Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: J OGorman on November 03, 2010, 04:44:05 PM

Title: Family Board Games
Post by: J OGorman on November 03, 2010, 04:44:05 PM
Hello

Was looking to buy a couple of board games for later on in the year ;-) Have been recommended Ligretto by a couple of folk who say. With the exception of the standards, eg Monopoly, Cluedo etc..anyone know of any goodin's to pass a winters evening?

cheers
Title: Re: Family Board Games
Post by: ziggysego on November 03, 2010, 04:46:19 PM
What sort of age group are we talking about here?
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 03, 2010, 04:50:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 03, 2010, 04:46:19 PM
Ziggy play with your own family you sneaky fecker!
Post by: J OGorman on November 03, 2010, 04:55:07 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 03, 2010, 04:50:59 PM

plenty of room @ the Inn Ziggy...its for parents and a 10 and 8 year old

cheers
Post by: Gaaman on November 03, 2010, 05:00:10 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on November 03, 2010, 04:55:07 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 03, 2010, 04:50:59 PM

plenty of room @ the Inn Ziggy...its for parents and a 10 and 8 year old

cheers

Hard to beat a game of Jenga in my book. Play it an odd Friday night with the woman's two young couins aged 10 and 6.
Post by: ziggysego on November 03, 2010, 05:01:01 PM
I used to have an older version of this game growing up. Great, fun wee game.

(http://i2.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/590/draft_lens6590532module53247562photo_1250989517simpsons-monopoly.jpg)
Post by: Billys Boots on November 03, 2010, 05:03:48 PM
Cluedo is different and better than it used to be - my kids like it.  They also recently got 'The Game of Life' which they like, but I don't.
Post by: Gaaman on November 03, 2010, 05:06:03 PM
Unusual Jenga's
(http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/wp-content/uploads/16552.jpg)

(http://craziestgadgets.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/donkey-kong-jenga.jpg)

(http://www.ubergizmo.com/photos/2007/5/petit-jenga.jpg)

(http://www.videogamesblogger.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/08/jenga-video-game.jpg)

Or just the bog standard:
(http://image.ssww.com/catimages/SWW7000-SWW7999/SWW7000-SWW7499/W7489_web.jpg_1222.fpx?&wid=300&cvt=jpeg)
Post by: J OGorman on November 03, 2010, 05:12:07 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 03, 2010, 05:03:48 PM
Cluedo is different and better than it used to be - my kids like it.  They also recently got 'The Game of Life' which they like, but I don't.

we got the harry potter cluedo last year, good craic
Post by: Gaaman on November 03, 2010, 05:18:15 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on November 03, 2010, 05:12:07 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 03, 2010, 05:03:48 PM

we got the harry potter cluedo last year, good craic

Voldermort done it, in the Chamber of Secrets with the killing curse?
Post by: deiseach on November 03, 2010, 06:07:29 PM
I don't know how many versions of Monopoly I've got as presents over the years, none of which ever get played. It's a bigger racket than sports jerseys
Post by: caughtredhanded on November 03, 2010, 06:09:43 PM
Do they still make Connect 4? We spent many's an evening playing it in our house as kids.
Post by: gallsman on November 03, 2010, 07:42:40 PM
Loved the Game of Life as a kid!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 03, 2010, 07:44:40 PM
Draughts was our main game growing up
Post by: Puckoon on November 03, 2010, 08:24:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 03, 2010, 07:44:40 PM

Ours too - as in get up and find where that fuckin draught is coming from cub.
Post by: Minus15 on November 03, 2010, 08:31:15 PM
Monopoly is the best board game by a mile
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 03, 2010, 08:34:36 PM
Scrabble was ours, we would have played till the wee hours once the board came out
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 03, 2010, 08:59:57 PM
The brother in true banker fashion was a thieving hoor and could never be trusted with the Monopoly funds.
Post by: ziggysego on November 03, 2010, 09:32:12 PM
Monopoly was a great game when I was growing up, but it sometimes when on far too long. I'd nothing better to do with my time. I was just waiting for the Internet to be invented and someone create the gaaboard. However my siblings had more to be doing, so we seldom finished a game.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 03, 2010, 09:57:27 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 03, 2010, 08:34:36 PM
Scrabble was ours, we would have played till the wee hours once the board came out
It wouldn't last hours in our house. Fits of bad temper, wrecking the board, name calling, thumping and kicking and my ma swearing the game was never seeing the light of day again was generally how things ended.

Good times.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 03, 2010, 10:23:56 PM
Never get fed up playing Snakes and ladders,
Post by: Family guy on November 03, 2010, 10:40:30 PM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on November 03, 2010, 06:09:43 PM
Do they still make Connect 4? We spent many's an evening playing it in our house as kids.

Dont think i ever lost a game of connect 4,just wana put that out there
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 03, 2010, 10:43:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 03, 2010, 09:57:27 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on November 03, 2010, 08:34:36 PM
It wouldn't last hours in our house. Fits of bad temper, wrecking the board, name calling, thumping and kicking and my ma swearing the game was never seeing the light of day again was generally how things ended.

Good times.

We would have played by the light of a stove, or candles or an oul gas lamp and written all the scores on the inside of the box to keep them for posterity!
Post by: muppet on November 03, 2010, 10:56:51 PM
Monopoly is the entry level to board games.

Some good ones below:
(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRL_Pus0p6u07YTprmv_Osg1D4lPXWuWdvYIOnz9bKrCLarQ1U&t=1&usg=__brERDmk6xLPifggnx9_wC9HOakY=)
(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTJzTOIpBh_SAunGblV42sgVG_tIKphDUl6OqL_suzzl2dFRcI&t=1&usg=__FX9WBMiOYOg_99eRvw75MUmLoH0=)
(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR1oNMYZrEHsq2kf3-S7dOQH3nWYVmFVKzOOI2SPr6heSakjGI&t=1&usg=__p94nU09CoVDUaT78gN0r8MxLHFA=)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 03, 2010, 10:59:25 PM
Escape from Colditz brings back memories!
Post by: Main Street on November 03, 2010, 11:58:55 PM
Risk would be my game of choice, but it's strictly for the boys, i.e. if you want to have some competitive - 'take no prisoner' fun, from a board game, for hours on end.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 04, 2010, 02:53:34 AM
Generally any of the ones by Ravensburger are pretty good and work well for parents with kids. Some of the ones that were really popular in our house were Wildlife Adventure, Discovering Europe and Scotland Yard. Rummikub is brilliant as well, particularly when you get good at it and people try maneouvring the whole board and bending the rules, but the ultimate game, which is so good it has replaced cards for our (fully adult) post Christmas entertainment is this:

http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/126/the-really-nasty-horse-racing-game (http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/126/the-really-nasty-horse-racing-game)

We got the motor racing and golf equivalents after, but they were nowhere near as good. The only caveat for this game is that you need four to make it even close to good, while it's at it's best with five or six. Even if it's only for when friends are over though, we've spread this to three different houses now and everyone that gets it, loves it. For three players , I would recommend Rummikub or Wildlife Adventure, or scrabble, as was mentioned here. Scrabble is a sure fire way to start rows though.
Post by: Gaaman on November 04, 2010, 07:39:51 AM
Discovering Ireland was a big favourite in our household.  :-\

(http://www.goslinggames.ie/images/Di1.jpg)
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on November 04, 2010, 09:22:03 AM
I enjoyed the mouse trap board game as a cub.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 04, 2010, 09:28:49 AM
QuoteSome of the ones that were really popular in our house were Wildlife Adventure, Discovering Europe and Scotland Yard.

Yeah, we had Scotland Yard and liked it (many moons ago).  There was another complicated one (like Cleudo) called 221B Baker St. that I played with my siblings.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 04, 2010, 09:59:09 AM
Scotland Yard got dusted down there a couple of years ago and helped to shake off a bit of cabin fever around the festive period, have Risk lined up for this year. Axis and Allies is another decent board game that requires a bit of strategy.