Beer....

Started by 5 Sams, November 21, 2008, 09:14:35 PM

You on the glue bag again HS?

Ox has great beers. Squeezed from the pollan.

DrinkingHarp

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 20, 2015, 11:09:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 20, 2015, 11:06:36 PM
You lads are nuts.
Here comes the Harp Ambassador.

Ahem  :o

A local favorite in Chicago  - Old Style
Some call it Dog Style but it is a crisp nice lager.
Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

Quote from: hardstation on November 21, 2015, 12:21:24 AM
Ah ffs, the lot of ye can go fcuk. Pint of harp and a pastie would be wasted on ye hoors.

Always a time and place for a raffos special....but a pint of harp.... narp

In a way i actually agree with Hardstation, but ultimately..... not really.

I'm more a CAMRA beer nerd than the craft ale hipster type.

But although craft beer has got the im cool rebellious and within thing goin on it would even be argued its on a par with CAMRA overall, and its infinitely better than the mass produced and marketed crap that took over our ale houses in the later half of the 20th century.

Even if you cant tell the difference in good beer and bad and your doin it for your self image, your helping local businesses instead of a behemothic corporations. Who incidentally also try to to sell their beer based on the self-image they project to the consumer in their marketing campaigns,  than the actual content or quality of the beer.

I'm with the hipsters on this one for a change... better to be at the right thing for the wrong reasons than not at it all.

Hardstation's taste buds are probably very suspect, neutered by overexposure to the holy trinity of harp&lime, sewer gassed pub toilets and those carcinogenic urinal cakes thrown by the dozen into the urinals.
You can't expect him to appreciate the difference between a mass produced bland drink and a decent hands-on brew produced by a bunch of  dedicated beer loving  entrepreneurs.

Quote from: muppet on November 19, 2015, 02:50:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 19, 2015, 12:04:44 AM
What's the yellow stuff from Guinness like? Hopefully nicer than Breo.

It will rule the world.

Fantastic beer.
Had this for the first time tonight. It is very nice indeed.

Quote from: laoislad on November 21, 2015, 09:19:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 19, 2015, 02:50:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 19, 2015, 12:04:44 AM
What's the yellow stuff from Guinness like? Hopefully nicer than Breo.

It will rule the world.

Fantastic beer.
Had this for the first time tonight. It is very nice indeed.

It is ideal for 5k to couch.

No attendees at the Belfast Beer Festival?....feck me disappointed  lads

Called in for a few alright.
Tbh injured the craft beer festival in the reserve over the summer more

Good man blewup Anything good? Probably not the best environment for CAMRA beers but the promotion of CAMRA principles is the important thing.

Never been at the craft beer festival, heard its good, what's the differences with BB&CF?

What do the acronyms stand for?

CAMRA: Campaign for Real Ale - An organisation that promotes Real Ale - primarly in England/Britian but think they operate further afield as well

Belfast Beer and Cider Festival - Beer tasting event  organised by CAMRA

ardchieftain

Quote from: LeoMc on November 20, 2015, 10:51:22 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on November 20, 2015, 08:54:40 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on November 20, 2015, 12:00:36 PM
A few of my favourites at the minute

Kinnegar- Rust bucket
sierra Nevada- pale ale
einstock- icelandic ale
the master mcgraths stout & red ale are pretty good too

I was disappointed with the Master McGrath range. I must try some more Irish ales as i haven't come across a ' keeper ' yet. Can the Galway Hooker be got in the north?
Got it on draft in The Vineyard in Belfast.

Try the Pokertree Red Earl and tje it stout, both a notch above the Clanconnel.

Tried that Red Earl. Definitely won't be getting that again. Did get a Whitewater brew, Hopplehammer, which was quite good. McEwans Champion and Old Speckled hen are my staple brews.

When did drinking proper beer become hip? News to me. Then again i've been drinking ales for over 20 years.

Quote from: ardchieftain on November 23, 2015, 07:49:00 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on November 20, 2015, 10:51:22 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on November 20, 2015, 08:54:40 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on November 20, 2015, 12:00:36 PM
A few of my favourites at the minute

Kinnegar- Rust bucket
sierra Nevada- pale ale
einstock- icelandic ale
the master mcgraths stout & red ale are pretty good too

I was disappointed with the Master McGrath range. I must try some more Irish ales as i haven't come across a ' keeper ' yet. Can the Galway Hooker be got in the north?
Got it on draft in The Vineyard in Belfast.

Try the Pokertree Red Earl and tje it stout, both a notch above the Clanconnel.

Tried that Red Earl. Definitely won't be getting that again. Did get a Whitewater brew, Hopplehammer, which was quite good. McEwans Champion and Old Speckled hen are my staple brews.

When did drinking proper beer become hip? News to me. Then again i've been drinking ales for over 20 years.

Probably in about the last 5 years in Ireland which has kind of bandwagoned on the craft beer revolution from the states.

Traditionally it wasnt of course, being the preserve of middle aged + men with unkempt appearance and a variety of extreme facial hair, who are completely fanatical about what goes into it, how its made, how its stored, how its served and even how its drunk and refuse to compromise even slightly on these.