GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 28, 2022, 04:56:53 PM

Title: This PSNI Thing
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 28, 2022, 04:56:53 PM
Any northern correspondant know what's actually going on? The two sides here seem miles apart with their stories
Title: Re: This PSNI Thing
Post by: Turf on July 28, 2022, 05:03:47 PM
What PSNI thing?
Post by: Mourne Red on July 28, 2022, 06:13:17 PM
PSNI trying to play victim card due to them being disgraced by writing dead taigs on photographs they've taken of suicide victims.

I've played in Inter-Firms and A memorial tournament which PSNI played at both and we knew that they were playing at the tournaments a couple of weeks before it was played.

They've pulled out of a tournament that Clan na banna in Down have organised because they released the teams who were playing in the tournaments names. There's a St.Michaels GAA club in Down and PSNI call themselves St Michaels so to differentiate between the two clubs CLB named them St Michaels PSNI and they pulled out over it
Post by: red hander on July 28, 2022, 07:48:08 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 28, 2022, 04:56:53 PM
Any northern correspondant know what's actually going on? The two sides here seem miles apart with their stories

Considering it's the PSNI involved, I know what side I believe.
Post by: marty34 on July 28, 2022, 09:48:37 PM
Morris from the Belfast Telegraph all over it..obviously.
Post by: general_lee on July 28, 2022, 10:06:28 PM
Carla Lockhart Upper Bann DUP MP couldn't wait to give her tuppence on Talkback. A vile, sectarian wench if ever there was one.
Post by: God14 on July 29, 2022, 08:10:39 AM
Quote from: marty34 on July 28, 2022, 09:48:37 PM

I thought she was a good journalist when at the Irish News. Always comes across well on radio & TV as well. Surprised at her TBH
Post by: toby47 on July 29, 2022, 08:17:13 AM
What's the general feeling over the PSNI having a GAA team among members?

Post by: RedHand88 on July 29, 2022, 08:20:50 AM
Quote from: toby47 on July 29, 2022, 08:17:13 AM

I see absolutely no issue. We are nearly 25 years after the GFA and the changes in policing in that time have been massive.
Post by: LC on July 29, 2022, 08:26:34 AM
Agree 100%, at the end of the day those within the PSNI participating / promoting gaelic games are no doubt the same individuals who are seeking to change long held perceptions by their day to day actions / engagement with the public.  Yes there are bad eggs within any organisation but overtime they will disappear further into the background and become less relevant and more isolated just like certain political / public figures of a similar mindset.
Post by: God14 on July 29, 2022, 08:41:03 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 29, 2022, 08:20:50 AM

I see absolutely no issue. We are nearly 25 years after the GFA and the changes in policing on the time have been massive.

For sure a good thing & to be welcomed and encouraged
Post by: imtommygunn on July 29, 2022, 08:44:46 AM
Yep. Fully agree.
Post by: Franko on July 29, 2022, 09:04:53 AM

A great thing, which should be welcomed
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 29, 2022, 09:06:17 AM
Was parachuted in a few times to play inter-firms games a few years ago, we played the PSNI in a Ulster final in Newry one time (played them in another maybe a year or two later) this was their first 'real' competition that they had entered and it was a bit surreal to be honest.

Arrived down and there was a protest going on outside the ground and I was nearly just going to turn round and drive home, but decided just play the game, bate the feckers (I mean I had a legal opportunity to whack a peeler with a stick) so we won the game handy enough in the end and it was physical enough in that they were very agricultural bar maybe the 2 or 3 actual players they had.. the other year they had improved but this was played at Cherryvalley and no issues around it at all....

Regarding this there was no reason to change the names to be fair, and whether they are making a mountain out of a molehill is up for debate, the fact is, there are multiple tournaments that are going on up and down the country with teams having the same name and they are never changed.. Having 2 names the same is ok, maybe there was a genuine misunderstanding
Post by: general_lee on July 29, 2022, 10:58:03 AM
You'd best think there was an effort going on to distract from other matters.
Post by: marty34 on July 29, 2022, 11:00:11 AM
Quote from: God14 on July 29, 2022, 08:10:39 AM
Quote from: marty34 on July 28, 2022, 09:48:37 PM

I thought she was a good journalist when at the Irish News. Always comes across well on radio & TV as well. Surprised at her TBH

I wonder where she got her information - that's the question.

Clickbait for unionists.
Post by: johnnycool on July 29, 2022, 11:00:22 AM
I think this was badly reported in the first place by yer one and she's trying to backtrack slightly on it on SM where she seems to do most of her work.

not sure why they felt the need to pull out once it was made clear it was them rather than St Michaels from Magheralin, not a million miles away from Clan Na Banna, as it seemed no other team gave a toss either way when they found out.

Mountain made out of a molehill, but the usual political commentators using it as a stick to beat the GAA, yet not a word about St Pauls in Holywood having to deal with an arson attack.

Post by: tiempo on July 29, 2022, 11:03:18 AM
Quote from: general_lee on July 29, 2022, 10:58:03 AM

The Noah Donohoe PII
Post by: Applesisapples on July 29, 2022, 11:56:59 AM
Really disappointed in Alison Morrison, I thought she was better than that. It does however raise 2 questions, first the PSNI's attitude to engagement and integration with the nationalist community and secondly the continued ambiguous approach to the PSNI by some nationalists. I would want to see officers live at home not having to move and playing for home clubs. The PSNI influences these decisions when young officers join up advising them to move from their community for safety, that needs to change and as nationalists we need to embrace the police as our own as we do the fire service.
Post by: johnnycool on July 29, 2022, 12:15:39 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 29, 2022, 11:56:59 AM
Really disappointed in Alison Morrison, I thought she was better than that. It does however raise 2 questions, first the PSNI's attitude to engagement and integration with the nationalist community and secondly the continued ambiguous approach to the PSNI by some nationalists. I would want to see officers live at home not having to move and playing for home clubs. The PSNI influences these decisions when young officers join up advising them to move from their community for safety, that needs to change and as nationalists we need to embrace the police as our own as we do the fire service.

I'm certain this already happens in some areas.

The RUC/PSNI always had it's own teams for soccer and rugby who partake in the various leagues whereas the GAA would probably consider such a team an interfirms team and leave it at that with only tournament like things as per the Clan Na Banna thing.

If for whatever reason they didn't want to turn up, is entirely up to them, but Morris (now backtracking that she'd nothing to do with the headline and she is probably right on that) has made a few minor changes to the story online, but the stick is already out there to beat the GAA with.

Post by: johnnycool on July 29, 2022, 12:16:18 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 29, 2022, 12:11:53 PM
Entirely predictable for all you men to criticise Allison Morris. Misogyny at its finest. If the journalist in question was a man nobody would have batted an eyelid that he jumped the gun, didn't fully research and ran with a one-sided story that didn't reflect the truth and stirred shit that wasn't there.
Because men are bastards.

Am I detecting a bit of sarcasm there?  ;)
Post by: ardtole on July 29, 2022, 12:38:21 PM
I dont think there will be too many clubs lining up to invite this psni team to any further tournements.
Post by: Applesisapples on July 29, 2022, 02:13:50 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 29, 2022, 12:15:39 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 29, 2022, 11:56:59 AM

I'm certain this already happens in some areas.

The RUC/PSNI always had it's own teams for soccer and rugby who partake in the various leagues whereas the GAA would probably consider such a team an interfirms team and leave it at that with only tournament like things as per the Clan Na Banna thing.

If for whatever reason they didn't want to turn up, is entirely up to them, but Morris (now backtracking that she'd nothing to do with the headline and she is probably right on that) has made a few minor changes to the story online, but the stick is already out there to beat the GAA with.
I was making a wider point regarding the interaction of the PSNI with nationalist communities.
Post by: red hander on July 29, 2022, 03:47:51 PM
Not the first time she has blamed the headline writer. Pathetic. Maybe she should think twice about her sources, particularly loyalism's Elmer Fudd.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 29, 2022, 10:28:10 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 29, 2022, 12:16:18 PM
Entirely predictable for all you men to criticise Allison Morris. Misogyny at its finest. If the journalist in question was a man nobody would have batted an eyelid that he jumped the gun, didn't fully research and ran with a one-sided story that didn't reflect the truth and stirred shit that wasn't there.

Has she thrown the mysogny card yet? it's never far away with her
Post by: red hander on July 29, 2022, 10:33:32 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 29, 2022, 10:28:10 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 29, 2022, 12:16:18 PM

Has she thrown the mysogny card yet? it's never far away with her

Visit The Pensive Quill website and search Allison Morris. Extremely interesting reading.
Post by: naka on July 30, 2022, 08:27:49 AM
It so obviously is
They probably knew there would be a protest at their despicable action regarding the PII cert so made an excuse .
Post by: Dire Ear on July 30, 2022, 12:42:34 PM

100%
Post by: RedHand88 on July 30, 2022, 01:16:46 PM
Quote from: naka on July 30, 2022, 08:27:49 AM
It so obviously is
They probably knew there would be a protest at their despicable action regarding the PII cert so made an excuse .

If you were in the police gaa team though would you be comfortable though? People haven't forgotten Ronan Kerr.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2022, 01:27:46 PM
Yeah that is what I think the problem could have been here. It was announced.

Though it would have to be known before they play any game but I guess they don't play that many.

At the minute media wise, more social media, there is an effort to tarnish the gaa because of the publicity the oo has been getting over the songs and the bonfire stuff. Same with the ulster fleadh.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 30, 2022, 02:14:41 PM
They were outside the pitch in Newry before I played against them protesting... so whoever wants to know will know I'd assume
Post by: charlieTully on July 30, 2022, 11:04:39 PM
There would have been no protest in Banbridge ffs. The fall out would not be worth it. There are very good cross community relations in the town but wouldn't take much for hot heads to graffiti or arson. Its an absolute non story. The psni team pulled out. Nothing more to it.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2022, 11:41:46 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 30, 2022, 11:04:39 PM
There would have been no protest in Banbridge ffs. The fall out would not be worth it. There are very good cross community relations in the town but wouldn't take much for hot heads to graffiti or arson. Its an absolute non story. The psni team pulled out. Nothing more to it.

Would any club be a5rsed inviting them again?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 12:21:18 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2022, 11:41:46 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 30, 2022, 11:04:39 PM

Would any club be a5rsed inviting them again?

They won't... I'm nearly sure at the start they were named Garnerville GAA or something
Post by: Dougal Maguire on July 31, 2022, 04:27:54 AM
In fairness I'd say the folk protesting at Newry wouldn't know if a ball was pumped up or stuffed. I'd be concerned if the St Michael's team wouldn't want to be recognised as St Michael's PSNI team. Are the members ashamed of their origins?
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 31, 2022, 08:33:02 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 31, 2022, 04:27:54 AM
In fairness I'd say the folk protesting at Newry wouldn't know if a ball was pumped up or stuffed. I'd be concerned if the St Michael's team wouldn't want to be recognised as St Michael's PSNI team. Are the members ashamed of their origins?

They worried about security of members?

i.e. dissidents put a pipe bomb in a changing room or something.

(To be clear, not saying that it would happen - just saying they are worried something like that might happen)
Post by: screenexile on July 31, 2022, 10:06:32 AM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on July 31, 2022, 08:33:02 AM

(To be clear, not saying that it would happen - just saying they are worried something like that might happen)

I would assume that's why they wouldn't want it broadcast beforehand that a PSNI team would be playing.
Post by: Mourne Red on July 31, 2022, 10:42:43 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 31, 2022, 10:06:32 AM

I would assume that's why they wouldn't want it broadcast beforehand that a PSNI team would be playing.

Played at tournaments before where it was known they were playing.. Utter bullshit from the PSNI to distract from them covering up Noah Donahoes death
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 11:21:15 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on July 31, 2022, 10:42:43 AM

Played at tournaments before where it was known they were playing.. Utter bullshit from the PSNI to distract from them covering up Noah Donahoes murder

So they decided to leave the tournament to distract from the Noah death? Christ that's stretching
Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2022, 11:36:52 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 11:21:15 AM

Played at tournaments before where it was known they were playing.. Utter bullshit from the PSNI to distract from them covering up Noah Donahoes murder

So they decided to leave the tournament to distract from the Noah death? Christ that's stretching

No. Keep up.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 11:41:34 AM
Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2022, 11:36:52 AM

No. Keep up.

Not my words ..

Utter bullshit from the PSNI to distract from them covering up Noah Donahoes murder
Post by: Mourne Red on July 31, 2022, 12:06:48 PM
Changed last sentence because nothing proven around that but look at the media spout past few days since the PII was announced a lot off reports against nationalism.. Fladh, GAA, Graffiti on OI Buisness owner.. Deflection tactics which older posters you'd think would recognise
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 12:16:55 PM
Look they've played in many tournaments and there's been controversy with the PSNI and will continue to be over the years... I can't (for all my years) actually make that fit into your previous statement.

What I will say is that when opportunities come along to stick the boot into the GAA they will (newspapers unionists) so by giving them an opportunity to do that then the GAA played an own goal..

I said earlier having two St Michaels and leaving it at that would suffice..
Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2022, 12:39:34 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on July 31, 2022, 12:06:48 PM
Changed last sentence because nothing proven around that but look at the media spout past few days since the PII was announced a lot off reports against nationalism.. Fladh, GAA, Graffiti on OI Buisness owner.. Deflection tactics which older posters you'd think would recognise

But Milltown won't see that.

Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2022, 12:40:48 PM

He'll not link recent events.

I wonder will the full story of that lads death ever come out?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2022, 01:32:29 PM
Anyone linking the team pulling out of the GAA tournament to the Noah death needs to have a word with themselves.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 02:01:28 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 31, 2022, 01:32:29 PM
Anyone linking the team pulling out of the GAA tournament to the Noah death needs to have a word with themselves.

Apparently not, seems Marty has a hard on for me because I don't fit in with his views, ah well
Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2022, 03:20:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 02:01:28 PM

Apparently not, seems Marty has a hard on for me because I don't fit in with his views, ah well

Nice choice of language. Classy..as usual.

The point I was making, and others, was there was a PII issued the other day in respect of Noah's death.

A day or so before there's this 'non-story' about the psni and the football tournament in Down.  Which takes all the news - media and print do you think?

And there's people here who don't think, in any way, that they're linked.

But stay classy MR2.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 03:25:01 PM
Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2022, 03:20:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2022, 02:01:28 PM

Nice choice of language. Classy..as usual.

The point I was making, and others, was there was a PII issued the other day in respect of Noah's death.

A day or so before there's this 'non-story' about the psni and the football tournament in Down.  Which takes all the news - media and print do you think?

And there's people here who don't think, in any way, that they're linked.

But stay classy MR2.

So they entered a tournament to come out of it as to deflect findings or this PII regarding Noah's death? I said it's stretching you think it's not, you think they purposely did this!