Official Irish Football Association Thread (Northern Ireland)

Started by Mentalman, September 04, 2007, 11:39:59 AM

And what percentage of the Irish voters voted for the GFA in the referendums of 1998.
Mind you the "Statelet" seems to have failed again since that Foster yoke tried to re establish one party rule again.

michaelg

Quote from: red hander on November 22, 2017, 11:22:37 PM
Quote from: michaelg on November 22, 2017, 06:23:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 22, 2017, 06:00:26 PM
Quote from: michaelg on November 17, 2017, 05:01:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 17, 2017, 12:50:35 PM
MW A football team like the current IFA one,using exclusively Unionist symbols and whose fans add the No Surrender lyric to the National Anthem they steal from the English team,would be obsolete in any independent North.Indeed that is the whole point of making the North independent, i.e. Removing the competing allegiances to two different sovereign territories,neither of whom wants nor understands us,and which causes such division and dysfunction,and will always make one community a winner and the other a loser,in their own psyches.

By the way I experienced the unrelenting sectarianism of Windsor Park (after a gap of 20 years) at the recent Linfield V Celtic tie.It was so bad a guy I knew asked the stewards to escort him and his grown up sons out of the stadium early in the second half,and took shameful abuse on the way out when the penny finally dropped with the hordes of the reason for his escort to the exit
Err, you were at a Linfield game and not a Northern Ireland game.  As such, your rather unpleasant experience which you describe above, has hee-haw to do with watching Northern Ireland at the 'National Stadium at Windsor Park'.
NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?
It's a failed statelet, undemocratically set up against the wishes of 78pc of the population in 1918. It doesn't exist
I must have dreamt those recent Northern Ireland football matches that I attended.

Quote from: michaelg on November 23, 2017, 07:16:09 AM
MW A football team like the current IFA one,using exclusively Unionist symbols and whose fans add the No Surrender lyric to the National Anthem they steal from the English team,would be obsolete in any independent North.Indeed that is the whole point of making the North independent, i.e. Removing the competing allegiances to two different sovereign territories,neither of whom wants nor understands us,and which causes such division and dysfunction,and will always make one community a winner and the other a loser,in their own psyches.

By the way I experienced the unrelenting sectarianism of Windsor Park (after a gap of 20 years) at the recent Linfield V Celtic tie.It was so bad a guy I knew asked the stewards to escort him and his grown up sons out of the stadium early in the second half,and took shameful abuse on the way out when the penny finally dropped with the hordes of the reason for his escort to the exit
Err, you were at a Linfield game and not a Northern Ireland game.  As such, your rather unpleasant experience which you describe above, has hee-haw to do with watching Northern Ireland at the 'National Stadium at Windsor Park'.
NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?
It's a failed statelet, undemocratically set up against the wishes of 78pc of the population in 1918. It doesn't exist
I must have dreamt those recent Northern Ireland football matches that I attended.

Going to matches does not make the north of Ireland a country! These players cannot play for their country simply because the country they profess to play for  (The so called Northern Ireland, is not a country)

If I am wrong on this, please show me a northern Irish passport and I will happily recognise the new Country that is Northern Ireland (well not happily)

NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?
Who is the UN ambassador ? Who is NI's European Commissioner ? Where is the NI embassy in Paris ?

Quote from: seafoid on November 22, 2017, 09:16:01 PM

NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?
Windsor Park is like Ravenhill or Healy Park  A provincial venue.

It's not even, its a club ground, owned by Linfield F.C. who cut a very good deal with the IFA. A deal that was so lucrative that Crusaders kicked up a stink about it as it gave Linfield an even more unfair advantage over all the other clubs in the Irish league.
Not sure what back door deal was done with the Crus to keep stoom, maybe a 4G pitch, who knows.

michaelg

Quote from: stew on November 23, 2017, 09:27:33 AM

NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?

Going to matches does not make the north of Ireland a country! These players cannot play for their country simply because the country they profess to play for  (The so called Northern Ireland, is not a country)

If I am wrong on this, please show me a northern Irish passport and I will happily recognise the new Country that is Northern Ireland (well not happily)
Preumably you think that there should be one UK team then?

Ref says he made a mistake with the Swiss penalty.

Should Norn Iron get a rematch? And should Corry Evans' missus have to take back her apology?

It means nothing.North would never have scored against the Swiss even if they were still playing

Quote from: T Fearon on January 11, 2018, 08:11:40 PM
It means nothing.North would never have scored against the Swiss even if they were still playing

And you know that? A bit like you know the justice hunters get it right every time  ;D ;D

michaelg

Who's this 'North' you speak of?  Didn't see him feature in either leg.

Quote from: michaelg on January 11, 2018, 09:07:49 PM
Who's this 'North' you speak of?  Didn't see him feature in either leg.

I think he meant the north, the north never deserved to go through but by feck they fought like hell in that second leg, fair play to them.

NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?

Michaelg show us your norn iron passport to prove norn iron exists please, you cant, they dont exist, why you ask do they not exist, they dont exist because norn iron is not a country, it isnt even a province, it is 2/3rds of a province.

Quote from: stew on January 12, 2018, 11:39:11 AM

NI is not a nation.
It is mar dhea.
Your point being?

Michaelg show us your norn iron passport to prove norn iron exists please, you cant, they dont exist, why you ask do they not exist, they dont exist because norn iron is not a country, it isnt even a province, it is 2/3rds of a province.

So Wales, Scotland and England aren't countries either as they have no passport?

Jim_Murphy_74

Quote from: stew on January 12, 2018, 11:39:11 AM

Who are "they"?

As for existing, I don't know who in the world holds the definitive list of "countries" but UEFA and FIFA definitely own the definitive list of international football teams and according to then Northern Ireland does exist.  In a soccer context that's all that matters. 

So I don't think michaelg dreamt the Northern Ireland matches he was at.

/Jim.