INTO THE ENGLAND TEAM

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/DwightYorke-omarLittle.jpg)
"IT'S ALL IN THE GAME YO, ALL IN THE GAME"

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/kolo-stringer.jpg)
STRINGER BELL WITH A HAT

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Ray-Wilkins-Frank-Sabotka.jpg)
UNION SECRETARY RAY WILKINS

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Danny-Gabbidon-Avon-Barksdale.jpg)
"YOU ONLY DO TWO DAYS AT WEST HAM..."

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/harewood-colvin.jpg)
CAREER COP BUNNY HAREWOOD

(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/bubbles.jpg)
JERMAINE PENNANT

Post by: stephenite on May 18, 2010, 12:25:43 AM
Just finished watching the entire 5 season last night - wow.
Post by: Celt_Man on May 18, 2010, 12:36:49 AM
Fair play Main Street!! Those look alikes are hilarious!!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on May 18, 2010, 10:02:21 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 18, 2010, 12:25:43 AM

Still brilliant but the worst of the 5 IMO.
Post by: stephenite on May 19, 2010, 05:54:51 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on May 18, 2010, 10:02:21 AM

Sorry - badly put, just finished watching the entire show (ie) all 5 seasons, one after the other
Post by: gallsman on May 19, 2010, 08:55:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 19, 2010, 05:54:51 AM

Sorry - badly put, just finished watching the entire show (ie) all 5 seasons, one after the other

How's the withdrawal? You'll more than likely go through random episodes watching random clips for a few weeks.
Post by: Homer on May 19, 2010, 09:41:31 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 19, 2010, 08:55:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 19, 2010, 05:54:51 AM

How's the withdrawal? You'll more than likely go through random episodes watching random clips for a few weeks.

That's pretty much how it goes. Here's a few to get you started Stephenite..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Sgj78QG9Bg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFh2f7rNAEI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQbsnSVM1zM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EeFa8QOq_Y

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rN7pkFNEg5c

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WP-lrftLQaQ

Contains spoilers so if you haven't watched the show, don't watch, and watch the show already
Post by: Billys Boots on May 21, 2010, 02:48:30 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on May 18, 2010, 12:36:49 AM
Fair play Main Street!! Those look alikes are hilarious!!

Agreed.  Excellent Main St.
Post by: passedit on May 21, 2010, 03:41:56 PM
(http://www.footballspotter.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Danny-Gabbidon-Avon-Barksdale.jpg)
"YOU ONLY DO TWO DAYS AT WEST HAM..."

Works on so many levels.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 24, 2010, 12:21:29 AM
Finished the five series at the weekend. Was getting withdrawal sympthoms even before I finished. They're worse now. Just after reading seventeen pages of the thread here for my fix. Gonna bookmark the Guardian Wire page. But, I think, come Tuesday at the latest, I will have to watch it from the beginning again. Unbelievable show. So much depth to so many characters. A triumph. Best TV show I've ever witnessed. Going cold turkey is not an option though.
Post by: westmayo on May 24, 2010, 12:27:08 AM
You should watch "The Corner" sniper from the same people behind the wire was a mini series that was on before it, very good to. David Simon's new show "Treme" started on TV about two months ago in the states based on the lives of people in New Orleans three months after hurricane Kathrina, enjoying the show so far and few old heads from The Wire in it too.
Post by: BerfArmagh on May 24, 2010, 01:16:01 PM
watch the last episode last night, brilliant ending, though like many times in the wire the final scene with Mc Nulty had me asking questions. Brilliant brilliant show....................
Post by: thewobbler on May 24, 2010, 01:25:09 PM
Personally I found the Corner tough work.

David Simon also made Generation Kill, a 7-parter about the war on Iraq. Takes a couple of episodes to get a grip of the military lingo, but its a brilliant series. Ziggy from Series 2 has a major role in it, but don't let that put you off, his character here is much more likeable.

I very much doubt though that anything will ever top the Wire, especially series four - which is as near to flawless as you can make TV. Made even more amazing by virtue of the two most interesting characters of the first three series, Bell and Barksdale, having departed, yet you never even notice.

Post by: Celt_Man on May 24, 2010, 01:30:24 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 24, 2010, 01:25:09 PM
Personally I found the Corner tough work.

David Simon also made Generation Kill, a 7-parter about the war on Iraq. Takes a couple of episodes to get a grip of the military lingo, but its a brilliant series. Ziggy from Series 2 has a major role in it, but don't let that put you off, his character here is much more likeable.

I very much doubt though that anything will ever top the Wire, especially series four - which is as near to flawless as you can make TV. Made even more amazing by virtue of the two most interesting characters of the first three series, Bell and Barksdale, having departed, yet you never even notice.

I actually liked Ziggy in series 2 and how he ended up was class - I honestly couldn't believe it thought it was gonna be a dream or something in the episode.

I'm gonna have to get on Generation Kill and that Homicide: Life on the Street looks good, might sniff around for a few box sets
Post by: Down South on May 30, 2010, 05:05:41 PM
Stringer Bell (Idris Elba) currently starring in "Luther" on BBC1. Its not exactly The Wire and Stringer is now on the wrong side of the law, but it is getting slightly better as the series progresses. Ruth Wilson (Alice) is a bonus though.
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/04/07/article-1264274-08D2CD0C000005DC-312_468x428.jpg)
Post by: INDIANA on May 30, 2010, 08:18:40 PM
Finished watching it last week. Brilliant TV. Series 4 is just genius. Didn't like series 2. Felt the whole union thing detracted from the main story. I thought Michael in Series 4 was the best character. Going to be a great actor that kid. Snoop from series 4/5 was as near to completely deranged as you can get. Rarely have I seen such a scary character depicted on TV.
Post by: Down South on May 30, 2010, 10:08:43 PM
Snoop is actually a real character and not an actor.
Post by: Main Street on May 30, 2010, 11:20:26 PM
I thought that pair, Snoop and her pal, were just effective robots, not a patch on the Greek and his sidekick, Vondas. The Greek would kill your children first, ask you the question to get the info, then kill you with his bare hands.

But there was only one character that could empty a packed street in 5 seconds, only one who had the dealers surrendering their bags of dope if they heard him say boo, only one who stood up to them all, with both barrels blazing.
Post by: Down South on May 30, 2010, 11:23:13 PM
And he got killed by a kid.
Who was the stand out character over the 5 series? For me it was McNulty, head and shoulders above them all, but everyone seems to go with Omar.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 30, 2010, 11:36:20 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 30, 2010, 11:23:13 PM
And he got killed by a kid.
Who was the stand out character over the 5 series? For me it was McNulty, head and shoulders above them all, but everyone seems to go with Omar.

I'd go with Omar too. Jimmy lacked depth after the third series. Actually he was a character who I felt sorry for. Omar was just so entertaining and, while it was a pity, it was good to see him shot by a kid - you can't get away with what he did indefinitely. Thought the scene in the courtroom with Omar and Levy was one of the best moments of the lot.
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 12:03:52 AM
You are both missing that part of the the plot where Omar got killed by a kid.
It is a story and in good stories you have symbolism. The fact that it was a kid was just symbolic.

Post by: INDIANA on May 31, 2010, 12:20:58 AM
Thought his demise was  a pretty weak ending to be honest. Series lost its way in the 5th series a bit. Introduced too many characters and the whole fake crime thing nearly got out of hand for the writers to the extent it nearly became make believe.
Still enjoyed it but nothing could ever top the 4th. the 4 young actors in the 4th series were excellent in my view. The whole plot was genius in general and really captured the essence of the whole problem.
Omar and Mc Nulty were the best characters for me overall. Not too sure what the Greeks offered. Seemed surplus to requirements to me.
Post by: BerfArmagh on May 31, 2010, 11:34:59 AM
Best character of the whole series was Bunk - The time he got drunk in a womens house and burn all his clothers in the bath, while he sat on the bog smoking a cigar was classic
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 11:51:23 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 31, 2010, 12:20:58 AM
Not too sure what the Greeks offered. Seemed surplus to requirements to me.
Hardly surplus, they were at the top of the tree. Essential to the story.

The whole drama was a Greek tragedy.
Post by: Down South on May 31, 2010, 12:08:13 PM
Anyone want to have a stab at their top 3 characters?

Mine are McNulty, Bubbles and Omar.
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 12:15:18 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 30, 2010, 10:08:43 PM

A slight exaggeration.
Post by: Down South on May 31, 2010, 12:16:52 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 12:15:18 PM

A slight exaggeration.

Felicia Snoop Pearson?
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 12:21:21 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 31, 2010, 12:16:52 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 12:15:18 PM

A slight exaggeration.

Felicia Snoop Pearson?

She did jail time for one second degree murder. I never once read that she was a high level enforcer who committed multiple murders on behalf of a drug lord, did you?
Post by: Down South on May 31, 2010, 12:24:17 PM
I thought she was more of a real character, maybe I am wrong. As a convited murderer she is certaiinly not your average actor.
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 12:28:21 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 31, 2010, 12:24:17 PM
I thought she was more of a real character, maybe I am wrong. As a convited murderer she is certaiinly not your average actor.

Completely different to saying she is a real character. Her character on the show shares her name is all. She was invited to the set by Michael Williams (Omar) and offered a role. Several characters are played by people with dodgy pasts. The Deacon was once Baltimore's biggest drug lord, and I think the bald, white cop (Norris??) has a story about him too.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 31, 2010, 01:00:16 PM
I think Bunk is based on an actual person too.
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 01:24:01 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 31, 2010, 01:00:16 PM

There's a lot of characters based on real individuals, from both David Simon's and Burns' experiences of Baltimore, but the characters discussed above are portrayed by people who were real-life criminals as opposed to actors.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 31, 2010, 01:26:08 PM
It's ok gallsman, I did get it.  But thanks anyway.  :P
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 01:37:10 PM
As characters go in the Wire, in the series about the dockworkers, Frank Sobotka was the ultimate tragic character. A union man to the bone with a 100 or so members and a doomed desperate plan for survival in the face of powerful vested interests.
Omar had a similar intensity.
Pres was not a powerful character in the drama, but a very interesting, intelligent and good natured character.
The guy pushing the trolly around the projects had a "Rashers" appeal :)

Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 01:43:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 01:37:10 PM
As characters go in the Wire, in the series about the dockworkers, Frank Sobotka was the ultimate tragic character. A union man to the bone with a 100 or so members and a doomed desperate plan for survival in the face of powerful vested interests.
Pres was not a powerful character in the drama, but a very interesting, intelligent and good natured character.

I thought season two was as excellent as the rest, with Sobotka as compelling as any of the other major characters on the show.
Post by: nifan on May 31, 2010, 06:06:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 01:24:01 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 31, 2010, 01:00:16 PM

There's a lot of characters based on real individuals, from both David Simon's and Burns' experiences of Baltimore, but the characters discussed above are portrayed by people who were real-life criminals as opposed to actors.

Aye.
Omar is partially based on a notorious stick up man - who actually played the part of the guy who helps Omar try to hunt down Butchies killers.

As for picking favourites - absolute nightmare.

Omar and Bunk obviously spring to mind.
Carver was very good though - started off a f**k up like Herc but progressed so much.
D'Angelo was also a very good character.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 31, 2010, 09:08:19 PM
Downloading Season 1 as we speak...
Is it dangerous to start watching this? as in will it take over my life and I will just have to keep watching this until I have seen them all?
Post by: Minder on May 31, 2010, 09:10:47 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 31, 2010, 09:08:19 PM
Is it dangerous to start watching this? as in will it take over my life and I will just have to keep watching this until I have seen them all?

They are best watched half a dozen episodes at a time.
Post by: thewobbler on May 31, 2010, 09:15:34 PM
Clay Davis steals every scene he is in, and Vandas was perfectly played. An underrated character in my opinon is Gus the editor, who continues the theme that doing things right gets you nowhere.
Post by: Minder on May 31, 2010, 09:23:58 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 31, 2010, 09:15:34 PM
Clay Davis steals every scene he is in, and Vandas was perfectly played. An underrated character in my opinon is Gus the editor, who continues the theme that doing things right gets you nowhere.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ktvE2vfxSQ&feature=youtube_gdata
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 31, 2010, 09:25:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 31, 2010, 09:10:47 PM

Should I take the week off work,put the chinese/dominos/local chippy on speed dial,tell the woman to feck off to her parents house for the week and tell the girlfriend I won't be making my weekly visit to her etc etc
Post by: Minder on May 31, 2010, 09:26:28 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 31, 2010, 09:25:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 31, 2010, 09:10:47 PM

Should I take the week off work,put the chinese/dominos/local chippy on speed dial,tell the woman to feck off to her parents house for the week and tell the girlfriend I won't be making my weekly visit to her etc etc

All of the above.
Post by: nifan on May 31, 2010, 09:28:12 PM
Laoislad get off this thread no and do not return until youve finished it all.
You dont want it ruined!
Post by: Down South on May 31, 2010, 09:29:40 PM
He should have watched The Corner first, though watching it after The Wire lets you see were a lot of the characters came from.
Post by: INDIANA on May 31, 2010, 09:32:04 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 01:37:10 PM

I disagree found that end of things rather boring if I'm honest. Colbridge in series 3 was genius. The idea, the concept of legalising drugs was brilliantly concocted and acted. Still series 4 stole the show. The mother of the kid with the ponytail depicted the harshness of the hood by disowning her son because he wasn't a thug. Michael getting dragged in with Marlo even though he didn't really want to.
Post by: Down South on May 31, 2010, 09:37:17 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 31, 2010, 09:32:04 PM
The mother of the kid with the ponytail depicted the harshness of the hood by disowning her son because he wasn't a thug. Michael getting dragged in with Marlo even though he didn't really want to.

Namond Brice, a brilliant character, wasnt he Weebeys son? The mother was a cow.
Post by: Celt_Man on May 31, 2010, 09:47:30 PM
What a scene.... Omar and Brother Mouzone cross paths again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20G17K_0ghU&feature=related
Post by: Newbridge Exile on May 31, 2010, 10:56:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 12:28:21 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 31, 2010, 12:24:17 PM

Completely different to saying she is a real character. Her character on the show shares her name is all. She was invited to the set by Michael Williams (Omar) and offered a role. Several characters are played by people with dodgy pasts. The Deacon was once Baltimore's biggest drug lord, and I think the bald, white cop (Norris??) has a story about him too.
Norris was the police commissioner of Baltimore
Post by: Main Street on June 01, 2010, 01:12:22 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 31, 2010, 01:43:29 PM
I thought season two was as excellent as the rest, with Sobotka as compelling as any of the other major characters on the show.

The significance of S2 appears to pass many by. The Greeks who control everything, getting a virtual free ride from the FBI in exchange for counter terrorism info. How utterly tragic can you get?  You can't win against them. Even if the cops get a whiff of evidence against them, they are untouchable, the flow of drugs is guaranteed. The Wire unit is useless, can never achieve anything more than shift the small players around. That sets up the next 3 series and especially the pet project of decriminalising the drugs.

The slow pace and the sheer grinding tragedy of S2 perfectly explains why this drama never had mass appeal.
There is a bit of a slow burn to it, but the intensity grabs you by ep 5, right through to Frank's inevitable last steps.
A story which could be told in a 1,000 locations, about the decay of traditional honest values, the disdain shown to the men who built /fought wars for their country and throwing a young underclass to the corner.
Frank, 'Í know I was doing wrong but i thought I was wrong for the right reasons'
'we use to build shit in this country, make shit, now it's your hand in somebody else's pocket'.
Frank, a simple man really, was about the only man of genuine unselfish honour, ready to fight back.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 03, 2010, 12:35:48 PM
Entertainment Weekly's Top 100 characters from the last 20 years - Omar made the list!

100. Tim Riggins from Friday Night Lights
99. The Bride from Kill Bill
98. Lisbeth Salander from The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and its sequels
97. Violet Weston from August: Osage County
96. Bernie Mac from The Bernie Mac Show
95. Wilhelmina from Ugly Betty
94. Truman from The Truman Show
93. Game Boys: Nathan Drake from the Uncharted series; Kratos from the God of War series; and Niko Bellic from Grand Theft Auto IV
92. Christopher Boone from The Curious Incident of the Dog in Night-Time
91. Hancock from Hancock
90. Marge Gunderson from Fargo
89. Wikus van de Merwe from District 9
88. Napoleon Dynamite from Napoleon Dynamite
87. Tony Stark from the Iron Man series
86. Karen Walker and Jack McFarland from Will & Grace
85. Daniel Plainview from There Will Be Blood
84. Dr. Gregory House from House, M.D.
83. Jen Yu from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
82. Tracy Flick from Election
81. Amanda Woodward from Melrose Place
80. Gorillaz, the animated rock band
79. Elphaba from Wicked
78. Patty Hewes from Damages
77. Mimi Marquez from Rent
76. Tyler Durden from Fight Club
75. David Brent from The Office (original version)
74. Don Draper from Mad Men
73. Catherine Trammell from Basic Instinct
72. Kara "Starbuck" Thrace from Battlestar Galactica
71. Det. Alonzo Harris from Training Day
70. Mary Katherine Gallagher from Saturday Night Live
69. Miranda Priestly from The Devil Wears Prada
68. Effie White from Dreamgirls
67. Borat from Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan
66. Allie and Noah from The Notebook
65. Lorelai and Rory Gilmore from Gilmore Girls
64. Maximus from Gladiator
63. John Locke from Lost
62. Jimmy Corrigan from Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth
61. Vic Mackey from The Shield
60. Mary Jones from Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Saphhire
59. Master Chief from the Halo series
58. Thelma and Louise from Thelma & Louise
57. Clayton Bigsby from Chappelle's Show
56. Barney Stinson from How I Met Your Mother
55. Tracy Jordan from 30 Rock
54. Juno from Juno
53. Edward Cullen from the Twilight saga
52. Annie Wilkes from Misery
51. Omar Little from The Wire50. Pearl the Landlord from FunnyorDie.com
49. Vivian Ward from Pretty Woman
48. Red from The Shawshank Redemption
47. Corky St. Clair Waiting for Guffman
46. Jerry Maguire from Jerry Maguire
45. Stewie Griffin from Family Guy
44. Jack Bauer from 24
43. Cal Stephanides from Middlesex
42. Sydney Bristow from Alias
41. Harold and Kumar from the Harold & Kumar series
40. Ron Burgundy from Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
39. Gob Bluth from Arrested Development
38. Elmo from Sesame Street
37. Keyser Söze from The Usual Suspects
36. Gollum from The Lord of the Rings
35. Dexter Morgan from Dexter
34. Cher from Clueless
33. Sarah Connor from Terminator 2: Judgment Day
32. Beavis and Butt-Head from Beavis and Butt-Head
31. Forrest Gump from Forrest Gump
30. "Stephen Colbert" from The Colbert Report
29. Vincent Vega and Jules Winnfield from Pulp Fiction
28. Madea from several Tyler Perry films and plays
27. Frasier from Frasier
26. Kavalier and Clay from The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
25. Woody from the Toy Story series
24. Felicity Porter from Felicity
23. Austin Powers from the Austin Powers series
22. Eric Cartman from South Park
21. Roseanne Conner from Roseanne
20. Ally McBeal from Ally McBeal
19. Morpheus from The Matrix series
18. Sue Sylvester from Glee
17. Lara Croft from the Tomb Raider franchise
16. Bridget Jones from the Bridget Jones series
15. Shrek from the Shrek series
14. Jeff "The Dude" Lebowski from The Big Lebowski
13. Jack Sparrow from the Pirates of the Caribbean series
12. Fox Mulder and Dana Scully from The X-Files
11. Cosmo Kramer from Seinfeld
10. SpongeBob SquarePants from SpongeBob SquarePants
9. Carrie Bradshaw from Sex and the City
8. Hannibal Lecter from The Silence of the Lambs and its sequels
7. Edward Scissorhands from Edward Scissorhands
6. Rachel Green from Friends
5. The Joker from The Dark Knight
4. Tony Soprano from The Sopranos
3. Buffy from Buffy the Vampire Slayer
2. Harry Potter from the Harry Potter series
1. Homer Simpson from The Simpsons
Post by: AFS on June 03, 2010, 12:45:07 PM
Saw that list. Rachel Green at number 6 says it all. She was barely the 6th best character in Friends FFS.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 03, 2010, 12:50:20 PM
I'd agree, there are only about 20 characters there with anything to contribute to life on earth.
Post by: thewobbler on June 12, 2010, 10:22:57 PM
Just watching a film called 25th hour on TG4. Up pops clay Davis as a detective, and he even let a couple of short "shiiiiiiiyets" out.
Post by: Minder on November 07, 2010, 10:48:49 AM
Top 100 scenes/quotes from the Wire. Spoilers for those that have been on the moon for the last few years.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Sgj78QG9Bg&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: Main Street on November 07, 2010, 01:31:16 PM
Nothing quite equals the fear generated by the sound of Omar whistling a tune.

Must be time to watch it all again.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 07, 2010, 04:33:18 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 12, 2010, 10:22:57 PM
Just watching a film called 25th hour on TG4. Up pops clay Davis as a detective, and he even let a couple of short "shiiiiiiiyets" out.

Clay Davis should have got his own spin off show!
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 26, 2013, 10:08:32 PM
Episode 1, Season 1 has just started on Sky Atlantic.
Post by: Minder on July 26, 2013, 10:09:23 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on July 26, 2013, 10:08:32 PM

Just stumbled across it, gonna watch it all over again
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2013, 10:10:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 26, 2013, 10:09:23 PM

Is it nightly or weekly? The missus never watched it so might make her watch it.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 26, 2013, 10:15:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2013, 10:10:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 26, 2013, 10:09:23 PM

Is it nightly or weekly? The missus never watched it so might make her watch it.

It is weekly, you could just get her to watch this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gj-oQGXWK4o
Post by: gallsman on August 28, 2015, 11:25:11 AM
A mate watched it all over again over the course of a couple of weeks and has inspired me to do the same. The girlfriend had never seen it, so that'll be my excuse!

Anyone watched recently?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2015, 11:36:00 AM
Started back last month, nearly finished series 3 already. Just as brilliant as ever. All in the game yo, all in the game.
Post by: deiseach on August 28, 2015, 12:20:27 PM
Events in Austria show how The Wire will always be relevant.

Post by: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2015, 12:31:56 PM
That shit is fucked up!

People in Kildare whinging about Syrian refugees moving into the old Hazel Hotel in Monasterevin, I really despair at times. Irish people just don't get how lucky they really are.  :(
Post by: AZOffaly on August 28, 2015, 12:56:26 PM
The Hazel hotel used to be where the old Country and Western nights were wasn't it?  Why is it in this thread though? :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2015, 01:00:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 28, 2015, 12:56:26 PM
The Hazel hotel used to be where the old Country and Western nights were wasn't it?  Why is it in this thread though? :)

Made my Debs there, happy memories :)

Season 2 of the Wire had a Human Trafficking sub-plot.
Post by: Minder on August 28, 2015, 01:04:51 PM

Both types of music ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2015, 01:13:24 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 28, 2015, 01:04:51 PM

Both types of music ?
;D Bob's Country Bunker?
Post by: deiseach on August 28, 2015, 01:35:53 PM
Season 2 is my favourite. It suffers dramatically from a constant need to shoehorn McNulty into the plot - I'm certain him being stuck on a boat at the end of Season 1 was born out of a belief they would not get renewed. But the grand theme, about the decline of organised labo(u)r and the desperate measures taken by one of their number in response to that, with its evil consequences which so horribly foreshadow the events in Austria this week, spoke loudest to me.

Right, my wife has been sniping at me for ages that we don't watch enough television together in those oh-so-precious minutes between putting the little man to bed and heading off ourselves. I know she's willing to watch this. Time to get on my arse and dust off the box set.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 28, 2015, 01:52:59 PM
Season II was my least favourite and the only one I haven't gone back on to watch over again and again. I might give it another go on your recommendation.

Post by: deiseach on August 28, 2015, 01:55:20 PM
YMMV
Post by: thewobbler on August 28, 2015, 01:57:28 PM
Have to agree Deiseach.

On first viewing I wasn't a fan of series 2; Ziggy drove me mad, and I missed the brothers. But almost everything that takes place after that in the Wire can be traced back to the docks. it's now the season I turn to most for my occasional Wire binges. 

I'd also suggest that if McNulty wasn't shoehorned into the plot of often, then the rest of the series wouldn't have worked so well. His cause-and-effect personality and the semi-retirement with Beadie needed a start point.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2015, 02:08:31 PM
It was my least favourite season too but have just watched it again it was fantastic and as TheWobbler says lays down the foundation for 3,4 and 5. Definitely watch it again.
Post by: gallsman on August 28, 2015, 02:17:56 PM
I think nobody was overly fond of 2 as they watched it for the first time but once you realise how vital it is to the overall plot of the show, you appreciate it more.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 28, 2015, 02:25:48 PM
I enjoyed season 2. I actually got bored of it in Season 4.
Post by: gallsman on August 28, 2015, 02:34:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 28, 2015, 02:25:48 PM
I enjoyed season 2. I actually got bored of it in Season 4.

f**k off work your blasphemy! S4 was the best one!
Post by: AZOffaly on August 28, 2015, 02:38:06 PM
Maybe I just binged out too much. I eventually got sick of the same old wire taps, drugs blah blah blah.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 28, 2015, 02:59:55 PM
The last season was very poor.  McNulty biting the homeless and passing it off as a serial killer was just ridiculous.  Liked seaons 1, 3 and 4.  Found season 2 a bit boring.
Post by: Main Street on August 28, 2015, 06:33:36 PM
 I liked season 2 from the outset and like it just as much as the other 4 seasons.
it tells a tale of its own, the demise of the ports/stevedores through the  tragic figure of the union boss Frank  but s2 is also integral to the whole series with such plots as the drug lords marking territory, Prop Joe and the fearless gangster Omar versus the taciturn assassin Brother Mouzone.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 28, 2015, 10:13:08 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 28, 2015, 02:59:55 PM
The last season was very poor.  McNulty biting the homeless and passing it off as a serial killer was just ridiculous.  Liked seaons 1, 3 and 4.  Found season 2 a bit boring.

Season 2 seemed boring coming off the back of season 1, but when you watch it again (and you should) it probably one of the best seasons.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 29, 2015, 02:38:02 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 28, 2015, 10:13:08 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 28, 2015, 02:59:55 PM

Season 2 seemed boring coming off the back of season 1, but when you watch it again (and you should) it probably one of the best seasons.

Maybe I'll give it another shot.  Really didn't care for all the computer-monitor scenes  tracking the movement of shipping containers.
Post by: turk on August 29, 2015, 01:54:01 PM
My favourites were the two old cops who were transferred to the unit and were trying to get sick leave by throwing themselves down the stairs.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 07:56:43 AM
The wife turned round to me on Sunday, out of the blue, and said she wanted to start watching the Wire. I've been trying to persuade her for years with no success all I'm delighted. It's a good few years since I watched it through. We'll finish S1 tonight!
Post by: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 09:58:35 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 07:56:43 AM
The wife turned round to me on Sunday, out of the blue, and said she wanted to start watching the Wire. I've been trying to persuade her for years with no success all I'm delighted. It's a good few years since I watched it through. We'll finish S1 tonight!

The thing I always remember about watching season 1 was that the first time I watched I found it really difficult to understand the dialogue and I had to watch the first 4 or 5 episodes twice. I could then understand it perfectly. A couple of years ago I finally convinced my wife to watch it and she had the exact same problem whereas I was fine despite having not watched an episode in years. I always find that strange because I'd have no problem with the dialogue if I went to watch again tomorrow

To me it's the second best tv series ever made and in the words of Kevin Keegan that's the most praise you can give anything.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 06, 2018, 10:15:56 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 09:58:35 AM

The thing I always remember about watching season 1 was that the first time I watched I found it really difficult to understand the dialogue and I had to watch the first 4 or 5 episodes twice. I could then understand it perfectly. A couple of years ago I finally convinced my wife to watch it and she had the exact same problem whereas I was fine despite having not watched an episode in years. I always find that strange because I'd have no problem with the dialogue if I went to watch again tomorrow

To me it's the second best tv series ever made and in the words of Kevin Keegan that's the most praise you can give anything.

What's your best, The Wire is still my number 1.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 06, 2018, 12:25:24 PM

The Wire is number one for me. So many people put the Sopranos as their favourite but it just never made that impact on me - wouldn't have it in my top 10.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 06, 2018, 01:01:07 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 06, 2018, 12:25:24 PM

The Wire is number one for me. So many people put the Sopranos as their favourite but it just never made that impact on me - wouldn't have it in my top 10.

Blasphemy!!
Post by: maddog on September 06, 2018, 01:06:39 PM
Think i preferred Gomorrah over the lot. Sopranos was brilliant but ending wasn't great, same with Boardwalk Empire. The Wire i'd need to watch again.
Post by: themac_23 on September 06, 2018, 01:19:55 PM
the wire, sopranos, breaking bad and the shield are my favourite shows, watched them all twice. After watching them all twice i actually found Breaking Bad the best, on first watch you kinda dismiss Walter White as someone who's soft but then develop a hardened persona, when you watch it the 2nd time you realise hes just a calculated, ruthless guy who knows exactly what hes doing or getting others to do. The wire a close 2nd, best dialogue of ANY tv show when they are talking about how 'The Game' should be like any other industry, and why they shouldn't have to beat someone down for being short etc class.
Post by: shark on September 06, 2018, 02:43:13 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 06, 2018, 10:15:56 AM

Also.
Post by: thewobbler on September 06, 2018, 04:30:23 PM
The Wire.

Watched it all again in HD at Xmas. I've never done that before with a tv programme apart from Band of Brothers but sure it's only one series.

Greatest show ever.
Post by: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 04:36:38 PM
For me it's the West Wing. Just
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 06:31:53 PM
West Wing went downhill rapidly once Sorkin and Rob Lowe left. Alan Alda redeemed it a bit as Vinick in the final two seasons.

Anyone who doesn't think the Wire is the greatest TV show every is just flat out wrong. Sorry.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 06, 2018, 06:41:39 PM
Quote from: shark on September 06, 2018, 02:43:13 PM

Also.

+1 Still top of my list. The way they built up the characters in the show was just superb. You found yourself rooting for nearly all of them. Best of the lot...Senator Clay Davis. Sheeeeeeit!!   ;D
Post by: mrdeeds on September 06, 2018, 06:52:45 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 06, 2018, 06:41:39 PM
Quote from: shark on September 06, 2018, 02:43:13 PM

Also.

+1 Still top of my list. The way they built up the characters in the show was just superb. You found yourself rooting for nearly all of them. Best of the lot...Senator Clay Davis. Sheeeeeeit!!   ;D

Wasn't a fan. Loved season 4 and that was it. Breaking Bad or Sopranos the best ever.
Post by: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 07:06:21 PM
I agree about the West Wing but similarly season 5 of the Wire is a little too proposterorus for me.
Post by: lenny on September 06, 2018, 07:10:12 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 06:31:53 PM
West Wing went downhill rapidly once Sorkin and Rob Lowe left. Alan Alda redeemed it a bit as Vinick in the final two seasons.

Anyone who doesn't think the Wire is the greatest TV show every is just flat out wrong. Sorry.

Totally agree, what a show. It took a while to get used to the accent and slang but watching with subtitles helped at the start. So many great characters who you could empathise and sympathise with.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 06, 2018, 07:31:04 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 07:06:21 PM
I agree about the West Wing but similarly season 5 of the Wire is a little too proposterorus for me.

Yeah, season 5 was crap.  Wasn't wild about season 2 either.

Carnivale is another excellent show, but was unfortunately canceled after two seasons.  The two seasons do stand alone though, so you can watch it without feeling like you're not going to get some kind of resolution.
Post by: Main Street on September 07, 2018, 12:00:35 AM
I downloaded the remastered dvds  of The Wire some time ago but haven't gotten round to watch it, it's a must do rather than a should do that.
There have been many excellent tv dramas since, but The Wire has remained peerless, it's in another class, it's "Shakespearean".

Post by: stephenite on September 07, 2018, 10:05:00 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 04:36:38 PM

Same. I loved the Wire too but they are completely different.

If Ozark keeps it up I might have to to reconsider, superb
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 07, 2018, 02:47:11 PM
Quote from: stephenite on September 07, 2018, 10:05:00 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 06, 2018, 04:36:38 PM

Same. I loved the Wire too but they are completely different.

If Ozark keeps it up I might have to to reconsider, superb

Not sure about Ozark S2 - too many plot leaps for my liking.
Post by: easytiger95 on September 07, 2018, 05:09:16 PM
Wire - best ever

Currently looking at

Get Shorty (with Chris O'Dowd and Ray Romano) - brilliant first season
Atlanta (with Donald Glover) - very funny, but uneven
Barry (with Bill Hader and The Fonz) - hidden gem, I'd recommend it, bingeworthy.
Post by: easytiger95 on September 07, 2018, 05:11:16 PM
BTW the second season of Fargo is up there with the best TV ever made.
Post by: Therealdonald on September 07, 2018, 06:16:10 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 07, 2018, 12:00:35 AM
I downloaded the remastered dvds  of The Wire some time ago but haven't gotten round to watch it, it's a must do rather than a should do that.
There have been many excellent tv dramas since, but The Wire has remained peerless, it's in another class, it's "Shakespearean".

The last series was a drag though.

Currently navigating my way through the US Fffice, while not in the same class suspense/drama wise, its fair funny and cringey
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 07, 2018, 07:14:23 PM
Sopranos is still the GOAT
Post by: gallsman on September 07, 2018, 07:15:38 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 07, 2018, 07:14:23 PM

It never was.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 09, 2018, 08:02:30 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 07, 2018, 07:14:23 PM
Post by: Ambrose on September 13, 2018, 11:32:02 PM
The Wire destroyed tv, nothing ever came close to it. No matter what you watch nowadays it just isn't in the same league as the Wire, nothing ever will. It was so pure, so guttural and yet at times even Shakespearean.
S'all in the game yo.
Post by: gallsman on September 13, 2018, 11:37:47 PM
Quote from: Ambrose on September 13, 2018, 11:32:02 PM
S'all in the game yo.

Always.