Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Tones - Today at 01:15:24 PM
The Preliminary Quarter Final is a balls too, no jeopardy, all about extra games, as you say probably TV rights, get beat in the first round of your Provincial Championship lose 2 matches in group stage and you could still be in a Preliminary Quarter Final , what a load of crap.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by yellowcard - Today at 01:04:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on Today at 12:05:06 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 18, 2024, 07:17:32 PMThinking about how the lack of interest in games here reflect the general apathy in the community towards football. Used to be you'd have a thread for each of the big games here with multiple pages of craic, analysis and bickering. Now we've one amalgamated thread for all of ulster with very little interest or posts. You'll never see a 100page + thread of tyrone v Armagh banter ever again.

Came across this on YouTube the other day...

https://youtu.be/arMAgKKhltk?si=VJ9e3OEDG69jXF9u

It's a copy of the Sam 2005 dvd with extended highlights throughout that summer. Forgot how good these dvds were. What really stands out for me, outside of the crowds and quality of the football, was the general atmosphere in the games. The type of football played generated and sustained an almost constant noise throughout the match. The number of contests for the ball was significantly higher and its contests that generate that edge of the seat excitement that in turn created a cauldron of atmosphere and spectacle.

Youll still see unreal skills in today's game, mindblowing points and class goals. However, these are small peaks amongst the dredge we have to watch for 80% of the game. Watching games these days and I can't help but notice the level of general chat in the stands, people on phones and flatness. You'll hardly ever hear a chant outside of the odd come on you blues.

I've wrote this post as I've just completed the GAA games survey and hope that something will be found to return our game to its former glory. To me that is moving away from the obsession with possession based football and finding away to create more opportunities for contests in attack, midfield and forwards. Or maybe I'm a grumpy f**ker and will just have to accept transitions, 20+ passes back to the keeper and 30 players inside a 45 multiple times a game. What a load of shite.

The only way you can return to those days is a straight knockout from the start. It won't happen. 20 years ago I'd have sleepless nights about losing to Cavan. Now, whatever, still a lock a group games.

The GAA may be amateur but its money-making machine is as professional as the NFL in the States.

Group stages suck the life out of the championship, I hate them. I think the one extra chance back door system up until the quarter final stage would be much more interesting and would put less pressure on fixture scheduling as well. It's not like those group games are well attended either but there must be extra income generated from TV deals, otherwise I can't see any real upside.
General discussion / Re: Funny comedy clips
Last post by Orior - Today at 12:37:38 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on Today at 10:31:03 AMI remember reading about this fella, Michael Davis, a comedy juggler of all things. The bit I read about him described his mastery of comedic timing as unsurpassed by anyone. Hard to argue when you watch him. If you've never seen him, I recommend you spend 9 minutes of your time to watch him in action as he performed for then US president Ronald Reagan:

Brilliant.
Laois / Re: 2024 Joe McDonagh Cup
Last post by Laois Rising - Today at 12:32:07 PM
Quote from: mcwregor on April 17, 2024, 03:31:10 PMHuge game for this group of players. Probably our best panel for many years. Offaly are c**k of the walk at the minute with all these superstars coming. I think our lads will wire into them, they have turned a corner since the league game with Carlow. Lose and we are in trouble, win and we have a real chance of getting to a final and can dream of the glory days of 2019 again. Wouldnt that be fantastic.
We need a big laois crowd on Sunday and the clubs need to drum up a big following. Its the least the players deserve for their efforts.

Well said. The league final performance was one of the best Laois performances in years. Hopefully they can find another gear this weekend and having a good support at the game will surely help.
General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by 5times5times - Today at 12:25:09 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on Today at 11:46:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 11:41:47 AMKlopp was a huge success and took a very under achieving Liverpool to a title and many cups.

His style and way he handled the press was refreshing and the PL will missing a huge character and be worse for it.

God help whoever comes in and replaces him, they'll be on to a hiding to nothing if history is to repeat itself and thats not using Fergie's example, bar Bayern its replicated in most big clubs when a huge personality leaves, though the likes of Madrid get rid fairly quick of managers that don't bring immediate success.

Ah here, Liverpool aren't like any other club, they stick by their manager no matter what.

Didn't Liverpool have 4 managers between 2010-2015???
Antrim / Re: Antrim Hurling
Last post by Saffrongael - Today at 12:23:15 PM
New look Antrim team, from the league anyway, he interesting to see how the fellas that didn't play any league get on
Tyrone / Re: Tyrone County Football and...
Last post by RedHand88 - Today at 12:20:40 PM
Quote from: GaaGPT on Today at 10:43:34 AM
Quote from: tiempo on Today at 09:28:20 AM
Quote from: HokeyPokey on April 18, 2024, 11:11:48 PMIt will be interesting to see if Mattie does play at 6. He could add real solidity there potentially if he is back to himself.

Really don't see how Matty starts at 6 unless as a sweeper and someone else picks up the marking job on a Cavan forward
I struggle to see how Matty starts at all to be honest having missed so much of the league

McKiernan has nailed 6 and will surely start there, its a dummy team, expect Aidan Clarke to start corner back

My prediction is Matty doesn't start and comes in off the bench for the second half or last 20mins depending on how its going, deployment also as required, could be middle third could be FF

I wish they would bring in a rule to stop teams announcing dummy teams. Should be a rule to only allow minimum changes. e.g. 2

Or what about just naming them the hour before throw in? Only reason they are done during the week is for the programmes.
Hurling Discussion / Re: AI Hurling Championship 20...
Last post by imtommygunn - Today at 12:07:33 PM
Wexford to beat Dublin but that aside I would mainly agree. I think Davy is a busted flush tbh but we'll see what Waterford can do. Cork have been underwhelming this years and will want to be winning that.

I think Limerick will be laying down a statement.

Antrim not strong enough for KK. The likes of Carlow game more important.
General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by johnnycool - Today at 11:46:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 11:41:47 AMKlopp was a huge success and took a very under achieving Liverpool to a title and many cups.

His style and way he handled the press was refreshing and the PL will missing a huge character and be worse for it.

God help whoever comes in and replaces him, they'll be on to a hiding to nothing if history is to repeat itself and thats not using Fergie's example, bar Bayern its replicated in most big clubs when a huge personality leaves, though the likes of Madrid get rid fairly quick of managers that don't bring immediate success.

Ah here, Liverpool aren't like any other club, they stick by their manager no matter what.

General discussion / Re: D.I.Y
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 11:45:35 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on Today at 11:42:32 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 11:35:42 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on Today at 10:52:13 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 09:55:37 AMIt was the pump that heats the water that's fecked!

So at the the boiler there are two pumps one for the rads and the other for heating the water.

If the spindle isn't spinning then the motor isn't working and that was the case, I said can ya fix it? nope, its a throw away world, ya need a new one

The plumber said that the water should still warm up though, it isn't, anyways I've been doing the Wim Hof experience for the last 3 days!

Did the pump look like this?

I've three of these feckers in the house and one will need replaced.

There's isolating valves either side of it, so toying with the idea of doing it myself, but as they're in the hotpress and don't want to make a balls of it.

That's the one, I've two, but that they are in the garage...

Unscrewing that copper nut in the middle let me know that it wasn't spinning inside, after that I was stumped

I've a mate that loves all that DIY stuff, the easy stuff I've no problems with, But I know if I try and remove that and replace it there will be problems, pipes will need replaced and threads will be fecked and whatever else would go wrong will, with me.

Turn that pump on and go to the garage.
Give it a gentle tap with a hammer to see if that frees it up and if that doesn't work there's a wee red dial for the speed settings, it's normally set to the middle speed, but change it to the top speed and that might free it up as well.

It'll still need replace one way or the other, but at least you'll get some hot water for a day or two

Aye, will give that a go if the boyo hasn't changed it by the time I get home! Will have to put my prices up for refereeing  ;)