Longford Football (& Hurling) Thread

Started by North Longford, November 17, 2006, 09:47:45 AM

But would that be fair on the Afgan people?

LaurelEye

Quote from: Billys Boots on April 12, 2010, 02:47:10 PM
I was just looking at the lineup for yesterday's stunning victory - Declan Reilly is named at #13 and Paddy Dowd at #14.  He's not really playing four midfielders, is he?

AFAIK, Dowd is playing as an orthodox forward. Certainly he was playing at full-forward for the match against us in the league.

QuoteI wonder if there's any chance that the Louth match could be played in Afghanistan, so I won't be tempted to go?

They could play it in Derrycassan and I wouldn't be much tempted to go. Unless a palace coup takes place between now and the Louth match it's unlikely to be pretty - I see we have the first departure for Amerikay already.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Minors getting thumped by Offaly was a shocking indicator of where exactly Longford football is at the moment.

FFS - the early versions of the match report on the offical website blamed the defeat on the feckin' Icelandic volcano.

Har-de-f**king-har!! Gobshites.

3 points they scored in 60 minutes and conceeded 2-21 or thereabouts.

Never has a Longford minor team lost so bad in Leinster. Not so long ago we won a Leinster title and got to a Leinster U21 final. Now we are a laughing stock.

gortnaleck

I see the Minors won at the weekend.Laurel,Is that Peter's lad that scored the goal?

LaurelEye

Quote from: gortnaleck on April 26, 2010, 04:07:24 AM
I see the Minors won at the weekend.Laurel,Is that Peter's lad that scored the goal?

Yep. Still another year at minor.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

gortnaleck

Are ye sending any lads out to us this year ?

LaurelEye

Quote from: gortnaleck on April 28, 2010, 01:16:14 AM

Was the one last year not enough?  ;D

No idea - there's one gone to New York on a semi-permanent basis and I hear stories about others going out for the summer but I don't know if anything'll come of it. On the form of the last couple of matches, we could be doing with all hands on deck for Ardagh in order to avoid the relegation playoffs again.

LaurelEye

In another place, odds for the Connolly Cup have been posted:

QuoteThey are:

Dromard 10/3

Clonguish 4/1

Abbeylara 4/1

Longford Slashers 9/2

Colmcille 5/1

Ballymahon 13/2

Killoe 10/1

Mullinalaghta St Columba's 16/1

Fr. Manning Gaels 20/1

St. Patrick's Ardagh 28/1

Mostrim 33/1

St. Mary's Granard 50/1

Sean Connolly's 66/1

Cashel 66/1

Rathcline 66/1

Each-way bets 1/3 odds first 2

Value bet on current form is Killoe at 10/1. On what I've seen so far, odds on Clonguish, Ballymahon, Drumlish and ourselves are too short (the middle two ridiculously so), and odds on Edgytown are too long.

Quoteodds on Edgytown are too long

Do you think I'll have hard earned on them??

Not on your nellie!

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2010, 10:46:01 PM
Quoteodds on Edgytown are too long

Do you think I'll have hard earned on them??

Not on your nellie!

Ah go on, go on, go on....

I'd put yis at about 16/1 or so. Yis are definitely not worse than the Windies or the Shams.

If I was tipping, myself, it would be:

Dromard 10/3
Abbeylara 4/1 5/1
Killoe 10/1 5/1
Clonguish 4/1 6/1
Longford Slashers 9/2 8/1
Colmcille 5/1 8/1
Mostrim 33/1 16/1
Ballymahon 13/2 20/1
Mullinalaghta St Columba's 16/1 25/1
St. Patrick's Ardagh 28/1 25/1
St. Mary's Granard 50/1 33/1
Rathcline 66/1 40/1
Sean Connolly's 66/1 40/1
Fr. Manning Gaels 20/1 50/1
Cashel 66/1 50/1

The Forfeit Point

killoe 5/1? no way, look at who they have played so far and the circumstances of the other teams and that will explain why they are doing so well in the league. all teams bar the only 2 possible winners - dromard and clonguish are way way too short. half the teams there should be longer than 50/1

North Longford

If Abbey don't have Berry and Smyth then they are more like a 8 or 9 - 1.
Colmcille more like 20's ;)

In fairness, no team outside the top 6 are capable of winning it; and realistically it'll be between the Swamp, the Reich and Killoe.  Abbey have an outside chance, if they can keep Sheridan semi-fit.

I really haven't seen enough football recently to even say this, but I couldn't resist.

LaurelEye

Quote from: gortnaleck on April 28, 2010, 01:16:14 AM

Update: the (only, TG) one who's fogward-bound may have complicated things for himself in yesterday's match by getting sent off.

The Forfeit Point

Quote from: Billys Boots on April 30, 2010, 04:46:19 PM
In fairness, no team outside the top 6 are capable of winning it; and realistically it'll be between the Swamp, the Reich and Killoe.  Abbey have an outside chance, if they can keep Sheridan semi-fit.

I really haven't seen enough football recently to even say this, but I couldn't resist.

I can't understand this talk about killoe, what is it based on? this league that is mostly being played without county players?

anyways i wonder did the rest of ye notice a little joke on the longfordgaa website with regards the league round up:

"Dromard 3-12 Clonguish 0-8

Dromard recorded a comprehensive victory over Clonguish on the May Bank Holiday Monday at Allen Park in round seven of the All County Football League Division 1 to put the Arva men top of the league after the first stage of the games while Newtownforbes side sit third from the bottom, final score 3-12 to 0-8."