Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on August 29, 2017, 11:46:17 PM

Title: Paddy Power projection on Knock Basilica.
Post by: T Fearon on August 29, 2017, 11:46:17 PM
This was the subject of a heated debate on Talk to Joe yesterday. Most if not all the callers seemed to be offended, and there was a spokesman on for Paddy Power who took a lot of abuse to the extent that I reckon that a suggestion made by one contributor,that PP make a donation to the upkeep of the basilica,may well be taken up.

I myself think that God has a sense of humour and as long as it's not malicious, as this wasn't,it's ok.I recall watching a documentary on Fr Mick Cleary (not a shining example of a priest I know), when he was doing a bit of stand up at a packed community hall,and he told the joke about an IRA man in confession telling the priest he had blown up a few RUC barracks, and the priest absolved him and told him as a penance to "Go out and do the Stations!" 😂😂😂.I saw another joke in the NI Humanist magazine a few years ago about the introduction of a new low fat communion bread at a Belfast chapel,and one parishioner after receiving, said "I can't believe it's not Jesus!". Borderline but it made me chuckle nonetheless
Title: Re: Paddy Power projection on Knock Basilica.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 30, 2017, 12:00:50 AM
(http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/4265/2707/400/care2.jpg)
Post by: omaghjoe on August 30, 2017, 05:55:02 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 30, 2017, 12:00:50 AM
Is that a Muslim prayer mat?
Post by: Itchy on August 30, 2017, 08:21:23 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 29, 2017, 11:46:17 PM
This was the subject of a heated debate on Talk to Joe yesterday. Most if not all the callers seemed to be offended, and there was a spokesman on for Paddy Power who took a lot of abuse to the extent that I reckon that a suggestion made by one contributor,that PP make a donation to the upkeep of the basilica,may well be taken up.

I myself think that God has a sense of humour and as long as it's not malicious, as this wasn't,it's ok.I recall watching a documentary on Fr Mick Cleary (not a shining example of a priest I know), when he was doing a bit of stand up at a packed community hall,and he told the joke about an IRA man in confession telling the priest he had blown up a few RUC barracks, and the priest absolved him and told him as a penance to "Go out and do the Stations!" 😂😂😂.I saw another joke in the NI Humanist magazine a few years ago about the introduction of a new low fat communion bread at a Belfast chapel,and one parishioner after receiving, said "I can't believe it's not Jesus!". Borderline but it made me chuckle nonetheless

Everyone who rings joe is offended or he would t let them on
Post by: seafoid on August 30, 2017, 10:01:43 AM
Paddy Powers growth numbers are poor
Post by: Denn Forever on August 30, 2017, 05:36:01 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 30, 2017, 05:55:02 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 30, 2017, 12:00:50 AM
Is that a Muslim prayer mat?

Nah, a rug from the 70s or a fancy bed sit.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 30, 2017, 09:20:46 PM
Was it offensive?   Most definitely.

Post by: Don Johnson on August 30, 2017, 10:03:12 PM
Fair play to them. Thinking outside the box, having a bit of craic. Is anyone even religious anymore?
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 30, 2017, 10:54:59 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on August 30, 2017, 10:03:12 PM
Fair play to them. Thinking outside the box, having a bit of craic. Is anyone even religious anymore?
I wouldn't claim to be overly religious but devotion to Our Lady of Knock is important to me and has helped me through a major crisis. Like thousands of others around Mayo and neighbouring counties I took part in the vigil walk to Knock for dawn Mass on Aug 15th. I don't expect others to agree with my beliefs but I do expect that places and practices that are sacred to me and others would be respected. I would never disrespect the sacred places of others. It seems like Catholics are the only "minority" it's fair to insult.

If Paddy Power thought it was harmless why skulk in at night. When asked by Joe Duffy if they would do something similar at a mosque the spokesman fr PP said that they wouldn't like to draw the ire of ISIS upon themselves. What brave champions of free speech! For the record I would find a similar projection at a mosque/synagogue/ church hall/ humanist meeting place etc equally objectionable.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 30, 2017, 11:55:16 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on August 30, 2017, 10:54:59 PM
I wouldn't claim to be overly religious but devotion to Our Lady of Knock is important to me and has helped me through a major crisis. Like thousands of others around Mayo and neighbouring counties I took part in the vigil walk to Knock for dawn Mass on Aug 15th. I don't expect others to agree with my beliefs but I do expect that places and practices that are sacred to me and others would be respected. I would never disrespect the sacred places of others. It seems like Catholics are the only "minority" it's fair to insult.

If Paddy Power thought it was harmless why skulk in at night. When asked by Joe Duffy if they would do something similar at a mosque the spokesman fr PP said that they wouldn't like to draw the ire of ISIS upon themselves. What brave champions of free speech! For the record I would find a similar projection at a mosque/synagogue/ church hall/ humanist meeting place etc equally objectionable.

Yes agreed,  this is a respect issue! Or should I say a disrespect issue!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2017, 12:11:28 AM

Very good post. I thought PP's representative should have been taken to task when he said they wouldn't do it on a mosque 
Post by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:14:31 AM
An image on a Mosque wouldn't work.The same people who were offended also seemed to be offended by Marty Morrissey asking for three cheers for the Novena (as if he was at Croker) while he was addressing the congregation at Knock,at the invitation of the priest.For God's sake (no pun intended) this was just a bit of harmless fun.

Humour is offensive if it is malicious,and while Paddy Power should have sought permission from the priest,I do not see anything malicious about an image of the Virgin Mary holding the Sam Maguire in Mayo.After All Tyrone recite the rosary imploring her aid before each game,and Mayo will need help from her and everybody else as well.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 31, 2017, 08:02:47 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:14:31 AM
An image on a Mosque wouldn't work.The same people who were offended also seemed to be offended by Marty Morrissey asking for three cheers for the Novena (as if he was at Croker) while he was addressing the congregation at Knock,at the invitation of the priest.For God's sake (no pun intended) this was just a bit of harmless fun.

Humour is offensive if it is malicious,and while Paddy Power should have sought permission from the priest,I do not see anything malicious about an image of the Virgin Mary holding the Sam Maguire in Mayo.After All Tyrone recite the rosary imploring her aid before each game,and Mayo will need help from her and everybody else as well.
And that's the nub of the problem. What you see as malicious or not malicious can appear quite the opposite to others. But any rational person/group/advertiser would surely have anticipated that while a lot of people (yourself included) would find it humourous, it would be profoundly offensive to others like me. In that situation good taste, commoon sense or just plain respect for others would have ensured that they wouldnt run with it.

Post by: johnneycool on August 31, 2017, 09:02:36 AM

Sure wasn't the first  apparition meant to be an early projector image which would have been unheard off back in the late 1800's in the West of Ireland....
Post by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 09:23:00 AM
In my opinion there's a hell of a lot if stuff  more offensive on this Board alone,to sincere Catholics,than a cheeky projection of the Virgin Mary holding Sam Maguire on Knock Basilica.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 31, 2017, 10:24:23 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 09:23:00 AM
In my opinion there's a hell of a lot if stuff  more offensive on this Board alone,to sincere Catholics,than a cheeky projection of the Virgin Mary holding Sam Maguire on Knock Basilica.
I don't doubt that you are right but it was you who raised the issue originally and I am merely pointing out that the incident was offensive to more than a few callers to Joe Duffy. Where it is placed on a list of offensive incidents is a matter of personal opinion. I think we have both developed our points on the matter and we can agree to differ.
Post by: haveaharp on August 31, 2017, 10:47:20 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 31, 2017, 09:02:36 AM

Sure wasn't the first  apparition meant to be an early projector image which would have been unheard off back in the late 1800's in the West of Ireland....

Exactly. People getting all revved up about a bit of a jibe at what was a hoax anyway. Would their righteous fury not be better directed at those who have made a clean fortune over the years by duping the more vunerable and gullible in society.
Post by: seafoid on August 31, 2017, 10:56:13 AM
I'd love to know what links apparitions of the VM in europe. What was going on in Knock, Lourdes, Fatima at the time that prompted people to buy into the thing. was there some kind of social trauma or Something economic like a depression or whatever. Why didn't she roll up in the 00s for example ? 
Post by: Keyser soze on August 31, 2017, 11:17:32 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 31, 2017, 10:47:20 AM

Exactly. People getting all revved up about a bit of a jibe at what was a hoax anyway. Would their righteous fury not be better directed at those who have made a clean fortune over the years by duping the more vunerable and gullible in society.
[/b]

Do you mean Paddy Power?
Post by: haveaharp on August 31, 2017, 11:25:26 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on August 31, 2017, 11:17:32 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 31, 2017, 10:47:20 AM

[/b]

Do you mean Paddy Power?

Paddypower doesn't tell you that you have to have a bet
Post by: PW Nally on August 31, 2017, 11:31:38 AM
All publicity good publicity for Paddy Power and the like. Only praying done by them is the preying on gullible people with dreams of the big win and those with addiction issues. I put on the odd bet with my local betting shop, the same people in it regardless of when I drop in.
Post by: johnneycool on August 31, 2017, 12:04:00 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on August 31, 2017, 11:31:38 AM
All publicity good publicity for Paddy Power and the like. Only praying done by them is the preying on gullible people with dreams of the big win and those with addiction issues. I put on the odd bet with my local betting shop, the same people in it regardless of when I drop in.

Do you not cast them out, those money lenders and their ilk?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 31, 2017, 06:29:39 PM

If Paddy Power thought it was harmless why skulk in at night.

Projectors don't work so well outside in broad daylight.
Post by: PW Nally on August 31, 2017, 06:34:30 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 31, 2017, 12:04:00 PM

Absolutely. Damn them to eternal purgatory.
Post by: johnneycool on September 01, 2017, 12:23:56 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on August 31, 2017, 06:34:30 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 31, 2017, 12:04:00 PM

Absolutely. Damn them to eternal purgatory.

I thought some Pope or other done away with purgatory.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 01, 2017, 12:35:43 PM
It think that was for unbaptised infant so they would go to Limbo and then to purgatory.
Post by: Hardy on September 01, 2017, 12:46:05 PM
Limbo was abolished but Purgatory is still on the ecclesiastical statute books, apparently (as are the office of the Inquisition and Hell). They just don't talk about them anymore. The spin doctors decided emotional terrorism is no longer a sound recruitment strategy.
Post by: blast05 on September 01, 2017, 09:55:50 PM
If it was a couple of lads that done this for a bit of crack so as to be able to share the image with a few friends on Facebook or wherever, then i would have no issue ... no matter how viral it went.

However, a commercial entity doing it to ultimately improve their bottom line is a step too far for me
Post by: Itchy on September 02, 2017, 12:09:12 AM
The Virgin Mary sure picks her spots to show up in. Where next, a bog in north Longford?
Post by: PW Nally on September 02, 2017, 10:30:16 AM
Quote from: Itchy on September 02, 2017, 12:09:12 AM
The Virgin Mary sure picks her spots to show up in. Where next, a bog in north Longford?
Yeah, or Cavan town.
Post by: Samforever on September 02, 2017, 11:05:12 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on August 31, 2017, 10:24:23 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 09:23:00 AM
I don't doubt that you are right but it was you who raised the issue originally and I am merely pointing out that the incident was offensive to more than a few callers to Joe Duffy. Where it is placed on a list of offensive incidents is a matter of personal opinion. I think we have both developed our points on the matter and we can agree to differ.

I would be more concerned about the well being of any eejit that actually phones in to a show like Joe Duffy. The couple of times I have heard it I couldn't believe the inane drivel and the ignorant way Duffy treats people. Hard to understand how the likes of Duffy and Nolan get prime time shows
Post by: T Fearon on September 03, 2017, 12:08:34 AM
They both have a rare skill in drawing people in,on the most inane topics,portraying themselves as men of the people.No matter what you think both him and Nolan are the excellent broadcasters.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 05, 2017, 08:28:44 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 02, 2017, 12:09:12 AM

Will we go and visit the holy tree stump, Ted?

(https://nihilobstat.info/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/virgin111-420x0.jpg)