Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Jack Dempsey on May 24, 2007, 03:33:48 PM

Poll
Question: Who is the bigger legend
Option 1: Paulo Maldini votes: 30
Option 2: Seamus Moynihan votes: 23
Title: Who is Better - Maldini or Moynihan
Post by: Jack Dempsey on May 24, 2007, 03:33:48 PM
50 50 call for me
Title: Re: Who is Better - Maldini or Moynihan
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2007, 03:46:46 PM
Better at what?

I'd have to give the edge to Maldini in terms of soccer ability, and dress sense, while the Pony would romp it in All Ireland Medals, hairy chests and Carrying 4 stone bags of spuds under each arm.

Post by: Kerry Mike on May 24, 2007, 04:30:30 PM
I'd say Maldini would be in a heap if Moynihan connected with a good shoulder.

You'd have to give Maldini marks for the hair but its has helped no one win an All Ireland. Just ask Conor Mortimer or Ciaran McDonald :P

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 24, 2007, 05:09:30 PM
Maldini with 8 CL final appearances and 5 winning medals must surely beat Moynihans All-Ireland record!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on May 24, 2007, 05:10:51 PM
I would value 1 All Ireland Medal more than 5 CL Medals.

Edit : Jaysus I just realised what a dry reply that was on a thread like this :D
Post by: Louth Exile on May 24, 2007, 05:26:25 PM
Stephen Melia would take both of them!!!
Post by: thebandit on May 24, 2007, 05:43:41 PM
McGeeney!
Post by: thejuice on May 24, 2007, 06:06:54 PM
I wouldnt know Paulo Maldini from a hole in a wall, Seamus on the other hand is a legend.
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 24, 2007, 06:34:05 PM
Stephen Melia would take both of them!!!  He might, but he still has a better chance of winning a CL medal than an AI medal  :P

McGeeney.........did the Pony not retire the Geezer last August?  ;)

Maldini: Hair Gel €50
Hair Cuts €200
Moistuiser and Make up €500
A Winning Milan Team: €€€Millions
Moynihan: Pride in the parish and the jersey (even if its nearly ripped off him after bursting out of defence with the ball stuck to his chest): Priceless.
Post by: passedit on May 24, 2007, 06:57:59 PM
In fairness to Maldini, he didnt get a bye into the semis for half his medals and into the quarters for the other half.

Post by: bombidal on May 24, 2007, 07:36:10 PM
11 votes each, The pony gets my vote, the man is a legend.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 24, 2007, 08:03:18 PM
QuoteIn fairness to Maldini, he didnt get a bye into the semis for half his medals and into the quarters for the other half.

Still bitter that Down are the equivalent of Serie C eh ?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 24, 2007, 08:12:27 PM
hang on..I'll take that back in case I get banned !

I love Down
Post by: magickingdom on May 24, 2007, 09:49:53 PM
my dad died in 1999 and maldini was a big hero of his. to see him still at the top of his game gave me a great kick this week. he really is something else. however best i can do is a tie, Moynihan is a legend!....
Post by: Uladh on May 24, 2007, 10:30:10 PM

Baresi for me
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 24, 2007, 11:34:19 PM
Pony gets the Longford vote, even if he did get a roasting from Paul Barden in Killarney last year.

Will Maldini visit National Schools with the cup? Will he feck.
Title: Re: Where is the love
Post by: passedit on May 25, 2007, 12:02:05 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 24, 2007, 08:12:27 PM
hang on..I'll take that back in case I get banned !

I love Down

Indeed Mike I apologise. Munster football is ultracompetitive and Micko is a saint.

Ah jeezus i don't know how long i could stick this maybe i should take the mods advice an fcuk off and start my own board.  ::)
Post by: Stagmeister on May 25, 2007, 09:46:32 AM
I'd prob go for Maldini just because he's been at the top for so long and although soccer is an inferior game to gaelic football  ;D its harder to get to andstay at the top as its played worldwide...

But surely Kevin Moran would beat the both of them hands down as he proved himself to be a legend in both sports?? If he stuck at the GAA he could possibly have become the best Centre Half Back of all time???
Post by: AZOffaly on May 25, 2007, 09:51:23 AM
Kevin Moran???? Sure all he did was get sent off in a Cup Final, and solo 60 yards before kicking it a mile wide in an All IReland Final :D
Post by: thejuice on May 25, 2007, 10:14:39 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 25, 2007, 09:51:23 AM
Kevin Moran???? Sure all he did was get sent off in a Cup Final, and solo 60 yards before kicking it a mile wide in an All IReland Final :D

Yeah but he did it very fast
Post by: resdubwhite on May 25, 2007, 10:25:04 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 25, 2007, 09:51:23 AM

Yeah but the dubs didn't need the score anyway.

I'd go for Maldini. But I believe the pony has other talents, if you know what I mean.
Post by: oneillcup2007 on May 25, 2007, 01:39:40 PM
I admire Maldini, a great professional at work.  I admire the pony a great amateur at play.
Post by: ildanach on May 27, 2007, 09:34:17 AM
to make your senior debut in 1985 and be stil playing is unreal.  But this just shows how tough a game we have. Can not think of anyone who has played senior intercounty football for more than 14 or 15 years
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on May 27, 2007, 11:00:39 AM
while Maldini is a great soccer player,he has been paid huge money for over 20 years now to keep in shape to play professional soccer.
Moynihan however has had to balance Work alongside the pressures Intercounty Football for a long period of time .
No Comparison for me
Moynihan wins it every time.
Also Moynihan would bury Maldini with a shoulder if they ever met.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 27, 2007, 11:08:45 AM
Maldini without a doubt
Post by: thejuice on May 28, 2007, 01:50:41 PM
Quote from: oneillcup2007 on May 25, 2007, 01:39:40 PM
a great professional at work.

what does Seamus do for a living. I'm sure he is a great professional too at whatever he does. Moynihan is twice the man Maldini is.
Post by: the colonel on May 28, 2007, 02:24:08 PM
QuoteCan not think of anyone who has played senior intercounty football for more than 14 or 15 years

micky linden must have played for at least that, and he wasn't bad either
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 28, 2007, 03:15:17 PM
More in common than you might think, both made successful transition between full back and centre back in their careers.